Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

William Woods University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/24/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Equestrians; pretty much any type of student, especially those who love the country and/or love a small town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up in high school! If you are interested in horses, definitely major or minor in either Equestrian Science or Equestrian Administration. Take their Freshman Advantage program; you will get to make new friends and you can earn 7 credit hours, too!

    Bang for the buck

    The LEAD Program is awesome! Definitely sign up for that! They have a lot of scholarships and awards, so it worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous! The food is great, too, and the people are really nice.

    Will learn a lot

    They have a very well known equestrian program and they are the only equestrian college that specializes in 4 seats (Hunter/Jumper, Dressage, Saddle Seat, & Western). They are also the only college that offers a degree in American Sign Language. You can find more info on their website.

  • 01/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have looked into all the scholarships the school offers. There may be some you didn't know about, but qualify for!

    Bang for the buck

    The LEAD program definitely helps cut the cost of tuition. All you have to do is go to events you like, get your card scanned, and VIOLA! Free money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and easy to get around. I can walk to Walmart and Walgreens easily!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very kind and helpful. They will help you when you need it and some even set up a review session if you want extra help!

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Can someone say horses, horses, horses!!!! Oh boy if you love horses this is definitely the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Want a great time at this school. Keep your grades up and you can have fun not worrying about how you are going to be paying for next year.

    Bang for the buck

    Keep your grades up and make a good score on the ACT and say hello to fewer loans to take :)

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how people can make friend even when they don't even try to. I can say I have friends from all of the majors at this school so I get views from every angle.

    Am learning a lot

    Some teachers you will appreciate more than others. I know one that will just plain frustrate you to no end.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Equestrians

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is so beautiful! My sorority sisters really help me get to know other students, get good grades, and get involved on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very 1 on 1 with all of their students. They challenge you and push you to do your best and be the best you can be.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    One of the best colleges in the state and nation to go to for majoring in equestrian science. They also have one of the only American Sign Language degrees as the university is in the city that houses the Missouri School for the Deaf. I highly recommend anyone interested in these two majors or any other majors that they offer to apply online because it's free.

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    equestrian students or those looking in to deaf education/interpreting. someone looking for a small close knit college community.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and apply for scholarships! it will make your life so much easier! apply for every scholarship your high school offers and any on the internet that you can find. you need more money than you would imagine just for the little things that you take for granted when mom and dad are paying for them. especially when you are the one paying the bill.

    Bang for the buck

    there are plenty of sports, academic, and scholarships for just everyone! every student is offered $5,000 as apart of the lead program which is funded by the university's annual fund (money donated from alumni). all that is required by the student is to attend a certain number of events a semester and earn points by going to the events. most events are educational and inform students about life after college or ways to help lessen the stress in college. although some are fun activities that bring the small campus closer such as movie nights on the dining hall lawn or bonfires to support greek life.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do on campus. Whether it be a club, a Sorority event, class or just hanging out with friends in the dining hall there is never a dull moment. There are plenty of leadership opportunities to keep students involved and other ways to get involved with the community.

    Academic Rigor

    i love this school! we have such a beautiful campus and there is literally something for everyone. the faculty and staff are so helpful in guiding students to programs that best suit them and are amazing at getting information to the students. the lead program is an awesome way to help cut the costs and find out interesting topics you might not other wise know about! i couldn't imagine being at any other school with the small classrooms settings and the great friendly people this is truly my home!

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    though certain neighborhoods near the college are questionable, others are fine. campus itself is very secure, and the annual security report can be viewed on the william woods website. campus security patrols campus 24 hours a day and is always on call for escorts or emergencies. william woods' campus crime rate is lower than that of our brother school westminster college.

    Greek Life

    phi gamma delta (fiji) - fraternity pi kappa alpha (pike) - fraternity alpha chi omega - sorority alpha phi - sorority chi omega - sorority delta gamma - sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    international justice mission, cru (campus crusade for christ), academic honors clubs, first impressions show choir, jesters student-led theatre group, art clubs, equestrian clubs for every riding discipline, and hands up american sign language club are just a few of the clubs offered! and if you want to create a club that doesn't currently exist on campus, the process is simple and highly encouraged.

    Great for these types of students

    students interested in american sign language interpreting or equestrian studies, especially therapeutic horsemanship

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the barns and arenas for the equestrian program are located on campus, a rarity even among the few equestrian programs in the nation. with 157 horses in one city block, the equestrian complex is a must-see.

    Bang for the buck

    william woods' lead scholarship is available to every student! to maintain the scholarship, students must simply accumulate lead points by attending events on campus such as theatrical productions, films, concerts, art gallery exhibits, guest speakers, and more. i love the lead program because it gets me out of my room and involved in campus life and introduces me to many ideas and events that i never would've imagined i would enjoy. maintaining the lead scholarship is easy and adds greatly to the college experience.

    What to do for fun

    visit the barns, get involved in extra-curricular clubs, see the play, go to the movies, visit the nearby winston churchill museum or old-fashioned soda parlor in sault's drug store in historic downtown!

    Food and Dining

    tucker dining hall offers many choices every day, including vegetarian options, and the food is delicious! every day soup, salad, homestyle, ethnic, and comfort foods are always offered as well as desert options. during finals week, the dining hall hosts a late night breakfast for the campus to cut down on late-night cravings while cramming for finals!

    Dorm Life

    each of the four sororities, two fraternities, and six independent houses on campus has its own spirit and community. student community advisors work with residential life to set up monthly hall events. each hall creates its own charter at the beginning of the new school year, so students have a say in policies and rules of their dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor of william woods really depends on the program you intend to enter. our equestrian studies and american sign language programs are definitely challenging, but the challenges prepare graduates to be the best of the best in their professional fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    come and visit our campus if at all possible! once you see our beautiful campus (the trees are simply fantastic in the fall!), state of the art equestrian facilities and american sign language lab, and meet our amazing professors you'll see for yourself why we love it here at the woods! while your here, ask for a meeting with a professor in your department of interest; our professors and instructors love to meet prospective students and are very committed to the educational success of every student in their classes.

    In three sentences

    william woods university is nationally known for its equestrian studies and american sign language programs. if you're interested in either of those aspects, i would absolutely recommend william woods without any reservations. william woods is a small school with a big reputation for equestrian and asl excellence.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The school has a strict no hazing rule and no alcohol at parties where minors attend.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is more Greek oriented which means that non-Greek students have less benefits. Also, they don't allow students to live off campus or lessen their meal plan which can cause issues. Finally, the school very focused on gaining donations. As a result, they constantly renovate Greek buildings while independent housing is left with improper maintenance.

    What to do for fun

    The Woods offers a scholarship program called Lead which gives $5,000 a year to all in coming students. The scholarship requires the student to accumulate over 40 lead points which are obtained through participating in on campus activities like a hypnotist or international film nights.

    Food and Dining

    While the food is delicious during orientation week, it starts to dwindle when the staff tries to cook for the entire student body. There has been an abundance of under and poorly cooked food. Also, they don't offer a variety of choices suitable for different eating lifestyles.

    Dorm Life

    From my experience, some of the dorms have issues with mold, faulty air conditioning, heater issues, and leaks. Also, not all dorms have A/C which makes them difficult to handle in the hot months. Out of all the dorm buildings, I would recommend Cutlip as it is the newest building and most up to date. Also, it has a fully equipped kitchen and large rooms. Most bathrooms are suite style and offer large showers. Suite bedrooms are available as well. These rooms have their own living room with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The building to avoid is Bartley as it is the least renovated and has an issue with mold/leaking.

    Academic Rigor

    My favorite part of the college is the academics because they are challenging and prepare students for their future career choices. However, be aware that EQS and EQA have a different grading scale which means A's are 93 to 100 percent, B's are 92 to 83 percent, and C's are 73 to 82 percent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since William Woods is a private University, it would be ideal to send in one's application as soon as possible. Also, don't let the cost keep you from applying to the Woods. The staff will try their best to help find scholarships, grants, and loans to help you make the Woods affordable. Tips for Equestrians: This program does not center around training horses. Instead, it focuses on client relations and proper lesson practices. As a result, the ability to train horses is only given to juniors and seniors. While you will have the opportunity to ride multiple horses, you will not get to project a horse unless you are showing it or in an advanced class. Also, some disciplines are very structured while others are not.

    In three sentences

    William Woods University offers degrees in varying programs such as American Sign Language and Equine Science. The Woods provides a close knit environment of less than 1500 students which allows more one on one time with instructors. Finally, the Woods tries to accommodate any student and works to help them with their journey.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is fantastic on campus. There are four sororities, all NPC organizations, as well as two IFC fraternities. The campus is roughly 35 percent Greek and the Greek students are made up of students from every major, every athletic team, the majority of Student Alumni Council and President's Twenty. I definitely suggest students give Greek Life a chance!

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small school, there are a ton of activities. There are roughly 40 clubs and activities on campus and that doesn't include athletics. Student-run theatre, improv team, show choir, honor societies, newspaper, President's Twenty, Student Alumni Council...the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to develop into professionals in their chosen field and wanting to graduate with a close-knit network of alumni to help them out. Any student who wants to find a home away from home and a family outside of their own, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two lakes on campus! Senior Lake is in the middle of campus, and many people fish there and it's great for photography students. Junior Lake has a dock and paddle boats, fishing, sand volleyball. It's a great place to hang out.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are always events going on--concerts, theatre performances, art shows, films, etc--plenty to do. And you get a scholarship for it through the LEAD program! There's also barbeques and get togethers down by the dock at the lake. Music, paddle boats, fishing, sand volleyball. The Greek chapters always have events going on as well.

    Food and Dining

    Tucker offers a lot of different options--the omelets during breakfast are the best! There's always a salad bar, and other vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    The best housing is in RB Cutlip, the apartments and in the fraternity and sorority houses. The general independent living are just dorm rooms--but they aren't a bad place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes within your department will challenge you. The professors in the ASL, Theatre, Art, Equestrian and Athletic Training departments in particular know their students and individualize classes and lessons to help you improve as an individual. Gen eds can be difficult, but the professors will always offer extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus! It's gorgeous and the people are incredible! Talk to students in your department, stay on campus and turn in forms early!

    In three sentences

    A fantastic university with lots of opportunities, small class sizes and lots of individualized attention. The social life is just as fulfilling as the education, and the campus is truly beautiful. There is a fantastic network of supportive alumni, professors and administrators who will help you fulfill your dream.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on my campus!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great on our campus! We have four sororities and two fraternities: Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Phi, Chi Omega, Delta Gamma, FIJI and PIKE

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to get involved in and it is very easy to start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are looking to live in a small pond and want to get to know everyone. It is also great for struggling student seeing as we have a very small professor to student ratio! Professors and advisors are always willing to help!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Dome is our campus student center with a mail room, cafe, computers, TV, pool table, admissions, LEAD office, Logo store and much more. It is named the dome because it looks like a big sphere.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities held on campus! There's at least one thing going on every night/ weekend. Westminster College is also right down the road so we do a lot of mixers and concerts with them!

    Food and Dining

    Tucker Dining hall is slowly but surely improving. Grab and Go is great for meals you need to while you're running to class!

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in my Greek house and I love every minute of it. But, the independent housing is a little older.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged while attending WWU but have the help of my professors to lead me through the classes and to make sure I succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not buy books through the university, they're way too pricey. Order them through a website like half.com and you'll get a much better rate!

    In three sentences

    William Woods has been my home for the past two years. Even though it is a small private college in the middle of a small town, I feel like I have all that I need! I never want to graduate from WWU but eventually I will be walking out with a degree in Psychology and Communications and four years worth of memories and lifelong friends!

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety and security are very particular about everything, and are always there right away if help is needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 organizations and clubs on campus, so there is something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus does have a friendly stray cat that the students have named Moo because of his large black and white spots. The students keep track of Moo and his shenanigans throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive, but the school does try and ease the pain of paying for a higher education through plenty of financial aid and tuition payments. However, the equestrian division is worth it, from all the experiences you recieve. Also, there are many internships through the equestrian division, and it is easy to network and find a job soon after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    LEAD events are generally fun, plus you can earn a point to get a scholarship. There is a movie theater and bowling lanes within 5 minutes of campus. Columbia is close by, and is a great for shopping and getting away from campus for a day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is substantial enough, and even if you don't want to eat at the dining hall, there are plenty of nice and cheap restraunts within a few blocks of campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and well maintained. The rooms are a relatively good size, and in most of the dorm halls, the rooms are suites, so one bathroom is shared between two rooms. Suites are nice so you don't have to struggle with a community bathroom. The community advisors plan events every other week to help the residents get involved and feel more at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The equestrian classes all push you to become better and to learn more. The common studies classes that I have been taking, however, are not as rigorous as the equestrian classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there! It is easy to get out of your dorm room at William Woods because of the LEAD program they have there. LEAD is where you earn a scholarship by attending certain events that award LEAD points. You must achieve a certain amount of points a semester, and it is easy since most of the events are fun, but also educational. For the equestrian students, ride and get involved in the barn as much as possible. Sometimes there are lessons learned outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    William Woods University is a great experience because of the small campus and down-to-earth professors. The equestrian program here is amazing-in the semester that I have been here, I have learned more about riding and the horse industry than I have over my entire life. That speaks alot, since I grew up at a horse training stable.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our campus is very small, so anything suspicious gets noticed right away.

    Greek Life

    sororities and fraternities are pushed really hard here. independent life is great at this school, but you will be targeted by the greeks for recruitment when you first get here, so be aware of that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    our school is very old and actually has underground tunnels on campus. most of them are sealed off, but if you're lucky you might find an open tunnel or two. our campus is supposedly haunted as well.

    Food and Dining

    the food used to be awful, however the school has recently switched food providers, and the meals have greatly improved, though it is still far from spectacular.

    Dorm Life

    residential life drastically varies depending on which dorm you live in. each dorm is very different. some dorms don't have air conditioning, so be sure to research the dorms before deciding which one you want to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    classes have a fairly relaxed atmosphere. general studies classes tend to have a lot of busy work, but classes in the equestrian program are much better.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I definitely feel safe on this campus. I am the type of person that locks my vehicle everywhere. I am not nervous about accidentally leaving it unlocked when on campus. I have never had to worry about being here late at night when I am working in the barn.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and fraternities on campus. All of theses are nice and make it hard to decide. They all a very active with their philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous fraternities and sororities on campus along with several clubs and groups. They also get involved with philanthropies and community service. There is always something going on that you can attend. They are very proud of their LEAD program which gets students out of their comfort zones by having them attend things they may not necessarily be interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students interested in pursuing a career in the equine industry. You can come here and get prepared to work in any part of the horse industry. They have an amazing program. They also have an amazing American sign language program too for those that want to learn that

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have the ivy tradition which takes place on the small lake. When u come in as a freshman you walk across the bridge toward campus. When you graduate you walk across the bridge in the opposite direction. This signifies you starting your college career and ending it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the money to come here. They are not much more expensive than the first college I went to. I definitely feel like they care more about your education. It is like being in a community not at a school, and to me that makes it well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    We have a big lake here on campus and you can grill beside it, or you can rent kayaks and go kayaking. I have went kayaking and it was very fun. There are also several events that are put on by campus that are fun and educational to go to. They have a great drama department.

    Food and Dining

    The food is definitely better than the food at my previous college. I was also very impressed with how it is set up in the cafeteria. It feels like eating in a restaurant almost. There are patios to eat on and tall tables and regular tables. I have not eaten something from there that I did not like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more laid back here than my previous college. They are old but in good condition. I have several friends that live here on campus and they like living here. If I did not have a family I would probably live here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not to the point that you can't pass if you study. All of the equine science classes are interesting and you always learn something. I know others that have taken classes from other departments and they always seem to enjoy their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming equine science students need to be prepared to work. The entire program is run by the students with the teacher acting as supervisors and instructors. The students do the day to day care of the horses.

    In three sentences

    I would have to say that I am very impressed with William Woods University. The equine science program is phenomenal. The entire school is willing to help you out if you are having a hard time. I would definitely give it a 10.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our officers are some of the best around always willing to come unlock dorm rooms, give your car a jump start , walk you to your dorm when it is dark or late and you do not want to walk by yourself, or just say hi when they pass you doing rounds

    Clubs and Activities

    A club for almost everyone

    Great for these types of students

    If you are horse crazy and want a hands on education that teaches you the ins and outs of horse keeping,training and daily operations of a large farm this is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Barns on campus allow students to be close to the subject they are learning about

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on on campus. Lead events ,horse shows,athletic events,ridding classes to audit, and so much more.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part everyone in the dorms are very respectful of everyone else space

    Academic Rigor

    not all the classes are difficult but this is not a school that you want to come to if you do not want to apply yourself to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with the students that are in your prospective program.Make a point to introduce yourself to everyone you meet including the facility maintenance personnel. If you are an equestrian and want to know about the barns and the teachers ask a farrier they know everything.

    In three sentences

    Cares about its students. Great equestrian program. Accepting of all kinds of people.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security vehicles are always seen roaming around campus and ready when called.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is unlike the large campus political quarrels. It is a way to get to know a lot of women or men on campus that may have the same values as you do. Unlike big schools, members are free to talk and hang out with other sororities/fraternities or independents as they choose without being looked down upon.

    Clubs and Activities

    William Woods sports are very competitive and attract a lot of fans.

    What to do for fun

    I would recommend playing a sport or joining a sorority/fraternity on campus. There are also other organizations to get involved in. Fulton has a movie theater and a bowling alley available that run specials for the college students at times.

    Food and Dining

    Tucker dining hall is better than regular cafeteria food but it is still cafeteria food, which everyone gets tired of. If you can't find anything you want on the menu there is always a sandwich and salad bar option or the other dining option on camput.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well kept together and well run. It is easy to make new friends with the people you are living with during hall events or even just in passing.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say William Woods is similar to a high school environment in the classroom because of the close connection with the teachers but the courses are definitely college style courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident in yourself and put yourself out there to make friends with people like you or very different from you. Don't start rumors or have any reason to be the cause of a rumor. Keep a good reputation without being fake.

    In three sentences

    William Woods University is a small tight-knit university where everybody gets to know everybody. Students can easily and quickly connect with teachers about schedule conflicts and get understanding responses. It is an everybody helps everybody type of environment.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    They have expert instructors in all of their major fields IE. Equine Studies, Education, American Sign Language etc.

    What to do for fun

    Through the LEAD Program there are opportunities to see different Guest Speakers, Concerts, Theatrical Performances, Equestrian Events, Movies and Sporting Events. The city of Columbia is only 30 minutes away in which one can find a Mall, a Division I college to attend football games, and dining. About an hour away is the Lake of the Ozarks.

    Tips for prospective students

    When packing for dorm life remember to pack things that will remind of home as well as item you think you will not use IE. utensils, cups, plates, cleaning supplies etc. Don't wait until the last minute to finish homework that is done on the computer because that it usually the time that the computer system will not work, for it overloaded with other students trying to upload their homework.

    In three sentences

    William Woods is a place where I feel that I am an important person and not just a number. The professors and support staff are interested in ensuring that I grow as a full person. The Woods provides opportunity for students to experience many different cultural events through its LEAD Program.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it has several really good programs. if you wanted to be a sign language interpreter you could come to wwu. all of my friends say that wwu is a good university to go to.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    equestrian program at the school is really good.

    What to do for fun

    there are always lots of fun events on campus to do and of course you can always walk down to walmart and hangout.

    Tips for prospective students

    participate in the lead program.

    In three sentences

    it is an awesome school. very small class sizes. everybody is super friendly and you always have something to do or someone to hang out with on campus.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was actually pretty good! Coffee, dessert, breakfast, lunch, dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are efficient. Not too nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Equestrian classes are great and push students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great reputation for equestrian studies.

    In three sentences

    Small campus. Competitive equestrian programs. Good campus life.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are in a need of an emergency don't call the campus safety just straight up call the cops. the cops can be all the way across town and still make it to where you need them faster than campus safety will get there.

    Greek Life

    Keep this short and simple don't like it, tried it hatted it. I am not better than anyone here and I am not the person to walk around like I am cool and better than everyone else. greeks here think they are so cool and run the campus. They don't, they just look like fools.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on in the club or sport world. Most of the students here are athletes so you wont have trouble staying active.

    Bang for the buck

    Horrible tuition rates. This is not the place to pay a crap load of money too. Look at Mizzou we pay almost that much and our University looks horrible compared to that place.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. hang out in my room alone some times just enjoying my life. play on a sports team. go around campus and find different groups of people to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is horrible. Don't plan on leaving the place full, just plan on buying fast food. If you can don't pay for the food you definitely don't get what you pay for.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun when everyone gets involved into this life. Dorms are very weak, kind of gross in need of some updated ones. Nothing to special but you will make this your home and where you make your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very easy. If you go to class you will succeed. Anytime you need help the professors are always in their offices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to choose wisely. Make sure to try the food here. Don't go greek here or play a sport unless you think you will play.

    In three sentences

    The food here in the dinning hall is very weak. The amount of goose poop on the sidewalk is extremely gross. The classroom size here at this school is great, nothing over 20 people.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a lot happens that requires stellar security. When something does happen, they do their best. Most of the security guards are either young and new to the job, or they are older, half-retired men. They do what they can, and they are very nice about trying to make you feel safe.

    Bang for the buck

    It depends on your major. Equine students definitely get a lot of contacts, and the equine world is well aware of WWU. Equine students get a lot of opportunities to go to large shows, and the professors are more than willing to help you find internships. They want us to be prepared for the outside world, so they do everything in their power to make us successful horse people.

    What to do for fun

    I'm an equestrian student. I pretty much live in the barns. Other people tend to talk about going out to bars or going to Columbia, which is the closest 'big' city. Basically, you need to make friends on campus to have fun with, because Fulton will not provide adequate entertainment for people from big cities. I love that Fulton is a small town, because I came here from a much smaller town, and it still has that quiet, small-town feel.

    Food and Dining

    Tucker Dining Hall is less than satisfactory. They have been making changes in the past year, but I'm not seeing a great deal of IMPROVEMENT. I'm seeing change, but the changes are not altering the quality so much as the methods used. Fulton has several fast food places, as well as a few sit-down restaurants. Students make do with their options; ideally, Tucker will serve a higher quality of food without raising the price simultaneously.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms are pretty quiet. Typically, freshmen live in the Complex, which is not the nicest dorm. It's the largest dorm on campus, and I personally did not like it. There are other options, and Greek life also adds another layer to dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    For some majors, the classes are what I expected for a college level course. However, as both an EQS and math major, I find that the classes are much easier than I took in high school. Keep in mind that I took very rigorous courses in high school; however, I would like to be challenged more in some of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that the Fulton environment is for you. If you like big city life, Fulton will not work for you. I came from a smaller town than Fulton, and I still see Fulton as being quiet. Equestrian students will spend a lot of time in the barns. For all programs on campus, you get what you give. Be willing to work hard and participate, and this school will help you learn much more than you ever expected.

    In three sentences

    For equestrian or ASL students, William Woods has an amazing program to offer. To other students, expect to have simple classes that may or may not prepare you adequately for real life. That said, WWU is an excellent school for the large majors, and I have never considered transferring out in the two years I've attended.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life on campus is a great way to get involved and meet lots of people, from Westminister as well as from the Woods. It is well organized, and the Greek housing is a fun, well structured place to hang out.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to get involved or start a club, go for it! The Woods is a great place to express yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    WWU is a fantastic school if you are a go-getter. Getting involved in your studies, major trips/shows, and general going ons is easy to do and will DEFINITELY inhance your time at the Woods.

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple places to go in town, or Columbia is not too far away. There is a movie theatre and a couple of college hangouts in Fulton. There are also LEAD events held on campus that you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    Tucker Dining Hall isn't always the best, but they do listen to student concerns and requests. They have a panini machine, salad/sandwich bar, and hot entrees. Breakfast is usually the best meal.

    Dorm Life

    By mandating that students live on campus, WWU creates a tight knit community where it is not hard to get involved and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small enough to allow adequate time for student/professor interaction. The level or work expected is good quality work. You get out of it what you put in, as any college goes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan on living on campus - it isn't so bad! Get to know your dorm mates, as it will make life easier and more fun. Don't be afraid to dive into a project, club, or group! Get involved and you will make your time at WWU worthwhile!

    In three sentences

    A great school with wonderful, small town atmosphere. The professors help students become successful and revel in student achievement. The campus is beautiful, year round.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    horse enthusiasts

    What to do for fun

    running Frisbee long boarding horse back riding

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly. Get involved. Work hard and play hard.

    In three sentences

    This is the best equestrian program in the country! I have made great friends and am very involved. The campus is beautiful.