Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wharton County Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The good thing about attending Wharton County Junior College is that no matter if your nervous about certain classes there are many people feeling the same way. People attending WCJC are so nice and friendly that anyone can make friends so that classes and the year will go by super fast. The professors that I have had so far have been extremely helpful with teaching their material. I would recommend anyone to attend Wharton County Junior College it truly is a great college to start out with. I know that I love attending WCJC!

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Wharton County Junior College for my first college is not too expensive. I think that attending WCJC for someones first year of college is good for who ever is paying for your college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment in Wharton County Junior College is good. I would say that every teacher or anyone that I saw walking down the hall ways were all very nice. I wouldn't have anything bad to say about attending Wharton. I didn't live in Wharton but just taking the classes were OK. The college is quite small so no one can really get lost there that is the best part!

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently attending Wharton County Junior College and I learned so much from my professors. All of my professors were willing to help me understand the material no matter if they had to repeat it until I understood it. The professors were all really great, I can say that I learned and still remember everything.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    wonderful for nurses.

    Bang for the buck

    a good price for a community college.

    Food and Dining

    an in-store place in the school provides easy snacks between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    reasonable work load and a wonderful tutoring program.

    Tips for prospective students

    the workload is a bit more than high school, but not as overwhelming as other places, so be prepared. also, help is always available for those who ask.

    In three sentences

    this junior college is a wonderful experience for students who are just coming from high school or people who are wishing to continue there education. the environment gives you a feel of being in a main college campus classroom, but the ability to talk to the teacher one on one if you are struggling. they also offer wonderful services to help tutor students who are struggling with several classes free of cost, providing an excellent service of help if a student needs it.

  • 08/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to go if you want to get classes done (and cheap) before going to a 4 year university. Talk to the other students about which professors you should take classes from; students are very willing to give advice and it helps!

    Bang for the buck

    This is so much cheaper than a university and it's a good school!

    Am enjoying being here

    I go to the WCJC extension at the technical center. Both the students, the staff, and the professors are very nice. Everyone is extremely helpful. It's a good environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Even though it's a community college, I have learned a lot because the class room size is small and the professors (that I've had and many of the ones I've heard about) really care about teaching you.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for EVERYONE.

    Tips for prospective students

    WCJC is a good start for college and with the friendly environment, there should be no worries about being able to fit in.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wharton isn't as expensive universities, it is pricey for a junior college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone--including staff and students are pretty friendly which makes the environment more relaxed and easier to fit in.

    Am learning a lot

    Every instructor I had definitely knows the material they are teaching very well. I've learned quite a lot in various subjects and my notebooks are usually filled up by the end of the semester. Most of the instructors are very friendly and are more than willing to help if you are confused or need a better understanding of the material.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The meal plan takes the pressure off having to forage for food, giving students more time to study. The nutrition is also well balance in the daily menu to emphasis students' health.

    Dorm Life

    I am living in an apartment near by the college but it feel the same way as I live in college dorm as it is near like dorm. Students living on campus perform better academically than those who live off campus. Perhaps it�¢�?�?s because students living in dorms are closer to the things they need, like the library and the computer labs. Girls and guys sharing walls in the dorm but not rooms. Study partners floating around the hallways or energetically highlighting their textbooks in the study lounge that encourage other students to study.

    Academic Rigor

    A rigorous academic curriculum is indispensable for all students. Students who take high-level courses in high school are more likely to enroll in and complete a bachelor's degree program. Teachers expose students to more in-depth content in key subject areas by including multiple examples to reinforce major concepts and replacing superficial coverage of multiple topical areas with in-depth coverage of fewer topics. This way students have critical thinking of that topic and understand what is the key for that topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think the students do not have to satisfy to just get in the program, but instead they have to fill that now they are standing on a battle field. Students should catch each word that comes out from your instructors mouth. Prospective students should have their own calender that shows that all tests dates and their normal routine work like doctors appointments, family events, dates for conferences etc. After the end of the day at school students should review that topics those discuss in the class. They should make a study group so if one student miss something then other student may have that.

    In three sentences

    Wharton County Junior College is the college that I want to attend for my Nursing. At the first day of the class I saw that I really choose the right college for Nursing. I feel that all instructors of the college are working very hard for the success of their students.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in the surrounding areas like Bay City and don't want to move out of town, it isn't too far of a drive.

    What to do for fun

    Wharton has a pretty cool downtown square lots of antique shops and a nice little coffee shop. There is also a museum of history in Wharton on the way to Houston, there is a lot of history there and it's neat to see the history of a small Texas town.

    Food and Dining

    Eat on your meal plan, it is THE BEST way to save money! Eating out is expensive and if you cook in your room you have dishes to do! The on campus food is the easiest option and the cheapest.

    Dorm Life

    Try to see the good in the people you are living with, when your roommates use your plates or finish the last of your milk, keep your cool; there is nothing worse than fighting with someone who has access to all of your stuff! If you have things you don't want to be community keep them in your room until you have been able to speak with your roommates about what things everyone can use and what things each of you wants to keep as your own.

    Academic Rigor

    Wharton definitely challenges you to know your material, being a junior college doesn't mean it's easy. You will learn a lot of information in your classes and can proudly say that you went to W.C.J.C. and have a high quality education backing you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up your professors, ratemyprofessor.com is a great tool that you should utilize with every class. Former students go online and tell what they liked about the class and the professor that taught it, it is probably the most helpful thing when choosing which class you want to take.

    In three sentences

    Their financial aid office, registrar, and advising offices are filled with such dedicated people who truly want to help the students with whatever problems they have. When registering for classes you will find that there is an abundance of choices in class days and times, it is very easy to schedule your classes in a way that works for you. The campus is smoke free with designated areas for people to smoke, as a non smoker it is so nice to be able to know I can walk through campus with clean air.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any type of student

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So many clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. Dorm life is in Wharton, TX.

    Academic Rigor

    Study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time.

    In three sentences

    Wharton county Junior College has a great faculty. The school is also very well kept. I enjoy attending this college.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no police.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like a high school type enviroment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none, it's a junior college.

    Bang for the buck

    15 hours here is extremely cheap for any school.

    What to do for fun

    really, there isn't much to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the ratings on ratemyprofessors before taking any teacher.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are decent and genuinely seem to care about the students. the students here are just like high school students with multiple cliques. other than that, the school is pretty cool.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    they have a couple but not a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not expensive for the most part, Financial aid can take care for it, for the most part.

    What to do for fun

    There is clubs and and activities to do while you're in WCJC like a political science club and so on.

    In three sentences

    I've completed my first semester in WCJC the Sugar Land campus and it wasn't too bad. you're free to make your own choices and it's very liberal. It's okay, I didn't mind it.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is an amazing college for freshmen because it is not a big change from high school but it also teaches you about college life and being independent.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You may go anywhere to the surroundings area to get a bite to eat or hang out. There is a lobby where you could relax and have fun with your friends or catch up on work. The food is great and you have many choices to pick from and of course there is a vending machine if you feel like the food isn't working for you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great but i personally would rather and drive to and from school since I have two jobs. But it's very quick to make friends and the environment is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes are great and so are the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have your schedule ready for when school comes up and when it comes to buying books it is better to save money and see what you could find on the Internet.

    In three sentences

    I get great advices from the professors and knowing that there is a small class you have every opportunity to talk face to face about any problems you would be having with homework. The campus is great if you want to quickly get around and won't feel like you are too crowded. Most of all the great service that the employees give to the students.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out outside or by the book store. plenty of seating.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always follow the guidelines professors give on the first day.

    In three sentences

    WCJC is a good community college to attend. Has a great environment and there are very good professors.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    i dont no

    Clubs and Activities

    i dont no

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing and ready to learn an get an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I dont no

    Bang for the buck

    I dont no

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends if i have time after I'm done with my school work and studying.

    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    i dont no, i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school to get into

    In three sentences

    The staff is very nice and helpful. The campus is very well kept. I've known a few people that went to wcjc and loved it.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing on campus

    Food and Dining

    nothing really for food/drink. just a store and food truck

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    some instructors are better than others

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend classes and take well structured notes

    In three sentences

    WCJC is pretty well structured well fairly great staff and instructors. WCJC provides the best it can for its growing number of students. WCJC is overall a decent junior college.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's security and cameras and a lot of people, it's safe.

    Greek Life

    There is one, however I do not remember the name.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs, there was only one Club Day and after that I saw no bulletin boards for clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    People not ready to move out of their parent's house, or people just starting to go to college as adults.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none sadly, pretty bland.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in the Sugar Land area go here!!! If you don't want to go anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the computer lab is nice, you can surf the web, study and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    There's food available here but it's very overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here at the Sugar Land Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it's a junior college doesn't mean it's easy, you must always make sure to study everyday!

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you decide to become apart of this Junior College make sure that this is what you truly want because this school specializes in nursing. I would suggest you start studying very hard for the SAT and ACT, don't waste your time. A lot of schools offer full scholarships just for passing these tests!

    In three sentences

    When I walk into the Sugar Land campus for Wharton County Junior College I see students ready to learn which in turn makes the experience a great one. There are great professors there and interesting people there as well. If I went to any other junior college I would choose this one all over again.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Best food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun and be yourself! Everyone there is really nice

    In three sentences

    I love this school, I attend the one in Sugarland, it makes me feel like I am at an actual 4-year university campus. Excellent teachers there, and the students make you feel comfortable. I think anyone would enjoy going her e.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I just go to a satellite campus and they try and do as much as the main campus.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my grandbabies.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in any of the dorms, so I wouldn't be fair for me to rate, but since it won't let me not skip it I will still give 5 stars. :)

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up, and be organized!!!!

    In three sentences

    I love the small classes. I have had very good luck with professors being supportive and helpful. I am excited that they offer a program that I am interested in, Radiology.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's basic cafeteria food served in the Cafe. Dining around town includes Jack in the Box, Subway and Whataburger.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is unexciting and a bit run down. It's located in a tiny town with a few restaurants and an HEB. Your rooms are close to the building, though, so you can usually get to class on time if you plan correctly.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't exactly Ivy League - it's a junior college, a stepping stone to your next stage in life. But usually the people in your classes aren't there because they enjoy it - they need it. So there isn't much messing around academically speaking. Most people are motivated to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep every document, email or otherwise, that the school sends you. Always (ALWAYS!) go to class, or you could miss something very important, such as a test or quiz date. Be respectful, take notes, keep your phone in your backpack, show up on time. Don't take your education for granted.

    In three sentences

    WCJC is not a place you attend to have your typical college experience. If you need a degree and classes that work around your schedule, then this college is perfect for you. The atmosphere, although not exactly a festive one, is productive and motivates you to reach your academic goal as quickly and effectively as possible.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It depends what camppus of Whatron you are at becaues they have several.

    Food and Dining

    Again this does not apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I am not sure what dorm like is like.

    Academic Rigor

    It may not always be easy, but keep going with your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to keep all your grades up and make sure you are able to complete your classes. Also make sure that you go to your classes and do not get off track.

    In three sentences

    I am enrolled in the Sugarland Campus and it is a very nice campus. I have meet lots of interesting people and they offer a variety of times for their classes. I have even been able to get ahead by taking a Mini-Semester online over the holidays.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    poor.

    What to do for fun

    Study.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    study.

    In three sentences

    Cheap. Easy. Small classes.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get your ideal classes and class times. Don't slack, do the work!

    In three sentences

    Great environment. Easy to navigate campus. Very helpful academic counselors

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus with high security.

    Greek Life

    Does not have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Basic clubs such as Business Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Starting college for the first time.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable

    What to do for fun

    Mingle with students. A fort bend library is just across the road.

    Food and Dining

    No dining. But it has a bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous syllabus, but professors are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your college here. Take summer classes. Stay ahead of class.

    In three sentences

    WCJC has reliable professor. The college's standard is the same as any other accredited four-year university. It's affordable.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I have not heard of many clubs or activities here.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the students who want to go to class and then back home. There is not much to do here.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you will usually get out what you put in when coming to this Junior College.

    What to do for fun

    There are not many thing to do for fun in Wharton, although the baseball and volleyball games are relatively cheap here.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of places where you can get a meal around here.

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live in a dorm, I have heard stories about them and they do not sound too swell.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe this is a great place to start your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a place where you come if you want to just get by. It takes hard work and the professors expect nothing less than that.

    In three sentences

    I believe it is a great school to began a start on your secondary education. It is small yet bigger than the high school I graduated from. I also like the idea of being able to talk to your professors outside of the classroom.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The baseball, volleyball, and rodeo teams are awesome to watch. Great for the bug sport fans!

    What to do for fun

    The pioneer building has a pool table has a snack bar and TV you can go and relax whether your studying or want to have fun. Also the Gym is fun to be in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply to many classes, because then you wont be able to handle it. Pretty much don't over do it. Pick your classes according to your work schedule and the amount of free time you have after.

    In three sentences

    This college is easy to get around from. The teachers are excellent and you save a good amount of money from the classes you apply for. I recommend this college to anyone nearby, it will save you money!

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is there if you need them but its a very safe surrounding so you most likely will not ever need them. I only needed them once and that was to get into my car after I got locked out of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. I did not participate in any of the clubs because I did not have an interest in any of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Great starter school for people trying to save money.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food isn't very good but the restaurant around the campus make up for it.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived on the dorms for one semester. The RA's are awesome and the rooms are easy to clean but it's hard to share such a tiny room with someone you don't know too well.

    Academic Rigor

    I have loved all of my professors so far. They actually take the time to help you but you have to ask for help. Most of the teachers I have had are easy on you when you have weird schedules or if emergencies happen.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared mentally, get ready to work and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Good junior college, professors are cooperative too.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not really any places on campus that you could visit for fun. I suggest visiting the areas around the campus for anything to get your mind off from your studies.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat while at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't face any rigor from the college itself, only myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to interact with other students or faculty members.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is filled with vibrant people and different personalities. The classes size can vary based on what your personal choices are. The professors are all there to help you out, and if there is something you don't understand then make sure to either ask during class or seek them out during the hours that they are open.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone has to have parking passes and the students recieve texts and email warnings during emergencies.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually people playing volley ball or ultimate frisbee at the school when the weather is nice.

    Food and Dining

    The Pioneer student center usually has pretty good food and even has pool tables.

    Dorm Life

    I lived with my parents but I imagine the dorms are convinient since they are so close to the school and you can leave home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes are good but many of them are blow off classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for many of the students to already know each other from nearby high schools. Be sure to go to class because the classes are so small that attendence is usually a grade.

    In three sentences

    WCJC is a good school to go to for your basics, especially if you're from a small high school. The classes are small, usually less than thirty students, and they are also relatively easy. It is a good transition school to attend after high school and before a university.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a safe area. I have attended classes at night and haven't had any problems. Security is usually patrolling the campus regularly so it is very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost to attend this college is a fraction of what it is at an university. I attended three semesters at Wharton County Junior College and haven't paid as much as my friends attending universities. It is a bargain considering how expensive school can get.

    What to do for fun

    The Sugar Land campus is next to the town square which makes hanging out after classes easy. Many people go watch movies or meet up at the mall.

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend the main campus so I am not sure how the food and dining is.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so my opinion on dorms isn't really valid.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, the academic rigor is not very tough. From my experience, classes have been very straight forward. It is important to check out reviews for your professors beforehand to see which ones are the best. With a simple work ethic I believe any student is able to maintain a good GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those looking into attending this college I would highly recommend it. The tuition is much lower than conventional universities. You can take all your basics for the fraction of the price you would at any university. The classes are small as well so it is easy to talk to your teacher if you are having trouble with anything.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school with small class rooms. It's easy to get to know professors and other classmates. Since it is a junior college there are many locations which is convenient for those who do not live near it's main campus.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    patrolled nicely

    Greek Life

    not a part of it, it is a junior college

    Clubs and Activities

    Rodeo Team

    Great for these types of students

    Rodeo kids. Kids that need a easy start.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No just a nice friendly small campus

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than attending a university. small and personal

    What to do for fun

    Join the Rodeo Team. Play and practice at the arena. Get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is convienent. The food has no flavor. Dining around town is nice.

    Dorm Life

    It is a way to get connected with friends. It is a support system. the dorms are nice a roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    Small setting makes class size nice. Schedules are flexible. Academic demands are reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a nice small college. It is friendly. It offers something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending WCJC. It is a great small college that offers something for everyone. I am on the Rodeo Team and have a lot of suppport from friends and the coaches.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security patrolling during all school hours and after school. I feel real safe moving around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Being a small town there isn't much to do in the town. However major eaters and movie theater, shopping are only a 30 minute drive easily accessed by Hwy 59.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college isn't that big, but prepare to walk where you need to be. Living in the dorms are pretty nice .

    In three sentences

    WCJC is a really nice school. The classes are easily accessible. The teachers are very helpful and readily helps when I have had any questions.