Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

William Carey University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student is welcome!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a wonderful school to attend you will become a great person in the future.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on Duty daily

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Many Clubs to Get Involved In

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, Inspiring, Motivation, Energetic, Oustanding, Humble

    What to do for fun

    William Carey University is minutes away from the mall, food places, movies, zoo, skating rink and more and a short distance drive to the Miss Gulf Coast

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful food and dining room has great cooks.

    Dorm Life

    NEVER STAYED IN DORM BUT HAVE TOURED AND THEY'RE GREAT

    Academic Rigor

    William Carey University is a Superior Rating in Learning

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up. Follow your dreams. Take it one day at a time.

    In three sentences

    William Carey University is a wonderful school for prospective students looking for a pleasant atmosphere and Christian atmosphere. William Carey University really strives to encourage every student to never give up on their visions. Willaim Carey University is a school I'm proud to be a student at.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guard on site at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students welcome Baptist.

    What to do for fun

    Go to church and reward myself with a movie often.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Salad bar is the best. Nothing is as good as mama's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    You will be home sick the first few weeks. The good news it will wear off. Do not party remember why you are here.

    Academic Rigor

    Take good notes in class. Study the material and make good scores on test. Never miss class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your grades. Keep your head up and remember you can do this. Never give up the reward is when you earn your degree.

    In three sentences

    William Carey staff is friendly and very helpful. This College has the can do attitude and the professors are great and very understanding. I would recommend my friends to attend William Cary University.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here really do enforce safety rules here to ensure our safety.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is limited. Some you have to be invited into and you have to know someone to be invited in which means you have to really get out there and make friends and become social.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs here are very limited and organized by other students. In order to become apart you have to know someone.

    Great for these types of students

    Campus life is very convenient for me. There are always things to do and things going on everyday you just have to step out of your comfort zone and really get out there the get the best of what campus has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the common grounds on campus. i can walk out my dorm and go get ice cream and hang out with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Carey is very affordable and they make it easy to purchase books. They also provide credits for printing. (my fav)

    What to do for fun

    I go to skate night, bowling nights, and laser tag which are all free and provided by the schools students service team.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe always have different typed of food for all types of students from different backgrounds.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life. I think there should be more options for those who work and go to school but have no place to go who can not deal with roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers care for the students and try to help them the best way possible and to meet our needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved and to stay positive.

    In three sentences

    William Carey has a wonderful staff. The campus is very beautiful and have small classes. Carey provides extra fun actives outside of class and school.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to church

    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on campus

    Academic Rigor

    exellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to learn and to be challenged

    In three sentences

    William Carey University is very creative and has a unique style of learning. William Carey University has a very challenging educational base. William Carey University wants there students to leave with the best education.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security always riding around

    Great for these types of students

    Students with support from families or other source. Try not to work or if working, work to the minimum

    Food and Dining

    Food is cheap and good

    Academic Rigor

    Very fast pace, good one on one teacher/student communication Not a big university, good clinicals experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your study habits. Think outside of the box and not just read the textbook. It is very challenging but will make you think

    In three sentences

    This is a great school if you don't work. It is very very fast pace. It pays off in the end because you get a BSN in Nursing within 18months

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    William Carey provides campus security at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    William Carey the Traditional Campus is an excellent school for older students return back to college. I think that in most of my classes being in your early 20's is a minority.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Recently, the environmental biology class has started a habitat for the local animals on campus. This area has become a really neet area to converse and enjoy lunch. Plus we have been able to spot local birds, butterflies, turtles, rabbits, and raccoons.

    Bang for the buck

    Many people look at the tuition of William Carey and think that it is too expensive. But they are forgetting that you are only taking 10 week courses. You are able to complete school much faster.

    Food and Dining

    I attend the Traditional Campus we only have vending machines. But, the selection is a very good one.

    Dorm Life

    I am an older student. I do not reside in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    William Carey prides itself on the academic achievements of its students. Most of the professors work in the field that they are teaching. This is a major plus for the students because they come with actual life experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff at William Carey genuinely care about their students. They make sure that you understand the information.

    In three sentences

    From filling out the application to obtaining help with financial aid all of the William Carey staff have been helpful. It truly amazed me that when I returned the the office to ask a question they greeted me by name. This is the type of service that you can expect from them everyday.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Safe community

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challenging. I found some of my art history classes to be at a master's level. This rigor helped me pass my PRAXIS the first time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know the due dates of financial paperwork! Remember to follow-up on administrative topics.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are personal and teach the individual regardless of class size. The art department is exceptionally accommodating and professional. I was able to obtain a career immediately.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security shack that you drive past to get on campus. They also have golf carts they drive around in.

    Bang for the buck

    At William Carey you are able to work as you go to school. They offer a lot of night classes. They also have a Nursing program for nights and weekends.

    What to do for fun

    It is a christian atmosphere.

    Food and Dining

    I am at Tradition campus so you have to go off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I am at the Tradition campus so we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's just like any other school. What you put into your studies is what you expect to get out of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is William Carey is very student oriented. They are there to help you. Show up for every class, do your assignments and keep a positive attitude.

    In three sentences

    I will have to rate William Carey with five stars. It is a very friendly atmosphere. The staff is there to help you with what ever problem you have. If they can not help they will find someone that can help.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    get involved in Chapel and Student activities or clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    top education for the money. This is the place you want to be.

    In three sentences

    Very supportive staff. Instructors/Professor are very knowledgeable of subject matter. Christian atmosphere.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe and has atleast two security guards on duty at all times!

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities, but I am not familiar with them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activites students can take part in. All you need to do in order to get more information on this is go see the director of student services.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great college for those who want to grow in their relationship with Christ or have a relationship with Christ. Also, if you are wanting to be a doctor because they will be graduating their first osteopathic medicine students this year!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not familiar with any unusualy traditions or locations on campus. We do have chapel every Wednesday morning, though.

    Bang for the buck

    Although, it is a great college it is still a little pricey. It would be nice to be able to get a scholarship to pay for half of the tuition if not more.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun are going to baseball games. Also, the soccer games are pretty excellent too. Both teams are very good and it's a great way to meet new people and support WCU. Other than athletics, there are student activities to partake in every week on campus!

    Food and Dining

    You have two options, you can eat in the cafeteria or at the commons and enjoy some coffee. The food is an A+ and I don't know of anyone who can complain. You are offered a wide variety of foods and healthy at that!

    Dorm Life

    From what I gather, because I do not live on campus, dorm life is amazing. You develop lifetime relationships with other students that attend WCU. There is always an activity to partake in that is fun and sociable.

    Academic Rigor

    The only thing I can see as a challenge for some people would be the simple fact that William Carey University has 3 semesters in one academic school year. It is very easy to get burned out with this type of schedule, but a perc is you get a break after every tri-mester. Other than that, William Carey University is a very hands on college and does everything they can do to help their students succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to definitely choose William Carey University. The student life is wonderful and everyone (students and faculty alike) are all very helpful/kind. You will develop unforgettable relationships with your teachers and fellow classmates!

    In three sentences

    William Carey University is a diverse, christian college with amazing staff members. They not only strive to educate their students in their selected fields, but also help their students grow spiritually! William Carey University is a wonderful college to attend and it is continually growing!

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start researching early. Last minutes doesn't help any situation.

    In three sentences

    Staff at the school is very helpful and goes above and beyond to help you. Christian based schooling is very calming.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that are on duty 24/7

    Greek Life

    Pi Omega Gamma Chi

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural Sports: Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, Basketball, Softball

    Great for these types of students

    William Carey is great for any type of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a Freshman, I don't know the traditions yet. Every one like to hang out at the Common Grounds though

    Bang for the buck

    You can not ask less from a private, Christian institution to come down on its tuition. It's a great bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Carey has a wide span of extracurricular activities for students to do. From Ultimate Frisbee to Jujitsu, there is an organization for anyone and everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Pizza! Every one around campus votes that William Carey has the best pizza ever. If you are like me and don't like to eat pizza all the time, they have other lines you can go to. For desserts, they have a freezer of Blue Bell Ice-cream, cookies, cakes, and a cobbler of some sort. I enjoy the cafeteria food and the atmosphere during breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    This is my first time living in a dorm and I absolutely love it. Don't get me wrong, living in a dorm has its ups and downs. The very first week we were having hot water problems. The maintenance workers were willing to fix it, and fix it quickly. I have not had one cold shower anymore. Another great thing about William Carey's dorms is the laundry is free. Most colleges you have to pay to either wash clothes or dry clothes or both. At Carey, they are free!

    Academic Rigor

    In the classrooms, the professors challenge you to think, discuss and excel. The academic calendar is based on a trimester. Carey has three, ten week semesters. I enjoy the trimesters because it allows me to take more classes throughout the whole year. Plus, after each semester is done, students get a week off. Isn't that great?

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't sure about William Carey or any college for that matter, go and just check it out. You can make a visit to come and tour around campus. I promise when you come though, you are not going to want to leave.

    In three sentences

    William Carey University is a great small, Christian university. The U.S. News and World Reports ranked Carey as the number one best valued college in the south. Trust me, they are definitely right about that.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have two gates on campus and both have security guards in them letting people in campus 24/7. Also, if you have class across the street and are scared walking back to the main campus, you can call security and they will either pick you up or walk with you back from class.

    Greek Life

    We have 2 sororities and 1 fraternity on campus I believe. I, personally, am not in one, but I have heard nothing but great things about them. Everyone in the seems to grow into a tight-knit family and have lasting relationships even after college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I mentioned before, there are plenty of these on campus between the Greek life, the BSU, other clubs, sports teams, and intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    It has a great program for international students to get settled in and even find homes for them to stay in with other students for the holidays. The school is good for any student though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know if other schools have it or not, but we have a Christmas Vespers service and the Hanging of the Green in the chapel. We all get together and sing Christmas songs and decorate the auditorium.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little pricey, but I think that since it is a smaller school setting, you get a much more personal experience with your teachers. They actually know your name and are willing to help at any time.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun. During the year we have several different athletic groups that you can watch play a game (which is always really exciting, a way to hang out with your classmates, and a way to show school spirit). Also there are many clubs to join and do activities with, volunteer opportunities, and intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    For the most part, the food is amazing. Most students call it The Caf, and this year they have been really awesome about trying new foods like chinese and egg rolls.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms, and I love it. It is a great way to meet new people and gain relationships for life. Also, every month or so the RAs will have their programs, and this is a great way to participate and hang out with people you go to school with.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are easy and some that are hard. It is easy to plan a schedule that can balance your harder classes with easier ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to do your homework on a regular basis. Since it is a little faster paced than other colleges because we are on the three trimesters each year schedule, skipping homework for a few days can really set you back.

    In three sentences

    William Carey is a great place to be. Everyone on campus is very friendly and willing to help you with whatever you need done. The campus is small, but it is also very beautiful.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is protected by security guards and is fenced in.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and one fraternity. They all focus on community service and bonding in Christ.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at Carey. From SGA to FCA, there are plenty of ways to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Carey has students of all kinds. From Americans to international students, everyone can find a place.

    What to do for fun

    William Carey University offers a student center with a gym, a room with pool tables and a ping pong table, a yoga room, and a TV/lounge area. There are also many intramural activities held throughout the year. The SGA at Carey, along with other organizations, hold events year round to keep the Carey experience fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at William Carey is another great way to meet people, Everyone has to eat, so almost everyone at Carey will be there at one time or another. The staff is great!

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm at William Carey University is a great way to meet new people and form close bonds. There are dorms for every budget, and all are housed with a great staff.

    Academic Rigor

    William Carey University offers programs that challenge the mind and keep you focused on the projects at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember every second because four years goes by way too fast!

    In three sentences

    Carey is a wonderful place to grow and learn. The small classroom style is perfect for individualized attention from professors. The best thing about Carey is the feeling of community.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is like gaining a whole family. Everyone is really awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do or be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students!!

    Bang for the buck

    It is totally worth the effort.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities each week and all located not far from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty average. It is a great place to meet up and have lunch with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    Its like living with a ton of your friends. People are always hanging out in the lobby watching movies, singing, or just goofing off.

    Academic Rigor

    You can do anything you put your mind to. There are lots of options and people to help you with your decisions.

    Tips for prospective students

    The application and admission process is very easy and there is always someone there to help. If you are looking for a bible based college and want to meet tons of people, choose William Carey University.

    In three sentences

    William Carey University is one of the best universities that I have attended. They have tons of programs, activities, and opportunities. The student body is very diverse, so everyone feels welcome.