Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wingate University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Choose wisely, Wingate defiantly has the small town appeal. If that's what your looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition just went up making the school almost unaffordable for a lot of students, however we were each offered a personal loan we could take out and repay 6 months after graduation... as If we don't already have loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most of the time it is a great place to be, but it is pretty boring around here. Everything is a drive away and then there really isn't to much to do. If you are looking for a busy school with tons of places to hang out Wingate may not be for you.

    Am learning a lot

    Even though Wingate has a small teacher to student ration it is incredibly hard to get one on one attention from some teachers. Thank goodness for free tutors!

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who: ...like mid-size campuses ...don't want to be far from home, not too close/not to far ...don't do much partying ...like to walk (restaurants, convenient stores, and a Food Lion close by) ...are planning on going into the Health field

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do visits! The visits are VERY important when it comes to choosing a school. You get to see the campus, get the feel of the campus..taste the food, look in on classes. Scholarships! If you attend this school, unless you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth, scholarships will be SO helpful. Especially during times like last semester where the NC Legislature voted to lower their funding by $100. It may not seem like a lot but when it comes down to it and you don't have it, it will seem like so much more. Get an on-campus job, work-study related or not. If you have trouble meeting people, which I don't, this would be a great way to help that. My first year, I worked at the Klondike as a cashier now I know just about everyone on campus =) Also this helps with tuition or just pocket change. If you want to bring your car as a freshman, you can. I know that's important to some people.

    Bang for the buck

    The price to attend is pretty much ridiculous considering the facilities AND considering there are no 24 hr buildings or food places. The school has been around since 1896 and I feel that it shows. Changes and upgrades are being made but maybe the most important ones are not. There are some good teachers at Wingate; some who have been there for years and years. This is my second year and one of my teachers, who is also my advisor, has helped me out a lot. Not only did he help me with my school but had a listening ear when I needed someone to talk to.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being here mainly because its away from home. My high school friends pretty much fell off the face of the Earth my freshmen year so all of my friends are here. Its pretty easy to become bored but its not so bad when being bored with friends- you find something to do. Like any college campus, there are parties. They aren't really big and most times only know about them if you are in the loop. The classrooms aren't too far from the dorms and apartments. Last year I lived in Old Cannon, soo close to my classes. This year I live in Beam and its a little ways away but not too bad. (Old cannon is one of the dorms and Beam is one of the apartments.) Overall its not that bad, there's just nothing to do a lot of the times.

    Am learning a lot

    I don't really know how to talk about this section because different teachers/professors teach differently while we as students, learn differently. There are some really good teachers at school. Some of the ones I've had have been there for 10+ years.. One teacher I have tends to trail off, get long-winded or lose track of time so I feel like they talk so much we don't get much done. All teachers have their office hours which, in my experiences, they are happy to help you. Keep your appointments if you should make any with your teachers/advisor though. That's important.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wingate is great for students who learn better one-on-one and in small classrooms. Wingate is also in between cities and rural so students who want a little bit of both would enjoy Wingate.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is probably the only bad thing about Wingate. One of the main reasons that half the students are at Wingate is due to scholarships. Most students probably could not afford it without some sort of scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school and surroundings are great! It is so easy to make friends and you can always find something fun to do! The fact that everything is close by is also great. Restaurants are a few miles away and Charlotte is fairly close, too.

    Am learning a lot

    Wingate is a great environment to learn in. The student to teacher ratio is helpful because unlike other universities, Wingate teachers actually remember your name. Also, Wingate offers free tutors for basically any subject.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones who like one-on-one attention Want a small, Southern school Want to get involved with multiple things on campus (I was an editor of the newspaper my sophomore year) Who don't want to be in the city - Charlotte's an hour away

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a tour. Ask lots of questions about every aspect of campus life. You can't spend the night with a current student, but you can eat in the dining facilities, attend classes, and meet with professors -- just make sure you let Admissions know in advance.

    Bang for the buck

    Parking, laundry, career services, printing, and lots of other amenities are all free, but tuition has increased for the past few years. And the Internet is terrible, although it's high-priority to get fixed. I loved living in an apartment for 3 years and in a dorm for only freshman year.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was the perfect fit for me. The student to teacher ratio is 14:1 and the campus is small, around 1,800 students (2,300 including graduates), so you get to know people on campus, but it's not so small where you feel as though you see the same people all the time. Not a big party school, but was fun to apartment-hop on the weekends and hang out with a lot of different people.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors I had were really great about getting hands-on, real world experiences. There will always be classes that are solely lecture-based, but my classes were very interactive, going out into the field and actually doing stuff.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is the reason why I attend Wingate University. There is never a time in which campus safety is bothered. The officers take their jobs seriously and are always eagerly ready to help anyone at the drop of a dime.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a walk through a door full of opportunities to share with a brotherhood or sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities to get involved in. Clubs and activities are excellent opportunities from helping a community, expressing yourself and chances to have a great time.

    Great for these types of students

    Wingate is great for all types of students. After all our motto is Major in a Great Life. The diverse campus gives everyone and anyone a place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wingate's graduation is always held outdoors in the quad. The quad is one of the most beautiful attributes on the campus. In the tradition, it has never rained.

    Bang for the buck

    Wingate university is an amazing community of students. Likewise, it has the benefits of a small campus which makes everyone like family.

    What to do for fun

    Most students like to visit the campus lake for fun at Wingate. It is a place to cookout, chat, and hang out with friends. There is never a reason to get bored.

    Food and Dining

    College students love food. Wingate makes sure food is always available for students. Foods such as omelets and lasagna are always something to look forward to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Wingate is great. There are many surprises. It is indeed one experience most college students never forget.

    Academic Rigor

    Wingate's academics will challenge you only for the best. Academics at Wingate respect our honor code in which we take pride in and very seriously. Students will receive the grades in which they earn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come prepared for the classroom and fun. Your grade is what you earn. Nothing is handed out. However, the fun starts with you.

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is a private university in Wingate, North Carolina home of the bulldogs. Wingate University was founded in 1896. It has more than 2,500 students.

  • 10/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent! =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Please take a tour before committing to Wingate...a small school is not for everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Since Wingate is a private school, tuition is very expensive. My scholarship covers a lot of the tuition, but I still need to take out some loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wingate definitely is a small town, and there is not much to do. It is a pretty boring town so I go home almost every weekend.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small therefore you are able to have a lot of one-on-one time with your teachers. Use that to your benefit!

  • 03/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Willing to study at a private school that cost a lot -Rural setting -Involved in extracurricular -Small ratio between teachers and students -Small university

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit the school -Do not be afraid to make friends(many students are very kind) -Understand that school comes first, before partying or hanging out -Be involved in the school

    Bang for the buck

    One problem about this school is the price of a private school. It is a very great school, but it cost a lot.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school does not always have things to do during the weekend. That is where friends come to play. Find friends that stay during the weekend and enjoy your day by hanging out. Charlotte is not too far from the school, so there is always places to go.

    Am learning a lot

    Some teachers are great and some are not. Studying is required to be able to learn and understand. Many teachers are willing to help during their office hours. Don't be afraid to ask them questions. If it doesn't work out, there is always free tutoring at the school. These are very beneficial for you.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your a student who likes a small campus with a small student to teacher ratio, then you will love Wingate University. It is a fine school and you will not regret attending here.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first tip would be to get familiar with the campus so you know the shortest ways to get from classroom to classroom. Next, make sure to find good friends to help you through the year. Finally, make sure you do not get behind. It will be a lot harder for you to play catch up, so make sure to stay ahead of the game.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is slightly on the expensive side compared to other schools; however, it is a very prestigious school. Future employers would love to have an employee to graduate from a school such as Wingate. Therefore, you get a big bang for your buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wingate University has a beautiful campus with friendly peers and staff. On my first day, I was able to meet new friends in my classes. Wingate also offers many activities to get involved in, such as sporting events, movies on the lawn, and club meetings. Wingate has plenty of activities for a variety of people with different interests.

    Am learning a lot

    Through my first year at Wingate University, I was able to learn a great deal. The professors were great and were willing to spend extra time with students who needed a little more instruction. Wingate University is a great school and any student who chooses to attend this fine university will definitely become more knowledgeable.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who thrive with one on one attention as well as hands on learning. The classes are small so it allows for more flexibility on the professors end of teaching. It's great for students who don't like LARGE crowds, etc. Anyone who is looking for a close-knit feel, this is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit campuses as much as you can! You think you may like the idea of a small campus, or a large campus. But, you won't truly know until you visit. I had a feeling that Wingate was right for me...and immediately upon arriving, I felt so at home. They welcome you with smiling faces and your name is practically plastered everywhere! I knew then that that was where I wanted to be. It feels like a family/friend kinda place there.

    Bang for the buck

    While the tuition is usually a huge determining factor for many families, Wingate strives to make the daunting amount seem less daunting. Almost every student there receives AMAZING scholarships and financial aid packages. My single mother has a small income for the two of us and we've barely been making it. But, Wingate has helped so much with getting the financial part of it taken care of. If you think about it, you get quality education, one on one attention from professors and staff, the ability to be a person and not a number, and endless resources and growth opportunities - isn't your future worth it?

    Will enjoy being here

    It's a beautiful campus! There are so many opportunities on the campus, as well as off and I believe that there is a nitch for anyone who desires to be involved! I LOVE the campus, the people there and well, everything about it! It has a sweet, southern charm.

    Will learn a lot

    After sitting in on numerous classes and hearing from friends who are already attending, it's a great place to be if you thrive in a smaller, close-knit environment! The teachers genuinely care if you are there in class and they know you by name. With a variety of courses, it wouldn't be hard to find something you might enjoy studying.

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools, small class sizes, and being close with everyone one campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the town and school and see if you feel like you fit in here.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small schools and want to be involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit campuses and apply to every scholarship you can find. This school is very expensive, but with the help of scholarships it become manageable. Get to know your RA; problems with your roommate are certain to arise and the RA will help mediate.

    Bang for the buck

    Wingate is very expensive. There are newer buildings, but most of the amenities are old and run down looking. The school is working on updating, but they seem to be spending more money on landscaping than other more important aspects.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the school, but Res life does nothing to help settle roommate disagreements.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great. College is completely different from high school. When you choose a major, you take the classes you want to take.

  • 11/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you know how to have FUN and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is getting bigger and their building new buildings along with a new legacy, why not be apart of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus has everything you need and there are so many cool places surrounding the school in the downtown area, everything from malls to the towns carnival.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    barely ever see them!

    Greek Life

    numerous frats and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs for almost anything and everything.

    Great for these types of students

    students who enjoy an academic and layed-back learning experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    do not step on the plaque! the burris building has a plaque commemorating it in front of it's steps and it's been said that anyone who steps on it will not graduate from wingate!

    Bang for the buck

    wingate has an amzing staff of instructors, a beautiful campus, and many other great things.

    What to do for fun

    this area is in a small cozy town with very little to offer in it. however, we are located within a very close proximity of charlotte, nc and it's many clubs, music venues, malls, museums, night-life and other experiences.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall or the caf as we call it, has a huge selection of food. we have a campus subway as well as a store with many different varieties of food. we are in a two or three minute walking distance of four gas stations, food lion, burger king, mcdonalds, a japanese restaurant and a chinese restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    i commute, but our dorms are considered some of the finest in the state. i personally feel at home visiting my friends in their fully furnished and large open dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    very academic!

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit wingate university! if you find yourself at home on our picturesque campus join us at wingate university!

    In three sentences

    an institution based on faith and the highest academic standards possible. this school will challenge anyone to reach their highest potential and is one of a handful of national universities with university foundations in all 7 basic knowledge areas. this school is great!

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have a number all you have to do it call it.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are athletic or want to work very hard in school.

    What to do for fun

    attend athletes. join a sorority. hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    could use some improvements but it is really good for the most part and all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    very nice dorms and the people are very friendly

    Academic Rigor

    i love wingate university for their willingness to want students to achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved!!!

    In three sentences

    great student professor bonds, they are willing to work with anyone. the campus is beautiful. there is not much around and it is peaceful.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security officers believe they are police officers, and try to throw around their authority. As for the safety of the campus, I have never heard of anything being taken/stolen from anyone.

    Greek Life

    KA has 7 or 8 members. Phi Beta Sigma has 4 members. Pi Kap's have 12 members. Fraternities are a joke, the sororities have good numbers but they do not get along with one another and they are usually stuck up.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports are fun and very competitive, other than that I do not know of many other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Small-town, private high school graduates. I came from a graduating class of 600 and my high school was bigger than this school. I feel like I am missing out on my college experience/wasting my college years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus lake is a spot to drink with friends while you grill out, but it closes at sundown. And the only tradition I know of is to toilet paper the academic quad after the homecoming game.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is upwards of $28,000 but nobody pays that entire amount. They are good about giving out academic scholarships, but when their money is due, they are ruthless about collecting.

    What to do for fun

    Good luck finding something.

    Food and Dining

    The one and only cafeteria has the same thing every day, like feeding slop to a pig. The on-campus restaurant serves decent food, but since the cafeteria is so bad, the Klondike is always overcrowded and service suffers because of it.

    Dorm Life

    The Internet connection is one of the worst I have ever seen and the walls are paper thin. Housing is done by GPA, so screw up one semester or take hard classes and you will be living in the least desirable places.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors have been there for years and years and get in a comfortable routine where they drone on and on with their lectures. Few professors take the opportunity to make learning fun, and engaging classrooms are few and far between.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here unless you like being in a very small classroom setting. Average class size is below 20. There is hardly anything to do in the surrounding area, and the haul to Charlotte becomes tiresome after a few times.

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is a small, private school in North Carolina around 45 minutes outside of downtown Charlotte. The school has around 1800 undergraduate students and many of those are athletes. If you do not play a sport at Wingate you are left with one of three options, join greek life, transfer, or stay and be miserable.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police roaming around all the time. I see them like 24/7. I feel really safe, even when coming in late at night. Plus the police station is so close since the town is so small. It takes the police all of 5 minutes to get to campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in greek life, but I know a lot of people who are and they really enjoy it. I think our greeks are some of the nicest greeks ever. They sororities, at least, are not your typical snotty, rude, mean, brats. For the most part, they are all really nice, sweet girls.

    Clubs and Activities

    Black Student Union Greek Life International Club Student Government Dance Team Academic Clubs and many others I can't think of. And starting a club is fairly easy. If you wanna do it and have enough people and a supervisor, you can do it.

    Great for these types of students

    Student Athletes, and students that are serious about getting a good education. Caters to small town people a little more too and the more religious type (being in the Bible belt).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The W'International Campout. Sophomores camp out one night during their spring semester to stand in line so they can sign up for W'International trips for their Junior year. There are a variety of trips that you can pick from. Everything from Brazil to Italy to China or Australia. The trips are 10 days long and you spend the semester before hand learning about the culture and studying one particular aspect. Then you go on the trip. Usually it only costs about $800 for you to go, plus any spending money and a couple meals. Which is pretty good because that covers airplane tickets, travel, most of your meals, entry to museums etc. It's a really good deal.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. I wish they would lower tuition a bit, but you are getting a good education and it is a good experience.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sports games, swimming, sand volleyball...there's not a whole lot on campus, but there's stuff nearby.

    Food and Dining

    It's getting better but they really lack variety and sometimes the food is just off. But they do have a lot of healthy options and the desserts are really good.

    Dorm Life

    Hopefully you'll only have to be in a dorm for one, maybe two years, but then usually you can get into an on campus appartment which is really nice. It feels more like a house than a cage and gives you more room for privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    It pushes the students to learn, but could definitely be harder. Also varies greatly from one major to another.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what you want to major in, try to talk to the professors in that major and get to know them as well as you can. Also talk to the students to get a bunch of opinions. Admissions people are supposed to make you like the school, so they may not always be telling you the whole story.

    In three sentences

    Solid, small private school with a great athletics program. It has a small student to teacher ratio and is a place where people really care about each other. It's a small town school but close enough to a big city to provide everything you need.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a private school with great faculty and academic prestige, Wingate provides a very high amount of financial aid. As long as you have good grades in high school and apply for scholarships, it is very likely to attend Wingate close to debt-free.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs on campus and each club sponsors numerous events weekly. Whether you like sports, concerts, or just large get-togethers for students to eat free food and receive free t-shirts (which happens a lot) then Wingate should never be bore.

    Food and Dining

    The dining service was not anything to brag about at first, but Wingate is showing a concerted effort to change that. With the acquisition of more dining options and plans to add a full food court, the dining services look promising for the future.

    Dorm Life

    After freshman year, Wingate honestly has the best housing I have ever seen at any university. You can choose from multiple apartment-style housing arrangements that provide a lot of space and plenty of privacy. The housing, itself, is very nice as well, most of which contain brand new equipment and come furnished with a kitchen, living room, washer and dryer per room, and dishwasher per room.

    Academic Rigor

    It mainly depends on your major. I'm a Biology major and most of the classes I have taken have proven quite rigorous, a long with most other classes in the science departments. I'm not well-versed in other disciplines, but from experience, the Social Sciences were fairly easy, the literature classes require a lot of writing and reading, and the Sport Science classes can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wingate gives a vast amount of financial aid to students. Even if it is not your first choice, make sure you apply and and approach your collegiate decision remembering our economy. For such a great price, Wingate has wonderful teachers who have very flexible office hours, providing a great educational experience.

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is a small, student-centered school. The teachers are very supportive and are very cooperative with students. The size and ability to contact faculty easily make this a great school for anyone who wants a family feel, while also receiving a great education.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, museums nearby, music, near Charlotte.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of dining opportunities. Great food.

    Dorm Life

    Strong family atmosphere. Lots of activities to keep students involved and active.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are strong. The university provides free tutoring to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Visit the campus and experience the university.

    In three sentences

    Wingate provides a family like setting that gives the feel of home. The admissions staff are professional and courteous. The professors are approachable and enjoy their work.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is constantly patrolling campus and making sure that Wingate University is always a safe place to be at.

    Greek Life

    I am not in Greek Life but everyone in it seems to be happy about their decision.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities from organized sports, to challenges, to relaxing have fun activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want hands on teaching by a Professor, a small college where they can get to class easily, and overall a great enviornment where you will learn and have fun

    What to do for fun

    School Activities, Hangout with friends, Practice for sports team, fishing

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into schools that interest you and have your major. Look for a school that will be comfortable for you. And most of all have fun but be smart, college is the time of your life.

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is a small school which is why they create a familiar and warm hearted environment. The classroom sizes range from 15-30 students each which ensures that most students in a classroom can create a healthy and helpful educational relationship with their professors. I recommend Wingate University to any future students.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is fantastic! They are always there if you need them. They have a phone number that links you directly to them, so if for instance, you feel unsafe walking from your car back to your dorm late at night they will escort you.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of the Student Bulldog club which has benefits such as a discount in the bookstore and freebies at sporting events such as snacks and drinks.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that the education you receive at Wingate is well worth what you pay for it. It is currently ranked 6th best value in the South! And especially if you are granted a scholarship the value is so much more!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs to join at Wingate, and everyone is bound to find something they love. There is always an event going on around campus whether it be fundraisers by the fraternity's and sorority's, or bake sales and dunk tank's.

    Food and Dining

    I do like the fact that there is a Subway on campus, but like I said, I do not live on campus therefore I do not go into the dining hall for lunch or dinner, I simply go home. I have been in there on occasion though, and the food is definitely good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I live across the street in Marshville, NC, therefore I cannot answer on Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have not had any super difficult classes. However I do think that I have an upper hand because I graduated High School with a Diploma as well as a two year Associates Degree due to Dual enrollment from a community college. The fact that I was in college at the same time as High School I think prepared me more than others for what college life is going to be like academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for a prospective student is to ignore the cost of tuition during the application process. The numbers looks scary but the thing about Wingate is that there are so many scholarships available. I was skeptical about paying for tuition at first glance but when I received my award letter I was granted the Presidential Scholarship, covering almost my entire cost of tuition!

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is one of the most comfortable places to be. I have never felt more at home, and more like a part of a family-team that I have here at Wingate. The overall atmosphere, student life, faculty, etc. makes this a great choice for school!

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Kappa Alpha Order, Delta Sigma Phi, Pi Kappa Phri are the fraternities. The sororities are Sigma Sigma Sigma, Chi Omega, and Alpha Xi Delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you can imagine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always TP the Academic Quad, and actually the whole campus, for Homecoming.

    What to do for fun

    We have all kinds of things that go on during the Wingate week. From football games to intramural sports to concerts and organization fun. Sororities and Fraternities.

    Food and Dining

    It's actually good homemade food. We have a Subway on campus. We're getting a Chick-Fil-A as well!

    Dorm Life

    Creepy old dorms to say the least, BUT we have heating and air. The rooms are pretty big, and after your first year, you get an apartment. Everyone works together to make dorm life the best it can be, and we have amazing Residential Advisers.

    Academic Rigor

    Wingate is not easy, no college is. But the professors here really take their time to help you learn exactly what you need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs as you possibly can. Get involved everywhere. Homework is definitely a must do, and go to class!

    In three sentences

    Wingate has an amazing student atmosphere. The Professors are very helpful and passionate about what they are teaching. The academic programs are simply amazing and very rigorous.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can call campus safety, other than that they aren't really present.

    Greek Life

    .....

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of organizations to join.

    Great for these types of students

    recluse, small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the student government toilet papers the campus for homecoming.

    Bang for the buck

    class size is the best part. Generally small classes like twenty or so. Some classes I've had six people.

    What to do for fun

    go off campus

    Food and Dining

    The food stinks. There are supposed to be changes coming....but that has been said since my freshman year, I'm currently a junior.

    Dorm Life

    Facilities are O.K. not the best. the dorms are moldy and old. The newer buildings students are crammed in like sardines.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are way harder than others. Its normal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take everything they say on the tour with a grain of salt. The school is going through major growing pains and the students have to suffer for their poor planning.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I attend classes at the Matthews' campus, which is well lit and seems most secure; you have to have a code to enter the stairs from the outside. I've never felt afraid as it has many businesses around, including food establishments and the library.

    Greek Life

    I am a graduate student and not involved in campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown to me; I do not live on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a quality education at a reasonable and affordable price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown to me.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid personnel are most helpful and responsive to email inquiries.

    What to do for fun

    I am a graduate student and do not live on campus; therefore, I know little to nothing about campus life.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown to me; I do not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown to me; I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Strenuous to moderately strenuous, if you, as a lot of students, are working and going to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to an advisor to determine any pre-requisites for your field.

    In three sentences

    I am in the MAT program and the professors are from the local school districts and teach high quality, informative, updated methodologies. I would recommed this program to any current undergrad student or, as myself, one returning to school from another profession to pursue teaching. The advisors and professors are readily accessible and personally interested in each student's success.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety patrols 24/7. Anytime a student feels unsafe they are able to call campus safety and they will be right there. Located throughout campus they are safety stations with buttons that allow any student to press a button if feeling unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There are approximately five Greek organizations on campus. Each organization wants students to join and become a member. The organizations are very prominent on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA is very popular at Wingate. There is many different clubs available for students. Even some classes that are offered are considered to be activities such as pottery, bird watching, yoga, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will fit in at Wingate. The campus is so diverse that it is amazing to see all of the students interact. Wingate strives to be diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus lake is fantastic for barbeque's or getting away from being stressed. Each year students camp out for international trips. Every homecoming students tee pee the whole campus to show their pride and support.

    Bang for the buck

    The overall experience is wonderful. As time goes on students grow and find out more about themselves. Also being close to Charlotte is great.

    What to do for fun

    The Dickson Palmer Student Center is a fantastic place to hang out with friends and do certain activities such as watch TV, play pool, practice music, etc. The sporting events are really fun because the whole campus is there supporting Wingate. Even hanging out in the dorms watching movies with friends is awesome.

    Food and Dining

    Wingate's cafeteria offers many options that accomadate most needs. There is a poolside grille on campus that offers food that are found at a barbeque. Also there are small stations that offer sandwiches to go throuhgout campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm experience is fantastic. It is great getting to know people from all over the world. The RA always has fun activities planned for the residents to interact with one another.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Wingate are very challenging and engaging. There are free tutors on campus to help with most any subject. Hard work pays off in the future when it is time to search for jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to make sure they have financial aid situated before the semester starts. Prepare yourself for a lot of homework, but it is well worth it. The staff at Wingate is willing to help you as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    The university offers an amazing experience as a college student. Not only does the student receive fantastic education, but memories that will last forever. I love the environment that Wingate provides for its students.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Gym and workout room is great to workout in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus lake is beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Charlotte.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your major before taking classes so you will not have to be there longer than needed. Be prepared for entry tests. Take different teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. The teachers are very helpful. Classes are easy to get into.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety makes regular rounds around campus and they are always just a call away.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge part of Wingate's campus. Greek life is involved in so much on campus. I've heard it's a great experience to be involved in a sorority or fraternity. They hold multiple fundraisers and events that anyone can participate in!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everything! You can join as many clubs as you want. Even if there is not a specific club you can think of, you can start your own by finding a staff member to sponsor you. We even have a dungeons and dragons club on campus. Intramural sports are also very popular amongst students.

    Great for these types of students

    Wingate is great for any type of student because everyone is integrated. Wingate is very big on sports so a high percentage of the students are athletes but they associate with everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that I participated in my freshman year was the teepeeing of the academic quad.

    Bang for the buck

    Wingate is pricey, there is no doubt about it, but you can physically see where your money is going. There are constant things happening around campus, whether it be renovations, dances, or cookouts!

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun events going on all around campus. There are fliers all over the place with new events every week. There are also fun and exciting health fitness classes. Wingate is a small town so there isn't much to do but Monroe, Matthews, and Charlotte are just a quick drive up the highway to meet anyone's needs!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is being renovated for the fall of 2013 so the facilities will be much nicer! The food has been improving since I've been here and is showing signs of improving in the future! We have the cafeteria, the Klondike Poolside, we are getting an Einstein's Bagels in the fall, and we're also getting a new dining option in the Spring of 2014 that is supposed to be kind of like a ruby tuesday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other college campus. Wingate is renovating it's old All freshman male dorm into a beautiful new residence hall, complete with a new pool and courtyard. There is also a brand new residence hall that was completed for the Spring semester of 2013. It's mostly for freshman accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are hard, but you will learn what you need to know! The professors want you to be successful and are more than happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all the kinks worked out in your finances!

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is a beautiful campus. It has offered so many great opportunities both academically and socially. Wingate University allowed me to have a wonderful first year experience.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, a poolside grill, an Einstein Bagels, and a Subway all on campus. The cafeteria and poolside grill take meal swipes while the Einstein's and Subway take meal plan points. The quality of food in the cafeteria varies, but it is never completely gross. There are many different food options on any one day in the cafeteria. The quality of food in the poolside grill is always predictable and very good. The Einstein's Bagels is a little pricy, but the food there is amazing. Meal plan options are basic for freshmen and sophomores, but there are more options for juniors and seniors. Commuters are given a block meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and well-kept. However, as with all colleges, a large number of young adults living in one building can be noisy. The RAs are genuinely active in investing in the lives of their residents. The costs of room and board completely cover services such as laundry and basic cable. Each of the on-campus apartments have their own kitchen appliances as well as a washer and dryer. If there is ever a problem with your room (like a broken air conditioner), maintenance will come and fix it (and you are not charged). I have found that dorm life is very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes varies on the professor, however, higher level classes require significantly more effort and dedication. I have never had a class where I could have passed without doing any work. The teachers here pride themselves on challenging their students to think critically and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to apply for scholarships because the loans will kill you. This goes for students at any college.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL types of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Wingate each student has to go to 40 lyceums before, and in order to graduate. Lyceums are just presentations, recitals, sermons, and guest speakers, and events that each student has to attend to. There are five different categories that each student must have eight lyceums in: faith, growth, lecture, art and electives. It is not too hard and I have enjoyed many of the lyceums i have attended already as a freshman. Our lake that is specific to students and teachers at this school is also different to most other schools and it is definitely an amazing place to go. With picnic tables and a fire pit for people to hang out by the fire.

    Bang for the buck

    With this school and the amount you pay for it, the money is worth it because you get many amenities. There is a no extra cost on campus gym, movie station, fitness classes, movie nights, give aways, spirited events, tutoring, writing help, quite rooms, library book check-outs, and computer/internet use.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun at Wingate but you have to be involved and look for things. About 80% of students are athletes and so a lot of their time is spent playing sports. A lot of students also play on intramural teams, whether they play a varsity sport or not. We have multiple types of intramural sports available for anyone to participate in year round. Also, we have Greek Life which most of the students participate in it seems like. I see people representing their sororities and fraternities all around school showing their school spirit. Many 5K's are hosted through the school every couple of weeks. Lastly, there are many outdoor activities to participate in as well. We have an on campus pond, lake, open fields, disc golf, sidewalks to run on, hiking/biking trails, and soon there will be canoes on the lake available for students to use.

    Food and Dining

    There are four different places to eat right now on campus and there is also a cafe scheduled to be built in the next year. The cafeteria has great food but it can sometimes be repetitive and it feels like the same meals are being served a little two often. We also have the Klondike which is more of a fast food place to eat and it goes along with the students meal plan which I love. We have Einsteins and Subway as well on campus which you can use bulldog bucks for but are not permitted to use meal swipes. Lastly, there is the Lakeside Cafe being built within the next year made to be something like a TGI Friday's. There will be one meal a week that students can use the meal swipe for which is great.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life here.We have three different dorm buildings, one suite like building, and the rest are on campus apartments. Each of the buildings have been updated and modernized. The size of the rooms are large as well and all students seem to love where they are staying. The only thing that can sometimes be a negative factor, is noise. No dorm room anywhere is going to be completely soundproof. There are people above or below you and living all around you so there is always going to be noise. However, this has never really affected me here and I think it's also a thing we adapt to after living in college for a while.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes in college are always going to be more difficult than in high school. However there are more resources at Wingate to help you pick up your grade in classes that may be a struggle for certain people. It's also a little harder because no one is in the dorm room forcing someone to do their homework and so it takes self determination and motivation to get the work done. The classes are possible to do well in and the teachers seem to be always willing to help and give extra credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be aware that at any college, classes will be harder than they were in high school, you will be away from home for a while, and you'll have to make smart decisions on you're own. 2. Be involved in order to meet new people, make new friends, and fell involved with the school. 3. Use the free resources given to each student. Such as, the writing center to help you write papers, tutors, and your professor for the class you need help in. If you need help, do not be afraid to ask. 4. Do well throughout school because it will pay off, the higher your GPA and rank, the better your living conditions will be for the next year.

    In three sentences

    This school is great and has a beautiful location, great scenery, and very friendly, welcoming people. There are unlimited resources to help academic that are free such as the tutor center, using the teacher of the class, and the writing center in the library. There are so many different activities and organizations to be involved in that everyone will have a place and a group of people they feel they belong with.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want fun, you'll have to travel to Charlotte.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually pretty nice. They just opened up an Einstein's Bagels which is really great.

    Dorm Life

    I like my dorm room, and I live in the oldest residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not that hard. The only thing I dislike is that professors count off point of final grade if you have absences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    Too expensive. Resident life is not helpful at all. Not worth it.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The thing to do for fun is to hang out with friends and go to athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, it could be better. It was a lot better last year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are really nice for first year students, the only dorm that is not that pleasant is Helms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are a bit challenging, but their are many resources here to pass each and every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to come to Wingate, you need to plan a visit with an actual student who isn't a tour guide. You also need to take into consideration of having a car and SCHOLARSHIPS, SCHOLARSHIPS, SCHOLARSHIPS!!!

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is a beautiful campus. The tuition is a little pricey. The people are amazing.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe on this campus. The people in charge of campus safety certainly do a fine job of ensuring that each student is taken care of and feels secure in this environment.

    Bang for the buck

    While Wingate University is a private institution, many people think that the price is unreasonable. I completely disagree. Wingate offers outstanding scholarships to new and incoming students that are renewable every year. I've known students who have received $10,000 and $13,000 scholarships! Also, take into consideration the value of going to school here. Students are in much smaller classes as compared to public universities and get to work one on one with their professor when needed. All in all, it's a pretty good deal. Wingate was even ranked #6 of Best Value Colleges in the south!

    What to do for fun

    Wingate offers many activities on campus for students to get involved and have a fun time. With three pools, a lake, and sports taking place, it's easy to find something to do! Wingate offers concerts as well as lyceums which open our minds to new ideas. Just the other day a comedian visited our campus and delivered a show in the Batte Center.

    Food and Dining

    At Wingate, there are many dining choices to choose from. The cafeteria offers many different selections such as grilled food, a salad bar, pasta, pizzas, homemade dishes, a fruit bar, and a good selection of desserts if so desire.

    Dorm Life

    Only as a freshman are you required to live in the dorms. Once you become a sophomore or upperclassman, you are able to reside in the on-campus apartments. However, the RA's and CA's truly care for the students and are willing to help in any way possible.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Wingate, classes are relatively small, which allows professors to interact one on one with students. The courses may be tough at times but professors are willing to work with you if you need additional help. Also, tutoring is free!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything that Wingate offers. Anyone can find something on campus to get involved in, whether it is sports, Greek life, community service, etc. Also, look into the W'International program. Studying abroad is certainly a wonderful opportunity and here at Wingate, you can chose where in the world you want to visit!

    In three sentences

    Wingate University is an excellent place to pursue a higher education. The slogan here at Wingate is, Faith, Knowledge, Service. As I student here, I am happy to say that I am enjoying my professors and classes, I'm helping out within the community, and I have been given many amazing opportunities that I'm sure other schools cannot compete with.