Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Whitman College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Whitman is great for the academically inclined, liberal/open-minded, athletic, eco-conscious and/or nerdy student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to make sure that Whitman really seems right for you, the academics are tough so if you're looking for an easy college experience or you want to be involved in a lot of activities AND sleep, you might want to discount Whitman.

    Bang for the buck

    Whitman is an expensive school, yet it's hard to believe how you could expect more from one college. Whitman provides extensive resources including a 24-hour library, technology services, free printing and multiple facilities throughout the campus. If you really take advantage of these resources it is unquestionable that you'll get your money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Whitman. The college constantly has amazing events going on, there's never really a dull moment on campus. From theater productions to quidditch matches to lectures to random craft projects something is always happening.

    Am learning a lot

    Whitman is well known for its rigorous academics. To start with all freshmen must take an encounters course, which includes the study of texts most people would not have studied in high school (including The Qur'an or The Odyssey). This alone makes it difficult to not learn even during your first semester at Whitman.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have met so many different types of people at Whitman. Whether you're a jock, nerd, hipster or whatever is most comfortable for you, you will find a place at Whitman. I do find that a lot of the people at Whitman are very open-minded to different views and life styles and respectful of others,

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT if you can! I decided on Whitman after my first visit because I just felt that it was a really good fit for me. Wallla Walla was just recently named the friendliest city in America and Whitman definitely lives up to it. Don't be shy, talk to current students and ask them why they chose Whitman. Also keep in mind that Whitman is a small school but there are always events during the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to sugar-coat it, Whitman is very expensive but when it comes down to it, I have loved my first year of college and you cannot put a price on that. The key to helping you pay for such an expensive school is preparation including getting your FAFSA done in time and applying for scholarships. If you don't qualify for financial aid, there are many scholarship websites you can use where a simple essay can earn you at least $1000 in scholarship money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Whitman is the only school that I've actually been excited to return to. I miss my friends and learning from extraordinary professors. Everyday I see Facebook posts from my Whitman friends saying how much they miss school and how badly they want to go back.

    Am learning a lot

    I can honestly say I have grown so much in the past year both in and out of the classroom. I am academically stimulated and challenged in my courses but I also enjoy the college lifestyle. I have gained a larger interest in my studies now that I can choose which classes interest me instead of classes I had to take for high school.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gee golly... I would say just about anybody would be made to feel welcome by the people at this school, but I would venture a guess that if you're not a fan of the small community feel that Whitman would not be the place for you. To make a wide-sweeping generalization using a few adjectives, Whitman students are: genuine, fun-loving, intellectual, outdoorsy, laid-back, outgoing, and modest (many students have amazing experiences about which you will hear nothing until knowing them for quite some time)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to strike up a conversation with people (even upperclassmen). Have a good time, but make sure to set aside time for academics as procrastination can be a slippery slope and your Whitman classes will probably ask more of you than your high school did.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely not a cheap school, but I think that the atmosphere of what I would describe as the 'densest population of genuine people I've ever experienced', coupled with great academics, seemingly limitless academic and recreational resources, etc, etc make it well worth the extra cash.

    Am learning a lot

    Having not attended another college aside from Whitman, my frame of reference is definitely a narrow one. I can still confidently say that my needs as a student are met exceptionally well, and I have been learning very much from some truly great faculty.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not for everyone, but if you are involved it can be very fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, hippies

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fountains on hot days!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is pretty expensive, the experience here is unlike most others. Professors truly want you to succeed and will put in a lot of work to see that happen if you want it. Students are very accepting and open and just friendly in general. Faculty puts in countless behind the scene hours to make sure life on campus is enjoyable.

    What to do for fun

    Many events such as movie screenings, public speakers, student musicians, etc. are put on during the week. Lots of people go to house or frat parties on the weekends, but there is no pressure to be involved in the party scene.

    Food and Dining

    Food can get boring and repetitive, but overall the dining services go to great lengths to accomodate everyone and serve tasty and healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year in the dorms is one of the most exciting times you will experience. It is so conducive to meeting and getting close to a lot of people.

    Academic Rigor

    Some students seem to get by fairly easily, but academics are definitely a challenge. One thing that I have noticed is that the atmosphere concerning academics is much more relaxed than other schools I have visited.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! And stay a night with a current student if you can. You really get the feel for the people and the campus.

    In three sentences

    I would describe Whitman as my extended family. Everyone, from the professors to the students to the janitors, have been nothing but supportive since I have been here. I have met some of the most interesting and caring people here.

  • 06/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work hard, learn, exercise, and love the outdoors will be right at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and sit-in on a class. I never had the change but I wish I did. The class sizes are quite small, very engaging, and the professor has a personal connection with every student. It's the only way to learn well in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is quite expensive at $50,000 a year, but if you work hard in high school they are very willing to help you out in your expenses. It also helps to not be Caucasian. Plus, college is an investment in yourself. I'm willing to pay that much to lead a happy career the rest of my life and a great education is what you'll find at Whitman.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous and there is an unlimited supply of activities to be occupied with on and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Learning occurs nonstop here. It's never tedious, unless you are taking a subject that absolutely bores you (I don't recommend doing that), but comes with a price. That price is the willingness to actively participate and enjoy what you're learning. If those steps can be followed, you will collect a vast amount of knowledge during your time here.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, friendly, academically collaborative not competitive, non-pretentious, involved

    Bang for the buck

    The academics of the school are obviously impressive, but I think you can find good professors at any school you go to, big or small. In all honesty I think what makes the difference in cost worth it is the experience that it comes with. This is the last time that a small, tight-knit community will be built for you in this way, and Whitman is a perfect place to take advantage of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Life is beautiful out here. The people are amazing, friendly individuals who genuinely seem to care about those around them. The college does a good job of putting on enough events that there is something to do no matter what your interest is. At times it can feel a bit claustrophobic and limiting when you realize you haven't left a two mile radius bubble, but it sure is a nice bubble to be stuck in.

    Am learning a lot

    In Encounters (the Freshman writing class) I especially feel like I'm learning. The amount of feedback and personal attention that the professors are willing to give, for all classes, makes it far easier to develop and progress, because you're not playing a guessing game.

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I visited Whitman in April. The campus was amazing. Definitely sign up for the tour and the meeting with the admissions advisor. They really helped guide me in the college making process.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Even shy people will find their niche at Whitman - people form close-knit groups, but no one is exclusive or unkind. Anyone with a lot of motivation and personality will fit right in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting Whitman was what sold me. It's difficult to get the full feel of any school without visiting it, and Whitman is no different. Sitting in on classes gave me an idea of the learning environment there, and I would definitely recommend that to any prospective student - the students and faculty are very friendly and welcoming to prospies.

    Bang for the buck

    Whitman is a very expensive school to attend. However, they're good at providing financial aid, and the opportunities your money buys are endless and unparalleled by comparably-sized schools. Not many people have heard of Whitman outside of the region, so if you're looking for a school with prestige, it's no Harvard or Princeton.

    Am enjoying being here

    My freshman year at Whitman was the best year of my life. The people are open-minded, friendly, and stimulating, and I've been counting down the days until I can go back. The school has high expectations of your performance, but it also allows you more personal freedom than many other schools (read: lenient alcohol policies/very chill staff).

    Am learning a lot

    The curriculum is rigorous, but not overwhelming. The Encounters program is a good introduction to the Whitman experience, as it coaches college writing and seminar skills. Most professors are extremely helpful at providing extra help, constructive comments, and direction for starting your career.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education aspect is outstanding if you use it right. The Whitman degree behind your name looks really good to employers, but plan on working extremely hard for good grades.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple clubs to join, intramural sports, rock climbing wall, functions at sororities and fraternities are just a few examples.

    Food and Dining

    The school food is amazing, and freshman and sophomores are required to get a meal plan. They have the best Sunday brunch, and meals throughout the week have different themes, but you can also get regular food if you want it. There is also a grocery store four blocks away if you want anything extra.

    Dorm Life

    Making friends is so much easier in a dorm. Some dorms are better than others due to partying issues.

    Academic Rigor

    The school work is hard, but it can be done if you put enough time into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to work hard. Cramming for tests isn't acceptable if you want to have a high GPA. Teachers expect an enormous amount of work from each student, but they are also highly willing to help if you put the effort forward.

    In three sentences

    The students and faculty at Whitman College are very welcoming. It is a diverse campus, both in ethnicity and the beliefs of students. It has a beautiful campus decorated by artistic statues.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Whitman there is something called Green Dot. It allows other Whitties to help you when you may find yourself in an awkward situation. There is always security around. Also, there is an app that you can download on your smart phone and with a click on a button it sends a message to your friends and security to help you if you are in any trouble and it gives them your exact location.

    Greek Life

    Whitman has four sororities and four fraternities. The sororities on campus are Alpha Phi, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Delta Gamma, and Kappa Alpha Theta. The fraternities are Beta Theta Phi, Phi Delta Theta, Sigma Chi, and Tau Kappa Epsilon. You do not necessarily need to be part of the greek life to have a good time at Whitman; Indies also have loads of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Whitman you will never get bored, everything happens on campus. There are many clubs here from GLBTQ, First Generation Working Class to Fencing. If there isn't any particular club you fancy you can always form your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Whitman is for you if you want to get academically provoked, interested in living in a small town, being part of a community, and having small classes, attention from your professors and having easy access to all of the offices (Financial Aid, Student Engagement Center etc.).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition that Whitman has is Beer Mile. During the Spring semester students run a mile around Ankeny Field naked. There is also a fish statue that if you stand two feet away and speak you can hear yourself!

    What to do for fun

    At Whitman there is always something to do whether it is joining clubs, going to parties during the weekend, taking strolls, getting athletically fit at the Rock Climbing Wall, or simply going into town.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit is where you would get most of your food in Whitman. Most of the food tastes fantastic. If you are a vegetarian do not worry because there is always a lot of choices for you as well. You do not always have to go to the dining halls you can go to Reid or go into town.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Resident life is separated into sections to help you bond easier with other students. First year dorms are Jewett, Prentiss (all girl dorm), Lyman, Anderson, and North. Usually, sections tend to dress up for section dinners and have section meetings.There are also interest houses that you can apply after your first year. You will have an SA your first semester of college to guide you and your RA to help you in anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Whitman College is a liberal arts institution. It allows students to experience different classes even if it is not a course required for your major; through that students are able to try new things that may change your minors and majors. There is a required class called Encounters that all first years have to take to ease the transition from high school to college and help you improve on your writing and analytical skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a welcoming environment Whitman would be it! Whitman College has many friendly students, advisers, professors and faculty ready to help you in every way possible. Whitman College also offers fly in programs so you can come and check out the campus for yourself!

    In three sentences

    Whitman College is located in Walla Walla, Washington. Whitman College challenges you in every way possible: from academics to sports to the meaning of life. Whitman makes you question everything you know and on top of that expects the very best of you.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small and very secure. We have a program that students run called Yellow Jacket and this program basically helps students feel safe if its late at night and you want someone to walk you home you give them a call and they will accompany you to your home. This program makes my school feel safer and it is a 24 hour program so at any time you can request an escort.

    Greek Life

    We are a small college and a very academic based college so honesty greek life is mostly community service and to make new friends, don't get the idea of a big party school because Whitman is not one. We are very aware of our goals and future and we do party but we party responsibly. If you are looking for a big Greek Life school Whitman would not be your best choice, however if you want to form part of a greek group that is dedicated, smart and responsibly fun then yes! Whitman is a great college for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 70 different clubs, these clubs identify with almost all of the students here at whitman, they are a great way to make friends and get involved in something that you are very passionate about.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have a mind set that college is a place where you will gain useful knowledge for life and for your professional career, and that it won't be easy but you are willing to work for it to accomplish you goals then you are the perfect match for Whitman. It is a fun school and mainly focuses on building amazing students that are hungry to always learn more even after they earn their degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is pretty expensive, the experience here is unlike most others. Professors truly want you to succeed and will put in a lot of work to see that happen if you want it. Students are very accepting and open and just friendly in general. Faculty puts in countless behind the scene hours to make sure life on campus is enjoyable.

    What to do for fun

    Really I can not stress it enough how great this community is. Whitman and Walla Walla keep surprising me with the amount of activities not only on campus but also off campus that it provides. I personally play a varsity sport here at Whitman and I am very involved with the community. I never have days when I have nothing to do but in a good way. I enjoy being busy in daily activities. There are so many great things to do and if there isn't anything special going on like events or parties, there is always something to do with your close fiends like go to town buy ice cream, or watch a movie together. We have a great balance of activities that involve the outdoors and indoors. Its just a wonderful college that does its best to keep its students happy, and I am living proof that it is working!

    Food and Dining

    The food is by far probably the best food I would ever try in a college cafeteria or school campus. We have a great variety of food. You will never get tired of eating on campus. Out dinning halls do a great job to make you high school transition to college easier. Whitman honestly takes care of their students by not only nursing their brains with knowledge but also with good nutritious foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is just great! I will say that in the 5 campus dorms and 1 off campus, the college experience is very different but at the same time they share many things. I say they are different because they are known by the kind of people that they accommodate in them. Everyone is different but in a way Whitman unknowingly incorporates all students in the dining halls and in general the campus is so small that we all get to spend time in each others dorms. The dorms are very nice and the structure of organization is very successful for the students to have a great time and enjoy their college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Whitman College is know for its high level of academics, having said that it is nothing is impossible. This school is constantly pushing its students to do better and to grow not only intellectually but also morally and enforces relationships. It is a great libera arts college, and it creates great leaders and provides their students with the key life skills to become a successful person. I highly believe that Whitman should be recognized for its prestige through the leaders and great people that graduate from this institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students: I would highly recommend to get involved in a number of school activities, they are a lot of fun and in at the same time they help you make friends and learn more about your community and school Another tip is to time manage and be very organized with school work. If you are organized and make time for everything you wish to accomplish your college experience will be smooth and successful Lastly another tip is to become very involved in your classes with your professors, here at Whitman we have a great opportunity to get close to our professors due to the size of the college so I would highly encourage new students to attend professors' office hours. If you are looking for a small academic college Whitman is what you are looking for!

    In three sentences

    I would highly recommend Whitman College because of the relations and connections you get to establish. I rate this school from a 10 scale a 9.5 and I take the .5 because it is in a very small town, however it does not take away from how great the school really is. In my opinion it is a great school and near to being perfect.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. If you are in the library for a long time, and don't want to walk to your dorm by yourself, we have security escorts that you can call and they will walk you from wherever you are to your dorm. The security escorts are also students, so it's not just any random person walking you to your room. Whitman security also has an app for a smart phone that allows you to contact Whitman security much faster.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Naked Mile, which is bunch of people getting naked and running a mile around ankeney field, a week before finals. People get naked, but some wear bathing suits or shorts at least, your choice. It's purposely before finals, so that people relieve some stress and just let lose for a bit, literally.

    What to do for fun

    The Whitman campus always has events going on. If you are a party person, you can always go to the greek parties which happen pretty much every weekend. The town of Walla Walla is small, but like I said, I think the college puts of enough events to keep you entertained. We have a group called WEB, which is the Whitman Events Board, and they bring guest speakers to campus, put on movie screenings, bring a kind of well-known artist every year to perform a concert.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Whitman is really healthy. The food is also really good, yes you might get tired of it sometimes, but we also have a cafe that is open longer and where the food is cooked there, they have really good pasta and burgers. You won't starve, that's for sure. The chefs are always taking feedback, so the dinning halls have bulletin boards where you can write a suggestion or request, like bring back the carrot cake.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You get to rank the dorm of your preference your freshmen year, which is why I would suggest prospective students to visit the scholarship and get a feel of which dorm they might want to live in. Some dorms are more noisy and social than other, so it really depends on your personality, but you'll love it wherever you stay, and if you want to switch out of a dorm into another, you can do so after the first semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Whitman are definitely rigorous, but no matter how difficult a class is, Whitman offers so many resources to you to help you prosper. For example, we have the Academic Resource Center (ARC) which pairs you up with a personal tutor for any class you are struggling with. Professors are also a great resource because they have super flexible office hours and they are really nice and approachable, so they are your first resource whenever you feel like you just don't understand something about the class or the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to prospective students to apply for the Visit Scholarship Program that Whitman offers and come visit the campus so you can stay with an overnight host and see if Whitman is for you.

    In three sentences

    Whitman College is like home away from home. I love the atmosphere of people being genuinely nice to each other. There is no competition between people when it comes to academics, instead we are there to help each other thrive in what we are best at.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not part of the majority, but it does play a role in campus activities. There is however, no pressure to become greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities and clubs on campus. All of them are welcoming and friendly. As long as you're willing to make an effort it isn't hard to find your place among the Whitman population.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to be mentally challenged but also enjoy to have time to yourself and do outdoor activities than Whitman is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Camp Whitman is an awesome part of the year. It's the week after finals are done and before graduation when many students stay on campus and just hang out. A great location on campus is the library and Ankney field.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Most people spend their free time outside, going on hikes or bike rides, or going to the rock wall. A lot of students also just get together and hang out. Everyone is willing to go out onto the main field (Ankney) and chill out if its a nice day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good considering it is mass produced, and the menu is constantly changing so the students don't get bored. There are lots of vegan and vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Whitman College does a great job of placing people where they belong. If however they do make a mistake it isn't very hard to switch out. The rooms are small but not unbearably so, and the cleaning staff does a great job of keeping the public areas clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at Whitman College are difficult no matter what major you choose. But, the professors are there to support and help, and are always around to answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard and to challenge your brain. Be flexible and spontaneous and try new things.

    In three sentences

    Whitman is a challenging school where students go to learn to become adults and do cool things. The professors there are amazing! And, the students are just as likely to enjoy an interesting class as they are willing to set up a hammock and chill for the afternoon.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are some wonderful security staff members on campus, as well as many emergency call stations, but everyone is under the impression that security is bored which is why security members have been found to have philosophical conversations with students at 1:00 am.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for anyone who loves to be outside after a day of class, is more interested in playing an IM sport that watching a football game, and likes all of the things they learn to fit together like a big puzzle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some truly fantastic climbing trees around and outside of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Whitman is certainly expensive, but it is also a fantastic school and wonderful place to live. I don't know anyone who truly regrets going here, even with the large price tag.

    What to do for fun

    Undoubtedly you have heard how small and rural Walla Walla is. While it may not have many clichéd hotspots for college students, anyone who complains that there is nothing to do either hates the outdoors, ignores all the college sponsored events, or is not taking enough classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good and varied. Some students complain about the quality of the food, but often that is simply due to a compulsive need to complain about something. Obviously, some meals are better than others to the individual, but on the whole, the cooks do a wonderful job. For a change of pace, Walla Walla has many fantastic restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all great places to hang out, each with its own feel. All of the dorms put on regular events and students are welcome to go attend events put on in any of the dorms. Some dorms might get louder than others, but everyone is considerate and if there is a problem you can always talk to one of the wonderful RA's in your building.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be as easy or as difficult as you want them to be. The professors have high expectations and students often struggle to meet them. That being said, there are certainly easier courses that you can take alongside some of the more challenging ones to balance out your course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, be sure to visit the campus. It's almost impossible to get a feel for a place without actually going there. If getting to Walla Walla presents difficulties, talk to someone from Admissions and they can usually help you get there.

    In three sentences

    Whitman is a great place if you consider yourself to be unique and intellectual, as well as having interests in many academic fields. From the moment you arrive, you are thrown straight into a place filled with sharing, thinking and learning. You might not get along with everyone you meet there, but you'll at least have some very intellectual, and often passionate, arguments with them.