Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wheelock College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is THE school for anyone who wants to work with Education, Child Life, or Social Work, of children in families in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come for an overnight visit, and try to find scholarships, because it is a private school.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a strong community here, and everyone is friendly. There is so many ways to get involved and so many things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are all really interesting and the professors know a lot and are great.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like to write, have plenty of scholarships already, and like a small setting. This school also recently became co-ed, so the demographics are pretty sharp (97%female, 3%male).

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a private college, so tuition reflects this; however, if you plan to study Child Life this is the best school in the country in which to do just that!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in education, social work, or child life. Students who don't mind a small school. Students who really love to get involved with extra curriculars because there are so many great ones here! Students who want to help make a difference in the lives of children and families.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pretty much what I said above when it comes to costs. Also, apply early action so the school notices you before all of the regular decision applicants apply. You get to find out earlier and then you can look into each of your schools more. Definitely do an overnight or a campus tour because they are really helpful and give great insights to the school!

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best school possible to go to if you are interested in social work, education or child life. While it is a private school and does cost a bit to go to, just get all of the scholarships you can and get a small loan like I did, it's so worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small so it's really easy to get from one place to another. There is a great community feel here and everyone is so friendly. There are so many different ways to get involved on campus and with the other surrounding colleges. Being at a small school in a great city is like having the best of both worlds!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are so interesting and the teachers are great! They make the classes fun and they are always there to go above and beyond to help you.

  • 08/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here at Wheelock College. You get to know many students on campus and everyone is friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and the professors are very convenient to making appointments if you need any help. There are tutors to help out also. Even students get together and study.

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students are involved with their communities and giving back.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is heavily interactive with giving back to the community! If you are looking into going into a profession that gives back such as social work, education, or anything along the lines of that, this is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    The education that you get from Wheelock is well worth the investment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its awesome here! I love living in Boston, and in a small knit community. The area is great and safe, and the dorms are not bad either!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are amazing here! They all have a personal connection with each of their students, and I have learned more here compared to other schools.

  • 12/04/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools in a large city. Must Really want to work with children and Families.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like Boston and want to be at a small school.

    Bang for the buck

    A Very nice school but its private so of course it has a higher tuition.Although I hear they work with you well on financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    You must love Boston in order to go here.It is in the heart of the city and a short walk from Fenway Park.

    Will learn a lot

    I attended a class in my prospective major when visited and found it was very engaging. Also they offer internships in your major beginning your freshman year.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety does a great job of keeping Wheelock student safe. They patrol campus 24/7, and their office is located on the first floor of one of the res. halls. If you ever feel unsafe, lost, or just concerned about your situation, they will send help or even order a taxi to get you back to campus. They are here to serve you. They're also really nice people!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs because it is a small school, and they are all discussion-based clubs. My main gripe with Wheelock is that it is so education-focused, I can't really branch out into other fields of interest. You will be surrounded only by other people that are interested in being teachers, or social workers, etc. which is not necessarily a bad thing, but important to keep in mind.

    What to do for fun

    You're in Boston! Nothing really happens on campus, so if you're looking for something fun to do you usually have to venture into the city.

    Food and Dining

    Wheelock is a small school, and that's reflected in the dining. The cafe itself is beautiful, and it's a really nice environment to eat in. The only complaint is that there is relatively the same food everyday, and that at certain hours your only options are salad bar or cereal. Considering how few people go to this college, the quality of the food is pretty good. But there is definitely not much variety, and a person who really values their food would not enjoy it here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are not all that bad. CCSR is beautiful, but only for upperclassmen. Riverway was recently renovated and is the second nicest place to live. Then there are Peabody, Pilgrim, and Longwood, which you are most likely to live in. They're okay res. halls, but the buildings are very old. My main issue with dorm life is that there isn't much of a community feeling. I've never really known the people in my building, and most people spend their time off campus. On weekends you will find many people do not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school does not have many tests or quizzes. In fact, you may never have any. Instead, it is writing INTENSIVE. Expect to write and read a lot. Wheelock is not very challenging academically, but it does have an honors program for those looking for more rigor. I wouldn't say the honors program has more difficult course content, but it is a lot more work and is much more time consuming. HOWEVER, it is a really good school in terms of the hands-on experience you will receive. If you are planning on becoming a teacher or social worker or what have you, and you say you graduated from Wheelock, it will speak for itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is not the typical college experience, at least in my view of what that means. I think of Wheelock as a glorified community college; same atmosphere as a community college but just with a private school price tag. If you live nearby and are considering Wheelock because of it's AMAZING hands-on programs, think about commuting.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock College is the type of school you either love or hate. It is a very good school for those that want to be educators or work with families and children, but it is not a typical college experience. If you value the content of your education over the experience, this is the school for you.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Future teachers and social workers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to spend a night on campus before deciding to come here! Sometimes students get sick of the small, closeknit community feeling and end up transferring out.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school so tuition and boarding fees are a bit high, but definitely worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Wheelock offers the best of both worlds -- a small school within a large city. There are usually many activities and club meetings going on. If you can't find something you like, you can always explore the city and make friends from nearby colleges.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are great and try to get to know each of their students personally, and I love that I'm learning things I will actually use in my future career. Wheelock also offers many service learning and field experience opportunities.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to major in early childhood/elementary education, social work, child life, or any other major related to helping children and families. For those who need extra help and support succeeding academically, Wheelock has plenty of resources to help these students as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider the small size of the school as well as what you want to major in. Wheelock isn't right for everyone, but if you are drawn it to it is probably the right choice for you. If you feel you would do better with an education where there is plenty of one-on-one support and close relationships with your professors as well as other students, Wheelock is the right place for that.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school and as a result the cost is not cheap. However, they don't call this the Harvard of Education and family-related majors for nothing. You are getting the best of the best here at Wheelock and it is money well spent if you make the most out of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The location is great! Just seconds from Fenway Park and easily accessible to the rest of the city. The campus is small enough to make you feel tucked away from the city when you need it.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are all really in depth and the professors are knowledgeable about the topics they are teaching. There is plenty of hands-on experience so you are not just sitting and listening to a lecture every class.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wheelock campus security is fantastic. if you feel uncomfortable at any time on or off campus, wheelock security will take care of the situation whether it be inspecting the campus, or picking you up at 2am in the middle of boston.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life offered at wheelock.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs on campus. gsa, best buddies, autism awareness club, campus association of social workers, wheelock child life association, campus activities board, and so many more! wheelock is also part of the colleges of the fenway which enables you to enroll in intramural activities such as orchestra, dance, band, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    prospective teachers, social workers, child life majors, basically any job that works with children and families!

    Bang for the buck

    wheelock is a privately funded school, so granted, it's expensive. however, the education you receive is priceless! you have experience in the field every year you're here, which looks great on resumes and for your own personal experience's sake!

    What to do for fun

    well, since wheelock is in the middle of boston, there is plenty to do! wheelock is located just a couple blocks from historic fenway park and a couple t-stops to fanueil hall, the td garden, downtown crossing, south station and any place you could think of!

    Food and Dining

    the food here is definitely better than your high school cafeteria. they are always open to new changes, all you have to do is ask!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms here are cozy and tight knit. however, as i said before, don't come here expecting to encounter parties all over campus on a saturday night.

    Academic Rigor

    wheelock strongly encourages you to use your critical thinking skills, but professors are understanding of the fact that students are coming from all different types of educational backgrounds. there is an honors program here that definitely forces you to go above and beyond your comfort zone!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're looking for a party school, do not come here. also, since wheelock is such a specialized school, don't come here expecting to get a stellar education in areas that are other than education, social work, juvenile justice, child life, or other majors that do not work with children and families.

    In three sentences

    wheelock is an excellent school for those who wish to work with children and families. they truly work embrace their motto to improve the lives of children and families. wheelock's small class size allows individualized attention from professors, creates a tight knit community, and allows participation in your field from the start of freshman year.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There is round the clock public safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of activities on campus. I'm sure there is something that you will find one that you will fit into quite comfortably.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. I love feeling connected with everyone that also lives here. You also have the inside scope of the many events that happen on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is not as strenuous as I thought. The classes are very individualized. They are very comfortable with small classroom sizes so that way students can be on a personal yet respectable relationship with faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students would be to get involved in as much as you can on campus. It definitely builds your confidence as well as your networks here.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock College is an excellent school for student who want to improve the lives of children and families. Wheelock College is for students who want to inspire a world of good. Wheelock College is for students who have the natural ability to help others.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 campus security. They do rounds all the time and make sure that safety is key on campus. They also offer many services that keep you safe in the city as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. There is something for everyone. And if there isn't a club you want you can get a group of people together and create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Caring, Compassionate, Passionate, and people who just want to help others.

    What to do for fun

    GO OUT IN THE CITY!!! You are in the heart of boston. There are also many fun things to do on campus, such as club events and other events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical for a college. They really try to cater to the students needs and because it is so small they can do this. They can really listen to students' opinions and suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is so nice and friendly and you become very close with the people in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers give you lots of work but it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely go visit the school and get a sense of if you are meant to be there. It is a special school and you know the minute you walk on campus if you belong there.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is a great school made up of very kind people. It is a small community in the big city of Boston. You feel at home when you are there.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are camera's everywhere on campus and security is really nice. They are constantly on rounds walking around the building and I have always felt really safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are open to everyone on campus and everyone is really accepting. They are always looking for new members and I highly recommend getting involved. I have made so many connection with people through clubs.

    What to do for fun

    You're right in the middle of Fenway, so you can jump on the T or a bus and go to government center to shop or walk around. There is usually something going on down there. Newbury street is also only a shirt walk away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good, but is is also really repetitive. On the upside there is a Napkin Note board, where students can leave note for the cafeteria staff. Anything from complaints to suggestions to praises.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fine. Each floor is required to hold a months event and those can be pretty fun. I lived in Longwood the past 3 years, which is a co-ed building, but I lived on the 2nd floor which is all girls. I was friends with most if the girls on my floor, so it was really nice atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Wheelock is an essay based college. I can count the number of tests I have taken on one hand. You have to do the reading and the work, but teachers are ready to help whenever you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your MTEL's early, take them as soon as you finish the class that will help you the most, that way you don't forget the information.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock College is a fabulous school. The staff is great and the class are information that you actually use while you are in your practicums and field placements. You're not learning anything that you will not use.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good campus safety. Always people around

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Jumpstart is an Americorp program that is offered through Wheelock. Great for anybody who wants to work with children and has work study. There are tons of clubs for everybody's interests

    Great for these types of students

    love to work with children

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i can think of right now

    Bang for the buck

    Pros: Good school academically, great location, tons of other college students in the area. Cons: expensive, small, & can get boring if you don't get out.

    What to do for fun

    It is in the heart of Boston. There are always things to do you just have to get out and look for them.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good in the beginning, but they always make the same food so it gets old. The hours are also terrible. No late night dinning :(

    Dorm Life

    I lived on campus my first two years. It is very expensive to live on campus and you are confined to a very small space. People who live on campus seem to love it, but I felt as though I was paying an insane amount to be in a living situation that I had to leave every vacation, so you are really only there about 6 months. I am now paying for an apartment for 12 months and still saving about $3000.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally find Wheelock to be rather easy, but I think that it just fits my personally learning style. More writing, less test taking. I'd assume it is different for everybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    Venture out and meet people from other schools in Boston. Don't just stay at Wheelock all the time and expect to have fun. Make the most of the small school feel. Professors are much more willing to get to know you and help you, so let them.

    In three sentences

    Academically Wheelock provides me with everything I need and has a wonderful faculty. However, it is very expensive and it is very difficult to continue my education there without being buried in debt. Wheelock is also very small, kind of like a high school.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a small school in order to learn how to make the biggest change in the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a split campus so sometimes it feels like two different schools. It is also part of the Fenway Five which means you can take classes at some of the other universities around.

    Bang for the buck

    It is in one of the most cultural, historic cities in the US.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends/roommates. Go to concerts/sports events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria where you can grab a bite to eat inbetween classes.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging within each program to meet our needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all your options. Work and save money first because it is expensive.

    In three sentences

    It is a small, specialty school. It is exactly what I need for the program I want. It is in a great neighborhood.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in the dorms or find something to do in Boston!

    Food and Dining

    Get creative and it won't get as boring.

    Dorm Life

    Depends what dorm, each one has its own feel to it.

    Academic Rigor

    Average, lots of papers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Wheelock is a very specific school. If you don't desire to work with kids, families or people it is not a good fit. Make sure to research the degrees because it is limited.

    In three sentences

    1. Everyone knows everyone so it has a family feel to it. 2. Different approach to education, more discussion less lecture and more projects and papers less tests. 3. People oriented degrees

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Work Hang out with my friends

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    good

    Academic Rigor

    Good

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that campus is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Service learning trips, sports, organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Wheelcok College is great for students who does well in a small environment and the ability to connect with professors.

    What to do for fun

    there are many restaurant near by, movie theater, shopping plaza and more.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses that I have taken are great and I learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Is to embrace the opportunities that Wheelock College offers such as service learning trip, clubs, organizations and more.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock College is a great school with many opportunities. The Mission statement at Wheelock College is what I was looking for as a student. Because of its mission statement Wheelock College is where I belong.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your passionate about Child Life/Education or Juvenile Justice then this is the school for you. Mission Statements: Improving the lives of family and children & Inspire a World of Good

    Bang for the buck

    Wheelock puts on some great stress free/ fun events

    What to do for fun

    Attend campus event, but because I am a resident of Boston, I typically hang out with neighboring college students (Simmons, BU, BC, Northeastern, etc..) or hang out around down on Newbury St., the Prudential Mall (the Pru) or my neighborhood

    Food and Dining

    Do not dine on campus

    Dorm Life

    Do Not live on campus

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety will call and pay for a cab for you if you need it and Wheelock gives you their number at freshman orientation.

    Greek Life

    Wheelock really isn't big on Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wheelock has a ton of clubs: Best Buddies, Campus Activities Board, Autism Awareness Club, Black Student Union, and many, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Wheelock's great for students who prefer written papers over tests and class discussions over lectures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wheelock has Fall Midnight Madness where everyone is invited to represent their class at a school sporting event.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheelock is extremely expensive but is very generous with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Wheelock is located in the Fenway/Kenmore area in Boston so it's only a T-stop away from Newbury Street, the Aquarium, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is all right: it recently extended its hours until about 11 at night. Sandwiches are always available made to order as well as other diverse options.

    Dorm Life

    We have both co-ed and all female dorms. Some are recently renovated so they're not too bad,

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you're wiling to work for your grades and ask for help, you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your extracurriculars! Get involved.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is extremely specialized: if you are looking for a career to improve the lives of children and families (as our motto says), this is a good place for you. It's an extremely small school so I'm on a first name basis with my professors and lectures are almost nonexistent. I learn through discussion and writing and that's the learning style that benefits me most.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe

    Great for these types of students

    people who love kids

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school, everyone is so friendly and happy

    What to do for fun

    clubs and extra curricular activities

    Food and Dining

    food is awesome

    Dorm Life

    I didnt live on campus so this does not apply to me but my peers seem happy with it.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging and yet there is tons of help outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford coming to this school before you apply.

    In three sentences

    I love the Atmosphere of this school. It is not a huge school , but everyone there (faculty) really cares about your success.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    individuals, caring people, people who want to make a difference in others' lives, aspiring educators

    What to do for fun

    Wheelock is located in the center of Boston's Fenway area so there is plenty to do! Some things my friends and I like to do are take walks around the Boston Common or go shopping on Newbury street!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do before coming to Wheelock. It is a very specific school based mostly in preparing students to work with children and families (for example, as teachers, social workers, advocates, etc).

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is an amazing school! It is close knit and really specific to helping children and families. Wheelock's motto is Inspire A World of Good and I really think that going to school here will help me do that.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Wheelock is amazing! They walk around campus constantly are stationed in two of the dorm buildings and are always there when you need help at any hour. Their number is found all over campus and if you need help even off campus you can call them. They are also super friendly and love to chat!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Wheelock has a lot to offer for clubs and activities. You get to see what they are all about each fall at the clubs and activities fair. Also each club hangs up posters and emails you about meetings. The clubs do a great job of getting students involved on campus and off as well when we explore and go on outings in and around Boston.

    Great for these types of students

    Wheelock is great for students who like small classes, are interested in working with children and inspiring a world of good. You also really get to known your professors and call them by their first names, which creates a good and strong relationship, they really care about you as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great thing about Wheelock is that in every dorm on every floor they do floor outings. You go to the movies, ice skating, out to eat, red sox games, concerts ect.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheelock is honestly just amazing. I couldnt be more proud to tell people i attend or go there. Its a great school for my intended major of special education and i love being in a classroom working with preschoolers 4 days a week. The students here are awesome and my roommate is absolutely amazing. I couldnt of picked a better school!

    What to do for fun

    Being in Boston is the best! There is never nothing to do. There are so many museums and shopping areas and so much more. Its great because its also a big college city, you can go to any of the other colleges to meet new people and explore. Its a very safe city with just so many options and in my opinion an amazing choice for a college city!

    Food and Dining

    The food at college is always iffy but Wheelock has so many options and makes them available to their students. I enjoy eating in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Wheelock are really great. Some are older but they do a nice job of cleaning them and you can decorate and make them homey. I live in Peabody which is the biggest dorm on campus and its such a great dorm and it feels like one big family. You also have a lot more responsibility which helps you grow and learn to live on your own!

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is decent considering you do not really take tests and quiz's. You write papers and give presentations and a lot of work needs to be put into them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Since Wheelock is known for their education majors I suggest you come sit on on classes and make sure its a good fit for you. I would also stay over night, explore Boston, eat in the dining hall, and talk/hang out with current students.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock College is a great education environment for future teachers. Its a small school and has so much to offer. It also puts you in a classroom and working with kids right away!

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student who wants a small school where everyone gets to know everyone and loves to work with children.

    What to do for fun

    It is easy to have fun because you are in Boston! Fenway Park is a five minute walk from Wheelock. It is amazing how many things there is to do around Wheelock. Not only outside of school though, there are many events that happen on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is always a selection of everything. The dining hall is big, lots of different seating is avaliable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different in every dorm. It is always fun. You get to know everyone on your floor, even in your dorm and become friends. The rooms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is awarding to get good grades here. As long as you put in your best effort, you will succeed. The classes are small and the teachers take the time to get to know you and help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest coming to visit because this college is different from many others, but if you do want to work with children in any field (Education, special education, social work, etc) than this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Wheelock College. It is a small school for people who have a passion about children. Everything here is great.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The clubs and organizations that the school has often hold events, many of which are fun. Also there is a movie theater down the road from the school and may other things that are easy to get to by the t.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a great place. The atmosphere is welcoming. However, the food could use improvement. The options are limited if you are a vegetarian or vegan so make sure you plan for that.

    Dorm Life

    There are five dorms on the campus. Riverway, Peabody, Pilgrim, Longwood, and CCSR. Each dorm has something different that separates them from the others. Riverway and CCSR are among the nicest dorms and are the toughest to get to live in. CCSR is upperclassmen. Every dorm but CCSR has a floor that is all first year students. Riverway has a kitchen in it, however, unless you know someone that lives in Riverway you can not use the kitchen. Peabody is the oldest and largest dorm on campus and has a long on every floor, Depending on the floor you live on and the other people on the floor it can seem more homey because people are always in the lounges. Peabody also contain the schools public safety desk.

    Academic Rigor

    In many of the classes that Wheelock offers you will not have quizzes or tests through out the semester. Instead the classes require you to write papers. If you are a student who doesn't do well on tests but are an excellent writer this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student make sure that you look into other schools. Wheelock is a great school but it is important to make sure that the school offers the majors you want. Another tip that I can offer is to participate in as many events as you can as a first year student. This will allow you to meet many of the students that Wheelock has.

    In three sentences

    Over all the school is very welcoming to everyone. The staff and faculty I have come across are very understanding and want to see the students succeed.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe Wheelock may be the most safe campus in the Fenway because it is a small campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is non existent on Wheelock's campus. You can try to pledge at another school but it is very difficult due to rules and regulations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is large variety of campus clubs and activities. You will never be bored during your free time on campus I can guarantee it.

    Bang for the buck

    Use your student discount to your advantage especially if there is a sale (including clearance) it comes in handy.

    What to do for fun

    -Movies (Student Discounts) -Bowling -Hookah Lounge (18+ Student Discounts) -House of Blues concerts -Copley Square shopping (Student Discounts- GAP, Forever21, and Charlotte Russe) -UNO's college night

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are okay. I would suggest that you use your Fenway Cash wisely, if you are a picky eater like myself. Your parents will appreciate that from you in the long run. Also Shaw's Market is directly across the street and is open 24 hours, they always have great sales on snacks and 24 packs of water.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in my opinion is average. I would suggest that you mingle on your floor and meet your neighbors because there is nothing worst then needing something and you can't go next door to ask. Another suggestion is to try to go to every floor meeting because they're very informative on what is going on and you do not want to miss any important opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    I can not stress this enough, Wheelock professors and staff care about your well being as a student. I do not think any other college has staff and professors who you as the student know on a first name basis. That alone speaks volumes in my opinion. Also the classes have no more than 20 students; the classes are very small and personalized so you get more bang for your buck in all retrospect in regard to your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is make sure you do your research about Wheelock College. Also pay close attention to the majors because Wheelock is a very specific school, because they may not have the major your interested in. Also look into the academic services before your parents purchase anything extra you do not need. I say that because, Wheelock has an awesome peer tutoring program and a excellent writing center.

    In three sentences

    I would give Wheelock an A+ in rating for a college. Wheelock College has plenty to offer beyond the surface. As a second year student I have made plenty of connections within the community of Boston because of the staff and educators at Wheelock College.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety staff here are very helpful. They send out e-mails to all of the students when any safety concern arises. This may include being aware of the excitement if the Red Sox go to the world series since we are so close to Fenway Stadium, construction areas, and just basic things like when they are changing the buildings from cooling to heating. The staff are very adamant about us calling them if we ever need anything. Whether that means we feel unsafe, we need to report a safety hazard or file a noise complaint. They are always here for us. As for safety in the buildings, I feel very safe. Each student has a student ID that only allows you into your own residents hall. Along with that, in the building I live in, you need to buzz your card twice because there are two doors to open before you enter into the building.

    Bang for the buck

    To attend Wheelock and live on campus, it costs about $45,000 a year. That is A LOT of money. I believe it is worth it. At any other college you would probably be sitting in a lecture hall full of over 100 students; here at Wheelock I sit in a classroom with about 20 or so students and my professors actually know who I am. Along with not being just a number, I get to live right in the heart of Boston. That in itself is a wonderful thing. Another thing that makes it worth $45,000 a year to me is the fact that it is the only college in Massachusetts that offers the major I want; child life. Child life specialists in Boston make about $45,000-$50,000 a year anyways so at least when I graduate I will be making enough money to pay off my student loans.

    What to do for fun

    Being in a major city such as Boston, there is no end to the fun and exciting things to do. That being said, the school does not usually plan too many things here on campus in fear that no one will attend. However, there are usual sports games going on every day or so. And clubs here on campus also hold fun activity events such as relaxation night and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    Living in Boston there are many choices of restaurants nearby. But lets face it, being in college and living on our own, us students do not exactly have all the money in the world to go out and buy food everyday. This being said, the dining hall on campus has great food. There is a good variety everyday and the staff are very accommodating of vegetarian needs. The food has great flavors and you can almost always find something you love on any given day. The staff also has a website where you can find the menu for the dining hall which is very helpful in deciding whether or not you want to go eat there or go out for food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great. The staff do an outstanding job of matching you with a roommate that you will live well with. The RA's are great at working with students about problems that arise or just giving ideas about what to do on the weekends. The dorm I am in is very accommodating. All of the first year students are housed on the same floor which allows for better bonding between us. Living on campus was a great choice that I made and I do not regret it at all.

    Academic Rigor

    When I came to college, honestly I was unsure about how the work would be. Wheelock is more about writing papers than giving exams. The work load is not usually a lot in terms of number of assignments due but it does challenge you. the professors will give assignments to write about a topic that we learned in class and we need to show that we understand. If you ask people around this school what matters in a class, they will say, you're learning. Grades do not particularly matter so much as whether or not you are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wheelock is a school that highly values diversity. everyone is accepting and accepted. The sense of community is strong at this school. If you plan on just getting by and not really being noticed, this is not the school for you. At Wheelock, the professors know you by name, the classes have an average of 20 students and you are more than just a number. My number one piece of advice would be to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is one of the only local colleges that offer the major, child life which is why I chose to attend here. At this school, I do not feel like just a number, I feel like I matter. I would rate it a 4 out of 5 stars.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe for a city. All residence halls require ID to scan in and public safety is always around. There are also funds set aside to pay for a cab back to school if you're stranded somewhere. The campus always wants to make sure everyone is safe. But at the same time, if you aren't being too loud, campus safety won't bother you.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves children and families will fit great at Wheelock. The population is mainly teachers and social workers, but there are also many other majors. The main goal of students at Wheelock is to help people in one way or another, so its perfect for students who also which to inspire a world of good.

    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of things to do around Boston. There's the common, public garden, museums, theaters, parties, etc. And Fenway Park is a 5 minute walk away! We all ran out to the streets and celebrated when they won the World Series. Groups on campus also offer a lot of free activities if you don't want to go out. There are movie nights, performers, off campus trips, game nights,free food, and tons more!

    Food and Dining

    There is an acceptable variety of food, but it still gets old after a while. The nightly specials are usually pretty good and offer a lot of Mexican, Asian, and Italian food. Weekends tend to be pretty limited with options though. The key is to really get creative and mix up what you're eating each night. It is just typical college dining food.

    Dorm Life

    There are a good variety of residence halls on campus and all students are guaranteed housing. Some of the halls are very old, so if you have allergies you need to talk to disabilities. All of the rooms are different shapes and sizes which can be both a blessing and a curse. Either way, the RA's are always super nice and relaxed. It is a small campus so if you're doing something that's too loud, people can hear. But as long as you're relatively quiet, no one bothers you. Floors also have monthly meetings and events to form a residence community. Living on campus is really fun at Wheelock!

    Academic Rigor

    Wheelock more so challenges students in the way they think than the actual degree of difficulty in the work. You do have to read and write A LOT though! Most classes do not have tests, but instead have essays, presentations, and group projects. Students really need to be prepared to write at Wheelock.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend extensively researching the school on your won then attending the open house and accepted students day events. You can never really tell if you like the small size and majors, unless you come see in person. The events offer great mock classes to showcase what you really do in each major, so you can make sure you are choosing the right school.

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is a very small school geared towards improving the lives of children and families. Everyone at the school truly does embrace this mission in whichever career path they choose. Located in beautiful Boston, Wheelock has the perfect combination of small school in a big city.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security working 24/7. They're always willing to help you no matter the circumstances.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority but it's typically only for juniors and seniors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone! From child life to campus activities board, there is a place for you in a club at Wheelock!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be social workers, teachers, or child life specialists. Great for students who want a small school and want to know all their peers.

    Bang for the buck

    Wheelock is very expensive. However, they offer a lot of scholarships and financial aid to their students. The classes are totally worth it if you know what you want to do. There are a lot of opportunities to make money on campus as well.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the heart of Boston. Anything you want to do, you can do! There are activities going on around Wheelock all the time. There is a club for everyone to join too!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not great. If you're trying to eat healthy, are gluten or dairy free, Wheelock's cafeteria does not have many options for you sadly. This is the greatest downfall of the college.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really fun. All of the dorms are different in one way or another. The dorms are clean and a lot of the dorms offer all freshman floors so you get to know other students in your class very well during your freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging but they are very meaningful. All freshman and transfer students are required to take Human Growth and Development which acts as a pre-req for many courses you will take during your time at Wheelock.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. Most students who say that they don't like Wheelock aren't involved in many organizations or clubs. Be sure that if you're looking at Wheelock, you know what you want to major in. Some of the most popular majors are elementary, special, and early childhood education, social work, and child life, but there are many others!

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is a school to go to if you know what you want to do for the rest of your life. The motto of the school is to Inspire a world of good and Improve the lives of children and families. Attending Wheelock will give you experience in your future field of work beginning in your first semester.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do not test well. If you are better at showing what you know through papers, you will succeed here.

    What to do for fun

    Go to surrounding schools (Colleges of the Fenway) Go to eat at the many surrounding restaurants Go to the Boston Public Gardens Go to any sporting event On-campus activities are fun

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms on campus are excellent, and worth what you pay. Other dorms need to be renovated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that you want to work with children and families or for children and families

    In three sentences

    Professors really care about you, first name basis You can make life long friends So much to do in the city of Boston

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super small, so being on campus is very safe. We do have campus safety that will check IDs on weekends and make sure that no one is there who shouldn't be. However, do keep in mind that you can be off the Wheelock campus in under a minute, at which point you have to be mindful of your own safety. That being said, Wheelock is in a college area of Boston and there is not much crime or violence that goes on there. This is a very busy area so do be extra careful when crossing the streets (cars go fast here) and don't walk through the Muddy River at night (this will make sense when you get to Wheelock.)

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different sports teams, clubs, and activities you can take part in. A lot of the clubs at Wheelock are geared towards raising awareness, and providing help for others. Most of the people in these clubs and organizations are very passionate, and that is really cool to see. The students also tend to get very excited about school sporting events, and most people will rally together to watch the games.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to make a difference in other people's lives by being a teacher, social worker, child life worker, etc., this is probably a great school for you. Wheelock is very love-y.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will be right in the middle of any big events that are happening in Boston like the World Series, parades, etc. Wheelock students love this type of thing and will usually go all-out for big Boston events.

    Bang for the buck

    A Wheelock education is a great thing, especially if you want to be a teacher. The professors here really care about your success, not just in terms of grades, but in terms of how well-prepared you will be for your career upon graduation. That being said, this is a private school so it is pricey, and you won't be making a huge salary right away with most of the majors offered here (education, social work, etc.).

    What to do for fun

    Anything you want (especially if you are 21+). Wheelock is walking distance to a movie theater, museum, multiple restaurants and bars, Fenway Park, Kenmore Square, Copley, t stops, you name it. There are loads of free events that happen in Boston, especially for college students, and you will be able to get to them for almost no money. This is an IDEAL location, enjoy it!

    Food and Dining

    Not great, but there are so many other places to eat off campus too. You can also use your dining dollars to eat at Emmanuel College, which is right next door to Wheelock, and they have great food.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is fun, especially because the campus is located right near Fenway Park. But beware, this is a small school with about 90% women, so there can be a lot of drama. Living in CCSR is the most fun, and there are also loads of off-campus options.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, the teachers are very lenient and the work is not too hard. That being said, the class sizes are very small so you do have to have good attendance and they will know if you are doing your work or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take part in Jumpstart! Jumpstart is run by Americorps, and will not only look great on your resume, but it is an incredibly rewarding experience in which you will help underprivileged preschool-aged children learn to read and write. We also have a lot of study abroad programs and short-term service learning trips. Take advantage of what the school has to offer!

    In three sentences

    Wheelock is in a great location, and the teachers are all very sweet and take a strong interest in their students and their successes. Most majors here are geared towards education, or helping children and families. This is a very small school, and is mostly women.