Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

William Jewell College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't want a huge University with parties every night, this is the place for you. It is not quiet by any means and the people still have fun, sometimes too much fun, but that's just because we're young. There is a lot of everyday freedom that can be taken advantage of here, but you are still getting a great education and degree from a school that is regionally, extremely respected. If you plan on living in the midwest, it will be well worth you're time to go here, and if you're unsure, you will still be well prepared to go anywhere in the world, you just won't have the name brand degree that everyone knows to get you in the door without proving yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wish I could give it four stars, but they did not lock my tuition like I would expect a respectable institution to do. Overall, I am having to cover $10,000 a year in loans, cash and work study. The school is approximately $32,000 a year for a regular student. You will not need as much spending money here as you might at other colleges. The college and town does a god job at providing essential like Ice cream parlors, restaurants in walking distance of short drive that are easy on the pocket book. There are many deals for Jewell students to take advantage of. Study abroad is made very easy and affordable. Almost everyone does it, and you can go pretty much anywhere you can think of.

    Am enjoying being here

    You really need to join a Greek organization or you will be bored. But don't worry. Overall the frats and sororities are fun and give you the opportunity to be wild, reclusive, focused on school, or anywhere in between. There is a very diverse group of students here with all sorts of backgrounds even though there is a lack of racial diversity, and little socio-economic diversity. There is plenty of learning and shock from meeting the students here. Contrary to other reviews, I do not find this school cliquish at all. It is very easy to flow through groups as everyone here is nice. That is the best part of this school. The people are good people. Food-it gets old, isn't the best, but better than many other colleges I visited. Few hassles You really will enjoy the harriman-jewell series. Getting to see the Moscow Ballet, and other top performances and musicians for free is no small thing. Take advantage of it. This is stuff that will likely be inconvenient and expensive if not impossible to see for the rest of your life.

    Am learning a lot

    Lacks breadth, makes up for in depth.The core curriculum classes are tough, a shock for even the most intelligent first year students as you will often times get the highest level professors and expectations from day one. If you can make it through these classes and settle into your major and develop relationships with those professors you will find yourself learning a lot in the classroom and through the really unique opportunity for close contact with professors. Overall, the rigor at this school is significantly above that at Drury, Missouri State, Mizzou, and Hannibal-Lagrange after speaking with friends attending those schools. The setback for Jewell is that it is so small, there is little room for error of changing majors if you want to graduate in four years. However, over %80 of students do. Second, there is not the breadth of fun, interesting classes, or career focused classes you might find at larger universities.

  • 12/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you were one of those freakishly smart students in high school, you know the one that makes a ton of ‘A’s, in every club, band nerd, and still has time for volunteering, this is the place for you! You will no longer feel alone with your intelligence, in fact you will now be just one of the 'normal' kids, and it’s quite nice. Don’t be fooled, we are not mere nerds playing Dungeons & Dragons on the weekend, although it’s there if you want to, we have parties, movie nights, dances, and lots of other activities. I find it to be the perfect college that has balance between fun and education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I would suggest is make sure you get a clear dollar amount of what you’ll owe. This was an issue I ran into right after being accepted, the price tag kept jumping up and was not settled until two months into school. Other than that I would say if you have chosen Jewell you don’t need too many tips, you’re already making good decisions.

    Bang for the buck

    You are definitely getting what you paid for. Going to William Jewell means you are a student of high intelligence, a leader, and a carpe diem believer to the max. You will be hired first and get that internship. Professors go out of their way to make sure your career is started properly. You will get many opportunities to study abroad and make differences in the world. Although Jewell is expensive, you are getting your money’s worth, that’s for sure.

    Am enjoying being here

    A big reason I chose this school was because of the size and location. The small school really lets you be close to your professors and make friends very quickly. The location is perfect, Liberty is a small city so you can walk to the square to eat and get coffee. It’s also only a 20 minute drive to Kansas City, great for nightlife. I really enjoy being here because of the calming feel of the campus, it’s beautiful and everyone is friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    Oh my am I learning! No matter how high your ACT/SAT/GPA is, you will be kept on your toes here. I am not saying it’s too much handle, but your mind will be stretched more than it ever has before, guaranteed! I love that I have learned more than just the face value of different subjects, I have become more intellectual. Here, we learn about issues that matter and how our majors can grow into careers. The most memorable class you will take is Responsible Self, it really sets the theme for the next four years of your education.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rich and judgmental. And socialists.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everything they tell you is positive (which is understandable). If you get a slight feeling that you don't fit in while you're visiting, then you DEFINITELY will not fit in if you go there. I wish I had figured that out before I ever went.

    Bang for the buck

    I know it's a private school, but the tuition is horrible. If you don't have a great scholarship, and you're middle class then you're going to have to take out loans to go there. The financial aid department is mean.

    Did enjoy being here

    If you don't have 10 pairs of UGG's and a bunch of North Face gear and you don't wear Miss Me's then you won't fit it. It is a really small school that seems friendly when you're a prospective student, but it is very hard to fit into unless you play sports or are rich. If you are a conservative then you will be looked at as if you are stupid.

    Did learn a lot

    Good academics, but if you plan on transferring like I did then most of the core curriculum will not transfer as regular classes. Some of the classes were easy, and some were the hardest I've ever had. It really depended on the department.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but it provides a lot of financial aid that any prospective student may apply for and possibly get.

    Will enjoy being here

    The enviroment seems very pleasant. The representatives I have visited with are very friendly and helpful.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes I've researched are rigorous for this private A+ institution.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I graduated validictorian in my high school class and was involved in every possible extracurricular I could get my hands on. I thought I wanted an Ivy League education. But Jewell couldn't be a more perfect place for me. There's something there for everyone, whether you're an academic extremist or not.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it is slightly on the costly end, I don't believe I could hope for a better educational opportunity than what I'm sure I will receive at Jewell. You do pay for what you get, after all.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and small (which in my eyes makes it more beautiful...). The atmosphere is the friendliest I've ever seen and I went to many many schools before I found William Jewell to be the right one. Friendly people really do mean a lot!

    Will learn a lot

    I've just recently been to the campus for my fall semester advising session: everything looks fantastic! Recently I was accepted into the Oxbridge Honors program which I would encourage anyone to look into who wants to take their education to a whole new level. As far as I can tell so far, Jewell will be a refreshing challenge as opposed to the dull monotony of high school.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jewell is great for ay student looking to pursue knowledge and a secure future. The future for Jewell alumni is always bright because of the programs and reputation it holds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open! Get out and around the campus, talk to people, and always be willing to learn something. Step out of the box and challenge things you learned before.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite a pain in the wallet. However, the connections and things your learn at Jewell make it all worth the while in expanding your future.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student life here is astounding! There are weekly and monthly events organized for students to get together and have a blast, whether it is free movies or a night at the bowling alley. The size of the campus is perfect to get to know a lot of people and always being able to make the best of each day.

    Am learning a lot

    The diversity of courses is amazing! Jewell's core curriculum, Critical Thought and Inquiry (CTI), is a necessity in today's ever-changing world. It challenges you to step outside of your boundaries and understand different views and methods of thought instead of being closed of from them. It allows for students to see multiple answers to some of life's differing questions.

  • 11/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, richer kids, sporty, etc

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you'll be fine. Lots of interesting sports or physical ed type classes. Lots to choose from. Just talk to someone, everyone is helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly decent dorms and classrooms, food is ok. Very expensive for out of state and to be private.

    Am enjoying being here

    Very social college. There are always lots of things going on and things to do. Also, very close to the Liberty Square so there is always plenty to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are very fast paced and can be difficult. Don't slack and you'll be fine. Just put in more effort than you did in high school. They have a lot to offer learning wise.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, respectful, friendly, and looking for the college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is the perfect place for those who are looking for community and a strong program in which to excel. The faculty and staff are always eager to discuss anything and everything, and the people here really do care about each other. No, there's not much of a party atmosphere unless you choose to join a frat or sorority, but there are plenty of way that we amuse ourselves without it. It's a safe, fun place for us to get a good education.

    Bang for the buck

    Jewell is an extremely expensive school, but most (if not all) students are awarded scholarships and work study. The people here definitely cater to the students, and though it's a lot of money for your education, it's definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and staff are extremely supportive! Every first year meets with a personal advisor, and I have had several meetings with my dean to sit down a talk about what's new- there's no rush, and they're always happy to meet with students. Everyone is invited to be a part of the community, but there's not pressure to fit it. I have a hectic work schedule, and even my RA is more than happy to make changes to hers so that we can have time to check in and chat.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are fun, but there's not a great selection0 but this is a small school, so that's to be expected. The teachers know you by name, and you are more than just a number when you're in class. I enjoy all my classes, and it's a rigorous and fun program.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can fit in as long as they are willing to make friends. There are no cliques; everybody knows everybody since it is such a small campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are willing to pay off student loans! Most likely, since it's a private college and it's so expensive, you will be paying some out of pocket. Although, scholarships, from the university alone, do cover a big chunk of the cost (most of the time). There is a free tutoring and a writing center.

    Bang for the buck

    WJC is definitely worth the amount you pay. The school has been nationally recognized as America's Best by the Princeton Review, U.S. News & World Report, and Forbes Magazine. Also, Jewell is ranked among top 50 liberal arts colleges nationwide for earning potential of graduates. So it pays off!

    Am enjoying being here

    Professors genuinely care, and are always willing to meet with you when you need it. There are tons of organizations to be involved in. There is always an event of some sort going on. You really get the feel of a community because the campus is so small, and you recognize everyone you walk past on the way to class. (Also, the landscaping is beautiful!!!)

    Am learning a lot

    Jewell's Critical Thought & Inquiry curriculum allows every student to be knowledgeable in every aspect. They are known for their liberal arts education, and this curriculum set-up is its foundation. Be prepared though: for me, the only downside is that they require three semesters of foreign language.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Couldn't be safer, really.

    Greek Life

    1/3 of the student body participates in Greek life, but I'm not in that 1/3.

    Clubs and Activities

    Because Jewell is small, it's easy to get involved in pretty much any club you want, and there's a good selection to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, self-motivated, thoughtful, and sincere students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walk around the quad. Great Christmas festivities.

    Bang for the buck

    Jewell is an incredible institute, but it is very expensive, and the school continues to raise tuition at a surprisingly high rate.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and extra-curricular activities like inter-mural sports. Also, downtown Kansas City is only a twenty minute drive away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being a student at Jewell demands an immense commitment academically. The college-life here is fun, but you shouldn't enroll if you're not willing to work really hard too.

    In three sentences

    Jewell provides a top-notch academic and living environment. There's a lot to get involved in, particularly if you're interested in community service. The best aspect of the college, though, is the quality of professors; they couldn't be better.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is tremendous precautions taken on campus to ensure safety with routine checks and on demand campus car pick up from anywhere on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is lots of traditional Greek activities on campus that incorporates non-Greek. They are separate by association but for the most part everyone does activities regardless of what class, gender, or Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is all kinds of clubs for every individual, especially sports and political.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for dedicated students who love learning and appreciate challenging academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They having ringing of the bells and lighting of the quad for Christmas which is a nice tradition to share with friends. They have family days also.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive becasue it is private but the level of education is what the student is really buying.

    What to do for fun

    Kansas city Missouri is twenty minutes away and Kansas city Kansas is forty minutes away which gives endless amounts of activities to do. The school sponsors events in the cities that are free to the students like ice skating, music concerts, and food.

    Food and Dining

    The food is unique and is homemade. The coffee bar is awesome because it has specialty drinks and other quick food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is close knit and tries to incorporate activities into every day activities.

    Academic Rigor

    In the beginning the general classes are different than most colleges. They are not just general English or math but philosophy which makes incoming students challenge themselves from the very beginning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become acquainted with your professors. Join as many clubs and activities as possible. Drank a lot of coffee.

    In three sentences

    A great small college that has a beautiful campus. The faculty is hands on and take a personal interest in each student. The level of expectation at William Jewell is competitive and challenging.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is located in a suburban area where you are in the safest place possible to where anybody cant just walk in, only people with a school I.D. are allowed into the dorm rooms and everybody that lives in one has their own key to the room to where people can't just walk in whenever they feel like it.

    Greek Life

    There are four sororities and three fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that people can get involved in and are recommended to join as many as they can their freshmen year of college.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students looking to have fun and also have a strong academic lifestyle. You are literally living on your own once you've moved onto campus, it will be the best experience you will ever have. Especially if your looking to live independently.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is muh more beneficial with the money they provide to help you pay for your stay at college.

    What to do for fun

    Pretty much whatever you want to do. But for me its fun just to go to the fitness center that's attached to my building. Its free and is never close so I can use it however much and how long I want.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, breakfast, lunch , and dinner. Everything is provided on campus and there is even a cafe with the best sweets. There is also a Chinese food restaurant down the street that is very convenient. But if you need to go the grocery store that isn't a problem either, if you have good transportation it is only 10-15 minutes away from the school.

    Dorm Life

    You meet a lot of new people not only from different parts of the country but from all over the world. The rooms are small but very comfortable for just two people. Everybody is nice and courteous.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very academically focused to where people are excited to learn and are either looking to further pursue their education or to immediately get into their choice of career. The classes are small and the teachers are interested in helping students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in an admission application early. Do not be discouraged by others or by the price of the school they offer you scholarships and grants. Stay in contact with your admission counselor and other faculty you never know when you might need help and they will gladly help you and answer any questions.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful private school. Top rated school in the country. It is very multi-cultural.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You won't find a safer campus. Liberty has almost no crime and the campus security patrols 24/7

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great. The frats are all pretty great and the sororities are just amazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several multicultural clubs (BSA, SAGE, Unity) Multiple fraternities and sororities Several business, language, law, etc. clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Smart Students Students looking for a small campus Outgoing students Soccer players

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school has a ton of landscaping and you could spend the entire first year learning all of the names of random areas on campus...such as the J bench in the Spencer Court.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive for a reason

    What to do for fun

    Kansas City is just 10 minutes away! You can go to Worlds of Fun, the Plaza, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school isn't the greatest but they do have a fast food restaurant open until midnight and a coffee house with the same hours. The local city square is just a couple blocks away so there's a ton of food down there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. I originally lived off campus but within a week I changed my mind and had to live on campus. It was a great decision.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are obscenely difficult (A+ students will be getting B's working their hardest) other classes are insanely easy (you don't even need to show up to pass).

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class. These are some of the top educated professors in the country. Do not waste their time because they will not waste yours. At least most of them won't ;-P

    In three sentences

    Jewell is a family. Some days you can really despise all of the bureaucracy. Other days you'll be walking around campus and realize you would never want to be anywhere else.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We all have security's number, and by the end of your sophomore year, the security guards will inevitably know your name and/or car by sight. They always answer their phone and help out with any problem you have - emergencies or just getting into your building because you locked yourself out.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Jewell is outstanding. It's not like at bigger schools; we do not haze our pledges/new members at all. All four sororities live in the same new building, so we all get along very well. The three fraternities have their 'battles,' but they act more like annoying brothers to each other than anything else. Provides wonderful opportunities and very well-loved organizations on campus. We bring a lot of the activities and projects to campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are driven and love academics, but will bond over trashtalking how much they hate school. We all say we hate our classes and our homework, but like the preps we all are, we do end up doing it, and doing it well. Students who want a second high school experience in the sense that I know almost everyone on campus - at least their name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lighting of the Quad happens every December, where it magically snows in our chapel during carol singing and then we all go outside and light candles and say hello to Santa (who's on the roof of the Student Union with his 'elves') and then countdown to the turning on of the Christmas lights that line all the pillars/columns of the major buildings. Also, Phi Gamma Delta's motorcycle gang shows up at this time to collect the toys for tots the campus has been participating in. We sing our alma mater at every single homecoming event. Without fail.

    Bang for the buck

    Go here! It's the best decision I've ever made. The Jewell community is quite literally a family. I know most of the staff on a first-name basis, and they take genuine interest in my personal life - not just professors, but faculty as well.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life has many activities and responsibilities that keep its participants busy on the weekends and throughout the week, depending on which organization you affiliate with. Student organizations are constantly in motion. Working out. Going to Zona Rosa or Independence Center for shopping. Going to Power and Light or the Plaza or the Landing if you're over 21.

    Food and Dining

    The caf food leaves much to be desired, but everyone on campus bonds over their distrust of it. The cage food is good, but too much of it will make you feel disgusting (very greasy). The Starperch (the 'perch' that sells Starbucks drinks) is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm buildings are older and somewhat worn down, but very homey and you grow to love the drawbacks. Fraternity houses are falling apart from weekend parties and general shenanigans, but the guys don't seem to mind. Sorority living is three years old and beautiful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go Greek. If you don't go Greek, you need to involve yourself in a number of student organizations to feel like you have a place on campus. Don't trust the caf food. Don't be afraid to hound your advisor to make sure you're on track. If you have a class with Klawinski, show him your attitude and he'll respect you more.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love everything about this university. The campus is majestic and awe-inspiring. The programs have widespread outstanding reputations and placement rates. The Greek Life is a wonderful complement to the small-college atmosphere.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I commute to campus - good exercise walking UP that hill to campus from the student parking !!

    Academic Rigor

    Again, don't let yourself get behind. The reading assignments can be staggering, and last minute assignments are common.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let yourself get behind. Ask questions and seek out the support available.

    In three sentences

    William Jewell is a small school with high standards. They do provide support for students from both staff and upper classmen. The school's reputation for excellence is well deserved

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety does a pretty good job of keeping an eye on the campus. They patrol to make sure that nobody is getting into serious trouble or that there is anyone dangerous on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is nothing like you would picture it to be. They are not like State schools. There is never any huge parties or anything. They are more about trying to help students become better citizens and leaders.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs at William Jewell are top notch. They are always planning something great for the school and there is always a fun activity to do.

    Great for these types of students

    William Jewell is really great for any type of student. There really isn't any specific groups or clicks at the college. Everyone is well-rounded and gets along.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year when it snows, students take lunch trays and sled down the huge hills on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is all sorts of things to do on campus and off campus. On campus there are always activities and tons of clubs to join. Also, people love to play sand volleyball and have pickup soccer games on the field. Then you can always go to downtown Kansas City if you want to get off of the campus for awhile.

    Food and Dining

    The food is sometimes really amazing and it can also be really bad. That is the best way to put it.

    Dorm Life

    The residential halls themselves are not that amazingly built, but the Resident Assistant staffs are amazing. The RA's will make sure that new student's fit in well and transition well into college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend on going to William Jewell, begin your first semester with an open mind and don't form opinions too quickly.

    In three sentences

    William Jewell College is an excellent college. It's curriculum forces you to think outside of the box. By the time one graduates, they will be well rounded and ready for anything.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Awesome! Great fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in a smaller liberal arts school.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Greek Life, many different clubs, all Kansas City has to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and see if it's for you!

    In three sentences

    Jewell provides a great education. It has a small campus feel, near a big city. The students are diverse.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Super!

    What to do for fun

    We go to the Plaza. Also, the town of Liberty offers the college students several deals.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors will know you and help you understand. Small classes with outstanding teachers.

    In three sentences

    The challenges of classes are excellent. I have met great friends at William Jewell. It is an outstanding college.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a huge thing at Jewell there are always lighted pathways for you at night and also emergency stations if you need help. But if you feel uncomfortable walking about campus at night by yourself then there is an option for you to call security and they will meet you and walk with you.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life on the campus is very nice the dorms are nice and also the students involved are very nice. There is absolutely no hazing allowed at William Jewell which is a very good thing because that is what most people are scared of when they thing of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs and activities that go on at William Jewell from Greek life to CUA (college union activities). and even if you cant find a club or organization that you are interested in then you can go and talk to the school and tell them the organization you want and you could possibly get to have it there if they get funding to support it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When freshman first arrive at the college to start their journey they all walk around the quad as a class and then also at the end of their journey when they graduate. Also at Christmas time they have a lighting of the quad where they decorate the campus and have a day where they turn all the lights on and it is not only open to the faculty and students but also open to the public.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus it self is so friendly with all the people. You pretty much are like family when you attend this college. Also the school checks on you to see how you are doing and how you are getting along. If the school feels that there is something wrong then they will personally talk to you and let your parents know as well just to make sure everything is all right. I love just at home I feel when I am on this campus.

    What to do for fun

    Some things you can do for fun on or near campus is that William Jewell is the Harlem Jewell series where you can go to Kansas city and watch different plays at the Kauffman center for free. Also on campus their is a group called CUA which is College Union Activities, this group sets up many different events at the college for students to do for free or at a low cost. You can always find something to do on the campus or around the campus you will not get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food at William Jewell is also very good. They have something there to eat keeping everyone in mind. You will always be able to find something there to eat. Also the school will accommodate to those with special dietary needs, which makes finding a meal easy for those who need it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very nice at William Jewell the dorms are not big but also not so small where you are cramped. The halls are kept clean and bathrooms are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    As I have not attended the school yet I have heard numerous good things about the nursing field at William Jewell. I have heard that it is a tough major to do, but the help that you get from the professors makes it easier to do. I have heard that William Jewell is ranked very high for nursing in the nation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to do your best to work on scholarships for college so you will have enough to attend without having to take out loans. Also make friends on the campus tours and cardinal events this way you will have friends you can go to before school is starting.

    In three sentences

    William Jewell College is overall an amazing college. The student to teacher ration is phenomenal and the way the teachers interact with the students is something that you wont get anywhere else. Also the overall layout of the campus makes it easy for the students to stay connected and interact easily with one another.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Liberty could hardly be safer. Campus is really safe. Campus Safety will assist you however you need, including driving you across campus if you feel unsafe. They are generally courteous and helpful. Don't do anything against the school's policies and you won't get in trouble. For example, if you try to park in a spot that states you are not supposed to park there, don't park there and you won't get a $50 ticket. The campus is small enough to walk anywhere (yes even in the 6-inch snow if needed), so don't be one of those people who complains about not being able to park up in the main campus parking from 5am to 5pm. There is some student parking just slightly down the hill, but still on the main campus area.

    Greek Life

    3 Fraternities 4 Sororities These organizations are very involved on campus. Sororities take pride in academic achievement and try to be open to all who want to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working students. People who like to be a part of organizations. Nice people. Leaders.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New Pryor Learning Commons debuting this coming year: technology center; good for group work, classes, and conferences; 3-D printer.... & more.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that tuition is too much on the high side in general for private colleges. Your college experience is what you make of it, and Jewell provides many opportunities for personal advancement that are unique to the College that make it worth it. However, without good scholarships, it is tough to pay for it yourself.

    What to do for fun

    Homecoming week is usually good. Kansas City is close enough, so there are many options there. The Harriman-Jewell Performing Arts Series is free to full-time students and features quality musicians and performers in venues that include the world-class Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts in Kansas City. Frats and sororities hold various events and parties. When it snows (this past year it snowed two different times with 6+ inches), sledding down Browning Bowl with a cafeteria tray or other device is a fun tradition. Christmas traditions. Community service.

    Food and Dining

    We just switched food providers, and I have not tried the new food yet, but I hear it is pretty good. My experience last year was that people like to complain about the food for reasons I could not sympathize with: I usually didn't mind the options or quality.

    Dorm Life

    Especially freshman year, the residence life staff try to make sure you are having a good residential experience. In my girls' dorm, we had evenings out in the city, catered Olive Garden, and some fun Christmas events, all of which you are not forced to attend but are fun if you do.

    Academic Rigor

    For truly advanced students from exemplary secondary schools or private schools, it could be a little harder, but it's not easy. For students from rural schools or who didn't get much quality college prep or didn't do well in high school, expect academic rigor like you haven't experience before (but again, nothing is impossible).

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to do what is required of you and more. Don't expect it to be easy, but don't come with the mindset that the work is impossible (it isn't). There are great opportunities for help from both your professor (via email, intranet, and in their office) and other students in the tutoring center. The College thrives on students who become deeply involved in at least one organization and the inherent leadership in most of its students, so if you like to get involved and be a leader, there are great opportunities for you: Greek Life, academic fraternities, and many other organizations. Some students just don't feel at home at Jewell, so take opportunities to visit the campus, take a tour with a current student, talk to the professors in your expected field(s) of study before you decide to go. It's small, so if you are looking for a place where people don't know you and where you don't learn other peoples' names, don't attend. Students who are looking for constant partying and no studying should probably look elsewhere, or grow up. Liberty, MO is a great city/town with great people. Kansas City is close enough to study or take a day off there every weekend if you wanted (about 20-30 minutes away).

    In three sentences

    The ability to interact with professors one-on-one as frequently as you like is invaluable. Great opportunities for leadership and involvement. Greek life has a large presence that is beneficial to the atmosphere to the College, even if you aren't a member.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had an emergency, but there are always campus safety workers willing to help out with whatever a student needs.

    Greek Life

    I never thought I'd join a sorority...but it was one of the best decisions that I could have made. I have made some life-long friends and connections through it and learned a lot about philanthropy and charity work, as well as about myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great Greek life and school organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically and athletically inclined.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a rumor that if you sit on the swing next to the school house with your true love you will get married soon.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is definitely worth the price...but the price is very, very high.

    What to do for fun

    There are always on-campus activities and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    We just switched from Sodexo but I really enjoyed the services last year. I am very excited about the new building and coffee shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are constantly renovated and the RAs are always very willing to help.

    Academic Rigor

    We're called Harvard on the Hill for a reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that there are a ton of on-campus activities and that you can't do all of them.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Jewell. This school has given me immense opportunities, connections, friends, and an awesome education.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At William Jewell College, there are a lot of restaurants and food places around. There are the movies, bowling, bars (for individuals of age), and concerts.

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be wise to look over all of the financial information before you make a decision. Your first year of college is a great experience so enjoy it to the fullest! Get involved with different societies and clubs in the school!

    In three sentences

    William Jewell College provides an excellent education with incredible opportunities. They have great facilities and dining halls; very safe environment. William Jewell has smaller class sizes to allow teachers to be more personable with students over classes and material.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm a swimmer so I hang out with my team. There are frat parties that are fun, and Jewell holds events that are a lot of fun to go to. There's also a thing called CUAt the movies and CUA organizes a night where Jewell students can go see a free movie.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is open at the right times and if you don't like what they have you can go downstairs to the cage and use cardinal points you get at the beginning of the semester.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is open with other people, you get to use the washer and dryer for free.

    Academic Rigor

    William Jewell is a tough school. But, if you apply yourself and ask for help when you need it, you can do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the CTI classes seriously. Even if they seem like they won't do anything for you, you learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    Very close community, everyone knows everyone. Professors are willing to work with students when they reach out for help. Really starting to expand.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always driving around campus and there are emergency phones as well.

    Greek Life

    William Jewell has a great greek life, I hear no complaints at all. Greek housing is gorgeous and all the greek students seem so close. There are many fundraisers throughout the academic year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is the lighting of the quad for Christmas and performance from the choir

    Bang for the buck

    Although William Jewell is expensive I have to admit its well worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    William Jewell is located not far from an amusement park, downtown Kansas City and close to many great shopping malls. On campus there are many extra curricular activities like sports, intramural sports and a gym. Student services often give free tickets for movies, Chiefs game and the Kansas City performing arts show.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food, the school's cafeteria has a Facebook page that always asks their students what they would like changed or added to the menu.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I have friends who do and love every minute of it!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for perspective students is to take full advantage of the academic achievement center. They offer free one on one tutoring 2 hours a week. Another opportunity is the Journey Grant, students must apply their sophomore year and its free money the school offers you to study abroad.

    In three sentences

    I love William Jewell College! There so many opportunities to further your education. Great tutors and teachers are always willing to help.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different parties on the weekends, non-alcohol. There are also some great places in Liberty to hang out. Or movie theater's to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food really isn't all that bad. There are always options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, with only a few problems such as the heat being either too hot, or non existent, but overall I love the dorm. I have met some of my closest friends in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    William Jewell is a tough school academically. There is always a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a challenge, it isn't easy, but it is worth it. Get involved, many students are involved and it's a great way to get to know others at school.

    In three sentences

    William Jewell College is a wonderful school, not only academically, but also socially. While at Jewell I have been challenged both in and out of the classroom. There are also many different extracurricular activities available for all students.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe, and the people who work for campus safety are overall kind and courteous.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty popular here. I'm an independent, but I have many friends who went Greek and loved it. My boyfriend is actually in a fraternity here, and he loves it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of places to get plugged in, and if you have a new idea, you can easily start a new club. At least five new clubs have been started since I've been here.

    Great for these types of students

    This seems like a good match for students who are thinkers, driven, curious about the world, not afraid of a challenge, thrive in small communities, and who like to get to know their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each class walks around the quad while following bagpipes twice during their experience here: new student orientation and robed for graduation. I'm very excited for the second half of that this spring.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this college. I have learned so much about physics, life, relationships, the world, and myself here. It will probably always be a second home for me and a place where some of my favorite memories were made.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the time I hang out with friends, spend time with my boyfriend, go to lectures, study (chat) in the PLC, watch movies, and go sledding on cafeteria trays down browning bowl. There are free dances put on by an organization on campus, and there are also parties put on by the Greek organizations to raise money for their philanthropies.

    Food and Dining

    Eh, it's a cafeteria. It isn't anything special, but cereal, salad, sandwiches, and pizza are always a good fallback option. It's still better than eating fast food every day or being forced to prepare your own food.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life; I've met some of my best friends here. I know that dorm life isn't for everyone, but you are constantly presented with the opportunity to meet new interesting people and have fascinating discussions. Don't be afraid to engage people in conversation.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are challenging, but some of the majors are less work intensive. Psychology and Business require much less work than the hard sciences. If you want to major in a hard science here, you're going to know your stuff and learn a lot. The Critical Thought and Inquiry Core is very engaging and challenges you to examine your views as a human and citizen of the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    The small student to teacher ratio enables you to make genuine connections with the professors. When they write letters of recommendations for you, they can talk about you personally and be a better representative of your talents and abilities. I would definitely look into going here.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. There are so many opportunities for students who are willing to put in a little extra work. I have been able to do awesome research and also experience life abroad.