Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wheaton College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 out of 27 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian, highly driven, academic, and loving.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best parts about Wheaton is the type of people it attracts, my best advice is to come and visit. What made me choose Wheaton were the classes I sat in on while visiting. The professor's are some of the most intelligent people I have ever known, yet they care for their students almost as if they were their own children. They place a high value on education and have exceedingly high expectations, yet they are the more gracious than I could ever expect. They realized that spiritual growth is just as important as physical, academic, and emotional growth.

  • 11/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 out of 25 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian, compassionate, global-minded, academic, involved

    Tips for prospective students

    They care as much about your essays and extra-curricular involvement as your GPA and SAT scores.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but is a pretty good deal for a private college. Tuition is subsidized by $10,000 across the board by donors.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are really friendly, the campus is beautiful and the food's great.

    Am learning a lot

    The profs are great- very good teachers, love what they're doing, and really want to help you succeed.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wheaton college public safety is great. almost too good, as it is pretty difficult to get away with any good pranks....

    Greek Life

    currently wheaton college doesn't have an greek life, but word has it that the college is actually considering bringing some onto/around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and activities. almost overwhelmingly so. if you want to get involved, there is no shortage of groups to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    great for the serious student, the diligent musician, and the driven athlete. this college can satisfy each of those desires and much more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lots of interesting and fun traditions....kingdom run? enough said.

    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive, but you get what you pay for. also, wheaton college's financial aid department and the wheaton fund help many students pay their way for an education that would otherwise be out of reach.

    What to do for fun

    there is lots of stuff to do. simply jump on the train and be in downtown chicago in an hour or walk to downtown wheaton and visit the little shops and boutiques. however, there is also plenty to do on campus. with a fully equipped student recreational complex (including a weight room, pool, rock-climbing wall, and gymnasiums) there is also the beamer center which has a game room with plenty to keep students occupied and happy.

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent. bon appetit caters for college and has been voted #1 in the nation for college food.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is exceptional. a close bond of friends as a result of required freshman and sophomore on campus housing will bring joy for years to come. there are lots of fun activities to participate in throughout the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    wheaton college has been referenced as an ivy league private liberal arts college, and rightly so. wheaton's academics are unmatched in the category of small christian liberal arts colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and put forth effort into the application process. the more diverse and extracurricular activities on your application, the higher your chances of being accepted. what will make you look different from the thousands of other students that apply? think about that when filling out your application.

    In three sentences

    wheaton college is a school for the serious christian student. it is intensely focused on academics, athletics, and an intentional christian perspective on life. if you want to grow as a christian scholar, attend wheaton college.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to excel in their area of study and who want to be pushed, not just drift through college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Wheaton! Sitting in on classes helped me know that I definitely wanted to go to Wheaton. The website and the actual campus can be completely different.

    Bang for the buck

    While at first glance Wheaton may look expensive, it offers a very affordable financial aid package for those who need it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful, the professors are willing to help, and the students are extremely friendly. I cannot wait to go back!

    Will learn a lot

    Wheaton has an excellent academic program. The professors will push you to your potential.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any Christian who is willing to do their best in school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! Make sure to sit in on a class, talk to the professors, spend the night in the dorm, and talk to students here. Ask students why they chose Wheaton and what they like best (and worst) about it. Everyone I asked only had positive things to say!

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Wheaton is expensive, it is worth every penny.

    Will enjoy being here

    I LOVE WHEATON!!! Everyone here is so friendly and welcoming. It is definitely the place to be! There are many campus activities going on, plenty of extracurricular activities to become involved in, and people smiling everywhere you look. The Christian atmosphere is amazing.

    Will learn a lot

    Wheaton is definitely top-notch academically! The professors are amazing and the teaching is exceptional.

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Strong academically, people who like big cities, musicians.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to attain a high GPA because you will need it to get large scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    It's VERY expensive, especially because music majors have to apply both to the conservatory and the college.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's too close to a big city for me (it's only 25 miles away from Chicago) and they only have chapel three days a week. But the students are very friendly and helpful. When I visited, after talking with a professor, he enlisted a current student to take me to the cafeteria where I was meeting my mom. And the student was very willing to help me. It was very nice.

    Will learn a lot

    They have amazing classes and well-educated professors. They have strong academics and are very much focused on missions and service. It is very difficult to get in however.

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, Evangelical, Warm, Hard-working

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and establish a connection with your admissions counselor. Be warned: it gets COLD here. :)

    Bang for the buck

    The need-based financial aid here is good, but merit-based aid is seriously lacking.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love everything here - the people, the learning, the atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are really knowledgeable, and the classes are challenging, yet extremely fulfilling.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wheaton is great for competitive students that want to focus more on receiving an education then learning only to receive a career. Wheaton is great for students that enjoy studying and being apart of a close Christian community. It is also great for students that will enjoy a non-party college experience because each student is required to sign a pledge stating that they will refrain from drunkenness, drugs, premarital sex, gambling and violence while attending the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important that you have an interview with your admissions counselor and then create a relationship with your admissions counselor. Wheaton prides itself in the character of it's students and chooses very carefully based on what students can bring to the campus. The only true way for the admissions to get to know you is through an interview. The face to face interaction makes you more then just an application. Also if you play any musical instrument audition either to minor in the instrument or say in your application that you will play in the band, orchestra or choir. Also an audition gives you another chance to meet people that may decide if your accepted or not. The conservatory needs certain instruments and that may be your ticket in! Also if it is possible, go to a Wheaton Connection in the Fall. It helps you realize if Wheaton is the school for you. You are able to interact with students and almost feel like you are a student there already. Everyone is so open to answering your questions. And once again, you are able to make connections which you can bring up in your interview. Last thing, email the admissions counselors. If you ever have a question about the school that you cannot find on the school website email your counselor. It lets the counselors recognize that you are really interested into the school and that will be put into consideration. Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many other private christian schools Wheaton is farely reasonable. Especially for the amount of time and dedication the professors take in to helping their students succeed. Also Wheaton awards a lot of aid money. Last year they awarded more than 12 million dollars to the 2,386 students.

    Will enjoy being here

    It really depends on the person. First if you do not believe in Christianity then no, you will not enjoy being at Wheaton. But if you have the right mindset and are ready to grow deeper in your faith you will love Wheaton. The people, professors, and campus are all incredible. Also you will definitely enjoy the food...Best college food in the nation according to the princeton review. No big deal.

    Will learn a lot

    I have not been a student here yet, but I am enrolled for next fall and I have visited a few of the classes. What I take from Wheaton is yes you will learn above and beyond most colleges because as you are learning about your studies in your major, you are also learning about your faith. Wheaton teaches you how to take your profession and use it in the way God has planned for you. Also when I stay in the dorms the students are constantly studying so there must be a lot to learn from your studies alone.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the actual town of Wheaton has a very low crime rate and is a safe area in general, campus security still makes it a priority to provide supervision and availability around the clock.. They are an outstanding department and are proactive to e-mail students with any updates that can help them with their daily safety.

    Greek Life

    As Wheaton is a Christian college, it doesn't seek to promote the Greek system and the types of things that tend to go along with that type of environment. There are plenty of clubs and activities that do a great job to take the place of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wheaton's Student Leadership is constantly looking for new and creative opportunities for students to participate outside of academics. There are too many clubs and activities to list for this survey, but let's just say that if you have almost any kind of interest, there's a market of individuals at Wheaton who are lined up to participate and lead others to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Wheaton is great for students who want to be sharpened intellectually as well as spiritually. It also provides an atmosphere that encourages students to be well-rounded while also pursuing other aspects of life outside their immediate environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Near the end of the school year, each class creates a film about the school year. Afterwards, the films are voted on by the faculty and student body regarding the best or most creative film developed. Almost the entire school attends and is a highlight of the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton's class sizes are small, which I find as a real strength. Basically, you can't hide in auditorium seating hoping that a teacher won't notice that you're not there or that you haven't read your assignment. If you attend Wheaton, there is no hiding. It is a school that is purposeful and strategic in doing everything to educate you while also encouraging students to participate and get involved.

    What to do for fun

    I play the trumpet for different bands on campus and also served on two committees at the school that encouraged me to get even more involved with finding joy in helping others or improving the school. On the weekends, many of the students take the train into downtown Chicago and attend the concerts or other events that a large city always has to offer. It's always fun to go with a group, find a favorite eatery, and then be able to travel back to school together, just hang out and form stronger friendships.

    Food and Dining

    Wheaton College has been rated #1 in the United States among colleges for its food and dining. This is a five-star program that provides an unbelievable variety, healthy food choices, and an inviting and friendly atmosphere. Students look forward to going there every day for every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Although the school has been in existence as long, if not longer than most Ivy League schools, the dorms have been renovated to match today's standards of comfort. Each dorm has an RA who takes an interest in your life and is also there to help you or guide you if you need that kind of assistance. Different dorm floors have purposeful social gatherings to help students meet and get to know one another better.

    Academic Rigor

    Before I attended Wheaton College, I had heard that it was considered the Ivy League of Christian colleges. I believe this to be true in every category of learning and highly recommend this school for those who want to experience an academically rigorous environment, while also learning from teachers who provide grace and understanding during your college years. Wheaton has a perfect balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that Wheaton is a school that is going to expose you to different religious philosophies. While entering there with a preconceived denominational perspective is not a bad thing, one must also remain open and not get discouraged as these foundational stances may be shaken as professors and other students challenge you on your apologetics. I have found myself to be strengthened in the process, but you need to be ready to embrace it.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is an educational institution that challenges students at the highest academic level while also pointing them in the direction to learn the Bible and live a Christ-like life. Teachers are intelligent, educated from some of the most prestigious schools in America, and also have a desire and love to truly teach their subject to students. I highly recommend this college to those who want to pursue academic rigor while also pursing a love for the Lord in their lives.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very active, what some may consider too active. If you park without a permit or climb a tree, you are bound to be caught. The good news is that people feel very safe. There were many times when I was able to leave my study location in the school's student center and run to the bathroom without the slightest fear of my laptop of backpack being stolen.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    An activities/club fair at the beginning of the school is almost overwhelming, there are so many different clubs to become involved with. Chapel presentations of all the oversees, spring break, and summer ministries that happen really inspire you to take part in what has become a legacy of service by Wheaton students.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to work hard, study lots, and give the glory to God when success follows.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whenever a couple at Wheaton, or alumni of Wheaton, get engaged, they go up the tower to ring the bell in the tower of Blanchard Hall.

    What to do for fun

    Play frisbee on the football field, run through the fountain at night, walk through downtown Wheaton (take a look at the popcorn shop built in a 3ft wide alley), play ping-pong in the dorm or Beamer student center, visit the wardrobe that inspired C.S. Lewis to write the Chronicles of Narnia, see the desk on which JRR Tolkien wrote The Hobbit, or visit one of the many chapels on campus.

    Food and Dining

    In 2011, Wheaton was ranked #1 for Princeton Review's Best College Food. Also throughout the year, the food service throws special celebrations- new years, the superbowl, and the end of school all have special mealtime celebrations. The only downside is a small variety of options at Saturday night dinners in comparison to the rest of the week.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun; as a freshman you participate in activities such as meals with your brother/sister floor, roulettes (where your roommate gets you a date for a floor outing), and floor trips to the city. The dorm truly becomes a place of community and friendship.

    Academic Rigor

    It is occasionally joked that Wheaton is the Harvard of Christian schools. While I cannot tell of the rigor of Harvard for comparison, I can say that almost every class at Wheaton gave heavy amounts of homework and had very high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read and really understand the Community Covenant before applying; know the sort of community that is being sought and the sacrifices that are being made by the entire student body. If accepted, try to attend Wheaton Passage, a program before orientation where you meet professors and other incoming students.

    In three sentences

    A community of God-serving Christians. A place where the professors teach their own classes and want to learn your name; they want to see you succeed. Where friends become family, a very close-knit community.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wheaton is a community of Christians. Our faith plays a central role in all that we do. If you are looking for a school where your friends will challenge and encourage you to grow in your walk with Christ, then I would encourage you to apply!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you visit (which I also recommend) make sure to stop by the Wade Center, right across the street from the Chapel. They have many of CS Lewis's and JRR Tolkien's original writings, the desks that they used to write their books, and the original Narnia wardrobe.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of on campus activities, often planed by College Union, which are generally tons of fun. As well as lots of different clubs and IMs to get involved with. The music conservatory regularly puts on concerts free to students. More over Chicago is just a 45 min train ride a way, or downtown Wheaton, for window shopping or just to get off campus, is just a 5 min walk away.

    Food and Dining

    As far as campus food goes its some of the best I've had. It's not your typical cafeteria type of food, they have it broken down in to several stations, like classic American food, Asian food, Latin American food, pizza and pasta, and deserts. Saturday nights don't usually have the best options and Sunday nights the dinning hall is closed. Besides the main dinning hall, Saga as students call it, there aren't many on campus options for food. Your meal plan works at the Stupe, which sells burgers, fries, and salads, as well as Sams, which sell coffee, smoothies, ice cream, sandwiches and the like. Other than that you have to walk to downtown Wheaton for food

    Dorm Life

    I love living in my dorm, I wouldn't have it any other way. The girls on my floor are some of my closest friends. We hangout in each others rooms all the time. Wheaton has two freshman dorm, Fisher and Smith-Traber. I live in Smith-Tramber which is known more for its community. The dorm floors are NOT co-ed, meaning we have guys floors and girls floor. The only time the opposite gender is allowed on your floor is during open hours, two nights a week. Each of the floors are paired with and opposite gender floor, called bro-sis floors. They try to plan a lot of bro-sis activities, like bro-sis dinner, or worship, or trip in to Chicago, or any other fun spontaneous activities on campus. The RAs are also awesome. My RA is tons of fun and loves to spend time with us getting to know each of the girls on her floor, checking in on us and praying for us.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a different type of homework in college than you have in high school. You really have to understand the material to be able to do well in a class. Do your reading homework and come prepared to discuss it in class. The class size are small enough for everyone to participate and the professors encourage that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start working on your application early, unlike most other schools I applied for, Wheaton did NOT take the Common App. Be your self on your application, don't try to search for the right answer or figure out the answer that they are looking for. Answer the questions honestly, and if Wheaton is the place for you, then you'll get in. They want students who full heartily want to be here, and if that is true of you, then it will show on your application.

    In three sentences

    I love going to Wheaton, the community here is amazing. However, Wheaton isn't for everyone, you have to want to be here. Our Christian faith plays a central role in all that we do

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Challengers, diligent workers, athletic and academic mixture, religious students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you put your time in meaningful extracurricular activities. Have a balance in your college life with academics, athletics, clubs and/or organizations, and peers. Invest in the faculty members!

    Bang for the buck

    Although quite expensive, Wheaton is the most prestigious Evangelical school in the United States. It may seem as if you are throwing your money away, but what you receive intellectually and personally is an investment for the future.

    Am learning a lot

    Wheaton will challenge you in every aspect of your life, as long as you invest your time effectively.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The are quite a few intramural sports teams to try. Or if you a musician, the Wheaton College ensembles (Symphonic Band, Symphony Orchestra, Women's Chorale, Men's Glee Club, etc.) are incredible, and you don't have to be a music major to join (the band is about 50-50 music majors to non-music majors). And each of these ensembles have fun events of their own (laser tag, bowling, picnics, banquets). There isn't much dancing on campus, but there is a swing club that is a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining at Wheaton has been ranked as the best in the country. The dining hall is excellent and provides a great variety of options from gluten-free foods to Asian to classics. In addition, the campus has two more food locations, Sams and the Stupe, both serving good food (Stupe burgers are famous) as well as a great place to hang out with friends. Plus, the surrounding area in Wheaton contains many other dining options and restaurants, often frequented by students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms provide a thriving community, with lots of floor events and activities that will help you to build meaningful friendships. The Wheaton College community covenant bans alcohol (among other things), so don't expect a big party atmosphere, but for many students, myself included, that is a big plus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a liberal arts school, Wheaton college will teach you to think in a variety of ways, and in a more integrated way as well, no matter what your major is. Professors I know at Wheaton College (the profs at Wheaton are amazing by the way) who have experience teaching elsewhere frequently say that Wheaton College students know how to work hard and come to class prepared to work hard, more than students at perhaps many other places. The program is rigorous but I have never found it overwhelming. You will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wheaton college has a great connection program for interested prospective students. In it you can attend classes (or sit in on rehearsals if you are interested in the conservatory), talk to students, visit the dining hall, and even stay in the dorms for a night if you need to.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is a good option for students who are are interested in a program that emphasizes faith and learning. It offers a great environment for learning and individual growth. The quality of the instruction is very good and students who are willing to work hard will be rewarded.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Very trusting campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Club sports, ministry opportunities, sign language club, foosball club, dances...

    Great for these types of students

    Committed Christians, strong academically, able to get along with others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions= brother-sister floor events, the kingdom run, rat-a-tats, roulettes, the mastodon march. Locations= the bell tower in Blanchard hall, traditionally rung when a couple becomes engaged.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of bang, but lots of buck. Financial aid is available.

    What to do for fun

    Chicago, downtown Wheaton, dances, improv show, concerts, intra mural sports, club sports...

    Food and Dining

    Voted best college food in the nation by the Princeton review.

    Dorm Life

    Great people. Great activities. There are rules, but they are easy to live with. There are always great people to go to for help.

    Academic Rigor

    Wheaton College is known as the Harvard of Christian Colleges. This is a good description, but the classes are not impossible and help is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the great opportunities Wheaton provides, but leave time for sleep, friends and study.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton has a great community of Christian students. The professors are brilliant and helpful. The academics are challenging.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There's no Greek life, sorry. But you don't need Greek life to have a good time!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have SO many traditions on campus: bro-sis dorm raids, the mastodon march (parade put on by the upperclassmen to welcome freshmen during orientation week), kingdom run (sprint across campus on the night of the first snow), and the bench rivalry (a cement bench is warred over between the junior and senior classes) are just a few.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton is expensive, but it prepares you well not just for a career after college, but for LIFE after college.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I stay on campus a lot- mostly just hanging out in the lobby, watching movies, playing games, etc. When we do want to (or have a spare moment to) get off campus, downtown Wheaton has a bunch of places to eat and shops to look at. If we're up for an adventure, there is a train station for the Metra at the edge of the campus, which will take you into downtown Chicago for pretty cheap.

    Food and Dining

    Anderson Commons, more affectionately called Saga, serves pretty great food. Not that it's a five-star restaurant, but compared to most college campuses, I think we have a pretty good food service. They always have multiple options and are very accommodating to people with health issues (my roommate is gluten-free and they always have tons of options for her!). We also have the Stupe, which serves burgers and hot dogs to go (I love their french fries!), and Sam's, which is our campus coffee/ ice cream shop.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is wonderful! I have loved getting to know the girls on my hall (in Smith-Traber) and on my brother floor. The dorms are not co-ed, which allows for privacy that I greatly value, but is connected by a lobby and allows for open floors which still facilitates guy-girl hangout time. A lot of my friends are from my dorm and my hall specifically. It's a great environment to simply do life together and learn through experiences with the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't listen to what some people say about the lesser rigor of liberal arts colleges- you'll have to work hard to earn any A's you get here! The academics are tough but are also designed to expose you to greater world issues and invite you to make connections between disciplines to solve problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about your personal and spiritual growth along with your academic growth, then you should be here. If you want to attain all of this growth in an intellectually stimulating, caring, and supportive environment, then you really need to be here!

    In three sentences

    Even though I have only been here for one year, I have absolutely loved every minute of my time at Wheaton College. The academics are challenging and all of the professors are very caring. The community that I have found there has quickly become a second family to me, one that supports me and challenges me to grow personally and spiritually.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians who want to know the bible, who desire to be intellectual, and who want an awesome college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Wheaton. If you come, take a class with Dr. Root.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes.

    Am enjoying being here

    So much fun. It is close to Chicago which is nice. The people are amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are brilliant, Chapel is amazing. You learn just as much outside of the classroom as you do inside.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone willing to put in some work for their classes and is content to live within a Christian environment for four years, accepting the implicit restrictions that come as a part of that.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of this is in the friends you make. A good community can mean plenty of just hanging out (games/movies/talking). And the city of Chicago is just a 40 minute train ride away. There are also options in the nearby towns. All that being said, sometimes it can a little too uneventful, and there isn't a typical party culture here.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall has been rated pretty high by Princeton Review, while Stupe(burgers/salads) and Sams (sandwhiches, ice cream, smoothies) provide some good options for when you need something else. Although, it can still get old, just like anywhere else.

    Dorm Life

    I had two great years in the dorms, but it can be hit or miss. It really depends on the community you get on your dorm each year, but as I say that, many of closest friends come from people who I shared a floor with.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely pushes you to succeed and you cannot skate by. Although to be honest I can't compare it to anywhere else, since this the only place I've been.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a well rounded application. If you're considering coming, try to understand the commitment that is Wheaton's community covenant, because for some students it will start to strain on them.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is an great residential college which gives you many opportunities to grow and be involved, while receiving a good education. An experience at Wheaton is what you put into it, affected by whether or not you are willing to take part in any of the many options for organizations, summer programs, and general community that's present, or whether or not you can accept being at a Christian school. It's not for everybody, but there's an excellent experience to be had if you'e willing to be a part of it.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each floor is paired with either a brother or sister floor. Twice a semester, the floors throw late night parties for each other called raids. They're basically a mix of food, fun, strange costumes, and random games. They're a great way to get to see sides of your fellow classmates that you wouldn't normally witness, and they make for some crazy good memories!

    What to do for fun

    Get ice cream with your friends at Sam's, prank the other floors in your dorm, pop some popcorn and throw a movie night. Or, take the Metra into Chicago for a day--there's always plenty to do there!

    Food and Dining

    Rated #1 in America for best cafeteria food. No kidding!

    Dorm Life

    The fellowship and camraderie here is amazing. Whether you're just hanging out with friends, throwing a party for another floor, or coming down to the lobby to find that someone has procured several giant bags of doughnuts and is sharing them with everyone, there's always something going on or someone to hang with.

    Academic Rigor

    They aim to challenge students to grow in every area, and want them to gain knowledge in subjects other than their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you put your best foot forward: go on a campus tour, sign up for a Connection weekend, talk to current students, and definitely introduce yourself to the admissions staff.

    In three sentences

    A vibrant community. They're actively encouraging diversity. And they're right next to Chicago!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are swing dance clubs, intramural sports, the annual square dance, hanging out at the cafe Sam's, heading to downtown Wheaton, just a few minutes' walk, for coffee or frozen yogurt--and Chicago is only a train away!

    Food and Dining

    The Princeton Review, 2012, called it the best in the country!

    Academic Rigor

    Wheaton is known for its top-notch programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wheaton isn't as scary as many make it out to be! Though it's somewhat difficult to get in (being, after all, the best Christian school in the country) and also expensive -it's completely worth it!

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is truly a wonderful place to be for committed Christians seeking both a faith-based and top-quality education. Respected by its secular competitors, Wheaton stands out from among the myriad of Christian colleges--earnest to educate, not indoctrinate, and stimulate learning and thought. Its professors invest time into student relationships, and there is a genuine atmosphere of both welcoming and acceptance.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My only problem with Wheaton is that there is very little to do in Wheaton itself. Although the major city of Chicago is very accessible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you are looking for a party school.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is for the serious Christians who want to grow. The academics and learning from Profs who are committed to their students and to God. An often overused phrase, Wheaton tries to epitomize their motto of, For Christ and His Kingdom.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Wheaton. There are public safety crew riding around our campus all hours of the day and night to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to choose from. Whatever you are interested in, there is a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for all types of students. The Body of Christ is a diverse group and so is Wheaton's campus.

    What to do for fun

    Name what you want to do and you can do it. Being so close to Chicago makes it all possible.

    Food and Dining

    Our dinning hall is amazing and when it is closed there are two other places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are clean, spacious and full of fun activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging, but there are plenty of resources available free of charge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard and put in the study time. Be willing to be honest with yourself because you will be asked questions that will cause you to grow as a person if you want to grow. Get ready to read.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton is a place to learn through a liberal arts style through Christ. I have grown as a student, musician, and a person thanks to the faculty and staff. Wheaton is definitely the place to go if you want to be you in a classroom and not just a number.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While Public Safety on campus is very active, it's also almost unbelievable how safe the city of Wheaton is in general. People say that Public Safety is a little too attentive at times, not letting students pull many pranks or anything. But outside of Wheaton, police officers are known to LOVE Wheaton students and let many tickets slide once finding out you are a student at Wheaton.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Wheaton, but because of its stress on intentional community, many compare certain groups like the Men's Glee Club and the floor culture to the closest thing to a fraternity on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to get involved in and ministries to give towards. I have only ever heard good things about the spring break/summer ministries that the campus holds and have never heard about any regrets from anybody willing to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, Determined, Well-Rounded, Christian.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orientation is really something else at Wheaton. There are events like the March of the Mastodon which is basically a huge parade that the upperclassmen throw for the incoming freshmen where they simply have fun and show their love for the incoming students. In return, there is an All-School Communion where the whole school shares in community together and the whole Freshmen class get to sing their class song to the upperclassmen.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite pricey, but unregrettably worth it all.

    What to do for fun

    As a Christian college, Wheaton College has no real party scene, but students seem to find their own ways of having fun through the culture of the dorms and the college in general. Location-wise, it is a 30-40 minute train ride into Chicago which places it far from the city where it's away from the busy-ness, but close enough where it isn't a hassle to visit.

    Food and Dining

    Ranked #1 in the nation. Need I say more?

    Dorm Life

    Wheaton has its own dorm culture filled with activities and raids that are held once a semester per floor that is focused on building intentional community. With its dodgeball tournaments, coffeehouse nights, and valentine's day events, it really is a culture that is specific to this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Wheaton is a highly competitive place known and joked about amongst its students to be a school full of overachievers and high school valedictorians.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wheaton is equally concerned about your essays, church involvement, and extracurricular activities than they are about your GPA or SAT score. It is an institution which seeks out well rounded, driven, Christian students and is concerned about what they have to offer to the college as a whole rather than strictly academically.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is a campus grounded in integrating strong faith and academics. It is an AMAZING place for those willing to take its Christian vision seriously. It is a place where the classes, professors, and culture will really challenge you to grow into a whole and effective individual.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of fun things to do on campus, like banquets and socials. Downtown Wheaton is also a really fun atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about comparing yourself to other students. Many of the students here are very accomplished, but so are you! Be confident and don't be intimidated by the talent around you.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is an incredible community of believers. Faculty and students alike are talented, driven individuals who are surprisingly kind and caring. Wheaton is a beautiful place to grow academically, socially and spiritually.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town of Wheaton is very very safe, and we have a good public safety system.

    Greek Life

    non-existent :P

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different things to get involved in!!

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, Christian, fun-loving, passionate

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dorms do this cool thing called raids, in which your brother or sister floor picks a theme and plans activities to fit the theme for the opposite floor to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton has a good financial aid system, and my experience so far has been worth so much more than I have paid. I absolutely adore this school!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities to on campus for fun! It really depends on what you want to be involved in. We have many singing groups, clubs, and other things to enhance your time.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetite is our company and they make great food! It can get a little old eating similar things but if you are bored there is good food in the town of Wheaton which isn't a very far walk.

    Dorm Life

    If you visit it helps give you an idea of where you would like to stay. The floor that I am on is very close and we have a lot of fun together but it is also quiet enough to study if you want to do so in your room or in the lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    You can challenge yourself as much as you want with certain tracks, majors, extracurriculars, and amount of credits. It is all up to you how much you want to get of the school academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and stay in the dorms to get a good feel of the atmosphere and go to the classes to see what it is really like. The campus visit is crucial to knowing where you want to go and my visit sold me on the school. Get to meet people that are in your prospective major and ask them about their experience.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College has an amazing community of Christians in which we all value academics and see our success as a way of glorifying God.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some of us leave our dorm rooms open even when we're gone. Nuff' said.

    Greek Life

    There isn't Greek life, but dorm life makes up for it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus- I get the feeling that a lot of them are community service-oriented, which may make the variety seem homogeneous if you your heart if directed towards that.

    Great for these types of students

    I think people who come here really do need to have some degree of strong personal faith. With all the Christian things around you, it's so easy to fall off of track, and you really got to be committed with your walk with God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this little chapel in lower beamer called Gold Star. Not a lot of people know it, so it's a great place to have some God time if you happen to be around the place. That place is so quiet that it makes your ears buzz after a couple of minutes, and it really just allows you to relax and focus on God.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton is expensive, I feel guilty every time I have to buy something that isn't completely necessary. However, I do believe Wheaton is a good investment for the development of me as a follower of God.

    What to do for fun

    Los Burritos for sure- stuffing a bunch of college students in cars far beyond the legal capacity limit at 1 AM in the morning to go eat Mexican fast food is our idea of a good time. It's the only place where students from this Christian College and potential drug-addicts hang out under the same roof. The food tastes great, but is kinda sketch. There are rumors of Los cooks attempting to sell burritos with weed for 10 dollars.

    Food and Dining

    Despite being first in the nation a couple years ago, the food doesn't exactly give you tonguegasms every time you take a bite. However, the quality of the food is extremely impressive for having to feed thousands of people. It's good enough that I can go to saga and expect to come out satisfied just about every time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves (at least at Smaber) are a little bit old, but the people make it up and beyond. My floor is so tight, and we're like brothers. We leave our doors open and can pop in whatever time talk. It's hard to put dorm life to justice :)

    Academic Rigor

    the workloads heavy, but I've been able to get my work done, sleep 9 hours on most nights, and maybe even have a social life...(?)

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep your spiritual life in check. You may feel like there's no need to be the light of the world when you're a flashlight in the middle of a floodlight- but it's so easy coast and find yourself completely off track in your spiritual walk with God a couple of weeks or months later.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton teaches you how live for Christ not just theologically, but also in everyday ways such as how we live and interact with people. Wheaton is a life-changing school, and even after a single semester, I feel like I've already been subtlety yet intrinsically changed for the better.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town of Wheaton is a very family-friendly place and the campus is no exception. The Christian community of the school also helps with the security of the campus. I have never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greakk life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a commuter and employee part-time, I don't have a lot of time for after-school activities. But most of my friends on campus are involved in intramural sports, Bible studies, other ministries, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students, because of the academic challenge of the school, are usually those that did well in their high school. But the school is also just great for those that aren't sure about their faith and are just trying to figure out life. The faculty and students are great for guidence.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The official mascot of the school is thunder. The unofficial...and more recognized...mascot is the Science building's Mastodon.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton College is relatively expensive but, you get what you pay for. They give out a lot of money depending on you situation and it is very comparable to other college options.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a lot of activites and sporting events, especially over the weekend. But the campus is also right next to the railroad station and it is a very easy ride to downtown Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    Wheaton College has been rated as having the #1 food in the country. It does not disappoint. It is like eating at a restraunt for every meal.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so I have not lived in the dorm but I have stayed many days and nights in the buildings with friends. The Christian community is the perfect place to find a dorm family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging. In high school, I was in many AP classes and I was hoping to find a college with a challenge. Wheaton definitely meets that standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    It really helps to become involved around the school. The upperclassmen love the freshman, so don't be afraid to really step out of your comfort zone. It is a great way to meet other students and faculty.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is an incredible Christian community that surrounds, loves, and challenges you. The students and faculty are some of the most gracious people that I've known. The school does everything in its power to help teach integration of faith into every aspect of life.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe up in here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and activity fair at the beginning of each year to introduce students to what it has to offer, and there is a wide variety of things to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, accepting of others, God loving

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kingdom Run- On the first snow of the year, the men run to the other side of campus wearing very little. Raids- Guys and Girl floors raid/do somthing creative twice each semester to the opposite gender's floor.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton College looks expensive on paper, but each student gets around, or at least $12,000 towards tuition. Much more aid can be granted as well to those who qualify (so don't be afraid to apply!). Campus life and academic life are totaly worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to concerts (mostly free), go to downtown Wheaton, quick and easy trips to Chicago, Friday night improv shows, attend some late night lectures that you find interesting, go to plays/theater, talent shows, coffeehouses (performing bands), Nerf-gun wars, etc. . .

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and there is a large variety of choices to chose from each day.

    Dorm Life

    The people are awesome. Brother and Sister floors hang out often. Awesome and creative raids. Great friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic portion is very challenging, but with some effort you learn a ton!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard to maintain good grades, but make time for friends and go out of your way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College has the best community ever! Everyone is loving, accepting, and has a passion for Jesus Christ. Academics are challenging, but the professors are awesome!

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The most dangerous thing we can do here is jaywalk.

    Greek Life

    None. Men's Glee Club, though, is very much like a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to do some random activity, Wheaton's probably got it.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like having really good friends, good food, and don't mind cold weather that much, come. You probably need to be an overachiever, but I don't consider myself to be one and I get A's, so you're probably fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. Floating. If two people you know of the opposite sex are having an awkward meal in the middle of the cafeteria, drop a two-straw root-beer float on their table. 2. Kingdom Run. During the brutal winter of Wheaton, the brave few run with minimal to no clothing from their dorms to the Kingdom sign on the far end of campus and back. 3. This isn't really a tradition, but the football team shows up at all of the basketball games to cheer on Wheaton and heckle the other team. Hate or love their behavior, everyone must agree that they're absolutely hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    For the quality of education, housing, and benefits we Wheaties get, the cost is super low. I mean, it's still a frickin' huge bill, but it's small compared to what others pay.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym to work out, ball, or go rock climbing. Hang out in the dorms and visit the sister floors or play retro video games (like Smash Bros). Walk to downtown Wheaton and get deep dish pizza at Gino's East. Take the train into Chicago and do Chicago things.

    Food and Dining

    If you're looking for good food at a college, Wheaton takes the cake. It was recently ranked #1 in the nation for cafeteria food. Compared to other college cafeterias, ours rocks.

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely wonderful. I'm living on Fischer 2 East. The floor community here completely makes up for our lack of greek life here at Wheaton. As I said in the tips section, though, don't apply to Traber/Smith. Their dorm life is lame.

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion, it's not that hard to get a good grade here. My friends, however, would strongly disagree. Anyways, the classes here are solid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply. And when you have to choose housing for freshman year, choose Fischer Hall, not Traber/Smith.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton is special because of its community. The people you'll meet here are absolutely wonderful. The weather is SO COLD, though, especially for a guy like me who's lived in Texas and India.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chicago, downtown Wheaton, studying....

    Food and Dining

    #1 in the country. Good for vegitarians.

    Dorm Life

    Wheaton prides itself on being a community and the dorms are a place where that happens. From Bible studies to fun things, you get to know your dorm mates.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is a solidly Christian school with an emphasis on faith, community, and academics. My faith in Christ grew significantly while a student at Wheaton.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. In my opinion, this is one of the best things about Wheaton. I don't mind that most (most!) of my friends aren't wrecking their livers on Keystone Light each weekend, not to mention the disgusting traditions of Greek Life.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent, healthy food compared to most college. Ranked fifteenth in the nation I believe.

    Dorm Life

    I did not like my freshman dorm, hoping next year will be better. It's a kind of false community.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors know what they're talking about, and I've had several life-changing classes already.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wheaton will not answer all questions, rather, you will learn to ask better ones. Many students develop an unhealthy cynicism towards the church and Christian culture here. Avoid that. Ethnic minorities have it rough here, be warned. The winters aren't as bad as Minnesota. This place will educate you! That's why you should come here! All that stuff doesn't matter! Get out of the dorm. Do theater. Do a sport. Make a few good friends, not a lot of shallow ones.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is an exceedingly insulated Christian environment. This can be beneficial, in that students can make the most of their education. It's still necessary to escape the bubble frequently in order to remain connected to the world at large.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super duper safe, almost silly safe.

    What to do for fun

    You kind of have to make stuff up, there's not any partying so you have to think on your feet.

    Food and Dining

    Nationally ranked every year.

    Dorm Life

    Great Community.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about how you really feel about religion before you go, it's a huge part of everything there.

    In three sentences

    The education is great. The food is delicious. The community is awesome.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town of Wheaton is extremely safe. I have never walked around late at night feeling that my life was in danger. The campus police are always driving around and they are there to give rides back and forth across campus if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much to do here! So many things to be involved in. Every quad there are a ton of Intramural sports to be involved in such as basketball, dodgeball, soccer, ultimate frisbee, volleyball and many more. Any kind of club you can think of there is a chance its here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to be challenged academically and spiritually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bench!! You'll have to ask Wheaton grads, but the bench is a tradition at Wheaton that has been going on for years and still does to this day. Every year one class has the bench, either the junior class or senior class and the only way to get it is to find it and steal it. It is extremly heavy to carry. The grade holding the bench has to show it twice a year to at least 500 people or more and it always has to be at least a mile away from campus. It gets crazy!!

    Bang for the buck

    Wheaton can seem a little pricy, but I would say you definitely get the bang for your buck. The friends you'll meet, the professors, the spiritual guidance and just the overall experience will all make up for money you are spending. It is well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Theres plenty! Chicago is located about 40 minutes away from campus and there is a lot to do in a big city like that. Intramural sports are one way to get really involved and have a fun time. When the weather is nice out, the soccer field, tennis courts, volleyball courts and anything outside is usually going off! The workout area is incredible as well if your looking to get jacked or lose some weight.

    Food and Dining

    A few years ago we were ranked number one by the Princeton Review, but nonetheless its cafeteria food. I love eating there, but its always good to get off campus and dine.

    Dorm Life

    There are two options as a freshman for where you can stay. As a guy either Fischer or Traber, and for a girl either Fischer or Smith. The dorm community is incredible. Your freshman dorm is where most people find their best friends for their whole time at college. As a floor, there are several activities that are put together and the dorm does a lot of intentional hangout time for the first couple weeks to settle you in and meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are tough here. You really need to work hard if you want to be rewarded with a high grade. The profs are amazing though and will take time out of thier busy schedule to help you with anything your struggling with!

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is a life changing experience. A place where students will be challenged and pushed in their faith and their academics. There is no other school that places as much notice on the importance of the integration of faith and learning

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I loved the tour I had! The people were friendly, and I had a great discussion with some of the teachers.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're on point.

    Clubs and Activities

    You won't be at a loss here! There are international clubs, bands and choirs and opera and theater, Christian outreach opportunities, intramurals, a Dr. Who club, et cetera.

    Great for these types of students

    Wheaton is for anyone! Most people love God, which is awesome, and everyone's personality and special characteristics make it wonderful. Be yourself, and place your identity in Jesus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each floor has its own unique introductory or birthday traditions. It'd take to long to explain everybody's, but they are fun, crazy, and they get you out of your comfort zone! That's a good thing.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun activities on campus; take advantage of them. From the bro-sis/ floor events to the fun day with a bouncy obstacle course to the square dancing and sports games and music shows, you won't run out of options.

    Food and Dining

    Saga has a good variety of delicious food. You can eat healthily if you want, and they can provide for your individual dietary needs. The Stupe has amazing fries and a delicious veggie burger! Sam's is another good option if you want a cafe setting.

    Dorm Life

    Go Fischer!! The community is fantastic, at least on my floor, and we interact well with our brother floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors care more about students' growing and learning rather than letter grades. They tailor their courses to maximize learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply! And make sure to set aside quality time with God amid the crazy campus life. Try to sleep, too.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton is an amazing place because of its community among students, professors, and staff. The adults want us to seek God more than anything else, and they want us to grow and learn. It's awesome.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chicago only 40 mins away via the metra! The train station is within a short walking distance from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    I like the idea of laundry facilities included in the cost

    Academic Rigor

    I'm looking forward to digging in and learning!

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College has an amazing campus, it's close to the train station and the downtown Wheaton area. My dad and I had lunch in the cafeteria and was amazed by the variety and choices. The Admissions office is so friendly and put me at ease when I had my interview.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wheaton College is a pretty safe campus and the surrounding neighborhood is nearly all nice suburban families. You can call public safety 24/7.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any Greek houses at Wheaton College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of different clubs and activities you can get involved in at Wheaton, all of them will be displayed in a club fair a couple weeks into the beginning of school. There are clubs for people interested in International Justice Mission, dance, racial clubs, politics, singing, improv/drama, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Wheaton is great for students who want to get a great education in a academically respected school and also desire to pursue their Christian faith more seriously.

    What to do for fun

    Wheaton College has a variety of activities for everyone. There are dance productions, improv shows, talent shows, and coffeehouses to special speakers on various topics (eg. sex trafficking, politics, etc.). There are also several dances that vary in terms of formality.

    Food and Dining

    Wheaton was rated number one for best dining only a few years ago. There is always a variety of food to get at the cafeteria. Most of the food is healthy and locally obtained. We have a cafe beneath the cafeteria where you can get Starbucks and ice cream. We also have something called Stupe, which is where you can get awesome burgers, hot dogs, chicken sandwiches, etc. and fresh hot regular fries and sweet potato fries (which are cut from raw potatoes right in front of you).

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has their own culture. My dorm is the more lively of the bunch. All dorms have bro/sis events. There are several fun activities to get involved in such as floor raids, roulette, and dances. But it's better to get involved early if you're going to get involved in dorm life at all so you establish yourself in a group before everyone finds their little niche.

    Academic Rigor

    There is an expectation of excellence. Wheaton College is a top school for a reason; there is more reading, and more qualitative and quantitative work that is required. But there are also amazing opportunities academically (eg. volunteering at mental clinics for a Psychology class).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to come to Wheaton College and not be the smartest kid at school anymore; there are a lot of top students here. Bring plenty of warm clothes, the winds are extremely bitter in the winter time.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton College is a Christian liberal arts college with a rich history spanning over a century. The academics at Wheaton College are rigorous with great professors. There is also a big focus on faith as well as academics.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wheaton Campus Public Safety, quite honestly, provides the best security system. This means, however, that you won't get away with some good pranks you may have thought of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wheaton offers a lot of group activities, and the time commitment varies for each group. However, there is rarely a theme that none of the Wheaton clubs offer, so there is definitely a good chance that you will find at least one group that regards your regular hobby.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are overwhelmed with academic stress or other kinds of mental burdens, there is an absolutely quiet chapel hall in lower beamer called Gold Star.

    Food and Dining

    I mean, we've been on the Top 5 College Food rank for a while!

    Dorm Life

    I guess it depends; since Wheaton is not a huge school, there is only two choices of buildings for freshmen. However, both of them are very community-driven, and since RAs are obliged to be individually caring, it would be somewhat difficult to not adjust to the dorm life. After freshman year, the choices of dorms grow wider.

    Academic Rigor

    Wheaton is not only the most academically rigorous schools among Christian colleges, but also has competitively advanced educational systems compared to other well-known secular colleges. Its liberal arts education and Christian policies are well integrated, and Wheaton College drives students to strive for the better understanding of liberal arts education and deep Christian thoughts.

    In three sentences

    Requires deep thinking, encourages active faith, and forms intentional communities.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Leave your car unlocked. That's how safe it is.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be challenged and want to develop an intelligent Christian Perspective no matter their choice of vocation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Blackberry Market is a great coffee shop not to far off of campus. the sophomore class always has a couch that gets stolen every year.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely an expensive school, so you should really consider if there are cheaper options. However, the education is phenomenal and campus is life is really nice.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out

    Food and Dining

    The food is phenomenal!!! There are many options and it is easy to continue to eat a healthy and balanced diet while you are on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite comfortable and well kept compared to other colleges I've seen. The freshmen dorms are the rowdiest and often floors have a lot of activities that they do together. Upper classmen dorms tend to be much quieter and you'll most likely see people studying in their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    This truly is an incredibly difficult school. I find that the amount of reading is insane and you will be challenged to think, read, and write a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the dorms, that is the place where most people make friends. Make the most of every opportunity: participate in sports or clubs, go on every trip you can and study abroad if possible.

    In three sentences

    Wheaton is an intensely academic school, but it does seem a bit odd socially. I've found that I'm receiving an absolutely incredible education from professors who are passionate and caring. I just wouldn't suggest coming to Wheaton if you're interested in partying.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much happens that isn't safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Pretty much a club or activity for anything you want to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Type A smart students, or students who can take the pressure of being around really smart people all the time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Air Jam- dance competition show President's Ball- Fancy dance at Palmer House

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive and really do need scholarships, but it's worth it because Wheaton is a really good university.

    What to do for fun

    Random dance or talent shows or go into Chicago for some clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Very healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's can be too much in your business in lower-class dorms but in upper-class dorms they aren't, but they can be kinda sleepy.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a challenge but you know that you are being taught by the best of the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and make sure you want to commit to a christian community.

    In three sentences

    It has stellar Professors who have often written the text books. The campus community is welcome, warm, and inviting. There are great opportunities to be involved in athletics, of which I am a part of Track and Field and the Cross Country teams.