Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western New Mexico University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    good for everyone from a smaller school who is used to small classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    its a low key college. Everything is relaxed and nothing is really a rush.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty Campus, Weather is good. windy but good. the campus is also small and not spread out. Easy walking distance

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small town that is fighting against being a retirement home and a college town.

    Am learning a lot

    With low student teacher ratio, it is very easy to get the attention needed to understand the material in the classrooms.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i enjoy dancing, playing soft ball, and spending time with my family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    i eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home with parents.

    Academic Rigor

    4 star on academics .

    In three sentences

    i have been attending wnmu since my junior year in high school. it has been a rewarding experience for me to attend, i have enjoyed all the courses i have attended. i will continue my studies at wnmu to complete all my basics.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is really safe and we have our own campus police. they are there for what ever you need. if you have a late class and don't have a way of getting to or from class they will pick you up.

    Clubs and Activities

    honors program, native american club, criminal justice, and many more clubs

    Great for these types of students

    people who struggled in high school and want to make their life better.

    What to do for fun

    there is intramural sports teams you can join or go watch. there is sports games to go watch with friends. and there is a lot of activities sponsored by the school.

    Food and Dining

    better then high school cafeteria and it's all you can eat. they have a large variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    you get to pick and choose who your roommates are. you meet a lot of people from all over the nation.

    Academic Rigor

    nearly every student will graduate with in a four year period. has one of the best education programs in new mexico.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you need a lot of help from professors then this is the place to come because you get a lot of one on one time. tuition is a reasonable price if you don't have a lot of money.

    In three sentences

    you have a lot of one on one time with professors. it's a small school and everybody knows who you are. it's a open school so you don't have to take the act or sat and your gpa doesn't matter.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bike riding, four wheelers, basketball, and they have different sports teams and clubs that you can join!

    Food and Dining

    Got to love mexican food

    Dorm Life

    I dont know I don't have a dorm, but from what I see they look pretty awesome!!

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has really good programs! For example, Im going for nursing and this school has a really good nursing program, it's intense but gives you the tools you need in order to succeed!

    In three sentences

    REALLY GOOD SCHOOL!!Every one is nice and willing to help. The professors are great and willing to help u out when needed.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First time and Returning students

    What to do for fun

    I receive various emails in regards to social events held at the college, but have not had the opportunity to attend as I am an online student. But it does appear to me that the college has the best interest of the students in mind.

    Food and Dining

    Does not pertain to me.

    Dorm Life

    I currently do not reside in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In terms of academic rigor, the graduate level classes can be quite intense. A student has to make certain that he or she is adequately prepared by following the reading assignments and adequately preparing for quizzes and tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for each class as appropriate and study hard. Request assistance from your professor or college advisor immediately if you are having difficulties.

    In three sentences

    Western New Mexico University provided an excellent opportunity for returning students via online/ distance learning. My student advisor makes herself available with any questions and concerns I have.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is hardly any dangerous accidents or activity that I have seen or heard at this university. Compare to some other colleges I feel completely at home and safe here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a more one on one relationship with their teachers. Students with little money, and studnets that enjoy a more peaceful atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Western is a very cheap college that provies a very good nursing program. It also has some great very nice teachers.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is a recreation room that has a pool table couches and T.V''s. Other than that there is downtown Silver City that is just a few blocks away. There is also a newly build skate park for those that like to skate and are looking to challenge themselves. This community also provides great resources for those that enjoy the out doors. you can go hiking, mountain biking, rock climbing, and even enjoy some hot springs. And if your looking for more of some big city fun there is Las Cruses and El Paso just a few hours away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre everyday cafeteria food. Nothing great but its what i would expect for cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Students are immature for their age.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that some of the classes that I've taken so far have been dumbed down a bit for college classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college for more of a teacher student relationship. Some of the students population is a little immature for their age. But this could also just be more noticeable because of the more condensed area. It also has very good chances for work study opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Its a small college. The teachers are very helpful due to the small class sizes. It could use more funds for a little bit of a better environment.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not too sure that Silver City has too much!

    Food and Dining

    Silver City has an Arby's!

    Dorm Life

    I heard that dorm life was good.

    In three sentences

    It looks nice. The people seem friendly. It looked like there was a lot of diversity.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grad students looking for an inexpensive graduate degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the buck!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Be self motivated

    In three sentences

    I am an online student. Academics so far is good, and challenging. It is difficult getting in contact with professors.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, campus police are never to far away and right in the middle of campus and are willing to help you with anyting

    Great for these types of students

    Any types of students, we have several foreign students as well

    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out in our lobby that has a big screen tv and watch movies with friends, also play basketball in the intermerial gyms they have available, work out in there new equipted weight room, also do activites they put on such as freezbe golf or 5 on 5 sports for girls and boys.

    Food and Dining

    Lunch is great pizza, hamburgars, salad, and a grill that is different everyday. Dinner is good to but less food then lunch

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good dorm life, have your own room, share a bathroom with one other person, and you have a living room, this is the co-ed dorm, but there are an all girls dorm as well as a boys, then a new co-ed dorm there building.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics hear so far for my first year they care about teaching you and making sure you understand the concepts their teaching.

    In three sentences

    WNMU is a great school from a 1-10 for a small college i would rate them at a 9. its fun and they put activities out there for students to have something to-do. Its great for a small area

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    frequent campus police and local authority patrols make the campus feels safe

    Clubs and Activities

    im not involved in any

    Great for these types of students

    The student body and faculty are extremely diverse so i think this campus is great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Red Paint Pow-wow is exhilarating!

    Bang for the buck

    Cost of tuition isn't bad but the cost of living is fairly high so make sure you apply for as much financial aid and scholarships possible.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in town, but if you love the outdoors this is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get on campus housing as the off-campus housing tends to be extremely expensive and hard to come by.

    In three sentences

    Great, the professors are extremely helpful and creative. Computer labs and other informational resources are readily available. Fellow students are helpful and extremely friendly.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. 5 stars

    Greek Life

    unsure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Criminal justice club and pre-med students.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone except those value education by school's ivy league status However, I do still attend Harvard and find that I am much happier at Western.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The museum.

    Bang for the buck

    Huge.

    What to do for fun

    Horse back riding Hiking Biking Boating

    Food and Dining

    Diane's Restaurant. Actually, there are at least 6 top notch restaurants in Silver City with amazing cuisien.

    Dorm Life

    Assuming five stars.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not quite as difficult as Harvard courses I take. Four stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early.

    In three sentences

    It is unimposing, comfortable with a great selection of courses. The teachers are excellent. I think it's one of the most inexpensive universities in the US.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very good. The drugs and alcohol is very low in this campus. The campus police is always walking around and making sure everything is in order.

    Clubs and Activities

    The re are a few clubs in this campus. I am the president of the WNMU Paintball Club. The clubs are very community friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student fits in this campus. The students on campus are friendly and will try to make friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year their is an event named The Great Race. This event happens after spring break and a few weeks before finals. Its a week long and every day of the week there are events. if placing in the top three gives you points. Saturday is the day of the race and the teams compete to get first.

    Bang for the buck

    The university is very affordable for any student wanting to continue college. The school is worth every penny you spend and it won't disappoint you.

    What to do for fun

    Some things you do for fun is attend the athletic games year round. There is hiking, hunting, fishing, and now paintballing.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is pretty good food. The school is trying to get a food court with a variety of restraunts.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a residents assistant and the dorm life is good. The university is getting new dorm and being refurbished.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small which allows one on one teaching. The teachers are strict but they will help you learn the topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    To keep there heads in the books. If you like nature this is the school.

    In three sentences

    The campus is fairly small. The town has great an polite people. The school has a great professors.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Western New Mexico has great service as well as high level of education. All personal is very welcoming and has the ability to assist students.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Hopefully it's good

    Dorm Life

    Still researching

    Academic Rigor

    I'm still researching

    In three sentences

    I love the scholarships that they offer to students who live in New Mexico, the small classroom setting, and campus size.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    not to much, but lots of intramural.

    Food and Dining

    several places to eat, not sure as to taste, more mexican then others

    Dorm Life

    the town is small, so not much to do

    Academic Rigor

    some classes have quite a bit, others not so much

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy high school and prepare.

    In three sentences

    iIts nice, but not if you want to be in a large setting.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who like to relax and learn

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Too many to list.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal, cheapest around.

    What to do for fun

    I live to hike, bike, play pool, watch movies and TV and party.

    Food and Dining

    Food taste great, beats the soup kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    Hope it is relaxing and a lot of hot chicks.

    Academic Rigor

    I would like to study as long as I can get aid and then retire. It does not look like I can get a job around here, probably go back to the Midwest and get a job that pays three times more then come back around here to retire when I have some cash.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study.

    In three sentences

    The place looks very relaxing and a great place to lay back, get a lot of sleep, and learn stuff. I can wait to study and read some books without a lot of hype. I will start to earn another degree, I love getting degrees and the aid to allow me to learn.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police on campus

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports clubs , Masa

    Great for these types of students

    The more Laid back type of students. Not a party school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mustang Challenge at 12:00 pm

    Bang for the buck

    Its really cheap out here

    What to do for fun

    Hiking , Playing sports, or Hunting

    Food and Dining

    They have some good food but not as good as other universities

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are brand new and some of the biggest dorms you will see at a University

    Academic Rigor

    They have good teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Read a chapter everyday before you go to class. Also stay on top of your work!

    In three sentences

    Western New Mexico University is a great place to go. It is located in a small city. The teachers give you more one on one attention.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is present around campus, but many students think they are unapproachable.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs around campus, but not very many school sponsored activities.

    Great for these types of students

    People paying their own way through school and know exactly what they want to do when they graduate. Certain programs are excellent, but research your programs of interests and make sure they are supported with good faculty.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and fees are raising fast, if you can afford to go to a school with a better reputation, consider it.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor activities are awesome! If you like the outdoors this is the place to go! The closest movie theater is 45 min away, there is a bowling alley in town though.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't bad if you prefer quantity over quality. The food is improving, but if you're health conscious at all, the meal plan is probably not worth it. Sodexo runs both the cafeteria and the deli, so the food offerings are almost identical regardless of dining location. There are only these two dining options on campus, and very limited hours of operations.

    Dorm Life

    No matter which residence hall you choose, there are issues. It can be fun if you enjoy the people you live with, but be careful you are situated where you want to stay, if not, it can be a challenge to change.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the program you're in. Some programs are rigorous, others are snooze worthy, really depends on the class.