Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

William Jessup University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are real religious or wanting a smaller more structured school and campus then this place is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    To go sit in on a class to make sure it is what you want. And to talk to other students to see how friendly everybody is and see what the campus life is really like.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Jessup is an private school it defiantly isn't the most expensive. They offer a lot of scholarships to help each and every student and try to make it affordable to all.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus and people are extremely friendly. Wish there were more activities but rooting for our athletic teams are always fun and bring a lot of school spirt.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at Jessup are top notch!! Every class is small enough where there is good teacher to student interaction. They make the assignments and projects as close as they can to real life scenarios which benefits every student for his or her future.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students interested in a safe, close-knit, family-friendly environment. Unless college-party is on your list of expectations for a well-rounded, thorough education, I cannot recommended this school enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any college, the adventure you experience at WJU will be directly reflective of the time put into it. Try your best to involve yourself in on-campus activities or local service projects; you will find that the local community is heavily involved and knowledgeable about WJU, and will gladly welcome the school's student body.

    Bang for the buck

    While it's initial cost may seem intimidating, I have seen few other academic institutions with a financial aid department as capable as WJU's. With the aid of the many immediately-awarded scholarships and grants given by the school, it is almost impossible to pass this school up as a serious consideration.

    Am enjoying being here

    My experience at WJU has been nothing less than positive. In addition to excellent academics, the community offered at this school is second-to-none. Whether you are a commuter or find yourself living in the recently constructed dorms or on-campus apartments, the community around you is welcoming and supportive. WJU almost like a small family - now that I'm here, I couldn't see myself anywhere else!

    Am learning a lot

    The education at William Jessup University is truly high quality. As a psychology major, I have been lucky to experience the best the school has to offer. The overqualified professors here at WJU pour time and passion into every detail of their lecture, making sure to entertain every learning style. While there is a strong incorporation of their religious belief within the program, it is presented in such a way as to not discriminate against other religions.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, lots of security, especially at night

    Greek Life

    i don't think we have this....

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of stuff to do, check the website

    Great for these types of students

    anyone and everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    meetings in the culvert

    Bang for the buck

    an education definitely worth paying for. professors are available when needed.

    What to do for fun

    activities in the area are endless! skyzone, bowling, movies, laser tag....the list goes on

    Food and Dining

    cafe is great most of the time, occasionally there are some dishes that aren't that great. i think this could be a common issue at other schools too.

    Dorm Life

    awesome! lots of camaraderie and bonding. study groups help to get through the academic part of college life.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging but rewarding. the professors are phenomenal, top notch instruction

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the school on preview day. try to live on campus if you can so you can be involved in all of the activities. if you have to be a commuter student, try and make connections to some of the residents so that you can stay involved in the student community!

    In three sentences

    the sense of community is so awesome at this school. everyone is so friendly and welcoming. i love living on campus and being involved.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians who desire a small college environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your religious classes seriously!

    In three sentences

    William Jessup is a great learning environment! Friendly students, helpful staff, and a beautiful facility make it a lovely place to be. Small student body allows for one on one communication with instructors.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WJU is great if you want a small-close knit community where you know your teachers and classmates and your teachers and classmates know you. It is also great if you are either faith-filled or are open to learning about Christianity. It is not great if you just want to get your diploma and run and not really get involved on-campus or in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking at schools as soon as possible, especially if you have a long list. Look at some schools you never thought you'd be interested in, because you might be surprised. See if the campus fits your personality based off what they value, how the students and teachers interact with one another, and the size.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, but tuition as of right now is not too bad, although someone said it will probably be up to normal private school price within the next few years. That said, however, they do offer a good number of scholarships for incoming freshmen, and you can get scholarships if you take on a leadership role your sophomore year on. They also mentioned getting a job on campus or helping you get a job in the area, which could be useful in paying. Also, if you enter as a freshman, do what you need to do for your major & don't change it constantly they guarantee graduating in 4 years, so you don't have to worry about possibly paying that tuition any longer than that.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone, and I mean everyone, is so nice when I have visited (I have visited twice about a year apart). Even the students who are not Ambassadors make sure you feel at home as do the teachers. They are still expanding as I said before, but the activities they do offer are pretty cool. Everyone, even if they are not on a team, seems to get involved with the sports & intramurals, and they have a strong service program.

    Will learn a lot

    William Jessup is new to the Placer County area and as a university, so it is still expanding its programs and does not have as much as some of the older schools do, but from what I can tell the teachers are dedicated and the programs they do have are as good as any other school. Also, for anyone interested in deepening their faith or learning more about Christianity they have a lot to offer because it is everyone's minor unless you choose it as your major and they incorporate it in all they do.

  • 10/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jessup is an excellent place for students looking for a home away from home while still getting the full college experience. At Jessup, you not only get an education, you get a family!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of Jessup's Preview Days and Scholar's Events! These events are the best opportunity you will have for experiencing the everyday atmosphere at the college and provides you with the opportunity to delve into college life through participating in chapel, school sponsored activities, and even classes.

    Bang for the buck

    William Jessup University provides its students with excellent options for financial aid including numerous institutional scholarships for nearly all levels of academic excellence. Although tuition runs around $20,000 without scholarships you really do get what you pay for here at Jessup, which is ultimately a community of students and teachers who come alongside you to ensure your success.

    Am enjoying being here

    All my fellow students are super friendly and really take the time to talk to you and get to know who you are. The sense of community one feels on the Jessup campus is truly unrivaled.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Jessup invest themselves in the lives of their students in providing them with all the help they could ever need. The quality of their instruction has been superb and I have found that if there is anything you don't understand all you have to do is ask for help!

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many close places for weekend trips including Sacramento, Davis, San Francisco, Tahoe, Reno, and Santa Cruz. There are also many great restaurants and fun things to do around the town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school

    In three sentences

    William Jessup is an all around great school. It provides a rigorous education along with a Christ-centered view. The people are great and the experience is well worth it.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    William Jessup is a safe campus. The security is out each night making sure only students come or go, and they do their best to keep our campus safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs on campus, and it is easy to create your own if we don't have a club that you want!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer small groups thrive here. We do our best to accommodate and include commuter students, and pull them into the community as much as they want to be. For students who want to pursue not only their academics but also their relationship with God, you should check this school out.

    Bang for the buck

    William Jessup is one of the most affordable Christian colleges, and it is most definitely worth it! Keep in mind that it is a small school, but the community and the classes leave you accomplished.

    What to do for fun

    Frozen yogurt is one of the most-frequented places in the area. People hang out and enjoy their yogurt either with a friend or a group of friends. The mall is less than 10 minutes away, and there are no shortages in the amount of near-by stores. On-campus, during the warm weather students can be seen outside hanging out, playing games in the Union, throwing a Frisbee, etc.

    Food and Dining

    We are all so excited to have a new dining area! It opens fall of 2012, and will be very modern and ready for more students! There are many options available to the students, and many to come.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here at Jessup are amazing! The campus is new as of 2006, so the dorms are too! The apartments are even newer, if you plan on living in an on-campus apartment. The dorms are wing-style, which means that each dorm hall is separated into four wings, each housing about 14-18 students. They are not co-ed, but separated by building either for guys or girls. There is plenty of bathroom space for each wing, as each has two bathrooms, and there is plenty of storage. Our wing is still extremely close, even though the year just ended. The staff hand-picks each student and places them with their roommate (if not requested), and then places each roommate pair with their specific RA. It is not random. You grow to be sisters, and everyone does their best to care for and love one another. It was the best experience I could have asked for with moving away to college!

    Academic Rigor

    We are continually adding classes and more courses and options at Jessup. The professors here at Jessup are outstanding! They do anything that they can to help you succeed, and do their best to get to know you as a student. Even in my largest classes, my professors knew me by name, even though I am a pretty quiet student. I did great my freshman year. I was put into my major classes in my first year, and can't wait for more!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly suggest that you stay overnight and for a preview day. My roommate and I came for preview day, and the overnight stay changed our entire perspective on the school, we loved it! It is so fun when you get to meet people, and you will see them again if you enroll! I have so many life-long friends after just one year here, come check it out!

    In three sentences

    Jessup is full of community; it's much more than meets the eye. It's small, yet you get to know and become friends with so many people since you actually see them! When I visited, it felt like home, so come see if it is where you fit too!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full time staff that guards the campus and will even assist you in the event of a car breakdown or a transportation to your vehicle across campus.

    Greek Life

    None... Other than the Biblical Studies Greek language department ;)

    Great for these types of students

    Christian Psychology, Liberal Arts, and those with their sights upon ministry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fantastic small prayer chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    For the experience, its well worth the 20,000 in tuition. Not to mention the fact that the staff does their best to look for financial aid in scholarships for the attending students.

    What to do for fun

    Lounge, Pool Tables/game room, gym, volleyball, horse shoes, music.

    Food and Dining

    New Cafeteria was just opened. The service is provided by Bon Apatite, and the head chef is the most recent winner of Google's Hell's Kitchen... so ya its good! And Beautiful!

    Dorm Life

    Once again, I have not lived in the dorms, but my friends who do enjoy it very much!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet taken a course from Jessup, but my friends from Jessup would give it a four star rating on Academic Rigor. However it definitely depends on your department (Public Policy Majors should expect above 5 stars of difficulty).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can live on campus, do so. The campus life provides a great experience away from home, in regards to life lessons and overall fun.

    In three sentences

    A tight fit community of both young and old believers, collectively striving together to transform tomorrow, today. Whether it be in the classroom, dinning hall, or dorm, this community knows how to have fun and glorify God.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    About 2 hours away from the Pacific ocean and on average 45 minutes away from the snow. Close to a lake and a mall. Many activities to do in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    Just opened a brand new cafeteria in fall of 2012. Very good food. A buffet style and a pay per item area with a coffee bar.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms but from what I see everyone is very close. Activities on campus at least one a week to become involved in.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes may be difficult if you do not study. Many classes and teachers challenge your teaching and what you believe in your faith and take it to a whole new level. Strict deadlines and lots of work is turned in online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with may groups or a sport. It may hard for commuters to stay involved but there are many opportunities so you can. Apply for scholarships early.

    In three sentences

    A really amazing community of students and faculty. Located in Rocklin, CA, it is close to the ocean and the snow. Small school size makes for really close interacts with all teachers and lots of one of one help.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, lights everywhere and people always around.

    Greek Life

    Unsure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different ones including student life and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Love for Christ and others, unsure about current faith, likes an intimate personal college experience, opinionated/vocal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there is anything unusual that people do.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are planning to attend a private school oppose to secular, this is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    All kinds of different ways to get plugged in at this school.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, just got a Cafeteria and cafe.

    Dorm Life

    not in Doorms

    Academic Rigor

    Love all my classes and teachers, its challenging but very mentally stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and be a face to your teachers, not just a name. This has made my schooling process so much better and easier when I develop a relationship with my professors.

    In three sentences

    This is a great Christ centered school that offers an awesome academic foundation. The people and staff are extremely personable with their students. Intensional and personal with students.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very safe, due to the multiple campus security staff who make their rounds every night. You can go on a walk around the campus perimeter and be sure of meeting up with the truck or cart of a campus security member.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Twice a semester (once during midterms week and finals week ), Student Life hosts a fun Midnight Pancake Breakfast to restore energy and pep into the tired bodies of studying students. It is always a fun adventure and much-needed relief from the library or study rooms. Staff members serve the pancakes and offer all sorts of delicious toppings, such as Nutella, peanut butter, whipped cream, and strawberry sauce!

    Food and Dining

    WJU just finished the creation of their new quality cafeteria last year. The new Crossroads facility is exemplary and offers a variety of healthy and decadent culinary options (like fresh ciabatta pizza, green salads, delicious cantaloupe water, and frozen yogurt!). It has more the enough seating, including conference tables in the back rooms for specials lunchtime events and meetings.

    Dorm Life

    WJU offers dorm and apartment housing situations. Dorm living is for first and second year students (generally), and apartments are extended for Juniors and Seniors. They both offer unique experiences. There is a greater sense of community within the dorms (especially around Christmastime, when students decorate the windows with lights!), and there is greater independence in the apartments. Both are close enough to classrooms to be convenient, and either experience will ensure rich interaction with 8-15 other individuals.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any university, certain majors will demand a higher level of academic rigor than others, but overall WJU strives to uphold an academic standard that demands a student's all. They are expected to put their best into their classes if they are to reap the most rewarding experience and grades. Students who invest the best outside-the-classroom work (which includes discussing subjects with other students, meeting one-on-one with professors, seeking counsel, and spending time researching in the library) will prove to be the smartest ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to gain the richest experience possible, definitely take the time to invest in communal experiences early on. Join a club, take part in the spontaneous Ultimate Frisbee games, attend concerts, work on campus, join Student Life, bring in a speaker, or form a relationship with a counselor.

    In three sentences

    William Jessup University is an exceptional place for a student to consider attending college if they are passionate about academic rigor, broadening their cultural perspective, and enhancing their spiritual lifestyle. This liberal arts institution is swiftly growing in reputability and student population. Here you will find faculty members who are truly invested in your well-being, as well as student colleagues who may become close friends.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I visited WJU recently and I loved everything about it. It was a small size and has amazing chapel services, and is God-centered in every aspect of campus. The campus was beautiful, and the music program was delightful.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons to do for fun at campus, there are always activities for students going on. There are also a shopping center nearby that has all sorts of things from bowling to movies to shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Jessup is amazing, it is freshly made and not frozen. The food is delivered and they have a lot of selections.

    Dorm Life

    I do not personally live in the dorms but I do spend a lot time with friends there. It is so nice and feels like family even if you don't love on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Jessup are rigorous but the professors are so nice and are always able to help of you ask. You will have to apply yourself and study but that is how it is everywhere. What I love about Jessup is the professors are so nice and do not hesitate to help out a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are checking out this school I suggest to come and get to know the school and people. There is no doubt you will not feel welcomed, everyone is so friendly and welcoming.

    In three sentences

    William Jessup is a great school that makes people feel welcomed. You are able to grow as a person in God and pursue what interests you. This school not only encourages you to pursue your career but also helps students achieve it.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great Campus Safety team, and this campus is extremely safe on its own. I have never seen anything dangerous happen here.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at WJU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many awesome clubs and activities, I participate in the music program so I am in the University Choir.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want an environment free from the temptations of a secular college but want a great education with awesome people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Heading to Aldeberto's for burritos in the middle of the night is a tradition, as well as the man Olympics and Lake Jessup.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth every penny. I wouldn't take it back for anything.

    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of fun just messing around on campus, but there are many great restaurants around which we also enjoy visiting. Going out to get food late at night is a tradition. There are many fun on campus events through out the year.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafe and chefs are amazing, it is one of my favorite parts of our campus. For on-the-go eating we also have The Shack which is our coffee shop where there are also food and supplies available.

    Dorm Life

    I live the the dorms right now and it is really a great sense of community. As a freshman I came here not knowing a single person and I have gained so many friends from living here.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but the teachers will always work with you in order to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit our campus before making your decision, you will not regret it. Make sure to eat in our cafe.

    In three sentences

    William Jessup University is an amazing college campus with a great sense of community. It is a place to grow in your faith as well as form relationships. The staff is also a huge part of our campus, everyone from teachers to cafe workers and great.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus clap.

    What to do for fun

    There is the student union where you can hang out with friends and play pool or foozball. The commons are also a good place to hang out. Chapel is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is great and the shack is a good place to hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really push you which is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school! Get here if you can.

    In three sentences

    Jessup is a great scool for fellowship with amazing professors. I've discovered what I really want to do with my life here. It is a small school which is great for having small classes and personalized help.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of campus events and the school is in close proximity to some fun places.

    Food and Dining

    Dining facilities are so nice and the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are bigger than most and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The Biology Department is extremely strong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit during a normal school day where there are sporting events. It shows how involved the student body is.

    In three sentences

    I would say Jessup is a place where all types of people are welcome and the teachers help you succeed. Sports are a big event on campus and most of the student body attends. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a private Christian University, so yes it is expensive. However, they want to give you as much scholarship money as possible. I personally could have half of each year paid for just through the college scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    The town is close by, theres a coffee shop on campus, several activities through the year to bring the campus together, and there's of course all the things that go along with any extra curriculars that you participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food was awesome. Not an exception for your freshman fifteen.

    Dorm Life

    Just walking it felt like coming home, and I had never walked through that door before. The people are so friendly, the dorms are huge, and each dorm and floor has activities to bring everyone together.

    Academic Rigor

    Not only do you have to do all of your general education and the required classes for your major, you are required to take biblical classes which will result in you receiving a minor in biblical theology by the time that you graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    This type of campus is not for everyone. It's a small campus and it is a Christian University. However, for those who are looking for this type of environment, it is perfect.

    In three sentences

    Very modern with new and updated equipment. The campus is not too far from town, but not too close either. The environment, opportunities, and facilities are amazing.