Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Wilson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard workers and females only... it's a women's college

    Tips for prospective students

    maintain good grades

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive but totally worth every penny.

    Will enjoy being here

    At wilson there is a very positive atmosphere. anyone will enjoy being here.

    Will learn a lot

    Wilson college is a very small school dedicated on its students and their learning skills.

  • 12/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, motivated, determined. Wilson college is full of future leaders who speak their minds and won't be silenced in what they believe in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up - this is a tough school, you can't just laze about if you want to make it. Be aware that college is totally different than high school - the teachers will not hold your hand every step of the way and remind you to hand in work.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive to be sure, but worth every penny if you put forth the effort to be here. There are a couple of students that I know personally who never do the assigned work and complain about the college, but that tends to happen when one is failing the course.... I personally cannot regret my decision to come here. Wilson is great about helping find financial aid as well. There are many scholarships, work-study, and grants to help you pay for school just from Wilson alone!

    Am enjoying being here

    Definitely not a party school, but we still manage to have fun. During Finals Week alone we had a snowball fight, built snowmen, went sledding, and had a massive hangout featuring Disney movies, food, and coloring. You can always find someone to hang out with, and everyone is super friendly - I can't imagine attending school anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    The work is challenging but rewarding, and there is a wide variety of classes so everyone is sure to find their fit. Some of the mandatory classes make you want to gorge out your eyes (hello Intro to Computer Based Systems), but overall I'm excited every time I go to class (can't wait to start my Classic Mythology and History courses!).

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for horse lovers and girls. It is an all girls school after all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good work ethic and be ready to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Slightly expensive, but worth it. Even though it is small it is recognized.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone will feel welcome and right at home.

    Will learn a lot

    A small school that focuses on teaching their students. Has a nice range of majors and minors.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you're going to work hard, love learning and enjoy personal attention and care from professors in a small school atmosphere, then Wilson College is right for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades through high school. don't slack off. do plenty of volunteer work. Present yourself on paper as best you can.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, to be sure, but the college does provide scholarships to students with good GPA's. the highest one takes off 50% of the tuition, allowing many more students to attend Wilson. I feel it is worth the money, especially if you can get one of their scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Wilson because of the specific program I'm in, my professors, and my friendships.

    Am learning a lot

    The programs at Wilson really encourage you to learn. if you don't want to put forth much effort, then you really should consider other schools besides Wilson. Wilson College has great professors and a great learning environment, but it's definitely not a party school.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour on duty security, emergency push buttons throughout campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an unusual tradition where there is a rival between odds vs. evens classes. Example, class of 2013 vs. class of 2014. The odds are black and red and are the pirates. The evens are blue and green and are the ninjas. Sometimes we dress up as pirates and ninjas to class and have water gun fights. It's always fun and I love that the school allows us to have these kind of fun events on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs such as Fencing, the Yearbook Club, Muhibah (international club), sports, downtown Chambersburg with coffee shops, book stores, bead stores, mini shops

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food in the dining hall comes fresh from our own Fulton Farm. There is a salad bar, deli bar, cereal, ice cream, and dessert everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are small depending on which building you live in, but you will get used to it. The rooms are not brand new but the bathrooms and hallways are cleaned daily. We have a lounge and hall events where we can form bonds with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I like the curriculum here. I've learned how to do things hands on such as draw blood, anesthetic monitoring, IV/Urinary Catheter, etc. (I am a Veterinary Medical Technology major)

    Tips for prospective students

    -Plan ahead and don't wait too long to take care of financial issues. -Apply for state grants and scholarships before taking out private loans. -Meet with your academic advisor regularly to plan out what classes need to be taken and when is the best time to take them.

    In three sentences

    Wilson College is a small school so everybody knows everybody, and you will see a familiar face everywhere you go. We form friendships right away and there is a lot of community involvement. Our professors are willing to help any way they can when a student asks for help whether it be school work, academic advising, counseling, etc.

  • 11/20/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People like me

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard working students

    Tips for prospective students

    Wilson is a very academically involved school, so be ready to work and study all day long.

    Am enjoying being here

    i do enjoy attending wilson for the most part, its just hard for me to work while i am a student there which makes paying bills very difficult.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot of new information

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are always activities to do on and off campus.

    In three sentences

    wilson college is fun and filled with helpful students and faculty. the longer you are here, the more you want to stay. it's a home away from home.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always putting warnings out if anything weird happens.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent caring teachers. Tutoring. You get everything you need to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Commute.

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat in dining.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I was told at orientation that for every hour of class it's 2 to 3 hours of study time. That is right on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, study.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful School. Excellent teachers who care about the students. A school that wants the student to learn not just get a degree.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. The City of Chambersburg is small and not a lot of things go on.The campus is generally quite and no one bothers us. No one has ever gotten hurt by outsiders during my time at Wilson.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great deal of clubs on campus and we have just started and FFA club along with other clubs. There are also many different activities that take place on campus, such as, dances, sports events, movie nights, and game nights.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working and dedicated students that will take school seriously. Athletes, horse riders, young mothers with children, and we also have an adult program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have some pretty cool traditions at Wilson. When you come into Wilson, depending on the year you enter, you will either be and EVEN or ODD. Through out the year we have even and odd battles. We also have a Sarah Wilson week that contains a bunch of activities ( I can't tell about them because they are a sercret).

    Bang for the buck

    Wilson isn't the cheapest school,but the school is looking to change the price some. My biggest recommendation when looking at Wilson is make sure you have a high, high school GPA. With a higher GPA you will get a larger Merit scholarship which intern will lower your tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wide range of possibilities of things that you can do for fun. There are clubs, sports, riding horses, and many other things to do on campus. There are also places to go outside of school that are near by that you can use to entertain yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but like many colleges it doesn't compare to a home cooked meal. Wilson dining gives you some other options if you don't like what is being served for the day such as, soups, salads, and sandwiches that you can prepare yourself.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best but they are a place to live. The freshman / sophomore dorms share showers while the junior and senior dorms have their own. The RA conducts fun activities for their halls to do on a regular basis. The common area is a great place to socialize with friend and work on homework.

    Academic Rigor

    Many teachers assign a good deal of outside class work. There are many writing assignments and you will need to study for many hours for some of the exams. The teachers are very helpful and understanding though if you are ever struggling in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come prepared to work. College is nothing like high school, it isn't all fun and games. Start looking at the schools you are interested in and make sure they definitely have the major you want.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time at Wilson college. I have been able to play multiple sports and excelled in classes. The work isn't always easy but it will be worth it in the end when I have a great job.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. Part of being in a small town.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of traditions at this College for Women founding in 1869.

    Bang for the buck

    Best Value as voted by US News and World Reports. Costs more than a community college but less than most other universities.

    What to do for fun

    A very involved school. Always opportunities to be active on and off campus. Movie nights, food bank volunteering, building houses on spring break ect.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student so I don't live there but other than outdated buildings in need of repair everyone seems happy.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I am impressed with the liberal arts curriculum. But because of the school's small size, classes are only offered once every other year.

    Tips for prospective students

    A small tight knit community of girl's. Great relationships between the students and our amazing faculty. If you want a school where you can be accepted for who you are and grow a tremendous amount, Wilson is your spot.

    In three sentences

    Wilson College is currently in financial crisis and students have been rallying to protect this school's future. I am inspired by the history of this school and the reaction from students and faculty to protect it. Wilson is a girl's school and in its heart always will be!

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ruled by the wicked witch to which you better hope she likes you!

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    All have same people on them and are backed by staff who gives these same people good grades

    Great for these types of students

    Horse owners or want to be vets.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The president has a whole BIG house to herself on campus, yet she drives around to her office. The Honor Council is only for those who are not in the circle of horse owners. The public is allowed to come on campus as they please but the residents can only have one visitor for 3 nights in a 7 day period.

    Bang for the buck

    The money is spent on things like killing trees and fixing things that aren't broken. Tuition is too high and there is no option for error especially if you are the wrong color

    What to do for fun

    Dream about normal college life and watch TV if someone else isn't already doing so. Go outside and watch men from the community come on campus to play disc frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    The food is gross and you are required to buy a meal plan. The salad dressing maybe spoiled, the drinks are watered down, there in no seasoning in the food, and they serve the same thing week after week

    Dorm Life

    This is the most boring dorm life that I have ever lived! There is no fun on this campus and if you go off of campus watch your back for snitches!

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small and the academics is hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want the traditional college experience don't apply here. This is a small town and if you do not do what you are told, you will be punished. Also if you can't survive without supportive shoulder's you might want to consider going somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    This is a private, liberal arts college for women. When you first get here everyone is nice and helpful, the classroom sizes are small but effective. The campus is beautiful.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student who is willing to put forth 110% effort in everything they do and want to pursue an education that will set them up for a career. Any person that has a passion for horses and animals will love it here. They offer so many opprotunities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do at Wilson. They have a lot of different clubs you can get involved in like a fencing club. Wilson also has an amazing equestrian program. They have western, dressage, and eventing teams there, as well as a few others. If you love to ride this is a great place to go.

    Food and Dining

    Wilson has an amazing dinning hall with a lot of room. The food was decent and the meal plans they have at the school are very good. there is also a cafe where you can study and get different snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are like most college dorms. Some are fairly small but that is to be expected at most colleges. I do not know much about the dorms at this time because when I visited Wilson I did not get to see the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics of Wilson are very challenging. It is said that for every hour of class you attend, you should study for two hours. The school has a rigours academic program but in the end with a lot of hard work it will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students going in to Wilson should make sure they are well informed about the school and events. Students Should also make sure they keep in contact with their counselors. Also, apply for as many scholarships as you can. Make sure that you are comitted to what you want to do at Wilson.

    In three sentences

    Wilson college is a school that offers a great vmt program. The staff at Wilson are very eager to help and the surrounding area is wonderful. The students that attend Wilson are very comitted to what they are studying.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wilson has a very close-knit community so everyone is always looking out for everyone else. The campus police are active in keeping students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said, there are a TON of clubs. There is definitely something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to get a degree in equine studies or veterinary medicine (like I am) should take a look at Wilson College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each class has their own colors depending on the year of graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition here is less than I was paying at my other school and I feel like I am getting so much more here than at the other school.

    What to do for fun

    The list of clubs and sports you can find on the website will definitely open your eyes to just how much is available outside class! A lot of clubs also focus on certain majors and help you learn more about your intended profession and get one foot in the door with local businesses.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are very reasonable and the food is not too shabby.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not in the best condition.

    Academic Rigor

    Wilson professors expect top notch students but they are also willing to help you succeed in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going into Wilson expect to work hard and be a part of something great.

    In three sentences

    Wilson College offers an excellent science program for women. Opportunities outside the classroom allow students to explore other interests while also attending school. The equestrian program is comparative to all others in the area.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and I have always felt safe no matter what time of the nigh we were walking around.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who would like to get into pretty much any horse program or pre-vet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wilson has many traditions and is great with getting the entire campus involved in them. With the traditions, it brings the entire school together as a family. If you decide you aren't into these activates, you aren't required to do them, but everyone that I have talked to regretted not doing it. One of the traditions involve the dinks it's a hat that you receive from your big (a junior student) and you will also have a sophomore buddy that will try to play tricks on you. My sophomore buddy became one of my best friends and my big was always there if I needed any type of guidance.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and watch movies in the common rooms, or get together with some people and play a sport or just chill on the green

    Food and Dining

    Depending on the day the food can really suck, and their really isn't much to choose from, but they do always have salads, ice cream, meats and cheeses for sandwiches, and fruits.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not the best, and could be better. Although, we are making improvements on campus. Each hall has a common room that everyone can hang out and just relax after all the stress college creates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wilson is a very expensive school, but with the programs that are provided, it is worth it. I haven't found a better VMT program in PA.

    In three sentences

    Wilson is a very small school with a huge heart. My first semester that I was there, my professors knew my name, and were always willing to do what they can for me. When you are a Wilson student, you aren't just a student, you become a part of the Wilson family.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full time security staff on campus. Security Call centers available along the walkways, also available by cell phone. Well lit parking areas. It's a nice quiet town with a nice quiet campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    It seems that anything you could think of joining is available and the staff is open to students adding new clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    It's perfect for my situation, I live just a few blocks away.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has stables, an organic farm and many clubs/activities to join. It's a beautiful campus with lots of green space, trees and a stream.

    Food and Dining

    I have attended several functions on campus, their catering has been very good. The dining hall is centrally located for easy access.

    Dorm Life

    I am an adult commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't begun class yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone on campus seems warm and caring, students and staff. I'm attending the Adult Education Program and feel comfortable in the atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Wilson College has a small welcoming staff. The campus is beautiful, a nice mix of old stone buildings from the 1800's and the new state of the art science center. I am excited to start my education as a Wilson College student.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and sports to keep you buzy.

    Food and Dining

    College has a farm on campus and a lot of the vegetables come from there. Salad bar is good.

    Dorm Life

    Good except there is no air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, so good.

    Tips for prospective students

    School is going through transition from All Women's college to Co-Educational. It's a good thing@

    In three sentences

    I like the college a lot. The classes are a great size. You get to know your professors on a personal level.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always there with the a call, they will help you no matter what happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    Vartiey of clubs and activities make coming to this very fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditons here are very important. One tradtion is Sarah Wilson week, you recieve your big sister, sphomore buddy, and get accepted into the college social life. It's the spirit of college from high school.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of acvtivities, clubs, and sports. The school is smaller so it's a lot easier to get involved in different programs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and there are a variety of food choices every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are comfortable and if you do not feel comfortable in your room or if lock your keys in your room you can always talk to the Reslife. You are allowed to small pets conisting from chinallas to hermit crabs. You are not allowed to have ferrets, dogs, or cats though as pets.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are a priority here, you want to make sure your doing your best in all your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are put school first. You need to study smart not hard. Make plenty of flashcards, they will make studying easier.

    In three sentences

    Wilson college is a great school. It has very friendly staff, teachers, and students who are willing to help you make you sucessful. Also it is has a beatiful campus, it makes you feel at home and comfortable where you are.