Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Whatcom Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want an affordable education in a small school environment, those who are still in high school trying to get free college, and those who just want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take a math class, take it from Russell Sherif! He is the best teacher in the world!

    Bang for the buck

    I did the Running Start Program and was able to receive my transfer degree one quarter after my high school graduation. I only paid for my lower level math class, and the books weren't that expensive.

    Did enjoy being here

    The teachers at WCC really care about their students. They definitely put a lot of time and effort into the lives of those they influence.

    Did learn a lot

    I have heard that the science classes are the same level and transfer the same way for Whatcom as well as Western, so take them at Whatcom because they are way easier and cheaper and you learn the same amount.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WCC is great for students who are still trying to figure out what they want to do as a career, earn college credit and not break the bank. Many students fresh out of high school choose to go to WCC in order to gain a transfer degree so they don't have to pay for four years at a University. Also there are many returning adult students gaining more education to get better jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    To a prospective student I would say to get to know an adviser to make sure you are on track for the degree you want. It is easy to let necessary credits slip through the cracks. I would also suggest participating in class, many professors at WCC grade on participation because of the smaller classes and your input matters! Finally, I suggest joining a club or group on campus, it is a great way to get integrated into college culture and make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I'm getting my money's worth at Whatcom, when I have the very rare bad class it carries less of a heft because I didn't pay University prices for it. For the most part, I feel like I'm getting a great education with a small price tag and for most people's economic situations, that is a very valuable characteristic.

    Am enjoying being here

    Other than just good classes, WCC has a beautiful campus that makes the students feel at home. The Syre building is the student center; part cafe, part auditorium, classrooms, and mostly open areas for people to study or talk. There are many clubs, societies, social and academic groups to join or check out. Plus it is close to a lot of local restaurants and Apartments for student housing.

    Am learning a lot

    WCC has been a great stepping stone in the progress of my education. Their wide variety of classes gave me an opportunity to become well rounded in different subject matter, from Drawing, to Physics, to Spanish. The teachers are supportive and they have provided as much help as I wanted when I needed it. WCC is a very good learning environment. I feel like a student with a name instead of a number on a sheet of paper.

  • 05/04/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    They have a lot of Running Start students attending this college. It's a great place for high school students to attend anonymously and begin their transition into college.

    Tips for prospective students

    To save money, it's a smart move to buy used books, and if possible to buy earlier editions of your text books. Most teachers don't mind you buying earlier editions especially if they only change a section/chapter title or something trivial like that. It's always a good idea to check and make sure it's alright though, just in case.

    Bang for the buck

    I haven't attended this school in over a year so I'm not much help when it comes to tuition costs. The last year I attended the had just raised the cost per credit.

    Did enjoy being here

    Whatcom has a decent sized campus that's not to big nor to small. It has a calm quiet campus with a lot of places to go and study in peace. Also the campus students and faculty are very friendly and show a great amount of tolerance for adversity.

    Did learn a lot

    Classes here are a decent size so that you do not get lost in the mush. The smaller sizes allowed for great one on one time with teachers. But, be warned small class size means that classes fill up quickly, so everything is a first come first serve basis.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    fabulous instructors that really care about your studies, they're willing to take the extra time for you. the honors program is amazingly helpful and lets you create your own classes. very effective for both nontraditional and traditional students.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've always felt safe; there are usually people patrolling the parking lot to keep your items from being stolen.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at wcc; sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    it only has 30 clubs, but they range from languages to music to areas of study.

    Great for these types of students

    art enthusiasts would be welcome here, along with any environmentally conscious people.

    What to do for fun

    there are several clubs, and the area's just beautiful. bellingham has a lot to offer as well.

    Food and Dining

    i like the food, anyway. it's not gourmet, but it's usually fresh and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    to my knowledge, wcc doesn't have any dorms, just nearby apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    some courses are harder than others; make sure you don't take too many writing intensive courses at one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up with your adviser, and join some clubs!

    In three sentences

    whatcom community college is a very inclusive college that tailors to your needs. it helps you prepare for your next step, whatever that may be, and has several good certification programs.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The main courtyard is a good place to mingle and to do homework out in the fresh air.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall has espresso.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are top notch and have competent professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early on the first day of classes to pick up your financial aid checks at the cashiers window.

    In three sentences

    Whatcom Community College is has easy access to information and a friendly staff in Advising. The Financial Aid Office is able to assist in most matters regarding money and tuition. The campus is compact and clean with a good class size layout

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend class and socialize.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't lose any of your placement test hard copies

    In three sentences

    The guys in the financial aid office were very helpful. The women in the placement testing lost my math placement test score. The advising department is a joke.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs offered at Whatcom Community College, athletic teams, and free or low cost monthly events held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Whatcome has a main cafeteria in the student center and a few coffee stands throughout campus. The cost isn't any cheaper than your average coffee shop and one of the stands offers coffee from Woods Coffee (a coffee franchise in Whatcom County). They have many options for snacks, sandwiches and hot food.

    Dorm Life

    Whatcom Community College does not offer dorms, however there are a lot of apartment complexes and small homes near campus.

    Academic Rigor

    To be honest, it matters on what classes you are taking. Anatomy & Physiology is one of the hardest and most involved classes offered at Whatcom in my opinion, whereas the GUR classes like General Psych or Math 99 tends to be less work than those at most universities. However, the academic rigor always depends on the work ethic of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatcom is a great starter school that will easily transition a high school graduate into a community college student and then possibly into a university student. It has a large variety of classes and most are easily transferable to local universities such as UW or WWU.

    In three sentences

    Whatcom Community College is a good place to finish up prerequisites, GURs, or completing an associates degree before transferring onto further education. They have athletics, clubs, and many opportunities to get involved with your peers in and out of school. Whatcom's campus is small and quaint right in the middle of a commercial area near the Bellis Fair Mall and Costco.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No incidents but also no active police really so you should always be cautious.

    Greek Life

    There is only Phi Theta Kappa here but is great for scholars.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs, Basketball, Volleyball, Soccer, Choir, Foreign Language, LGBT, Campus Fellowship, Synergy and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    We have many multicltural events and clubs and several study abroad programs including, Venice, Spain, New Zealand and Costa Rica.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orca Day is a huge event of games, fun food and hanging out all day. We also have the fun Moustacherade which is a party, dance and contest for the best real or pretend moustache.

    Bang for the buck

    The cafeteria is always over priced. But there is a dollar store nearby that is really good to save money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley, a strip mall, block buster, game fly, Barnes and nobles, Marshalls, Ross, Home Depot and many other places you can hang out and shop or walk through the gardens right across the street as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are several ethnic restaurants with in just two blocks of the whole campus, or go to one of two markets close by as well. The Indian Buffet is to die for. Or enjoy authentic Italian pizza and espresso.

    Dorm Life

    All arenas for freshmen are accepting, nurturing and challenging as well. You will never be bored and there are over thirty clubs to enjoy as well.

    Academic Rigor

    To be great, you need to challenge yourself. Get out of your comfort zone. The classes have many prepared and wonderful teachers who will not accept lazy students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and register for the classes you want with all your paperwork prepared ahead of time. Take a tour with a Student Ambassador, who is actually a real student attending and get the insight into the school with first hand knowledge.

    In three sentences

    This is are great environment for a student to attend. The registration staff a always detailed and friendly. The application is one page and very efficient in what you need to bring and what requirements to have. Excellent programs prepare you for over 150 majors.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Whatcom holds a friendly and gentle crowd. There has been many times when I have held a door open for someone, and soon enough we are fifteen minutes into a conversation about a certain class, event or relevancy of the time. Not only that, but this camaraderie can continue all through your time at Whatcom. Today there are still people I run into that I have known since a brief encounter in my first quarter at the college. Although it is very low and unlikely, car prowls do happen. Since my attendance though, everyone has been pulling their weight to watch for these types of cases and the percent has dropped to almost nil.

    Clubs and Activities

    The club funding Whatcom accumulates for all their clubs is truly amazing. While being apart of the French Club at Whatcom, it was amazing to see how we could feed the school's student body on Mardi Gras with classical foods of the culture. Not only that, but when the Pickford Cinema had a French-Evening-With-Film, all of the club members in attendance had their tickets paid for. From my time being in the French club I have had a great time making life-long friends, as well as immersing myself into the culture that much more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whatcom has many different festivals each quarter, one being the Old World's Fair we have around every Christmas. We have all the foreign clubs (Spanish, German, French, etc.) to perform songs from their region that truly show the beauty of Christmas. Another event is the International Night. All the clubs get together, as well as solo or group acts outside of clubs, to show the different cultures of different countries and regions. This is truly terrific to hear bagpipes and didgeridoos at the same time in one night.

    Bang for the buck

    For a full class-load of 15 credits each quarter (classes that directly transfer to the university I will be attending next winter) it only costs me about a third of the price. This is such a money saving opportunity with a classroom that has a more focused scope on me and my learning. Not only that, but the bookstore always has prices that much, if not BEAT the prices I find online.

    What to do for fun

    Whatcom Comm. College offers many different clubs to be apart of. If you love films, there is a club for that. If you are a Francophile, there is the French club that dives into French culture, history and politics. If you love politics, there is the Debate club that meets every week. If you can't find a club for you and you have your own idea, you can even make a club. This is one of the great aspects I love about Whatcom. You have the freedom to start your own trend.

    Food and Dining

    The Dockside Cafe has been my haven when I am on-the-go. While offering it's basic dishes of pan pizzas and sandwiches, they also offer extremely complex dishes, such as beef stroganoff and rice bowls. Every piece of food they offer is guaranteed nutritious, fresh and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Although Whatcom Community College is a public institution, there are no dorms available. However, the nearby apartment complexes have been known to house many students around the same age, which can also further your social circle. Not only will you mingle with your classmates, but also mingle with other Whatcom students that live near or next to you

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Whatcom take you on as their own. Never before in my life have I seen or heard of such a rapport being able to be built with your professors at Whatcom. Not only does this help you outside the class with understanding and discussing concepts, but it also helps you with furthering your understanding and knowledge of a certain subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the many clubs that Whatcom offers and be involved. If you are involved it also helps you toward other Universities seeking you out with the amazing work you have done.

    In three sentences

    A fun, friendly and educational environment that will get you to where you are going. If you are looking to earn your AA, to taking general undergraduate requirements, or even just taking a class for fun, Whatcom can offer you all them at a fair price.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and enjoy the scenery. The campus is very pretty on a sunny day in the spring when all the flowers are out.

    Food and Dining

    I tend to bring my own lunch so I don't have to spend money on eating out everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class you are in and who your professor is is the deciding factor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like a class switch out of it right away. Online classes here aren't the greatest.

    In three sentences

    Small classes hands on and very professional. I am enjoying all of may classes at Whatcom and am learning a lot from my teachers.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in community college, just have a life.

    Food and Dining

    It has a Costo nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There are none..

    Academic Rigor

    It's community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check which professors you are getting from a third-party website first, as there are several which are terrible.

    In three sentences

    WCC is a great place to start your college 'career'. It is perfect for running-start or returning students. It is laid back, and easy to do well in.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of resturants around the area and the food at the college is good but it tends to sit in the fridge for a while and doesn't taste good

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms around the campus, but there are apartments around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the aspects were easy, but not completely easy because there was the need to be focused, nothing like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for future student's would just to be do the work and use the resources around you because that's what they are there for, for you to do well! Don't procrastinate and you will do marvelous.

    In three sentences

    WCC is a place where I can be myself and not worry about feeling like I can't handle the information I am getting. This college has all of the resources I need to succeed and make sure that I can get through college. WCC is a beautiful, well kept campus that makes me feel calm with all of the water features and the fields that I can go and sit in, enjoying the sun and do my work.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's still expensive, but it's a good deal for getting undergraduate prerequisites or professional technical degrees completed because it is incredibly more affordable than a university.

    Food and Dining

    No large eateries on campus so it's very limited, but the campus is pretty close to food options.

    Tips for prospective students

    MEET WITH AN ADVISER EARLY! Get hooked up with financial aid quickly because the process can be tedious with random forms to fill out. Be prepared to not get the classes you really want the first quarter because the more popular ones fill up very quickly.

    In three sentences

    All of the staff that helps get you started on your journey are incredibly helpful. The teachers all seem quite passionate about their work. The campus is incredibly diverse in age, allowing older returning students to feel quite comfortable.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent the campus is in a busy area with plenty of patrolling police which creates a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    None?

    Clubs and Activities

    Pretty much everything you can think of there is probably a small lub on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Energetic, driven, active, and gamers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Good prices except for the price of books.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of hiking, boating, and sport activities available in and around bellingham.

    Food and Dining

    Decent coffee and snacks, but no on campus dining like most 4yr schools.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Pay attention and use on campus free tutoring to your advantage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid paper in within the first week they are available to be filled out. Also take time to study even community college requires effort to pass.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school with good teachers and classes with 30 students or less usually allowing for more student teacher interaction. WCC also has good technical and computer facilities available to students and students receive $15 dollars on their student card for printing homework on campus computers. Finally it is only a 10 or 15 min drive from anywhere in bellingham, WA.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. From my experience here, there aren't a lot of bad students here and its really safe to walk from one building to the other. The staff works hard to keep the campus safe and it shows that students safety comes first as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs at this college! There is spanish, french, Japanese, etc. So many to even count and the students love joining them and doing so many activities. It's great being part of clubs and doing fun things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is one building that is at an unusual place but it's a art building and has all kinds of neat art. Very fun to go there and look at all kinds of art pieces.

    What to do for fun

    This college always has Orca Day every quarter and by going there students get free food, play lots of games, do many types of cool activities and meet new people. Also, the basketball and the soccer games are always fun to go and watch. There are also international night where they have really cool activities that some of the international students do and it's just really fun to go there. There are a lot of activities and fun things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing here and they have many different types of foods here as well. They have coffee shops around campus as well as microwaves and dining area to heat up food and eat.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come to this college remember first of all to study hard while you are here and have fun with meeting new people and doing many fun things here.

    In three sentences

    This college has amazing professors that teach the class and care about the students success. The school has many opportunities to meet students that are around the world with the many international students that are enrolled. Also, with learning this college has amazing clubs that students can join and participate in activities, make new friends, as well as make a difference in their community.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security here is great. The small campus size means it is easier for the administration to assure the safety of its students.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek system for this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at Whatcom, and they are fantastic at interacting with each other and the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need a smaller community with less distractions to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Whatcom is both cheap and has high standards of learning.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student run clubs that offer lots of campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafes on campus are run by a company name Sodexo. The facilities are nice as are the employees. The food is above average quality for a small college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for the Whatcom campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes I took were challenging, but the teachers want to see you succeed. Learning is a priority at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a small campus. Whatcom is in the suburbs, and is a relatively small school, even for community college standards.

    In three sentences

    This is a small interactive campus. The teachers care about your success and offer you multiple resources outside of class.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like campus safety is well maintained. They have people in the parking lot all the time in case of an accident. No crime has ever occurred that I have heard about.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I myself have not participated in these activites, I hear very positive things and I know they have a lot of options for all different types of students.

    Great for these types of students

    Whatcom is great for students looking to save a little money before they go to a four year university. If is also a great school for running start students. Adults returning to college after many years would do well at Whatcom.

    Bang for the buck

    WCC is a good school for what it is. It's affordable and can get you a career. It is a very good beginner school for someone planning to transfer to a 4 year university. They offer a lot of tools to help guide you towards a degree or plan. I participated in running start my senior year and that is a great program for getting extra band for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    The school provides clubs, and other free after school activities. I don't participate in these because I work a full time job, and keep very busy with my family. There is always a lot of kids having fun on campus though. Sometimes they give out free breakfast or lunch out in the courtyard. That's always fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little overpriced, but not bad. I wish that the coffee stand in the science building was open summer quarter. Most the time I chose not to eat on campus, unless I'm desperate.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think WCC has any dorms. So I cannot comment here.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't feel like the classes are incredibly hard. The teachers are willing to give out extra credit or help students after class to help guarantee success. I have found a couple of classes that were very difficult, and very hard to pass as well though. So really depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really sit down and research what you would like to go to college for before you start taking classes. I know that people tell you not to pick a major right away, but if you have a plan it is much easier to be successful. This way you can get your degree faster and have a better job more quickly.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending Whatcom Community College. I feel very comfortable there, I like that I know my way around. I like that the expectations the teachers have aren't like a university, it is simple to follow along and I feel set up for success.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant poster's around warning of car thieves, but ive never heard of anything getting stolen.

    Clubs and Activities

    A Lot of clubs around campus that I've seen, but I've never participated.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall i found that the teachers here are way underpaid for the intellect and teaching skill they posses. I have been to lecture classrooms at other schools and i find that whatcom has a very good teaching system. Its a community college, so it is naturally cheap. Quality and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Not a ton of things to do on a daily, but the college puts on alot of events to participate in, and there is always free food! I've found myself pleasantly suprised toa free hot meal after class more than once.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is economical, but a bit overpriced for the quality. Being so close to a bunch of restaurants i rarely eat at the college.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Ether you live with your parents, or you work part time with a few roommates in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The class dificulty really depends on the teacher you have each quarter. Some teachers will make you work hard in class with realatively no homework, and others will require all work done outside of class and a review in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared to class, and get the books before the first day of class. As any teacher would say, read the text books. It may be boring (depending on the class), but it is vital to succeed in every class i have taken here.

    In three sentences

    This is a great economical place to learn and grow to decide your major. With a diverse age group it makes it easier to be independent. The classes are always intriguing and inspire great conversation. Definitely the place to go when in the stage of deciding what you want to be in life.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe but there is some car prowling.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    A variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of cool art on campus, like WWU.

    Bang for the buck

    $116/credit.

    What to do for fun

    There are many restaurants, bars, and nightclubs downtown as well as virtually unlimited outdoor activities, from hiking to kayaking.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard it's not very good. Their coffee/tea is decently priced, though!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are usually fairly challenging and true college-level rigor. However, some classes are easy to get an A in where others are very difficult to even pull a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with one of the clubs and get a work study job, it helps you to get connected to the community within WCC.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice, good sized campus with adequate amenities and friendly students. The classes are definitely college level classes and can be challenging-- you have to work for your grade in some of them. It is located in Bellingham, which is a fairly liberal university town that also contains WWU.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very safe to me, but I have heard of scary incidents in the past.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus at WCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't wait for the PTA club to get started. There are many clubs and sports available, though I do not have time to participate in them because I have a job.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are focused and really enjoy learning would love WCC. It is not a 'party school'. Although, the students are very fun, outgoing individuals.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very expensive for a student anywhere. WCC is a better value than the nearby university, however.

    What to do for fun

    I like to visit the library and student center for fun. The campus is pretty with neat places to study indoor and out.

    Food and Dining

    I wish there were more healthy eating options available that were also affordable to a student. Luckily there are lots of local eating options down the street.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing at WCC. I like that because students can be closer and spend more time in the common learning areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be very engaging but also challenging. All teachers are willing to give extra help to whoever may need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that all new students first meet with an advisor and plan out there path to their degree of choice. Nothing is worse than missing or forgetting requirements and having to repeat courses or file petitions.

    In three sentences

    Whatcom Community College is a great school for students who are serious about starting a technical program and earning an associates degree, especially for those who want to work in the medical field. Many running start and transfer students also find WCC to be a good value school where they can complete prerequisite courses in smaller classes. The students and staff are all great people who create a positive learning environment.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of great clubs and places to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried it actually.

    Academic Rigor

    If you overwhelm yourself, the academics can become hard but taking regular full time credits is just as any other school

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and do your work on time, most teachers do not accept late work.

    In three sentences

    Whatcom is a typical community college. They appeal to running start and day students more than night or online students. Advising is great, but other departments are unorganized and short tempered.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to see what events they have going on to the students. Watch the games and hang out with friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    they have available in every hall almost with a large verity but they have high prices.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm there

    Academic Rigor

    Has a large verity of classes, and has many ways to help you get the classes you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for your classes on time and ask your professors for help. Don't skip class and make sure to study and do your work.

    In three sentences

    Whatcom community College is a very well rounded school that is missed by most of it's students that transferred. The professors do their best to prepare you for universities. Whatcom has a wonderful supply of classes.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What i do for fun. I have two children so I do alot with my children and my husband. We go camping, riding in the mountains to watch the sun set, playing with our dogs and cats, reading, & much more things.

    Food and Dining

    Can't really comment on the food as I don't eat there either. I have only had coffee there. I will say it is alright, it is a little on the cool side but otherwise it is alright.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm so can't give any feedback on this. I actually don't think that Whatcom has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that the strictness of the classes and how you have to turn things in is going to be dependent upon your instructor. Some instructors you will have a little leeway and others you will not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for your classes, be on time and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    Whatcom is a great school. I really like the fact that no one is judgmental and that you can go there and get the education that you need. It is truly a great place to be.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The occasional theft apparently takes place. I have not encountered anyone who has lost anything on this way, i am merely assuming it must happen because of the little signs in the library that say, Watch for thieves! Otherwise, i have never heard of a fight breaking out, nor any other kind of untoward treatment as everyone is marvelously polite (student body and staff). Since the roads connect to a main drag near a Costco, sometimes traffic can be a little hectic but that's the most dangerous thing i can think of near the school.

    Greek Life

    NONE as far as i know.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have only participated in Music club, which has been growing into a weekly jam session of many kinds of people. The criminal justice folks hold free legal advice meetings sometimes, International club invites people to multicultural fests sometimes with food, Leadership club gets the students involved in many aspects of campus life... There are more but I am not informed enough to speak at length..!

    Bang for the buck

    I am having a great time being back in school, and i feel that Whatcom CC itself is a large part of that! Since I graduated over a decade ago, i have earned some life experience and have developed more patience for academic rigor too. The friends i have made, both students and teachers, are enriching my life with their outlook on life and delightful personalities!

    What to do for fun

    Sports fields border the Western side of campus (soccer/football, tennis), bike and hike trails all over the county, mountains are a popular feature of Whatcom county for hiking, camping, snowboarding/skiing. The nightlife downtown is pretty active, considering the 2 colleges and Western University adding to the youthful energy. Pickford theater plays all kinds of movies, new and old, the IMAX theater is doing its state-of-the-art thing on the East side of town. There are plenty of activities and sights to see in this area if you look for them!

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafe has pre-made sandwiches, veggies, snacks as well as burgers, pizza, rice bowls with veggies and optional chicken. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity as well. Among them are a Chinese buffet restaurant, Billy McHale's, Pho Ly, Goji Berry (asian fusion), a pizza place, more pho, Olive Garden, and the nearby Bellis Fair Mall food court.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, and i live a few miles away anyhow. There are apartments to the West of campus that make it a mere 3 minute walk to school, though.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some very tough classes here as the specialization increases. I have heard stories about some rigorous classes, Nutrition and Anatomy for example, that will keep you busy right up to the end of the quarter. If the classes you are taking are within your interests and you get along well enough with the teacher, you will take a lot away from most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become friends with the office, cafe, and library folk, their help is invaluable in unexpected ways! There are a number of places around campus to post up outside during sunny weather for outdoor study times when the weather cooperates. Once you get to know some students, ask them about the teachers they have had for classes you intend to take. If their learning style is similar to yours, their advice/review on the matter could save a lot of grief for all involved! Oh, and Bellingham has a great bus system. For $40 (student discount), a 3-month bus pass gives you free range of the county and beyond.

    In three sentences

    This college has many quality instructors and staff who are enthusiastic about their various fields of work and the student body is diverse as well. In the year i have been there, not one person has been unkind; there have been a couple spots of impatience from the odd person every now and again (understandably around finals time). I look forward to being at school, even under the duress of research papers, projects, and presentations!

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs to join, from language themed clubs (french, german, japanese, and spanish), to a sustainability club, even sports clubs with plenty others to choose from. They allow students to make a club for almost anything if people are interested. Each club can hold events that can get non-members to come and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the school is cheap, high quality education and great things designed to help out a students success.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located right by a major bus station, so that allows for easy access to downtown Bellingham, parks, and many other kinds of places.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is expensive, but there are plenty of places nearby to eat at. You can use your student ID to get a discount at a few places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms to live in. So you have to either live on your own or with roommates in an apartment, or with your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are intense, while others are easy to pass, but most are interesting and involved. Since each quarter is 12 weeks long, it can really push those who are interested in a fast paced learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take two classes that are writing intensive in the same quarter unless you want some possible all nighters.

    In three sentences

    Surrounded by beautiful trees, plenty of shops, and close to the ocean, this school has a nice setting to go along with some academic rigor. The faculty are really caring and most have a sense of humor.