Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Windward Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus, in my opinion, is pretty safe. They have emergency telephones near every building, a lit parking lot, and campus security constantly patrolling the area.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs. There is the LGBT club and intramural sports. Most students join the clubs and sports teams on other UH campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for first-time college students and later in life students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus used to be the old State Hospital.Most of the buildings are brand new now, but the Math building has shower drains in the floors.

    Bang for the buck

    You really are getting a valuable education at this campus and the teachers treat you as equals.

    What to do for fun

    They have a student activity center and the mall is less than 5 min drive from the college. Not to mention the Kailua beaches. There's plenty of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mainly American and local Hawaiian. It's pretty tasty and freshly prepared. They also have snacks, a coffee machine, and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but nothing that one can't handle. As long as you manage your time well, you will have no problem keeping up with assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a jacket, some of the classes are kept cold. The campus is built on a hill and some buildings have stairs, so you'll get a workout. Come to class 10-30 min early if you have a full classroom, otherwise you won't get a good seat. It's better to ride The Bus to Windward than drive there.

    In three sentences

    This place is teeming with the spirit of Aloha. Everyone is friendly, helpful, including the teachers. The college itself is absolutely dedicated to helping their students succeed.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall there is constant security around campus and everyone treats each other like family, it's safer then other campuses. They are also many phones around campus in case anyone needs help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs from student government to national honor society, the beginning of school enrollment, all the clubs are out show casing what they do.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events around campus that take place, flyers are usually put up and even professors will make announcements about upcoming events before class starts. Every month a mid-munches is held, where free food is given by showing your ID or filling out a survey.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, I personally love the hub, which takes after a coffee shop. It provides tasty organic cookies to sandwiches and salads. They also sell a variety of drinks, I personally love their bubble tea's.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I believe our school is strong because with smaller classes the professor has more time to work with everyone, leaving no one behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT wait when first enrolling, apply early and talk to your counselor as soon as possible, or else you will end up stuck with classes you do not like. Also apply for Fafsa even if you think you can't get anything, you never know till you try, till then keep applying for scholarships. Do not procastinate, this is your first year! It will be hard so don't slack off.

    In three sentences

    I believe windward community college is a safe, and friendly school. All the staff and students treat each other like family, always supporting each other and many resources are available to help the students along the way. The school is constantly lively with many mini events taking place each month.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    older or non-traditional students

    Tips for prospective students

    Awesome school for gentle transition into college life

    In three sentences

    Great campus Great curriculum Just like family

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's the best school I've been to all the way around its a solid five star college. As far as students and factcuity it can't be beat. The Aloha sprite is alive and stroung.

    What to do for fun

    Besides meeting a lot of wonderful students here the activities are endless. college here has some sports teams and we have a brand new student game room and lounge.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is amazing with in itself. we have all kinds of food. Food representing many different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    no on site broading.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are great. They will put the time in if you in vest in yourself. The study help resources here is excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has helpful, caring and friendly people who are willing to assist you in getting started and feeling right at home.

    In three sentences

    This campus is well landscaped, with green lushes lawns. The back drop is the beautiful Koaloa mountains, home of the stairway to haven hiking trail. The people on campus are friendly and helpful, I call this college home.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    so far so good

    In three sentences

    I personally, would rate Windward Community College, a strong 8. The campus is not only beautiful, its the diversity. I have no trouble with parking, the Library is a great study joint, people there are just laid back!

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Im not in the food and dining program but there is the HUB cafe, and they have delicious drinks and foods for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Im not currently in the dorms and don't know anyone in the dorms so my opinion on it is unimportant. As far as i know I'm not quite sure if the campus itself even has dorms. windward community college is a part of the UH system and the UH dorms in town as far as I know are great and its a wonderful way to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is quite fun. Most teachers seem very involved with their students and take time for office hours to go above and beyond to help the students that need. My grades have improved extremely since going to windward community college because the teachers take there outside time to check emails and continue to be updated with grades and information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Windward community college is located in Hawaii in a beautiful area right in the valley of the koolau mountains, If your looking for friendly paradise days then windward community college is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Its an extremely great place to get your general course classes out of the way because the teachers really interact with the students and do there best to help students with any problems they may have. Windward community college just built a brand new library thats a great place to study and interact with friends.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're into theater there's good classes and there's great staff to help you there and there's a theater there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a really cool gallery called the Iolani Gallery.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new students and staff so I get familiar with the buildings and the students there.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is great and they have their own little coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home sorry

    Academic Rigor

    Windward is really good and the classes can work around your schedules and the teachers are very understanding and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a good college on the Island Windward Community College is a great start with furthering your education career at.

    In three sentences

    I have to say Windward is a very great school and if I ever need help someone is always available to help me. I rate Windward Community College on a scale of 1-10 with ten being the highest and one being the lowest a 10. There is nothing more I could ask of from Windward there's helpful people everywhere.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BEACH and ART!

    Food and Dining

    Not that bad!

    Academic Rigor

    Not that hard but not that easy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take art classes!

    In three sentences

    Saved me money! Awesome faculty and staff! Great facilities! Amazing place to learn and grow!