Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Westfield State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is something for every type of student. They have great facilities and offer great majors. There is all types of student living from quiet dorms to noisy dorms. There is a fit for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and the professors in your major. WSC offers a lot of meet and greets for prospective students so take advantage of them!

    Bang for the buck

    At WSC the education value was just rated number 1, ahead of Harvard for the college that offers a great education for the best value! After I graduate I will have very little to re-pay and will not be in debt for years.

    Am enjoying being here

    My dorm is very active. The building is clean and updated. My roommate and I are getting along well. There is so much to do on campus that you are always busy. Definitely put in your feedback if the activities are not your style! The campus offers a lot and is well kept.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging and interesting. I do not feel over-whelmed at all. The classes in my major (Criminal Justice) are the most interesting. They are so fun to attend that it makes learing easy!

  • 12/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small school and smaller class sizes you are in the right place. WSU also has plenty of chances for you to be a leader.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of all the opportunities available. And please don't be shy. You can make some great friends here.

    Bang for the buck

    The education, the campus, and the town of Westfield and everything it has to offer is well worth going to. There's also alot of support provided by tutors, academic advisers, and other programs. You'll have fun!

    Am enjoying being here

    There are alot of activities going on at WSU, which I was surprised by at first. But there really is alot of activities to immerse yourself in as long as you put in the effort to do so.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a transfer student and coming from another school I can definitely say I am learning alot. All of my teachers are experts in their topic and professional in how they handle the class. I believe this makes the class atmosphere very effective.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like a small, convenient campus that isn't in the city. Also for people who need smaller class sizes and for people who don't want to be just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Talk to people, and get to know your RA he/she can be very helpful and if you have a good relationship with them they can lead you in the right direction with any questions or concerns you may have.

    Bang for the buck

    WSU is the most inexpensive school I applied to and at this school the personal attention and respect you get is definitely worth it, I feel at safe, comfortable, and at home here and I couldn't ask for anything more. This school is definitely a good bargain in comparison to some other schools in the state and surrounding area.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am definitely enjoying being a student at WSU. The best advice I can give is to get involved. It is so much easier to meet people and it makes you feel a part of the school. I also love walking around campus and seeing the majority of students in WSU gear, its a small thing but it shows school spirit!

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman you need to take all of your general education requirements, even though they might not be as interesting depending on your interests you still learn a lot! The class sizes are great, I do not have one class with more the 25 students and each one of my classes are lecture style. If you show up to your class, pay attention, and do your studying you definitely will learn a lot.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wesfield is known for having one of the highest-rated campus security programs in the country. Campus Safety is staffed primarily by the city of Westfield's police officers, as well as campus security guards, student security, and EMT's. All residential buildings and dorm bathrooms require a special magnetized Tek Key in order to be entered. Residential buildings also have security policies in place to limit who is permitted to enter the building at certain times. The campus also utilizes the popular Bluelight System for fast response.

    Clubs and Activities

    Westfield has one of the most highly rated Campus security programs in the country. It is staffed primarily by the City of Westfield's Police officers, as well as general campus security guards, residential building security policies, and student security. All residential buildings require magnetized Tek Keys in order to be entered, as well as dorm restrooms. Westfield State University also utilizes the popular Bluelight system for fast response.

    Great for these types of students

    There is wide range of different clubs at Westfield and it's very easy to get involved. Simply writing your name and email address on a piece of paper is enough to get information about club meetings and activities. It is also very simple to start a new club so that the club can be recognized by the university and also collaborate with the student government for funding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Westfield is great for students looking for a quality education at an affordable price. Westfield is also great for students who are unsure about their path in life because they are very helpful in assisting students with finding their desired career. Westfield is also ideal for students looking for a school in a suburban environment and technology accessibility, as the entirety of the campus has available WiFi.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Westfield does not have any unusual traditions or locations, we are well known for being inhabited by black squirrels along with the typical grey squirrels. Some students even believe the black squirrel should be the University mascot because they are unique to the town of Westfield.

    What to do for fun

    A hike in the park across the street from campus is perfect for dates or exploring with friends. It has a river, a playscape, duck ponds, a frog pond, soccer fields, a basketball court, tennis courts, a flower garden, and plenty of trails. You can also go to campus events which occur almost nightly. Some events are held by clubs, and others by the school itself. You can also visit Northampton, for clubs and shopping, as well as visit the Holyoke Mall, or go see a movie at the theater in West Springfield.

    Food and Dining

    The food is provided by the company Sodexoâ?¢, which provides dining services to schools and other institutions throughout the world. There is always a variety of options at the Dining Commons, including options for vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free diets. Pizza, pasta, salad, ice cream, and sandwiches are always available. The dining commons also takes suggestions and hosts theme dinners as well as Pancakes With the President, which is a popular event. Sodexo also provides each student who has a meal plan with 150 Sodexo bucks per semester. These can be used as real money at any of the campus food vendors, including Jazzman's, Subway, Dunkin' Donuts, The Grill, Quixote's, and Pandini's.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very satisfactory at Westfield. Sometimes, freshmen will be assigned to a forced triple, but the school is currently working to rectify that so fewer students will live in these triples. For the most part, dorms are fairly quiet, with the exception of those typical off-the-wall students. Any problems within the dorm can be addressed by the RA, who always lives very nearby. The restrooms are always functional and are cleaned daily. All the dorms also have study areas, kitchen(s), a laundry area, and vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    It's certainly not going to be up to code with Ivy League schools, but the academic rigor is most certainly appropriate for the price, if not better. Naturally, the difficulty of the course will depend on the professor, but it's best not to underestimate them. Nearly all exams require studying, and reading the assigned texts thoroughly is essential for classroom success. Students are also expected to participate in class discussions, so we also need to come with questions and comments about assignments. All professors have different policies when it comes to late work, make-up work, class attendance, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good idea to bring rainboots with you to school because the shape of the campus landscape makes quite a few puddles. It can get quite hot in the underclassmen dorms, so bring a good fan too. Always make sure you are prepared in advance for class registration. Check to see how professors are rated before signing up for their classes. Try to avoid taking classes that aren't related to your major. If you really want to take the class, save it for senior year.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University offers a large variety of Major and Minor programs at a reasonable price. The school is excellent in its retention of students for both of those reasons, as well as a positive campus environment. The school also works closely with the town of Westfield, particularly with volunteer services, to allow students to feel as at home as possible.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Westfield State University is a really safe place to reside and learn. It is a smaller school so that allows staff and personnel to become acclimated with students at a more personal level. the campus itself is very open so there are not many, if at all creepy hideouts and corners for one to hide. If a student ever feels uncomfortable walking from one place to another at night, give a call to public safety and they will gladly pick you up and bring you to your destination.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek organizations on campus. However, if you are interested in a sorority or fraternity, there are schools within a close radius of Westfield, such as American International College or University of Massachusetts, Amherst, that will provide that do pledge others

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an annual club fair in September for all students to see what is going on around campus. If you like the club that you see there is a quick an easy sign up. Many students join clubs so they can meet and make new friends, or even step out of an evironment that they have previously been used to.

    Great for these types of students

    Westfield States has courses, clubs, and jobs, for many students of different interests. There are clubs the promote diversity on and off campus, as well as clubs embracing culture and ethnicity. There are jobs that will look great on your resume based on your major, such as a student security position for a Criminal Justice major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Westfield State is Late night pancakes with the President. This is a fun late night activity that allows students to enjoy food and socialize with friends and new individuals. The staff provide this late night breakfast and everyone has a wonderful time.

    Bang for the buck

    Westfield State provides stellar education to those who desire to learn for an affordable price! There are so many resources, travel opportunities (study abroad) and even non academic trips and activities that the University provides. Westfield State tries to create an enjoyable, unforgettable experience for all students.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of things to do on campus! If you choose to join a club(s) they will be active on campus as well as off campus. There are also surrounding cities such as Springfield, Ma. where there are historic sites, museums, movies theaters, a mall, recreational activities, and more!

    Food and Dining

    The food provided by Sodexo is phenomenal! they have so many selections to choose from and once you enter, you can have as much food as you want. There is even a restaurant, Pandini's that is open later for those who could not grab dinner earlier, or they just want something good to eat late at night. the Cafe is very clean, and you will get speedy service.

    Dorm Life

    Residential life, has made a great effort to create a safe and comfortable living environment in all of the buildings. There is even a building designated for those who seek 24- hour quiet living so they can completely focus on their studies. The buildings are generally clean and well kept, as well as handicap accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my courses have been challenging because Westfield State wants to make sure we leave with most if not all that we need to know to Succeed. With that being said, there are many on campus resources such as our Banacos Tutoring Center, that provide one on one help in the subject that you have trouble with. The tutors try their best to work around your schedule so that there will be little to no hassle.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend Westfield State, make sure you get involded around campus and the community. The university's primary focus is academics, but it also focuses on making a well rounded student who can flourish in many environments. Get to know your teachers and staff members; they are here to help and many of them know opportunities ( internships, study abroad, jobs) that may suit you best.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is an outstanding college to attend. Although it is a public university, the quality of education and resources is equivalent to, if not better than some of the top private institutions in America. The professors and staff take great pride in their jobs and are willing and eager to get each individual student the opportunities he or she deserves.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out. It is a really nice campus.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Lovely campus, must go and see for yourself. Also helpful if you know someone there and they take you around the campus themselves.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Westfield State University caters to both academic and athletic students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stanley park is located just across from the University. It is fun to feed the ducks.

    Bang for the buck

    Registration is difficult.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sports games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books online, avoid the bookstore.

    In three sentences

    Excellent education program with helpful and compassionate professors.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save money but get a quality education and meet awesome friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful park across from our sports complex that everyone on campus refers to as the beach. When the sun comes out everyone is there, plus it has wifi if you want to do some work.

    What to do for fun

    I played soccer all four years.

    Food and Dining

    Gets repetitive, but the restaurants on campus are great for in the go (subway, dunkin donuts, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    I loved the dorms and on campus housing. That's where I met my best friends freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    3.5

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small campus, with great activities and people this is the place to go!

    In three sentences

    I completed a double major at Westfield for my undergrad and loved every part of it (expect the parking), so have decided to continue and get my MSW here.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition, fees, etc, is very reasonable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    There are traditional dorm buildings as well as suite style and apartment style dorm buildings on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard and make academics your first priority, then you will do well. If you're struggling in a class, talk with your professor to let them know what you need help with and ask for advice on ways to bring up your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and make academics your top priority.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who want to save money, and are satisfied with a good education but arent looking for prestige. Those who can appreciate user-friendly interface of WSU. Those who would like to live at or near home, and dont like the confusion of HUGE schools. But also dont like really small schools, where everyone knows you. It is a smart blend of both worlds

    Bang for the buck

    $7000 is great, especially if you are commuting. You get more than what you pay for. If you come here for convieience, size, and price, than you'll be all set here. Just dont come here to merely party and drink, it is a dry campus and campus police are very good at catching things like that. Extremely user-friendly organization, staff know things like the back of their hand. Very upbeat and cut-to-the-chase answers to questions.

    Will enjoy being here

    Love the new dining hall, Ely Hall, etc. Its all fixed up nice, and lots more building projects are being planned here.

    Will learn a lot

    Cant answer this one too much, I have not sat in on a class yet, though I've been here 4 times. I have seen everything but that, and I can sense that I will learn a lot. I am the type of person who appreciates and admires learning, as well as the concept itself. From professors that I have met at open houses, they seem to know not just the information, but know how the teaching process works. I also admire the diverse teaching staff here, and how they make a great fit for WSU. I hope to work with everyone that i met. I especially enjoyed chatting with Political Science prof., David Smailes. He was very nice, knowledgeable, and understanding. PS is one of my interests and I hope to have him. Open House was great BTW, beautiful banquet hall, very explanatory but I did not feel pushed to come here.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never much trouble and plenty of officers on duty.

    Greek Life

    there is none, it is a tight knit campus. you won't find loud partying here.

    Clubs and Activities

    something for almost everything, and if we missed anything it is easy to start up a club or activity.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a beautiful park across the street with a duck pond and flower garden. there is a brick circle in front of one of the residence halls that freshmen avoid due to strange the myth that girls will get pregnant and boys will drop out. another one of our halls is haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    you may be disappointed by the dorms but there are amazing opportunities to learn.

    What to do for fun

    everything!

    Food and Dining

    also overpriced. everything tastes processed and fake. there are not enough options by any means.

    Dorm Life

    every dorm racks up silly charges and is way too expensive for what they give us. my dorm wont even put soap in the bathrooms sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    the only reason people don't do well is because they don'try, and the only reason people skate by is because they don't challenge themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    the professors provide so many resources, use them! try everything, and join any club that interests you, you will be bored otherwise. aim to get in the honors program, it provides amazing opportunities.

    In three sentences

    the dorms are over priced, much like everything else. our professors are amazing. the dining commons is pitiful.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can hop in a car with a friend or take a bus into a neighboring town and head to the mall, or go down to the ice skating rink for a few hours. Also students can cheer on the sports teams, join the numerous clubs and intermurals, or hang out with friends in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is pretty good! The breakfast in Wilson Hall is to die for!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm myself because I am a commuter, but I have not heard anything bad about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are set up very well. If it is a bigger class, it is in the auditorium, while smaller classes are in a classroom. Different classes will obviously give different amounts of homework, but nothing a normal college student should not expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to live at the college, prepare for any sort of weather! Westfield, and Western Mass in general, is known for it's random downpours, snowstorms, and weather changes. Also do not be worried about changing a major or minor, the advisers handle changes very well. It is a perfect college for someone who is not looking for something too overwhelming but nothing too quiet.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is a phenomenal college with a wide variety of majors and minors. With a large campus in a great location, WSU gives students many different options of activities and sports. The buildings, classes, faculty, and staff are all top-notch and a perfect choice for a commuter or student looking to live there.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be flexible.

    In three sentences

    A good, economical school to get a bachelor's degree.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great value, not too expensive but definitely worth the money. A quality education for a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    WSU has a beautiful campus with a large park area across the street. Many students use this open field for sports and relaxing. There are also many functions on campus, for example concerts, BBQs, and event nights.

    Food and Dining

    The dining options include a main cafeteria, with other options including a DD and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Spacious accommodations are available.

    Academic Rigor

    WSU is academically challenging but the professors are generally more than willing to help their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students includes meeting with your advisor, getting to know your professors and asking questions when you are not clear about something. Depending on your major, talking and meeting with your advisor is very important to stay on track.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University provides all students with opportunities to excel in his or her field of study. Students are encouraged to become active members of the WSU community and strive for acceptance of everyone. It is a true community and academically based university.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many RA's, security guards and campus designated police officers to make sure that everyone is safe. The campus is located in a very nice, safe area with very little crime, and assistance is always ready if needed.

    Greek Life

    Westfield has no official greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Westfield has a wide variety of clubs and activities that fit a range of interests and commitment!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus green is unanimously one of the favorite features of the campus. The blossoming trees and various groups enjoy the afternoon is a great sight. There is also a park right beside campus with a duck pond, river and trail that many students enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Westfield takes pride in being the best value in Massachusetts. A degree with Westfield State University is worth a great deal, and the price you pay is significantly less than most Massachusetts colleges - Definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Whether you join a sport or club, or just wander around the large campus green, there's always things to do and people to meet. Often times, there are events, game nights, movie showings and performances that students can attend.

    Food and Dining

    No matter what's being served, there's always going to be something that you can find to enjoy. The Dining Commons were just expanded and you can have as much as you'd like for one meal card swipe! Compared to other schools, it's a great deal and good quality.

    Dorm Life

    There's many dormitory options and plenty of open doors! There's lots to do and enjoy, and plenty room to relax.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses and teachers vary in the amount of work needed to pass. They have students available to help determine what's the best schedule of courses for you, so you can learn real world work and time management.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your worried about fitting in, don't stress! Westfield is full of so many different, outgoing people so making friends is easier than you'd expect. Get involved on campus and you'll find the most life-changing people you've ever met.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is a beautiful, midsize campus with the most worthwhile value available in Massachusetts. With a wide variety of students, organizations, majors, and lifestyles, Westfield offers something unique to both your college experience, and most importantly, as a life experience. All students' opinions are heard and every action of the university is working to benefit and enrich their college education.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Westfield is a very safe campus. There is a constant security presence.

    Greek Life

    No sororities/frats

    Great for these types of students

    Westfield is great for all types of students. I myself am an average student. I am not an athlete by any means but they have a great OWLS program. Alot to do whether an athlete or not.

    Bang for the buck

    Westfield is priced well for a state college. I visited a few other Mass. state colleges and didn't fell they came close to the aesthetic value of Westfield. Coming from a middle class income, I found it affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There's alot of activities from intramurals to school athletics. I joined the dance company which was great! Stanley Park, located across the street, is a great place where many people hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The dining common is pretty good. A good variety to choose from and I like the hours.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty nice and clean. I was put into a quad room the first year which was ok but lacked some privacy. Overall a decent experience.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman, I liked that the school set your first semester. After that you're on your own. Scheduling isn't bad, classwork is manageable. Keyword is manage. Found myself many a time cramming in a paper or two,

    Tips for prospective students

    I guess the most important tip I could give a prospective student is to get involved. Westfield is in a country like setting and if you don't get involved with something, you will go crazy. It also helps in making friends and networking.

    In three sentences

    Westfield is a nice country set university of @ 4500 undergraduates. They provide free shuttles to shopping and transportation. I would rate Westfield a 7 on a scale of 10 for academics and social life.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    That's one thing about Westfield, they take their safety seriously. Even their parking tickets. . .

    Greek Life

    . . . You have to be invited and an honer student to get into it. I was invited my last year, but I ripped up the paper. It wasn't worth it because some of the people in the club think that it gives them the right to walk on water or whatever.

    Clubs and Activities

    None stood out.

    Great for these types of students

    I'm not saying Westfield doesn't have the potential to be great. It does. I think if the school paid closer attention to what the kids want (especially the commuters) instead of building more dorms for new kids to come in. . . (in other words correct the problems that are right in front of you now instead of making new ones occur later.) then things would be better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What type of question is that?

    Bang for the buck

    You pay a lot to go to this school so its only fair that you should want to enjoy it and make lasting memories. However, for me, this wasn't the case. I have to lie to my parents and friends and everyone else who asks me, Do you like Westfield State? . . . I don't. The activities are planned late so commuters are screwed if they actually do want to partake in it (especially if they live really far away), the parking spaces are ridiculous. (They treat the kids who live on campus better then the ones who commute. We all pay the same amount of money, we should be treated equally. Give us the parking spaces and making the kids who live on campus park in the south lot!)

    What to do for fun

    Sleep! Unless you want to partake in the RA's games and things. But even then they treat you like children at a sleep over party. Really? Were adults . . . or at least I am (I want to be treated as one!)

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much choice on what to eat even though there are a few stations open for different foods. Plus there food is really cheap. By that I mean hamburgers aren't supposed to bounce!

    Dorm Life

    I hated my dorm life. I had one room mate who insisted on trying to get me kicked out because I wouldn't hang out with her (I'm not saying I'm all that and a bag of chips, I'm saying she was an attention wh--e) and once she moved out I had another who was always calling me if I was not home immediately after class. Oh and we had drug dealers down the hall. It was awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors seem to care a lot, while others don't. The ones that don't care, for example: don't bother grading, or stop grading mid semester and just give you credit for the work you've done. It depends on how serious you want to be taken and how much bang you want for your bucks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume there are a lot of parking spaces left for you to go to class (plan to leave from your house early to get to class on time), If you live on dorm (which I have) expect your room mate to be obnoxious or over protective of you. (Not everyone gets the perfect room mate like some of the people suggest.)

    In three sentences

    Being a commuter is hard enough, but when there are no parking spaces left because they give them to all the professors + police officers, it makes going to school even harder. Overall I give Westfield State University a D-. (But for other reasons as well.)

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who smoke. I found it alot of the time me being surrounded by the smell of marijuana. Because it is such a small school in the woods people dont have anything better to do than smoke.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, varsity sports, gym, pool area, walk to stanley park

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good in the dining commons but they should do a bit more variety.

    Dorm Life

    People were constantly messing with TVs, and throwing up everywhere making the charges of my building so high which in the end made my dorm life miserable because i dont think that it is fair to be charged so much money for something i didnt even do.

    Academic Rigor

    Unfair grading in the classes I took. Don't really help you if your struggling. (from the professors that i had)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to Westfield make sure you like living near the woods and make sure its what you really want because i had a miserable time when attending my first year of college there. Sure there is a nice park down the street, but campus gets old quickly.

    In three sentences

    WSU is in the middle of no where and if you want something to do, you need to have a car on campus. It's hard to find a job unless you are given a work study. The staff on campus are snooty and don't really like to be bothered.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stanley Park, WSU Art galleries

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I'm not getting my monies worth out of my classes.

    What to do for fun

    Usually god the Stanley Park with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Step in in cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I commute. But what I know of it, it is somewhat like a step up from high school. Very strict and 'punish' residents for very stupid reasons, taking away privileges. Even not allowing others into a building that don't live there.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your classes and your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be challenged more, the arts and the humanities at this school may not be the best option for you. They are too basic.

    In three sentences

    WSU is an appropriate university for the price for those who are on a somewhat tight budget but want just a step up from a community level college education. There are strong departments, especially the Education Department, but some are lacking, such as the Art Department, where, in my opinion, do not prepare you for the Art worl and/or business with their limited classes and way it is taught. Also, depending on the requirements, core classes consume your first 2 years, depending on how many you take, therefore, giving you too many requirements outside of your major.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stanley Park is across the street from the school and has a huge open field with soccer nets, beautiful trails, and home to yours truly WSU Cross Country team. WSU also has an extensive intramurals program with volleyball, soccer,basketball, dodgeball, quiditch, you name it.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan system of an all you can eat per meal is better than any other school Ive been to. The food is average, I loved it for a while then it started to get repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was a great opportunity to meet new people. At WSU i was given the opportunity to live in an on campus apartment my sophomore year so there are options to how you choose to live.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only just finished my first year but it was not a bad workload to carry. And when there was a lot you had plenty of time to get it done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There is a lot of downtime and there are so many opportunities to explore different activities. I myself ran Varsity Cross Country and Track, and still had time for Dodge ball, Intramural Basketball, and Filmed a Commercial.

    In three sentences

    Westfield is a small campus in western Mass which i have come to love. The people are very nice and very accepting. There are lots of opportunities for varsity and intramural sports which i take full advantage of along with a strong majority of the school.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are there to serve the students and help whenever needed.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a lot for your money here, especially education wise.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome in the Dining Commons. The only thing my friends and I would always talk about is the fact that we wished there was more locations to choose from. We have five. Dining Commons, Pandini's (pasta place), Dunkin Donuts, Subway, and Quixotes (taco place).

    Dorm Life

    I loved the dorm life. There is a lot of variety to choose from at WSU when it comes down to dorms. The only downside is the charges. Every weekend there are ragers. Its a fact. The damages caused by the parties and party-goers is then split by every person who lives in that building. It reeks.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging, but advisors are always there to help out in choosing courses. SOme courses are specifically for your major which is awesome. The only downside is that (from experience) some professors are extremely old and stuck in their old school routines and don't like using technology to aide them (i.e. no computers therefore no emails or powerpoints).

    Tips for prospective students

    Compare state schools before deciding (campus, location, price, dorms) Physically walk through the campus and into the buildings, it is so different than a cheesy brouchure Talk to any current student or alumni who might be able to give you the real scoop on the school Check out the list of clubs and extracurriculars the school has to offer Also check out studying abroad opportunities Get your parents in on it and get their sincere opinion

    In three sentences

    WSU is located in a great part of Westfield, MA. The campus is beautiful and for the money I am paying I am getting a great education. It is small but not too small and has a lot to offer its studetns.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I want to visit this college and check it out.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students can fit in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stanley Park is right down the street!

    What to do for fun

    Attend events! There's at least 100 per month!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the University! Visiting is the best way to make a decision.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is very welcoming. The university is clean, involved, and organized. Anyone could enjoy this place.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are really nice campus cops.

    Greek Life

    no Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    So many good clubs. The campus is really big with theatre and campus activities!

    Great for these types of students

    any one really artist, loves sports , this is really your place

    Bang for the buck

    Yes yes yes! Very for those worrying about money and you get a really good bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    There are almost always activities in the dorm and always something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a full dunkin donuts,subway and two campus restaurants. They even give you money to spend at these places that come with your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Very lively but not crazy

    Academic Rigor

    The class aren't to big. There advising system is great. There is a very simple system they use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your papers and paper work in on time. It is beyond important!

    In three sentences

    Its great place if you like a small campus and small classes. You really get a community feel here and there is help around every corner!

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency boxes are set up around campus but are never needed. Campus police officers are friendly but concerned with what they need to be watching out for. I have heard no stories about anyone being harmed on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs on campus. If you wish there was a club that doesn't exist, you can start one. There's always a way to keep busy

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone, no one type of student fits into the school, but all of them can fit together

    Bang for the buck

    As a state school, the cost is fairly low. The school is beautiful and part of a great community. The teachers and faculty care about the students. It is a wonderful school despite the low cost, which makes it worth it

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do. There are many clubs on campus and there are always school sponsored events happening. RA's in the dorms put on events, and school groups sponsor dances or shows. The students have their fair share of parties, but if this is not something you are interested in you can always find people who feel the same way and find some way to have fun with them

    Food and Dining

    Dining commons food is very repetitive, but the food is usually good. Other food options on campus (such as Subway and Dunkin' Donuts) have great service and good food.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is the only way to go. It makes it easier to make friends and form lifelong bonds. Getting to class is faster and working with classmates is easier. The dorms are well taken care of and the staff are very good at their jobs

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers care about the subject matter and will expect you to care too. You will learn a lot, even if it means a lot of work

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus. It helps you to meet people more easily.

    In three sentences

    Westfield does the best it can to create a good environment for all of its students. It is a great place to be. It is a real home to many of its students

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school and Campus Activity Board usually offer events every weekend, always giving students an option to do something at night. The events are popular and versatile, including comedians, hyptonists, and Brown Bag Bingo every month, to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food offered for every meal and two specials each day, which are usually very good quality. The daily meal options (pasta, cheeseburgers, etc) aren't as fresh as the special meals so those options get old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Upperclassmen are all offered apartments, which are in good condition. As a Freshman, I have only lived in a conventional dorm. The freshman dorm rooms are small and cramped at times but the RA's work to make sure every resident feels at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are interesting and have a manageable workload. There are opportunities to be challenged academically and tutors for any subject when the workload seems to be too much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try new things. There are so many opportunities and college is the time to put yourself out there. If there's a club you were too afraid to do in high school, college is the perfect time to get involved and do what ever you want to.

    In three sentences

    The value of education that a student receives at Westfield for the price is incredible. Classes are informative, the campus is attractive and the atmosphere is comforting. Westfield has opportunities for each individual student and truly want everybody to succeed in the future.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs and activities that you can join. You are sure to find one that interests you. I am in a club for education majors and the dance company here.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different options on campus: Dining commons, dunkin donuts, subway, pandinis, quioxtes.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different types of dorms, and you can choose the one that is just right for you. I am living in quiet living in a dorm because I enjoy the quiet when I am studying and doing homework.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different majors and concentrations here that you can choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is definitely helpful to be decalred coming into school.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is a wonderful school. I would rate it an A. The faculty are very helpful and the students are all very kind.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Criminal Justice majors and Education majors

    What to do for fun

    All RAs have events in the dorms, multiple clubs, volunteer work, and there are sports areas and equipment.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of food options and can be repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Quality of buildings vary but all of the Resident Assistants make each building welcoming and warm.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes depending on your major are fair; they challenge but aren't too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club, get involved, but don't fall behind in school work.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is a very welcoming and diverse community. Faculty, staff, and students are all here for the same reason to help and prosper others. This campus has a lot to offer despite being a smaller sized campus.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of bars in the downtown area.

    Food and Dining

    Needs improvement

    Dorm Life

    Lots of loud parties, can be harder to study in some areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect your best in most subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not the best college if you're very serious about being an art student.

    In three sentences

    It was a great campus. The professor's were amazing and thoughtful. The art department was on a downturn.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ISO's and Westfield officers are very well seen throughout campus, and many of them actually take the time to get to know students.

    Greek Life

    None- there are certain academic greek groups but there is no real greek life exactly.

    Clubs and Activities

    The intramural sports are very easy to get involved with, it's not a strict commitment it's mainly just to have fun. There's everything from flag football, to volleyball, and everything in-between. We have clubs ranging from academic clubs, to Maui thai club. If you don't find one you like, you only need a few interested students to start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Westfield State is particularly notable to students interested in Education, Criminal Justice, and other social science related fields. Although recently our Environmental Science department

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stanley beach is the most unusual thing that incoming freshman get confused about, it's not really a beach- it's just a giant field where you'll always see students spreading out with their towels and laying in the sun.

    Bang for the buck

    Westfield is one of the most affordable 4 year schools in my area, and I get so much out of it. I wouldn't change schools for anything. Not only is it affordable, but the career center helps students find internships and jobs all the time and will set you up to succeed after college.

    What to do for fun

    There's always activities happening on the campus green or in Stanley park. There are many activities that are always listed online or on the jumbotrons around campus sponsored by various clubs, the office of residential life, etc.

    Food and Dining

    You have to meet Maria! She is the heart and soul of all things food at Westfield State. She's worked hard to give students the best and widest variety of options. We have an area specifically gluten free, and area specifically with vegan options, as well has having a wide variety of options for students without dietary restrictions.

    Dorm Life

    There's many different options, even off campus housing through residential life. I had the opportunity to start living off campus in an apartment as a sophomore, not many colleges have opportunities like that!

    Academic Rigor

    College is what you make of it. It's easy to breeze through and do the minimum to pass, but the professors will stretch your brain and make you work for your A. In the end, you can learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Meet Father Dean, he's a very wonderful man who works with the interfaith center. He is a legend on campus, not for being a priest but for being a well rounded and wonderful man. He's always out and about chatting with students! -Go to Stanley Park! The school pays to have wifi accessible there! Have fun and get work done and a different environment! -If you have questions, ask! You'll find help!

    In three sentences

    I'd rate Westfield State University with top marks, 10/10, no question about it. The Faculty and Staff have never failed to go above and beyond to help students achieve their full potential. They won't let you down!

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very proactive 24/7; very minimal crime exists on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 cafeterias offering 3 buffet style meals and snacks daily at affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    i cannot comment on this as i am older student who lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This university is accredited and many of the professors are doctorate level thus the work taught and expectations of students is phenomonal. It can be time consuming and grueling but you will graduate with a huge sense of accomplishment and confidence.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is quite big therefore it's important to take advantage of orientation, use the maps to navigate the campus and use great time management skills.

    In three sentences

    WSU is one of the most diverse colleges representing Massachusetts. It's students include different nationalities, students with mental and physical disabilities and a broad age range. The diversity allows students to share and explore our likeness and differences within an educational enviornment.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many accommodations for all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All types of races, religions, preferences and disabilities are warmly welcomed!

    What to do for fun

    Many, many opportunities. Sports programs, music and theater programs. Plus many student themed extra curricular events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on campus is extremely beneficial.

    In three sentences

    Excellent education! Extremely helpful teachers, especially if you approach them if you are having difficulties. Fun and a lot of extracurricular activities for students.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hr security

    Clubs and Activities

    they have everything

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live on campus

    In three sentences

    I lived on Campus The first year was good. The second year the bathrooms were only cleaned when we complained the RD. They would go weeks without cleaning them.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very close and are always around. If there is an emergency then they are there to help within minutes.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life at Westfield State.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to take part in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stanley Park is right across the street, so many students will go and hang out there, play sports, or go hiking. There is also a pond filled with ducks, and many students will go there just to feed them.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pretty cheap school to attend with a pretty high quality education. The campus is nice, and there is always something going on.

    What to do for fun

    Since freshmen don't have cars, it is hard to find things to do off campus. There are always events on campus that are usually pretty cheap and pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons at Westfield isn't anything special. Although you will always find something to eat, it is either a hit or miss. Also, don't expect to have many options on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen live together so it makes it really easy to make friends that are all new to college like you, and it makes it really easy to find someone to talk to if you have trouble transitioning.

    Academic Rigor

    If you show up to class and study, then the classes aren't hard. The material only becomes difficult if you make it difficult by not making the right decisions when it comes to studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient as a freshmen. Freshmen aren't allowed to have cars, so be prepared to take public transportation. There is also freshmen dorms which makes it really easy to make friends, but the rooms aren't that big and they aren't the nicest dorms ever, but as you move up you can choose all your roommates and have a pretty good chance of getting into the halls you want to live in.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State is great, but if you don't have a car on campus there really isn't much to do. The campus isn't very big so it is very easy to get to all your classes on time, and the staff is very understanding and helpful. If you go to class and do all the work then you will do fine.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work out fellowship with friends

    Food and Dining

    not all that good but its alright. im happy I get some to eat.

    Dorm Life

    great

    Academic Rigor

    awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    if you like small classes this is the place for you to be

    In three sentences

    really good place to be and learn as your college career continues

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have campus police and Westfield Police is not to far down the road.

    Greek Life

    lots of places to escape the sound and get your peace and quiet to get your work done with great library.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you might want or something you never knew you could do, just get out and try.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small college and being outdoors and a real friendly college don't look no further.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The world globe made of metal in the middle of the campus green.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education with a low cost.

    What to do for fun

    Always active either at the gym on campus or at Stanley Park across the street. Hanging with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and very day could mean a new friend or eat alone and get back to work ASAP. Also a variety of food everyday and places to get something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Fun and those in the dorms create activities with in to get everyone living in the different dorms together and sometimes get very competitive.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small with a student to prophesier is about 17-1.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply because the cost is not bad and the process is not difficult, pretty easy. Be yourself and strive for greater and here at Westfield State University is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    The greatest campus ever being so closely knit and you are not a number to the prophesiers you are a student to them. Great feeling with great students and staff to keep you busy and active from sports to brown bag bingo and Stanley Park right across the street. No better place to get an education.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their is so many things to do for fun. During the week, their are many clubs and sports you can participate in. On the weekend, a lot of people go see our varsity teams play including football and hockey. Also, once or twice a month, the school has a game night to compete for prizes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is unbelievable. Their are so many choices including breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You also don't always have to eat at the dining hall because they have other places to eat on campus including subway and Dunkin Donuts. Also, on your school I.D., you have some money that you can use for off campus restaurants like apple bees and friendly's.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was at first very different from having my own room back home. But dorm life is awesome because you have your roommates that are some of your closest friends and also people in other rooms right down the hall who you get to know very well. Your dorm is a place where you can relax and hang out with friends, play video games, and of course study.

    Academic Rigor

    It is normal that some people struggle with academics whether its math, science, or foreign languages. However, Westfield state University has a very popular tutor Center that many students go to for help editing papers or with their homework no matter what the subject. Also, professors are more than willing to help and have office hours to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are thinking about coming here should definitely come here with an open mind. Try to get out of your comfort zone and do things that you never even thought about doing. Their are so many opportunites that you need to explore all of them.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is an amazing school with so many opportunities. They have several ways to get involved and meet new people from clubs to varsity athletics to intramural sports. This school also has a lot of majors and minors to choose from so students can really find out who they are and who they want to become.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Communications or fine arts majors

    In three sentences

    I love the campus life and atmosphere, it is definitely worth is especially if you're like me and entering the communications field. This is the perfect school.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During your free time there is plenty to do. The campus will have a day where all the clubs have stations and you can go explore each and every one of them. You can sign up for whichever ones you want as long as you make sure that they work around your schedule and you are not overwhelming yourself with too many. There are many activities like concerts, movie nights, pep rallies, bingo, trivia, scavenger hunts, etc. Right across the street is Stanley Park. It�s a great place to gather with friends on any day. There are also many fundraising events that go on at the park like the walk against cancer, Alzheimer�s, and autism. You can even get together with friends and create a team! If you find that you don�t want to join a division sport that may be competitive but still want that experience, you can join an intramural sport which is like a club.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many different choices of where to eat. For breakfast, lunch, and dinner you have a choice of the dining commons, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, Quixotes, Pandini�s, and the Perch. The possibilities of meals are endless. There are breakfast sandwiches, coffees, grilled foods, pasta, wings, salads you name it. If you ever get bored with the food here you always have the option of ordering food from Chinese restaurants, pizza parlors, etc. You can also use your owl bucks for most of these places near the Westfield Center. For the dining places on campus the quality is great and the service is nice.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life might take some time getting used to. It may be something that you are either extremely comfortable with or find that you are homesick from it. Dorm life has its perks. The RA�s and RD�s are pretty awesome and are always willing to help. They can pretty much answer any question regarding the campus and its activities. For the first week of move in they try their best to make you feel comfortable and to have you meet your fellow neighbors. If you have questions about where a class is, or an even feel free to ask them. Remember they are here to make your stay as warm welcoming as possible, so feel free to bring up ideas or concerns.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here may vary on difficulty depending on majors, course, or class standing. You may find that one semester may be more difficult than previous ones. Overall classes should balance out so that you have time to yourself and for other extracurricular activities. Classes can include projects like posters, class presentations, or the use PowerPoint. There will definitely be a few days where you may have to conduct a research paper of some sort. One thing that will be useful is knowing the MLA and APA format along with the works cited and reference pages. The great thing is once registration period comes around you�ll be able to choose what times and classes you want to take as long as it goes with your major/minor.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing that will come in handy is an organizer of some sort. Have a calendar, planner, or even use your smart phone for reminders. Being organized is something that will definitely help you. It�ll help you keep up with your classes and in the end allow yourself to have some free time. If your find yourself struggling in a class, make sure to find help. Use your resources! The professors are more than willing to help their students do well in the course so do not be shy. There are places like the Banacos center which provides tutors for various courses, the reading and writing center, TRiO, and even your classmates that are there to help you. Time management and pacing yourself are two skills that will become your best friend. Procrastinating is an ongoing issue that many experience, so just try keeping it to a minimal. Also, if possible, take advantage of the Urban Ed program that runs for part of the summer. In the long run it�ll help a great deal for when you start your first semester here. You�ll find that you may be ahead of other freshmen.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are here assist you and are friendly. There are plenty of opportunities and activities to do at Westfield State University. Once you get used to the campus everything is pretty much straightforward.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Westfield State University is known for its criminal justice program. The on-campus security is everywhere and so aren't the Westfield police, always on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are little no to frats at Westfield, maybe the sports or club team houses located off-campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The wrestling club was a great time for me, but there is plenty more. Westfield has great events having bands, guest speakers, and much more in their auditorium. There are various clubs Westfield will be able to match your hobby.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have any interests I am sure you with find plenty of people to share them with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the annual pep rally for the footballs homecoming. The big Stanley Park across the street from Westfield has plenty of area to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    Westfield State is going to offer you the same college experience you would get at most of the similar colleges. If you choose to live there, and you like it, you will have a great time, but remember your priority is to get educated!

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do at Westfield with great athletics, plenty of intramural sports, and tons of clubs to join. The people you meet, you will spend a lot of time with, and adventure down to the Ely building for a good workout or to stop by the library.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Westfield is...cafeteria food. You will get used to it and sometimes there is a very tasty meal. There are on-campus restaurants that always offer great alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept tidy and are well secured. The dorms make for a nice experience, and you can decorate your room. There are plenty of fun people to meet at Westfield State.

    Academic Rigor

    The college life and work is completely different from what most students are used to, especially those straight out of high school. The college work load will be a big change, but once you are used to it, it can be a great time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on-campus is a blast. You will meet many new, interesting people, and have a great experience. Westfield State is great for students that want to take their education to the next level!

    In three sentences

    Westfield State University is a great college for eager students. The faculty is great and helps you individually. The diverse students make for some fun around campus!

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is excellent, but I am a vegetarian and there aren't always many options for me.

    Dorm Life

    People don't seem to be very friendly and no one keeps their doors open in my dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    I was and still am an honors student and while there are some courses that have proven to be difficult, I don't feel as though overall the work is very difficult.

    In three sentences

    Westfield State is a school where you get private school quality for a public school price.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always looking to bust someone for doing anything remotely bad, like walking with bag at night or being a little too loud with friends even if no alcohol or anything is involved.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do track and I joined rugby as well. There are a good number of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Partiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't really have any.

    Bang for the buck

    There's a Dunkin Donuts on campus so that's good.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, hang out with friends and drink. That's basically all there is to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food is really not good.

    Dorm Life

    It's okay. The people on my floor are not ideal but I love my roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, I am a very smart person and this school doesn't challenge me that much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the city don't come here. Play a sport or join a club.

    In three sentences

    This school will give you a pretty decent education. There isn't much to do around the campus. It's pretty much in the middle of nowhere.