Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Wiley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for those students who need a taste of the real world. this is a institution that teaches you that there's more to life then mom or dad's basement. and it is also great for those people who need seclusion from the world to focus on total life improvement. so if you are in need of a place to excel, wiley is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for somewhat high levels of repetition among faculty members and administration. as well as having to constantly check on your affairs, and to maintain every record and document in case of a discrepancy in your files

    Bang for the buck

    it is very much so worth it, and it is not difficult at all to receive a scholarship of some sort or financial aid. the facilities could use some major improvements, but the school is in the process of major improvement as i type.

    Am enjoying being here

    i love being at wiley college. it is set in marshall texas, which is a small quiet town. so if you wanna get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. wiley is your college

    Am learning a lot

    i am learning alot from the majority of my instructors. you just have to build a relationship with them to where you can easily communicate.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety regarding the campus is quite important to the Wiley College faculty and staff. There is always security patrolling and handling situations. No one is ever in danger!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a MAJOR thing on campus. On Wiley College Campus we have both Greek and Non-Greek Organizations. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc, and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc are a few of the Greeks. A couple of the Non-Greek Organizations would be Alpha Angels Inc, Gamma Elite Community Service Sisterhood , Kappa Kourts Inc etc. I am a member of Alpha Angels Incorporated!

    Clubs and Activities

    Wiley College has a host of GREAT clubs and activities that individuals participate in. A few would be there's an International Club for international students and for those wanting to learn about different cultures. Wiley has a Tourism and Hospitality Club, DEEP Soldiers Club it's basically a club regarding poets and spoken word . We also have two extremely important clubs which would be the Student Government Associations and the Student Union Advisory Board those clubs are those that deals with getting the permission to have certain events on campus. Those are just a few of the many on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Whether you are an International, an Out-of-State, or a resident of Marshall, TX Wiley College is great for ANYONE! Being here you learn to come together as one and you also learn about other cultures while learning about your school's history!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During certain holidays the campus hosts events in relation to the celebration.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of social activities/ events happening during the week and on weekends. During the weekends, there are parties, movie nights, game nights etc that are hosted by certain organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food & dining is pretty decent as well. The cafe serves food that represents the Food Guide Pyramid, encouraging those to eat healthy. The cafe, I believe can seat at least 1500 students. There's also a ballroom where students can sit, in case the cafeteria gets filled to capacity.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty much decent. There is an all boys dorm, two dorms housing females ( one for freshmen girls and upper class/ athletics) In Spring 2012 a co-ed dormitory was being constructed.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been at Wiley College for three years. I am a Criminal Justice major and I must say, based upon my OWN opinion the C.J. department actually prepares you for a career in Law Enforcement and that they are one of the MOST successful departments on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Your college experience is based upon how you make it. Everything that you expect out of it is entirely based on the performance in which you act.

    In three sentences

    Wiley College is the place to be. This is the opportunity to learn about your history while becoming apart of history! Everyone can succeed at Wiley College!

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i go outside to meet new people or i study with my roommate or just go walk around & try dicovering where i am now

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure this is the place for you and come here with purpose not just to hold up space

    In three sentences

    its a small campus. reasonable sized classes close knit community.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Different pledges to join and different club organizations as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You must attend church service on Tuesday and Sunday's

    What to do for fun

    I have no idea what to do for fun, but they are allowed to have parties.

    Food and Dining

    I don't stay on campus, but The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class and show up on time.

    In three sentences

    Being a Wiley College student will help you strive for your goals and help you whenever you need help with your homework. The teachers will also try their hardest to work with you if you have a problem with understanding the work.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The program is tailored toward working adults that have accumulated college credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make arrangements to have transcripts sent in a timely manner if entering the Organizational Management Program. Also get General Education Courses completed prior to enrolling. The OMP curriculum is accelerated. Plan to attend with no breaks.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but worth it if you qualify for financial aid.

    Did enjoy being here

    Enjoyed the classes however the administration left a lot to be desired. Required repeating paperwork and constant follow-up.

    Did learn a lot

    I was enrolled in the Organizational Management Program. The instructors were very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for students that dont have ababy. because they dont have family live. I wish that they had family live because i do have ababy.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security but, but not the best.

    Greek Life

    The greeks are very important to the school, but it is a option.

    Clubs and Activities

    To stay preoccupied, get on the debate team.

    Great for these types of students

    Bring your friends to everything, get to know the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have spring fling week, which is the best week to go wild and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is part of your tuition so you don't pay for much but parties.

    What to do for fun

    To have fun in Wiley, you should get involved in things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not so good but they do make great fried chicken.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are what you make it, you have to decorate to feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Always go to class and pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communication is the key with anyone that you meet.

    In three sentences

    I believe Wiley is what you make it. As long as you get in many activities then you will love it. Making friends at Wiley also helps.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Freshmans have curfew

    Clubs and Activities

    Havent ventured anything yet but im looking forward to what ever they have to offer

    What to do for fun

    Work hard play later. Travel, shopping, eating out

    Food and Dining

    I am a big junk eater not a lot changed from my transition from home.

    Dorm Life

    Very calm, cool, and collective.

    Academic Rigor

    My weakness is mathematics but there plenty of study help all around so there is no reason for failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in tune with you admissions counselor. Keep up with deadlines dates. Remember to that the staff works for the betterment of you so never be afraid to ask questions. This is not just school it is a important investment in your future.

    In three sentences

    Wiley College is a phenomenal place to further your secondary education. It is a small institution which makes your whole college experience more personal. I can honestly say that i made a great decision when i decided to attend Wiley.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are always alert. i feel the safest on my college campus, especially where our school is located.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school dances are so much fun. I love the music and people who come all the time

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who believe in old but strong rooted teachings. Also for students who love to debate this is the perfect opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i like to hang out with friends and be goofy. I also like to dance and take hundreds of pictures a day

    Food and Dining

    I love to eat breakfast lunch and dinner, Wiley does an awesome job to make sure i am full for every meal and comfortable at the same time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty small but the people make it ten times better to be here. The dorms here give you a good head start on preparing for your own house some day.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are so great here, i love the positive energy every teacher gives me to pursue my goals in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    one Tip i can give to prospective students of Wiley College is to be open minded for whatever opportunity comes your way because you never know how it could change your life for the better.

    In three sentences

    So far Wiley have been an awesome experience for me. I love the strong rooted background the school has. I also enjoy the teaching pace and positive energy the school brings.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research! It is a small but family-like college

    In three sentences

    An exceptional college with amazing programs fr every type of person.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Your safety while attending Wiley College is very dependent on who you associate with, and where you choose to go. The security is very poorly staffed, but as long as you stay with the parameters given to you by staff members you will for the most part be safe.

    Greek Life

    There are a host of fraternities to join for both men and women. The fraternities primarily focus on togetherness, and scholarship. There is a small fee for membership, but it is money well spent for a lifetime of belonging to such a good group.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have very successful basketball, volleyball, baseball, and soccer programs. There is no football team. Apart from sports the Wiley College debate team is excellent. The school is often times called Wiley college home of the great debators. There is a movie starring Denzel Washington called The Great Debators it is a damatic history of the debate team here at Wiley College.

    Great for these types of students

    Wiley college is a historically black college, and it is great for students who may not have had a shot at higher education otherwise.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All around the campus there are monuments to influential alumni of Wiley College. If you make a difference in the institution there is a good chance a monument will be erected in your name.

    Bang for the buck

    Wiley College is very expensive. As far as the faculty goes you are getting a good value. The security, facilities, and technology are not at all what they should be for such a high price.

    What to do for fun

    On-campus parties provide a good environment for socialization, and safe fun. Fashion shows and movie showings are also pretty frequent around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a very big selection of food, but what is available is both healthy and tasteful.

    Dorm Life

    A new dormitory complex has recently been added. The rooms are not large, but they are comfortable. Both the female, and male dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you concentrate on what's important, and come up with a strict study sceduale and stick to it you'll be fine. The faculty will be there for you if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your work, and do not allow distractions to sidetrack you. Also, take heed when people tell you to not go certain places in the community.

    In three sentences

    Wiley College is a decent college. The faculty is amazing, but the security is low. Students will leave the college well educated, but they may not leave there physically unscathed.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wiley has an excellent student activities staff.

    Food and Dining

    I don't ever eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Wiley holds each student accountable for their academic standing. The instructors are helpful, but they will not give any handouts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all of your finances in line and be prepared to take out a loan if needed.

    In three sentences

    I am attempting to complete an adult education program at Wiley College. It is convenient for me because I only attend one night per week. I like the instructors and the pace of the classes.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't eat much in the diner but it's good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be better but they're working to improve them.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are easy and you work at your own pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in ready to learn and stay focused on what you're here for. there aren't many distractions in this small country town and that makes it easier to get in and out in no time.

    In three sentences

    This school is a small religious institution. The professors are really willing to work with you. The main goal here is ensure 100% graduation rate.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have armed police officers on campus 24/7 so safety is never a issue.

    Greek Life

    We have alphas kappas zetas omegas and many more!

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternities and sororities . Student leadership , honor society, library club, basketball, baseball, track, soccer, student worship, and student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to learn by talking directly with the professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prayer in the dorms. Sometimes we get together at night and pray. We have a men week where all wiley men dress up and march to the chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    Wiley is a well priced school so you get everything you paid for out of it. A great education, and a fun learning experience. I wouldn't choose another school over wiley at the end of the day!

    What to do for fun

    On Thursday nights Wiley usually has scary movie nights. We also have talent shows for students to show their talents. And chapel every Tuesday and Sunday night. sometimes they will have parties hosted by the Greeks on weekends that can be pretty exciting.

    Food and Dining

    I heard wiley used to have an excellent cafe before I came, but with the student union being remodeled the cafe has been moved to a small room. it gets crowded fast so if yo don't get their early it might take an hour to eat. the food amount they give you is small so you will have to get back in line to finished getting full. When the cafe seats are full you may find yourself eating outside . which can be hectic when its cold or raining so some students eat in their room.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly nice depending on what dorm you stay in. make sure that you keep everything secured because their is allot of thieves at wiley. Very small spaced rooms but you will get used to them. Their is curfew and visitation rules for freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Its fairly easy to learn at wiley. the main concern that plays a big part in your grades is just attendance if you just go to class the teachers will make sure you pass. We have special tutorials for any student falling behind. And with small class sizes you will feel comfortable learning and having your teachers know you by your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wiley is great for people who like small class sizes, and being able to sit with their teacher one on one. Be prepared to go to chapel every tuesday, have extra food when you don't want to eat the cafe food, and attend class! Wiley takes attendance very seriously.

    In three sentences

    A very historical school. Its christian based. Wiley is full of culture, and people from around the world.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities at various times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask for help. They want you to succeed1

    In three sentences

    Wiley has great opportunity for students to succeed. Very caring academic staff. And the availability of assistance is great!

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety at Wiley is good. There's been a couple of incidents which the campus security has not been able to control. But other than that I feel safe here.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do at Wiley. Clubs and organizations. There's soccer and volleyball games early in the fall semester and basketball during the winter.

    Food and Dining

    The worst. Fried foods 5 or 6 days out of the week. Living on sandwiches everyday sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good. I live in the second best dorms in school and they are great. Good wifi, phone signal and computer & printer availability.

    Academic Rigor

    Wiley has improved a lot this year. It seems like the new professors are finally bringing college level courses into the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the school during the academic year. Attend a class or two.

    In three sentences

    Okay school. Could be way better. Very welcoming staff and international students.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    My sister is in a sorority and they all are always doing community service and things for students to be interested in Greeks and in school.

    Great for these types of students

    All those students who wants to become great person, spiritually, mentally, and just as a person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once you are in Wiley College, is a tradition to welcome the new Freshman and show The great Debaters, which is based in a true story.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to support the school teams in all the sports and be involved in school activities, in Halloween, homecoming, Christmas etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be responsible and bring the best attitude towards studying because once you graduate you will need everything you were taught at school.

    In three sentences

    Wiley College is a caring institution that helps those students who have trouble overcoming what society thinks of them, and gets them ready to be their best after school.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's absolutely nothing to do for fun unless you travel to a different city

    Food and Dining

    The café food is okay somedays but I mostly ate out and grocery shopped

    Dorm Life

    The dorms in Dogan Hall are amazing! I absolutely love the dorms. My dorm was one of the biggest on my floor and I had my own bathroom and shower.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is very easy. It's easier than my high school work, it's a joke

    Tips for prospective students

    It's in the country so make sure you have a car to get around

    In three sentences

    Wiley is an okay school, but it's in a really boring city. If you don't have a car you will be bored. I wouldn't recommend this school from my personal experiences.