Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Wilmington College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It might cost quite a bit of money to attend for some students, but in the end the excellent education keeps the money off your mind. The professors also prepare you for the real world after college, so paying back those student loans is as easy as cake.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Wilmington community has a close-knit bond, that keeps everyone involved. From home basketball games to weekend parties the students know almost everyone and it is super easy to become involved in any group.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and the professors are always willing to give extra time in or out of the classroom to help you understand. The hands on labs are superb at helping students fully understand the class materials.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People in rural areas, great if you need to be at home.

    Bang for the buck

    I seem to be learning at a better rate that I would if I were in a classroom.

    What to do for fun

    Play around online. Checking out everything Miller-Motte has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Eat whatever is in your refrigerator.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not that difficult at all. There are people there to assist you if you are experiencing any troubles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate turning in your work.

    In three sentences

    Miller-Motte is an online school. It is user friendly, so anyone who has basic computer skills can attend.

  • 07/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy the learning experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I need all the help I can get.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, I enjoy being at Wilmington College.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am very well please with my learning experience.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Wilmington College is a small private college that has a higher tuition but the learning experience is well worth the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, I enjoy being here.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am learning a lot.

  • 03/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Wilmington College is very expensive but worth every penney

    Am enjoying being here

    Wilmington College is a very enjoyable place to be

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like small schools, knowing their neighbors (as well as everyone else on campus), and having their professors know their names.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. If you're not on a sports team, get on a intramural team or take a (free) class at the Y. Join a club, a frat/sorority, or another school organization. Do the service activities on campus like Cardboard Village or a blood drive or take a trip to rally in D.C. You're paying a lot of money to be in college, take every opportunity offered.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say living expenses are a little over the top for the dorms and food options, but otherwise it's a pretty good value.

    Did learn a lot

    The small class/lab sizes make it easy to get to know your fellow classmates and professors. Most professors are great and all of them are willing to help if you ask.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic Trainers, Agriculture students, wants a small school with the education of a University, interested in community service opportunites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin your college planning early. Visit the schools you want to attend. Talk to current students. Make sure the college fits your lifestyle.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive. Wilmington does a good job of helping you complete your education in 4 years. They offer many opportunities for scholarships. The education you receive will be more valuable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to Wilmington College. It is a perfect match for me. The students are friendly, and the staff is helpful. The small campus life is great for me. There are a lot of extracurricular activities available.

    Am learning a lot

    Wilmington has very challenging courses. I have learned a lot from the Professors many of whom teach you to use ably that knowledge in the real world. You begin learning about your major your first semester. I like being on semesters.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to meet new people, like small classes, like professors(teacher) knowing who you are and your personalities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit. Everyone on campus is friendly and will help you in anyway that they can.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes the college is expensive but it is worth it. Your treated like a human being and you get to know your classmates, professors and adminstive staff. The classes are small and again you get to know everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    I commuite to college and I enjoy being on campus. Everyone is so friendly and it is just a great college to attend. There are a lot of activities to get involved in. I'm at the college more than what I am at home. Most students are busy doing different activities that they are hardly in their dorm room. It is really easy to get involved and just a great way to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are very understanding and treat you like another human being. They treat you like an adult and are very easy to get along. They are willing to meet with you and assist you in any way possible. They get you hand on experience. It's not all about being in class learning. A lot of my classes that I am taking now I have been placed on a real experience.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wilmington is pretty quiet, but we do have a bowling alley, movie theater, etc., and are only about an hour away from bigger cities like Dayton and Cincinnati.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I've heard that they're pretty small. The on campus apartments are gorgeous, though.

    In three sentences

    I like the small classes, quiet campus, and personal, one-on-one instruction available.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a lot to do for fun. if you are involved in the agricultural community, there is always a project going on to be involved with.

    Food and Dining

    the top food has a very low variety and selection. food is often cold, not cooked al the way, over done, and generally just not healthy.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorms are very nice, but the college will charge you for anything they possibly can. they will go through trash bags to find names to charge people extra money.

    Academic Rigor

    wilmington is a challenging school, with fun and easy classes offered along with the more difficult ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    wilmington is a good college for someone who is looking to make friends and be on a first name basis with professors. it is a very good small, religious school.

    In three sentences

    wilmington college is an amazing college if you are looking for a close-knit community and a welcoming feeling. the professors are kind and helpful, and really enjoy their jobs. the only issue with wilmington is they will nickel and dime you for everything they possibly can, and make it very hard to make payments on tuition.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    campus is always having an event or something fun going on. it may be a small school, but things here are great

    Tips for prospective students

    pick wilmington if you are looking for a school where you will be closely knit with anyone you meet or if you want to be on a friendly personal level with your professors to make getting questions answered easier.

    In three sentences

    wilmington college is the best college choice i made. with a very friendly atmosphere and being on a personal level with your professors, it makes the college experience so much better.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are parole cars everywhere and many parking slots. i believe the campus to be safe.

    Greek Life

    i have chosen not to be apart of greek life, but they all seem very friendly and fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are multiples of clubs and activities, you just need to find one that suits you, or more than one if that's your style.

    Great for these types of students

    all students have something to do or something to like.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are multiple fraternities and sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a pretty expensive college but definitely worth it and worth the education that you receive. scholarships and financial aid are very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    there are many athletics at wilmington college along with performances with plays and choral music. this campus also contains a variety of sororities and fraternities if that is a part of the college style you wish the become apart of.

    Food and Dining

    they have a top and an underground for eating. the food is delicious, not too expensive, and you can have it for take out to eat somewhere else. they have vending machines everywhere too which is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, i am a commuter, but from what i've heard they're nice!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your grades up, do all of your homework, and enjoy wilmington.

    In three sentences

    wilmington college is a lovely campus that has many degrees to choose from. the teachers are all very friendly, welcoming, and love to help. wilmington has smaller classes that makes for an easier time being able to comprehend and know the teachers.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Agriculture and Education students. And the Athletic Training program is very challenging as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are not alot of places to go for fun on campus, but we usually get our friends together and have a movie night or a game night.

    Food and Dining

    The food really isn't the best here. However, most of the staff is very friendly. And the dining area is always clean.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms aren't much to look at, the rooms are small, and everything in the building is a little bit dated and worn.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all challenging, but there are tutors available for every class. The professors are more than willing to help you in any way they can. There is an on-campus writing help center too for any papers need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep an open mind; many students would write this school off because it is so small. I love how small this campus is because it gives me the chance to get to know everyone here. It also adds a sense of security that I don't think you would find at a larger school.

    In three sentences

    They have an excellcent faculty-to-student ratio, and even better faculty and student relationships. The open door policy here is amazing!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have planty of greek's to get involved with on campus. Before pledging make sure to look around at all of them

    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus on nice days you see all the students on the mall playing kickball, sand volleyball or basketball. Another place we go is the underground, there is tv, food , and pool tables. Off campus we have movie theater , bowling alley and they were restoring the mini golf area when we were leaving. There are a lot of places to eat and hang out in town.

    Food and Dining

    Food got better as the year went on and as we were told , suppose to improve next year.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are livable but need a little tlc. They are old .

    Academic Rigor

    We are known for academics , some of programs people come from all over just to be in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many scholarships as you can to help your parents out and so your loans aren't that high. And enjoy the campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful , it is small and makes you feel like home. All the staff are very nice and do anything they can to help you.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are very few on-campus criminal incidents each year. The campus safety staff secures each Greek party well and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for escorting students to and from campus buildings.

    Greek Life

    There are two national sororities: Kappa Delta and Sigma Gamma Rho, and one national fraternity: Lambda Chi Alpha. There is one regional fraternity: Delta Theta Sigma, and one regional sorority: Delta Theta Sigma Li'l Sis. Additionally, there are three local fraternities: Sigma Zeta, Gamma Phi Gamma, and Tau Kappa Beta. There are four local sororities: Alpha Phi Kappa, Delta Omega Theta, Psi Beta Omega, and Phi Alpha Psi.

    Clubs and Activities

    Though it is small in size, there are many, many clubs and activities to take part in at Wilmington College. There are over 50 clubs and extracurricular activities ranging from Student Government, Activities Programming Board, Rodeo Club, Faith in Action, and Division III Athletics.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a perfect choice for students interested in majors in the following: Agriculture; Athletic Training or Sports Management/Coaching; Education. It is also the ideal place for any student interested in social justice and a cross-disciplinary education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wilmington's focus on community service carries over into several annual events. Cardboard Village is a homelessness awareness event in which students create and sleep in their own cardboard structures. Relay for Life is a weekend-long event which raises money for cancer research. The bell tower in the middle of campus is a beautiful structure which was first cast at the request of Pope Pius XII, and its bells were rang at the Brussels World Fair. The bells ring every quarter hour, and on the hour, a full song plays. Fife Hall on Fife Avenue was once used as the Clinton County Sanitarium, and is now rumored to be one of the local area's most haunted locations. The Rock is located outside of College Hall and is almost always changing its appearance. Graduating and incoming classes, as well as different campus organizations, paint the rock in honor of different events.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but it offers many scholarships, and no students there pay the full tuition price. The personal and professional connections made during time at the school is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    At a campus of any size or location, students' experiences are what they make them, and it is up to them to make their own fun. There is a vibrant small-town feel to Wilmington, and the many shops and local festivals are great and cheap options. There are also many fun events at the school planned by the student led Activities Programming Board. Additionally, the cities of Dayton, Columbus, and Cincinnati are all within an hour's driving distance.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services are supplied by Sodexo, Inc., and are always improving and changing for student health and convenience. There is a full service dining room which serves three hot meals a day and to-go food all day, and there is also a full service snack shop which offers snacks, subs, and pizza all day. There are vegetarian options in both locations, and health is a priority.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms do not have air-conditioning unless needed for medical reasons, however laundry services are free which is a great benefit for all students. The dorms are sized well, and each hall has multiple study lounges and at least one kitchen. For upperclassmen, there are two apartment-style options which house either three or four people, and are air-conditioned and have their own kitchens, bathrooms, and laundry rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Honors classes, as well as upper-level classes, are very difficult. It is possible to take courses at Wilmington that are not challenging, but if the student prefers a challenge, then that is what he or she will get. All courses are taught by seasoned professors who work individually with students to help them understand the course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that Wilmington is a place where people are dedicated to helping each other and themselves have a wonderful college experience. It is up to each student to make the college experience fun and memorable, and that wonderful experience can be had anywhere, including at a small, rural college.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington College is a small Quaker liberal arts college in South-central Ohio. Its faculty and stuff are dedicated to helping students succeed and make a difference in the world. The college is a perfect choice for any student who is looking for an intimate and supportive college environment.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Clubs and Activities

    Many choose what is best for you, be a leader and not a follower.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworkers!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock changes.

    Bang for the buck

    I need financial assistant I will enjoy my college experience this far, do not get me wrong some classes have been a struggle but I manage to stay on top.

    What to do for fun

    I play basketball, listen to music, stay on the computer and work out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but I wish we had real restaurants on camps. Like BB.

    Dorm Life

    I like it, although things can get a little loud at times, but things are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Study and Study beyond, do not get caught up in freedom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow your heart, look for your degree major, how much it will cost and is the school willing to work with you in all areas of your academic experience.

    In three sentences

    So far my college is the best learning environment. I believe I am preparing myself for the working world and learning how to help others along the way.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Barely anything happens on campus and if it does, it's taken care of in a timely manner. Just try not to lock yourself out!

    Greek Life

    It's AWESOME. A lot of campus is involved in Greek life and they put in a lot of community service hours.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something planned by our activities programming board. Whether it be going off campus to an event such as a baseball game or a musical, or staying on campus for our own little concert. There is always something going on. Also, many students enjoy playing ultimate Frisbee, basketball, and sand volleyball on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't terrible, it's just pricey. Also, the hours aren't always convenient for every student. There are only two places to eat on campus which isn't exactly ideal to most students, however there is a pretty good selection of food between the too. Also, there are restaurants all around the college.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't terrible. All of the freshman are in one dorm for their first year. This is pretty cool because you have the opportunity to get to know students in your class who are struggling with the same things you may be! The rest of the dorms aren't bad. However, we do not have air conditioning in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging while others are a bit easier. Usually, they balance each other out pretty well. Professors are INCREDIBLY willing to help any student out at any time which makes the classes a bit easier!

    Tips for prospective students

    When visiting the school, stop and talk to current students. They will let you know exactly what it is like to be a student at Wilmington and what every day life at Wilmington is like!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love it here. The small college environment is awesome because I have the opportunity to know almost everyone I go to school with. The number of relationships you can build here are infinite!

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and there is a guard on patrol 24/7

    Greek Life

    There is many greek life organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are here to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    The tution is high but there are many scholarships offered by the college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to all the sporting events. Participate in charities, and all types of programs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, and there is many options.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of space in the dorms, just a little out dated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call Academic office with transcripts ready. Come visit the campus. Attend a sporting event.

    In three sentences

    A great Academic College. Lots of extracurricular activities. Everyone at the college is kind and outgoing.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always reachable. There are a few that are better than others who are open to conversation, but others don't always follow incident reports like they should.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many activities and clubs to join along with sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    Sports equipment is usually paid for by the school. The college bookstore will also buy back your books.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an open basketball court and sand volleyball right outside of the freshman living quarters. There is also an open area of grass to play other sports, just bring your own equipment. Movies and games are always fun with friends, or take a walk around campus or uptown.

    Food and Dining

    Food is only good sometimes. After awhile, it all turns into the same stuff over and over again. There is not much variety. You can choose from carbs, carbs, or carbs basically. Salad and pizza is always offered.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I was placed on an obnoxious hallway. I am so glad I live on campus though. You get to interact with classmates and friends while learning to live on your own (or with a roommate). It is a great experience, and is a fairly clean place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great! I need a schedule to follow and Wilmington does just that. Classes are just about the same duration as high school classes are, but they are really good at getting you into classes that focus on your major and help you maintain good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend open houses and if you have the chance to stay on campus with a current student, do so. Don't not attend because you don't know anybody else. I came and knew nobody and it worked out better that way!

    In three sentences

    I love attending Wilmington College! Almost everyone is super friendly, and I am a person, not a number on the attendance charts. Classes are scheduled to aim directly at my intended major, so I am already in Education classes.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students.

    What to do for fun

    The school hosts many events and activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the chapters and keep up on your scholastic work.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington College is a place to belong. All faculty members are willing to help you achieve your goals and reach your full potential. Wilmington College helps shape you into a better and wholesome person.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, so there have been very few incidents in the past few years, however, the police and safety officers on campus care about the students and can be helpful.

    Greek Life

    I am not familiar with Greek life, but belonging to a fraternity or sorority is a popular thing to do on campus and they work within the community. It can provide many opportunities in acedemics and service credit.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theater is popular here, as well as Art Club, Psychology Club and Sport activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small campus, individual attention from professors, who love theater or sports and those who want to have a successful career. Wilmington is focused on training students and giving them the best opportunities so that when they graduate, they will be prepared for the real world and a job.

    What to do for fun

    Wilmington may be a small town, but it has a wide variety of restaurants, a bowling alley, a few bars and small shops to visit. If that is not your style, Wilmington is only 30 minutes from Dayton where there are more options. On campus, the college provides certain opportunities to meet fellow students and get to know the town better.

    Food and Dining

    College food is not known to be extremely delicious, but the food here is not bad. The Top dining hall provides a wide variety of food, including a To-Go option for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Underground has better options and feels more a-la carte. It is a good place to go for subs or calzones and to hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter, which is popular for students who are non-traditional or prefer to live at home, I am not too familiar with dorm life, but I have been in the dorms. They are average size and kept relatively clean. Only minor problems have been reported, but there are apartments available on campus for students after their freshman year that are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Wilmington professors care about their students and how they are fairing in class. They will ask if you need help and provide answers. Classes are small, so individual attention can be provided. A lot of the professors are laid back, but they expect you to do well so that you will learn better and be successful. There are quite a few requirements to graduate, but it can be done!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, even if you think they may be trivial. If you are worried about financial aid, Wilmington is very good at helping students find a way to pay, but keep on top of all your financial information and class requirements. It will help you as you progress through the years. Visit the campus to make sure you will like the small classes, small campus and the opportunities they provide here. It will make a difference.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington is a small, liberal arts college that helps students progress towards their prospective careers. It is perfect for students who prefer a small campus and friendly, helpful people.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who love close knit types of schools or if you came from a small school it's just perfect!!

    What to do for fun

    We mostly just hang out and chill together or we will go hang out with our friends that are in either frats or sororities.

    Food and Dining

    It's good food, there are some things they can work but overall it's good.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the residence halls create like a family feel and you end up getting close to everyone and you just want to be with them all the time!!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be difficult but your professor are there to help and there are many things setup by professors so that we won't get lost. We just have to take advantage of these opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your grades, make sure you keep contacts of all your professors, and have a great time!!

    In three sentences

    Wilmington is place where everyone knows your name and if they don't they will try and get to know you. It is small place in the middle of nowhere which I call home now. It's a place people should really look at cause its a great school.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Best part of the campus. Very safe and chuck is amazing!

    Greek Life

    Only few houses left, others shut down for hazing

    Great for these types of students

    Farm kids who leave every weekend

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly I don't recommend Wilmington. What they say on visits is a lie, it cost way to much for what it is

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. We had a movie theater but it closed down. Have to drive to do anything

    Food and Dining

    Just depends on the day, the hours are terrible, plenty of places off campus to eat

    Dorm Life

    Very out dated, showers have random hot moments, water is a brown tint, no AC

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are really easy, not much of a challenge. It feels like a very expensive community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone leaves on weekends so be able to be alone, nothing on campus to do so find a job

    In three sentences

    Wilmington College is a trap. Once you get here, the staff aren't here to help. You must be able to deal with long boring nights and weekends because that's all you will get.