Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Willamette University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would classify Willamette as a great place for an independent student. No one is here to hold your hand, however if you want help, Willamette is here to give it to you, you just have to look for it. However to state it simply, that the best Willamette students I know are the ones who really want to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Willamette has been a great school for me, it wasn't my first choice but I think that it has become the best place I could have landed. Willamette has a very accepting environment so the best thing you can do is just be yourself.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Willamette is the perfect school for all students. Willamette has wonderful programs of study where someone can major in almost anything they wanted, as well as great resources from free printing, to free tutoring. If you are an academic student, the classes are challenging and rewarding, and if you struggle in school, Willamette has many resources for you to take advantage of. If you like being sociable, there is a cafe on campus as well as hundreds of clubs and activities, and there are always fun events hosted by student organizations. Overall it is a great school for any student who is willing to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I can give to a student is to come check out the campus. Willamette has many visiting days, where there will be many prospective students as well as the experience to come at any time of the year and spend the day with a student and experience life here at Willamette.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the main drawback for coming to Willamette for me personally was money, I feel that every cent spent here is well worth it. There has not been a single moment at my time here that I have thought that I had made the wrong decision, and that, combined with my education and experiences, makes Willamette truly worthwhile.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community at Willamette is simply amazing. I find enjoyable people everywhere I go. Friends can be found in all sorts of places, from our over 100 clubs, classes, or simply hanging out at the Bistro or in a lounge at one of the dorms.

    Am learning a lot

    Each day at Willamette I have anywhere from two to five hours of class, at least this semester, and for each class I come out learning something new. Of course some days I learn more than others, but everyday I go to class I know that I will learn a new concept or further my mastery over another.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As I said before, everyone finds something to do at Willamette. Whether you are an athlete, a dancer, an artist or a musician, there will be numerous opportunities for excellence and Willamette gives everyone a chance.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important part of choosing a school is actually visiting the campus. Walk around, sit in on a class or two, and maybe even stay over night. Being there gives you a feel for whether or not you are comfortable there. Willamette has many visiting opportunities and offers over night stays for prospective students where you can stay over night with current students in their dorm room.

    Bang for the buck

    Willamette is definitely an expensive school as far as tuition but they are very good about giving scholarships for academics and financial need. The education and personal time and attention I am receiving at Willamette is worth a lot more than the education at huge schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Willamette was hands down the most comfortable school I visited. I would say that all the smiles I see walking around campus is evidence that others feel the same way. This is a school where there is something for everyone and if there is something a student wanted to try for the first time or get back into after a few years, Willamette will offer the opportunity. It is like a fairytale: go after your dreams and you will come across resources to assist you.

    Am learning a lot

    I knew that the Willamette Professors were going to be helpful and probably more so than a bigger school but I never expected such dedicated people to the education of every student. Even in classes I think I do not care for at first, I come out realizing I have learned so much and not just text book memorization. I feel able to converse on many topics and apply class subject matter to everyday life.

  • 11/22/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    They have denied 4.0 students that are not involved in extra curricular activities but have accepted 3.8 students who volunteer regularly, show leadership, take rigorous AP classes, etc etc. They rather take a student that shows involvement and has something to offer to the school and community instead of someone that doesn't do anything with their time outside of school. So get busy! Be a part of something! Sports, jobs, volunteer, etc. Anything is better than nothing in this schools case.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is a private school. Yes, that means it's going to be more expensive. But this school is so worth it. They offer a lot of financial aid. This is not an impossible school, you just have to prove you deserve to be there.

    Will enjoy being here

    There are over 100 different clubs and activities to be a part of. The drinking/party scene isn't very strong but it's obvious it's unnecessary. The social atmosphere is of independent, unique students that are friendly and accepting. Same goes for the professors. Sure, you have to get used to the drizzling rain but remember the summers are beautiful! Year round, the campus is gorgeous.

    Will learn a lot

    I went on a college visit a few days ago to this university as well as 3 others in Oregon. Out of all 4, I found WU to have the best learning environment. Small classes, personal relationships with teachers that genuinely want to help you, and serious students. Many different FREE tutoring and one-on-one help with professors. Academics are definitely important without having to be a nerd. There are students of all sorts, but the vast majority are well rounded and heavily involved.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, Like Intimate Settings. If you really like to get to know the people around you, then Willamette is the way to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rainboots, people. It's Oregon. And also, don't live in Kaneko Commons unless you really like hiking. Get on the administration's good side. Join a Jump Start Program. They get you a solid group of friends before the semester starts.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pricey school, and sometimes you can't get the classes you want and the food can be a little crummy. But the education is great, and there's usually a hefty financial aid package waiting for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are great, if not a little nerdy. They're very endearing and I've made friends who I wouldn't trade for the world. There's always something to do, even if it IS in Salem.

    Am learning a lot

    The student to professor ratio here is perfect. Everyone can get an equal amount out of the classes, and everyone can converse comfortably. The school is small enough that you will come to know a lot of people and will be able to learn along with your community.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is constantly patrolling the area as well as Willamette watch ( students working for campus safety). They are always available, 24 hours, and are promptly show up if a student is in need of assistance.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities on campus: Alpha Chi Omega, Pi Beta Phi, and Delta Gamma. In addition there is one fraternity on campus: Sigma Chi. All of the sororities prohibit the consumption of alcohol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Willamette has a great intramural program with lots of different sports throughout the year such as volleyball, indoor soccer, basketball, and flag football, etc. There are also a number of varsity sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are fun-loving, adventurous, and a bit strange in your own way then Willamette is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mill stream is a great place where students tend to hang out or do homework especially when the weather is nice out. During spring preview a number of students get together and run through the school which is a bit awkward but nonetheless entertaining. Freshman take part of matriculation which is a great ceremony that is unforgettable.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun places to hang out on campus such as by the Mill Stream and the Bistro ( on campus coffee shop run by students). Willamette's campus is only a few minutes away from downtown where there are a lot of great places to eat and shop. The mall is also nearby and is a nice place to hang out as well. There is a movie theater not too far away. In addition to that there are two great parks, Bush park (5 min walk) and River Front park (15 min walk). The activities are endless, you won't get bored.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast and Lunch are very good and there are always a lot of great choices. Dinner is all you can eat and although it may not be great every night for the most part it is fairly decent and there is almost always pizza as a back up.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, the residence life department does a great job of hiring skillful community mentors that organize hall activities and events. If you have any concerns they are very approachable and willing to help.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely an academically rigorous school but don't let that scare you away. Once again there are a lot of resources to help you do well and teachers are willing to help! You will be doing a lot of work but it is all doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to consult older students on what classes to take. Everyone is friendly so don't hesitate to ask. Always go in for help and see your professors, do not wait until the last minute. Make use of all the resources that Willamette has to offer they are all great and are of very much help.

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a great liberal arts school located in Salem, Oregon. It's small student body provides for personal student to teacher relationships and creates a welcoming tight-knit community. It provides students with unlimited resources to assist students on their road to success.

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want to go to a school with a student to professor ratio. Their are many clubs you can join and plus you can start your own club and get start up money from the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you a prospective student make sure that you shed off that senior mentality that you can from your last school and get ready to work because these classes are hard and you will need to study hard if you want to succeed. You should take advantage of all the opportunities and especially the professors so you can do well at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not going to lie this school is really expensive compared to a state school but when you go here you are not just a number in a class but the professors actually know and recognize you and that could be a bad or a good thing depending on your point of view.

    Am enjoying being here

    Like most colleges you go to your first semester you will consider transferring just because you feel like it is not the right fit. If you decide to stick it out you will be rewarded especially if you play sports because you will have a group of people that care about you. I really enjoy this school and am happy I decided to go.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot in my short time at this school and I can tell because my essay writing skills have improved, critical thinking skills have greatly improved, plus people skills have improved by the social atmosphere.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    independent, pro-active, ambitious, adventurous, motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    if willamette is a school you are strongly interested in, then do the work up front. visit if you can, try to talk to a professor and take a tour, schedule an interview with an admission officer. even if you think you can't afford, try, things tend to work out for those who work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    it cost the same for me to attend wu as it would for a uc, but the quality of the education, and resources available are much higher.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are amazing, the school is perfect, couldn't be happier.

    Academic Rigor

    the secret is upper division courses. as soon as you get past the 100 level courses all the courses are amazing. the professors are always excellent, but the pace will be a lot slower in lower division classes.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anybody who is independent. Salem is a long ways off from most places so one really gets the free college experience. This place is so friendly and inviting so pretty much anybody can fit right in and will be welcomed with open arms.o

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition along with books and living expenses comes about to be quite a lot. Meal plans are rather expensive but you have to take me since there are no kitchens in the dorms. The good thing is that the school gives a lot of financial aid.

    Food and Dining

    The gaudy commons is the main dining area and the food there can range from fantastic to stomach churning. The Kaneko dorm cafeteria is amazing. There is a chef on duty who makes everything fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fantastic. The regular dorms are small but comfortable, and you'll be wanting to go outside a lot anyway. The Kaneko dorms are the best, huge and very appealing to the eye.

    Tips for prospective students

    I just came back from a 3-day visit this week. The best thing you can do is visit the school because once you do, you'll fall in love with it. The campus is beautiful and the people are some of the friendliest I have ever met. I highly recommend you do an overnight program.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, Independent, Diverse oriented, Active, Open-minded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard from the beginning! Falling behind at Willamette can be the make or break of students here. Since it is such a small community, Professors get to know each student really early, and making a bad impression first semester can lead to a difficult 4-year period.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the students financial situation and scholarship awards, the amount of money paid for each student is a widely ranged. Willamette has a lot of alumni that donate scholarship money every year, so if you go out looking for help you'll probably find it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful! Salem can be rather dull sometimes but the campus of Willamette always has something going on. The students are very involved and make an effort to have their fellow students feel as at home as possible.

    Am learning a lot

    Willamette is a school that the sky is the limit. If you want to learn a lot, you will. However, if you want to just skate by and get that degree, that is possible as well but that is all you will get out of it. Don't get me wrong, Willamette is hard; has a much more extensive work load and higher expectations than most. But, what you put in is what you'll get out.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definately visit, and not just once. I visited twice, and wished I went more. Life is different if you go when there is students and when there's not. I recommend doing both.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really spendy, but I got an amazing financial packet. Willamette is known for their financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    Of course I'm really going to miss my family, but all the staff at this school seem so friendly. I went to lunch on campus, and there was a student eating with her professor! This usually is uncommon at other places, but already I feel welcome to the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I sat in on a class while I was on a visit, and walked away with a lot more knowledge then I learned in high school, and this was just in one class period. I'm really excited to see what else there is to learn.

  • 08/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Willamette is great for students who are dedicated and want their classes to be interesting. It is also great for people who like to meet new and interesting people and like to have a good time while getting a good education. People who want to have a great school experience should choose Willamette and bring their own spice to the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, and be ready to be open-minded. During the first days, be ready to get out of your comfort zone a bit to meet new people and enjoy your welcome into the Willamette community. Be prepared to take classes that are like nothing you would have expected, and just have a lot of fun learning about the Willamette environment and the people around you. It will be amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Willamette is a rather expensive school, but the cost is worth it, and the school gives a lot of scholarship money for those who need it. The financial aid office is also very considerate of a student's special circumstances, and the school works with an organization that allows for monthly payment plans. In the end, the school can be very affordable, and it is a great place to go to college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Willamette is a very friendly environment, and very welcoming. The students, professors, and other staff are all very open-minded. Also, there are many activities to do around campus when a student is bored, such as concerts (both classical and modern), poetry readings, talent contests, dances, etc. There are great places to hang out or study, and the resources we have are great. The food is also very good, especially at Kaneko Commons. There are many places to go and things to do near campus as well, and Portland is only about an hour away, which brings a lot of opportunity for other fun outings.

    Am learning a lot

    Willamette University has amazing professors who really care about their students and do their best to ensure that everyone is learning and keeping on task. If a student has a problem of some sort or is confused about the material, the professors are very willing and happy to help. They don't mind sitting down with a student and discussing whatever the student needs help with, and they respond to emails quickly in most cases. Professors are very cooperative and kind, as well as good at making the material interesting and easy to understand. Student feedback and discussion in class is also a very valuable tool that professors here employ. The workload may seem overwhelming at times, but it really helps students understand the material and causes the course to have an impact in students' minds.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If I had to choose two words to describe most of the people here, they would be: scholarly and fun. People here want to learn, and I quickly lost count of the random conversations and debates that began in hallways, over dinner, and just about anywhere on campus. Willamette students also know how to use their free time; there are many outgoing, energetic people here. I wouldn't say that we are a party school (quite the opposite, really), but most of the people I know have a wide variety of interests beyond the classroom and are passionate about pursuing these things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit, visit, visit! Come to Open House and other events for prospective students, spend a night on campus with a student host, whatever! (This is true for all colleges during the search process.) The more time you spend on a college campus getting to know the environment and the people, the better prepared you will be to decide what you want most from your college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I initially questioned whether I could attend Willamette due to its price, but I found that this university is especially generous in terms of scholarships and grants. Willamette alumni donate thousands of dollars every year to fund scholarships for current students, and the money you will have to pay from your own pocket is well worth the experience of being a student here. Classes and professors are awesome, the environment is wonderful, and there are so many great opportunities that you won't find at many other small schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Absolutely! I chose Willamette because of its people: everyone is friendly, intelligent, and accepting. There is always plenty to do around campus, from movie nights to guest speakers to dances and other activities. There is a definite sense of community here.

    Am learning a lot

    Academics here are challenging, and you are expected to give every class your best effort regardless of whether or not it's in your major. So far, the classes I have taken have all been very interesting, and there are so many different subjects from which to choose. Willamette emphasizes the liberal arts by requiring students to fulfill Modes of Inquiry (MOIs), which ensure that you take at least one class in five or six areas beyond your major.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is willing to work hard and put in a little effort to find any necessary help should be easily able to succeed. Creative thinking is highly valued, but not absolutely required.

    Tips for prospective students

    Willamette is a really great liberal arts school. One that is surprisingly well underrated. Take the tour! The campus is small so it doesn't take long, but it's pretty comprehensive. You get a feel for the University right away. And a word for the wise, enjoy Goudy lunches during your visit, for the one negative is the sub par dinners Goudy tends to serve.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's ridiculously expensive. Most private schools are. However, Willamette offers great financial aid. The quality of education and life here are superb, so whatever you do end up paying is well invested.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it greatly. There are always plenty of events happening on campus. Plus, there are also a great number of clubs, intermurals, and sports to get involved in. Everyone is very friendly and the campus is beautiful.

    Am learning a lot

    It's been ridiculous how much I have grown in the short time I have been here. I am being challenged academically as well as an individual, which is something I really wanted to experience. The professors are great, but aren't going to make learning easy on you. They want you to exhaust your options and think on your feet, but they don't hesitate to discuss whatever you are not understanding in more detail.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown Salem. Tons of restaurants that are at a good price/

    Food and Dining

    Busy and noisy not the best food.

    Dorm Life

    Warm and inviting rooms and great company.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses expect more work then other schools but excellence is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY, STUDY, STUDY!!!!

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a great university to explore different majors as well as receive unique opportunities. The campus is beautiful and inviting. The professors are willing to help the students achieve their goals.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus with over 100 clubs and organizations. Greek life is not very prominent but there are many dances during the weekends either sponsored by the Greek organizations or the Events Board. We also have many speakers and music events going on. Downtown is a 10 minute walk West. There's usually things to do that you won't need to go off campus much but people go on hikes and camping trips during the weekend with the Outdoor Club. There's something here for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. The dining company (Bon Appetite) is our exclusive vendor and provides a greener sustainable food option. Most of the food is great during breakfast/lunch but the dinners are typically a hit or miss.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you receive, you would have good/bad chances at creating a community. Some dorms overall are better at creating a social community than others based on layout, # of students, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of my academic load is pretty heavy. Although most of my classes are Music so I cannot rightfully judge most of the classes on campus but for the classes I have taken the overall rigor is similar to an AP class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a look at large and small universities. It is one of the ways to test which environment you would fit best with.

    In three sentences

    The community at Willamette is welcoming and friendly.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Only 4 fraternities and 3 sororities but a lot of people on campus get involved

    Clubs and Activities

    It's really easy to start your own club too!

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, curious learners, open minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On your birthday watch out! Your friends will try and throw you into the Mill Stream which runs through campus and it can be awfully cold! Also, if you are around on Spring Preview Day in April, expect to see student streakers, mostly seniors, welcoming you to the university at lunchtime.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely loved Willamette

    What to do for fun

    Get outside! Go to Bush Park or Minto Brown park, explore the various coffee shops in downtown Salem, take a quick trip up to Portland for the day, take advantage of sports events and student sponsored activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes outside of your comfort zone and make use of Professors' open office hours- they really do want to help.

    In three sentences

    Willamette is a great mix of intellect and fun; a place where students are encouraged to explore their interests. Not only are the professors supportive and great resources, often asking students to use their first names, but the administration is also committed to helping students. The university is a very familial place.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe location. Right across the street from the state capitol.

    Greek Life

    Limited number of sororities and fraternaties.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small towns who prefer a small school (<2000).

    Bang for the buck

    Well respected school.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life, Serenades, service opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Limited dining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Willamette is a small school in a small town. Lots of school activities. Great service opportunities. Within 2 hours of mountain skiing and beaches.

    In three sentences

    Willamette is a top university. It is academically challenging. Very small student to teacher ratio.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe, but sometimes it can feel overbearing. It is difficult to get away with things, but when you do get in trouble they tend to be very understanding.

    Greek Life

    This is a really great way to become part of a smaller community at Willamette. Rush happens second semester so you have plenty of time to decide if Greek life is right for you. It's not as big as it is at other schools and you don't have to be a member to go to their parties and some events unlike at other schools, which i think is really nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great things to do, and if there's a club you wish was there, it can be! The school is great about funding clubs so they can do the activities they want, and its a great way to meet new friends!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love being recognized by professors, enjoy class discussions, and getting to know everyone in their school. Walking to class you know most people and in class you get to know all of them!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The birthday millstreaming is one of the most popular traditions at Willamette. On your birthday you get thrown into the millstream that goes through campus by all your friends, slightly humiliating but its a lot of laughs! There is the naked run on spring preview day that many prospective students get to witness!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it's spending, but there are so many great things at Willamette that make it worth it. The small class sizes are amazing, the attention given to each individual students is outstanding. They have great networking and there graduate schools are top-notch. They tend to give out really great financial aid packages as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of really fun clubs including Ultimate Frisbee, Yoga, FunRun, Young Democrats/ Young Republicans, Soccer, Community Service, etc. Greeklife at Willamette is a great opportunity for many students to make new friends. The leadership program is very involved and even if you don't join, they put on a lot of great events like carnivals, midnight breakfasts, and dances!

    Food and Dining

    The dining plan is kind of over priced, but I think most dinning plans are. The food is generally pretty good, especially for lunch!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all really nice! Some of them may be small but they are all clean and the cleaning staff is full of really nice people!

    Academic Rigor

    There are times where a class may seem difficult, but the tutors at school are free and always available! The professors are always understanding from my experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there! Take advantage of club week and sign up for new things and things you may already enjoy! Get to know your professors, especially in the departments that you're thinking of majoring in.

    In three sentences

    The small school is perfect if you're interested in really getting to know your professors and the students who go to school with you. There are a lot of great extracurricular activities that really allow students to get involved in the school. On Campus life is a lot of fun and all the students are wonderful people.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety at Willamette is great. They are super responsive and do their best to make sure the campus is a safe place.

    Greek Life

    There are four different fraternities at Willamette: Sigma Chi, SAE, Kappa Sigma, and Phi Delta There are three different sororities: Alpha Chi Omega, Pi Phi, and Delta Gamma

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs on campus that you can get involved in. My favorite is the Outdoor Club. They offer so many fun opportunities to get off campus and do outdoorsy activities for very cheap. Such as beach trips, ski/snowboard trips, rafting, hiking, hot springs, yoga and so many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Star Trees: It is said that if a couple has their first kiss under the Star Trees, they will most likely get married Naked Run: Every Spring Preview day a group of students on campus strip down to nothing, paint their bodies and run through campus to give the prospective students and their parents a show

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, join intramural sports, join a club. There are a lot of fun clubs and leadership opportunities on campus. There really is not a lot of night life, but students tend to make their own fun wherever they are at.

    Food and Dining

    There are three different dining options for breakfast and lunch (Goudy, Kaneko and Cat Cavern), while there is only one option for dinner (Goudy). I have never had a bad breakfast or lunch at Willamette, but the dinners can be hit or miss. Dinner is all you can eat with only a few options, while breakfast and lunch has a lot of options but you have to use your meal points.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorm life, there is really nothing out of the ordinary. It is nice though that each dorm forms its own community and makes it easy to meet people. Depending on the dorm you are in, dorm life can be very quiet and provide a good study environment or it can be quite loud and rambunctious.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging academics, you get what you make out of your classes and the challenge ends up to be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind when visiting the school, it is not what it looks like at first glance. And I mean that in the best way possible. Willamette has a niche for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a great school that provides many unique opportunities to its students. While it challenges you academically, it better prepares you for a future outside of college.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have loads of clubs and activities to get involved in. There is something here for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Goudy food is hit or miss. There are days when it's great but other days....

    Dorm Life

    I really like my dorm. I've met some great people here and I can't think of any people who are horrible to live near.

    Academic Rigor

    It basically depends on your professors and what classes you are going to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors really do care about their students and work with them to make sure they succeed. It's a lovely campus and Salem is a nice town to go explore.

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a really gorgeous campus and it has some great professors. The tuition is a bit expensive but the financial aid offers balance the expense out pretty well.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus! Campus Safety also helps with anything from lost items to getting you back into your locked dorm room.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a huge part of Willamette. Instead of rushing, the recruitment process is much more personal. Freshmen get to go to open houses and join fraternity's and sorority's activities in their first semester to get a feel of which one they feel more at home with. This way they are sure of their choices in the spring semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    Willamette has a huge variety of clubs and activities to choose from. And if a certain club you were looking for is not offered, it is easy to start up a new one. I'm in five clubs, and each one is rewarding.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking for excellent academic classes without cut-throat competition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mill Streaming: people get dumped into the stream that cuts through campus on their birthdays. Sorry for those Winter Babies! Don't Step on the Seal in front of the Library: You will fail your next test! Star Trees: apparently these trees are the tallest trees on NW campuses. There's a Star Tree Lighting ceremony every December, and if you kiss someone under the star trees, you will get married. Rumored to be true.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Salem is a walk away. The State Capital Building is right across the street. There are parks nearby, and a lot of people go to Portland on the weekends. You don't need a car to live comfortably here, especially with the bus system.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. Not much variety because everything is local. There is a HUGE vegan and vegetarian selection to choose from, however. All-you-can-eat meals are understandably less quality than the ones you use meal points for, but the desserts are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    SUPER FUN! There are residential buildings with different themes such as Japanese Heritage, Sustainability, and Substance Free. Communities here are very close to each other because they try to put similar people into the same buildings. The events the community mentors put together also help with bonding. And everyone has access into other buildings until 11 PM, which is nice for study groups.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers definitely expect the best from you (especially if you're a music student!). Do not expect an easy A out of anything, even if the class is rumored to be easy. But either way, if you put in your time and effort, you will get something useful out of any course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just look at the campus itself, make sure you check out all the residential buildings and see which one you like better. Liking the place you live in is a huge factor when it comes to enjoying your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Willamette is a small, close-knit community that is known for its sustainability efforts and emphasis on community service. Everyone's friendly and the classes are small, which makes it easier to get help from both your peers and your professors. The resources Willamette offers for its students are countless; they really want you to succeed here.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to hear of an incident occurring that campus safety could not take care of.

    Greek Life

    I am rushing Sigma Chi. There is a great Greek life system in place that allows for a great atmosphere.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a varsity football player and there for am usually busy. I have not had time to check out many clubs.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, and with so many places to hang out there is never a time when you are bored. Being right near downtown Salem also has a lot of benefits when it comes to recreation.

    Food and Dining

    I must admit that I am not a fan of the dorm food, but it is by far a lot better than food I had tried previously on other campuses.

    Dorm Life

    The atmosphere is quite enjoyable, and your fellow hall mates quickly become some of your closest friends

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very challenging school that encourages its students to perform nothing short of their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to be challenged, but embrace the challenge and put nothing short of your best into everything you do here. All professors want to see you succeed and therefore will do everything in their power to see to it that you do.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school that presents a challenge even for those who fared well in High School. I myself found myself struggling in that first semester adjusting to the difficulty, but I now have a deeper appreciation for it and wish to be able to continue my studies here. It is because of this that I think Willamette University is by far the best choice out there.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Salem is very safe and so is the campus

    Greek Life

    Not a big deal. Join if you want and they do host some fun things on campus

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    star trees-just ask anyone

    Bang for the buck

    They give good financial aid and you do get individual attention from professors.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Portland for basketball games, intramural sports, and hang out on campus. Always something going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. They have a lot of choices and all you can eat for dinner and weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others. Some are old and don't have a lot of room.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study and professors expect you to attend class and participate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and sit in a class. Look at all the dorms not just the one they show you on the tour.

    In three sentences

    I am pleased with my choice of Willamette University. I like the small classes and professors that interact with the students. Wish my dorm room was bigger and dinning hall food gets old fast.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is fresh and relatively local.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are located near the train tracks which run all night. However, after the first two weeks you can sleep through anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Willamette is tough, but very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go into office hours! Professors love to get to know you.

    In three sentences

    Willamette is composed of three distinct groups: smokers, non-smokers and people who cough when they see you smoke.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They respond pretty quickly to situations.

    Greek Life

    A large portion of the campus is Greek, but Greek life isn't what you think here. It's not traditional; there's little to no hazing, it's overall pretty inclusive and Greek students tend to be some of the most involved on campus. If you're not into Greek life it's not a big deal, you won't be looked down upon at all. However, Greek organizations put on most events and fundraisers around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs, and if we don't have what you want, it's easy to create a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Willamette students all have a few things in common. Most people are very dedicated to what he or she is studying, and almost everyone puts a lot in to the community. However, there is definitely a big divide between hipsters and greeks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The star trees are beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    You get out of Willamette what you put into it. Academically, you'll be pushed to your limits here and then sometimes a little more. The food is great, and if you fit the culture here (meaning you're hipster or greek) you'll do well.

    What to do for fun

    There's really not much to do in Salem, OR, so be prepared for that. WU student's still find ways to have fun though, and the train that goes to Portland is close by.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast and lunch at Willamette are amazing. Dinner at Goudy isn't great though because it's buffet style for hundreds of people.

    Dorm Life

    You can find loud, party dorms and you can find quite dorms on campus. The rooms are pretty small though.

    Academic Rigor

    President Thorsett recently upped the academic rigor here so Willamette has become a much more competitive school academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit Willamette while classes are in session. The culture was very different here than what I expected because I visited during the summer.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often see officers, and have never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There has been controversy at this school surrounding Greek life; however, this is mainly aimed at fraternities and not sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs, and it is easy to start a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in any aspect of social justice from art to politics you will be accepted. There is no doubt that this school attracts a lot of hipsters, but all types of people are welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not step on the gold circle in Jackson plaza or, as myth goes, you will not graduate. The fountain near Sparks is known as the Chicken Fountain.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can take at least one AES or WGS course, specifically peculiar intimacies they will change your life. Also, all professors are easy to talk to and they are available to have conversations outside class about personal life problems. Everyone is there to help you grow professionally, and personally. USE YOUR RESOURCES!

    What to do for fun

    There are some small house parties and these often are focused around a certain interest, such as poetry readings. There are really exciting speakers, comedians, and theater shows going around campus, just keep updated and you will always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    You will hear this over and over: Lunch is better than dinner. However, both are good. There are a variety of options at each; however, the lunch is almost always the same options and it can get boring. If you have a friend in a sorority you can get a meal with them for 5 dollars, and they have personal chefs.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Lee House, and there were some problems with the building because of its age; however, the maintenance crew was available to help, although not always in a timely way.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will push you, but they are always available. Furthermore, they are open to scheduling appointments outside office hours. The professors value classroom participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy a more social atmosphere try to live on East Side. To live in a more studious environment choose West Side. Everyone is excited to meet you don't be afraid to say hello to strangers.

    In three sentences

    This school has changed my life and challenges students to be active in classrooms. Beyond the classroom the school also encourages well-rounded students to participate in everything from sports to social justice issues. They also place a high emphasis on community service and to serve those around us.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus feels safe. Bikes do get stolen, but it's just like most colleges in that way.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Willamette is so different from that at other schools. The sororities and fraternities mostly follow strict rules and do not haze. They're also committed to their philanthropy and organize many fun on campus events, such as the majority of dances.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    Super involved, activists, nerds

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On their birthdays, students get Mill Streamed, which means that they are (gently) thrown into the Mill Stream which flows through campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Willamette is pretty awesome about scholarships, which is why we get some crazy smart students.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, attend some of the many campus events we have! Also, kids can always go off campus. Portland is not too far away and is accessible by train if one does not have a car!

    Food and Dining

    Goudy, our dining hall, is pretty average. Especially if you've tasted authentic ethnic cuisine...

    Dorm Life

    I lived in an all girl's dorm. The environment was mostly great. The dorms feel extremely safe and a lot of times students end up having conversations in the hall with one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Our professors are demanding. It's definitely not impossible, but sometimes the workload is heavy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make full use of the resources available at Willamette. It's almost impossible to fail here; the professors will step in and help make sure that your needs are met. You should be sure to use the writing center, the learning center director Matt B, and make sure to interact with those professors we have so much access to!

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a challenging place full of opportunities. Students here are known not only for being hardworking but also for being very involved. Additionally, we are a small school so we have a strong sense of community and I feel like our students can actually influence the school's direction.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of clubs and activities

    In three sentences

    Willamette is a great school. It has a lot of great facilities and programs. I am looking forward to going there.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Salem is not the best place to look for fun but Portland is only an hour away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard because Willamette gives some pretty awesome financial aid.

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty awesome school. There is a lot of work but the professors are all helpful and actually take the time to get to know you. It's a pretty small campus so if you don't want to know most of the students by halfway through freshman year go somewhere else.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to portland!

    Academic Rigor

    academically challenging, but manegable if you balance your time well

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to study abroad! Get involved on campus and make sure to balance your meal points well

    In three sentences

    Willamette is a life changing school. I have made my closest friends here and I am so blessed to have been accepted as a transfer student.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I participate in outdoor program activities where we go hiking and camping. If Im not too busy on the weekends I will hang out with my friends and go to close off campus house parties or watch movies in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls may get old by the end of the semester but overall they do a good job at mixing it up and providing healthy options for students with all kinds of dietary restrictions.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life improves when you are a sophomore and move to west side but its generally pretty quiet and a good way to meet friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard. You will have to write lots of essays and you will feel overwhelmed but professors are supportive and understanding and there is free tutoring for every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest freshmen students live on east side because it is the easiest way to make friends and have things to do on the weekends. I also recommend doing stepping out and intramurals, its a great way to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a great place to be challenged academically and discover who you are as a student. The students are not pretentious and all different social groups come together to hang out in class and on weekends. The faculty are helpful and supportive and truly want to see all students succeed.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is in downtown Salem, so there are many restaurants within walking distance. If you want to get the most out of Willamette, it is suggested to get involved with clubs or greek life. It is a great way to meet new people and have fun doing so!

    Food and Dining

    There are very few dining options on campus, but as a small school, it is to be expected. There are many good restaurants downtown, within 10 minutes walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quite intimate and personal, and there is always a sense of community in every hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt like I was adequately challenged academically during my stay at Willamette. The professors really allowed for a greater academic experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out available jobs on campus for employment opportunities during the semester. The school website isn't the easiest to navigate, but if you take the time to utilize it, it has many opportunities available to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Willamette University is a small private school with a great student to teacher ratio. I felt like the professors really cared for the success of their students, and got to know mine quite well. There are many opportunities available from greek life to club participation and many more.