Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western Oregon University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for students that would like a small campus and small classrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes. It is important to show up and learn. The professors notice if you are gone. Do not procrastinate because if you get all your homework and studying done then you will have time for the fun stuff. And get involved in clubs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the campus. It is really beautiful with the surrounding trees. I enjoy my classes and I am happy I chose this school.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at Western Oregon University are really good. You learn a lot in these small classes because you can ask questions and talk to the professors.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many of the students here want to become teachers. If you want to be a teacher, Western has a great education program.

    Tips for prospective students

    I understand if you're nervous for the first week. Just remember, so is everyone else.

    Bang for the buck

    It's college. College is expensive. For the level of education, the price is fair.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people. There is always something going on on campus, and there are always friends to hang out with in the dorms.

    Am learning a lot

    My goal is to graduate in three years, and the flexible scheduling at Western allows me to follow through with my plans.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who need attention from professors, who like the small town environment, and who are wanting to be involved in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't have any yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that I will become a nurse, I know that spending money on college is worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and I will enjoy the college life at Western.

    Will learn a lot

    I feel that the environment will give me the attention that I need to succeed.

  • 03/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I grew up in a small town, so I love the small town feel. You have to be willing to live out of the city. There isn't alot to do here shopping wise. So you have to be up for a 10-15 minute ride into a bigger city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Moving in as a freshman was really great because it gave me the chance to get to meet lots of new people! I would also suggest getting out there. Make sure you get involved with as many activities as you can.

    Bang for the buck

    As any college, it seems expensive, but for what you're getting it is definitely worth it! Everyone is willing to help you with saving money, through books or class projects.

    Am enjoying being here

    The activities the campus provides you with is endless! There is everything from dance lessons, pilates, to 4$ midnight movies. They made the transition from High School to College effortless.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great here! They are all willing to be there to help you out, and are thrilled to teach you. I really enjoy the class sizes because it makes it easier for the teachers to be more personally with you. Almost all my teachers knew me on a first name basis.

  • 04/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Residents of Oregon so you can leave on the weekends, campus is pretty dead with everyone leaving for holidays and most weekends. Pretty much everyone will find classes here whether they want challenging or slide by classes, it all depends on the professor and area of study. There is a wide range here. Not for Engineers and super specialized majors like zoology, as it is a small school. That being said, there is a good variety for the size of school. Not for people who want a big city feel, the closest big city is Salem (and its not HUGE). Good for people who like clean air, good views, indoors and outdoors are good here depending on the time of year. Fairly flat campus with few stairs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use office hours. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Live on campus for at least 1 or 2 years, it helps. Try to get involved, its easy. Don't let school run your life but make it a priority. Bring a car or make friends with someone with one for those occasional late night trips to Salem, McDonald's, or Walmart. You do not NEED a car, there is plenty to do on and off campus if you are willing to walk about 2 miles.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not super cheap for out of state students such as myself. Take advantage of the WUE Tuition program (even offered to transfers). I had this program in CA too and it was not worth it there, here I believe it is. Always apply for the scholarships, they make it easy.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is nice and there is a new Health and Wellness Center on campus that is open for all current students from 6AM to 11PM and there are never any classes in the workout area, so there is almost always open equipment. The residence halls on campus are nice, I mean they are dorms so they are at least as good as they come. Monmouth, is small, but there is a bus into Salem. Dallas and Albany are not far either. There is almost anything you want to do in Salem. Walking distance is a grocery store, student discount movie theater, and fast food.

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred here from a school in the CSU system, so everything is very different from there. There are not very many general educations requirements, called LACCs here (as opposed to the multitiered style of GEs in CA). I have been taking mostly upper division classes here and have taken them in History, Anthropology, Business, Writing, and Health. I have learned so much in all of those areas, and I went into them knowing quite a bit. That said, every professor I have had is very open to giving extra help.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that want to become teachers, since they have a great teaching program, and that's what the school is most know for. There are a ton of other great programs though also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and check out the campus, there are campus tours happening all the time. Just come and look around the campus and see if it's the right school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It's college, so it's going to be expensive, but it's a fair price for the education that is offered, and in comparison to other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    The overall atmosphere of the community is very soothing. The town is fairly small, and their are plenty of trees around campus. The campus is especially beautiful during the spring, when everything blooms. The people here are also very nice, and fun to be around. There are also tons of squirrels that love to run around the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small, and this helps because students are able to ask questions about the material. All of the professors I have had so far are great teachers and their courses are easy to do well in, as long as you do the homework and study outside of class.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Has a great Medical Program. The cadaver lab is amazing, and has everything necessary for preforming an autopsy on a human body.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Western is a great school for those that want a fun and familiar atmosphere. Western is not a party school so you'd best look elsewhere if that is what interests you. After a few months at Western you will feel like you have become a part of a group of individuals that truly want to better themselves and their community.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing that I would emphasis above all else is to get involved early on in your career at Western Oregon, since by getting involved you will meet more people and allow yourself to keep your drive to learn going at full speed.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for Western Oregon is not unreasonable for the quality of education that you will receive. The school is also great about helping you to learn about financial aid opportunities so that you can focus on your education and not how you are going to pay for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to Western Oregon. There are so many programs and events going on at the school everyday that you will have to choose what you want to do first. I have made dozens of new friends and am continuing to do so.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Western Oregon are dedicated to making sure that they not only get to know you as a student, but also as a person so that they can better help you achieve your academic and personal goals. Many of the teachers encourage you to get to know them on a first name basis in order to allow you to better understand them. The classes are challenging but fulfilling.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a number one priority here. If you get done at the library and it is dark outside you can always call a security guard and they will walk with you where ever you need to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities every week and lots of clubs to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    great for all kinds of students; quiet, outgoing, hardworking.

    What to do for fun

    There are new activities almost every week. The school really wants everyone to get involved and have some fun. There are midnight movie specials really often for students and they offer specials so the average college student can go. The information center in the Werner Center posts everything that's going to be happening every week.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great convenience store in the Werner center and a spacious lunchroom also. I have spent many hours reading textbooks while having a snack.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the WOU dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really want to make sure you are doing your best. Most offer office hours in which you can go and get help with something if you need it. Work hard for what you want in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with an advisor before starting classes, it will really help in determining what you should be taking. Ask questions if you are unsure of something. Have fun with your college experience, there is always something to do.

    In three sentences

    WOU is a nice small community. The classes are great and the teachers know what they are talking about. There is help for everybody no matter what your major is.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public and campus safety is everywhere, it's extremely difficult to walk across the school without seeing them. A vast majority of the officers are super friendly, nice, and polite. Yet, they will ticket you if you're parked in the wrong area so be careful, they are notorious for doing this! Finally, they patrol day and night while offering to walk with you to your car, jump-start it, and assist in other minor car troubles.

    Greek Life

    There's no Greek life at Western Oregon, a minus and a plus, depending on which side you fall.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's literally a club for every type of person, whether you are into American Sign Language, German, or Criminal Justice. Additionally, clubs on campus include but not limited to a pro-life organization, wolves against breast cancer, rugby, triangle alliance, and green dot, a group that seeks to openly demonstrate against sexual assaults and violence. There's several dozen school sponsored sports such as football, basketball, volleyball, swimming, softball, and baseball to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who wish to get away from home but don't want to go too far. It's also fantastic for individuals whom wish to gain a degree in American Sign Language and Criminal Justice. Finally, it's a very diverse student body so if you're looking for a little bit of everything then this is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Best bang for your buck? Yang's. It's a teriyaki restaurant within walkable distance of campus that offers extremely delicious food items, large quantities, and all for under eight dollars. Try it, you won't be disappointed. Also, the movie theater in the neighboring town offers really great prices on tickets so even a poor college student can afford to go now and again.

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the school year the Weekend Wolf Pack offers students the opportunities to do a variety of different things such as trips to the Oregon Coast, Mt. Hood to ski and/or snowboard, up to Portland to watch the Blazers (basketball) and the Winterhawks (minor league hockey). There was even a bus ride to see the Seattle Mariners this last spring. Also, in the fall around Halloween the school provides bus rides to and from campus to the famous Oregon School for the Deaf and Blind's haunted house. Feel like being scared out of your mind? Go! You'll have a great time and meet individuals from the school and across the state who all flock there to share their love for the holiday. Additionally, there is a bowling alley, movie theater, and several shopping centers within reasonable distances. Finally, chances are someone on your floor, neighbor, or classmate will have a big screen television and/or the latest and greatest gaming console to kick back on Friday night and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Valsetz, the one and only cafeteria on campus, offers a variety of items to chose from each each and every day. There's always the same old, same old things like cheeseburgers, pizza, sandwiches, a huge salad bar, chicken strips, and of course, french fries. In addition, there's an ice cream machine, a home-style counter, and a Wok-n-Waffle which serves waffles at breakfast and made to order stir fry throughout the day. My favorite things: the bagels and donuts, freshly made every day, grilled chicken, rice, and homemade teriyaki sauce, waffle fries, turkey sandwiches, and chocolate milk. There's fresh oranges, bananas, and apples also. Finally, in the Werner Center, is the Wolf Express, a small convenient store that offers more snacks than any thing else. A few words of advice, buy your food at Valsetz because anywhere else on campus can get expensive quickly and always use your meal plan money.

    Dorm Life

    There are a handful of dormitories on campus that give students a variety of living environments. Try it out and see if you like it, you never know until you do! Always be respectful of another other and follow the rules, they are there for a reason and let's just say a few extremely potential individuals had their chances crushed by poor decisions they made along the way. Also, if you want to make friends, leave your door open but if you don't keep it shut.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, well, well, do you want school to be difficult or a walk in the park? Chances are you'll experience both at this university. Some courses are going to be hair-splitting, mind-numbingly, and darn right awful and you'll shout with excitement the day you walk out and never have to come back while others will inspire you as you sit back, enjoy, and expand your assumptions. Always listen in class, you'll never know what kind of tips of advice will be passed around. Do yourself a huge favor first, look into your prospective instructors at ratemyprofessors.com. That way you can find the style and personality of your teacher that can best fit your learning strategies. It will save you in the long run, trust me on this!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus by yourself, don't get caught up in the big groups because you'll miss out on chances to ask questions, hear small tips of advice from fellow students, and experience the school for what it will be like when and if you go there. Give this small, public university a chance of consideration, you won't be disappointed. If you want to live close to home but far enough away so you can be independent, then this could be the school for you.

    In three sentences

    A simply beautiful, enchanting campus nestled in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Western Oregon provides students with wonderful instructors who are knowledgeable and experienced. Also, the student diversity on campus is so rewarding and enriching.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Really pretty campus

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I've heard only great things about this school from my current ASL instructor who graduated from this school. Applying was easy and even qualified for application fee deferment.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for someone that either plays a sport and can keep busy that way, or someone that knows how to fill their free time well so that they don't get bored during the week.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town itself is pretty boring and there is really not to much varity of activities to do, you have to be involved in some kinda of sport or activity to make sure you don't find yourself just siting around all day. I do find myself leaving town a lot on the weekends because the town basically empties out then.

    Am learning a lot

    The majority of the teachers I have had have been pretty good and easy to sit in class and learn from. I have had a couple of teachers that are not the greatest at keeping a class involved and learning though.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Find an advisor who is willing to take extra steps to help you and talk to students about classes and professors.

    Bang for the buck

    My first 2 years I was more confused that knew what I was doing but after finding the right advisor, I felt more comfortable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus and the student life activities. The sports teams make it fun and enjoyable to get involved with the student life.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the professor/student ratio and how the professors take time to really connect with students in and out of the classroom. They make a personal connection within lectures but keep it on a professional level.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for all types of students, whether you are a music major, english major or even a physical education major...you want it, we have it...plus it is cheaper than most colleges/universities here in Oregon

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here... YOU WILL LOVE IT

    Bang for the buck

    It's easy to go here...the prices for things are not bad.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am loving every minute of school.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are awesome... they make sense and they help you whenever you need help.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is very safe for everyone

    Greek Life

    There isn't greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for everything and you can make any club you want

    Great for these types of students

    ASL students are very prominent

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is not as important than the first week of December

    Bang for the buck

    It is well worth the investment

    What to do for fun

    I work out in the brand new gym, and join clubs

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, but not very different

    Dorm Life

    Make sure you know your roommate before you come to the school

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging and well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready for college when you begin.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon is a well diversed school; that makes everyone feel welcome. The professors are well rehearsed in their fields they teach. I love my school, i give it a 10 out of 10

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater in Independence which is a half mile away from campus. There is also bowling, work out center, swimming and many other things to do. My favorite is the intermerial sports that is offered.

    Food and Dining

    Valzets has great food and always has clean and healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots activities available for students living on campus and it is really easy to get involved. There is recreational rooms for students and time passes by quickly. Spacious rooms are available and it just depends on what you are looking for in a dorm and they will match your needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard but there are always people on campus to help such as the writing center, free tutors are offered and if you ever have technology issues there is an office set up to fix your lab top for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever get behind in a college class go and speak with the professor and it will pay off. Always sit within the first three rows on the first few days of clas.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon is a pretty campus and very diverse. There are many services offered to help students through college.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good for cafeteria food. You have so many different verities of food, just from one spot.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best, your first year in school. It gives you a chance to get acquainted to the people you one day will be graduating with.

    Academic Rigor

    The school and class sizes are great and they are both low population so you do not get lost in the crowd. Which can be both a blessing and a curse cause then your teachers know you all to well. All of the classes that I have taken, have been amazing in themselves.

    In three sentences

    I love Western Oregon University, because of its great place to be. The school and class sizes are great and they are both low population so you do not get lost in the crowd.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Western Oregon University is known for their education program as well as criminal justice programs. In addition to these two things, WOU has many other options for degrees.

    Food and Dining

    Western Oregon University has a dining hall called Valsetz. It has a wide range of food. They have a grill, Salad bar, Sandwich station, A rice station, And even a home cooked meal section!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were by far the greatest experience of my life. I was born and raised in a small community, and meeting new people was so exciting. Also, WOU has a variety of enjoyable activities to make it easier to meet new people!

    Academic Rigor

    The challenges I have faced at Western Oregon University have predominately been due to not learning the proper techniques of studying in previous schooling. As I stated above, The teachers are willing to work with you, however, they are not going to pass you if you're not ready!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small town feeling but want to attend a University, WOU is the most appealing to me because you can get to know your professors and really connect with them, making it easier to learn. Lastly, study hard, because the professors care about your success, meaning they WILL push you to do hard work while bettering you as a whole.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University has been the best educational experience of my life. With WOU being a small school, the professors are almost always available to help and willing. I love how Western Oregon University professors really care about our success, and for that, I believe i will be a very successful teacher, by learning the best techniques and variety of ways to teach.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends around the residential area

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell incoming students to complete their fafsa early, apply for as many scholarships as you can, don't stress about not knowing your major there is time for that. Be prepared to work hard it's not like high school.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is a really nice campus. There are a variety of minors and majors available from American Sign Language to Theatre Arts. Professors, staff and students are very nice and welcoming

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to Football games, Baseball games, I also play softball for the school so the practices are fun. Being able to enjoy the scenery and have a fun time with friends there.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining is a great part of college being able to eat with friends and the food is really great. Plus there are some restaurants close by to enjoy a quick bite to eat with friends. Great place to socialize.

    Dorm Life

    Great way to make friends doesn't matter if you live in a single dorm or with a roommate it is a great experience to view different cultures.

    Academic Rigor

    One on one help the ratio is 15:1. The teachers get involve and make sure their students are understanding the lesson. Also they will know if you don't show up to class, so go to class everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you show up to class everyday and have fun while you are at Western Oregon University!!

    In three sentences

    Close, beautiful campus and a great place to be for college. The teacher are really helpful, the sports are great and being able to make friends is a great thing. Western Oregon is a wonderful college to go to.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Students from smaller communities, looking for diversity and security.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport, or a club.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help! WOU offers a counseling program that is a wonderful amenity.

    In three sentences

    WOU has a beautiful campus, and offers a competitive sociology department. Students are nurtured, and encouraged every step of the way.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!!!!! Very very low incidence of any type of crime.

    Greek Life

    I am not really sure what is being asked here.

    Clubs and Activities

    WOU has a vast amount and variety of clubs and campus activities to suit the interest of everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    All students would enjoy this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We focus on diversity and multi-cultural ethnicity.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of living here is a lot less than most universities and also in the local community.

    What to do for fun

    We have lots of sporting events and a variety of campus events of every conceivable subject.

    Food and Dining

    The campus offers meal plans and there are several places on and around campus with really good and varied food choices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but there are several options available including meal plans.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the program somewhat. It can be challenging but the professors offer all of the assistance you need if you are willing to put forth the effort. This community is small so access to professors and tutors is readily available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of campus visit opportunities. Take a first year experience class your first term as it will get you aquainted with all the campus has to offer and the tuition for the class is usually free, but still offers credit. Contact student government to find students that can mentor you and hang out with you til you meet others. Go online and learn as much as you can about the campus. If you are eligible for programs like disability services or student enrichment make sure you apply early as sometimes they have waiting lists.

    In three sentences

    This is a smaller University which is what I like most about it. The students and staff are very friendly and helpful. This is a really great school if you are a non-traditional student as it offers many forms of assistance

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can honestly say that WOU is the safest campus I have ever been on and they are constantly striving to make it safer for students. They have a program called Wolf ride that gives students ride in the evening to keep them safe. More info can be found @ http://www.wou.edu/student/wolfride/

    Clubs and Activities

    I had gone to another school prior to coming to WOU and was surprised at all of the clubs and activities that are available for all types of students. Some are aimed at your education and some are just for fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Western Oregon University is great for all types of students. We have a lot of international students, art students, music and theatre students, second time around vocation students, business students, elementary education students and Masters degree students.

    Bang for the buck

    WOU is definitely a stellar education at an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on and activities to do on campus. There are trips that are planned through out the year, midnight movies at the local theater as well as club activities and fund raisers going on.

    Food and Dining

    Western Oregon University has some really great food places on campus and there are many great places with in walking distance!

    Dorm Life

    Safe and fun place to live. WOU has a policy that freshman live on campus for the first year. This is good as it gives the student new experiences and helps with becoming independent in a safe environment!

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here expect a lot, but also give a lot to make sure you succeed. Keep up with your work and keep communication lines open with your instructors. They can't help you if you don't ask for it!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of clubs and activities aimed at making the most of your college experience. Be sure to get involved and remember that part of a great education is getting out of the books once in a while!

    In three sentences

    WOU is a wonderful place to go to school, the instructors are top notch and more than willing to help you do well in your classes. The diversity here is tremendous and they seek to make all types of people from all walks of life not only comfortable but glad to be here. If you are looking for a great education at a safe, happy, helpful and awesome place Western Oregon University is the place for you!

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and well lit for nights.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a home feeling, this University is perfect for you because it is small and quaint.

    Bang for the buck

    There are free services everywhere like the writing center or even zumba.

    What to do for fun

    Midnight movies will be one activity that you will want to do. Also, the summer fine arts series will be entertaining. And you must go to all of the activities that the campus provides, there will be games and amazing prizes.

    Food and Dining

    At first the food will seem delicious but then after a while you will want something else.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life will be the first step in making new friends so you should embrace the opportunity.

    Academic Rigor

    There will be more than enough people who want to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Western Oregon University web site will be your best friend. See your counselor ever term. View your Degree Evaluation ever term.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon is a lovely and small campus. They are innovative with their students and campus. Western Oregon cares about their students.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Ate on campus once, wasn't bad at all- a few different dining options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing, especially when compared to other schools.

    In three sentences

    An amazing school: small, but not too small- with the feel of a larger campus. I can't wait to attend here, and every time I've been there I've felt welcomed.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a public safety building right across the street from Heritage. There are campus security officers going around all the time. There are even pawprints on the ground to follow so you will always be on a lighted path. I have never heard of any issue on campus with safety. I think this is a very safe campus. I have walked across campus at 9:00 at night and never thought twice about it.

    Greek Life

    There is only one fraternity on campus and it is very small. There are no sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large number of clubs on campus. They range anywhere from Multicultural Students, to Students Activities Board, to a club especially for Christians, to a club especially for teachers. The possibilities are endless. There are also intermural sports teams, which are fun if you don't feel confident enough to try out for the actual team. The activities on campus are so fun. I would suggest going to as many as possible.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy small, close-knit communities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This year we started an annual undie run. This is exactly what it sounds like--enough said.

    Bang for the buck

    I chose to give this one three stars because college is so expensive. I am having one of the best experiences of my life here and I know in the end it will all be worth it, but cost is a huge factor. In the end WOU is the cheapest in the state and one of the highest quality schools, depending on your major.

    What to do for fun

    The student and activities board as well as the individual hall governments are always putting on activities. Recently I have been to Minute to Win in, arts and crafts night, a comedy show starring two of the actors from Reno 911, and much more. The majority of these are on campus but there are also some off-campus activities put on by the school such as cosmic bowling and $5 midnight movies.

    Food and Dining

    I really like the food. There are three different dining areas as well as a coffee shop. If you are ever bored with the campus selection there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms here at WOU. I live in heritage, but I have friends in Ackerman, Barnum, and Landers so I have the inside of most of the dorms. I feel that the dorms are very welcoming and homey, opposed to some other schools I visited. There are different halls on each floor and each hall does certain things together. My hall has done things like go to Yang's together, go to volleyball games together, and we even got together with an all-boys hall for a night of crazy questions and answers.

    Academic Rigor

    Getting the hang of college is tough. You have to make time for friends, food, homework, and sleep. At Western nearly every class has homework, just like it would at any college. The syllabus is key. If you plan projects ahead of time, it is easy to stay on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    I did a ton of research on all the schools in Oregon and in my opinion, this is the best choice.

    In three sentences

    Everyone on campus is extremely friendly and the campus has a very positive vibe. It is small, tight-knit, and safe.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many public safety phones throughout campus and the officers respond faster than Monmouth Police. They help out the resident assistants with any incident needed and host various training sessions like self-defense. All of the officers are incredibly friendly and great to get to know! They even have an escort service so you can be walked around campus at night (though the campus feels very safe and has a sidewalk safety system with paw prints guiding you on the safest routes).

    Greek Life

    Greek life is just starting up at WOU. Kappa Sigma is the first frat and they are made up of a diverse group of students. They brought a rapper for a concert and hosted a car smash to release stress around finals. They will be more active this coming year!

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 40 clubs and organizations ranging from Sports (Ultimate Frisbee, Lacrosse, Rugby), Multicultural (Triangle Alliance, Black Student Union, International Club), and so many others (Anime Club, Gamers Guild, Campus Crusade for Christ). If you don't find a club you like, join more!

    Great for these types of students

    Leadership students, the following majors: ASL, Criminal Justice, Education, Nursing. Students wishing to stand out in classes and on campus. WOU is devoted to expanding diversity and encourages people from all background to attend!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Triangle Alliance (a Gay-Straight Alliance) hosts an annual Drag Show where dancers lip sync to songs that are put together to hold a story. Last year's theme was Around the World in 80 Gays. There are also the Holiday Tree Lighting Ceremony where clubs and organizations make floats for a parade and decorate trees. Families from the local cities come and see the tallest Sequoia tree on a college campus be lit with Christmas lights! Then everyone goes to the University Center for games, pictures with Santa, and many other activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has the Western Tuition Promise where tuition rates do not rise! The dorms are always being upgraded, Ackerman hall is the first Leed Platinum college campus building with sustainability. There are many scholarships available but they are competitive so I recommend applying early!

    What to do for fun

    Despite being a small town, there are tons of things to do! Comedians come to campus, there are plenty of dances, a great New Student Week to introduce students to the resident life, expectations of the college, clubs and organizations, and so much more! University Housing has many great programs (see above).

    Food and Dining

    Valsetz Dining hall is where I worked last year! WOU is too small for all of the corporate food chains, but Valsetz gets their food locally and sells many products at wholesale prices for students living on campus. They also hire many International students to help them fund college and interact with people. There are many food options: 2 stations that change daily (weekdays), a grill open for the same general items (hamburgers, fries, grilled cheese, etc) as well as daily specials (weekends too). Breakfast is great, with many options to choose from and a waffle maker. Grab-and-go food is available during all hours of operation, including bagels, cereal, coffee, frozen yogurt, drinks, and snacks (like cheese its and pop tarts). The bakery makes amazing sweets and even have special holiday treats. At night Backstage is open for custom ordered pizza and smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm (resident hall) life is amazing! The Resident Assistants go through a rigorous training and an interview process. Many programs are held weekly, including a great Weekend Programs organization. There are five hall governments that also host various program. There is plenty of diversity at the school!

    Academic Rigor

    I have to say that WOU classes have not been that challenging to me, but I am only a first-year. They have amazing Education and ASL programs. Plan ahead, you could take the harder majors and Honors program, or become more involved on campus or spend time with friends. Time management is key!

    Tips for prospective students

    Really see if the school works for you. It is in a small town, which many students may not enjoy. However, it isn't far from OSU, Portland, the mountains, and the coast. If you are into leadership, WOU is definitely for you.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is the perfect balance of small school values and large school spirit. You stand out in classes and have the chance to join many clubs and organizations. University Housing also has one of the best programs I have seen at a school this size.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the best! Campus security is always right there for you when you need them. Good campus lighting.

    Bang for the buck

    They are one of the cheapest colleges and they have a tuition freeze for undergraduate degrees.

    What to do for fun

    lots of extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, there are several places to eat. Great coffee shop!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your major adviser as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    WOU is a great school... Small classes.... Professors are always willing to help most anytime you need help. I'm a non-traditional student been out of high school since 1984, they are great at accepting me, helping me and welcoming me to their campus. Education program is one of the best in Oregon. If you love small classes, helpful professors, great people here is the place to be.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always on patrol and usually makes rounds at the dorms. Seeing them around campus at any given time is really typical. They're very friendly and also very helpful! Don't be hesitant to ask them for help if you are in need of anything.

    Greek Life

    There's only one fraternity that began last year (2011-2012 school year) called Kappa Sigma. To be honest, they are nothing like the frats you may have heard of at huge universities like Arizona State University and all those well known party schools. Don't get too excited.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs at WOU, it's just a matter of joining the right one for you. I was planning to join the Hawaii club (since I'm from Hawaii), however I never got around to attending any of the meetings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During spring my favorite place to be was on the newly-built turf intramural field! Being outside on a sunny day was always a perk.

    Bang for the buck

    The on-campus coffee shop Cafe Allegro is always popping and busy. They always make me the perfect iced vanilla-raspberry chai latte so quickly I can just stop by on my way to class! Places to eat right off-campus that are very popular include Subway, Koyotes, and Yang's. They're very budget-friendly so you won't have to worry about splurging.

    What to do for fun

    My advice would be to join a club or play sports--whether it's collegiate or just intramural. WOU is located in a very rural town, and I had difficulty finding anything entertaining to do besides watch movies with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Valsetz dining hall offers a wide variety of food that I enjoyed. But after a while, it does get old--only because that's all you're eating! Be careful though, a lot of the food isn't very nutritional! Make sure you get your fair share of salad from the awesome salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm communities are very tight knit and interesting! Some of the best friends that I made were friendships with my hall mates. In fact, I'm living with a couple of my hall mates this coming school year. However, I grew tiresome of the community bathrooms, as did everyone else. Some people were very inconsiderate about leaving their rubbish in the lounge area of our dorm. It's important to keep your dorm space clean or you and your entire hall could be charged for the extra cleaning fee.

    Academic Rigor

    Western Oregon University is located in a very rural area, which allows you to focus on your school work. I took at least 13 credits a term since I was playing on the soccer team. I thought the work load would have been more than it was. As long as I managed my time wisely and finished work on time, I always felt like I had way too much free time on my hands. I don't know if my time management has anything to do with the fact that I attended a private high school, but I expected to be way more stressed out than I was.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really evaluate attending WOU if you aren't going to be playing sports and are from another state. Although I played soccer for one term, I quit because I was no longer interested. I honestly wish that I would have attended a school in California or a place where there was more to do.

    In three sentences

    WOU is located in a very rural area. School work isn't as hard as I thought it would have been. I wish I had chosen to attend a different college and I plan on transferring after my sophomore year.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A service on campus to get you from point A to your dorm when you don't feel safe in the dark, Wolf Ride is the best safety service any student could ask for.

    Bang for the buck

    Approx. $24,000 for a WUE student, but definitely worth the price for a great college with so many opportunities. Of course scholarships are out there to help!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, sports, get togethers, study groups, and NEW STUDENT WEEK!

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are great to get what you need to fill your tummy and get back to stuyding. Not too far from your dorms and has everything under the sun!

    Dorm Life

    Young adults, activities, and living on your own is extremely fun with the great environment full of people just like you.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes make you want to study and really bring you into the subject for a 360 degree understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the First Year Experience course to help you get in the flow of college. Ask for help, plenty of resources and people who are willing to help.

    In three sentences

    A small yet full of opportunity sized campus to give the best education. A student life full of events and help to make living away from home easier. Staff of Teachers, Advisers and other who spend their time to help create a real life for students

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is so safe!! Public Safety is open 24/7!

    Greek Life

    Just started but is off to great start!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for everything and if we don't its easy to start one.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much going on for our dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, There is always a program or some kind of activity going on. Or you can go to gym or around town to Dallas or to Salem

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is an amazing experience. Its fun. Always programs going on and that are relatable to you.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard but the professors are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school, sit in on a class or mingle with students.

    In three sentences

    Western is so amazing. WOU is accepting, fun and great place to find yourself.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Health and Wellness Center.

    Food and Dining

    I pack a lunch. Not enough funds to purchase on campus.

    Dorm Life

    not in dorms

    Academic Rigor

    strict tough homework. challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    If you start, then finish. Do not wait till you are 40 to go to college.

    In three sentences

    Currently I am in my first term at Western. I love the size of the campus and class room sizes. Age diversity is somewhat diverse though mostly young.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seemed very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in Oregon or receive the WUE scholarship then the tuition is pretty inexpensive in comparison to many of the other colleges in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Joining a sport or club.

    Food and Dining

    Their food was good, but a little expensive. Though it's a college so that's expected I guess.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Western Oregon University is not a really big school so there are not a lot of sports played that represent the university. The university is a division two school. But most of the time there are several sports that you can play.

    What to do for fun

    One of the things you can do for fun is that you can make your own little sport team and compete with other teams. This is called inemirial teams. depending on the Sassoon you can make a team for the sport being offer.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Western is not the best but at the same time its not the worst. Like any other school eventually you will get tired of the food that they give you. The good thing is that they give you options on what to got. But their pizza is really good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not as bad as people may think. You get meat a new person that you will be seeing every day and you get to meant people that are from different places and you will get to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Western Oregon University being a small school does not have a lot of classes a bigger university would have but they still have classes that sound fun and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for other soon to be student would be go to class and to do good in their classes. because its different then high school and you cant really make a lot of errors.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is a small university but its still a really good college to attend to. Western Oregon is one of the best schools to get a degree on criminal justice. Over all the people at school are really nice and friendly.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is everywhere, and there really nice. There is emergancy posts everywhere so if something were to happen you just push that button and cops and public safety will be there presto.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is not a culb you can make it you just need 15 people. And there yoiu go a new club..

    What to do for fun

    Salem is not to far from here so there is a mall. But Momouth is super small. The town is the school, at least that is what it feels like.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but like with anything to much makes you sick of the food here. I would recommed you bring a frigde if you come.

    Dorm Life

    I love how clean the dorms are, and you get to know the people by you fast. There a good size. I was luckly enough to get the biggest dorm on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus to see if it fits you before you accpet.

    In three sentences

    A very clean campus, its a very small school but everyone here is nice and we barly have problems. A dry campus for thoughs who want a drug and alcohol free campus.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is outstanding. You see them patrolling every night and the building is right on campus, easy to find.

    Bang for the buck

    This was the cheapest school I looked at and it is worth every penny I have spent. I will be spending my next four years at this school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus and there are many places to go eat in Monmouth. Also, the dorms will put on programs throughout the year that are a ton of fun. There are many places around campus you can go to hang out with friends, including to play video games or pool. We also have an amazing gym at our disposal; it offers many sports, weight lifting, running, a pool and even a rock climbing area.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices are excellent. There are many options and the food is available until 11 pm every night. You will never go hungry at Western.

    Dorm Life

    Get to know the people in your dorm. I have a made a group of friends that all live in my dorm and we do everything together. Just get out there and try to meet some of the people in your dorm; don't spend all your time inside your room alone.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep up on the homework. Some classes might have more than others, but if you start to get behind in one class, you will end up buried up to your neck in homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you get you FAFSA in no later then January 14th, and don't stress your test scores that much. If you go to this school, make sure to do the homework on time or you will get behind, much more quickly than in high school.

    In three sentences

    I have never been to a school like Western, and I am glad I chose to go. I have fun in the classes while learning more then I ever expected and I am being taught how to leave my comfort zone to become a better person. This school also has the best support system a person could ask for.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am not sure if they have the sports type that i like (soccer).

    Tips for prospective students

    Great!

    In three sentences

    Affordable, Good and Research oriented University

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They are super helpful and there when you need them all hours.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is in it's infancy at Western. There is a fraternity that is just getting started.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count! If you want to be in a club of any sort it is more than likely that Western has it!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for academics, people who love to be involved and make new friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of traditions to get involved with!

    Bang for the buck

    Western offers a tuition promise which means that your tuition will not go up while you are there! It is a great opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    Monmouth is a small town with not a lot to do however Salem and Corvallis are only a short drive away. There is also a movie theater in Independence which is only 2 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, while it can get boring like most foods, it is good for being campus food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can get tricky with roommates but overall it is great for making new life long friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Western pushes their students to do their best while giving them the tools to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Western has so many clubs and sports to get involved with that will make going to school more enjoyable. Also keep up on your studies. This well help tons with your overall grades.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is extremely focused on helping their students do the best that they can. They do a great job making sure that students get the most they can out of their college experiences. Overall it is a great school with a tight nit community that a student can really excel at.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have noticed campus security each time I visited campus. They are very alert as to what is happening on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an array of clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a very diverse school. All and any type of student is welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the college for you if you are looking for a great education at a great price!

    What to do for fun

    They have an event calendar that includes all on campus events. They have a great gym on campus as well as are close to shopping and dining places.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of dining options in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, therefore can't rate it.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this is a fantastic place to obtain my education. I am definitely getting my money's worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to shop around prior to deciding where you want to attend school. I am certain you will find WOU the place to attend in the end.

    In three sentences

    WOU offers a fantastic array of online classes for student who don't have time to attend classes on campus. The staff and students are very friendly. I encourage you to visit their website and see what they offer.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing major happens on campus and there is plenty of security. One should not fear being at WOU.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of sororities and fraternities. Not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, clubs and opportunities abound.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get bang for their buck and want to enjoy school, while not being caught up in more frivolous school activities. WOU is a place to explore and

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the local hangouts around the town. The WolfPack has a huge underground following.

    Bang for the buck

    Especially for instate tuition, this is the cheapest or second in the entire state of Oregon for four year schools. Why pay for basically the same education at a much higher rate and not even see your professor more than a few times?

    What to do for fun

    Again, look around Monmouth. Go out to the coast, mountains or the big city. And there are plenty of clubs to be part of.

    Food and Dining

    Offers decent food in the food court and has salads, burgers and other basics. Nothing special, but not overly expensive. This is a good place to grab a quick bite and eat on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Not in a dorm. Heard nothing bad about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes are fairly straightforward and not too hard to succeed in. Mainly, the objective should be to stay on time or ahead if possible. Most classes assign a lot of reading and class participation is practically mandatory.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would first look past the 'lack' of amenities. There are plenty of things to do around WOU. The beach is just over an hour away. Portland is about an hour. The mountains are about three hours away. Explore Oregon, as there is more than just the campus. Don't just look at WOU, look at everything around the school as well. If you are a partier, Monmouth is not a dry town anymore, so you can party at school as well.

    In three sentences

    A nice and quiet campus, this is the place for earning a cheap degree, with excellent faculty and plenty of opportunities. There are not many overwhelming class sizes and you can actually talk to your teachers. This is a great place to earn your degree and not get lost or cost an arm and a leg.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt extremely safe on campus, it's well lit at night and we have Public Safety officers patrolling at most hours of the day (and night). One complaint is that we don't have a lot of emergency phones in more out of the way places, most of them hovering in often busy locations, but I've never had a reason to use one.

    Greek Life

    There really isn't one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for just about everybody here, we have things that range from Math club to working as a DJ at the campus radio station. It all depends on what you like, but chances are you'll find something to do on campus if you really look. Meetings aren't always very frequent but that's pretty typical here.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking to pursue a degree in education or more practical degrees then this is an ideal campus for you. More artistic majors aren't as popular here, and therefor receive much less attention. Also great for students who seek one on one attention and a less crowded place to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The building that is now the building for people pursuing a major in education is said to be haunted, which is a rumor that's been going around since long before I started attending. Aside from that there aren't very many oddities that come with this particular university.

    Bang for the buck

    This is something that's debatable. While the cost of food, and other things, on campus is generally outrageous Western offers something most colleges don't: A tuition promise. This ensures that whatever you were paying for tuition your first year follows through for the rest of your time on campus, which can really help when the price of college is constantly going up.

    What to do for fun

    There are a wide variety of clubs and organizations accessible to students on campus. The campus also consistently sponsors events for students to participate in, a lot of which involve prizes. If you're looking for more of a party scene then you'll have to travel over to one of the major cities, because Monmouth isn't really the place for that.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options on campus are limited, but not all that bad. You can find a good variety of cheap food at Valsetz or pay a bit more and pick up a bite to eat at the Werner Center. There isn't a lot to choose from but it's decent, and worth the money if you really need something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    My experience in dorm life was extremely poor. The RAs were negligent, hall members were loud and destructive, and when concerns were brought up it took weeks for anything to get done. On top of that the cost of living in a dorm on campus is higher than renting your own apartment; so if you can choose, don't pick the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends a lot on your major, but most majors have their own sets of challenges. You start off fairly easy, but with a decent workload, and work your way up as you go through your years. There are a lot of on-campus resources to help you when the masses of essays start pouring in as well in your later years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have to figure a lot out by yourself, while staff tries to help most of the time I've discovered that there's a lot that isn't said/done when it all comes down to it. Also, know what you want to do coming in. Western isn't a very good place for people who are unsure about the direction in which they are heading.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is a small public school with the environment of a private school. Class sizes are small, but the content is the same as at more popular universities. You are out in the country but the nearest city is about 20-30 minutes away by car.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Make sure you have Public Safety's number, they're great.

    Bang for the buck

    Definetely a better price thann OSU or U of O.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and parties

    Food and Dining

    Valstez is good, healthy. Overpriced fruit though.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you live. Barnum is the best for freshmen; apartment w/out a kitchen. Plus, no having to share bathrooms!

    Academic Rigor

    Good challenges

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small school, but don't let it discourage you. You'll be proud that you stayed focused freshman year and still went crazy lol.

    In three sentences

    Small school, with great class sizes. Good for staying focused on education during the week, and party during the weekend. Work hard, play hard.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Western is within an hour or two drive from the city of fun also known as Portland, Oregon. You will never run out of fun things to do in this city. Clubs, malls, food, and much more. Salem, Oregon is the capital, and is even closer. Salem is not as big as Portland but there is a ton to do there as well. Monmouth, where WOU is located, has a bowling alley, movie theatre, river front park, and lots of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    It is a little on the pricey side, but that's to be expected. On the plus side, there is always a wide variety of food, and the dining hall is right next to the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in the dorm's, but I have been inside them and they are beautiful. Some are completely new and up to today's standards of great dorm rooms. The people are all friendly and respectful of your possessions, time, and space.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work invovled, but the amount of work required will not take over your life. One great thing about Western is that you will have a social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are on top of your FAFSA information each year because it's vital for you to submit this form. One of the most important tips to take advantage of, is to get to know your professors! They will help you with whatever you need, and the more you get to know them the more they get to know you!

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University has one of the most beautiful campuses I have ever been to. The teachers are great, and the friends you make will last a lifetime. Western offers a wide variety of degrees that ensures you a successful future.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Valsetz is AMAZING

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Barnum--the dorms were great and spacious, but I didnt meet very many people.

    Academic Rigor

    I was a biology major and most of the science classes were very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT just choose a particular college because your friends are going there. Choose which school is best for YOU.

    In three sentences

    WOU is a great school for students wanting to major in Education or Criminal Justice. The campus is small and easy to navigate, but still has a college feel.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think this campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs you can be involved with her on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Stay positive, ask for help. Take advantage of the writing center and math center. I was afraid at first to go to the writing center but my papers made all the difference when went to get help. Attend class! A lot of professors here grade you on attendance and participation points.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really have any. Besides every Wednesday at the beginning of the term and the last Wednesday of the term, everyone 21 and over attend the pub.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that this school is decedent.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things, even thought it is a small campus. They have outdoor activities you can do, many clubs and organizations, and events going around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food could use some work.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay, I didn't have the best experience because I was older in the dorms. But if you are very involved it seems like a ton of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it is good, but it could always be better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and take the teachers you like. That what has help me do well in this school. I found the professor that I learned best from and I knew and took those classes from them. There are teachers her that aren't that great.

    In three sentences

    I think that this is a great college in specific majors. If you are wanting to attend this school for American Sign Language, Nursing, Communication and Special Education this school is a great choice. I have met incredible people here that have help me in my career.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a campus public safety near campus, you go there if you feel unsafe or you lose something or one of your things were stolen you go the public safety building and they will surely help you out with anything that makes you feel insecure. Also if you are not feeling well go to the Student Health Services Center and they will help with any medical issues you have.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and intramural at our school. Some clubs would be Byte club, criminal justice club, pre-nursing club, anime club, MUN club, psychology club, German club and many more. The intramural s are volleyball, soccer, martial arts, and many other sports you can think of. You can also do dance team, and cheer leading. Activities you can join are Student Activities Board, Associates Students of Western Oregon University, Abby's House and much more. Sororities, and Fraternities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some unusual traditions on campus is the undie run, magic shows at random dates. The undie run is preferably for the boys but girls if you would like to run too you can run but it seems embarrassing to do so.

    What to do for fun

    There are some fun things you can do at Western Oregon University. You can go to the Werner University Center and go hang in the lounge area and play video games or watch tv, or play pool with your buddies. You can also go to the health and wellness center and workout. There are rock climbing, swimming, basketball, racquetball, or practice dance in the mirrored rooms. At night they also have zumba and choreographed cardio, so if u want to dance and workout just go to zumba its so much fun! There's many restaurants you can eat at and a park next to the deli supermarket. A lot of events also go on at Western Oregon university so that you can do something instead of staying in your dorm room.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining is small, its called Valsetz, and its the main place where all students go if they have a meal plan. There is also the Cafeteria Summit at the Werner University Center, but its a lot more expensive there than the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool, with unique names. Ackerman the environmental green building, Landers,small pod rooms and Heritage maze like dorm. Other dorms like Gentle, Butler and Barnum, are suite style, and kitchenette. It can fit up to 2-3 people in a room. Arbor Park is apartment like dorm, where you share a bathroom , living room, and kitchen together and can be up to 4 people. Most of the dorms are double rooms or single rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do well in class and study you will succeed. If you have trouble just go to the Academic Advising Learning Center and they will help you through on how to be successful in your studies. Some courses here are a bit hard but if you put effort and do your best it will become successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be successful at Western Oregon University there are always tutors and a writing center to help you. Students who attend here will like the environment and how everything is very close to each other.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is a small campus with many beautiful trees. The Werner University Center is the main place where all events happen Western Oregon is a good school because its a small campus that you get to know many different people.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Monmouth is a small town. Campus security is very good. There is a high awareness of issues such as date rape and making a safe environment for sexual minorities.

    Greek Life

    Until recently there were no fraternities or sororities. I think they have recently founded a non-residential fraternity in the last couple of years.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus. Some are fairly active. Some not so active. Definitely opportunities for leadership and community involvement.

    Bang for the buck

    Education is getting more and more expensive, but they seem to be making an effort to keep costs down while offering a good education here at WOU.

    What to do for fun

    Oregon is a great place for outdoor activities. Monmouth is less than an hour from the Pacific coast, and about 3 hours from the nearest place to ski or snowboard in the winter. The climate is very mild, with occasion nice days in the winter and very little snow and few storms. Biking, running, outdoor sports are all very popular. Salem has some nice attractions and shopping, and Portland is an easy day trip for a zoo, science museum, more shopping, and music and other cultural activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good so far as I know. There is a cafeteria connected to the main dorms, and a food court in the university center. I have only eaten on campus a couple of times, so my experience with the food itself is limited.

    Dorm Life

    Very good so far as I know. The Housing Activities board is very active here. I did not live in the dorms and only really know about them from secondhand accounts.

    Academic Rigor

    I know the music program almost exclusively, and can say it is an excellent and very rigorous course of study to prepare students for a career in music, as a performer, teacher, band leader, or all of the above. The faculty are all active in music outside of the classroom, and very helpful and down-to-earth. They really care about helping their students be successful and find passion and meaning in music.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make contact with at least one faculty member in the department where you wish to focus your studies, so you can get a feel for their enthusiasm for the subject and how much support you'll get here as a student. Visit the campus, during the school year if possible. It is beautiful and very friendly. After you're accepted to WOU, meet with an advisor right away so you can understand the requirements for your intended major.

    In three sentences

    WOU is a medium-sized public university with strong programs in education, American Sign Language (ASL), the performing and visual arts, and criminal justice. The small-town environment is friendly and safe. The faculty are strong teachers who care about their students' success.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The RAs put together planty of activities as well as sporting eents and midnight movies on fridays.

    Food and Dining

    As to be expected, eating the same food on campus day in and out get old- the food is good though. The town if filled with cheap little restaurants to help add some varitety.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on how many classes you end up taking. I found myself needing to study less when i filled my schedule with elective. While I was weighed down with homework when taking moslty core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grab a student planner, they have all the important dates and numbers in them and even a campus map on the back. Map out a route ahead of time to make sure you can hit a bathroom between lecture to avoid being the guy who gets up in the middle of class to go to the bathroom.

    In three sentences

    Western is the perfect size school for someone who wants a university experience without being overwhelmed by the sheer mass of larger campuses. You will rarely be late to classes- you can run anywhere in about 5 minutes. They don't cram classes so students actualy get a chance to meet and interact with their students

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for lbgtq students!

    Bang for the buck

    Western has a 4-year guarantee, meaning your tuition stays the same for the four years you attend.

    What to do for fun

    I like to drive over to silver falls for hiking, but on campus wise the new gym is great as well as the independence cinema.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, with a few different places to decide on.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and exciting. There are usually lots of activities happening.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work can be varied and difficult at times, but over all it helps you learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible and don't be afraid to ask for help. Trust me a little help can go a long way.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with a lot of different majors and clubs. The campus is beautiful with only about 6,000 students. The teachers are all very accommodating and helpful.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safest campus I've ever been on. Public safety is just a call away, even if you just need someone to walk you to your dorm!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is coming around! Not as prominent yet, but their working on it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options! Clubs galore, all you have to do is pick some!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to make life long friends while learning in a comfortable environment. Basically anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a haunted building on campus! On halloween, students can sign up to sleep there for the night.

    Bang for the buck

    I wasn't expecting the campus to be so nice. Don't even get me started on the gym! It's awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs! If you like doing something, find 2 more people that enjoy it too and start a club!

    Food and Dining

    Valsets take cafeteria food to a whole new level. One of the best features of this school.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are awesome, except in landers. Landers is a prison.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to learn after the fun your first week here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the diversity scholarships! I missed a great opportunity for $2,000!

    In three sentences

    As soon as you step on campus, you feel at home. Western has a very comfortable atmosphere. They offer a great learning environment.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is called Valsetz and it is pretty good. They have a good selection of different foods everyday and they stay open late at night so if you get the munchies. Also in town there are some small town restaurants that are really good such as West Coast Pizza or Yangs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely an amazing experience. If you get an opportunity you need to live on campus in the dorms at least once. Through the dorms you create a bond with new friends and if you are like my hall, you become almost a family. You have each others backs no matter what.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have taken AP classes in high school then college courses are about the same. Yes, there are some very tough classes but also there are some fairly easy teachers. Make sure to use ratemyproffesor.com when searching for teachers to schedule with. It will help you a lot in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a student at this school you want to make sure that you focus on the educational side of college as well as spending plenty of time doing other activities with friends. Make sure as a student that you get involved in activities around campus and if at all possible you find a job.

    In three sentences

    Western Oregon University is a school based on learning and diversity within the community. The school encourages extracurricular activities and encourages you to focus on your schooling. Overall it is a fantastic school to attend and would be highly recommended to all students.