Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Westminster College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are self motivated and desire a well rounded college education would be the best additions to the Westminster Community.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip would be to apply early. Westminster is very small so it is always better to apply as soon as possible. Also I would encourage coming to campus and seeing the set ups.

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster is a private school so there is a little more buck involved, but I definitely think it is worth it. All of my teachers know my name which was one reason that I decided to attend Westminster over a larger (and cheaper) school. Every class I have this semester is taught by a PhD which is nice since I know it is a quality education I am receiving.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy life here on campus. Since I am a freshman, I live in the quad which has such a fun social aspect. If you are bored there is always something going on from suite movie nights to the friendly game of soccer on the lawn.

    Am learning a lot

    I am taking so many amazing classes here at Westminster!! Each class is really interesting. For example, I am taking psychology as a social science (which I was incredibly not excited for) but I am absolutely loving it!!! My professor makes it so easy and engaging.

  • 04/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Westminster College is great for students who really value their education and want to continue to be challenged. Also we are a small school. If you are looking for a small school to attend for college this is an awesome pick. We have a wonderful biology program, so we are great for students who are pre-med, pre-vet or biology in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    The higher your GPA and ACT score the better. Westminster offers a great scholarship competition to students with good grades and a high ACT score. Most students here have won some money from that competition and most of the time it can almost cut your tuition in half. Also come and visit campus. The best way to know if this, or any other school, is the right school for you is to come a visit. Most people fall in love with the campus the minute they get here. Lastly, once you get on campus don't waste anytime getting involved. If you really want a fantastic four years you need to be involved in something and that really applies to anywhere you go.

    Bang for the buck

    I am sure a lot of people have looked at the price tag for Westminster and immediately said no way that's to expensive. Really in the long run Westminster is a great value. The teachers provide challenging class work, so you know your receiving a quality education. While yes campus is small but there are always events going on that are free to students. So you can directly see and benefit from many of the things your tuition goes toward. All of the clubs and organizations offer wonderful leadership and skill building opportunities to help you pad your resume for after graduation. At the end of the day Westminster College is a great value for all of the wonderful experiences you will have in your four years here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Enjoying being here is an understatement I absolutely love it here! Westminster College is truly a campus community. What I mean by that is all of the students on campus are very close and always willing to help each other out. The family-like atmosphere makes being on campus a wonderful experience. Living in the dorms as a freshman has been a pretty good experience. I like that fact that all of the freshman live together in one central area. It make adjusting to college life easier when you know the person in the next room is going through the same thing you are. There are so many opportunities to join different clubs. I personally am on the Service Corp board and we help to plan all of the service projects that take place on campus and around the city of Fulton. I am also part of Student Ambassadors. Those are just two groups available on campus. There are so many more such as being part of Greek Life, SGA or a sports team. With all of these opportunities and the amazing people here on campus I am glad to know, I can proudly say It's a great day to be a Blue Jay.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love the small class sizes and nice learning facilities available here. Most classes have no more then 25 students in it, so your teachers actually know you by name and care about your success. The small class sizes also make it easier for you to ask questions and get help when you need it. Classroom learning isn't the only type of learning that goes on at Westminster. Through all of the different clubs I have gained so many valuable leadership and teamwork skills that will make me attractive to future employers.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    once you are a student here at westminster college or even a visiter, you feel safe and calm. This is because of students getting other students involved and staying connected. security is always willing and able to help with any problem or issue you have. not only that but the faculty, and staff are awsome and really care about all students on or off campus.

    Greek Life

    I highly recommend that if or when you attend westminster college, that you join a fraternity or sorority. the reason is that you will not only be apart of something special but your experience here at westminster will be amazing. I am in a fraternity right now known as Phi Delta Theta and our house is known for getting involved on and off campus for community service, not only that but you have a higher chance than others to get a job. Your fraternity will help you if you need advice, help or someone to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    definitely join a club or sport while you are here at westminster college. you will become apart of a team, help contribute as a teammate and build on teamwork. I joined the cross country team this past fall and enjoyed the whole season. the practices were exciting and you learn something new from our coaches every day. The best part is that you do not even need experience to run cross country, you will learn, grow, and get stronger as the season goes on. did i mention faster. clubs are always fun and is a great way to explore and meet new people. I am apart of the ultimate frizbee team we practice once a week and play every friday for like 3 hours.

    Great for these types of students

    you need to be willing and able to work hard and to not give up. be someone that others can depend on. stay strong minded. get involved. experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    while you are on campus you with become best friends with walmart the store and break time a gas station on campus. every friday we play ultimate frizbee, football, or softball. see movies at the new theatre, go bowling. what my sweetmates like to do is play tennis from room to room. you should definitely go for a walk or run on our new stintson trail that travels all over Fulton, mo.

    Bang for the buck

    Hands down Westminster College is definitely worth attending even if you just want to go for a year. although I do hope you can stay for all 4 years or more. I am actually considering to stay here for 5 years. tuition here is 28,610 a year plus the campus is pretty spacious and beautiful. You will feel comfortable if you choose to attend westminster and not want to leave. not only that but you learn so much whether it is on or off campus. You will learn time management and become responsible and grow physically, mentally, and emotionally. Words cannot really explain westminster to you, this is something that you really need to experience for yourself.

    What to do for fun

    during summer go to the lake of ozarks to swim, shop, tan, hang out or remodel your fraternity, travel, try different restaurants. during fall join cross country, football, soccer, debate team, multicultural club, play video games, work out. during winter go cardboard box sleding, our campus is on top of a hill. you can go bowling, see a movie, sleep in when u can and eat great food.

    Food and Dining

    lets just say all you can eat style just finish your first dish then go up for seconds or more the food is outstanding and super delicious. you can get a wide selection of foods all kinds of meats, vegetables, fruits, and my favorite desert. you can eat up to 21 meals a week. that is breakfast, lunch and dinner, monday through friday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are really convenient because you have a suite which holds 8 students in 4 rooms. if you need something you suitemates will be there for you. not only that but there is a great chance that you will have class with one of your suite mates. before you even move in with your roomates, you must complete a housing roomate questionnere to see who will make a good match or fit for you to room with.

    Academic Rigor

    what you put in is what you get out. the professors here love to teach and will not stop until you know or understand the new material. so you will not fall behind. the professors here can also help you if you just need someone to talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    maintain a positive attitude. be open. try new things. strive for the best and never settle for less. what ever you do give it your all and do not feel any guilt or regret.

    In three sentences

    westminster college has a wide veriety of options for students to get involved and experience something new. this campus has a lot of history to it. winston churchill gave his famus iron curton speech, not only that but our campus holds a peice if the berlin wall that separated east from west Germany.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as long as you use safety precautions you will be safe! i have not had any troubles or worries.

    Greek Life

    greek life is a big group on campus. we have 6 fraternities and 3 sororities (only have fraternity houses as of 2012).

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of clubs to get involved in on campus. greek life is big here on westminster campus, but there are also other clubs too. these clubs involve service, activity planning, and sports.

    Bang for the buck

    even though it costs a lot, it is a great college for students to get one on one help.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good majority of the time. they have friendly chefs!

    Dorm Life

    dorms are suit style. we have five freshmen dorms which is a great way to bond with your class, the quad is a lot of fun. rooms are normal sized dorm rooms, two showers, two sinks, and two toilets for eight people (same gender).

    Academic Rigor

    westminster has great professors that are willing to help and talk with you. the professors push their students to the next level. westminster has great access to any tutoring or help you may need.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are considering westminster take a tour and an overnight stay with a freshmen; you will know if westminster is right for you!

    In three sentences

    westminster is a small and friendly college. we strive for excellence inside and outside of the classroom. it is a great school to get involved in multiple groups and activities!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are seeking this college, I recommend you study regularly. Go to a lot of events and meet people.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College is a very good liberal arts college. They are a very diverse college, which is a plus. Also, the teachers will do one on one help with the students, which helps them understand better.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since I've been at Westminster I've had the opportunity to notice the security on our campus. They are always there whether there is something going on or just checking to make sure everything is in order. They give rides around campus and make sure all buildings are secure after hours. During the day they patrol campus and attend to various jobs such as parking permits/tickets/speeding.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek myself but from an outsiders view I have a fantastic view of Greek life. Greek life offers service and a unity among students I have never seen anywhere else. Coming together and being a part of something bigger than yourself is what Westminster Greek life is all about. They embody the Westminster mission and values and hold their traditions very high. They also hold themselves and their chapters to a high standard. Westminster also offers Greek Honor Societies for academics. I am a member of Beta Beta Beta, the biological honors society, and am very active in everything it offers. Each Greek group on campus whether academic, social, service, or all of these things, are a great part of college life and will lead to great opportunities later on down the road.

    Clubs and Activities

    I cannot describe in four hours the amount of activities and clubs that are offered at Westminster College. Student Government runs the campus, and takes into consideration the wishes of the student body. Everything from a nice dinner to concerts, and from scavenger hunts to big events like Spring Fling. These clubs and activities promote student involvement and social life on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to have a wide variety in their education, student who are undecided, and people wanting to take part in international studies. The liberal arts education requires that each student, no matter what major, take a variety of courses over various disciplines to see things from other views and open their mind to a new way of thinking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Westminster, we have a tradition held very high. There are a set of columns on the campus from the old Westminster Hall which burned down some years ago. During freshman year new students take part in the columns ceremony. In this ceremony, freshman walk through the columns toward the college to start their new journey as college students. Between freshman year and Senior year students are requested not to walk through the columns again until graduation. At graduation the new graduates walk back through the columns in the opposite direction into the world as college graduates ready to take on the real world with their newly acquired knowledge and specialties.

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster has one of the best academic programs in Missouri. It is rigorous and challenging in every aspect of Student life. Since it is a small liberal arts college it is more expensive with a total (tuition + additional fees) of around 30,000 a year. It pays of however when applying to graduate programs and job placement is exceptional.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Fulton is small but has plenty to offer, however you don't have to leave campus to have fun! Student Government always has something planned for students to take part in every week! Fulton is also surround by Columbia, MO, and the State Capitol. This allows for more dining, shopping, and many other activities such as laser tag, ice skating, hunting fishing, and more!

    Food and Dining

    Westminster food and dining is run by a catering business called Fresh Ideas. They provide a wide range of food, and also have vegetarian, and religious views in mind during every meal. Fresh fruit and vegetables make it my number one choice of campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and exciting every waking moment of your life as a student. Living in the freshman Quad is the best time at college. Living with your classmates makes college life more enjoyable. Single rooms are also available, and upper class men living is superb! Off campus is also available and the town is very accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Westminster are great! The small class size allows for more discussion based classes and gets students involved and active in learning. The biology program at Westminster exceeds expectations and offers a hands on learning experience in all aspects of health, environment, and science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small campus. There is more one on one with professors which allows for a more rounded education. Housing on this campus is excellent and student life is always exciting and there is something to do every day. Go through greek rush if you don't join at least you have made friends for a lifetime!

    In three sentences

    A great college that will provide you with many opportunities to become involved on campus and the surrounding community. A school dedicated to making students continuous lifelong learners with a passion for service and leadership. At Westminster you are not a number but a person that will make a difference in the world around you.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go swimming, play pool, or ping-pong. However, the most fun thing to do on campus is to just hang out with friends and enjoy little free time you'll get between classes.

    Food and Dining

    I think Westminster's cafeteria has some really great food. Not all of the food is great but it all can't be. You will think that you are eating in Hogwarts when you sit down for your first meal. Just go and see what I mean.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman Quadrangle is unlike anything you will experience at any other college. I guarantee it. Because Westminster is a relatively small campus, you will meet literally everyone in your class. The students are a tight-knit group of people that really do like being at Westminster and want to succeed there.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged academically at Westminster. Anyone who says that it is not that hard has not experienced it. Every major offered at Westminster is challenging, but rewarding. You will not regret putting in the hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to socialize with a lot of different people on campus. Westminster's diversity provides great opportunities to experience different cultures. Take advantage of that and learn from it.

    In three sentences

    The professors that I have had are great! They are very supportive but challenging at the same time. I think that the education that I am receiving from Westminster will effectively prepare me for life after college in the real world.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every place has its unsafe moments, but you have to be smart. It is ones responsibilities not to put yourself in the avoidable risky situations. Use the buddy system, campus security is just a phone call away, they can walk you to and from the library at night. The doors have a key card to get in and then your room door has an actual key. Overall, there are always people looking out for you and there is no reason you should feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    This school is a very Greek school. Both men's and women's recruitment are big deals. There is a great deal of philanthropy with the Greek society, but the fraternities and sororities here are not exactly typical. You do not have to wear certain brands or look a certain way. You will notice certain trends, but they are not required. Also, people of different fraternities and different sororities associate with one another, your letters and affiliations do not matter, because the school is still a community regardless.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of clubs and activities here is extensive, and if a club that you want has not been developed, then you can write out a proposal, a plan, and present it, and if it's approved, then you will receive funding for it. Here is a link about that http://www.westminster-mo.edu/studentlife/activities/clubs/Pages/default.aspx The clubs range from Student Government, to International Club, to Young Democrats, or Republicans. There is a Photography Club, a Fine Arts one. The possibilities are endless. You get out, what you put in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student, but specifically those who love a closer community and those who desire to excel in their schooling. If you enjoy rigor and you enjoy an enriching environment, then this is a good place for you to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Columns Ceremony, when you are entering as a freshman, you walk in the Columns towards the school and when you have graduated, as a senior, you walk through them again, but this time the opposite direction, towards the street. It is symbolic, and you are not supposed to walk through the columns at any other time during your enrollment at the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Most the students attending this school have some sort of scholarship, and overall the experience here is phenomenal. I hear seldom hear complaints. The teachers, and the whole environment is positive.

    What to do for fun

    The beauty of a small school is that there is always something going on. There are fitness classes, there are dance classes, swim classes, tons of clubs and organizations. The school has a Greek society, but Greeks and non-Greek affiliates mingle all the time. There is a great trail just behind the school, a recreation center, and plenty of parks and food places nearby.

    Food and Dining

    When I rate this four stars, I am not comparing it to a five star restaurant. The quality of the food is very high. There is a good variety, however, the options for people who have lactose or gluten allergies are few. The food is buffet style, but there is another area to eat that is more like a fast food place. You can do a meal exchange there. In that hall, it is the only one where you can take your food to go. There is a great variety of vegetarian options in both eating places, and you can have soft serve ice cream everyday, but only in the main dining hall!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are set up in a suite arrangement. There are five buildings in which freshman are housed. Each building has two floors. The rooms are divided up in fours. There are four rooms per suite and the suites and then one bathroom. A maid comes in daily and cleans the bathroom. The bathrooms have two showers, two toilers, two sinks, and a larger sink for washing bigger things or cleaning. All the buildings have air conditioning and they are all a fairly good size. There is cable and wifi in each room as well.

    Academic Rigor

    This school does not mess around when it comes to academics, and that is a good thing. There is a great emphasis on leadership and service here, which again is only beneficial when entering the job force. The school makes you take ownership, and studying is to be expected. With the increased freedom and increased studying comes the skill of time management, but all of these things are needed in the real world and thus, the heftier load when it comes to academics is, in all actuality very beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student you need to visit the campus, sit in on a lecture, check out your financial need situation, and put your best effort out there to get scholarships. Take the ACT several times, talk to the staff, and get to know the place where you're thinking about spending the next four years of your life.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a small school, with a smaller campus, then Westminster College is the perfect fit for you. The history in this campus, the diversity of the students, the opportunities in classes are remarkable and rare for an undergraduate school. If you know you major, or perhaps are undecided, this liberal arts private college will satisfy your needs either way.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life is amazing! it so much fun.

    What to do for fun

    workout, hangout with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whenever you need help ask your teaches, they will help you!

    In three sentences

    The teachers wants us all to do good in their classes. They help you in whenever you need it. Amazing school.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Westminster Cab has plenty of activities. They have TGIF's, Coffee Houses, Spring Flings, Comedians, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't exactly bad, but it is repetitive. Things rarely change and when they do, it may not be for the best.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman life is easy. As long as you stay cool with your suite mates, nothing should be a problem. The bathrooms are cleaned daily, and the quad is kept tidy.

    Academic Rigor

    The school challenges you but its tolerable. You may have run in with teachers that may not be you favorite, much like high school, but there are plenty of willing and friendly faces to help your every concern.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the FAFSA early. They give you $1000 automatically to do so. When collecting gift cards, ask for Walmart because you will spend plenty of money there.

    In three sentences

    Westminster College is a campus that is warm and welcoming. Freshman live together and the quad is an amazing meeting place. Westminster has many events sponsored by CAB to keep you entertained.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Westminster has a very unique feature about it. We have part of the Berlin Wall, the Church of St. Mary the Virgin, Aldermanbury, and Winston Churchill gave the Iron Curtain speech in the gymnasium, so we also have the National Churchill Museum.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of free activities for students on campus. I remember before I was a student, there was a Karmin concert held complete free of charge. There is always something going on there. If there isn't, it's a quick drive to the bowling alley or movie theater and there are two larger cities about twenty minutes away and convenient to get to.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE the dining hall. The food is great and the staff is wonderful. There are many options including four or five different entrees, a salad bar, lots of sides, and desserts.

    Dorm Life

    While I give this a five, I get to live off campus because I live within the same county as the school, in fact, I live closer to part of campus than people in the dorms will. I've seen the dorms though, and I am very impressed. While a little small for my liking, the dorms are nice and make for a comfortable living situation.

    Academic Rigor

    You get a well rounded education here. There is the tier set up, where you have to take specific classes in order to graduate, and they are not all major based. While I haven't attended yet, I've heard that the courses are tough but it is not impossible to pass as long as you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so that you can go to Scholarship Day. This will show dedication towards wanting to go to college, but the professors will get to know you better if you come early. Also, make sure you go to SOAR days. You will get to choose your classes and meet your mentors and start building friendships.

    In three sentences

    Westminster is a small, Liberal Arts College that makes me feel safe and welcome. The faculty and staff are always there to help and want to get to know students personally. The campus is clean and everyone is friendly.

  • 07/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused, quiet, prioritized, and science/health field careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to walk through the columns when your first day comes and then when you gradute you wlak back through the columns but throughout the schoolyear you are not to walk through the columns or you will not graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Westminster gave me so much finanacial aid that I wanted to hug the faculty myself when I saw my FAFSA results. As long as you're GPA is high and your ACT/SAT correlates with it you should get great finanacial aid.

    What to do for fun

    I will update once I get there but I would say every club on campus and the Greek Life.

    Food and Dining

    OMG!!!. After orientation they gave us a free meal pass and I was eating everything from breakfast food to ice cream to piza to chicken. I hope I don't gain that freshman fifteen.

    Dorm Life

    I have already seen the dorms before I received my assigned dorm but I love them. They have a laundromat right next to the dorms and the rooms are really nice. I met my roommate and I think they did a relly great job with the compatability thing.

    Academic Rigor

    I have scheduled my classes and so far I plan to take 16 credit hours. My advisor did tlet me know that if I feel that that the work load is too heavy to let him know immediately so that I can be more comfortable with my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about having fun at a party or whether you'll be bored, it's about focusing on the main prize and earning that degree. If you're concernced about being away from friends, it's not that bad, you'll be thirty minutes from Mizzou and close to many other schools such as Truman State. If you are intersted in Art, Science or subjects related to those then I highly recommend Westminster (Fulton location specifically).

    In three sentences

    I love Westminster becasue I feel that it will academically prepare me for graduate school and in my future career. The students are all friendly and diverse; for example, I was on Instagram and one of the physchology seniors saw one of my posts and she followed me and offered to help me when I get to campus. The St. Louis recruiter, Susuie Stuerman, is such an amazing person, even though I work a full-time job she still follows up with me about things consistently.