Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Widener University-Main Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Widener University is a great place for any student because we have resources for any students particular needs such as academic coaching, tutoring and a math/writing/science center. I would suggest this school to anyone who really wants a hands on experience while they are in school, because our small class sizes allow for the students to interact with the professors and be able to use tools that they will be using after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of as many Widener days as you can, even schedule a daily tour with the Admissions Office at Mueller Hall. Our average tuition is around $30,000 a year, but the school does offer many scholarships to help out the students. We have a great faculty, (75%+ possess a doctorate in their particular field). And we also have a student to teacher ratio of 12:1 meaning small class sizes. We have a large campus with plenty to do on weekends, along with nationally recognized varsity athletic teams and various club sports and student life organizations.

  • 12/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is serious in succeeding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and get the best education in Pa.

    Bang for the buck

    Small classes and extra academic help from people who care!

    Am enjoying being here

    Very clean campus and full of friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    Widener University is a wonderful University Filled with wonderful and caring faculty. I am so excited to be apart of Widener's pride and I encourage anyone who is interested in enrolling to go ahead and take that extra step to apply. The programs that this university offers are endless and the help they offer is exactly what a freshman like me deserves. I give this school 5 stars!

  • 11/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to be more serious about getting a quality education. There are tutoring programs, along with a writing center for students who need to get their paper's reviewed. In the writing center, they also help you brainstorm your essay topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do decide to come to Widener, join a club or two. Stay active on campus in extracurricular activities. Also get a planner, you will need to have good time management or you will be a mess.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that for the small class sizes, how friendly most people on campus are, most teachers will tell you to get your priorities straight if you are doing not too well in a class, it is the best bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    Students are friendly and bubbly. There are tons of things to do on campus, such as the rock climbing wall, billiard tables, lounges, and various clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    Since Widener is a private school, the classes are generally small. The largest amount of students I have been in a class with is probably fifteen students. This means the professors are able to focus more on students and help them with topics they are having trouble with. Widener also offers tutoring programs for students.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend Widener to those who want to get a good quality education with practical knowledge and experience in an intimate setting. If big colleges, lots of people, lots of buildings and the thought of your professor not knowing your name scares you, Widener is certainly for you. If you also like to participate in sports and clubs, Wideners a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend prospective students to get involved with a club and/or athletic team as soon as possible. They help you make friends faster and you get more involved with the school. Definitely get acquainted with time management and good work and study skills, you will need them. Make sure to take care of your work but don’t forget to have fun too. If you do fall behind and are having trouble, take advantage of the tutoring, office hours, and student programs. Be prepared to get bored of the cafeteria-buy some back up snacks or save money to order out/eat out. If your from really far away, don’t forget to experience Philly and get ready for cold weather. Also, don’t expect most students to be from a far off state like me. Most students will be from Pennsylvania and Jersey.

    Bang for the buck

    Living in Tucson, Arizona you don’t get many people who have heard of Widener University. Through extraordinary chances I have met people who have heard about Widener or knows someone who went there. I have never heard one of them say a bad thing about Widener, in-fact, they only have great comments about it. For the reputation you get for going to Widener, the value is great. I also feel that Widener (for my major at least), prepares you for your future and gives you invaluable knowledge and training that you might not get at any other school. It is pricey though, and I am stressing out over tuition costs. Luckily, Widener does offer some good scholarships and grants. You might/probably will have to look else where for aid though.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being at Widener because of the people there. Most students are friendly and are easy to get along with. I am a student athlete and have enjoyed being part of my school and my team. it’s a little tricky to juggle extracurricular activities, work, studying, and fun- but if I can do it, most people should be able to too. The campus is pretty at times- and were getting renovations done throughout this summer. I have to admit I am excited to see it! There are couple of things I do not enjoy about Widener though. There is a lack of food options if you live on campus and the cafeteria can get really boring and dissatisfying. There is also a lack of study places and meeting places- most students resort to the library. I also wish there was more ethnic diversity at this school. There’s one more thing-a lot of students leave on certain breaks, weekends, and holidays, so if you live far away from campus like me, you can feel like your living in a ghost town.

    Am learning a lot

    When I went to college, I expected classes to be bigger and professors less connected with students. With Widener this wasn’t true. Class sizes are small, so professors get to know students and generally care about them. Most of the professors I have had so far are passionate about what they teach, and have given me a lot of valuable, practical knowledge and material to lean. Most will listen to you, help you, and give you a second chance if you need it. Some teachers do expect a lot of work and studying out of students, so it is important to learn good time management, studying, and work skills.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Chester isn't the best of areas however there are very rarely any issues on campus. The security is great and you aren't ever wondering if you are going to have problem when you're out at night.

    Bang for the buck

    They give you a decent bang for your buck, again it depends on what program you're in. Engineering is mediocre but the co-op program has made up for any lacking in that area.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of on campus clubs and things of that nature, and the city isn't far away so that's always an option also.

    Food and Dining

    Regular college food, nothing fantastic but it will keep you going.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what program you're majoring in. The math department is terrible with the exception of one teacher. Just like anywhere else you'll get good teachers and ones that aren't so good

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do and be able to get there on your own. The advisers have been useless at least for the engineering side, however the course ladder is something easy to follow so if you can manage your own schedule go for it!

    In three sentences

    Widener is an average experience, safe but nothing extraordinary. The teachers can be tough however the office secretaries are nothing short of incredible people. The co-op program for engineering and the amount of scholarship money are the reasons I chose Widener.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Widener is great. They are very friendly and are on every corner of the campus. Chester, the location of Widener's Main Campus, is not the safest of areas, but when I am on campus, I feel incredibly safe. The campus safety is always around and the campus is very well lit at night. I have never felt unsafe while on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not a member of Greek Life, however, all of my friends who are, enjoy it very much.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the Vice President of the Society of Women Engineers and a member of American Society of Civil Engineers, as well as Engineers Without Borders. I am also a member of the Dean's List, Honors Program, and the Co-Op Program (which I highly recommend for any engineering or business student). All of these clubs and activities have helped me enjoy my college experience even more!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want a close community. I am very close to most of the engineering students at Widener, as well as the engineering faculty. I feel comfortable asking questions and speaking casually; the community is the quality I appreciate most about Widener.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not believe there are any unusual traditions or location on campus, but I do know quite a few Frat and Sorority members who would attest to some crazy traditions. They all seem to love the community and family type environment.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like my Pride Bucks, you get between $100 and $200 on your card and you get to use it at Mac Street Grille and little convenience store, which is great! When you don't feel like eating in the cafeteria, my advice is to go to the Chinese place on 17th and Providence. It is right there next to campus and you will get a plethora of food for a couple of bucks. My friends and I would eat there a lot during our summer school semester.

    What to do for fun

    Since Philadelphia is so close, I would normally take the train into the city on the weekends to experience the city. I have many friends who go to schools like Temple, Villanova, or Penn, so it was easy to stay over at their places. The city of Philadelphia is great and is definitely worth getting to know.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Widener is not exactly the best, but it does it's job. It is improving, however, the new addition to the Cafeteria is pretty amazing though. There is a new Subway, Burger Place, and other places to eat. This new addition is great!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Engineering housing my freshman year, which I would most definitely recommend to any incoming freshman. It quickly allowed me to make friends and it was convenient having your classmates in the same dorm as you. I was able to stay up late in study sessions and get feedback from my roommate and dorm mates. It was nice, because we were all going through the same thing, Hospitality Majors or History Majors wouldn't have been able to say the same.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering is a difficult major, but do not get scared away. It is very fulfilling and will most definitely pay off. I found the workload to be a bit overwhelming at times, but by maintaining a strict schedule, I was always able to submit all of my assignments in on time. As for studying, I found it best to study in groups. This way, everyone in the group gets a chance to share what they know as well as receive information that they did not know before. Even if I did know everything that the study session was on, reinforcing the information worked well for me and I was able to help my classmates gain a better understanding on the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure to get to know your faculty and staff. That not only means your Professors, but the Deans, faculty in Student Life, etc. They will be a great resource for you and it will help you enjoy your college experience.

    In three sentences

    I am a Sophomore, Civil Engineering Student at Widener University, and thus far, I have enjoyed every minute that Widener has offered me. I appreciate the faculty and staff at Widener, they are always there to help you with whatever you need. My Professors are great with staying connected to their students and they are never too busy to help out a student in need of their assistance.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always there when you need them and you will see them stationed all over campus after night-fall, they also run the shuttle which gives you a chance to get to know them if you want. the campus safety also is available as an escort if you ever fell unsafe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of clubs on campus so there is definitely something for you, you just have to look. also there are a ton of sports from the intercollegiate sports to intramural teams like dodge-ball and soccer. there is always something to do on campus, and if that doesn't interest you one day, philadelphia is only a couple miles away and getting there is easy because the campus shuttle will take you to a train station and pick you up after your adventure is over.

    Food and Dining

    the food can be a hit and a miss here, but the staff is super nice and when there is good food, it is way better than you would think. the options are numerous with a pizza station, a vegetarian station, a salad bar, a sandwich station, a home station, and always at least one option for ethnic food such as chinese and greek, and everything in between.

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorm life at widener is definitely an experience, if a hall gets along well and if you get along with your roommate, you will have hands down the best experience you can have during your first year of college.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes for a biology major, or any science major, are about as hard as you can get here at widener, in order to maintain above average grades, you must stay on top of every single class regardless of how easy it may seem. if you ever have a problem, professors are always willing to help and tutors are available, no class is absolutely impossible here with all of the help available.

    Tips for prospective students

    always visit a campus, widener or others, before you make your final decision. make sure to try the food and get a tour of the campus, especially the dorms. finally, try to talk to some professors if you and they have time, it will help you in the future.

    In three sentences

    widener is filled with friendly students and an even friendlier faculty. the sports teams, both athletes and coaches, are dedicated and hard working. the course load is tough yet manageable, depending of course on your major.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our campus safety is great. although our area can be tough we have campus safety on every corner of widener. they're always helpful and friendly. they drive students where they need to go off campus and even on campus.

    Greek Life

    greek like isn't too popular. some parties can be fun like their dance parties, but not much other than that.

    Clubs and Activities

    there a ton of clubs and activities. whether you like to rock climb or cook, be a part of student life or volunteer. there are a lot of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    widener is great for students who like sports, who like smaller campuses, and also like the city, we are only ten minutes away from philadelphia and chester has more of city feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    off campus one tradition we have is called a keg crawl while you may think it is just about drinking, it is not. it's celebrated in march and it's when a lot of houses open for students to go and have a good time on campus and meet other students. an unusual tradition we have would be on our homecoming alumni come and have the traditional broom walk on the football field.

    Bang for the buck

    sometimes i wonder where or what my money goes to at widener. however even with this you are still given a lot of opportunities to get involved in at school. there are a lot of clubs and organizations that are always looking for more people. however i still think widener should do a lot more on their campus for their students, considering how much money we pay, compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    widener has a lot of great sports teams, for instance their football and basketball teams. a lot of people go to the games. there's also off campus parties and on campus parties giving you different ideas on what to do for a night.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining isn't bad. the cafeteria is really nice it was just renovated. the food doesn't taste like a home cooked meal, but it does give you a large amount of variety.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great! freshmen year there were a lot of activities that allowed us to get to know more people on campus. also you are able to stay in shape by using the fitness center they have. most importantly after freshmen year you are able to pick who you want to live with and where you would like to live.

    Academic Rigor

    no matter what your major is, your academics are going to be hard. there are a lot of reading and writing courses but if you keep your mind open every class taken helps with some part of your life and it also allows you to learn more than you ever thought you would.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn how to manage your time correctly so you can enjoy time with your friends, do well in school and be involved so you can build your resume. also use on campus sources, for instance a math or writing center, that helps you stay on track in school and also do well. don't be shy when coming to college everyone is new, so there is no reason to hold back your beautiful personality.

    In three sentences

    a good school with great opportunities to volunteer and help a community. widener gives you a chance to explore different majors and also concentrate on what you want to do. it is a great diverse setting allowing you to meet all types of people who are often very friendly, kind and helpful.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus usually has something going on every weekend whether its a concert or a sanctioned party. Or you can always go into Philly for something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall has just been redone. there is many different options including vegetarian options. its clean and stocked.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are renovated every 5 years.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your major is the classes can be pretty hard but most professors are willing to work with you to help. There are many academic tutoring options.

    Tips for prospective students

    The cops are pretty strict.

    In three sentences

    I honestly love it here. It is close enough to Philadelphia to go to do stuff there but far enough away for it to not be too city-like. The staff are very helpful and are always working to improve.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is a must. Chester is a busy town with people out and about all hours of the day and night. Shuttle buses take you everywhere. The parking lots are close to the dorms and buildings. Security guards are everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and events happening at WU. I am involved in cheerleading, walkathons, nusring club, and as a volunteer at food bank.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is perfect for students who want to learn, be close to home, be close to tons of things to do, and be on a first name basis with your professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have block parties and we buy tee shirts with school logo to show school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    The class size is small. The food is good. The tuiton is high but the degree from Widener is worth it. Widener staff help their students with job placement, internships and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    I go to parties, go to the city and watch a game, drive to the shore, or hang with teammates.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Widener is easy to access and the area is open during convenient times. The food is fresh and a variety of types for everyone's tastes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are just that dorms. They are clean and cozy. My roommate was a blast this year.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors are kind and caring. They email their students frequently to check on your progress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Widener is a small school with big opportunities. If you plan to participate in school events and sports, it is a great school for you.

    In three sentences

    Widener is a busy place with lots to see and do. You can travel to Washington DC, Philadelphia or the Shore.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    A variety of sorority and fraternities on campus. In the last few years there has also been a push for more minority fraternities and sororities on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different dining areas on campus, and many fast food and sit down restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Widener offers undergraduate and graduate housing that is convenient to the school and surrounding metropolitan area.

    Academic Rigor

    Widener offers many degrees and certifcations in areas such as Social Work, Business, Education, and Nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Widener if you want a superior education combined with friendly environment.

    In three sentences

    There are attentive and caring instructors. Widener also offers small class sizes. Widener also is located in an urban area but has a suburban campus feeling.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're all over

    Clubs and Activities

    The track team was like a family, we love each other

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet students that like relaxation

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They're building a huge flower garden and no one knows why

    Bang for the buck

    Widener is very expensive and it did not really show why

    What to do for fun

    Do a sport, hang out with friends, party!

    Food and Dining

    The food could have been better, but it could have been worse too. The workers attitudes are why i put 3 stars

    Dorm Life

    People in the dorms are so fun to be around! They become you're family while you're living there

    Academic Rigor

    Just go to class and do the works and the grades will be good

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Widener! You'll have so much fun.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is a great school. I made friends easily and the teaching was great. Track and field kept me on top of my grades because i wanted to stay on the team.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great. With a new text alert system, students are always kept up to date with what is going on around campus. There are also multiple blue light stations around campus. If for some reason someone were to feel unsafe on campus at any point, you hit the blue light and an officer will come escort you to where you need to go.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Hang out with friends. Take advantage of the free activities that they Widener Activities Counsel sets up. Hit the local malls. Take the short trip into Philadelphia.

    Food and Dining

    Widener just redid its food courts and cafeteria so there are lots of great options for eating. Theres something for everyone there. I recommend getting a meal plan that has extra flex dollars to use at the Mack Street Grill, the coffee shop, ext.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty average. The dorm rooms are typical size and can get a bit cramped at times. However, the dorms are definitely liveable and I would recommend living on campus to all freshman. It will help you to really immerse yourself in the college life and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Wideners professors definitely challenge students. Widener wants to see all of its students succeed in their academics so that they can carry all of their knowledge over to their careers post graduation. Study hard and take advantage of the free tutoring opportunities that are available on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved! The more activites that you are involved in on campus the more people you will meet and the more fulfilling your college experience will be. 2. Find your niche. Try out anything and everything that you think may be of interest to you. Want to play a sport but have no experience? Get some friends and put together a team for one of the intramural sports Widener has to offer.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Those random pedestrians with yellow jackets, standing at the corner of every street in the morning, noon and night are campus safety! They are at your assistance when you need them! They're ready to unlock your dorm door when you lose your key or pick you up by a shuttle bus when you need a lift!

    Greek Life

    All Greek Life on campus works for the community. Besides doing a lot in community service they run many fundraisers and events!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs and activities at Widener. Get involved! (For more info visit widener.edu)

    What to do for fun

    In the University Center there's Ping-Pong, Pool, a dance room and at the Wellness center there's a chance for students to workout and also there are different dance classes as well. Rock climbing, Swimming, Zumba, Aerobics are just a few other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe serves the best foods and from all different types, tastes and flavors! The lines aren't so bad because I've seen worse and the chefs are open to special orders. Breakfast and lunch are the best part of the day to grab a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are without air conditioning but a fan will pretty much keep you cool from the heat. There are trees everywhere where on campus and so it wont be difficult to find shade. All upperclassmen dorms have air conditioning , etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Once you get to college you're responsible for a lot and much more will be expected from you. At Widener you're given the opportunity to discover what's best for you while at the same time enforcing rules that keeps the environment safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some helpful tips for prospective students would be too: study whenever you find down time, ask questions because the professors are there to help you not fail you, learn to manage your time, get involved on campus, and don't forget to get the appropriate amount of sleep every night.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for an institution that reminds you of family, then Widener University is the place to go. It is a small community and many of the facilities are within walking distance. You become familiar with many of the nice, warm and smiling faces within a few months of being on campus.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe right on campus, just don't wonder too far off at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not have time to join any.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a laid back schedule and do not have to worry about a job. Most classes are held from 11am to 4 pm, with very few night classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition far exceeds the value.

    What to do for fun

    I work full time and study. If I have any free time I like to attend the gym or get my grandchildren for a visit.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I find it stressful, but you will only get out of it what you put into your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If at all possible look for a state college, the education you recieve will be the same and will cost half the price.

    In three sentences

    It is a small University where all the teachers take interest in your personal development. The class scheduling is not very convenient for non-traditional students, if you are young and just entering college, with no job to worry about the hours are perfect for you. The tuition rate far exceeds the value level.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The security presence is everywhere. I feel very secure attending Widener University.

    Greek Life

    Last year I was accepted to the Theta Chi fraternity

    Clubs and Activities

    Widener offer many clubs and activities. If a club or activity is not offered at Widener, you are encouraged to start it on your own with the support of the University.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be involved and make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main campus green in the center of campus is where many of the students gather.

    Bang for the buck

    Widener is a very attractively priced private university.

    What to do for fun

    The are many clubs and activities. Additionally, the student population is very friendly. Widener is also located approximately 15 minutes from downtown Philadelphia by train.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection at Widener is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are standard. Some dorm are air conditioned. The dorm rooms fit two persons.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work challenges each student.

    Tips for prospective students

    A student will succeed at Widener by learning how to mange their time. Time management skills are essential for success.

    In three sentences

    Widener is a terrific university. The student population is very diverse and friendly. The interaction between the teachers and students fosters a wonderful learning experience.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty good. i feel safe always. pretty helpful security.

    Greek Life

    aight. Im not in it, but the ones i visit/hang/party with do it pretty well.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is EVERYTHING, and there is ALWAYS people who want to be in them.

    Great for these types of students

    DOERS.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Georgio's is delicious. cherry blossom trees are pretty. Media is a nice town, lol. Thats all i can legally tell you.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd pay this tuition, always. (w/ scholarships)

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people on Old Main field, go to the games, club events, school dances (awesome), parties can sometimes be GREAT, running around like superheros. Its what you make of the moments. Go to media/swarthmore for food. Philly games.

    Food and Dining

    It has its days. Theres lots of options, sometimes. Hit or miss days. But they put in place a bunch of new stores/eating places so... we'll see.

    Dorm Life

    Friends make it amazing! Being alone in them is nice too, usually pretty quiet. HOT! ... but sometimes that can be usefull ;)

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are truly challenging but ALL are do-able! Turn in assignments (whether shakespearian or middleschool level) turn them in! A point is a point and they add up. The easiest way to fail is to refuse to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too eager jumping into everything. Find some friends (easy) and with them explore the campus/clubs/organizations and find together some things you would maybe want to do.

    In three sentences

    Widner has been a place of surprise and love. Strange sentence, i know, but that's what it has done to me. I love that school, its students, its campus, and even its stupid food.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The wellness center has a lot to do and the sports games are always a fun time!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is all you can eat and has a lot of good options. There is also a mini-mart, burger studio, and subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but from what I hear the dorms are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard, but if you apply yourself you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put work before anything else, get to know your professors, and take advantage of all that Widener offers!

    In three sentences

    The small campus is really easy to get around in. The professors are really easy going and love when students come to them for help. Widener offers a lot of extra services that are included in tuition for students!

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Awesome!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every hour from 8 am to 3 pm, the bell tower plays a song and you can hear it throughout campus.

    What to do for fun

    WAC (Widener Activities Council) has weekly events that are fun opportunities to have a blast and get involved and create new friendships. Greek life and other clubs also hold fun events on campus that's a blast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you like big class sizes, unfriendly professors, and family-type atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Widener is an intimate, close-knit, friendly school. The diversity here is larger than you'd think. It's also very involved in the community to better the city of Chester.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there tons to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    theres a pool,gym and buffet...what else do you need..

    Bang for the buck

    Last year I stayed on campus, although room and meals cost a fee commuting seems more expensive with gas and tolls

    What to do for fun

    theres always something to do,sports,clubs,places to eat, walk or run..

    Food and Dining

    5 stars- excellent

    Dorm Life

    4 stars- the dorms are clean and you can pick the ideal person but you share a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars- what you put into your education is what you will get out of it. Study hard and take college serious.

    Tips for prospective students

    For freshmen year, I would definitely consider staying on campus.

    In three sentences

    I love my school, I am very proud to be a student here and cant wait to see what the future holds for me after completing school.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is everywhere, all day and all night.

    Great for these types of students

    Who likes small campuses

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities during the week and weekend

    Food and Dining

    Lots of different places and food options to choose from

    Dorm Life

    Small dorms. No AC.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty good

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This has to be one of the safest spots on the planet, next to nuclear facilities and Mitt Romney'f financial records.

    Greek Life

    I'm Irish. I also spent six years in the Marine Corps, so I never thought of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to learn about a career that they fell genuine passion for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition of whipping all new students with a wooden paddle, just kidding.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities here to make lasting connections that create endless career options.

    What to do for fun

    I am really into motorcycles and pre-1973 muscle cars.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide array of food and dining options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but I've heard they are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging to the extent that the professors provide real life scenarios and materials which makes the opportunities for learning endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your prerequsite courses early on or else you may find yourself playing catch up senior-year. Don't spend your money on frivalous things. Try to manage your debt in a way that you will not be paying for your college education 30 years down the road.

    In three sentences

    This is a great place to learn because of the professional experience of each of the professors. The school gets a bad reviews because it is located in Chester, Pennsylvania, but the school campus is extremely safe. The student body is comprised of a diverse mix of people which make comming to class an experience in and of itself.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been robberies off and on campus, but our safety office is doing everything they can with the local police department to reach a higher standard of safety for the students living on campus.

    Greek Life

    As a freshman you cannot join greek life in the fall semester but you can in the spring.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many chapters to join and activities for all types of students.

    Great for these types of students

    -don't want to be overwhelmed by a big university -want a personal environment with staff and professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is in the middle of Chester, which can be a dangerous city to live in or around.

    Bang for the buck

    Widener is very expensive, and it can be difficult to pay tuition without scholarships, financial aid, or grants.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the activities Widener plans for it's students, it's just safer to stay on campus then go off.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is delicious, but the food can repeat a lot. And there are not many dining options.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love living in my dorm room. You have the freedom of doing what you want without having the rules of living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard but it's best to find a tutor or other class mates to help instead of just letting is blow by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off because you are a freshman in college, this first year is very important.

    In three sentences

    Widener is a small university, which is not overwhelming at all. Widener is a very personal university, they try to help any way they can. Widener is not in the best area and it is best to travel in groups.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus safety on duty but the school is located in Chester.

    Greek Life

    Not part of one but there are many houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like to talk to their teachers and small classrooms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Widener Olympics.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education but very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much anyone can do to get involved and enjoy their time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on you and the schedule you create for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an excellent school for those who like to ask questions, receive one on one help, and want your professors to know who you are.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is an excellent school with a ton of opportunities. The teachers know your name and are more than willing to help anyone individually. The education is top of the line.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are great. I always feel safe while on campus because there are so many!

    Greek Life

    My boyfriend is apart of a fraternity and loves it! They do great activities and i always enjoy being around his fraternity brothers!

    Clubs and Activities

    WAC and many more clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    During the week i am a study girl, but widener is always providing activities so that you can destress.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am honestly unsure!

    Bang for the buck

    Widener is an expensive college, but they give out great scholarships and grants!

    What to do for fun

    WAC, Widener Activities Counsel provide many activities on campus. Make sure to know what WAC is planning. Hanging out with friends is also something i always enjoy doing.

    Food and Dining

    The dining room is great! Spacious and newly remodeled. There are many choices at once, but the food is repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but visit many of my friends in the dorms. A clean, nice, and safe living environment.

    Academic Rigor

    If you meet the academic requirements and strive for the best you will be rewarded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact a student you know to be shown around campus. Although most tour guides are accurate, students know the college best.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is a great school. Teachers are very helpful and want you to succeed. The campus is beautiful and very homey.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety are patrolling the campus all the time. 24 hour surveillance.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities are big on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    WAC , Bsu, BMU ,LGBT Widener and other clubs

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive. Nothing at Widener is free.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Philadelphia

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food in the cafeteria can be good. Sometimes I't isn't but there is an alternatives such as Subway and The Pod

    Dorm Life

    Some freshman dorms are really bad but as your classification status change you have better opportunities for your dorm experience to change

    Academic Rigor

    Great professor's that give you the one on one attention you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and Check up on a lot of scholarships. Keep up your GPA since freshman year because it is hard to recover.

    In three sentences

    It is an expensive school, but it is worth your education

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is amazing, everyday they are trying to find new ways to keep the students here safe. Chester is a tough place to go to school in but Campus Safety does a great job at protecting you, along with Chester Police who come around campus often and make sure we're safe.

    Greek Life

    Widener does have Greek Life, the university is not a big fan of it but it is popular and it is a lot of fun to be a part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Widener offers plenty of things for its students to do to keep them occupied. There is almost a club for everything and if there isn't you can get one started.

    Great for these types of students

    Widener is great for almost everyone, some people think its right for them and then realize it isn't what they want but you just have to try and experience it before you say no just because of the area it is in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Widener doesn't really do anything weird we celebrate our past as a military college but other than that it kind of the same as other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Widener is what you make of it, if you like to sit around and not try new things you will probably get bored. get out there in the community and join some stuff, have fun.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bunch of stuff to do, the sports teams are great, its all DIII here at Widener, there is also plenty of clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is exactly like any other college, Widener does a very nice job trying to create new dishes so you don't get bored and eat the same things over and over.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not awful, the freshmen dorms are traditional and can get hot and stuffy, but they are not intended for you to spend every second in them, you will probably go crazy but it is all how you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major but the classes are good and very educational

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really want to be here, it isn't a city school but it isn't a college town either. Look at your options, Widener is in a tough area but it is well worth it.

    In three sentences

    Widener is all about it's students, and learning environments. It is built on community engagement and student affairs. Widener is a beautiful and incredible school to be attending.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Chester is not the ideal location, but campus safety is absolutely great. From the Pride Ride that will take you off campus, to seeing them all over campus during the day and night, I have always felt safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    13% of our student population is involved in Greek Life. I'm personally not involved, but most of my friends are and absolutely love it. Its something that if a student chooses to participate they have a great time in it, but if you are not involved in Greek Life there is still plenty to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club you want, 7 people and a good idea and the club will get approved by our Office of Student Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be involved and enjoy community service.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A new garden was donated in the fall of 2012 by a alumni of the class of 1967 and in that garden there is a metal dome that incoming freshman will walk through and walk through again during graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    Althought tuition is steep, there are many scholarships and different programs available. Iam currently involved in two different activities on campus that combined give me $7,500. Financial aid is pretty helpful as well. Don't let the price tag scare you. The small class sizes and individual attention from professors does make the price worth it.

    What to do for fun

    So much to do, if you are involved. Whether you are involved in Greek life, sports, or other extracirricular activities there is always something to do on the weekends. From school approved parties in the University Center or the fraternities, to inflatable obstacle courses and zip-lines set up in Old Main field, there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was just redone in fall 2011, and the food court was redone for fall 2012. Both options have a wide variety of food to choose from and I like it all. Although I am not a picky eater, I know my friends who are always find something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    As freshman you are in small dorms, but the good part is that your whole class is together in those buildings. You really get to know your classmates. As upperclassmen, you get different housing options. This year I lived in Metropolitan Hall, where I lived in a six girl sweet with three bedrooms with two people in each room, along with two full bathrooms, a living room, and a full kitchen. Housing is a lot of fun if you are living with/by your friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes such as physics, chemistry, and anatomy have challenged me greatly, but have taught me important study skills. Other classes such as electives and social sciences have not seemed to be too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! Getting involved is the best way to meet people and find great activities to take part in. Getting involved at Widener is extremely easy due to their numerous involvement fairs.

    In three sentences

    Widener has gave me so many different opportunities that I never could imagine myself doing before. The small class sizes have made my learning experience so personal and so much more meaningful. The people I've met will be lifelong friends to me.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is loaded with security, from foot patrolled workers, automobile based driving guards, call centers, emergency boxes and cameras.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs here, more than I could even recall. You'll see them out in force looking for potential applicants.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The graduates from this school have an average mid-career salary of almost $80,000, according to a recent study by Business Insider, found here: http://www.businessinsider.com/most-underrated-colleges-in-america-2013-6#25-widener-university-1 With such a great campus and astonishing graduation rate, this school is a great value.

    What to do for fun

    The university is located right outside of Philadelphia, so public transportation brings you right into one of the greatest, largest and most historical cities in the country. At the campus, there are multiple fitness facilities and quads to hangout and relax,

    Food and Dining

    The food options at Widener are great. There are several chain food places here, such as Subway and there is a large cafeteria offering an array of fresh cooked food and packaged goods.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot comment, as I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are phenomenal and I've learned a ton of information about the field of nursing so far in my student career here.

    Tips for prospective students

    To gain admission to Widener, try to maintain a GPA above the 'minimum'. A 3.0 and decent SAT score has a good chance at being enough, however a 3.5 and an average or better SAT score should lock you in.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is a phenomenal university with great strengths in business and nursing. Enrollment here comes with full access to a great gym and fitness center, great sports facilities and awesome food. Most importantly, the teachers chosen by Widener to provide the students education are absolutely great.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is in Chester. Public safety does all they can but sometimes things happen. You just gotta be smart.

    Greek Life

    There are a few frats and sororities, but no african american chapters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs. Extracurriculars are a big deal here.

    Great for these types of students

    Brainiacs, football players, and engineers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Widener is very expensive. Too expensive in my opinion, but your paying for the professors. they are top notch.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to get involved in. Intramural sports are a big deal.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly i don't eat in the cafe. The food is greasy and packed with sodium. However there is a subway and burger studio on campus so this softens the blow a little bit.

    Dorm Life

    There's only two really good dorm buildings. If you're not lucky enough to be in these buildings find a good way to make your room comfortable as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is very tough. I've had countless sleepless nights but it is worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you come. The campus is small so if you are looking for a party school this isn't it. The cafeteria food isn't the best hopefully you know how to cook. There are plenty of organizations to join, the more involved you get the more you will get out of this school.

    In three sentences

    Widener is a great school if you desire a strong community. The teachers are always willing to spend extra time with the students. Widener will take you where you need to go.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to join and the city is just 20 minutes away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out the campus.

    In three sentences

    Widener University has a diversity of students. The teachers and staff seem really helpful & friendly. They have a cozy, cute, clean campus.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do their job for the most part, but given that the surrounding area is extremely dangerous, there is not much they can do if something bad were to happen.

    Greek Life

    Small greek life, that is restricted with many rules. Most Frats are on probation by the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Common clubs nothing extraordinary.

    Great for these types of students

    Student athletes (football). Our football team is good.

    Bang for the buck

    almost $54,000 a year, unless you can afford to have student loans till your 60 do not consider this school.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. No off-campus activities, cops are extremely strict and will get you for underage activities without warning.

    Food and Dining

    Subway and the cafeterias salad is the healthiest thing you can eat here. Most of the food is either swimming in butter or deep fried. The same food is served almost everyday, pizza, french fries, and sandwiches everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Besides the Honors freshman dorms, there is no AC in these dorms. The rooms are extremely small and tend to get dirty easily.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is just a step up from high school depending on your major. You could get the same education in a community college and save 90% of your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be disappointed. Make as many friends as you can, because this will be your only reason for liking this school. Get involved with as many activities as possible, because there are not many activities on campus or off campus.

    In three sentences

    Widener is over priced and too expensive. Widener's surrounding area is dangerous and dilapidated. You will not get your moneys worth at this school.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get what you are paying for

    Food and Dining

    They have a wide variety of foods

    Dorm Life

    This is my first semester there and I don't live on campus.

    In three sentences

    They have been nothing but helpful for. I am apart of their continuing studies program and they have made the transition easy for me. I would highly recommend them due to the fact that they have some very interesting classes that most colleges don't.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around and available whenever any student needs them. They patrol the campus and rotate through residence halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 80 student clubs and organizations to get involved in on campus and every one of them is more than willing to accept new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Widener is great for students that need more one on one instruction because the class sizes are smaller and the professors are able to help out more.

    What to do for fun

    I am very involved on campus so I always have fun things happening. There are events happening all the time as well as trips. I like to stay involved to meet new people and gain my leadership skills.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always trying new foods and its exciting. The cafe was recently updated and with that an updated menu with more options and variety of choices. There is always something for everyone to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! It is obviously not a four star hotel but living with a variety of different people from different backgrounds is so exciting. I enjoy living on campus and being so close to all the activities, there is always something to do or someone to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the academic rigor can be a bit challenging. I feel that all the majors on campus have their challenges in their own ways. I find my classes to be very demanding but the professors are always available to help you and answer any questions you might have.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to not fall behind. Talk to professors and get involved. There are plenty of opportunities to grow as a person and a student leader so get out there and experience Widener.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is a great school to learn not only academically but learn who you are as a person. Widener offers a variety of volunteer opportunities within the city of Chester and the partnership that has been built is amazing. This is a fantastic school and for anyone that wants one on one attention with professors and a great place to find yourself, Widener University might be the place for you!

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always walking around and driving around. Although a lot of people are skeptical about being in Chester, this campus rarely has any safety incidents. The campus in Delaware is more likely to have an issue than this campus.

    What to do for fun

    Well of course they have clubs and the have intramural sports that are pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is definitely edible but there's some days where you just can't deal with the meals in the cafe. The Burger Studio and Subway come in really handy on those days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I live in is pretty hot in the summer but there are plenty of dorms with air so it's not like I;m dying. Overall the dorms are pretty clean and they're a good size.

    Academic Rigor

    The schoolwork here is pretty challenging but it isn't impossible. The professors challenge you to do your best. The science department here is really great so you'll definitely get great looks with Widener on your resume.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come into college with the same mindset as high school. It's not the same, although it IS very similar. In college you're paying for your education so you definitely need to stay on top of your schoolwork. Don't let the way they show college on TV get your expectations up. Don't get me wrong, college is fun. But it definitely wont be all partying and games.

    In three sentences

    This school is really amazing. The students here make you feel like one great, big family. The staff members are here to help you and they will do whatever they can to help you succeed.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is everywhere. Never will you walk or ride somewhere and not see the guys or girls in yellow. They even patrol some lecture buildings, and watch over dorms throughout the day and night.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I personally like the school. It offers my favorite sport and major and is a reasonable reach from my house. I would like it to be a little bigger, but the small size makes me feel more like a student and less like a number. The price is the only thing that I disagree with.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport, club, Greek life, but that is after your first semester, or create a club if you and your friends have new ideas.

    Food and Dining

    The food is bearable. It could obviously be a lot better. The best part about a school is usually not its food. It is hard to find a seat at 12 for lunch, but you learn that. Learn schedules your friends have so you do not sit along. But different varieties are open to the cafe each day, with some weeks dedicated to oversea dining.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is nice. Every freshmen dorm but mine and a select few(if you're lucky) do not have AC. My advice is bring a fan. The heat is said to be strong in the winter, so you may need it all semester long. My dorm also has nice people. Two freshmen dorms are specifically for engineering and nursing. Security and quiet hours are also held for protection and better studying environments.

    Academic Rigor

    They aim to produce alumni at this school. You begin to slack, and you can and will get kicked out of your major. It already happened to someone I know.

    Tips for prospective students

    By your books online! Their bookstore, probably like any college bookstore, charge outrageous prices. Try to get your books early. Get help if you need help. They have a Writing and Math Center for those struggling or what their paper previewed. Last, do not spend all your POD money up too fast. That is their version of Widener currency for the local convenience stores on campus. it goes fast so use wisely.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is a nice small school, if that is what you are looking for. Attracting mainly engineering and nursing majors, it is a good home for those interested in those majors. Also, the clubs, sports, and hobbies that they have to offer will keep you busy and involved.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is located in Chester, I have never had a problem with safety. There are plenty of safety guards that patrol throughout the campus and around the area. If anyone feels scared to travel at night to the cafeteria, dorm, or your car, campus safety can be called (or you can press a button around/near the entrance of each building) to have a safety guard assist you to your destination. If there is an incident that happens near or on campus, campus safety is alerted immediately and a text or email goes out to every student. Overall, I feel very safe at Widener.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are A LOT of clubs and activities one can find on campus. There are many clubs that are major specific and many clubs that one can join for fun. Clubs can also be started by an individual whenever a student wants. The clubs just keep adding up!

    Bang for the buck

    Widener makes sure that you experience college life at its fullest. During my first semester, they wanted all of the new freshman to join at least one club or sport to really experience Widener and make new friends. Even though the tuition is higher than public school, Widener offers many opportunities to their students and really get you involved to pack your resume full of different activities, community services, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Widener has plenty of sports you can play when you have free time. There is also a new swimming pool that was built that any student can go in and swim. At the wellness center, you can work out and there are also classes such as yoga, cycling, and zumba that you can take at the wellness center. There is also a dance company that offers a wide variety of dance styles and has a recital at the end of each semester. For musicians and actors, there is an orchestra, choir, and plays that you an join when ever you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. They have plenty of places you can get a snack or you can go to the cafeteria and get a whole meal. At Widener, any student can go get breakfast, lunch, or dinner at the cafeteria so it is not limited to only resident students.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I can't give an accurate review on dorming. From what I hear though is that many students enjoy dorming at Widener and many find it helpful because you can get help from other people in your major. The dorms are safe and have a safety feature outside so only students can go into the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load can be pretty hard for many who have a problem with procrastination. There are many students who changed their study patterns because they realized procrastination was not a good idea anymore. If you keep on top of your work, everything will be smooth sailing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a professor asks you to have a book, make sure you have it on time. Many professors at Widener only make you have a textbook if they know the students will be using it a lot. Other professors do not require books and understand how much textbooks cost for their students. Overall, if a textbook is purchased, it will definitely be used in class every other day, if not everyday.

    In three sentences

    Widener is one of the most friendly schools I have been too. The faculty cares about the students and how they learn. They (faculty) want all of their students to be successful and will strive to offer help and other opportunities in order to make their students have the best education.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to do something fun you would either have to drive 15 to 20 min to go to philly. If you take the train it will take you 40 min to 1 hr. There isn't much to do here, so I would say if you come here get involved in clubs to keep yourself busy.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks! The salad bar is pretty good, but everything else is too greasy or not edible. There is not enough room for everyone to sit during busy hours. The staff in the dining hall are pretty chill.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small. In the dorm I am in there is no heat control, so the room get really hot. During the summer there's no AC we had to use fans which did not help with the heat. The beds are okay you can raise the bed if you wanted to which is nice because then you can put things under the bed to make more room.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is not to hard if you manage your time, also some majors here don't even get work. Some professors are not very good at handing back the papers you turn in so you won't know how well you are doing. If you are a science or business major expect to get a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go into the business or engineering program this school is for you, but all the other programs are not that great.

    In three sentences

    The school is really small everyone knows everyone. Professors can be great, but most of them are not very good. Campus is located in a dangerous area, Chester is rated number 2 as most dangerous places in the country. People here can be friendly, but there are a lot of clicks.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt extremely safe.

    Food and Dining

    Weekends suck! Might as well go home every weekend and what's the point of going away to college if you're going to do that?

    Dorm Life

    I honestly don't know so it's dumb to require this question

    Academic Rigor

    So easy it's laughable

    Tips for prospective students

    Worst school ever! They are only looking out to cover their own asses when they make mistakes when it comes to the graduate admin. Not all negative though. Undergrad professors are very knowledgeable and want to help you learn.

    In three sentences

    They over charge for the same education you can get other places. The graduate school is basically like paying a school to learn on your own. It sucks.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always looking out for the safety of students.

    Great for these types of students

    The student who wants to go to school for school

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, it is expensive, but its a great school and you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Off-campus parties, on-campus events, Philly is not that far, many places to go in Springfield PA

    Food and Dining

    Food is typically good, has weak points

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms, and RA's

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but in the end it is worth it. Great School

    In three sentences

    I am a civil engineering student at Widener currently, I feel that Widener is the best fit for me. Great professors, available for help all the time, small class sizes, etc.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The surrounding area is dangerous, but there are police officers and security guards on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are quite a few options for Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs to join and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for diversity in students and staff.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive, but if your looking for a job locally Widener has a great reputation in the community. You are pretty much guaranteed a job after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Widener has different events on campus each month for students. For example right now they are doing Italian Cinema nights. Widener is also very close to Philadelphia which has a lot of museums, bars, nightclubs, and so on.

    Food and Dining

    There is a main dining hall and a few other smaller food places like subway. There is a vegetarian station at the main dining hall as well.

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live in a dorm I would suggest it. The surrounding areas are dangerous and it is much safer to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Widener expects a lot from you academically, but it will all pay off in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, work studies, and assistantships because Widener is pricey.

    In three sentences

    Widener University is well known in the tri-state area for being one of the best schools around. The level of education that the students receive is amazing. Many of the local companies specifically look for Widener graduates when hiring new staff.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always present on campus to ensure students' safety

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Chemistry Club, Environmental Club, ASCE, ASME, Biology Club, Outdoor Adventure Club, and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, dedicated, motivated

    Bang for the buck

    For a private college, very cheap. Financial aid is very good.

    What to do for fun

    Variety of trips, intramurals, and clubs to join

    Food and Dining

    Food is manageable. A lot better than other schools.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are ok. Only three of the buildings have air conditioning. Many options for upperclassmen. Many people choose to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering curriculum is very difficult. Study hard and you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved. Take advantage of opportunities. Pursue leadership roles

    In three sentences

    Questionable area, but a very good school. Student life is vibrant. Campus is very safe.