Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Westmont College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for kids who don't want a hectic college life, who like a small sized student body and who are ready to work hard, academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a small, community environment

  • 02/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian looking for community People excited about off-campus programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to engage with the faculty. Know that even though this is a Christian school there are people who are rebelling against their parents conservative values. There are a range of values, so be ready for that. Take advantage of off-campus opportunities! Make friends who have cars.

    Bang for the buck

    Westmont is very expensive. There are many things that seem too expensive, especially the meal plan and room and board. The food is pretty good for dorm food and the dorms are really nice.

    Am enjoying being here

    Westmont's is a very small community, and a lot of people may not enjoy that. The campus is pretty isolated in the hills of Montecito, and, though is it a beautiful area, it can sometimes feel restricting, especially without a car. There are a lot of great people here, though, and Westmont's community can be a lot of fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Westmont has a really talented, engaging body of faculty members. They are willing to engage with students and strike a really good balance between sharing their expertise and letting students expand and share their ideas. Of course, a lot of this depends on you, the course, and the professor, but in general I have always been impressed with my faculty's credentials and with their dedication to discussion-based learning and pursuing questions.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we use our id cards to get into our dorms, which can be a bit frustrating if you lose yours but that makes you remember to keep your id (and keys) on you. even though it's an open campus, the paths are lighted and sound echoes on the hill/mountain, so if anything threatening happens a scream can alert people nearby. but that's never happened :)

    Greek Life

    what greek life? my ra is greek orthodox, does that count?

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a harry potter club (dumbledore's army), a zumba club, black student union, volunteer work opportunities, et cetera. a club fair is held each fall on the main lawn to inform students of the many options.

    Great for these types of students

    students who: love getting to know their professors and classmates; are [sometimes-sheltered] christians; enjoy a challenge; enjoy a residential school (rather than commuter); and those of you who want to have an equal parts exciting, stressful, and worthwhile experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    right next to our track field we have our keck telescope, which is one of the most powerful telescopes on the west coast. each year there is a school-wide performance at the santa barbara bowl, called spring sing. it's a showcase of all the students' talents put together and pitted against one another, split up by dorm and gender.

    What to do for fun

    go to the beach, shop on state street, take a hike on or off-campus, exercise in the fitness center, play ultimate frisbee, go to a meal with friends, sunbathe (even in february), visit the mission, walk on the pier, ride the carousel in town, skype your next-door neighbors, host/attend impromptu dances on a friday night, play a sport, take lessons for voice or an instrument, attend a free concert at the granada courtesy of westmont in the arts (wita), attend various lectures happening every week on campus... the list goes on. never a dull moment!

    Food and Dining

    we seem to get very high-quality food whenever visitors or prospective students come, but other than that it's hit-or-miss. there are always choices other than hot meals, such as a salad or sandwich bar, as well as cereal, waffle makers, fresh fruit, and desserts. a wide variety meets most everyone's needs.

    Dorm Life

    i would give five stars if my dorm actually adhered to the quiet hours rule, starting at 11 pm every night. instead, some people enjoy hailing their friends down the hall with a loud shout at midnight or later. but the living experience with the ras is quite enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    the ge classes i've taken so far are surprisingly high reading- and work-intensive, but it ensures that if i do my work as i should, i thoroughly know the material in time for any tests or exams. my major-specific classes (music) are very comprehensive and gradual, but continually challenging and entertaining. the professors are top-notch and well-qualified.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be meek or shy when you visit! we love having visitors :) also, if it weren't for generous donors, tuition would cost at least $20,000 more than it does already. so you're getting a fantastic deal for the price.

    In three sentences

    westmont is a tight-knit community. it's challenging, stretching, thought-provoking. this college is my second home.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    This is the kind of school that can only be dreamed of. From the great academics, to the incredible campus any student with a passion for Christ and a will to experience the best four years of their life will fall head over heels in love.

  • 08/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great Scholarships!

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the location, I just wish they had a football team.

    Will learn a lot

    I love that it has a great psychology program, but I was disappointed to find that they didn't have any grad programs.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, sometimes too safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and off campus programs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    motivated, hardworking, christian, determined

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    christmas at westmont is magical. the pickle tree lighting is a big tradition. spring sing is also a tradition where the dorms compete against each other in a musical.

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive but they give a lot of scholarships and aide.

    What to do for fun

    because westmont is in santa barbara there is always something fun to do. go to the beach, hike, ride bikes, go to the zoo, shop on state street, surf, kayak...you name it you can do it.

    Food and Dining

    the dining commons is not amazing. it is cafeteria food, but there are days when they have good food. the study is open in the evenings and the food there is always great!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice but they're not hotel rooms. you have to dress them up and make them you. it is your place, so make it a comfortable place to study or hang out. the ras are always planning fun events and study breaks for students. this is a great way to meet new people and take a break if you've been studying for a long time.

    Academic Rigor

    westmont academics are challenging, but you get a wonderful education that allows you to think and live critically.

    Tips for prospective students

    westmont is small space of learning and community. if you are looking for personal unique relationships with people who want to motivate and push you, westmont is a great place.

    In three sentences

    westmont is a strong community of people. the college allows you to study and share your faith with people who want to focus on interests just like you. the personal relationships you create with faculty and sudents are unique and motivate you to strive and become stronger in your faith.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on campus. I am comfortable with the student body and also the surrounding community.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life offered at Westmont, which I do not believe is a negative aspect. In this manner it allows for one to associate with their dorm in that respect.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a multitude of clubs and activities offered. Someone can join one of they can join five! They cover a variety of interests and topics so as to offer everyone a chance to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    The student body exemplifies a wide variety of personalities from introverted to extroverted. One can usually find a place where they feel comfortable or those they feel comfortable around.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience and education one receives is well worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is everything from the ocean to the mountains. One can go to the beach or even go for a hike up in the mountains. Also, there is a downtown area to go shopping, eat, or even go to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons is conducive to eating with a few people or to even sit by yourself to get some studying done. The variety of food offered is nice and one can usually find something that they like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a wonderful opportunity for community. Residence Life office does a great job when it comes to matching roommates for first years. There is so much potential for meeting genuine, friendly people, and getting involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all challenging as well as the professors. They expect a lot from you but it is nothing above and beyond what you can do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to get involved. You never know if you do not like something until you try it. There is a wide variety of things to get involved in and it is the best way to meet new people and make the most of your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Westmont is the all inclusive package. It offers an amazing education, helpful professors, and an inviting community and student body. Not to mention who could beat the location of Santa Barbara.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Christians Overachievers Musical

    Dorm Life

    No major parties. Very welcoming and dorm neighbors are really friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is an Honors Level class and there are research opportunities available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus to get a sense of the people and atmosphere when school is in session.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming Christian community and helpful staff. The classes are rigorous but very rewarding. The students there are very nice and I cannot wait to start going here.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Westmont College offered me a premier education and lasting friendships and relationships. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a good liberal arts education and like good weather!

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Westmont is in a hard to reach area of Santa Barbara and has a 24 hour campus security service

    Greek Life

    Non-Existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Westmont has various clubs, sports, mission trips and organizations that make it almost impossible for students not to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students and people will be able to find a home at Westmont

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a small, private, Christian liberal arts college, that does come with a high price tag. However, between the people, the education, the overall experience and the personal and spiritual transformation that occurs, Westmont is easily worth the money over any public or private college

    What to do for fun

    Westmont combines usually recreation and relaxation with a physically active experience. There are traditional movie, video game and board game nights of course; but there are also several outdoor activities such as hiking the many mountains, going to the beach, camping, the many dorm events that take place throughout the year, there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Westmont has improved over the last 5 years and our Dining Commons were remodeled last year, however the quality and availability of food does need work but it is better than the majority of colleges.

    Dorm Life

    The students at Westmont are the friendliest, easy going, dependable people out there. Students truly do make an effort to keep their rooms and the dorm clean, respect their roommates, care about the people in their suites and sections and truly make the college feel like home

    Academic Rigor

    Westmont is academically rigorous and will make students work. Figure for every hour in class there will be between 2 and 3 hours of homework outside of class and each class will make you think about any topic on a deeper level than imagined possible

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Come into Westmont with an open mind 2. Except the spiritual and personal challenges 3. Discuss everything with your peers 4. Be open to new experiences 5. Take advantage of all four years

    In three sentences

    Westmont is an all around outstanding Christian Liberal Arts school. It's commitments to personal relationships, spiritual development and academic excellence show how Westmont aims to not only mold perfect students but also members of society that will make change. Westmont truly does fulfill its mission as a Christian Liberal Arts school by creating truly exceptional, well rounded students

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only time I feel unsafe is when I am walking back to my dorm at night alone (because there are so few lights and it is dark up in the wooded campus of Westmont), so always be sure to have a buddy. It sounds ridiculous, but you'll feel safer. There are not many thefts on campus, so I would say cpus safety is pretty top notch.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities at Westmont. Also, there is no smoking or drinking on campus; it is a dry campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs you can get involved in, but if it is your first year, try to stay focused on your academics and get stable in that area before you start spreading yourself too thin!

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, driven, dedicated students would do well at Westmont.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a DTR pond that has lights hanging around it that light up at night and it's beautiful. The observatory is a great place to visit at night because you can see so many stars (the city of Montecito has a minimal street lights policy because they are concerned with light pollution, so the stars are very visible at night since it is so dark). Every year at Christmas time, the school lights up a huge pine tree in the center of the grassy area in front of the main student center with Christmas lights. There is a ceremony that ocxurs In honor of this pine tree lighting called The Pickle Tree Lighting Ceremony. It is a very fun experience.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it is very pricey. Be sure to accumulate as many scholarships as you can because you do jot want to be stuck paying thousands of dollars in loans after you graduate. The college Is an excellent place of learning, but I do not think I would have gone had it not been for the scholarships because the school is way too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Fun things to do on campus include: going over your friend's dorm room and hanging out/watching a movie (P.S. TVs are a good thing to bring to college along with a wii if you have netflix!), going to the lounge and playing foozball, ping pong, or pool, go on a hike around the campus (there are trails), attend the plays, go to the observatory, run on the track, work out at the gym, play the piano in the lounge, or even going for a swim during open swim. Fun things to do off campus are: take the free-of-charge Westmont shuttle to the beach, take the shuttle to State Street which is in downtown Santa Barbara, go to the mall on State Street, see a movie at any of the many theatres off of State St., gosgo sailing or paddle boarding, go surfing in Ventura (it's a good idea to make friends with people who have cars...but be sure to pitch in for gas!), eat on State Street (there are pots of restaurants to choose from), people watch while you're downtown (since SB gets so many visitors from around the world, you will most likely hear people speaking a different language other than English about 80% of the time).

    Food and Dining

    No food will compare to your mom's or grandma's, so don't expect gourmet meals. The food is either a hit or miss. On most days, the food is great, but there are some days when they have themed food (ie: Indian food, Mexican food, Seafood, etc.) and the menu starts looking a little funky. However, when that happens, I usually just go for the pizza bar or to the sandwich/salad bar. They also have cereal and a station to make your own waffles, so those are life-savers too. They have a special refrigerator for those that are glutten-free and dairy-free, so fear not! My favorite part about the dining is how there are custom made burritos being made right before you every morning until 10:30. Those burritos are marvelous.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are old, but for the most part, they are cozy and have all the necessities for living away from home. Since Westmont is up in the hills and in a forest-like/wooded area, they take extra precautionary steps to ensure that wildfires are not started. The upper-classmen have the choice to live off campus in Westmont-owned apartments that are located down the hill and closer to the beach.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses go in depth, so be prepared to learn much more than you ever wanted to learn about any one subject. Each course presents its own challenges and the professors will make sure they do their part in making you go the extra mile to advance your knowledge and learning capabilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an incoming student from high school, be prepared for a completely different environment and expectation level. Even if you took all the AP classes your high school offered (like I did), you will find the classes difficult as the depth in which you must understand each class subject is deep. Begin preparing yourself for a wonderful, friendly environment, but also keep in mind that your first priority must be to do well in your classes - do not let that priority slip!

    In three sentences

    Westmont is a Christian liberal arts school situated up in the hills of Montecito, CA. It is a small campus with about 1200 students and is perfect for those searching for a college where getting one-on-one time with professors is actually possible. Because it is a liberal arts college, it is easier to major in several diverse subjects; this is good for those who have a diverse range of interests.

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I visited I was shocked by how safe I felt. It's also a dry campus which is unusual.

    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I loved that they have mandatory Chapel services a few times a week. When I visited everyone there was so respectful and quiet, so even if they weren't into it per say, those who were could do so without distractions. Also, the class I sat in on was opened with the professor praying for his students to do well on their exams and for guidance for the visitors in their college search :)

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but from what I understand they are very generous with gift aid and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    I mean it's near the beach!!!! C'mon!

    Food and Dining

    I can only speak from experience, but the meals when I visited looked delicious. But other reviews have said that is pretty typical when there are visitors on campus, so I guess take that with a grain of salt.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to go to the zoo, the Santa Barbara mission, sit on the beach, walk around downtown, or enjoy a frozen yogurt at Yogurtland.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would bring lots of warm clothing because it gets cold at night. Make sure you study hard the first semester; many freshmen lag off first semester and their grades are horrible.

    In three sentences

    I love my school. It think it is a great school for any student of any age to attend.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feels pretty safe, if ever needed security guards are a moment's notice away.

    Greek Life

    None, Westmont doesn't have any greek life whatsoeer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list! There's a club/group fair that turns into a whole community events/bbq at the beginning of each semester, so you can attend that to get a better idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated Hard working Self-starting Christian/still searc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Sing - an annual musical-like production.

    Bang for the buck

    You come out with a great education that prepares you with well-rounded continued learning abilities, and with great connections for jobs! However, that is if you survive past the $55,000 or so price tag!

    What to do for fun

    Anything. The beach, State Street, hiking, swimming, kayaking, horseback riding, shopping, exploring Santa Barbara!

    Food and Dining

    I think they should have put the $$ from the recent Dining Commons renovation towaaards the food budget instead. Some new options now availlable, but less than before.

    Dorm Life

    Not too bad, not the best. The dorms aren't anything new or fancy (with the exception of upperclassmen housing in Van Kampen hall), but they're more than live-able. RA's are there for you and helpful without being too overbearing or in your face about connecting right away.

    Academic Rigor

    Like anything, there's an easier way to do things at westmont to get by, but at the sacrifice of doing what you primarily came to do - to learn and get the most out of four years of really good educational potential. There's the flipside, though, too - you can make things way too hard for yourself! There's a tendency for competition at Westmont, though I think much of it is internally driven from within each student themselves. We're generally not too good about accepting the fact that *occasionally* we have free time. We almost feel guilty for it, and race out to run for president of the next student club election to fill the gap.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Preview Days and Admitted Student days - I showed up to my first day of Freshman year a little blind after blowing off those events! Don't bring a car until you're a Junior - it'll force you to take the shuttle (which, by the way is super convenient and a way to meet new people!) and to make friends with people who have cars. In short, you'll get out more if you don't have your own car! Backwards sounding, I know! You don't have to be best friends for life with your Freshman roommate like it seems everyone will be doing the first two weeks. Be careful with what you share and who you want to know it - it's a small campus, and everyone seems to have a tendency to spill their guts to all the still-strangers around them the second their parents pull out of the parking lot after orientation. Just think about whether you really want someone you've only known for 7 minutes to know your whole life story�and think about the fact that you probably will be living at least on the same campus as them for the next 4 years!

    In three sentences

    Great school academically. Highly emphasized community, but one which you need to seek out yourself in certain ways. Great connections through fellow students, profs, and other faculty members - because they genuinely take an interest in those students who show the desire to connect and to learn more.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to read and draw. Art is one of my biggest hobbies. I also like to hang out with friends and get to know new people.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is great too. There are many varieties of food and drink. The dining commons are newly remolded.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. There are activities going on constantly with students residents halls. Students can get involved and get to know eachother.

    Academic Rigor

    Westmont College is accademically rigorous.This way students challenge them self as well as learn as much as they can within the semester. Ultimately, students leave Westmont College more knowledgable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider what your major is and get into clubs and study groups regarding your major. Get involved and stay focused at the same time. Even out fun activities with school work in order to study efficiently when it is time to study.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very welcoming. Westmont College incorporates challenging classes as well as a spiritual opportunities. The professors seem to be very knowledgable.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been any issues since I've been here.

    Greek Life

    No experience

    Clubs and Activities

    My choir experience has been great

    Great for these types of students

    -Outgoing -Social -Intelligent -Hard working -Etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DTR: Define the Relationship Pond. A duck pond where Westmont couples go. Westmont hookup: a deep philosophical discussion you have with someone. Westmont Wow: An upperclassmen that is the most attractive person on campus according to a freshman (Julie is my Westmont Wow). Among many others.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience I am having is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    The beach, anything in Santa Barbara downtown and around, biking, hiking, etc.

    Food and Dining

    It is hit and miss. There is a burger/chicken sandwich grill in case there isn't anything else good one night/

    Dorm Life

    The community is fantastic. People are very friendly and respectful.

    Academic Rigor

    Went from needing to study very little in High school to succeed to an extremely high level of studying. Brace yourself. Professors are hard but always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't have expectations about how things should be. Accept them the way they are. 2. Work hard. 3. Play hard.

    In three sentences

    Westmont is a great place of opportunity, community, and faith. Inside and outside of class you will learn things crucial to your later life. The faculty is fantastic and really care about your success.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of activities

    Great for these types of students

    Christians students wanting to build a closer relationship to God

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Butterfly beach

    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful view everywhere

    What to do for fun

    Take the shuttle down to the beach

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Dorm Life

    Split into 2 sections

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    It's great

    In three sentences

    Amazing. Cool. Chill vibe