Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wilmington University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be guaranteed entry to a college, don't like competition

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love this college. Everyone is so friendly and the class sizes are small so the teacher will have more time for individuals.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus cafeteria is great and has a good selection of food. There are plenty of degree programs and you really get what you pay for. It's an amazing school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so nice. The teachers are extremely helpful and the whole staff seems to love their job. It's really easy to make friends with the other students.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really know what they're doing and how to explain it in terms that every student can understand.

  • 01/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    This University has some of the best teachers out there! They are really increasing my love and knowledge of Information Technology!

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any college could be a good school, the students make the school what it really is. Every student that tries their best and is willing to do the work is the best student for any college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are choosing to go to Wilmington University, or any other college in that matter, must understand time management and self discipline. The college life isn't always about your room-mates or partying with friends, it's about setting yourself up for success. You have to have the drive to do well in college. Go to class, don't be afraid to ask your instructors questions about your school work, and always strive for the best. Never stop at a dead end because a dead end is just a test given to show how bad you want to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Everybody has a price; whether it's their self paying, financial aid, parents, or whoever, college is pricy. Applying for scholarships and doing your best in school will definitely help you succeed without having a college debt bill for 10 years of your life!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending this university very much. I feel comfortable because I know that everyone attending this school are there for the same reasons I am which are to continue with their education, make a career out of their education, and continue on with a good living.

    Am learning a lot

    In Wilmington University, whether a student chooses online-distance, hybrid, block, module, in-class setting, and other choices of learning styles, the instructors and resources available are very useful for the work given in every class.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    as a continuing/transfer student it meets the needs that i have. i have a full time job, side job, wife and 3 kids. i can still mangage!!

    Bang for the buck

    terrific!! i am not too stressed with course work, but it is challenging enough to learn something. i am happy to be a student.

    Academic Rigor

    there is enough work to feel that you are getting your money worth, but not too hard to be unable to meet the standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    a tip i would offer a prospective student is to be open and explore what wilmington has to offer. they have programs and courses that meet the needs of a diverse population. whether you will be a full time, part time, half time, day time, night time, weekend, online, student they have it all!

    In three sentences

    wilmington has been a very flexible with their programs for a continuing student. their transfer credits have shown worthwhile. as a family man with many responsibilities, the university is versatile enough to offer many different designs in programs and courses to meet my needs.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    you can sign up for any of the wide variety of clubs on the school's blackboard.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that enjoy a more private school with a smaller class of people and would like to focus more easily on their education.

    What to do for fun

    student events on the school's blackboard tells you when school trips, sports vents, and any other events are scheduled.

    Food and Dining

    no food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    if you registered for classes there then pay attention to everything in classes and if you have no interest in the course, i would suggest you pick a different one.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips i would give prospective students are take your classes very seriously. take lots and lots of notes and create a good relationship with the teachers. they are great teachers who are there to help you through anything.

    In three sentences

    i would rate wilmington university with a four star. they have excellent teachers and courses. they are people-oriented and do their best to help their students.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafe is incredible with so many options.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very fair, school work is fairly easy with a twist of challene. teachers are very direct with what they need from you as a student and are understanding and logical on what their students need also.

    In three sentences

    i really love wilmington university, it is a great college. i was very skeptical about going to college but since the first day wilmington has made me proud that i took the step to attend. everything was easy, the registering, speaking with an advisor or setting up my courses. there is a course for any and everyone's convenience, with different and unique ways to fit into some one's schedule. the teachers are awesome too.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is wonderful for more mature people, people with children as well as a full time job. If you don't care too much about a social experience and don't mind the hefty price per class, you'll enjoy this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're wanting a true college experience, stay as far as you can from Wilmington University.

    Bang for the buck

    Wilmington is quite an expensive school to just be there to solely learn. We aren't paying for athletics, housing, food. Yet classes are still over 900$ a piece. But the professors aren't awful and the library is quite nice.

    Am enjoying being here

    The social life is terrible. No dorms, in an awkward area off a main highway, and majority of older people go here to get the degree they've wanted since they left high school. Been here for two years, and have made no friends. People are polite though.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are a hit or miss. You'll learn alot in some classes, and barely anything in others.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take care of your financial issues first. Have a lot of money saved for your text books.

    In three sentences

    This college has incredible teachers here. The cafe is pretty good to eat at. The campus isn't too overwhelming. Easy to access classes.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at this campus. I attend class one night a week and many times my class was the last class to leave. The security guard would make sure that he was out in the parking lot during that time.

    Great for these types of students

    Fast-learners Full-time workers Students seeking higher education in a shorter time frame

    Bang for the buck

    I am 6 classes away from completing my degree. I feel that I am definitely getting my bang for the buck. I have had a teacher that I felt wasn't up to par and a class that had a horrible book, but all in all I am very impressed with the school so far.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a lot of outside activities, many of them very interesting, but wokring full-time, part-time, and school I don't have much time to attend the oustide activities.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the University, since I am only there one day a week I usally make sure I have eaten before I attend class at night.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am in a fast-paced program I spend a lot of time outside of class working on school work. I am taking Fusion classes which allows me to finish a class in 5 weeks, but also requires time outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    See an advisor to help you make the most of your time at Wilmington University. Read reviews of professors and chat with your fellow students, it really does help.

    In three sentences

    Easy to enroll. Great University for those that are working full-time. It offers fast-paced classes to complete your degree in a timely fashion.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I will soon be inducted into Sigma Beta Delta!

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking a great first start as well as working adults.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Affiars programs are Phenomenal and often Free of Charge. There are several trips to Washington D.C., New York City and abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    RESEARCH! RESEARCH! RESEARCH!

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is an Awesome post-secondary educational organization. The class sizes are excellent. The faculty and staff have a genuine interest in educating the students.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and get it done.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful staff. More affordable than some schools. Easy access for out of state students.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A great school, small classes, friendly staff!

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    What i like most, is the constant surveillance that is available. Every time i leave class, there is an officer walking around the parking lot, making sure that we are safe. They also have various emergency phones and numbers at our disposal in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    I do not have to much knowledge on the Greek life. I have absolutely no interest in this category.

    Clubs and Activities

    The types of clubs are very vast, you would be able to find whatever your looking for. If there are nothing that interests you available, you are able to create your own group as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are working and have a regular 9-5, this is great for you. You can keep your day job while gaining the necessary experience and apply what you learn everyday at the job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For the convenience of others, there are various campus' spread out in the state. This is a big unusual to me. I'm used to everything being in one place. The benefit is for those who are located in other areas, so we all can benefit regardless of geographical location.

    Bang for the buck

    Doing the comparable, i found out that this is the most inexpensive package that i could find. It is perfect if you are working as well, you can attend classes at night and fund your education during the day.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities to take place in here. There are over 25 clubs that have their own activities that are both academic and recreational. Also if you are into sports there are an array to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are the best i have come across in my academic years, although nothing can beat mom's meals' this may be the next best thing.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live off campus, so i cannot speak on how the dorm situation is.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity of coursework is relative. I believe that if its something that you want to do and are interested in, it will not be hard only challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure before you pick a school they have what your looking for. Do your due diligence and make sure it will take you where you want to go. If you are looking for a place to give you real life scenarios that you will actually use, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington is a great higher learning institution. The professor to student ratio is great. Also the knowledge we gain actually prepares you for the real world.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I mostly take classes online

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to earn your degree, not be given to you. You will need to learn by yourself as well

    In three sentences

    It is a great school It has a good campus It encourages students own research

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is great. They have security the par-ruses the campus on a constant basis. When students leave late at night, there are guards there to watch.

    Bang for the buck

    You are taught well and the professors make sure you get what you are paying for.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can join one of many sports programs offered. You can also join one of the associations they are offer like SGA, (Student Government Association) in which I am affiliated with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and dining space better then most restaurant's I have been to.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would have for perspective students is go in with their eyes opened and mind set to learn. Pay close attention to their studies and they will go far.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is a very good school. They love their students and love what they are doing. They have the best curriculum but they don't offer a couple of studies that I would be interested in.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is fairly reasonable in comparison to many other schools that I looked into before I decided to transfer to Wilmington University. Even the textbooks are reasonable and, the book buyback is ongoing all year round.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless events that are offered on campus from week-to-week. These are designed to make students feel more comfortable and to promote interaction among students outside of the classroom. It is almost like a family environment.

    Food and Dining

    I am presently an online student and have not had an opportunity to check out either.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very satisfied with the cirriculum, as my instructors are very engaging and very specific about what they expect from me as a student. The workload is not too overwhelming and I have learned many things in my short time of being at Wilmington University that will help along in my career path.

    Tips for prospective students

    When in doubt, do not be afraid to ask questions, whether it be something major or something trivial. Also, time management once you are in your classes is paramount.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University faculty offers a wonderful support system for new, transfer, and current students. A majority of the credits that I transferred from my previous school were accepted, making my transition so much smoother. The cirriculum in dynamic!

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This University has one of the top Psychology Departments in the state, not only that but the teachers are willing to help you in each and every way possible. The atmosphere of the school is strictly learn at your own rate which is really good. I have come to enjoy Wilmington University and will be proud of it being my Alma Mater.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of events every month. They take on tours too.

    Food and Dining

    It has got Italian kitchen in the canteen. College doesn't have its own kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    College doesn't have it.

    Academic Rigor

    Though its quite strict with its academics but its challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest students to join this college if they really want to excel with flying colors and join some good company. I bet they will learn on what they want to work in future with current and updated technology.

    In three sentences

    It is an awesome college with updated technology and great faculty. Wilmington University works on the current technology and transfer the same knowledge to its students. It is one of the best college with good faculty, environment and events for international students.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who learn on their own People who need extra assistance People who need tutoring on a regular basis People with self-disciple

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Smoke-free campus (thank goodness!)

    What to do for fun

    The new Student Center opened this fall (2012) and I have to say it's pretty cool!

    Food and Dining

    We just got a new cafe with so many food options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at WilmU (commuter school)

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course, the academic rigor varies. Just like any school, some teachers are more lenient, others are the opposite. I suggest RATEMYPROFESSOR.COM

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about transferring to WilmU from DTCC, I'd definitely go for it. WilmU is a different because it's less community college-y.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is a great school if you're working full-time or even part-time. The flexible schedules and course methods make everyone, classroom learner, or individual studier, more welcome. Courses are available online, in the classroom, 14-week, 7-week, and hybrids.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs such as Student Government Association and Game Forge, but as I said before, the college isn't geared towards the social-types or college experience. You're going to have to look elsewhere for that.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to return to school or those who work full-time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll get your degree, but make sure you're challenging yourself outside of traditional classes. WilmU doesn't seem to offer many scholarships because most students are retired military or work full-time. There doesn't seem to be a large need of scholarships or outside financial aid, unfortunately. I sit next to one guy who goes to WilmU for free just because his uncle works there. Imagine how many other students they could educate for free!

    Food and Dining

    I believe there is a small cafe downstairs at the Dover campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've taken a few classes and have found the relatively easy. I supplement my education at WilmU with free online courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for the college experience, this is not the place to be.

    In three sentences

    For working students. Easy to graduate. Moderate difficulty.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at Wilmington University is good it's nothing special though, they have all the stuff you would have at a regular sub shop.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on who your professor is will decide how much the workload is in your course. Personally for my first two years the courses have been pretty fair, not to easy or hard.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Strive for the best and don't stop until you have reached your goal! Get to know your counselor he/she is there to help you. Good Luck!!

    In three sentences

    I am taking classes online and at their Cumberland County Campus. Wilmington's Online Resources and tutoring help are awesome especially when you are a first timer. The staff at their Cumberland Campus are pleasant and take the time you need for guidance in choosing the right options for you.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is average when it comes to a university.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is of a typical university on the main campus in New Castle.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes increase in difficulty as the years progress. Block classes are more difficult due to the workload, but these classes are about 7 weeks.

    In three sentences

    A great school with great administration and flexible classes. There are multiple campuses and is ideal for commuters. There are many scholarship options available and payment plans for tuition.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always walking and driving around campus and there are also cameras as well to help them keep an eye on what is going on. So students are always safe.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know of greek life does exist within the University, I just have not ventured out and explored or researched it yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all the clubs and activities that any other Univesity would have.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for working students who have a busy schedule. But they fit the needs of all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not found any unusual traditions or locations at this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Their price is pretty reasonable compared to most Universities. Their charge is $320 per credit hour depending on th location that you are attending.

    What to do for fun

    As for what there is to do for fun, it depends on the location that you are going to whether it is at one of the Delaware locations or in New Jersey. In southern Delaware you are close to the beach. In Northern Delaware you are close to the city of Wilmington and other surrounding cities so it jus depends on what you want t do.

    Food and Dining

    The University has several campus locations and for the most part they are all located near restaurants they have very good food whether you are on looking for something cheap or something classy and expensive.

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer campus housing, that is the only downfall to the University. I do believe they would attract many more students if houing was available.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic rigor is great. They have options for every type of student. You can opt to take classes all online depending on your major, on site, on site and online, on the air force base, one day a week or even on weekends. They have various locations that you can attend as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip would be to just manage your time wisely and try and stay focused so that you are not wasting your time and money.

    In three sentences

    I think that Wilmington University is a great instituition. The faculty as well as the staff help you the best way that they can and get things done promptly. The learning experience is great, you actually walk out of class knowing that you have learned something and that going to class was not a waste of time or money.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, self-directed, graduate (master and doctorate degrees are also offered), parents, full-time workers, innovators.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I find WilmU to be the perfect fit for my hectic schedule. As a non-traditional student (28 years old), I didn't want to be in the middle of party central, and it was important to me to have flexible options that would allow me to earn my degree while attending to my other responsibilities.

    What to do for fun

    Again, being a commuter school, on-campus activities are somewhat limited. That being said, there are frequent student appreciation days, planned trips (local and bus trips), event nights (upcoming include salsa, game tournaments, playoff watching parties), and study/career related workshops.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in one building, a small cafe in the library, and vending machines scattered through. I'm a strict vegan and find the options to be extremely limited (i.e., practically non-existent). The main cafeteria offers salads, sandwiches (hot and cold), pizza, and standard sides (fries, mozzarella sticks, onion rings, hot wings), and there are almost no vegetarian options, let alone vegan. New Castle isn't exactly a cultural mecca, so there aren't many options nearby either. If you don't take your classes online, you might want to pack lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent. Wilmington is a commuter school and doesn't offer on-campus accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    Coursework is challenging, but not unnecessarily so (of course this varies from class to class and instructor to instructor). The grading scale is ambitious and challenging; a 4.0 GPA requires all grades to be above 95%. An 'A' is 92-100%, 'B' is 83-91.9%, 'C' is 74-82.9%, and a 'D' is 65-73.9%. Anything under a 65% is a failing grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for the full college experience - frat parties, dorm rooms, 24/7 partying - WilmU is NOT for you. It's a commuter school, with courses available in a variety of formats (standard 15-week semester, 7 week accelerated blocks, weekend modules, day or evening, online or in person), making it the perfect choice for anyone with additional responsibilities outside of school, such as a career or a family.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is a great small, private university in New Castle, DE. With tuition rates similar to University of Delaware at a fraction of the class sizes, I have found it to be a great school for the self-financed student. Class offerings are varied and flexible to allow you to tailor the right program for you.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Suggest to attend and to definitely meet your advisor often.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University, is a good school that is inexpensive. The staff there is there to help students not just to collect money.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is small, Wilmington University spares no expense when it comes to safety. There is round the clock patrols of security teams, a security station in the front of the main building that monitors the cameras, and the security teams can be reached by either phone, text, or alarm switches located in every room.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many sports that are offered including basketball, baseball, dance, and more. Clubs include photography, choir, science, math, journal, and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    With relatively cheaper prices for classes, available scholarships, and other financial aid, Wilmington University is a great and financially friendly college to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student center with ping pong tables, tvs, game systems, and couches for lounging. Also, there are plenty of trips offered like Phillies games, NYC trip, and others. There are all kinds of entertainment you can find at Wilmington University.

    Food and Dining

    There is an Italian Kitchen on the campus which offers great food from pizza to burgers to salad from 8am to 6pm

    Dorm Life

    Since there are no dorms on campus, there is no dorm life, but that does not mean you can not have fun on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range from very easy to moderately hard. However, the professors are openly willing to help you any way they can to help you achieve you maximum potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not want to feel like just a number in a classroom, then Wilmington University is perfect for you. With classes ranging from 15 to 30 people max, and plenty of fun activities held on and off campus, it is the perfect place to begin your college career.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is a great place to further your education. With a variety of majors, a staff of highly qualified teacher, and a small campus, it is a place where you can have a great college experience without feeling like you are just a number like in larger campuses. I am very happy with my overall experience at Wilmington University so far.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn't any because the university is so small

    What to do for fun

    Wilmington University has a brand new student center and has many different athletic teams so there are games going on all year round that you can attend.

    Dorm Life

    Wilmington University does not have a dorm because it originally started off as a commuter school but has grown to become a university. Unfortunately the university is located by an airport so therefore can not build dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wilmington University is very flexible so if you have a hectic life or have children this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is a very nice school with a beautiful campus. The University is small and has a good size teacher student ratio. Is also very well priced.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at the campus I attend

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Bang for the buck

    I have really retained an incredible amount of knowledge learned through their use of different technological systems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor to discuss opportunities and transfer as many credits as possible.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is student friendly for all ages and lifestyles. They have a variety of programs that fit all needs. They have an expansive selection of online programs to help the working professional.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As safe as any other Colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students

    Bang for the buck

    I Haven't been to the school in quite some time and I'm certain its better.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people of all ages..

    Food and Dining

    As good as other Colleges

    Dorm Life

    Wilmington University is a community college..

    Academic Rigor

    Baseball and cheerleading

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a growing school..

    In three sentences

    I love Wilmington University because of its flexibility schedules for all ages and working schedules. I like how personable the college is and your not just a number. I also like how the classes are small and you feel like u get more one on one attention.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security makes you feel very safe at all times. I attend night classes and there is always guards walking around protecting everyone. At Wilmington University there are guards on foot patrol and riding around in cars watching out for any suspicious activities. Although I am a man, I am glad these guards are always around if my niece who also attends this school needs them. Have a blessed and wonderful year!

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish I had the time to participate in our cyber security club. This club has competed in national competitions and they have won several times.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all different types of students from all states. Wilmington University makes students from all countries feel at home and they all also provide these new students a education. Wilmington University also makes these students feel like they are home and that they have friends who want to help them succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is located next the New castle airport. Therefore while you are in class planes fly over the building shaking windows and walls before they land on the run way.

    Bang for the buck

    I have been told that this school is a lot cheaper than other shools offer an ISM degree. I have a lot of friends that have attended and graduated with IT degrees. Some of them live in different across the US and they shared there cost of education with me.

    What to do for fun

    Wilmington University has a brand new student center with state of the art technology. The school also has plenty of activites for students of all ages and degree programs. Some these activites are on campus and off campus

    Food and Dining

    The school provides several different areas and buildings that sell all sorts of food and drinks for day / evening students

    Dorm Life

    NO Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This school provides plenty of excellent assistance with tough challenges or students that would like extra studies. I really like all the hands on training we receive in class, off campus activites, and one on one with the learning programs provided by Wilmington University.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the comments I have provided below and you like mid size classes and you are not just a number. Also if you are involved in sports this school has great sports programs you can participate in. Wilmington University is the college you need to attend.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school in Delaware that makes you feel like family You will leave with one of the best degrees you can achieve with in this state After graduation your degree will push you to the top of the employee top 10 desired list

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe/restaurant on campus but not everyone eats there but I hear its good

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms on campus all living is off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know much about the academics since I haven't started yet but I hear the classes are small so the teachers are more personal with their students and can take the time to get to know them and help them succeed.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school but alot of students attend. From what I hear all of the athletes are close and all hangout together. Not many know about the school but it is a great school.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is totally safe if you are home and I am sure it is safe on campus too!

    Bang for the buck

    Once you are registered and are enjoying the relaxation of self-paced learning you have earned bragging rights! Lucky me, I go to school at Wilmington University!

    What to do for fun

    Be healthy. Make healthy choices. Eat fresh foods and exercise!

    Food and Dining

    I am sure it must be fabulous, but who knows, I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about this. I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    This is so much fun! It is so exciting to meet new people online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule an appointment with an advisor. Once you know what you need to do in order to complete your degree, everything else can be done on your time and at your conveinence.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University's online studies have given me an opportunity to obtain my bachelors degree in nursing. After meeting with a friendly advisor at Wilmington University, the fear of complicated applications and a lack of time in my busy schedule disappeared. This college makes it simple and convenient to return to school.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things that you can do for fun at Wilmington, they have book clubs and even more !

    Food and Dining

    I actually have never been to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Wilmington are amazing,

    Tips for prospective students

    Defiantly look into distance learning, it is the most flexible when it comes to your job.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University offers wonderful distance learning program. They try to make it as easy as possible for people to attend college with their block scheduling. The professors will help you as much as they can.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you should join an organization or go around downtown Dover. In New Castle there are many more opportunities for you to have fun but, they do have a few events that the student government association hosts throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly I haven't gone to the cafe yet but, I've heard it is pretty good and there are plenty places for you to eat around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this university it is a commuter school but, they do help you find an apartment if you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    I do think that the professors teach very well and for the most part are easy to communicate with.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a major party school do not come here. You will learn at this school and you need to be prepared. Have your books before the first class starts if you can because they get straight to business. Also, do not be afraid to communicate with anyone the more you speak the better your experience.

    In three sentences

    I attended an orientation for this University and I appreciated the hospitality that the staff and students offered. The university is for people who want to feel comfortable and get to know professors and other students on a more personal level. I am not on the main campus so there isn't too much going on but it is still a great college to look into especially for commuters.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security everywhere. Camera everywhere. VERY SAFE !!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Fun, socializing, activities, and volunteering.

    Great for these types of students

    YES !!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dolls, every where given by one of our founders.

    Bang for the buck

    Average tuition cost, don't have to pay for dorms. Library free for all.

    What to do for fun

    School store, library, sports, students center, pool, game room. Clubs, parties, volunteering.

    Food and Dining

    Great selections. Pizza, salads, soups, burgers.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers, medium size class rooms. Well all around school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, keep up with class work and home work, and get to know your teachers.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University is a good environment. Friendly instructors and staff. Easy to manage courses.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards patrolling the school and there are camera's everywhere. The camera's are monitored everyday by security guards.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of things to get involved in here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to really focus on their education would do very well here. You get to pick your own scheduling and which times you would like to attend the classes, so long as they are offered at the time you register for courses each semester,. There is no certain order you must take the courses unless there is a prerequisite for the course you want to take. This school is more flexible for people with jobs as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I have excelled very well at this school, and have maintained a 3.5 gpa. I have been on the Dean's list multiple times. The smaller classes and the ability to really get one on one time with my teachers has really made me eager to learn. I have learned so much at this school, and have found out just how well I can perform in the right setting. I wasn't the best student in High School, but attending Wilmington University has really showed me that I really do have talent.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different groups and activities to get involved in, as well as sports teams to join. There is always something to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria on the grounds, and I would say that the food isn't too bad.

    Dorm Life

    I rated this section five stars because there is no dorm life! There are no dorms at this University. I really like how this school focuses so much on education. They do have sports teams and other groups and activities to get involved in, however.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and the kind of work you want to get into, some majors are harder than others and require more work than others. I major in Multimedia design, and while it is challenging, I find the classes to be easier for me personally because I have a real interest in the field I am taking classes for. It really all depends on your skill set and passion for learning, you will do very well at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you show up to your classes and make time for studying and doing your work, you will do very well at this school.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University has smaller class sizes which allows for more one on one help from the teachers. The atmosphere is great for learning and the teachers are very knowledgeable about the subjects they teach and they have job in the field that they teach. Wilmington University really caters to the individual students needs.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student center has some activities you can do in between classes

    Food and Dining

    Italian kitchen is AMAZING

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes i feel like its an extra year of high school. Most things are a repeat of what i was already taught

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a easy getaway from college you do need to work hard for your grades!

    In three sentences

    I would say that Wilmington University is a great school to attend if you still don't know what you want to do as a career. It's perfect if you're slow and need extra time to get things done. The teachers are very flexible and always willing to work with you!

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for military students that are well organized and driven.

    Bang for the buck

    Being in the military there is a slight cut on the course cost.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy riding motorcycles, skydiving, and outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    Unsure, not living near campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure, not living near campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses I have taken have been fairly easy, all of which being online. The class that I have found to be the most in depth and heaviest workload has been in psychology.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University has been a wonderful experience for me. The staff located on Dover AFB have been quick to answer all my educational questions as well as the personnel over the phone. This school is very military friendly and has been a great experience for me so far.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They recently have improved their safety efforts by making wearing ID badges mandatory for students and faculty.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The honor societies are very cool to participate in, especially when you can use it on your resume.

    Great for these types of students

    Online and Social Science Majors. Students with ambition who aren't afraid of hard work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Founded and supported from DuPont money. Many co-executives and executives of well-known and big business companies are on the Chair Committee for Wilmington University, i.e they donate a lot of money, and they sit at all the graduations.

    Bang for the buck

    Wilmington University is a great way to finish your education fast, affordably, and with very little hassle.

    What to do for fun

    Very few options here.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in the New Castle Campus is very decent, however there are no other Campus-orientated restaurants or fooderies near-by.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available. Commuter only.

    Academic Rigor

    Wilmington University has had the most fair grading system I have encountered by the 3 universities I have attended- UD, Delstate, and WilmU. If you do the hard work, which is a lot of papers, then you will get A's. If not, don't worry about it, you'll still pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go Online Only. The information you learn, if you are dedicated, will take you far, and you won't waste time or money on gas and commuting.

    In three sentences

    Wilmington University provides an above average education for nearly 1/3 of the cost of most Universities, and it fosters success due to the high grade of their teachers, the helpfulness of their staff, and the relevancy of the course material. I personally would recommend Wilmington University over University of DE, which I have my Associates in Arts, and Delaware State, which I attended for a year in between. Go to Wilmington University- I finished the rest of my degree in 2 years from the time I enrolled, and they were able to transfer 50+ credits.