Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Western Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone- flexible for all ages and schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    Good to get the degree and get out to work...why spend 2-3 more years in classes?

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes! I work so I do not spend much time here unless I have a class but it works out well for me.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes! Programs are for specific courses not loaded with extra- general classes.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If someone is harmed, there is always someone who is there to help and get the official information!

    Bang for the buck

    I am only in high school right now, but i've toured and loved it. So I recommend it to anyone interested!

    What to do for fun

    There is a local mall, you can go hiking, there's a park, tubing on the water. And plenty more exciting things for anyone!

    Food and Dining

    The food there is delicious and the meal plans are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I will be staying in the dorms and have three other roommates. I've seen the dorms, and they are basically like a hotel! That is how nice they are!

    Academic Rigor

    I will be trying out for the volleyball team in August, because I love the sport and I love the team support that you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend it for anyone who has financial problems because it is half the price of a four year college.

    In three sentences

    It's beautiful, cultural, and new! I'm excited to be attending there in the fall, because I fell in love when I went on the tour. Also, it's surrounded by active students.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a great volunteer program at the college that has students looking out for the welfare of other students at the local bar scenes and near the river to prevent intoxicated drownings. There is a dedicated and very friendly security staff on patrol 24/7 and they are great about caring for your welfare and safety. You really get the feeling that the college cares about your well being when you are there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't participated in any but there are a lot of programs and clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Technical Trades, Medical Field, Restaurant and Food programs, Business Management and related programs. Many computer programs.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses are fairly cheap and you have many options for purchasing books and supplies. The college has a book store and they also give you the option of buying online.

    What to do for fun

    There is the bar scene which is fun to some people, the great city parks on the Mississippi river and lots of shopping in historic downtown LaCrosse. There is always live events through the city with local musicians and artists performing at theaters and revenues. The city always has many festivals around the region based off culture and landmarks to the city including Oktoberfest, Hmong Heritage Festivals, River Fest, Air fest, Winter Fest and many more!

    Food and Dining

    A brand new renovated food court and a awesome restaurant ran by the school and the students in the food programs. 6-8 different mini restaurants inside ranging from Burgers and Subs to a Mongolian bar. Its also a nice quiet place to study.

    Dorm Life

    I never intended and still have no intention on living in the dorms so I cannot give a honest review. However their dorms are like 2-3 years old and very modern. They seemed costly though.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and teachers all seem to know exactly what they are talking about and are skilled in the professions the courses are teaching. The classes are fairly small so its easy to have a 1on1 with your instructors and get the time needed for any questions. The hands on experience is the best thing about the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and ask as many questions as possible! Make sure the field you are going into is what you want to do with the rest of your life. Always do your work and study and I highly recommend that you do not use college as a opportunity to just party and waste your time and your parents time.

    In three sentences

    Western is a great school with awesome hands on labs where you get the best hands on training and the time needed to learn at your own pace. The faculty and staff are all professional and willing to help you out with anything you need and are generally always friendly. The campus is a great experience and right in the heart of downtown La Crosse WI making it very easy access to food, study and living accommodations.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not out too much. can call for escort at night, though. mainly just drive around and check out the parking lots for people without parking passes.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs for each program and plenty of sports to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    who want to do one of more programs but can not afford a university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing that i can think of

    Bang for the buck

    good pricing, only bad thing is the $50 credit agreement (why pay simply to hold off on paying more?)

    What to do for fun

    mall, bowling, some college activities, downtown, river, hiking, bike riding

    Food and Dining

    expensive, but lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    only one dorm, outrageous rules, more horror stories about roomates than good stories.

    Academic Rigor

    the general anatomy and phisiology is one of the most rigourous around the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    check, double check, and triple check on the wait list and use many different councilors in order to insure you get into your program on time.

    In three sentences

    it is a decent priced school. they have many program choices. however, the admissions councilors are disorganized and are sneaky about getting people into their programs.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    deca! it is so much fun and it gives you an experience like none other. it also gives you the challenge of applying your college studies to how you will use them in your future carreer!

    Bang for the buck

    i think it is definately worth the money! the teachers are amazing they deserve it.

    What to do for fun

    organizations, the wellness center for fitness classes is a good one to. either way you will meet many new and amazing people!

    Food and Dining

    their food in the cafeteria is awesome! they did a really nice job in designing the layout as well!

    Dorm Life

    i dont not actually live in the dorms so i cant really say.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor at western is attainable. you have so many opprotunites to succeed it is awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    dont be afraid to ask questions, you will get the answers you need to help you through. also join organizations, you meet many new people and it helps boost your confidence levels as well as getting experiences you wouldnt get from anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    on a scale of 1 to 10; i would rate western at an 8. i absolutely love it there, the atmosphere, the people everything. i think they could use some improving on their wireless internet connections and the parking situation.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    inter-murals and working out and countless other exciting things to do!

    Food and Dining

    the food is good, however it is slightly more expensive than other surrounding establishments.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms, but from what i can see, the dorm life is pretty sweet!

    Academic Rigor

    it is a good college. can be difficult sometimes but is all truly worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, don't be afraid to ask questions, and always try your best!

    In three sentences

    i believe that western tc is one of the finest schools that you can attend, even if you don't know what you want to major in. the teachers are the top and are always there for you. if you don't want to spend the high dollar amounts at a four year college but want the same education, come to western technical college, the essential experience!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's downtown with pool halls, a bowling alley, the Mississippi River at your feet (which is just absolutely gorgeous in every season), Pearl St, museums, biking/hiking trails; everything is truly at your finger tips. Go out and explore La Crosse. That's all you can do to find those secret places to call your own.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly have never bought food from Western. I'm never on campus long enough to buy a meal.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially the medical field is quite rigorous. It is a lot of work, but it preps you for success in the working world and helps you achieve your goals and it is really rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and make sure what you really want to do as a career is what you really really really want to do. I've learned that the hard way and now I'm back at school trying to earn a degree so I can actually survive in this world. Western is a great school to attend, there is no other tech school on this side of the state that can compare. If you have questions, just ask. Even if you call the wrong department, they will get you to the person or department that you need.

    In three sentences

    WTC is an amazing school. Professors are accommodating, understanding and helpful. If you have any problems academic or personal, the professors are more than willing to work with you and help you with your academic success.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Western has a very good security. If your scared or feel like something is wrong they have phones inside the college you can pick up and call them and they will come right over. They also provide security to your car at night time, they will walk you to your car or watch as you go to your car for safety.

    What to do for fun

    Western Technical College has a lot of intramural sports teams you can play on throughout the semesters. They have a very nice and clean gym the students can get a discounted membership at. The gym is on college campus which makes it so easy to stay physically fit and healthy.

    Food and Dining

    The food at this college is very good, they have a wide variety of food here in the cafeteria. They always have televisions playing so you can relax while your in there and they also have music playing. The cafeteria has indoor and outdoor dining so on the nice days you can sit outside and enjoy the weather. The prices for food are a little high but not to expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been inside the dorms at Western Technical. I have heard they are nice dorms and its comfortable for students who live away from home. The only negative thing I have heard about the dorms are that they are sometimes loud, and you can hear other people yelling through the walls.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a very well organized student so the work for me wasn't hard to keep up with at all. The teachers here are very open and understanding you have a life outside of college so they don't put a ton of work on you outside of class. They do except though that you have your work completed when it is due to turn in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Western Technical College is for everyone. I am a transfer student and I am just getting my general classes out of the way before I transfer to a bigger university. They offer a lot of classes and certificates at this college.

    In three sentences

    Western Technical College has been a great experience. I wasn't really sure about attending college, then I decided to give it a try and loved it. I would recommend this college to everyone.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police station is two blocks away so response time is very good.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going for down to Riverside Park and enjoying the sun and looking at the scenery.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is not the greatest. The only enjoy two meals and they are the bacon chicken ranch sandwich and the quesadillas.

    Dorm Life

    They just built new dorms which are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are relaxed about most things in the college. Even getting your homework done on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many resources here to help you learn. They have an academic success center, a writing lab, and a math lab. Be sure to use these if you are falling behind they definitely help.

    In three sentences

    Western is a great place to learn. The teachers and people are always friendly and understanding. Great for people who need to commute.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, and I feel comfortable all the time. They have enough lights around the campus if you ever have to walk back at night where you will still feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the wellness center to workout, or shoot hoops in the gym with friends. Different activities they put on throughout the month that you can get involved with. You can also join intramurals which is a great way to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, every night they have a different special which is nice to switch it up. They have breakfast, burgers, fries, chicken strips, subs, pizza, pasta, salad bar, ice cream, cookies, anything you would like. There is also wifi so you can study while eating if you have to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome! It is nice that you only have a share a bathroom with three other people. There is plenty of space for everything you need. It is like an apartment, with everything included.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are really nice and will help you if you are having trouble, all you have to do is ask. The classroom size isn't that big so the teachers get to know you, which is nice. The class course is designed for you to succeed, you just have to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time wisely, and always get your homework done first. Study when you have to and remember you can always go to the library if you need a quiet place.

    In three sentences

    I would recommend Western Technical College to anyone! I would give it an eight on a scale from one to ten, with ten being the best. I am very glad I choose to come here because it has been a great college experience.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is right across the street from the police station.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to be done with school ASAP. Western has classes year round with 3 15 week semesters.

    Bang for the buck

    Great educational experience for 1/3 of the cost of a university.

    What to do for fun

    Go hiking on the beautiful bluffs, go to pettibone beach and play volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    The new dining hall is awesome. Lots of different options and all really good.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms but people seem to like them.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of school spirit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go to class. The teachers will work with you and you will pass!

    In three sentences

    Awesome education for cheap. Best technology. Friendly staff.