Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western New England University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that work hard, have goals of earning a good business, engineering, or pharmaceutical job, and aren't afraid to be themselves and take risks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a college where you feel right, and feel at home. It's a hard feeling to describe but when your gut instinct tells you, this is the college for me, follow it. It is a reason they call it your conscience.

    Bang for the buck

    All of those services and programs i mentioned above, however, don't come free obviously. Western New England College is a private institution, which charges much more for tuition than a public one would, which is obvious. If you're looking to be extremely conservative with your money in these economic times, Western New England College might not be the best option for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Western New England College makes you feel welcome from the first foot you step on the campus. By offering numerous First year programs in the first couple months, WNEC makes you almost feel like you've been there all along. There are always trips each weekend traveling to places like the Baseball Hall of Fame, the local Six Flags theme park, or nearby Boston, MA. There are numerous campus activities available to get involved in as well. By offering an Activity fair early in the year, Western New England College grants everyone an even opportunity to take advantage of any extracurricular activities that spark their interest.

    Am learning a lot

    The class size at this college is small, which allows you to get to know your professors much better. This can prove to be extremely beneficial if you need extra help in a certain subject. The professors are always at their office hours and eager to help students. Western New England College also offers help in the Writing Center and the Math Center to help maximize each individual student's learning potential. The Western New England College School of Business is accredited internationally by the AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business), which offers exemplary education for any one interested in a business major; Accounting, in my case.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those willing to work and be involved

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a smaller school so the classes tend to be smaller and allow for more student-teacher interaction. There is a lot more free time than high school so I would recommend being involved in several activities which do make the college experience worthwhile. As far as the overall education, Western New England is only what you are willing to put into it. As an engineering student I didn't find the work overwhelming. You just have to be willing to put in the effort.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who enjoy being able to find their way around campus easily, who enjoy having ample opportunities to meet and make friends, and who enjoy having the ability to truly connect with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the freshmen events that they hold during Labor Day weekend (examples: Farmington River tubing, paintball, etc.). These give you the opportunity to make friends who enjoy the same types of activities that you do.

    Bang for the buck

    Western New England College provides great merit aid as well as other forms of scholarships, making it possible for anyone to attend. Though its private institution tuition may seem high, the deduction in tuition from scholarship aid makes it affordable for anyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is a perfect representation of New England at its finest. Even though the campus is located in the city, your surroundings give the illusion that you are in the country, with its gorgeous shrubbery, green grass, and abundant trees.

    Am learning a lot

    Since the class sizes are all about less than thirty students, you have the chance to get to know your professors better than you would in a larger class setting. This allows you to ask questions at ease and visit your professors when class is not in session if you have any questions or need extra help.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school with alot to offer, this is a school for you. It is located in a town and its academics seem up to par. Though, when I visited I didn't see as much to do as I would have liked.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is fine but some nights there is really nothing too appetizing to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is restricting but fun. I am moving of campus for a more relaxed and free living environment.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently enrolled in the Electrical Engineering Program and it is quite difficult. It gets even more rigorous when engineers are in their junior year.

    In three sentences

    This school is fantastic for someone looking for a smaller school. The faculty is great and the extracurricular programs are out of this world.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police do a phenomenal job. It is a safe campus and if there ever is a problem, the campus police will be there in less than a minute.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anything you can think of. And if by some chance the club does not exist, it is almost too easy to create it. I am apart of WNE Ultimate Frisbee and the WNE Varsity Football Team.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a fantastic education and have fun doing it. WNEU found an almost perfect balance between education and fun. I enjoy my classes and my freetime. I am at the right school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All students must ride the Golden Bear that is in the middile of campus. There must be proof of this ride.

    What to do for fun

    There are always athletic events going on. Last year, 4 varsity Golden Bear teams successfully made it to the NCAA tournament. At the campus center, there are musicians, bands, magicians, comedians, movies, karaoke and more going on. Pick-up basketball is a campus favorite.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the most part. The cafe has wide variety of foods to chose from. And some food lines change on a daily basis whereas other lines stay consistent. The best part about the cafe is it is all you can eat. Food is a commodity and currency in college, it is never taken for granted.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic. My closest friends at school I met in Berkshire Hall. After about of week of getting to know one another, everyone is friends. People bounce from room to room to play video games or ask questions about class or watch television or just chill. Dorm life needs to be a highlight of WNEU advertisement.

    Academic Rigor

    WNEU has tough classes but the professor compliment the workload with chances to work on it in class; they offer very flexible office hours for a 1 on 1 session. And the academic center and D'Mour Library have any sort of help fathomable in order to achieve academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    WNEU is a school for students that wish to have a close relationship with students and professors. Students are treated with great respect. WNEU has a fantasic Business, Law and Criminal Justice school with multiple majors and connections with real-world careers.

    In three sentences

    Western New England is a close-knit campus with many opportunities. Because of the close quarters, everyone gets along and is more than willing help one another. Despite being a smaller campus, WNEU always has something going on for fun.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who like small classes and getting to know your teacher

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it is great for many types of degrees ie: law, pharmacy, engineering, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    painting the rock and riding the golden bear.

    What to do for fun

    participate in the sporting and club activities. they provide opportunities to meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved and be adventurous.

    In three sentences

    western new england university is a smaller university that is quintessential new england. the class sizes are smaller and provide better student and teacher interaction. you couldn't ask for a better college education or experience.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i have visited the school multiple times. the campus has a great atmosphere, and everyone is very helpful. can't wait to attend next fall.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is probably the safest campus you will every step on to, its actually annoying because you can find for self in trouble for many different things.

    Greek Life

    non existant

    Clubs and Activities

    i only dabbled in clubs freshman year, there are plenty of options considering the size of the school but none of them particularly interested me. often ideas that most people would find perfectly acceptable are shut down due to some regulation that the school has

    Great for these types of students

    strictly academic and club oriented students as springfield ma has nearly nothing to do that most students will feel comfortable doing because it fairly dangerous.

    Bang for the buck

    pretty good academically but is extremely expensive for the quality of dorms and food. also the lack of things to do both on campus and off really puts a damper on the whole college experience. overall, i wpould say this institution is not worth the 40k a year.

    What to do for fun

    unfortunately, i have found nothing consistently fun in the springfield area and my interests are diverse.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is absolutely terrible, students will try and avoid eating it as much as possible as it will give you a stomach ache. that is a major flaw in the school most students would eat easy mac everyday over going to the dining hall in the campus center.

    Dorm Life

    extremely strict. one time i was sitting in a dorm room with a few friends and someone yelled shots as an ra walked by. he called the campus police to search the room when it was simply a phone conversation in which someone said shot loudly. there was no alcohol present at the time and it was a bit ridiculous.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is as difficult as you make it. like i said earlier, it is a small school and the professors are always willing to help if you put in the effort to contact them. i found it hard to get classes that i will thoroughly enjoy though as there are not many interesting electives due to the small size.

    In three sentences

    western new england university is pretty good academically. if you want the help teacher are usually eager to do so and will find time to make sure you understand the material. the campus is fairly nice.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Incredible campus safety program. Blue lights outside most dorms for any emergency. Campus police are always driving around. They can respond to anything in under 90 seconds. It has been proven.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities going on. Your standard ones like pre med, outing club, psych club to maybe not so standard, Japanese anime club, magic, paint balling.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who like smaller schools. If you are a little introverted that's okay, they have a lot of ice breaker programs and you are guaranteed to meet your friends. There's a lot of stuff to do but you do have to be a little more academically based.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I can think of off the top of my head.

    Bang for the buck

    I went between 3 and 4 stars on this. I love my prgram for my major. I love the amount of clubs and stuff the campus offers but it is not a cheap school. I gave it four stars because I think that the programs are incredible and most colleges are becoming more expensive anyways. Face it. The economy blows, but I do believe you'll get your monies worth here.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do on weekends. At the cafe the late night (a program on campus) always puts on events from 9 o'clock to 2 a.m. CAB another program does events a little earlier usually from 6 or 7 to as late as 10 or 11. There's usually a lot to do. My favorite thing is their destress week. They do a lot of destressing things the week before finals. Like massages, stress balls, music, dancing, crafts. You go for an hour or two to relax.

    Food and Dining

    I personally think the food is great. They always have a pizza station and a salad bar. The different types of sandwiches rotate. The hot meals are always different. The grill is mainly burgers but they will cook up anything. I think breakfast is the best. They make the most terrific omelettes.

    Dorm Life

    They have a lot of fun activities going on during the weekends. Dorms are a lot of fun. There isn't a lot of partying that happens mostly off campus so don't expect a lot of it. Dorms are relatively good sized. They offer doubles and triples.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the programs (engineering and some sciences) are harder than others however that's what college is about. Pushing yourself and learning. It's nothing unmanageable. If you are willing to work hard and put forth the effort you can do it. No problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into a smaller school with small student to teacher ration then Western New England is good for you. Don't expect 20,000 students here. Less then 3,000 on the undergraduate campus. But its a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    A very amazing and relatively small school with regard to classroom size. Lots of majors and very nice buildings with extremely nice and helpful teachers. One hell of a neuroscience program ;)

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college and talk with enrolled students at the campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean and modern. The campus has everything that I will need at the campus. The student/teacher ratio is excellent.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at this school are actual Springfield cops and are friendly and make the campus feel extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at WNEU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of activities at WNEU including: academic clubs, sports, intrameural sports, campus activities board, peer tutoring, peer advisors, etc

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for: students who want to live at school but may be overwhelmed by a larger university, students who want to play sports but do not seem capabe of playing at a Division I school, students who want classes that are similar to the size of high school classes (on average 25 students)

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of on campus activities that allow for you to develop new friendships. Some of the activities WNEU has had are: weekly activities in the campus center, game nights, concerts, outdoor activities (rock walls, slip n' slides, frisbee, intrameural sports, etc)

    Tips for prospective students

    As a freshman or transfer student, try to stay at school until Columbus Day break; this allows for you to build stronger friendships with other students. Meet with your advisor on a regular basis so that you are able to stay on track and perhaps achieve things you did not think you would be able to, such as having two majors or choosing a subject to minor in.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at WNEU makes you feel welcome as soon as you set foot on the campus. The university's student enrollment is a perfect size to build personal relationships with professors, and to have intimate classes with about twenty-five students. WNEU has a wide range of majors that allow for students with extremely different interests to come together and develop friendships.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always available and does regular patrols. Western New England has blue lights all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited dining options but always an option for everyone, including picky eaters. The main dining hall has a variety of options. There is a Subway that is open late on weekends.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are clean and the rooms are on the small side. The shared bathrooms are also clean and I have never experienced any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the professors care about the success of their students. There is a lot of information available in the library and teachers are willing to offer extra help.

    In three sentences

    Western New England University has a gorgeous campus with challenging academic programs and numerous clubs. Teachers are helpful and the classes are small enough for personal attention. It is a great school for students looking for strong academics on a fairly small and personal campus.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is dry in the under 21 areas and this is a policy enforced by the residence hall staff and our campus police. These officers are Massachusetts State Police trained and the office functions separately from Springfield PD. These officers are more people who help to keep the community safe with the help of our emergency blue lights and cameras monitoring campus. Because of their effort and positive attitude, the WNE students feel completely safe living on this community.

    Greek Life

    At WNE we do not currently have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I give 5 stars to this section because of the many options. We currently have 61 active clubs and organizations which range from things like Student Senate, to the outing club, to our various honor societies. There are clubs who specifically put on events for campus like the Campus Activities Board. This section didn't earn 5 stars just because of the wide variety but because any student has the option of starting a new club or organization on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    WNE is great for the type of student that is open to new challenges, willing to become involved in the community, and it also willing to step of of his or her comfort zone in order to forge strong relationships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that we have is painting the rock. It started as a prank by a senior class many years ago. Since then the rock has grown with the many layers of paint added. This paint is used to advertise different events on campus. Clubs reserve the rock weeks in advance to help get the word out as publicity on campus. Important locations would be lawns on campus which are used for students to play football, frisbee, or just hang out in the sun.

    Bang for the buck

    WNE is a private school with an expensive bill. These rough economic times do not help prospective students feel comfortable taking out loans which will add up over 4 years. However, WNE offers many academic scholarships for academics, leadership, and the student always has the option of applying for independent scholarships. In addition, campus life is strong and creates a second home for the student which definitely provides plenty of bang for anyone's buck.

    What to do for fun

    With over 60 clubs and organizations on campus, there is at least one club for everyone. And if there is a person who can't seem to find that club, there is always the option of creating a new club. Every Friday and Saturday night there are events put on by these clubs in the campus center as well as what we call Late Night at the Rock from 11pm-2am every Friday and Saturday night. In addition, within the Greater Springfield area there is Six Flags Theme Park, the Basketball Hall of Fame, and various other sites to check out while exploring the area.

    Food and Dining

    As I have realized in college, everyone has their own opinions about the food in the dining hall. I have found that there is always an option for me even though it is hard to compare with home-made cooking. Aramark, who provides are food, listens to our suggestions for new food ideas and surveys the campus more than once a year to work to give the dining hall a wider variety of options and healthier choices.

    Dorm Life

    At WNE we do not call these buildings dorms; they are referred to as Residence Halls. The staff in these halls work hard to keep a community feel and perform programs within halls and throughout campus. The progressive living style is a great way to progress students into growing up and living on their own. First year students will start out in a double or a triple in a large residence hall which will progress to suit style living and then on to the apartments and town houses.

    Academic Rigor

    As usual, the course load is different for all majors but each major has its own high course load which is both challenging and reasonable. Certain majors do require more lab work while other require more independent study. The academic rigor does progress when you reach 300 and 400 level classes but be prepared to have several electives and general requirements outside of the major requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip would have to be to keep an open mind. Remember that building new relationships and finding your own way in college takes time and effort. Be open to change and never be afraid to utilize the various services offered when needing help.

    In three sentences

    Western New England University constantly strives to keep a strong community atmosphere. The professors work hard to build a strong relationship with their students and it shows all across campus. Although the campus is small in population and area, it is a constantly welcoming environment ready to provide students with a home.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very strict

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the president of the club lacrosse team, we are very relaxed and love to have fun. It's also a great way to make friends with a fun group of guys.

    Great for these types of students

    Good engineering school(so i hear), I am a bio student however.

    Bang for the buck

    School is a little pricey, but there are plenty of scholarship opportunities

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events, go to the gym, go to school sanctioned events, nightlife is also fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average, dining hall hours are convenient, and there is a subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of fun meeting new people and making new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Just finished taking organic chemistry I and II, very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor to research your possible teachers beforehand.

    In three sentences

    Great School with a beautiful campus. Most teachers are friendly and easy to get in touch with outside of class. There are plenty of things to do on campus that the school sets up.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because the campus is so small, public safety officers survey the area and usually break up parties. They are helpful when you need either an escort to a part of campus or a parking pass for a friend, but not for much else.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on the Western New England University campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 60 clubs and organizations on campus, so there is plenty to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, studious, outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Golden Bear- We have a statue of a bear painted gold to represent our mascot. Everyone takes their picture on it at some point. We have midnight madness every year, where each class competes against each other in various games. Also, there is special theme dinner every last Thursday of the month in the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    The University is expensive, but they just built a brand new Pharmacy building which is an asset to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Outside from programs put on by the campus, the school is located near many stores and restaurants. There is a movie theater and a bowling alley near by as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is freshly prepared- it does not sit under heat lamps for hours on end. There is a wide selection of food and there is always pizza, sandwiches, hamburgers, and hot dogs if you do not like the main course options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in general is a positive experience. You meet a lot of people and get a chance to live with someone or multiple people, creating friendships. Each dorm has multiple Resident Advisors that put on programs and are availale to talk to about basically anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, most of the classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the movie theater on Cooley Street on Tuesday's for five dollar movies, don't plan on good dinners in the dining hall on Sunday nights, and sign up for clubs and play intrumeral sports. Almost everyone is involved with the school in one way or another and it gives you the opportunity to meet many people and participate in fun activities.

    In three sentences

    Western New England Univeristy is a small community with professors who are willing to help in all aspects of learning. The school is easy to become aquainted with and is set in a beautiful New England area of Massachusetts.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe and it feels as though there is nothing to worry about on campus at night.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately for those of you that want sororities and fraternities, Western New England University does not allow those on its campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is enough for everyone and then some. You may want to go to all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    The students who are willing to work academically and to get involved on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some students decide to take a ride on the Golden Bear and others involved in clubs paint announcements on the rock outside the Campus Center.

    Bang for the buck

    Between the clubs, late night activities, and the academics, the school is even more than the price they ask for in tuition. You will always know where to go for fun or academic issues.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of fun things to do on campus. You can join one of the many clubs if you want to meet people with similar interests as you. You can go to the Campus Center during the weekends and watch or participate in many of the Late Night at the Rock activities during the weekend. These activities even include concerts and comedian shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best in the world, but there is plenty of it and you can have as much as you want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great way to get to know your fellow students. There is always something fun going on there. It's recommended that the students spend at least one year in the dorms because it is the best way to experience the college at its finest.

    Academic Rigor

    The pace is perfect for an academically challenging school. The future students have to remember that they are there to learn, not to goof around. If you do not keep up, you may fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that more students should consider Western New England University rather than accepting public university fate. The advantages of a private university instruction far outweigh the financial pitfalls. For instance, most public colleges have huge professor to student ratios. This would lead to communication problems among the teachers and the students as well as leave shy students in the dust because they may be too scared to ask questions after class. This university's pacing in the classroom is just right because the professor can temper the speed if the students do not understand what is happening. The students can have fun learning for a change instead of trying to keep up with professors they do not even comprehend.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. It has small professor to student ratios within the classrooms and the professors remember you by name because of it. It is also very academically challenging while providing a secure backdrop with fun things to do at all times.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is always around

    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the rock people come and paint it in the middle of the night listing events that will be going on. grilled cheese night also occurs before finals where you can have food delivered into the late hours of the nights when people are studying.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but i chose to go to this smaller school for the small class sizes and sense of community and i definitely got that!

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events. There are also Friday events that are really fun and put on every week by various clubs on campus. Most students live on campus so the activities office does a great job of always making sure there is something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Armark has great food and is also the food who does many of the ballparks in the US !

    Dorm Life

    Offers many dorming styles and opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    Good courses that are challenging and informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on academics, it could be easy to get over involved here but make sure you make grades the top priority. There are many academic resources and help available.

    In three sentences

    Good sense of community. Easy to make friends and get involved. Everyone is helpful and receptive.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a police station right on campus and they have a system to call for help from just about any area.

    Food and Dining

    They offer lots of choices for food and you can usually always find something to eat and that means a lot coming from me because I can be a bit picky.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept very clean and doing your laundry is a snap but it can be a little noisy sometimes(but that is to be at least a little expected in a residence hall).

    Academic Rigor

    Classes definitely give you the challenge that you are looking for and expect a relatively steady stream of homework on a regular basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    They offer really good scholarships if you have a good GPA and SAT/ACT test scores. If you are looking into Pharmacy school you should definitely consider this school.

    In three sentences

    This is a really good school if you would like a small campus and smaller classes. It offers so many majors that you really can't go wrong from that standpoint. The professors here are nothing but kind and willing to help you succeed.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constantly, sometimes annoying, over-patrolled by campus police and public safety. But if you're not doing anything wrong in the first place you have nothing to worry about! They do make the campus feel like a very secure place to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like i stated before there are tons of events, clubs and organizations always looking for new members on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    -Hardworking -Fun loving -Sociable

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus mascot is the golden bear with a huge statue in the middle of campus. Along with the campus rock which is painted different colors all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Not a cheap school, but the education and the atmosphere is well worth the price in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and organizations to join along with dozens of planned events and trips.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious buffet and some restaurant-style eateries on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    Personally i commute, but from what my peers tell me it is a lot of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can handle a hefty workload and prepare to have fun!

    In three sentences

    It is an outstanding school with friendly staff. The classes are all moderately sized and possess the most updated equipment. The food and campus life is what really brings this school alive.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Public Safety on campus is GREAT. They are everywhere you need them to be and then some. I am NEVER worried when I am on campus. Such nice officers and so willing to help, it never hurts to build good relationships with them. Especially when you do things like locking your keys in your car pretty often, they'll even get them out for you if they can!

    Greek Life

    Western New England does not have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 65 active clubs and organizations to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that excel in a smaller classroom environment with more personal attention from their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a rock on campus that is used for event publicity. The rock gets painted to advertise a new event almost once a week! It is where you go to find out what's going on on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is very invested in its students, each student has the ability to excel and gain recognition for the work that they do. The faculty and staff take interest in their students and are great people. The WNE community is a great one to be a part of.

    What to do for fun

    Campus Activities Board ALWAYS has something planned whether it's a movie, a trip, a concert, you name it, they probably host it. Such a great organization! The Springfield area also has alot to offer, restaurants, museums, malls, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall isn't bad, and the buffet style is a bit easier on the wallet. There are also great options at the grill and Subway as well.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls on campus are great facilities and offer a great deal of community among residence. There's always activities going on sponsored by the res halls and the Residence Hall Association does a great job of uniting students that live on campus and putting on great programs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough but are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and engaged on campus, there are so many organizations to get involved with. It's a great way to get to know students as well as faculty and staff.

    In three sentences

    Western New England is a close-knit community with the opportunity for individual excellence. WNE has great faculty and takes a genuine interest in the success of its students.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you follow the University rules about safety, it is a safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are great. There is something for everybody.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to keep you busy on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is exceptional. There are always a varied of choices for all three meals. The food is fresh and hot everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic experience is challenging but attainable. The Professors are very knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college experience without a lot of students this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly and helpful University. The professors are professional and always available to help you. The campus is just the right size.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, there are real police officers on campus at all times. Crime is little to none on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 60 different types of clubs and organizations. It is very easy to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People that enjoy sports, smaller schools, and interested in majoring in engineering/business/pharmacy.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is good, the best part about it is the faculty and professors because they will go out of their ways to help you.

    What to do for fun

    School clubs, seminars, nearby places off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, there is a large dining hall that has salads/wraps/and hot foods. There is also a food center where you can get grill options and a convenience store.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your professor and major, but I have found my classes and homework manageable while having 2 work study jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Faculty and professors are there to help you, and it shows. Make an effort to talk to your professors after class if you need help.

    In three sentences

    A small school with supportive faculty and good classes. Night life isn't too exciting but there is always something available to do.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food could be improved.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown, communter

    Academic Rigor

    Each class will challenge you in some way. The key is to have good time management and ask questions if you do not understand anything.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    amazing

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    jocks

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat in the dining hall but i hear its pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging for students that aren't very smart, might be easy for very good students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to commute, don't.

    In three sentences

    The students are very rude. The teachers are amazing. The campus is beautiful.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do on campus for fun. Most people would play frisbee, lax, throw a ball, etc. outside.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, they could change it up a little more often though.

    Dorm Life

    Two of my closest friend were fortunate enough to all end up without a roommate and to live next to each other. We had an amazing freshman year together, however, there were some girls on the floor that were obnoxious and expected to come to college and live a boring and peaceful life. The dorms are cleaned daily but could be cleaned a little better.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not too hard. I feel like I've learned a lot and was able to balance my schedule very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of your professor's office hours and don't wait until last minute for things.

    In three sentences

    Western New England is a very warm and welcoming place. The campus is very nice and kept very well maintained. The size of the campus is also very convenient for getting place to place quickly.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are A LOT of clubs and activities on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Six flags, Ingleside Mall, downtown Springfield can be scary but there are some options down there.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food. Varieties of options and new gluten free sections.

    Dorm Life

    Resident advisers do their best to continuously come up with activities for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are challenging, but teachers are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Springfield lacks excitement but the school itself it is a great, small campus.

    In three sentences

    Western New England cares about their students. They work very hard to help you maintain a good GPA. The small class sizes help you get to really know your teachers.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good variety of clubs on campus, for all types of students to select from.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes (especially rugby and football players), students looking for business courses, engineering courses, or placement in the new pharmacy program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock which clubs can paint to advertise events.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost can be a major problem, as there are insufficient merit scholarships for those with superior academics.

    What to do for fun

    There are several campus events hosted weekly, as well as a Spring concert each year.

    Food and Dining

    Since I don't live on campus, I rarely eat in the cafeteria, though the Rock Cafe offers a good selection of food, including a coffee shop and a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so I can't speak for the dorm life, though I have heard both positive and negative things.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are difficult and require a huge amount of preparation, but others feel like they were taught at a pre-college level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that your major is offered here, or that credits will transfer, since it can be a costly mistake if you change your mind.

    In three sentences

    WNE is a great school for academics, and the professors are generally extremely friendly and helpful. The area isn't bad and there are a lot of things to do off campus. The major downside is the cost, and the limited availability of grants and scholarships for upper level students.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The on campus police are trained by the MA Department of Safety and they have actually brought the crime rate on campus down over the years.

    Clubs and Activities

    Outing club, student government and WNEK radio are only a few of the man clubs that you can be part of. There is a little bit for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love smaller classes and tight knit communities.

    Bang for the buck

    For me they were the best deal.

    What to do for fun

    You can keep a look out for events happening o campus but if that fails you are not a log drive from Boston if you want a concert and Springfield has some local hotsots.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome, yo get full choice in what you get from the dining hall and they always cook something good

    Dorm Life

    There are always events happening and many opportunities to have fun and relax.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework looks a bit time consuming but that's what to be expected from any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, do the open house, go to SOAR because they will only give you the most clear picture of life on campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and is very cozy as well as inviting. you are close enough to go to a concert or do something but are far enough away to focus on your work. The dorms are simple and nice in how they are designed.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Little to no crime, state issued police officers, cameras and safety boxes spread out around campus and everything is close together...need I say anymore?!

    Greek Life

    There is none. :/ But I've gotten over this because everything else kind of makes you forget about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in 5 clubs myself and I plan on joining more next semester. I know others who are in everything possible, but I barely know anyone who isn't involved. There's a lot to chose from and since it's student run the majority are fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The gym and the athletic fields are great for athletes. Whenever you enter the gym there's something going on whether it's practice or a game or not. And even non-athletes are welcome and have fun. The Game Room in the campus center is great for gamers. Pool, Foosball, T.V., and comfortable chairs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock and the Golden Bear! The Rock is literally a huge rock on campus and its painted with something different every week. The Golden Bear is a statue of our school mascot and every one rides the bear at least once before graduating.

    Bang for the buck

    From my personal experience it's great so far, but I know others who haven't enjoyed it as much. It is what you make it!

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there is a late night hosted in the campus center where there's a movie viewing, a guest comedian, open mic night, or even trivias and prizes. Early on in the year a lot of events are put on especially for freshmen and did I mention that there are almost always prizes?! And even towards the end of the year there are events such as the Spring Event Concert where there's a live musical artist(s) performing all night. P.S. its college so there are campus and off-campus parties too!

    Food and Dining

    College food in general isn't the best. But at WNEU, there's a good variety to chose from so you don't get bored so fast and if you have special food needs they accommodate that too. They have themed dinners for holidays, sports events and even random but delicious themes on the last Thursday of every month. My favorite is Midnight Brunch which is on the weekend before finals where the dining hall is opened late at night to serve breakfast...and oh yea, the professors are the ones serving. And a bonus is the people who work there are probably some of the friendliest on campus!

    Dorm Life

    There is a lot of different housing to chose from after your first year such as suite, apartment or house style. Freshmen get to chose from traditional or non-traditional housing which isn't bad either compared to most universities. The rooms are actually big and the housekeeping staff are not only good at what they do, but they're also sweethearts. The off-campus housing is also good because most of the houses are within walking distance and reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    Being an engineering student our curriculum is heavy, but fair as well. Other areas of study that I know are heavy as well included Pharmacy, the Sciences, Law and Business. But then you can take it easy and have fun too with an art class like paper-making or piano lessons. Academics is well rounded and spread out at WNEU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! The campus is beautiful and small enough that you'll see a few faces more than once a day. Put yourself out there and join a club or a team or even grab a group of friends and play out on the lawns (everyone does it!).

    In three sentences

    How about in three words? Beautiful, home-y, lively! :)

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus police car patrolling around the school so no need to feel scared about walking around campus. There are blue lights where you can press the button to have a campus police escort you to where ever you need to go. They have a fast response when fire alarms go off and make sure everyone exits the building safely.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are fun and friendly here. No discrimination of skill level or people. I have joined the martial arts team without any knowledge of martial arts and have participated in a few tournaments. Really easy making new friends in the events the campus center puts up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the tradition of sending your friend to jail. It is to make aware of campus safety. You can send your friend to jail (located in the Campus Center) and your friend needs to get out by bail with money. You pay the officer to go into your friend's class or where ever your friend is and the officer will make an arrest based on what you charge your friend. There is the campus rock where most clubs or activities will be painted on the rock as advertisements to attract students to the events.

    What to do for fun

    I would recommend going to the IMPROV show because they are fantastic people and really funny. Other than that, there is the Holyoke Mall if you need some place to go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    If you go to the dining hall, the lunch and dinner menus are ok. Not the best in the world and not really that tasty. The only things that I would recommend are the grill, sandwich bar, breakfast omelettes, and belgium waffles. They make fantastic desert, but the entrees are not on par with the deserts. If you want to eat somewhere else, there is a subway and a grill below the dining hall. You can either use your points or use your own money.

    Dorm Life

    Just a fair warning, this school is predominately guys. Lots of guys and some can be very noisy. I have lived on campus for two years and it was not that pleasant since I live on the side of the building with all guys and very few girls. I lived in Commonwealth building and it has a small kitchen available to do some cooking.

    Academic Rigor

    I was a biomedical engineering student so school work was just a nightmare. I will have to devote 8 or more hours of my time to study in order not to fall behind. However, depending on you major, you may or may not have a huge work load. The professors are available to help you as long as you email them a few days in advance if your schedule collides with the professors' office hours. There are tutors available for all departments. You will have to book a time for the tutoring session or drop in.

    In three sentences

    Small close knit community of variety of friendly people. You get the sense of close friendships and develop second family.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good.

    Greek Life

    Not a part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime Club, Uniting Clubs...

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, out going, and primarily white.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an okay school, but the meal plan is not worth it unless you want to pay 770+ for food on campus for one semester.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs if you have the time. Hang out at the Campus center to find your crowd.

    Food and Dining

    I hear it sucks, if you commute make sure you know that you want the meal plan or else you are stuck with it after the first two weeks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but I hear it I alright.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are easy if it is what you're interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come with friends because it is easier to make friends when you are not by yourself all the time, be friendly.

    In three sentences

    I feel like I am in high school again, just with more work. The professors are nice, but as a commuter I do not feel the friendly atmosphere I was promised.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. I have never felt threatened on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    For such a small school there is a huge variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small classes, able to work for scholarships, and are focused on what kind of experience they want out of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock gets painted in the center of campus that tells what is going on at school.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school but very well worth it. Gives good financial aid, but scholarships were still necessary for me to go here.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the campus center, go to Hot Table across the street, visit the Holyoke mall.

    Food and Dining

    Friendly, wonderful staff. Sometimes a lack in variation.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the buildings are older but most are well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging work load but it is never impossible to accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a lot of time in the library. Do not go home every weekend. If you have a problem find someone to talk to, everyone here is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Exactly what I wanted in a school. Small class sizes, comfortable dorming, and a beautiful campus was what I expected. All of these are provided by Western New England University

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little pricey, but so is every other school. You are getting your money's worth and it is a great investment.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events taking place on campus and there is also many places to go off of campus.

    Food and Dining

    It is a buffet style cafeteria and there is always different options for the food choice.

    Dorm Life

    You get to know a great deal of people and also get a nice room as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really good and the professors are always there for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the school and apply. Look into the things you are interested, like sports or clubs. Call and ask a supervisor any questions you have about the school.

    In three sentences

    It offers many majors and the academics are amazing. It is a small school, which makes it easy to make friends. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a school that has great programs and wants to live on campus.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus activities happen daily along with during the weekends. Springfield also has a lot to offer. I am never bored here.

    Food and Dining

    food at WNE is better than other campuses I have visited. breakfast and lunch never disappoint here!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Class may be difficult but it is all worth it in the end. Professors are also helpful and always here for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is small but it helps to focus on your education. There are many organizations here as well which makes it easy to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Western New England is a great college all around. From the faculty to the students, everyone is here to help. The academics are also very demanding but worth it in the end. I have learned so much in the past two years here.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    know what they are doing, very fair and reasonable

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    we have over 60 plus clubs and organizations. you can basically start a club as long as there is interest in it.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, shy, silly sporty, nerdy, involved, laid back any student will do well here

    Bang for the buck

    everything is included in your tuition... such as the events we hold on campus..so you think its free but your actually paying for it however.. a lot less than if you were to go out and do the activities on your own.

    What to do for fun

    our club CAB does some pretty good events on campus along with other organizations. movies and bowling are located 10 to 30 minutes away. there is always something to do on campus. **** black light dance, midnight madness, movie night, performers etc

    Food and Dining

    its the same thing every day. I have left many comments to try and get more of the wanted foods more often instead of on a rare occasion. especially on the weekends were there is limited options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are good. Hampden could use renovation in the sense of updated bathrooms and common room. but they always fix them when an issue is reported

    Academic Rigor

    classes are at high quality with lots of discussions. professors work to get you the information you need and are willing to help you in and outside of the classroom. it takes a lot of self integrity to achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have the confidence to advocate for yourself. Know your resources and use them effectively. You can achieve success as long as you are willing to strive for it.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus but there is a starbucks in the campus center...what more could a college student ask for!!

    Academic Rigor

    WNEU is hard...but college is suppose to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a transfer student to WNEU. I would recommend that school to a prospective student because in addition to offering a lot of different majors the campus is beautiful, even in the winter! I have been very lucky in my studies so far to have great teachers and great classmates. I do not live on campus so I can not say anything for the dorms or campus life but I have been able to enjoy the gym, the campus center, and the library.

    In three sentences

    Amazing campus! Great teachers! Outgoing classmates!

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security and blue boxes to call for security. You can also get escorts to and from classes.

    Greek Life

    I think so?!

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined yet, but there are all kinds of academic clubs, sports, and other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in accelerated learning and advanced degrees. Students interested in technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a painted rock int he middle of the quad that posts important messages.

    Bang for the buck

    Great facility with opportunity for 5 year Bachelor's Masters in certain fields. Part of Joint Transfer Program with community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and sports to join on campus. Located just 20 minutes from Six Flags New England. Less than 10 minutes to Boston Road, major shopping centers.

    Food and Dining

    No comment on food quality didn't get to visit dining hall. Lots of great options for meal packages though.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived on campus yet. However, dorms look decent and the doubles with semi-private bathrooms, while small, do offer extra privacy. Free laundry machines!!

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering program has an honors curriculum. Lab is state of the art, and required for most science courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume this is just an inner city school- visit the campus. Take advantage of the open houses and shadow a student days. Ask to check out the new labs since it isn't part of the regular tour.

    In three sentences

    WENU has a beautiful campus. The admissions staff is very helpful and responds quickly to your questions.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is really up to the student. The University does its best to throw events at least once every other week, but there are off campus things to do. Also, there are multiple colleges in the city of Springfield. So if there is nothing to do in WNEU, on any given day, there is bound to be something to do at the other colleges

    Food and Dining

    I enjoyed it, but it gets repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    I feel like it is what you make of it. My dorm life was very wonderful, I loved the opportunity of living on my own. I also got to meet many new people. (very close and connected)

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I feel that it was fairly even, granted I was only a freshman. I felt that it was enough work to actually make me work, yet light enough that i was able to enjoy the college experience. It is truly how a student schedules his/her time.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Do not be shy be open and meet as many people as possible 2. Reach out to professors (it will help the academic experience) 3. Get involved in as many things that the university has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Western New England University has a beautiful campus, with an amazing staff base. There are many clubs, organizations, and varsity sports to join at WNEU. It also has a very comfortable environment about it.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many activities and clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, involved, ambitious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Paint the rock every year!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school, but offers a lot of financial aid and lots of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Parties and activities off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the best, but it's exactly like every other college.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm sizes are fair and everything is well-kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Gives students the opportunity to enroll in multiple accelerated programs as well as honors programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the rain!

    In three sentences

    Not only is the campus beautiful, but the students and faculty are welcoming and very friendly. It is a great school, very safe, and gives all students the opportunity to get involved. Professors and coaches are helpful and extremely inviting.