Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

William Peace University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't want to fully spread their wings yet. This is for students who would benifit from a homely environment. The campus really does resemble a home, in which it is very self substaining and offers everything a home environment would.

    Bang for the buck

    Peace will give you good and fair scholarships but I do sometimes wonder where all the money goes. It is a well used school that holds a lot of history. It was founded in the 1800's by a man who thought female education is important. If you want to be surrounded by history, this is a good school for it. Some of the buildings smell like a history museum (lol).

    Will enjoy being here

    I think it depends upon your personality. The students here are clearly close knit and you will know all the students on campus... The dorm rooms are fairly nice. They have free laundry in each dorm and have a dorm lounge which has computers, flat screen TV, and a bunch of comfy chairs. The dorm rooms are not big, but you won't have any real need to spend your entire time in a dorm anyways. the bathrooms are suite styled so you and your roommate are sharing a bathroom with the room next door. You have your own cubbies so your items do not get mixed up. Several things are in walking distance and the busing system is free to Peace Students. It is very possible to live without a car on campus. They don't have a lot of clubs and organizations although the school is clearly a family. Chapel is required every Tuesday for students, although Chapel is not as much of a chore as you would think. The female Chaplin usually discusses things that are relatable. Its like having an inspirational speaker.... its not like going to a normal church in which you may dose out in the middle of it. This school focuses on traditional female careers. I was considering taking biology there, until i realized that it won't be as science focused as I thought. The security is not the best, but because they are such a close-knit campus, if you go missing for more than 24hours, somebody will notice and something will be done. They also have a good health system. They have a nurse, and offer basic health insurance for students who need it. They have an infirmary so if you get a bad stomach flu you don't have to deal with it alone in your dorm room.

    Will learn a lot

    Their professors seem to be nice. I sat in on a class, and I enjoyed it. The classes are small (sometimes your only one of two students in the class) but the teachers are engaged. They will talk to you directly and get you involved in the conversation. The teacher I had in my sit-in-class taught us by making us think and asking us questions before giving us the answers. They do lack technology. Maybe its just me, because I grew up in a highly technological high school, but that was the first thing I noticed. You will be learning in a similar technological school that your parents did.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great way to stay sheltered and learn how not to run a business. So, if you learn by bad examples?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They've gotten rid of most in the last year.

    Bang for the buck

    Go to State.

    What to do for fun

    Go to State.

    Food and Dining

    Don't plan on eating in the cafeteria everyday. This stuff isn't healthy at all and while sometimes it's good--sometimes it's ALL bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. I stayed in the oldest, least popular building and I didn't hate it in the slightest. Rooms are a nice size.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics were great until the school decided to drop graphic design and I was taught by adjunct faculty who just didn't want to be teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to this school. If you have your heart set on it, go visit and make sure you talk to someone who isn't working for the college in anyway. I would never, knowing what I know now, attend this school.

    In three sentences

    Save yourself the money, time, heart ache, and just go somewhere else. The administration has proven over and over again that current students do not matter. You might be convinced to come here because of the fabulous financial aid--I was. Don't be, please. Public school is cheaper in the long run and you will get a much better education.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Their is only one sorority on campus, in which I formed with my friends. It is a community service based sorority. WPU just recently went co-ed, so we are hoping that more sororities and fraternities form.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always put your studies first. You can always have fun, but you are paying to go to school.

    In three sentences

    WPU is an all around great school. It is diverse and the campus is beautiful. The professors care about your personal success and do everything in their power to help you succeed.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Peace used to employ a team of full-time security guards, but many are now part-time and employed through different agencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Peace has a very active group of clubs (the Psych club, the on-campus branch of SHRM, the Anthro club, and Gamma Sima Sigma, to name just a few), and also has 3 women's sports teams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Peace College has lots of traditions, but the most celebrated are the Honor Chapel, where Peace students sign the Honor Code; Peanut Week, a week just before Valentines' day when gifts are exchanged between students; Awards Day, to recognize the accomplishments of students; Stunt Night and Fall Fest, when sister classes (odd graduation years Vs. even graduation years) compete in events; and of course, our Fall Cocktail and Red Rose Ball. Another tradition that we have observed through the years is connected with the beautiful cast-iron fountain in front of our Main building: At Convocation and Commencement, we gather around the fountain to sing our Alma Mater, and end by throwing in red roses, symbolizing beginnings, endings, and the Peace Classy-ness that will go with them.

    Bang for the buck

    The situations of adjunct professors, questions from other institutions about sufficient accreditation, and complaints from current students about the quality of their learning and the stressful environment of doubt on campus combine to make a questionable institution.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of local restaurants, museums, art galleries, and studios - on the First Friday of every month, many have special events and rates. There are lots of area clubs, and transportation is available for free through the R-Line downtown circulator.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is so-so, Peace Perk is acceptable, vending machines are well stocked. We're right in the middle of downtown Raleigh, the capital city, so there are dozens of lovely cafes and eateries within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    The elevators are all slow, but the dorms themselves are nice. Heating and air conditioning are problematic in all dorms except New Res (Bingham), and free washing machines and dryers are provided in Ross and Finley. Watch out for 3rd Ross - they're a consistently wild bunch, no matter the year.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors that remain (as of 2012) are personable, passionate about their particular subject, and eager to share that passion. Unfortunately, we have recently been forced to take on several adjunct teachers, some of whom have not yet completed Masters degrees. The strongest departments are Musical Theatre, Communications, Education, and English. Graphic Design and Music Performance have been eliminated, as has Leadership, History, and Human Resources. Anthropology is iffy (the professors are WONDERFUL, but the future of the major is subject to gossip).

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing any college, be cautious. If you decide to go with WPU, then be cautious and be warned: Since the retirement of president Laura Carpenter Bingham and subsequent hiring of president Debra Townsley (formerly of Nichols College) in 2010, the academic and social standards of this historic learning institution have rapidly deteriorated, and an atmosphere of favoritism and cronyism has been strongly prevalent.

    In three sentences

    When I came to Peace as a legacy student, I believed that I was making a significant but worthwhile investment in my future. Since the arrival of Debra Townsley in 2010, the cancellation of my major, Graphic Design (which was done after written and verbal promises about the viability of that particular major were made), and the firing of 6 professors, both tenured and untenured, I questioned both my decision and the actions of the members of the WPU Board of Trustees.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I run a photography club at the university, so going around campus to take pictures with my club members is the best; we have the greatest time and it is fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to as for help; anyone will be around to help to answer a question. Also, become active on campus with activities that are going on.

    In three sentences

    William Peace is a very diverse university. Teachers here are on a first name basis and very friendly. It's a small campus but it has the biggest warm welcome to anyone new on campus.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a ton of fun activities to do around campus. You can join clubs and spark a new interest during your college experience.

    Food and Dining

    William Peace University is conveniently located near several local restaurants and have a dining hall of their own. They are even located near a Krispy Kreme!

    Dorm Life

    William Peace University has co-ed and gender specific dorms too.

    Academic Rigor

    William Peace University is very adamant about assisting students in reaching their full academic potential.

    In three sentences

    William Peace University is number one on my list of colleges I'd like to attend. The school has a variety of majors to choose from which is very exciting. The students and staff seem very friendly as well.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good for the most part. Usually there are good options of food. The operating hours are good, except for the weekend when the dining hall hours are reduced.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are kept quite and peaceful for the most part. Some dorms are louder than others.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor goes back and forth. Some weeks are mostly work free or light, while others are very work load heavy.

    In three sentences

    Great place to be for those looking for a smaller school. Classes are personable and professors know students by name. Students aren't known as numbers.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    We've been moved all over the place since the dining hall was under construction so the temp food was okay.

    Dorm Life

    A bit on the loud side if you live under boys, but that's expected.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is challenging enough to learn the material, not kill you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always eat in belk at 12:30, not 12!

    In three sentences

    This is my first year and between the staff, and small student numbers, the experience has been wonderful. I do hope to stay here all four years. And the campus continues to grow.