Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Western Wyoming Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones who enjoy being near a bigger town, but also enjoy the small town feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for housing quickly, because it will fill up soon!

    Bang for the buck

    This college offers the Western Undergraduate Exchange program which can get you into school for the cost of in state tuition.

    Will enjoy being here

    When you aren't on campus there are various outdoor activities to participate in, as well as museums and other fun activities.

    Will learn a lot

    There is such a broad range of topics to study here. You will never be bored with your class selections

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    what i have learned at western is well worth the money i have put towards my education.

    What to do for fun

    there is dances, student government funded activities, movie nights, and there is bowling off campus, the rec center, and some students hold events off campus at their own houses. for example, some have dance and karaoke nights on the kinect and xbox.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright at the cafeteria, but they also have a t-rex where you can order other choices as well as get salads, drinks, coffee, ect. the food there isn't so bad.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus, but the friends that do live there, i would say it is a great opportunity for other individuals to get to know others and make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    this a great place to learn. i am proud to say that the peer tutor center is a wonderful place for me to get help and i would recommend anyone to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't fear not knowing anything. the peer tutor center is a great help. also please remember that you are not alone if you don't understand. go to all events, as some instructors accept extra credit for most events, but they are a great way to get to know what western is all about. you also get to meet some new friends.

    In three sentences

    western is a great start for those not sure what to major in. it is also a great place for those who can't afford a more expensive college. the people at western are a wonderful group and are fantastic to work with and i am proud to be a student here.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on duty 24/7. The security staff is friendly and easy to get a hold of. They will respond to any complaint even if it leads to a dead end.

    Clubs and Activities

    The RA's, ASG, WAC, and RHA are always putting on events for people to be involved in. They are fun and educational events that allow people to get out of their room and away from their homework.

    Great for these types of students

    Western is great for any students looking to transfer to a 4 year college and for nursing students.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that Western is worth every penny and it is cheap compared to a lot of other schools. The teachers and atmosphere make it worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of intermurals to be a part of in your free time, and there is also a great pool to go and hang out at when you are bored. Also there are pool and ping pong tables that residents can use when they have free time.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is not great, but it keeps you alive. The food ladies are never happy but they still serve you food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. It makes you get out there are meet new people. Also, there is activities that go on almost every week, so there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the class and the teacher. Some classes are really hard and make you think while other are easier. Even with the hard classes though the teachers are willing to help you if you are struggling or have questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early. Involve yourself in all of the on-campus activities, and make lots of new friends. Take classes that you like so that you are motivated to do well in them.

    In three sentences

    Western has great academics and amazing teachers. The atmosphere is friendly, and the teachers care about you. You get to get out and meet a lot of new people.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    I think all students will benefit from this school. There is something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of activities sponsored by the school, many interesting guest speakers and visiting authors.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, biking, Flaming Gorge, Yellowstone Park, Jackson Hole, Green River

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be intense at times, but the small class sizes allow for a lot of interaction with the instructors. There is tutoring available as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and take the classes you need for the degree you want. They offer a lot of programs to continue on to your 4-year degree.

    In three sentences

    WWCC is a wonderful institution. You get the rewards of small classrooms and one-on-one attention from the professors. It is a small town feel in an actual college.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt very safe there. The security guards were very friendly and approachable.

    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    There are always a lot of events going on. The best thing to do is get to know someone who is an active activity member and attend the activities with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great college to attend especially if you're just getting out of high school.

    In three sentences

    The people are very friendly and decent. It's always difficult getting financial aid help/assistance. The teachers are very pleasant and friendly.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always one or two security guards around the campus that you can talk to. At night they are also there if you ever need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any where form ASG to the spanish clubs. Western is really good at the clubs that they have.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a great computer studies with great teachers. Also a lot of nurses seem to go there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a variety of different exhibit inside of it. From the art exhibit to a stuffed animal exhibit to dinosaurs bones in the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The price at western is good for what you have a chance to learn.

    What to do for fun

    The RA's had a lot of fun things to do around campus for free. Not only that but a lot of the clubs put on some fun activities. Best of all they have stress reliever activities for finals week.

    Food and Dining

    It's not like mothers cooking but it was better then nothing. It keeps stomach for distracting you and its all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    Give your roommates a chance. I felt very welcomed living on westerns campus. The dorms are also close to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Reasonable guidelines to achieve in order to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Met lots of new people on the first day and make lots of friends, it makes the rest of the school year worth it.

    In three sentences

    Western is a great college for learning almost anything. It has great activities throughout the whole school year. The teachers are very friendly and easy to learn from.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college has security that will walk you to your car when it gets dark out and he is always patrolling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs with activities that go on in this college. I am sorry but with me working full time and being a full time student I do not know the different clubs. I do know there is always something going on to help keep the students busy.

    Great for these types of students

    International students are encouraged and welcomed to attend this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The T-Rex is a great place to eat and to meet your classmates at. This is right in front of the book store and had a very large open space for any events that come up that requires seating space.

    Bang for the buck

    I truely love this college. Students are from around the world, so there are many different flags hanging to show where are different students are from. Everyone (staff, students) are so friendly and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of school activities, a gym to work out in, a indoor swimming pool, also a activities room with 2 pool tables, music and a dart board.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is large with great food and there is the T-Rex that has the best burgers in town.

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorms with different style of rooms to pick from. It will be cheaper to live in the dorms. You will be close to the college, shopping and the city bus system.

    Academic Rigor

    The counselor's will go over everything to help you decide on your major if you have not decided yet. Then they will help you get on the right track to achieve you goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let any fear stop you from checking out college, there will always be someone to talk and work you through anything that arises.

    In three sentences

    Western Wyoming Community College has the freindlest staff that will help anyone with any questions that you may have, they have the answers. They have great study labs, with awesome people to help you. Students will enjoy the food services and any of the many college events.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do all of my classes online so, I am not sure what there is to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus so, I am not sure how the food and dining is.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I am not sure how the dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very accommodating school and wants to see their students success.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips that I have for prospective students is not to use the outreach center in Afton, Wyoming for their education questions. The lady's that work there do not have a clue at what it is that they are doing. Just contact the school directly.

    In three sentences

    Western Wyoming Community College is an excellent school to attend. I take all of my classes online and all of the staff at the college are very helpful to me to obtain my degree. I would recommend Western Wyoming Community College to anyone that is looking to attend a two year college.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great school and is a great place to attend ive heard great things about it and from what I have seen it looks like a great place to attend school full or part time.

    In three sentences

    Wester Wyoming Community College is a clean school. It is very well organized and runs smoothly. People their are willing to help and assist you in anything you need.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards work 'round the clock and smile when they pass by in the hall

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of the groups/clubs are invitation only International Student Association SFX & Film Club Spanish Club Student Nurse Association The art club Video Game Production Computer club Motivational Club Mustang Express Newspaper WWCC/RS Writers' Group LGBT

    Great for these types of students

    If someone is looking for a credible college that is relatively small, this is a good place to go. There are usually about 20 people to a class so needing help one on one with the instructor is not difficult.

    What to do for fun

    There is a small activity room that contains a pool table and a few other games. The dorms usually have parties like laser tag and dances, but I think they might be exclusively for those who live in the dorms. The weight room and swimming pool are open almost every day. There are pep rallies, sports, and plays that the theatre club puts on every so often.

    Food and Dining

    The two cafeterias have decent food, but one of them is only open certain hours. The other cafeteria always has the same food but there are a lot of choices. There's also a little starbucks in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you start falling behind, just let the instructors know and they are usually more than willing to help you out with deadlines, tutoring, and one on one help.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and staff are extremely helpful and accessible outside the classroom for extra help. The building is always kept clean and everything has been in working order and there are many departments where a student can find help (counseling center, library, peer support groups, etc.) I do, however, wish there were more activities for students who do not participate in sports.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with my friends here on campus. I like attending school functions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school no doubt, just know what you want for your future and you will do it.

    In three sentences

    Western Wyoming Community College is a great college from me to attend. I am enrolled in the Oil and Gas Production Technology program. I see myself in that career field that is why i chose it.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The western Wyoming men's 2012 soccer team just won region for the first time ever for the school so we started a tradition. We bought about 20 bottles if sparkling cider and sprayed the cider everywhere.

    In three sentences

    This school is a really great school. The students are fun and they know how to have fun. The town is boring though that's the one disadvantage for this place.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Several fun places to shop.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food and many options.

    Dorm Life

    They have nice dorm rooms and a lot of them.

    Academic Rigor

    Good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to contact the right department and sign up for classes early.

    In three sentences

    They are a very great school and I enjoy their classes. They are also so very helpful in anything that you need. They are very quick with responses also.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go play some sports. Enjoy making some friends. Go to institute!

    Food and Dining

    Mitchel's is a wonderful place to eat a meal.

    Dorm Life

    This was not applicable for me, however my wife enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty is much better than some schools out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can. Get to know the students and teachers around you. An associates degree will always transfer even if the classes there in will not.

    In three sentences

    Western Wyoming Community College is a wonderful starter college. You can get a wide variety of classes for a low tuition. Class sizes are small enough that teachers can learn who their students are by name.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college puts on a ton of different events and there all very fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great always many different options.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm at aspen mountain its the only one with air conditioning so it is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard but others are very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the 18 a week food card the food isn't half bad. I would recommend getting a room at aspen mountain dorm.

    In three sentences

    Is a small yet great school. The price is very great, for anyone. The dorms are awesome and so are the RA's.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You fell safe at all times and the security is always walking around to ensure safety for all students and people in the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs and activities to join and participate in. Movie nights are fun.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very inexpensive compared to other colleges. It is a great way to start your education.

    What to do for fun

    There is a big swimming pool that is fun to go into, the clubs put on a lot of fun nights with activities, and the Kick-off day is fun.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy to T-Rex Grill, it is delicious except the employees are grumpy. Mitchell's is the other on-campus restaurant and it is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms but according to some friends, the dorms are nice but the internet does not always work.

    Academic Rigor

    Great opportunities and the offer very good classes with great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely sign up for classes as soon as the registration opens because it is not fun to be wait listed.

    In three sentences

    WWCC is a great place to start your education. It is an inexpensive college that is full of great professors and academic success. I have enjoyed every semester at this college.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although I have not been, I have heard no bad. All the students seem to feel safe and secure. No major issues have been reported in the 3 years I have attended.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many great clubs. Some of my favorite is the Phi Theta Kappa honor society. They do many great things to raise money and help those in need.

    Bang for the buck

    ONLINE. I am an online student. The teachers, for the most part, are very tentative. When something needs fixed, answered, or restated they will do it. Usually very promptly. They are also strict, but willing to help if issues arise.

    What to do for fun

    Study, talk with other students, and read.

    Food and Dining

    Again, no experience, but have heard it is very accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have personal experience; but I have heard it is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers, most, are very strict. But they will be lenient on accidents. They will not hold you accountable unless negativities are purposeful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to find teachers that tend to have little openings. They are usually the better of the teachers, and spend more time helping, especially online.

    In three sentences

    WWCC is a great experience and hold many online offerings. I have enjoyed it immensely.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Western offers the best hands on teaching staff and amount of information for an extremely affordable price. You will be able to find another school this incredibly affordable and fulfilling.

    What to do for fun

    At Western Wyoming community college you will never be questioning what to do. When you are not studying or in classes, there is several activities to take part in such as the school dances, game days, or even just hanging out in the game room.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Western Wyoming Community college is the exact opposite of the everyday cafeteria food. Eating at in Westerns cafeteria feels exactly the same as if you were eating in a restaurant. The food is always fresh and tastes like it came from your mom's kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    I have friends that stay in the dorms at Western Wyoming community college and they are always completely satisfied with every aspect of the dorms. They are affordable, clean, and spacey.

    Academic Rigor

    Westerns classes are the perfect mix of challenging and doable. Westerns classes will challenge you to learn more but at the same time they are perfectly paced to make sure that you are absorbing the information.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, make sure you ask plenty of questions during the transition from high school to college. The employees at Western will be able to answer all of your questions and will even offer extra advice as to the decisions you should make.

    In three sentences

    Western Wyoming community college has been incredibly helpful and understanding if all of my educational needs. Because of Western I am able to get a new start in life and get my education for a better future. I give Western Wyoming community college a ten out of ten in every department I've been associated with.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy type people.

    Bang for the buck

    Western offers amazing scholarships and is a very cheap. For how good of a school Western is the price is amazing. You will be getting a deal if you go to school at Western.

    What to do for fun

    Off road in the desert, fish, hunt, rock climb. Flaming Gorge is really close if you want to go to a lake and cliff jump or swim.

    Food and Dining

    Mitchells is the name of the cafeteria, personally I don't care for their food at all.

    Dorm Life

    The student body that lives on campus is small, but they are tight knit. There are occasionally things to do that the school sponsors, but sometimes campus life seems a little slow in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all seems to depend on your teachers and what classes you take. I have taken classes here that were very easy. I have also taken classes that have really challenged me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes and a positive attitude, your experience here is what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    Western is a great school with many academic opportunities. One great thing is the small atmosphere, the teachers are very helpful and accommodating. It is really cold in the winter, but a great place to be!