Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Winona State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a farm girl from a really small town, so I wanted to go to a University that was in a nice sized town, but not too crazy at the same time. I do not think that I would have been comfortable in any university in a huge city! Any city that large is at least 2 hours away from where I live, so I'm not used to that atmosphere. Winona is a very laid back city with friendly people in it. It's definitely a bigger town than any town in my area of world where I grew up, but it doesn't feel crazy. I feel safe walking around town at any time of day. Winona has great science courses and is great for medical majors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some students that I know in Winona that are from the Twin Cities or other really big cities sometimes say that the city of Winona doesn't have very many things to do in it. Well if they are from huge cities, Winona obviously isn't going to have all of the entertainment available that those cities have. However, for a small town girl like me, Winona is the perfect sized city to go to college in! College students are so busy and there are so many things to do on campus that I don't feel like I have tons of extra time to drive around the city looking for things to do. Other random tips: Apply to the University early and apply for housing as soon as possible. Housing is first come first serve - you will have a much better chance of getting the housing you want if you apply early. Also, don't be afraid to email professors and other faculty at the university if you have questions about anything; they are happy to help you and often respect students who show a real effort in their college experience. Try to contact your roommate before you move in so you can decide who is bringing what appliances in your dorm. You can also decide if you want to loft your beds or just bunk them. Otherwise, just do what you've been told your whole life - do as well as you can in high school and look forward to college with a positive attitude! :)

    Bang for the buck

    Winona State is an amazing university for a great price! Let's face it, college is expensive no matter where you go. Thankfully, Winona is actually less expensive than many universities! Also, Winona has a great reputation for academics, so it is definitely worth the investment! Scholarships are easy to apply for at Winona during the admissions process. Once you are accepted to the university, you are automatically registered for any scholarships you are eligible for from the university. It's that easy!

    Am enjoying being here

    I do absolutely love Winona - both the college and the city. The college campus is beautiful! I love how the campus is big enough that you meet new people everyday, but small enough that you recognize people around campus each day, too! The bluffs in the city of Winona are a great place to meet up with people and go hiking on. The lake next to campus has a great running/walking path around it that MANY people take advantage of! It's a great way to relax from anxieties of life for a while and just take in some fresh air. I love the college life in general! I love the freedom and responsibility of sort of being on my own. Each day is a new experience and it teaches me something new. I LOVE Winona State University! :)

    Am learning a lot

    Winona is a great college! I am absolutely learning a lot of information in a variety of classes! I am a nursing major, and I brought a year's worth of credits in with me from taking PSEO classes during my junior and senior years of high school. Therefore, most of my classes are prerequisites for the nursing major. Most of my classes are science related classes. I love them! They keep me busy, but I'm doing well in them and learning a lot. The professors are great and easy to talk to! Also, the science building is incredible (my favorite building on campus) so labs are organized as well!

  • 11/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hard working student who is passionate about what you want to do, this is the place for you to dive right in. Or if you still need to decide and explore your options, this is the perfect place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    My best advice for prospective students would be to come in with some credits if possible. Not only does it put you ahead of other freshman, but it allows you to choose your classes before the other freshman, makes finishing in four years more likely if you choose to pursue a minor, and gets you used to taking college classes. As a freshman, make sure you step out of your comfort zone to meet people. Sure, it will be awkward, but that is the best way to meet friends you will have for the next four years! Lastly, explore the scholarships that the school offers. Winona offers many different scholarships for diverse subjects, so you should be able to find one for you. Just spend the time...it's worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    Winona offers many scholarships ranging from diversity to music to merit to major specified. It is one of the most reasonably priced MNSCU schools in the state and I have saved a lot of money going here. You may not even need college loans!

    Am enjoying being here

    Winona has a variety of activities to do when you are not studying. Going downtown is always fun and there are a lot of fun shops within walking distance of campus. The lakes always have a beautiful view for walking, running, biking, or rollerblading. There is also free canoeing in the summer and free ice-skating in the winter. Lacrosse and Rochester is a 45 min drive away and has lots of great restaurants and stores. Winona may be small, but it has lots of things to do!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are excellent and the professors are very knowledgeable about their fields. The classes are very comprehensive and complete. If you are having trouble with a class, Supplemental Instruction and tutoring are incredibly helpful! I have learned a ton since I have been here and feel very ready for my occupation.

  • 11/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who like a smaller school that still offers many opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out West Campus if you don't mind scheduling in a few more minutes for taking the short bus ride to main campus!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to Winona State because of all of the friends I have made and all of the sporting events, groups and clubs, as well as other fun events such as concerts!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at WSU and the helpful teachers really help out with this. Whenever I have an issue or have questions about a class I find it very easy to meet with the professors to talk about anything and everything.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're someone who loves nature, learning, being outside, meeting great people and wanting to be your best, Winona State University is the right school for you. If you get distracted easily, it's great to not have all of those fast food places and stores were you can easily waste your time and money (I know I would!). If you love small classroom sizes and an easy campus to navigate around with some of the friendliest people you'll ever meet, you are sure to love Winona State and be happy as a clam here. Schedule a tour today!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself! Everyone else will be shy upon moving in, but everything will work itself out. As long as you're open, outgoing and most importantly willing to get to know people that are different from you, you will undoubtably meet some of the most incredible people. You don't need a roommate! I didn't have one and still met some great friends. I never had a problem meeting people and in fact, loved my space and time to myself. If you'd rather have one, go for it! In most cases it works out just fine, and if you find that you and your roommate clash-that's perfectly fine! This will be a growing experience and you won't regret it. Go to class! I know that it seems pretty awesome that you can skip whenever you want, but trust me, more professors want you in class than not. If you skip, you may be setting yourself up for failure by missing notes, assignments and participation. As most of my classes are discussion based, the professor notice if you're there or not and take this into account when grading. Go to class and get noticed! Talk and interact and participate. This will do you much more good than harm. Be safe! This will be the first time for many (including myself) to go off to parties and experiment with drinking and drugs. While this is inevitable and whether or not you participate, you need to watch your back! You will be considered guilty by association even if you stay sober. So be safe! If you choose to drink and party (and there's nothing wrong with this), use your head! Stay with a loyal friend who will watch your back. Watch the time and make sure your priorities are straight. Don't overdo it and learn your limits. If you do this, you'll make some incredible memories.

    Bang for the buck

    Winona State can be very affordable if you live off of campus. While I wouldn't change my freshman year for the world, I spent a lot of money living on west campus in a single dorm paying for a daily meal plan. Watch where you stay and make your own food as much as possible! I know campus food is convenient, but it certainly adds up! As a junior, I now live in my very own house with four other girls and pay my own rent, heat, electricity and cable. While this may seem like a lot, but sharing these expenses with roommates and paying as you go is certainly cheaper in the long run! If you stick to this strategy and simply pay for classes, Winona State University is definitely worth your buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is wonderful and although there isn't much to do, simply being outside is plentiful. The beautiful bluffs give a breath of fresh air every day I look outside my window, and biking around the lakes will always remain one of my favorite pass times here. If you're not one for nature, going to WalMart in the middle of the night is always interesting and fun! There aren't too many distractions around so it's great to be able to focus on what's really important, and frankly the whole reason you're here--school! I have met some incredible people and made some amazing friends, and the best part is that I continue to do so as I grow! Everyone is really friendly and it's not a rare occurrence to walk by a stranger and hear a friendly greeting.

    Am learning a lot

    The best part about Winona State University is the small campus (and very beautiful) along with the small classroom sizes. As a Mass Communications major, the majority of my classes are discussion based. When the classes are smaller ranging from 10-25 students, it really gives everyone a great opportunity to get to know their peers and the other students who are interested in the same thing you are! It allows you to get outside of the box and meet some truly fascinating people! Plus, knowing your colleagues makes it so much easier to learn, participate and truly enjoy learning. The professors at Winona State have been truly incredible and some of the most helpful and dedicated people I've met. After building strong relationships with some professors, I've been able to learn so much more about the future and was able to get all of the help I needed without feeling embarrassed or uncomfortable. My advisor and professor has opened so many doors for me and not only encouraged me to do my best, but inspired me to do even better. They are one of the best characteristics of Winona State!

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a 24 hour security service on campus that is constantly patrolling the campus. there are also emergency responder kiosks, that when activated dispatch local police to the location of the kiosk, and connect a direct line to an emergency responder while emulating a high pitched noise to draw attention to the area.

    Greek Life

    even though wsu is a state college we still sport a greek counsel. fraternity and sororities at wsu are: delta phi epsilon, delta sigma pi, phi beta sigma fraternity, phi theta chi, pi lambda phi fraternity, pi sigma epsilon, sigma sigma sigma, and tau kappa epsilon.

    Clubs and Activities

    wsu has over 100 clubs and is constantly offering students opportunities to get involved in community and campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    wsu is great for all kinds of students. its big enough that i always has something going on, but its small enough were the professors know your name. the student body has so much diversity, that its almost impossible to not meet a large variety of people, and make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wsu has a huge basketball legacy, in the past 6 years the team has won two national division two championships, one in 2006 the other in 2008, and have been ranked in the top 25 since then. the campus also offers a wide variety of study areas and beautiful architecture, from a terrace over looking the campus, to quiet study room in the library. every student will find a comfortable study space in every building.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost of state college now days is getting more expensive. between tuition, housing, school supplies, and food you end up spending a decent amount of money. winona offers students countless scholarships to students, and on campus jobs. probably the best part about wsu is that they give you a laptop, as part as there e warrior program. the laptop is used as a person laptop that the school leases to you, and every two year's gives you a new up dated laptop. the computers all come preloaded with the most up to date soft wear of every program you could use for school. they also give the students the option of a windows laptop, or a macintosh laptop.

    What to do for fun

    the college is constantly holding events like, concerts, comedians, informational speakers, ect. every week there is some college sponsored event going on. around the town, winona is right on the mississippi river, and surrounded by bluffs. iv spend many days exploring the surrounding environment and always finding something to, like swimming and hiking, during the summer months. each residence hall has a volleyball court that are open in fall and late spring. students are always having pick up games, and its a great way to meet people. in the winter when the small lakes freeze over they make for great skating rinks for out door activities. year round the wellness center has a indoor track, two basketball courts, and a whole level of weight lifting equipment to occupy your time no matter what time of the year it is. winona is very touristy and has tons of unique shops downtown and round the area that always have something interesting in them. there is just so many things i could list off, but ill let you discover the rest on your own.

    Food and Dining

    the food is absolutely fantastic. chartwells our dinning service offers two main cafeterias, on recently remodeled in 2009 on main campus, and the lourdes dinning hall on west campus. the variety of the food changes everyday, so there are always new options! on campus there is a large area in the commons building that sports a convince store, a burger joint, a sub shop, smoothies, and the smaug, that opens during lunch hours offering students, mexican, asian, italian, and soups for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    winona houses more then 3000 students on campus, and on 2 residential campus located about a half mile east and west of main campus, with a shuttle schedule for student transport. wsu is constantly renovating the dorms to keep them updated with the demands of the student body. in 2010 they opened two new housing facilities for upper clansmen just across the street from campus to facilitate on campus living in an apartment style setting.

    Academic Rigor

    although its a state college, the level of competency required by the average student some times makes you feel you're at an ivy league school. professors are constantly challenging the students to over achieve, and surpass the normal stigma of the undergraduate model. so the students are prepared for the career path they have chosen.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk with advising counselors about potential career paths. get to know the professors in your department, and the staff you meet will become great resources and contacts for the future. exhaust all options before picking a major, you have plenty of time to graduate, so make sure you graduate with a degree you have a passion for.

    In three sentences

    the campus of the school is beautiful, and has every tree industrious to minnesota growing on the campus.has over 100+ major and minor undergraduate programs, with a wide range of specializations within each department. the staff and professors are friendly, and are always will to help in or out of class.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although you are in a small city and WSU is a relatively safe campus, keep an eye out! Try not to walk alone at night but if you have to then always keep your cell phone close, turn your iPod off and stay alert! The Shuttle busses run from 7 am until about 2 am most days of the week so you always have that option if you need to walk from one side of campus to another!

    Greek Life

    Not my cup of tea but there are a number of sororities and fraternities to be involved in -- and no it's not like what you see in the movies! The Sisters and Brothers at WSU are very philanthropic and involved in community events and they also host super fun events on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sooooo many different one's that I can't even begin to list them. Check out the boards in the hallways for listings -- look on the WSU website -- and listen around on campus for invitations from different speakers and students!

    Great for these types of students

    Students coming from a small town or city -- there are so many people every year in my classes that are from farms or small towns I have never heard of! I feel like an outsider saying that I never grew up on a farm sometimes! :) Students who are okay with a mellow laid back city atmosphere -- You aren't going to find the hustle and bustle of a Metropolitan city here but there are always things to do! Students who love outdoorsy stuff -- Lots of natural resources to be enjoyed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Garvin point is a super cool place to go day or night! You can see the whole city, the rivers and the bluffs from up there and it is BREATHTAKING! St. Mary's University Disc Golf Course is to DIE FOR! It's beautiful and only a few miles away from the WSU campus. Jefferson's get's really good hip hop artists every once in a while as does the Dibb's Cafe! Find them on Facebook to keep up with their events!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are living by yourself get some roomates to help keep costs down. Learn how to cook. Share Internet with your neighbours (and get a RCVA hook up for your TV so you can watch shows from your computer). Bike, Walk, Board or bus everywhere! WSU has campus shuttles from main to west campus so if you live on the west side you can get off on the shuttle bus to avoid a 12 block walk. Get on Facebook and find people to share rides with-- I used to take a few girls groocery shopping/ errand running with me whenever I went because I had a car and they didn't and carrying all that stuff on the bus is not fun!

    What to do for fun

    Hike, Bike, school functions, group outings, club events, longboarding, cafes, live music, festivals, and water activities!

    Food and Dining

    I always cooked for myself to keep my living expenses low but the cafeterias on campus have really good food. There are restaurant like options in the SMAUG (and super good at that) and there are numerous places to dine on campus. Wing night is always fun at Za Za's! And you don't have to be 21 to go there!

    Dorm Life

    Although I haven't ever lived in the dorms I really wish I would have for my freshman year! You will meet so many people and have so many opportunities to interact with people from all over the world! The Dorms on the West Campus are super cool! There are co-ed dorms as well as non co-ed dorms. The RA's are always very nice (even as someone who didn't live in a dorm i've had classes with them and they are super friendly) so go on tours, ask people what they think of the dorms and then make the decision for yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    For transfer students -- You have to have a C or better for courses to be counted For current students -- Most Colleges at WSU (College of Business, College of Science and Engineering, College of Nursing etc) require at LEAST a C for credit to be considered. For all Students -- You are expected to maintain a certain GPA and to complete a minimum percentage of classes or else you will be academically suspended (you can't take classes the next semester or even sometimes a year) and/or Financial Aid suspended (meaning you can possibly take classes but your financial aid will not be applied for it for a certain amount of time) So..... keep those grades up! Check in with your professors periodically to help assess your progress, take advantage of the free tutoring services and make study buddies in your classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    ****Get involved with different groups/clubs/organizations - it's a great way to meet new friends! (Especially if you are coming in as a new student not knowing anyone on campus) ****Bring your bike and your hiking shoes - Winona is a beautiful city along the Mississippi river and the campus has numerous biking and hiking trails to offer -- it's also a small enough city that during the spring, summer and fall months you will easily be able to commute. ****Find study buddies in your classes -- This will help you stay focused on your courses and also help you build a network or scholastic support, plus you might meet a lifelong classmate or friend! ****Talk to your professors outside of class -- you will be surprised what kind of supportive relationships you will find by putting in the extra effort to get to know your professors and let them get to know you, they might be able to show you doors of opportunity that you might have missed otherwise. ****Learn to love winter activities -- Winters can get some people down but if you learn to love the snow you will have a blast! You can snow shoe, cross country ski, downhill ski (the PE department even offers classes on this!), sled and if you get a big enough group of people together, you could even make one impressive snowman! ****Look into taking group trips to sporting events-- if you are a sports fan like me you will absolutely love the group trips WSU offers to various MN sports team games..... and the prices, well you just can't beat them! ****Use Rate My Professor . com -- If you aren't sure on what the courses will be set up like or how the delivery from the professor will be definitely check out the website RateMyProfessor . com to give you some guidance. Read through most of the posts (we all know that there are some people that just like to complain for the sake of complaining) but for the most part students will give you accurate feedback about the class layout, delivery and professor personality! Everybody has different learning styles and the difference in teaching styles could be the difference between a D and an A! ****Check out the music scene- The Acoustic Cafe, Dibbs Cafe, Ed's No Name, Jefferson's and other venues offer a wide variety of live music. Many are 18+ shows so you won't have to worry about not being able to go because of age limitations. ****Take a Deep Breath -- College can be difficult, whether it's deciding to go, where to go, when to go, how long to go, how to pay for it, how to handle it or how to get through it, just know that YOU CAN DO IT! There is always a way. Just take a deep breath, talk to as many people as you can to find your answers and ALWAYS ask questions. ***Good Luck!

    In three sentences

    WSU is an intimate campus setting where you will always find a Minnesota Nice atmosphere. Although many of the students come from smaller Midwestern cities and towns you will find a large population of International Students and Professors. At WSU there are so many different groups, organizations, clubs, sports, and extra curricular activities that there is always a place for anyone who attends!

  • 01/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like smaller towns, a school that is the size of a larger high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for professors who don't care at all. Some blab on about nothing at all, but sneak in information.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small town feel/who are intimidated by bigger-city schools. It almost has a high school vibe to it, where you can get to know and recognized the majority of the people on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you want a small-town college. When I toured Winona, I loved the campus itself, but after moving there, I realized the overall town was too small and claustrophobic for me. I needed a bigger city. If possible, come with a car. It makes traveling around the city much more enjoyable. Try to live on West Campus if that feels like the right place for you - it's slightly more expensive, and it can sometimes be a nightmare waiting for the bus, but it was a fantastic experience for me. West Campus goes above and beyond to create special events just for its tenants - there are study areas, tennis courts, a fitness center, pool, cafeteria, and anything you'd desperately need right there. Not to mention, Dominos is only a few blocks away. Make sure to get in touch with your roommate before move in day - that way no one's bringing two of everything and it's less stressful trying to figure out how to fit everything into your room. Get invovled. I personally suffered from terrible homesickness and just felt like staying in my room, skyping my friends, but you really need to put yourself out there. The first week is full of activities like comedians and movies, and it's a great way to connect with everyone. Keep your dorm door open and feel free to introduce yourself to anyone who walks past. Take time to hang out in floor lounges to get to get to meet people. Also, take the time to venture out around town and see what there all is to offer right away.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, Winona provides a fantastic education for it's cost. Most universities either cost thousands more per semester, or they cost just as much as Winona, but don't offer nearly as many diverse classes as Winona does.

    Did enjoy being here

    Winona is a beautiful town with lots of things to do if you go out looking for them. There's a great movie theater, a club, an aquatic center, the lake, hiking the bluffs, and many other places to explore in town. The only downside, I felt, was that there's no transportation - so you either have to know someone with a car, or get ready to hike around town. I fell into the second category. The school also is great at organizing events and providing things to do.

    Did learn a lot

    All of my classes at Winona were fantastic. The majority of my professors were easy to get along with and willing to help me out in whatever way possible. And the ones who weren't willing to reach out and get to know the class were still very knowledgeable. The class sizes were small and great for personalized learning. The largest class I took had about 70 people in it, but it still felt small and intimate. I personally didn't feel very challenged by course curriculum, even with a 15 credit course load, but that's most likely due to the fact that they were all freshman, entry level classes.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Winona State is a very cheap school with good classes and learning programs. You get a lot for your money at Winona State. It's a great school and yet still affordable for everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    Winona State is a great place, there are lots of nice people, who are friendly and love to have fun. You are sure to make lots of friends here. They have lots of clubs and organizations to join to help you make friends. They also have lots of sports too.

    Am learning a lot

    Winona State is a great school, they have some good programs and they really try to help you succeed and get good grades.They have very good teachers who are willing to help and have very convenient office hours.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who would like to live in a smaller, more laid back town with out a ton of disturbances. The people are really friendly! It is cold, so be prepared with lots of warm clothes!

    Tips for prospective students

    -apply early -email professors if you are lost in class - join study groups early. this will help you meet people and study together -join other extra curricular activities. -go to the games- football, bball, etc -don't party too much!

    Bang for the buck

    Winona is pretty cheap compared to other schools I looked at and since it is a good school I would say yes!

    Did enjoy being here

    The town and campus are beautiful! Since it is in a small town, there isn't a ton of things going on. There are lots of school sponsored activities that you could be involved in.

    Did learn a lot

    The class sizes are small compared to many other colleges and so there is a lot of interaction between peers and the professors. All the professors I had were very helpful though office hours and emails. But I definitely had to put in some hours of study to learn all the material on my own.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have visited the campus and it is beautiful , the Mississippi is right in it's backyard with plenty of trails, not to mention the bluffs for the adventurous types. The registration experience was painless as well the faculty genuinely want to help each student get the most from their experience. Not to mention the small class sizes will be a big benefit in being able to have one on one time with professors.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe! Sometimes I want to say too safe, but it's better to be safe than sorry! There are Blue Lights located allover campus, where you can press an emergency button for campus security to come find you.

    Greek Life

    My best friend from grade school is involved in Winona State's greek life but I am honestly not a fan. There's not much to it but it is all annoying to me!

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't have time to do all the clubs I wish I could. I have spent most of my time involved with ultimate frisbee and was captain for the women's team for a while. This is so much fun and a great way to meet students and blow off some steam. I'm recently involved in Environmental club.. awesome for those who like to surround themselves by others that share a desire to protect the environment!

    Great for these types of students

    Winona State is great for students who like the outdoors. Recreation Tourism and Therapeutic Recreation has a lot to offer. This is not my major but these students have always been really interesting to me. They're energetic, fun, yet relaxed and always living in the moment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ultimate frisbee club has a tradition of playing the campus golf course. This is similar to frisbee golf, but the target for each hole is something on campus and you use beat up ultimate discs. This has been around for something like twenty years and has been able to stay relatively the same until a new building was added last year. It is great fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools this has a great bang for its buck. I still think the price of tuition is high but then I remember what students are paying at other schools for the same degree and education. There are great professors here, but it is ALWAYS good to know what the professor is like before you take up their course!

    What to do for fun

    Ultimate frisbee with friends has always been the fun thing to do. I like to get a disc out between classes in the courtyard and see who is around to throw a little.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is always trying to improve. I appreciate them trying to accomodate my vegan diet, but overall the food is not the healthiest. The salad bar is the best on days that they have spinach available!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a single dorm away from the main campus for my freshman year and did not have a significantly enjoyable experience. Since then I have lived off campus and consider it to be much worse. I would go back to the dorms if living with my cat was not a priority!

    Academic Rigor

    A couple years ago when I was a freshman it was easy for me to fall behind in my schoolwork. My classes have always been laid back and less competitive. I have been able to find a way to push myself to succeed and achieve my own academic expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved, don't limit your social circle, and know that the reason you are there is for an education.

    In three sentences

    Winona State, the first school for education west of the Mississippi, has a lot of history. It is a school that is always changing. The university can feel separate from the city even though it is right in the middle of town.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards on the bottom floor of my dorm, we can call security at any time if we think we are in trouble, and there are security posts around campus which you can press if you are in need of help. i feel very safe when i am on campus.

    Greek Life

    there is some, but i am not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am involved in 5 clubs on campus and attend extra-curricular activites on a regular basis, and i enjoy this very much!

    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy and active

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is very low compared to in california and it is easy for me to get into the classes i want in order to graduate on time.

    What to do for fun

    i love to do everything outdoors, and there are many fun outdoor activities in winona. downtown is a beautiful place to walk and there are plenty of good resturaunts, and there are also many museums available to explore.

    Food and Dining

    there is a large variety of food choices available, and chartwells works collaboratively with our residence hall association to meet the needs and wants of students on campus.

    Dorm Life

    i very much enjoy my experience with dorm life and i will be working as a resident assistant this upcoming year.

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging, but not too challenging to the point of being impossible. the staff is more than willing to help, so students simply need to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep organized don't get caught up too much in outside activities. know your limits

    In three sentences

    this school has an amazing academic program which is both rigorous and challenging. it provides a community experience and makes sure students stay involved in campus events. the fact that winona is a technology school makes it very appealing as well as the fairly low cost of tuition.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People from the cities looking to still be around things and semi close to the twin cities.

    What to do for fun

    Located in a great area. There are many things to do such as hiking or going for a walk and looking at the beautiful scenery.

    In three sentences

    Location

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at Winona, a game or a concert or just go out and hang with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at Winona State University. So much variety that you will always get what you want!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and you get to meet many new people in them! I reccomend you stay on campus to get the feel of them!

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Climb bluffs and go to parks. Older students can be found at bars.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells cafeteria does have options, but after a while you get sick of it. Salt in everything. Very bland and disappointing Asian entrees. Not always super vegetarian friendly. Weekend brunch is the best meal, Sunday dinner is the worst.

    Dorm Life

    Conway was small and easy to live in. However, I hated sharing a room. Sheehan is 13 floors of girls and I have heard some horror stories about move-in day trying to catch an elevator.

    Academic Rigor

    16 credits is a full course load at Winona. Many students also have jobs on the side.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before attending. Too small for some people!

    In three sentences

    Winona is a beautiful town! The classes and professors are usually enjoyable. A good value overall.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Men's and Women's Rugby!!! Ulitimate frisbee.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who doesn't want a large campus. Great for someone who likes a small town feel but many of the services of a larger city.

    What to do for fun

    visit the lake and sugarloaf. Take in a club activity or sport. Attend the concerts and dances. Get involved.

    Food and Dining

    On campus and off, there is a lot of choices available.

    Dorm Life

    Made the best of your dorm time and meet other people. Step out of your comfort zone from time to time.

    Academic Rigor

    It will be what you make it. Take advantage of the mentoring the staff offers to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out the campus and meet the students. Take a quick tour around the city and feel at home. Talk to current students about the learning atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Winona State is a small university where I feel like a part of the community. The class sizes work well for me and the Professors are here to help the students acheive their goals. The students here are friendly and fun.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch!

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities each! They host lots of fun events and are well known around campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count!!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to make life long friends, and receive a great education!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus events will be written on the sidewalks in chalk!

    Bang for the buck

    I believe this is the cheapest state school in Minnesota, BUT it is very, very nice quality!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of intramural sports around the campus! Also, check the walls for signs and the ground for chalk signs of all the cool activities around campus! There are also two beautiful lakes a couple blocks from campus that have free canoeing and kayaking for students! and they are fun to walk, run, or bike around!

    Food and Dining

    The cafiteria food is fairly good. They even are eco-friendly! There are many other options besides the caf. as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of expensive, but they are worth it. They have 2 brand new dorm halls just built and a newly refurbished dorm as well. The rest of the dorm halls are not that old. If you live on west campus, ALL the rooms are quite huge!

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of competition academic wise. This college is huge with education degrees and nursing!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come here, you won't be disappointed! We have a smaller campus than most universities, but we are huge at heart! It's very easy to make friends around here. Most of the professors are very helpful and nice to all the students. Just make sure you ask lots of questions!!

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus with many student activities going on everywhere! There are wonderful professors that WANT to help you succeed. Plus, it's a technology pro school, where every student receives a laptop from the school.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whatever you choose! There are several sand volleyball courts spread throughout campus (by the dorms); basketball, racquetball, badminton, other volleyball courts inside the Integrated Wellness Center (IWC)/Memorial Hall; lakes to run/walk/jog/bike/roller blade around; kayaking and canoeing in the spring through fall months; plus anything else you come up with!

    Food and Dining

    Most all the time, the all-you-can-eat cafeteria has a wide variety of foods to select from for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the option to dine in the lower level, in the food court, restaurant-style.

    Dorm Life

    Varies. All depends on your class load, work load, involvement of/with your Resident Assistant (RA), and other roommate(s) or floor mates' involvement and behavior.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor really depends on the major of study, but to do well (B+ worth or better), one must commit at least the same amount of time outside of class to study or do homework as he or she is in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As always, look into several/many schools before choosing the one to attend. Do your best to narrow your interests to one or two before making the final decision.

    In three sentences

    Winona State University is a great, beautiful school! Especially in the fall. Biggest issue I had with WSU was with the Financial Aid Office; however, the issue was not all that difficult to overcome. It was just the timing of when I finally found out there was a problem that was the issue with that.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go hiking up to Garvin Heights or up to Sugarloaf. There are always people at Latsch Beach when the weather is nice out also. Downtown Winona isn't too far of a walk, but having a car there would make it easier.

    Food and Dining

    There are good varieties of food, but the one thing that displeased me was that during lent there were not many meatless options. The Smaug on the other hand has, what I believe to be, great food. You do have to use dining dollars, purple pass, cash, or credit/debit cards for that though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on main campus aren't too bad. They are in the process of remodeling most of them. On main campus Richards, Conway, and Prentiss-Lucas all have sinks in the room which I though was a nice addition. I am not so sure about the rooms on West Campus because I did not live there. Just beware of your roommate if you do not know them before attending the University. The University only asks 2 questions for room assignments. The questions are: Are you a smoker? and Would you mind being placed in a room with a smoker?. Also, I tried being good friends with my roommate and we ended up not talking by the end of semester. Try not to spend all of your time in the dorms. There are activities in the dorms for you to participate in, but I would suggest getting involved in the many clubs and activities Winona State has to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have your major picked out, counselors will place you into the four year program which consists of about 17 credits a semester. If you do not follow this, there is no guarantee that you will graduate in four years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you would like to attend a university on a smaller scale. Other than that, the campus is gorgeous and extremely easy to navigate. Coming from a bigger city and being so close to Chicago, The town was entirely too small for me and I am looking to transfer.

    In three sentences

    Winona State University is a great school if you like smaller atmospheres. It has excellent career paths for most people. It is also a laptop university which is also a perk of the University.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everything and if there isn't one for you it is easy enough to start your own.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the price, but for a college student it is great.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms so I can't say.

    Academic Rigor

    As an engineering major the classes are tough and if you plan te have an engineering major at WSU be sure to start in the fall because you will e set back if you don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    In your senior year don't take the easy classes, set yourself up for success and challenge yourself in the class room. If you can take post secondary classes for college credit it will make the transition that much easier.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls at Winona, one on Main campus and one on West campus, the dining halls are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived there yet but all of the dorm halls are very nice buildings with descent sized rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken a class there yet, therefor I do not feel I can give an informed answer.

    In three sentences

    Winona is a small campus in a small town. It buildings are a mixture of old and new. The campus is very pretty and looks the best in the fall.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a very safe place. Security is always around and available, plus there are emergency poles scattered around campus if you are ever in need of any help.

    Greek Life

    Don't!

    Clubs and Activities

    Join Health Advocates!

    What to do for fun

    If your ever bored, grab some of your friends and head to the beach! You can also explore the down town area to shop. Join various clubs and sports teams with your friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food in the caf is usually fairly good. They offer many options as well as having additional eating areas also included in your meal plan. If none of this food interests you, their are many other places around the community that you can get your favorite food and snacks at.

    Dorm Life

    Do as many dorm related activites as you can! This will help you meet new people that share interests with you. Not every one is going to be your best friend, but you would be surprised how close you become with some people. Try to keep a good relationship with your roommate. They will play a huge role in how well things in the dorm go for the year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Winona are very manageable. If you put in the time to learn the material, your classes will be fine. Teachers want you to succeed and if you ask for help, they will gladly help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many ways that you can! Join clubs that interest you during the club fair and sign up for intermural sports with your friends. Be open to everything and don't be afraid to do the things that YOU want to do. Join an activity that is interesting and new to you, even if none of your friends are. This is a great way to meet new people and learn new things!

    In three sentences

    Winona is a beautiful campus due to the lakes, river and bluffs! It is also the perfect size, not too big and not too small, plus the community is extremely welcoming. Classes are easy to find and help is plentiful for whatever you need.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always available by a phone number to assist you and pick you up whenever needed, no matter what time, 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was not in clubs but the activities that the university held were always fun and creative!

    Great for these types of students

    People who are willing to be in a boring town but a fun campus with lots of connections to meet people! It's all about who you know. Also, there are a lot of people there that are into gossip and drama. They seem to be still stuck in high school in a sense.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bluff Climbing to the top and overlooking the city is a must and is the biggest tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Climbing the bluffs is what most people do in their free time. Otherwise, hanging out with friends at houses or dorm rooms.

    Food and Dining

    The food is super unhealthy all there usually is are chicken nuggets, burgers, pizza, and fries. Typical cafeteria food. Expect to gain weight, I sure did!

    Dorm Life

    Activities are fun on West Campus, they really act like a community there and insure your safety and happiness.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are usually easy, and very understanding and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself, have confidence, and work hard. Friends and meeting people will come with time. You will get college down in no time! Also, DON'T WEAR YOUR LANYARD I.D. AROUND YOUR NECK! You will get made fun of. It's a huge deal there.

    In three sentences

    It has great professors that are really willing to help students succeed. I love the atmosphere because it is a beautiful campus and easy to get around. It is a small enough school that you can meet plenty of people and they even offer great opportunities to meet people!

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Has a club or activity that will suit everyone's passions, hobbies and interest. If not there is an option to create your own club.

    What to do for fun

    Kayaking, canoeing, ice skating, bowling, local coffee shop, live music weekly, hiking

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food offered throughout campus that can fill anyone's craving. However, like any place that is created to serve thousands of people in a day the quality of the food isn't always the best.

    Dorm Life

    The staff is always friendly, even late at night. The dorms always have at least 2 or 3 events a week.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes require work and dedication. Some professors are tougher than others. The good news is that the professors are always willing to answer questions, set up meetings and help their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, it is right in the middle of the town of Winona and has a small town feel. The atmosphere of the campus has a very fresh feel surrounded by small town culture and wilderness.

    In three sentences

    Winona State University is a small campus that is full of character. The University doesn't see their students as just numbers. The school is full of opportunities and the staff wants to see their students succeed.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police here, and they are tightly knit with the local police. All over the campus there are emergency poles that you can run to if you feel unsafe. There is also the campus safety number that you can call if you feel unsafe walking alone in any way or just want someone to come and check something out.

    Greek Life

    I am not personally sure of this but I have heard multiple times that the greek life here is not the best. So if that a part of college life you want, I suggest some other college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is such a vast selection of clubs on campus. There is even a Harry Potter club where they go out and play quidditch. Whatever you are into, I am sure they have it.

    Great for these types of students

    Winona is great for outdoorsy type of people, or anyone who likes to work out or be active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right in the middle of the campus there is a huge white gazebo. It is utterly gorgeous, and kind of the place you go if you are turned around.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many great things to do in Winona. It is absolutely beautiful here, and it seems like the choices of things to do are endless, if not overwhelming. You can canoe or kayak, long board or play volleyball, tan or go work out. It's all what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, the servers are nice, and there is a rather fantastic variety. The only down part of the food and dining here are the hours. You really have to make sure you know them otherwise you will be sitting in your dorm eating ramen noodles.

    Dorm Life

    It's all about what you make of it. If you go in with a negatve attitude and expect the dorms to be an absolute pain, then of course, your experience will be horrible in itself. But on the flip side, if you go in with a positive attitude, keep your dorm door open when you are in your room, and make sure you keep an open mind, then the dorm life can be some of the best years of your life.

    Academic Rigor

    In many classes you need to put in a few hours of work and make sure to attend classes. If you do not put in the work and keep up with attendance school will be miserably hard, but if you do, school can turn out to be rather challenging in the best way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had to give one tip to a prospective student, I would say to keep your priorities straight. School always comes first. Do not let your roommate, your friends, or significant other distract you from completing and doing your absolute best in your academic life because that is what is important.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and pristine; it is also super well kept which is nice. The dorms are also well kept, and seem to be newly furnished but are super hot in the late month of August. I have not had one professor that I have not liked; they are all really fair, but still hard enough to make you work for a good grade.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Winona has it's own campus security and help buttons throughout campus. Student's in law enforcement majors apply for secuity and are very helpful and make hourly rounds on capus.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we'd go bluff hiking and cave searching otherwise a stroll around the lake was always fun or see the latest movie at the theater.

    Food and Dining

    There is lots of food variety with the home meal classics. I feel in love with humus at Winona.

    Dorm Life

    The Residental Life programs offeres students lots of different things to do and the end of the year block parties for each Residence Hall is always fun to attend with prizes, muic, and food.

    Academic Rigor

    At Winona State University there is a good combination of classes from advance science courses to course on yoga or underwater basket weaving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus the first year it's where you make a lot of your friends and true college/university expereince.

    In three sentences

    Winona was fun, interesting, and provide lots of options for unique classes.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the blue polls all around campus to call if you need help and someone will be there to walk you to your dorm or whatever it is you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many activities/clubs that you can do/join. There is always something going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mugby Junction coffee shop in Somsen Hall is delicious.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of benefits and perks of being a student at WSU. There are a lot of opportunities too to get out and do the most for your money.

    What to do for fun

    Climbing the bluffs, walking trails, lake games, free bikes, movies, restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The brunches on the weekends are TO DIE FOR. The food is very good!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very friendly. The rooms are nice. I got a big room, so I'm not complaining. Staff is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough but with a lot of studying and work you can get it done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, come take a visit at the campus, talk to people who chose Winona.

    In three sentences

    Winona State is a smaller really friendly school. Everyone here is really helpful. It's such a nice campus.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swim or fish in the river/local lakes. Party, workout.

    In three sentences

    Great school and awesome parties. Plus, its in between the Mississippi river and the bluffs.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities to do not only at Winona State University but also in the Winona community! There are always campus events happening during the days within the university. And there are also fun movies and sporting events!

    Food and Dining

    Each meal here is as delicious as a homemade meal. The servers are even as friendly as family! The cafeterias are also always very clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Winona State University are awesome! The RA's really do a great job at getting everyone involved by planning multiple activities. They are also full of wonderful people!

    Academic Rigor

    Since the classroom sizes are usually smaller it really makes it easy to ask questions. Although some classes can be more difficult the professors are always super willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, especially during welcome week! This will help you meet so many peers. Also make time to meet with your professors though out each semester.

    In three sentences

    Winona State University has great classroom sizes, they are the perfect size to interact with the professors. Everyone is very helpful, the advisers and professors always make time for you. Also there are many clubs and organizations offered here in Winona

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from!

    What to do for fun

    Free canoeing on the lake, running around the lake, hiking, bars downtown, coffee shops, and on campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Buffet style there is everything you can thing of: Chinese, pasta, subs, omelets, salad bar, dessert bar....the list goes on!

    Dorm Life

    Minnestoa nice! Roommates are generally super nice and having an international student is also really good. There are new dorms and the East lake apartments are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Content area course are tough but they should be, so you get out of here being confident in your abilities and knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for the vast number of clubs and support groups available!

    In three sentences

    It is a friendly small town college with beautiful bluffs, lakes, and the Mississippi River. There are very good programs and professors to help you succeed. It is a good place to focus, grow, and learn.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no comment

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    cimb/hike the bluffs

    Tips for prospective students

    take AP courses

    In three sentences

    I think that if i had to rate Winona State out of a 10 point scale, i would rate it a 10. I like the whole Family feel. I also like all that the town has to offer, there is never a dull day on campus.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere on campus are panic buttons in case you don't feel safe. If you press one, a security guard will come in under five minutes.

    Greek Life

    There are no formal sororities or fraternities but we do have them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs you can join and be apart of.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is pretty reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    We have a movie theater downtown, but that's really it.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay if you know where to eat, and what times to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are okay, they can get pretty hot in the summer and noisy at night but they aren't the worst place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are very challenging, especially for a first year student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study as much as possible, when the Professors say you need to study, they mean you need to study!

    In three sentences

    Winona State University is a very beautiful campus. It has many offers to incoming students. It also has a very friendly and understanding staff.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WSU campus security is made up of students, who are trained in first aid and CPR, and led by a police officer who has worked in the field for over 30 years.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are options for everyone! There are religious clubs for several denominations, as well as non denominational clubs. There are sports clubs, academic clubs, frats and sororities, outdoor interests, LBGTQ organizations, video game club, anime club, art club, ballroom dancing club......the list goes on! There are many intramurals offered as well.

    Bang for the buck

    WSU is a public university, so prices are comparable with other public schools. In addition to room and board, and tuition costs, you also receive a laptop (your choice of a Mac or PC), tech support, and an updated computer every two years. In addition, Winona State is highly regarded and has an excellent reputation for their Education and Nursing programs in particular. If students don't like traditional dorms, there are apartment and suite options for upperclassmen, for extremely reasonable rates.

    What to do for fun

    Winona is a gorgeous little town in southern Minnesota, right across the Wisconsin border. There are many outdoor options, like hiking, biking, rock climbing, swimming and kayaking. WSU UPAC (student organization), regularly offers activities and events like free or reduced bowling, reduced movies, dances, and trips to sports events and theater productions. In addition, WSU hosts a annual spring concert, where groups like Easton Corbin, Skillet, and George Watsky have performed. While Winona doesn't have a lot of chain restaurants or big movie theaters, it is located just 45 minutes east of Rochester, MN, home of Mayo Clinic. Rochester is a great option for some of those big city amenities that you may miss in Winona.

    Food and Dining

    The Jack Kane Dining Center is pretty good food. I wouldn't call it fantastic, but it is good. There are many different options - vegetarian, pasta line, grill line, sandwich line, pizza, salad bar, main entree, soup, breakfast foods, desserts, burger line. These are all offered at both lunch and dinner. I also appreciate the to-go box option, where students can get a to-go box and bring food back to their dorm if they don't want to eat in the dining center or don't have time.

    Dorm Life

    I am not really a outgoing type of person, so I didn't participate in many residence hall events. I can however, vouch for the quality of the RAs. Both years living in campus housing, I had wonderful RAs who took the time to get to know me personally and still make a point of saying hi when they see me. They took the time to ask my opinion and ask questions. These RAs made the residence halls feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been blessed to be taught by talented professors who care about the subjects they are teaching. They are available for questions and truly care about helping their students succeed. In addition, they are interested in hearing about how graduates are performing in their field. The courses I have taken have helped me prepare for my future as a elementary teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved right away! There are so many options available. Enjoy the natural beauty Winona has to offer.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are help poles located all around campus.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of Greek opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's SO MANY available!

    Great for these types of students

    Get ready to have fun and learn lots!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The city is quite small, but there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on Campus, I'm not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a challenge, but aren't all colleges?

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely recommended!

    In three sentences

    Very helpful. Friendly feel.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the wellness center!

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent

    Dorm Life

    the only good dorm is Richards Hall

    Academic Rigor

    I would give it an 10/10. I am doing pretty well in school here. I plan to further my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend WSU!

    In three sentences

    Winona is a good school, with a growing community. There could be more classes and better professors. I give it a 8/10

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Winona State is a very safe campus. The university offers 24/7 security.

    What to do for fun

    Winona State offers many activities to do for fun. Some of these activities are located on and off campus. These may include, kayaking, hiking the bluffs, attending a movie, and athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    Winona State offers many different dining options. There are two main buffet style food options, one on main capus and one on west. On main campus their is also a location to buy from different fast-food type resturants.

    Dorm Life

    Winona State offers many different dorms to choose from. Some dorms offer more of a suite style while other are single rooms or a room shared with multiple people. Winona State also offers housing on a separate campus a few blocks away from main campus, which gives students the opportunity to feel like they are going home after classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Winona State are about equal to any other college level courses. Depending on your major, you may be asked to take up to 16 credits per semester to finish in 4 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to really look around at different schools and find a great match that fits not only your academic goals but personal goals as well.

    In three sentences

    Winona has a small town atmosphere, which really makes you feel at home. Winona State has great professors, great programs, and a great learning atmosphere. Not only does Winona offer great things academically, it also offers many social and outdoor gatherings.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is amazing. Security has things locked down so students can feel safe in their home away from home.

    What to do for fun

    We enjoy hanging out as a group of friends in the lobby of our dorms and also we enjoy movies and just taknig in the sights of Winona.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services are easily accessable and the food is not half bad. I choose to do alot of my own cooking simply because i like to cook though.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm friends and cannot wait to get to know them further.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes themselves are tough but not so much as to where students will never have a social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take an overload of credits, only take what you can handle to get good grades and succeed in college.

    In three sentences

    Winona state is a medium sized campus that it welcoming of all students. The classes are challenging but in a good way that prepares students for the outside world. Winona State is fantastic!

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always one of the top rated campus's in the nation. The security guards work along with the local police, and fire departments to assure the safety of students at Winona State University.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other Universities in Wisconsin and Minnesota, Winona State maybe one of the cheapest, for the same classes.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoors-men, there are plenty of activities to do along the Mississippi River, and the lakes around campus. There are also numerous parks surrounding the campus, not to mention the downtown scene when a person is 21 is a nice way to enjoy Winona.

    Food and Dining

    The caf gets repetitive and bland after a while, but the school has a lot of options on campus, in an area we call the Smaug. Plenty of fast food and local restaurants will keep anybody happy.

    Dorm Life

    Once again, doesn't change too much compared to other schools. The big thing is that Winona State is a dry campus ,meaning no alcohol on campus, so if you plan on partying, don't get caught in the dorms because you will get kicked out.

    Academic Rigor

    Winona State University is like any other state school, depending on what classes you take and what your major is, the classes will vary on how difficult they are. The classes are never as bad as what you will read online though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into college with an open mind. Meet new people, and enjoy the college life too, because you will learn more about yourself and what you want to do with your life from these experiences.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join any club and many clubs! You don't have to stay in all of them, but it is a super great way to meet people and get involved. You may even learn something and become a great leader (looks good on your resume).

    What to do for fun

    Hiking up the bluffs, play ultimate frisbee by the lake, bike anywhere and everywhere since downtown Winona is pretty close to campus. Also, kayak, canoe, snow shoe, skate, and much more! Take advantage of the bluffs and the Mississippi River!

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus had an average variety of options both healthy and delicious. The prices were high like any campus, but definitely better than I could have made myself. Dining hours were pretty average as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are located right on campus (not including the East Lake Apartments and West Campus dormitories). RA's are fun and provide a variety of activities in the dorms or on campus. I lived in the dorms for 4 years and it was great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a college visit during the Spring or Summer when it is beautiful! You can go hiking, canoeing, kayaking, walk/bike around the lake! College students get to do all of this for free!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful Geoscience program and department. The professors are personable, wonderful, fun, and great teachers! The campus is small enough and the community is active and fun!

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not involved but many enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    People interest in Biology or Health Care

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You should check out the workout center.

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a great education for reasonable amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    Volleyball, baseball, talking.

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    Good but you have to know how to make friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join in and have fun

    In three sentences

    Winona is a great school to attended. I enjoy the activates on campus and more course work in the nursing program. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Dorms near the Campus, and other housing opportunities in town.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard that classes are about average in difficulty

    In three sentences

    This Campus is beautiful :) It seems like it's in the middle of nowhere though..

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are so friendly too

    Greek Life

    I dont Know much about it

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in so many International Club RHA UPAC Pre Professional CLub Black Student Union NRHH Chi ALpha H2O Lighthouse thats the ones am in but I could go on and on

    Great for these types of students

    All Kinds

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper than my other college choices

    What to do for fun

    Hiking the Bluffs Kayaking Exploring Downtown (did this all the time) Partying Go to events organized by UPAC RHA and other school clubs

    Food and Dining

    Some days its good some days its horrible ..... especially if you are picky like me

    Dorm Life

    Get involved with RHA and NRHH and participate in reslife activities trust me you would be glad you did

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are nice and are willing to help

    Tips for prospective students

    Join different clubs and meet new people Meet some international students and get to know them Give it till the end of your first year and you will realize how much you love WINONA

    In three sentences

    Its an amazing place people are friendly and although you might feel a bit small there are so many things you can do starting from hiking all the way to just chilling with friends

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walk back to the dorms from the library at 2 in the morning and feel completely safe. You can also call for an escort if you are not as comfortable as myself. And they have those emergency buttons with a very quick response.

    Greek Life

    Not involved, but I have a friend who is. She's met a ton of girls that she now calls good friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities. You'll find something you like.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want a campus that is so big you get lost nor so small you end up knowing everybody and everybody knows you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We like to wear purple on Fridays.

    Bang for the buck

    Winona can be loud or it can be boring, depending on the weekend. But if you try hard enough, there's always something to do.

    What to do for fun

    You can climb the bluffs, rent kayaks for free with your student ID, run or walk or bike the lake paths, hit up the beach across the bridge, go to a movie or bar downtown or find an event on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There's a main menu line, a grill line, a pasta line, a salad bar, and a sandwich making line. There's also an ala carte store in the basement as well as a Subway type thing and a burger place and a convenience store. You'll find something you like basically no matter what. I miss the caf now that I have to cook myself!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were very fun. A little difficult to get work done in as it is constantly having your friends around. But it's fun! My sophomore year, I ended up living with 4 other girls that I met in the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    It kind of depends on your program. I'm in the nursing program so it's quite difficult. The first two years weren't terrible. But the two years of nursing program are challenging for sure. A huge workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Winona is a beautiful place. There are a lot of parties here if you like that, but if not, it might be a little crazy for you!

    In three sentences

    Winona is a nice-sized campus for people who don't want anything to big or too small. The nursing program is incredible and well-respected. I just finished week one of the program and can already tell the incredible amount of work will be well worth it.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is the most safeties campus in MN

    Great for these types of students

    International student Hard worker

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MC's bar, Zaza's, bub's.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing to do in Winona actually! You just go to nearby cities to have fun !

    Food and Dining

    Same food every day in the restaurant and is not that tasty !

    Dorm Life

    Clean , near , free shuttle, & small room.

    Academic Rigor

    Is not bad but not perfect

    Tips for prospective students

    Weather is really frozen there !

    In three sentences

    WSU is really good school for international students. It is a small city which is give you a really good field to focus in your study. Worst thing is the weather ! It became to 30 C !

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kayaking, hiking and running around the lake are always great things to do when the weather is nice. There are many theater performances to go to, as well as campus sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of options on campus. I particularly enjoy the dining in the Smaug.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't for everyone. I didn't enjoy having to have a stranger as a roommate, but the RAs were understanding.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely some challenging classes, but they have great professors who can help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every event or speaker on campus. They can be very fun and educational.

    In three sentences

    I love the closeness of everything on campus. It is located in a beautiful place and full of great things to do on and off campus. The biology program is better than I had ever hoped.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being involved in the Winona Police Reserves, I have had many experiences in interacting with the security guards on site at Winona Statue University. They are always helpful and willing to assist students in any way possible, weather it is walking them to their destination or calling the local authorities if an issue arrises.

    Greek Life

    I am aware that there are many fraternities and sororities to join in Winona. These are excellent ways to meet new people and create long lasting friendships. The greek life around campus are known for their volunteer work around the area as well. I have many friends that take part in the greek life on campus and enjoy it and the camaraderie that comes along with it thoroughly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Winona State offers more that 180 clubs and organizations to chose from, and it is almost certain you will be able to find one that meets your interests and career goals. This is an excellent way to meet people who share common interests and get involved in bettering the community and yourself. Our clubs and organizations are very involved in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Being a member of the military, attending a school with educated, helpful, veteran affairs counselors was a top priority for me. They have been nothing but helpful and work diligently to assure you receive the help you need. Whenever I have a question regarding military tuition assistance or benefits they are always ready and willing to answer my questions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gazebo in the very center of campus that you will pass as you walk through. Many people will sit in the gazebo in between their classes and eat a snack or work on homework with some friends when the weather in nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Winona State gives you the bang for your buck. At many larger Universities you are taught by teaching assistants until your junior or senior year. At Winona you have real professors who have earned their doctorates. The class sizes are realistic and all of my professors thus far have been willing to help me after hours with whatever I was struggling with. Winona State also has a new wellness center and gym that I go to frequently and it is always kept in good condition!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Winona offers many options as far as what to do with your time off! There are many bars you can check out (if you're of age!) and shops and restaurants in the downtown area to try out. Winona also has an abundance of hiking trails in the bluffs, or you can drive up to Garvin Heights lookout and see all of Winona from above! The path around the lakes are often walked, rollerbladed, biked, or ran around. You can do whatever suits you best!

    Food and Dining

    Winona State has an excellent dining facility with many options as for the types of food it offers each day! I loved days I ate at school and not at my apartment because of all the options I had! They always had fresh fruit which was definitely a plus!

    Dorm Life

    I personally opted out of living in the dorms at Winona State University. I lived off-campus in an apartment my first year and am currently still off-campus. I do however believe that living in the dorms has it's definite benefits. living in the dorms is an excellent way to meet people. My friend who lived on campus made many friends their first year who lived in their dorms. The dorms are integrated in campus as well, so you won't have to worry about finding a parking spot or walking a long way to get to class.

    Academic Rigor

    I have pushed myself academically since attending Winona State, and I owe it all to my professors. Classes were much harder than high school classes I had taken, but it is what is to be expected for a University. You WILL have to buckle down and study harder than you ever have before but I promise you the outcome will be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    As for college tips in general, I would say it is important to be true to yourself and make the most of your time here. Ask questions of your professors and peers. Branch out and try new things. Make memories and have new experiences but remember that above all you are here for an education. To better yourself and prepare for your future. Time flies by, so don't take anything for granted!

    In three sentences

    I am a proud student of Winona State University. My college experience so far, being a sophomore, has been phenomenal! Winona State university fulfills all my needs including meeting educational goals, planning for my future, meeting a diverse group of students my age, and many social opportunities to engage in on campus.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am at the point in my life where I am searching for college. Winona is definitely on the top of my list. It is a nice school with a beautiful campus.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am a freshman at Winona. I have learned that you definately have to use your time wisely and study! Classes are definately harder than high school. If you fall behind in a class take advantage of tutors available! College life is fun, you have your independence! But remember in the long run you will have to pay back your loans so make sure you have a degree to show for it.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At night there's a lot of security,but they don't really do anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students, and people who like to drink/party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Union is probably the best place to study or just hang out if the Library is too quiet for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Winona is considerably cheaper than other MnSCU schools. There's room for improvement with a few things like food and things to do for fun.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do for fun around Winona unless you're really involved in things like clubs or school organizations. Otherwise the only thing to do is go to parties or Za's.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't terrible, but it's not great. There isn't always a lot of variety and the food gets repetitive. You will eat the exact same thing for many days at a time like nachos, pasta, and sandwiches. The breakfast (specifically Sunday, because there's french toast) is actually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have a lot of rules you are expected to follow, but if you follow them it's not a big deal. There's different dorm experiences for each dorm hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Winona can be great, but some can be challenging. Most professors are more than willing to help, tutors are also available.

    In three sentences

    Winona is a nice school. It's a small town so there's not much to do. There is little to no diversity in students and professors.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great on campus, and there is 24 hour pickup for anyone who needs a ride somewhere if they are drunk or stuck after the shuttle ends at 2AM.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was only in the LGBT club, but there are a variety of clubs on campus that look really fun.

    Great for these types of students

    For people who love karaoke, there are plenty of opportunities throughout the year to sing your heart out on both campuses. On west campus where I stayed, there is a coffeehouse attached to the cafeteria where people perform every Thursday, and it is pretty fun most nights, especially karaoke night.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, this school is a party school, but besides partying, there isn't too much to do. There is a movie theatre, bowling alley, and events on campus occasionally. Grocery bingo takes place every few months. If it is warm out, you can go on a bike ride, canoe in the Mississippi, hike the bluffs, or play volleyball. You have to drive to Lacrosse to find more fun things.

    Food and Dining

    The food was pretty good, and there was a nice variety to choose from. I loved eating on campus. There is a pasta bar, sandwich line, salad bar, fruit, and many other options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can get loud at times, but I enjoyed meeting new people, and being in a single. There wasn't always a lot to do, but the staff planned quite a few fun evenings.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has pretty easy courses, but enough challenge to make it worth all of the effort at the end of the semester. Some teachers pile on readings, but you just have to manage your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the rate my professor site before you register, know what classes you want to take so that you don't end up with bad professors, and go to the staff if you have any questions. Become friends with your RA, he or she can be a big help to you.

    In three sentences

    Winona State offered many different classes, and the education was great for a college freshman who didn't know what to expect. There are a variety of majors, and the staff is very helpful. I enjoyed the atmosphere and location of this school.

  • 07/20/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has plenty of resources, including the security and call buttons all around campus.

    Greek Life

    Winona is definitely not known for its sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer inter medial sports teams that you can sign up for with friends. You pick your teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Education majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's always people hanging around outside Prentiss-Lucas. It tends to be the meeting place for partiers/drunk people. So, be aware that it gets loud.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, walking around campus you can tell why Winona is so much less expensive than other universities. It doesn't have as much to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Winona has a lot of scenic things to do, like hike the bluffs or kayak on the lake.

    Food and Dining

    The caf had pretty good food, but weekend food was always pretty bad.

    Dorm Life

    Do your research and check layouts. Main campus dorms are much smaller than west campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the course and professor for difficulty. As long as you're not afraid to ask questions, you should be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on your intended major/minor. Make sure you look at classes as well to see what they offer.

    In three sentences

    WSU is a good school specifically for nursing and education majors. The town of Winona is pretty quaint. The school in general doesn't have a whole lot to offer compared to other larger universities in Minnesota.