Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Westminster College - Pennsylvania Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly Service oriented (2 service organizations on campus) Religious (Presbyterian) Nature loving (nice outdoor lab with walking trail) EVERYONE-There are many things to do on campus and we have a wide variety of students and organizations on campus so everyone can find a place that they belong!

    Bang for the buck

    While the tuition is a bit much it is such a nice environment to be around. There are plenty of things to do on campus on weekends, that are free, including a movie theater, and other things.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is a beautiful place to walk around weather on your way to class or you just have some down time. The people are friendly and since it is a small campus you will find yourself saying hi to a few people everywhere you go. There are also a lot of oppertunities to get involved so you will get to know people quickly.

    Am learning a lot

    Freshman year there are a couple of mandatory classes that are required for the school that don't teach you to much but they help you to adapt to college life, so i guess they have a point. Besides that I've learned a lot in my other classes.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Westminster College is an excellent campus for students who enjoy a friendly, exciting, and safe environment. Whether it's the students, professors, or faculty, everyone on campus will greet you with a warm smile. The college is also perfect for students who prefer a small campus. It is easy to know more people and to be known, and it's nearly impossible to get lost! There are many activities available on campus, whether you enjoy sports, music, or nature. In addition, it is also great for students who enjoy serving their community. The fraternities, sororities, and many of the other clubs provide students with opportunities to go out in the community and make a difference. The largest of these is the Habitat for Humanity group which renovates local homes. Since it is affiliated with the Presbyterian Church, there are many opportunities to get involved in Bible studies and worship groups; however, all of these are optional, so there is no pressure! Also, campus security enhances your experience at Westminster since you always feel safe on the small campus. Overall, almost anyone can find something to love about Westminster, whether it's the academics, activities, or environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Westminster College is the right choice for you, give it everything you have! Be sure to get involved. With so much to do, you are bound to find an activity that you will love! Also, take advantage of the course help available on campus. Professors and free tutors are almost always available to help you understand your course material more!

    Bang for the buck

    Although Westminster is expensive, it is actually one of the most affordable liberal arts colleges in Pennsylvania. It is a quality education; every class is worth the tuition due to the resources available and value of the lessons. There is also a free movie theater on campus that plays movies that were recently in theaters. Free popcorn and drinks accompanies these movies! Overall, the room and board is worth the price. While some of the freshman dorms aren’t very big, they are still nice. On the other hand, the upper class dorms are very spacious and nice. Also, although the price seems expensive, the college offers many scholarships that are worth over $10,000. The financial aid office is always willing to help if you need another scholarship along the line.

    Am enjoying being here

    Over my breaks and few weekends home, I cannot wait to get back on campus! There are over 100 clubs and organizations on campus and 5 national fraternities and sororities. With so much to do, you are bound to find an activity that you will love! Since it is a small campus, once you meet someone new, you see them frequently enough to become friends, so having a good group of friends is easy to come by for even the shyest person. The buildings are close together, so it’s not too difficult to brave the winter winds. From my dorm, I can see everywhere I need to go. Also, off campus fun isn’t far away. While there are only a few places to eat and hang out within walking distance, there are dozens of places to eat, shop, and have a good time within ten miles. On campus, there is a fitness center, gym, sports, and nature courses/labs. Overall, I love being on campus because of the ability to make friends quickly, the accessibility of everything on campus, and the numerous fun activities.

    Am learning a lot

    At Westminster College, there is a 12:1 student/faculty ratio. This provides students with the opportunity to have one on one time with the professors. The professors are always in their offices waiting to give academic advice, proofread a paper, or to simply talk. In fact, most of my professors requested a one on one meeting just to get to know the students better. While some colleges have student professors, Westminster’s professors are all highly acclaimed in their field, and they are extremely knowledgeable and capable of teaching students what they know. There are also free tutors on campus who are willing to proofread papers, help you understand a concept, or answer your questions. Knowing professors and peers are there to help makes it easy to succeed even in tough courses. This is probably why 98% of Westminster Graduates have a job or are enrolled in Grad School within a year of graduating.

  • 12/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy small town life migrate to Westminster. Many athletes that also highly value academics attend Westminster as well. Also, students that enjoy getting involved or have a cause that is close to their heart enjoy being at Westminster because of the abounding opportunities to participate in service activities and make a direct impact.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you spend time on the essay for your application. Students that are accepted to Westminster are well rounded and academically diverse. If you are still in high school, don't let senioritis deter your good grades. Contrary to popular belief, colleges do look at end of senior year grades. If you let the ball drop, it's not going to look good to the admissions team. Also, should you be accepted and choose to attend Westminster, make sure you do your summer reading and write your essay before you come to college; you need to start your academic college experience off on a positive note, and professors expect students to have all of their work accomplished on time and in compliance with the Academic Integrity guidelines.

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster has a high sticker price, but awards nice financial aid packages. The College has strong alumni support, and therefore, is able to award scholarship aid to most students whom attend. Many alumni have said, once you have a degree from Westminster, you won't have to worry about finding a job. So, in this struggling economy more than ever, every penny spent at Westminster College is worth it because employers know that it is a good school with students of high integrity. The tuition paid by students now will definitely pay off in the long run.

    Am enjoying being here

    Westminster's campus is small. Enrollment is small enough that it allows students to become familiar with each other. Casual greetings while walking through campus are the norm. There are an abundance of student organizations to get involved with, and most of the student population partakes in the opportunities provided by involvement in these organizations. If there aren't any organizations that suit your taste, it is easy to start one. The staff are supportive and more than willing to help out with anything. Professors regularly meet with students outside of class, not only to discuss coursework, but simply because they sincerely care about the students and forge close bonds with them. Greek life has tremendous support, and serves as a major service vehicle for college students to get involved in community service. Many students are also athelets and enjoy student support at their sporting events.

    Am learning a lot

    As a liberal arts school, Westminster College exemplifies everything one would expect from such. The College gives students a well rounded learning experience. It includes required Intellectual Perspectives courses. Regardless of major, all students must take IP courses covering Scientific Discovery, Social Thought and Tradition, Foriegn Language, Visual and Performing Art, History and Culture, Quantitative Reasoning, and Religious Perspectives.

  • 04/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are looking for a really small private school where you know almost all of campus and can interact with professors and advisors this is the place for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Get focused. This is your life. Be prepared to be challenged and for a university that will give you lot of interaction opportunities

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive

    Am enjoying being here

    There is tons to do on campus

    Am learning a lot

    The professors know what they are talking about and are engaging.

  • 01/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. You will fall in love.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone I have talked to in my graduate degree search has had great thing to say about the Westminster Graduates. I they just know their stuff. The education is worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I campus and community are an amazing place to be. Everyone is warm and welcoming to the college students.

    Am learning a lot

    Every class gives me a great experience. The professors care greatly about their student and go out of their way to make sure you know and understand the material.

  • 04/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Environmentalists, History/Education/Music Majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Westminster is not open with information so you have to go looking for it. Take a tour, though don't make your decision based on just the gorgeous campus. Ask questions and make sure you are getting the entire answer! Take your parents with you, they will think of questions that you may not have.

    Bang for the buck

    This college costs more than $35,000 a year. If you are going into the sciences I would suggest you consider elsewehere. The liberal studies, music, history, and education programs are very good though so I would suggest it as consideration for those particular majors.

    Did enjoy being here

    Besides a poor academic experience, I loved living here. The campus is beautiful all year round and very easy to walk across. The dorms are nice and there is a sense of community and togetherness exuded by the small campus. The facilities are nice, and you can explore almost every building. The food is quite edible and the atmosphere is peaceful. There are concerts, competitions (Greek Week AND Geek Week), weekend and break trips, and more. The band JD Eicher and the Goodnights originated here and they return often. For outside activities I sugges a tour of New Wilmington, a walk to the lake, community park, Bio-Trail. If I could stay at WC without having to worry about academics, I would in a heartbeat. I made long-lasting and close friendships with people I still communicate with even though I have not been a student there for 2 years now. One downside is that New Wilmington (the surrounding town) is very small. Most shops close by 6 or 7 every day and almost everything is closed on Sundays. Although while they are open, the shops are fun and interesting all around. I suggest The Silk Road as a must-see.

    Did learn a lot

    I was a Biology/Pre-Physical Therapy major at WC 2 years ago. I was under the impression that I was in the 3x3 program with Duquesne. As a liberal arts, music, history, education college Westminster is great. Unfortunately it's sciences are lacking. Not only did they not communicate to me that the 3x3 program didn't start until my sophomore year, they did not say that there was no guarantee that I would reach Duquesne. For $35,000 a year in tuition, I would hope that there would be a guarantee that I would be able to complete my goal. This college does not communicate well with it's students. To get through to someone you will most likely spend an hour or so being forwarded to every office on campus.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying next to nothing for school, due to academic scholarships, student need, and a few outside scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    There are so many things to do! From canoeing on the lake to hanging out in the club room to joining campus activities, there is something for everyone. Also, New Wilmington and Volant have cute little shops perfect for visiting on weekends.

    Will learn a lot

    I visited two professors in my majors. They really seemed willing to speak with me about their classes and the other classes in their departments. Also, the facilities, including the career center and library are really nice and will certainly be an aid during my years at Westminster!

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a professor and many, many students on campus before committing to this college!

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster is very fair with the amount of academic scholarships they offer students.

    Will enjoy being here

    After taking a tour and talking to a few students on campus, I realized that Westminster is the proverbial suitcase school. At least a third of the student body packs up and goes home on the weekend. Personally, this bothers me.

    Will learn a lot

    From talking to various professors I learned that there are a lot of interesting academic opportunities and happenings going on at Westminster.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Westminster is great for any type student because they offer a large variety of majors, sports and other activities for students to become involved it. I do feel that the college is especially great for those students who like a smaller community and who like to become very familiar with a lot of people on campus and also for those who enjoy being involved in a lot of activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best advice for anyone going to Westminster or any college is to go into college with an open mind. Start off the year by thinking positive and making good decisions for yourself. Stay on top of all of your work and schedule, but also allow yourself to have fun and get involved in the schools activities that they offer. There is something for everyone, no matter what you are interested in. Getting involved is also a great way to meet people and become comfortable with the other students on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster College is a very expensive college compared to other local colleges, but you are paying for what you get. I feel that Westminster goes above and beyond their expectations. Anyone that I have talked to that has graduated from Westminster has a very successful career and said they could never imagine going to a different college. At Westminster college you are able to receive one on one attention from the professors and that is something you do not receive at a lot of other colleges. I feel that is very important and something that is very helpful for students. I know that is has helped me very much and I do not know what I would do without that.

    Am enjoying being here

    This past fall I was a transfer student from Youngstown State University. I was very happy about my decision on transferring to Westminster College to pursue my career. I will admit that it was a very big transformation for me to get adjusted to, but I am very happy that I made that decision. I really enjoy dorm life and all of the new friends I have met since transferring. I am also very proud to say I am part of the cheerleading squad and golf team at Westminster. They were both ways that I was able to meet new amazing people and it is a great responsibility to be on a squad and team representing a college. Since Westminster is a smaller college you really get to meet everyone and feel comfortable. Everyone is very helpful and friendly.It is such a nice feeling knowing that when you need help from someone it is available. College is very stressful at times, but Westminster does a very great job at helping freshman to seniors get what they need to get done, but also have an enjoyable college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a sophomore at Westminster College. I am majoring in communications and minoring in public relations. Each semester I have a very busy schedule. In each class that I take I learn so much important information about my majors. I feel very prepared when I go to take tests and I know I will be extremely prepared for my career when I graduate from Westminster and then go onto grad school.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety is wonderful on a small campus with police and public safety patrolling at all times of the day.

    Greek Life

    there are five or so sororities, several fraternities, as well as one co-ed frat.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a variety of sports including football, basketball, baseball, tennis, as well as an equestrian team.

    Bang for the buck

    as most colleges, it is a little pricey, but that's what you get for a well reviewed, hard working, private college.

    What to do for fun

    it is in an amish area, so there aren't a lot of attractions in the town. however, their are buses that go to grove city outlets as well as a few family owned shops and restaurants in town. also, there are always movies with free popcorn, sports games, and two gyms, one with a climbing wall, all on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the best school food you would probably ever eat.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are quite cozy, wonderful people, and well taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    because of the smaller class sizes, it is important to show up, do assignments, and participate.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to participate in classes and it is suggested to be well dedicated to your major.

    In three sentences

    westminster is a rather small college and quite beautiful. the professors give the students the attention they need and truly care about their education. there are also wonderful classes.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Unless you go Greek or like to party, there isn't much to do on campus. I hate partying and drinking (yes, lots of people drink here in the middle Amish country) so I tend to play more video games & Apples to Apples, or go on Walmart runs with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall/cafeteria usually has good stuff; you just got to be there at the right time. Tables fill up quickly.

    Dorm Life

    My first roommate was assigned to me based off a paper you fill out in the summer. She was great; we had a good first semester together. She transferred out before Christmas Break, so I had to get a new one. She was a mutual friend between me and my first roommate. This current one is awful and inconsiderate a lot. Another than that, the rooms aren't too bad and we have community bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Out of all of my classes so far for my first year, it was honestly like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are religious undertones almost everywhere, so if you don't particularly like that then WC might not be for you. It doesn't bother me too much. Make sure you know what major you definitely want to be. Trying to change it is a hassle for some.

    In three sentences

    It's a small, tight-knit college. The profs can be really interesting, but the older ones sometimes don't know what their doing. More often than not, everyone on campus is nice and will say hi if they've only seen you once before.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    our campus has a movie theater great workout gym

    Food and Dining

    food is terrible i have a car and go to alot of restuarants 1 star

    Dorm Life

    hard to get use to no privacy 4 star

    Academic Rigor

    4 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to manage your time. Do your homework now dont wait until later

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. I am a member of the basketball team. I have made so many new friends.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but the aid is great!

    What to do for fun

    Play music with other musicians here!

    Dorm Life

    No idea...

    Academic Rigor

    From what I know, it looks HARD.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades and be Presbyterian. They love that.

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome! They offered me over $22,000 in scholarships! I'm kind of sad I won't be going here...

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New Wilmington is an overwhelmingly safe community. The campus is small and pretty much enclosed. I have been here two years and have not heard of any crime or safety issues.

    Greek Life

    Half of the students at Westminster are Greek. There are many sororities and fraternities to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    Specific Major Clubs (i.e. Spanish, First books), Interest groups, or volunteer service opportunities. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically Driven, students who want to attend a smaller college, students who want to make connections with others and participate in a lot of activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mugsie's is located right off campus. It is an amazing coffee shop that we love to frequent. Also, there is a preschool located on campus that provides a lot of volunteer opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but the quality of education is worth it. Westminster offers many scholarships that you could apply for.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is all about activities. Whether it be clubs, Greek life, or volunteer opportunities. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not high quality. There are some options that are not horrible, but the majority of the food is disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are really small and there are communal bathrooms. The buildings are older, so that causes problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but with hard work and determination, there should be no problems. The professors and fellow students are always willing to help when they can. It is a lot of work, but in the end it will be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not put off your liberal arts courses. If you are looking for a school in a small, safe community, this is the one for you.

    In three sentences

    Most of the classes are interesting and small in size. The professors are always willing to help. There are always activities in campus to participate in.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    plan to take part in one

    Clubs and Activities

    musicals

    What to do for fun

    There are many musical oportunities.

    Food and Dining

    many unheathy choices

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small college environment.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful, small college. It allows you to feel like an improtant part of the college aposed to only a number.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is so nice here. They even give out their cell phone numbers in case you are ever in trouble. Even if they are off duty they will find someone to help you or they will come and help you themselves.

    Greek Life

    I am personally a member of a sorority on campus. Greek life is very involved, and several students choose to join one.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities fair is always so fun to experience. You get to see the hundreds of clubs and activities on campus and there is always something for everyone. I am personally on the equestrian team, something I never expected them to have. Even if you enjoy something that is not offered, SGA is so eager to establish new groups and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone...there is such a variety of students, interests, and activities that almost anyone can fit in here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone loves the lake!

    Bang for the buck

    You truly do get what you pay for. Yes, Westminster is pricey, but it is a private institution. The staff is always there to help you and has an open door policy. They are available before during and after traditional office hours.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is very popular at Wetsminster College, but there is so much more to do. There are various clubs and organizations to join, which are always looking for new members. We also have a club room where you can hang out, a movie theater, a lake, sports centers, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    There are three different dining facilities at Westminster. One dining facility is buffet style, while the other two are a la carte. There are different types of food for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to some of my friends' college dorms, Westminster's dorm rooms are decently sized. The RA's are wonderful and always there for you. They organize hall and building socials at least once a month, and the hallways are always decorated.

    Academic Rigor

    Westminster professors truly do challenge you to work to your full potential. Yes, the classes can be difficult, however, you truly do learn so much!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous! Everyone is so eager to help you succeed in all aspects. The other students are so friendly and with so many on campus activities, you will make friends in no time.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College professors are amazing! The class sizes are small and the professors know your name and want to see you succeed. You can always find something fun to do on campus.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The TUB is perfect place for everything.

    What to do for fun

    Go to free movies, join a sorority/fraternity, enjoy clubs and other activities, such as the equestrian club.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and feel the wonderful close-knit community

    In three sentences

    Westminster College is extremely welcoming and helpful. I felt like I was at home as soon as I stepped onto the campus. There is so much to do and the academics are above standard.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity that you can to visit the college for overnighters and events. That way you'll already know people when you get there.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing college. The professors will go out of their way to help you understand the material. I would definitely recommend it.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton to do and way too much to list!

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better and cheaper. But you won't go hungry here that's for sure! and if it is truly a problem, every dorm is outfitted with a stove and microwave.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms don't have a lot of built ins but you can bring storage bins and whatnot to hold all of your things.

    Academic Rigor

    Westminster is all about the grades. Some majors are harder than others but all the majors expect the students to work for their degree. So be sure to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to really get involved with your time here. There is so much to do that it would be a shame for anyone to stay in their room.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College is a great Liberal arts college that gave me the tools in order to succeed. The professors are great here and really gave me that one-on-one teaching that I needed. Activities are plentiful on this campus from community service to athletics. Check it out!!

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Outstanding! From a dead car battery to walking alone at night (or in my case an asthma attack) - they are always there at the touch of a button. They also transported me to get an xray when I fell on ice.

    Greek Life

    Outstanding!

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it - it is probably there! Activities galore and always plenty to do.

    Great for these types of students

    All types - unless you have to have the big city lifestyle. Outlet mall 15 minutes away, All buildings on campus are within walking distance of one another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NO Hazing! Religious services (campus chapel), Horse and buggy travel through daily. We have our own lake and a Mummy on Campus. Everyone holds doors open. Professors care and participate in many on campus activities. We hold Treat or Treating for professors' children every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, a private college is expensive - but the placement rate for graduates is 98% - we are wanted! There are many scholarships available to help offset the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life, band, dance team, football, basketball, tennis, soccer, swimming, fishing, canoes, close to two parks, walking trails, so much to do.... Weekly movies, plays, concerts - never a reason to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are required and are expensive - but you have to take into account the cost of all food these days. All types of food is available in the 3 places to eat on campus, and unless you have severe food issues (which they work together with you to solve) you will not go hungry!

    Dorm Life

    Plenty of dorm rooms - nice sided rooms. We had a slight spider issue personally in our dorm this year, but the dorms are repaired as issues arise and there is plenty of outlets for everything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    You choose your classes and activities, so you can determine how you split them up and spread them out. Some classes have more difficult schedules than others - choose your schedule wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out activities you like to do - this campus actually has the activities listed in their promo guides. It is OK to switch your major if you find you don't like what you first choose.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College has a beautiful campus, caring professors, friendly atmosphere and well rounded educational paths. There are plenty of on campus activities - always enough to keep you busy. You can be yourself here, you don't have to put on a show for others.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 security as well as cameras around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no sorority houses allowed in Pennsylvania.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not looked into any clubs or activites prior to the review.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who do not like the city life or very cluttered places.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really enjoy the fact that there is a lake on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a very exspenive college but they do offer scholarships that can pay for as much as 40% of the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Indoors, I like to read. Outdoors, I like taking care of animals and walking out in the wood,

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria looks like it offers a very diverse selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but still enough space to live with the necessities.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very pleased with the science department Westminster College has to offer. The Biology major offers two years of general biology so an in-depth lecture can be given on General Biology before student choosing a more specific branch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask any qustions regarding any aspect of the college.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College has a beautiful campus that is also small but not cluttered. It also has a very good science department which is why I am interested in attending there. The admissions office is also very helpful with any questions I had, whether it was regarding financial aid or the layout of the campus.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, and everyone knows where to find and how to call the campus safety office. The dorm buildings are locked 24/7 and are only accessible with a student ID card. New Wilmington is a very small, tight-knit community, and Westminster emulates that with its level of safety for students.

    Greek Life

    About 85% of campus is Greek. The school has delayed rush, so independent students do not decide until the spring semester if they are going to join. While Greek life is huge, no one is pushed into it, and plenty of students enjoy campus life without going Greek. There are opportunities for enjoyment outside of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 100 clubs on campus. Habitat for Humanity, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Seekers (a Christian group), and SGA are big on campus. From the Yearbook staff to the academic clubs, there is definitely something to interest everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Science and Music majors should especially consider Westminster, but the English department is also exceptional. Any student who wants a liberal arts education with good preparation for the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On move-in day, students and parents attend convocation and hear the SGA president, dean and college president speak. Afterwards, the students leave the auditorium and walk through a tunnel of professors clapping and cheering for them. This tradition is repeated at graduation, when the students will then know the professors very well. It is a very moving experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster is expensive, but I have found the great professor-student relationships have made it worth it for me. There are no teaching assistants, and class sizes are generally very small, making one-on-one interaction very common.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Government does a fantastic job of bringing in good movies every weekend, which you can attend for free and receive free popcorn and drinks. They also bring in comedians and bands every month or so. The Greek organizations offer parties every weekend, but not everyone feels the need to go to them for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are three venues for dining on campus: a traditional cafeteria, a food court in the student union building and WOW, a wings/chicken place. The meal plans can be confusing, but there are decent options. The cafeteria and food court do a good job of offering different choices every week. WOW is by far the best food, but it is also the most fattening.

    Dorm Life

    For first years, dorm life is pretty typical - almost everyone has a roommate, and the rooms are very small. There is a communal bathroom in each hall. The buildings are fairly old, but they are kept clean. The residence life staff is committed to keeping peace and harmony in the buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors and students alike are committed to excellence. The workload is large, especially if you are a science or education major, but there are people and organizations to help you. The school has one of the best graduation rates in the country for a liberal arts college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college before you commit to it! It is a great school, but it is definitely not for everyone. The community is safe and warm, but you will not find a lot to do on a Friday night unless you decide to go Greek.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College is a fantastic liberal arts school, especially if you're looking for one-on-one interaction with professors. The class sizes are great, and professors are all well-qualified and there to help. It is very small, though, so Greek life is prevalent if you are looking for a lot of activity.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always patrolling around campus. I have received at least 3 parking tickets this year. They are persistent and do not put up with people breaking the rules. I feel very safe on campus during the day and at night. However, I always use the buddy system.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of greek life, but I have many friends that are. I know that there is drama and head aches. All of the girls I know love the sororities that they have joined. They get to meet so many new people in such a short amount of time. They make friends and sisters and they always have each others backs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to join. Many students get so involved that they overwhelm themselves with too many activities and it's too hard to give them up.

    Great for these types of students

    At Westminster there is always a friendly face. If you are someone who likes to recognize people you see every day and put a personality to a face, this school would be great for you. You won't find a person on campus that you haven't seen at least once before.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have volleyrock every year. Current students and alumni put teams together and play in a volleyball tournament. Most of the campus is involved and its fun to meet a new crowd.

    What to do for fun

    New Wilmington is a small town, but there is a lot to do on campus and there are places close to campus that involve a short drive. On campus we have a theatre that plays free movies on the weekends. They are ususally up to date and the theatre is nice. Off campus you can go play lazer tag, go bowling, ice skating, shopping, to the movies. If you can't find something to do, go out to eat with a friend. There are lots of restaurants just down the road.

    Food and Dining

    In the beginning it seems like there is a lot of variety of foods on campus. Depending on what your meal plan looks like will determine where you will eat most often. All dining places take flex dollars, but you should always keep track of what you are spending. Also, they need to work on their choices of healthy foods because salads tend to get boring.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and there isn't very much variety. The smallness allows for a closer knit community. The girls are respectful, but you should never trust anyone with anything you really care about. Disturbances do not occur often and you get to choose your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Students must manage their time wisely and take advantage of their professors office hours. School is the main priority and professors want to make sure you get the most for your money. The biology and mathematics department really focus on pushing their students, but they help them along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots and a fan because it rains 5 days out of the week and our residence halls do not have any air conditioning. If you do not play a sport and you are not interested in greek life, join a club or two on campus. The first week is always the scariest, but do not be afraid to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College is part of a great community and everyone on and off campus is very friendly. It has a small population and is in a small town, but there is never a dull moment with all of the activities available on campus. Class sizes are perfect and students can work personally with their professors.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie nites in the CC. Sorority and fraternity life is active.

    Food and Dining

    It's college food....

    Dorm Life

    Dorms could be kept up better for the price of tuition.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet fun to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to be in a rural, country, quiet setting.

    In three sentences

    Small,rural, supportive school. Academics rigorous but most faculty very helpful. Value for tuition fair.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You will see signs everywhere about stuff happening on campus. Word of mouth travels fast too. You wont be bored.

    Academic Rigor

    Every major has its rigors. Just be willing to work. This is the final segway between you and your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not feel like you need to know your major when you get here. You can change. Professors are willing and excited to work with you. Come in with a good attitude, and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and connected. The academics and professors are challenging and push you forward. The student body is one of the most respectful and nice groups of people I have ever seen.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Well diverse clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the story of why the girls dorms and boys dorms are separated by the creek. Back in the day, the rule was that boys and girls dorms had to be divided by a body of water if the school was co-ed

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster offers a great education.

    What to do for fun

    Most fun is what campus offers. Not much of a nightlife in New Wilmington.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your studies seriously. School has strong academic requirements.

    In three sentences

    Easy access, you can walk anywhere you need to go on campus. The campus is secure and a very safe campus. The food needs a lot of work.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge part of the Westminster community. A high percentage of students are involved in Greek life and it's very easy to understand why! Greek life here is not what you see in movies. All of the sororities and fraternities are very open and respecting of each other. Also, we Titans don't haze!

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something going on on the weekends whether it be a movie in the theater on campus, a play, a sporting event of some sort. But if there isn't anything going on, it's fun to get a group of friends together in someone's room and have a movie night or game night.

    Food and Dining

    Options for healthy food are sometimes VERY scarce and very expensive. But for the most part, food is not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    We keep an open door relationship in my current hall because for the most part we all get along. Everyone is friendly and respectful of one another. Though the dorms may be kind of small, the buildings are still very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are absolutely incredible. They will truly help any student with whatever their needs may be. And if you have any questions all you have to do is stop in their office, they are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. You really get a good personal one-on-one relationship with your professors and advisers. And lastly, the students and faculty are so nice, helpful, and respectful to each other, it really is not hard to make really good friends!

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    freshmen athletics almost always involves a dip in the lake... ;)

    What to do for fun

    fish or swim in the lake with friends! go snowboarding/ski'ing! water balloon fight on the quad! snowball fight on the quad! movie night with friends! game night with your dorm! many, many more!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, it is not too bad. More on-campus dining would be nice though (chipolte??)

    Dorm Life

    What can I say, it's a college dorm. IF you have seen one, then you have basically seen them all

    Academic Rigor

    Yeah it's incredibly rigorous, but there is also time for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to first year events! they may sound stupid or lame (and they are), but they are also a great time to make friends. I made some of my best friends there! Also, get to know your RA on a 1:1 level, trust me they want to talk to you, and they've also probably got some experience with anything you are possibly going through.