Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Westmoreland County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe this school is great for people who don't quite know what they want yet or who have active lives outside of the academic world. Westmoreland County Community College is great for anyone who is willing to work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let people put you down because you decide to attend a community college. People often have the wrong impression, assuming students who attend community colleges aren't as intelligent as those who attend four-year universities - but that definitely isn't the case! People choose community college for many reasons.

    Bang for the buck

    Choosing to switch to WCCC gave my wallet a breather. I first attended a four-year university that was costing me 25K a year! I later decided WCCC suited my lifestyle better - and my bank account was relieved!

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely enjoy being a student at WCCC. Though I typically take classes online, when I do visit the Youngwood Campus there is a comfortable atmosphere. The campus is well laid out, but if you're ever unsure, most people are willing to point you in the right direction.

    Am learning a lot

    College isn't just about learning about your chosen major: it's also learning about yourself. By switching to WCCC I was able to expand my life in many other aspects. Thanks to their online classes, I'm able to maintain a full-time occupation, a part-time job and a competitive hobby that I really enjoy.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is relatively small, and it is in a small town that is know for its safety. there is also campus security that is there in any case that a student might not feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    for a community college there are some clubs and activities, but most students don't really choose to join in the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    community college is a great place to start if you are not really sure what you want to be when you grow up, or if you don't have the financial means to go to a big time college. it is a great place to get a feel for what college life is actually like.

    Bang for the buck

    a lot of people say that you get what you pay for, but when it comes to this college you get a lot more out of the classes than you would think.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of different student activities. there are movie showings, guest musicians and comedians, as well as some short trips.

    Food and Dining

    there is one cafe in the school which serves good food, and there are snack machines in every building.

    Academic Rigor

    class sizes are small, and the professors set up a fast paced class.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions. work hard in your classes, and be on time to all classes. don't skip or miss any classes if you can help it. take good notes in class, and find someone in your classes to help you study for upcoming tests.

    In three sentences

    it is a small campus that is easy to get around. the class sizes are relatively small. most classes are great especially for the price.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive at $98 per credit for Westmoreland county residents!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life to speak of.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are concerned with your ultimate understanding of the cirriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early because seats go quickly!

    In three sentences

    WCCC is extremely accomodating and inexpensive for the education that you receive. Their nursing program is very highly sought after and turns out some of the most educated and caring nurses!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. They are more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    A very helpful atmosphere that will work with you on achieving your best.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have security on site and close by

    What to do for fun

    Has malls nearby

    Food and Dining

    Great restaurants and fast food places

    Dorm Life

    no dorms but that is why so affordable

    Academic Rigor

    Can learn just about anything in a smaller setting

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is affordable

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful setting. Close to the food places. Very affordable for students.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel very safe and secure

    Greek Life

    Honor society.

    Great for these types of students

    Working commuter students

    Bang for the buck

    Best value all around.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and school sponsored activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best quality or value. Leaves a lot to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    School is what you make it. If it interests you, you will study hard and do well!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend this school for a great all around learning experience. I am a graduate of a major four year university, and value the education I have received up to this point as a much more valuable learning experience. The smaller class sizes and more personalized attention from professors is unparalleled.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are definitely quick to plow the sidewalks in the winter. Also, there are emergency poles in the parking lots to call campus security if needed.

    Greek Life

    National honor society, and national leadership society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs! But they all seem to meet at the same time on Wednesdays. Maybe we can help change that.

    Great for these types of students

    BUSY workaholics who want to start going back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student lounges are comfortable and usually have accessible outlets for computers. They are still working on the Wi-Fi, but I never had trouble with it in my laptop, just my phone.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending here is totally worth it! You can be as involved as you want, or you can just show up for the classes. The classes are flexibly scheduled ans there are many campuses to take classes at. You can take classes at any campus you preferred or you can take them all at Youngwood.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs. The student activities board plans lots of trips and has different movie nights, small concerts, and the culinary department is always doing special dinners open to anyone who signs up ahead of time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but expensive. But there are vending machines and also a microwave, so you can bring your own food if you prefer.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem to be a higher level of quality than I was expecting from a community college. I feel I am being well prepared to move on to a 4-year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read professor reviews on ratemyprofessor.com before registering for classes. The office people are very nice and will help you with anything. DON'T unwrap your textbooks till after the first 1 or 2 classes with a professor as you may be able to return the book if he doesn't use it. Ask if all the test info will come from the power points and notes. Also, the professors are usually very willing to help you if you are having trouble with the material, just speak up.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school for being a community college! Many of the professors have been here for many, many years and clearly show their zeal for their field of study. Other professors currently or previously have taught at larger, more prestigious schools.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see security around all the time! It makes me feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities one can get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Any age, any ethnicity!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    WCCC is very affordable to those wanting to get a good education for a good price! They offer financial aid too for those needing assistance.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different activities one can get involved in on campus, such as: sports, chorus, student council, and many, many more.

    Food and Dining

    I've actually never ate at the cafeteria but they do have one on campus and those I've talked to say it's good.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus since it is a community college. There are places to rent around the area though. I actually live an hour and a half away from campus and commute every day. The commute actually isn't that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are well-educated and teach in a variety of styles. You can obtain a degree in two to three years.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not like high school. You don't have someone looking over your shoulder to make sure you are doing what you are suppose to be doing. My advise is to study every chance you get and take it seriously.

    In three sentences

    Westmoreland County Community College is a great college for students coming right out of high school or for those wanting to take a new direction in their lives. The tuition is affordable, the professors are wonderful, and there are so many different degrees one can look into obtaining. I would recommend this college to anyone!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't had any myself but heard its great!

    Dorm Life

    there isn't dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put work until the last minute. Most likely you wont finish it if it has a timed deadline

    In three sentences

    WCCC is a great college to start and finish a degree. I've learned a lot so far and I am only going into my second semester. My teachers are great!

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems very safe. Any unusual activity is investigated by our security.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't very present here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student organizations to join. Sport teams are available as well. There is always something going on sponsored by the clubs and college. Entertaining performers and speakers are always invited to the college.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking to save 2 out of 4 years of college education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Throughout each semester, there is always some activity going on sponsored by club organizations or the college itself. There's this student lounge in the South entrance that is really quiet and relaxing with a great view outside. Very few students know about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth taking classes here especially for general education classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous student organizations and athletic teams that students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The current cafeteria food can be overpriced for some foods. Vending machines are found throughout the school if you need to grab something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The community college don't have dorms, but they have relaxing seating areas throughout the campus for you to hang out or study.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and professor, there's a huge range of strictness. Check with students who took the classes/professors before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check with professors before buying textbooks. Don't overload yourself with online classes because they're not for everyone. If you're not a morning person, definitely don't sign up for an 8am class.

    In three sentences

    Great and affordable education to start your Bachelor's degree. I've met some caring professors who care about each student's success. Small class sizes help you achieve your goal better!

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They definitely seemed like they try to keep their students safe. Security drives through the lots on campus and keeps an eye on things. They even email or text you if you left your car lights on or something similar, which shows me they're always on the lookout.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    At only $90 a credit, it's an incredible bargain. For being a full-time student, you only have to pay a flat-rate of $1350 for all your classes for a semester. I was able to work and go to college at the same time and I never had any issues with financial stability.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes the college sets up student nights where they invite all the students to a Casino Night or other fun events. There wasn't much though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's really not difficult to pass the classes at WCCC. Everyone at other schools complained that they were swamped with projects and finals week was a mess. At WCCC, it's much easier to handle the work load. I rarely had much homework to do, and the tests were pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really focus on learning in the classes, as well as learning even more on your own. Personally, I don't feel like I learned enough to take on the next level courses confidently at another school without tutoring.

    In three sentences

    It's a great value for college and it's extremely easy to transfer out of. Mostly everyone on staff tries to help the students. But I don't feel like I got a proper education for the classes I did take.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried any and not really sure if they have a cafeteria. This is my first semester here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here :)

    Academic Rigor

    The summer classes are the regular curriculum but you have a shorter time to do it. But I'm happy with the amount I am learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to study and work hard. It's not easy, but it's worth the extra effort. Make sure you are at every class so you don't miss anything.

    In three sentences

    I am currently taking my pre req classes and other basic classes I need to enroll for their dental hygiene program. I am very happy so far with this school, and my teachers are great.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    New Ken Campus just has vending machine

    Academic Rigor

    Easy and hard at the same time, if you are in nursing or have to take A&P 1 it is a hard class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always double and triple check the answers the the finical aid office gives you. One person will tell you everything is OK and the other will tell you that your aid was denied. Most of my instructors are great, a few I had issue with but the support staff addressed quickly. It is great 2 or 4 year community college, but there office staff especially finical aid and the book store do not know what they are doing.

    In three sentences

    Great for the price. Wonderful instructors and class sizes. Awful office staff and policies.

  • 06/02/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, students on a budget, students unsure of what to pursue

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck and my credits had no issues transferring to a private out of state school.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is comparable to an elementary school cafeteria but I saw them advertise a new dining hall for the fall so I know they're fixing it.

    Dorm Life

    Hardly any social life at WCCC though they try to promote clubs and sports teams

    Academic Rigor

    Always depends on which classes you take, I've taken a few challenging classes that I didn't think I could get through and I've taken classes that felt like high school blow off classes. Most of my classes have had a lot of work outside the classroom and you can be successful as long as you put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great down to earth teachers and a good starting point for students looking for an affordable education. I am glad I went there for two years and currently have no debt though I am moving out of state and will start to incur debt halfway through my Bachelor's degree.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who also teach at many four year institutions in the area. Easy to talk to faculty for whatever the student need is. WCCC is a commuter school so it can be difficult to establish friends because most everyone files in and out of the parking lot when their classes are over. My credits transferred to a private out-of-state university successfully!