Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Winston-Salem State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WSSU is a great choice for all types of students. I would say go check it out for yourself and see how you feel about the school personally. On the other hand it is great for people who enjoy a homey feeling with family oriented people all over with a ton of school pride.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware of the locals, you may be able to distinguish between locals and students but if you can you are pretty good!

    Bang for the buck

    Like all of the Universities of course tuition is going up, but we have to do what we have to do to hang in there, and I believe that At WSSU you will definitely get your band for your buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being a student here at WSSU at. At first I was very skeptical being a new freshman. I had alot of questions running around in my head like how will i meet new people, will I fit in, or is this even the right place for me to be. By the end of my first year I had answers to all of my questions, and yes they were good ones!

    Am learning a lot

    At Winston Salem State University I have learned a ton of new things, and also I have fun while learning and that's the best part! Some of the new things I have learned are the proper ways to write persuasive essays,how to act as an adult (being responsible), and being a team player to just name a few. Not only do I learn things from the professors but also the students that I am around daily, and that helped me a lot with it being my first year there.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to become a leader do not follow behind everybody that says they are your friends becasue it could lead to trouble, No one babies you in college so become a responsible adult quick, it helps to stay organized, set aside play time and studying time, and never give up on yourself no matter how hard the work may get there are always people around that want to help you survive the college life.

    Bang for the buck

    Winston Salem State offers a resonable tuition for in state students. Out of state is always going to be higher, yet it too is a reasonable amout compared to other colleges. Winston Salem makes way for all that want to attend WSSU affordable and stress free. Once you enter Ram Country you will have a bang for the bucks you have spent.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy WSSU especially during football season. The campus comes together as one for so many activities. The campus provides many activities for the sudents to take part in during the joyous warm weather such as family and friends day, band performances on the yard, music on the yard, often there are many giveaways that take place, and so much more.

    Am learning a lot

    Winston Salem State is a school of excellence. Many of the professors are willing to take time out to make sure one is understanding the information at hand by allowing tutuoring at various times of the day. So far while attending Wssu I have learned how to write many different types of papers, I have gained many leadership skills, learned to become a reponsible adult, and the other students are well rounded and caring individuals for the most part . Winston Salem State makes sure that its students Enter to learn and Depart to serve.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Winston-Salem State is great for all types of students. Even though it is an HBCU it is very diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion to prospective students is enjoy your time while in college. Also do well in school because it is what you are suppose to be doing in college. Join and organization, do your homework, and go to class.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is very inexpensive. I feel you get your moneys worth. Especially with some of the recent upgrades to the school. This school will not cost you an arm and leg.

    Am enjoying being here

    You should definitely enjoy your time here. This university offers many programs and activities. You can join an organization such as a fraternity or sorority or even join academic clubs. The campus also host many activities such as sports games, movie nights, and campus forums.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many opportunities for learning at this school with the many different programs and activities offered here. The teachers here are normally understanding and are willing to work with you to succeed. You should definitely be able to find a program here to fit your career needs.

  • 03/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students looking for a beautiful place to call home. Any student who wants to be challenged and be prepared for the real world need to come here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply before at the earliest deadline possible in order to be in the running for a scholarship given by the university.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. The campus is beautiful and there are plenty of organizations to get involved in to keep you busy. You meet a lot of new and interesting people.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and you have more of a chance to talk with your teacher and get help if you need it. There is also a tutoring center where you can go get help if you need it. The teacher's challenge you and try to help you succeed in any way possible.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police go the extra mile if you ask me. Our gates close and are monitored by campus police starting at 10pm every night, although our campus is an open campus. Besides campus police at night we have security guards who roam campus and dorms at night. Also if you are more of a night person and have some evening classes, we also have campus transportation so that you aren't walking once it's dark.

    Greek Life

    Deltas are currently inactive on our campus. As far as Divine Nine that makes it somewhat incomplete, but all different Greek paraphernalia can be seen around campus all year long. The band's fraternity and sorority are very active as well. You may also see events hosted by Swing Phi Swing. Other major Greeks are honorary and profession based. i.e. Fraternity/Sorority for Nursing majors

    Clubs and Activities

    There's literally something for everybody. Find your passion and there are at least 10 others who are passionate about that same thing. NO reason not to be involved in something unless you can't balance social life and academic life.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something fun going on. Pick your fun wisely.

    Food and Dining

    It's not exactly a home cooked meal, but not as bad as some people make it out to be as far as taste. They offer a variety of different types of food to eat. Only complaint is that food isn't really available after 10pm on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus gives us as students ample opportunity to get involved in various activities, meet friends, which all ease the transition into college.

    Academic Rigor

    Science and math courses seem to be the most rigorous are far as study habits required. The difficulty is in how much work we get and the time consumption of the work, not always the work itself. Professors try and approach each course with new ways to retain information other than tests and papers. Public speaking is mandatory for practically every course here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If considering Winston Salem State University, come with an open heart and mind. Be optimistic, especially if you are coming from a long distance, like I did. Know that there is a chance to learn something in every situation you encounter, whether it's in the Financial Aid office or on-campus housing. Also, get those GPAs and standardized test scores up, so scholarships are options.

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State University is small university, with BIG historic relevance. Here, professors provide you with information and resources, but you must be responsible for cultivation of your own mind. Here you can discover your passion and graduate to share it with the world.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have 24/7 campus police officers who happen to serve as state troopers, to be sure of the safety of out student body comes first!

    Greek Life

    we are a part of the nphc which consist of the divine 9 black greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    be sure to join the right clubs that can build and shape you as a person, we have over 80 organizations to choose from. i know that may seem like an over whelming number, but it gives you options to find what best fits you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year around homecoming time we have an event called the lighting of the sign which kicks off homecoming. this event brings alumni, staff and students together to release the pressure of work, school, stress and whatever else you may be going through. we have music, mini pep rally's, give away's and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    here at winston-salem state, i have met many friends that i can call family. being a out-of-state student, seeing home every weekend is not an option for me, but with the friendships i have built here, it allowed me to have many homes away from home when i needed to get away from the campus atmosphere for a while or even to get a home cooked meal every once in a while. wssu to me has built me into a leader that i never knew i could have become, but with the drive and force of my mentors, professors, administrators and most importantly my friendships, they have push me into the person i am today. to me that is what wssu can do to you!

    What to do for fun

    so many things! once you get up and get out and meet new faces you can play intramural sports, hang out and kickback in each others dorm rooms; downtown winston-salem is a nice place to hang out. there is also greensboro, nc which is 20 minutes up the road with lots of attractions. to me the fun comes in what drives you and puts a smile on another's face.

    Food and Dining

    we may not have gourmet food, but our dining staff try their very best to please each and every student.

    Dorm Life

    freshman year may be rough, but it becomes a learning experience and pushes you to do better in academics.

    Academic Rigor

    choose the right major, do your research on what you would like to do in life and everything behind it will follow through.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved, its makes the transition to college so much easier. i have met so many people that have given me connections in so many places by getting involved in my university and not just being another number.

    In three sentences

    to me winston-salem state university has been an experience, though like every university it has its ups and downs, this university has built so much character within so many students.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is currently starting new ways to keep our students on campus safe. Such locking the campus down at a specific time at night checking everyone who enters our campus making sure they belong on our campus. Not, to mention the campus police is always a phone call away where you do not have to wait too long for an response.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is very active in the community, and having events to raise money for the campus and misfortune families.

    Clubs and Activities

    On campus there are a lot of clubs and activities for students to partake in on campus, and that will fit your personality as well your schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best place to hang out on campus is called the pitt, where everyone play outside basketball, and watch sororities and fraternities participate in events that are fun, also contests.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is when going out to eat or ordering food from outside the campus, always make sure they have student discounts for the students.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun on campus, is going to the sports games such as football and basketball, what makes it fun because we play our rivalry school which makes it more. Then if you want to leave the campus, the mall is less than 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining could be better on some days. But, on special days the food is good especially when they do different types of food from around the world. Not, to mention if you do not want the food the from the dining hall, we also subway and our very own station where you can enjoy hot dogs and hamburgers etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome, but it depends on where on campus you are currently resign. The dorms always have events for students to stay active and to get the students to become more familiar with the campus. Most of the events are to help students to step out of their comfort zone and create life long relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    On this campus there are no challenges unless you make it out to be challenges. For instance, as a new student a new adventure from being away from home, always put your school work first because no one else will do it for you. Also, always take responsibility in your work and performance.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to Winston Salem State University always stay on top of your paper work such as important documents just in case the campus loses them. Make sure as a student try to make yourself more noticeable on campus and participate in events. When it comes to special events for students always register early and not waiting until the last minute.

    In three sentences

    My experience with Winston Salem State University is currently a great experience. I absolutely love the small campus atmosphere. Not to mention my major department along with the professors are great. Not to mention the fact they see me as a student not as a number on the campus and knows me by name.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Social activities

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is not great at all.

    Dorm Life

    The best thing about the dorms are meeting new and lifelong friends. The students actually make this insitution great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all your financial aid issues handles before coming because the lines can get really long and you could be waiting for hours.

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State University is filled with students who are the most caring and thoughtful individual;s I have ever met. Depending on your degree, instructors can be life changing but the people in the financial aid office are horrible and filled with attitudes and nasty looks.

  • 04/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely unsafe. So many students get hit just trying to cross the street from their dorm to go to class. The last student had to go to the hospital. There has been a number of break ins involving students cars as well as robberies on campus.in addition, there are also numerous reported rapes! Campus police made me sleep in my car because they had no adequate signing letting me or others know that certain lots were restricted. A boot was placed on my car, and since my parents are out of the country, I cannot contact them so that they can send money to get the boot off. I live off campus and had no ride home. DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF ATTENDING THIS COLLEGE.

    Great for these types of students

    Wssu is good for students that come from a very rough background. Thugs, gangsters, drug dealers, and low rated seniors that could not get accepted into any other school.

    Bang for the buck

    Do not waste your money!

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is disgusting. If choosing to go here, purchase a meal plan with the biggest declining balance possible so that you can eat from the student center.

    Dorm Life

    Students are loud and roudy. One student tried to fight me for asking her to turn down her music during the university established quiet hours before exams. In result they did nothing to her, yet I was sent to judicial. DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    If you do choose to come here do not plan on getting a business degree. Most of the professors are foreign and you can hardly understand them. They do speak English, but mixed with their native language. It's horrible!!!!! BEWARE

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I could give anyone is to go to NCAT if you want to go to an HBCU in the area. I still attend WSSU and it is a nightmare.

    In three sentences

    If I were you I would pursue other choices! This school is very unorganized and slack when it comes to it's students. I would run as fast as you could in the opposite direction of this school if I were you!

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    enroll if you wanna be the best you that you always wanted to be!

    In three sentences

    this institution is an amazing hbcus in north carolina. all teachers teach wonderful academic lessons and life lessons. i love wssu!

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    come correct at all times.

    In three sentences

    in fact a hbcu but how it is operated you would think it is a division 1 school. well equipped and helps prepare college students for a successful life. proves that college can be for everyone.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who like to party! And who love to learn and have a great experience all in one!

    Bang for the buck

    You get every penny's worth here from education to dining to activities. You will not lack for anything here.

    What to do for fun

    All these different clubs to be apart of, there is never a dull moment here on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok. But will get you through a hunger state.

    Dorm Life

    I will be off campus due to how close I am to home. But the campus seems pretty safe they reassure you that security will be there by your side in a heart beat if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging you will definitely get your money's worth here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in the Nursing program as I will be a good handle on your schedule would be my best advice for you!

    In three sentences

    It is an incredible institution, with lots of activities to keep you rolling and pumped for learning and fun! You will leave this campus proud to be a RAM!

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Take advantage of student patrol that is here during the week from 6 p.m. until 12 midnight. This has helped with less crime for students walking alone in the dark. It is also a plus if it is raining or just too cold.

    Greek Life

    Around May in the spring semester, probates begin. This is an exciting time to see who became apart of what organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    CLMC is a great club to get involved with. They plan campus activities along with a club called CAB. Another club that has been on the rise is Black Women for Change. It helps the females on campus to better themselves as a person and also to be successful African American women.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Greek life is a big part of Winston Salem State University.Go to the pit to see probates and also to hear a DJ. The Thompson Center hallway has couches where students may sit and converse with each other.

    What to do for fun

    Go sit out on the breezeway with the rest of your peers to meet new people. Take advantage of the activities that they offer on campus. For example, use the game room and also the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Use your meal plan wisely. Use any other money at the RAMshack for when the cafe is closed. Enjoy the food in the cafe at the times it is open.

    Dorm Life

    Get to know your roommate so that you know the differences between the two of you. Have a relationship with your resident advisor, they tend to be more friendly with the residents. Meet new people at least on your floor, so that new found friends are found.

    Academic Rigor

    Do work in a reasonable amount of time so that homework will not be piled up to do last minute. Get to know your professors, sometimes they help the students out in a difficult situation. Take advantage of the resources on campus to help you complete your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of financial aid for a successful four years in school. Don't be a procrastinator, get things done in a reasonable amount of time. Meet new people, it will make the experience that much better.

    In three sentences

    Winston Salem State University is a great university for a nursing degree. It is very competitive, but a job will always be in place for the individual. This university is a well-educated HBCU.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to parties, movies, the mall and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not big on the food. But then again I don't eat very much. I really like the Ram Shack

    Dorm Life

    Awesome! I live in a suite and I enjoy it very much. All of my friend and team mates are just down the hall or on the next floor. Dorm life is one the best things about college.

    Academic Rigor

    Come prepared to work hard, and independently. Remember this is college no one is going to hold your hand. You have to do you part, if you want succeed you will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and talk with students currently in your field of interest.

    In three sentences

    WSSU students and professors are friendly and helpful. The curriculum is challenging and help is available. The campus is beautiful and safety is number one.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on watch, especially at night.

    Greek Life

    You have to be a sophomore to pledge. Must have good grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're good at sports and don't have a scholarship you should try to walk on the team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people hang out at the breezeway during lunch time.

    What to do for fun

    Run track, hang out at the pit, go to the fitness center, go to the game room.

    Food and Dining

    If you don't want to eat in the cafe they have a place called the Ram Shack where they serve subs, fried foods and pizza. We also have a place called the C-Store where you can buy things, almost like a grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are not too pleasing; they're pretty old. No visitation for the first week. Follow the rules so you won't get fined.

    Academic Rigor

    Try not to get behind in classes. Teachers don't take any slack

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Join different clubs and organizations. Befriend your teachers.

    In three sentences

    They have a good nursing program. They are very competitive when it comes to sports. The teachers are motivated to help you.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Royal Court Black Women for Change My Natural SGA

    Tips for prospective students

    Always maintain a great GPA. Explore the limitless opportunities that this university provides. Become involved and very active on campus.

    In three sentences

    Winston Salem State University is one of the top HBCU's for academics and athletics. I am a proud Spring 2012 graduate of this illustrious university. Winston Salem State University is a place where successful students are created.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Winston-Salem State are very strict on the safety of their campus. Campus polices patrol the campus during the day and night. Campus closes at ten. This means no one without student ID will be allowed on campus. Also, campus polices patrols the residence buildings after visitation hours to make sure the dorms are kept safe for the students at night.

    Greek Life

    Numerous students at Winston-Salem state are apart of Greek life. Greek life consist of different sororities and fraternities the campus have. Some include Delta Sigma Theta, Kappa Kappa Psi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Omega Psi Phi, and many others i did not mention. The event of becoming apart of one of these Greek organizations comes around once a year. Winston-Salem State has a zero tolerance level for hazing.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are another popular attraction to the college life. Winston-Salem State throws many parties on and off campus. They also offer different student organizations to keep students active and voices heard. Such as SGA, Campus Life committee, and many more. Events such as homecoming bring in lots of people and money from everywhere. Step shows, comedy shows, fashion shows are all examples of how students of Winston-Salem State come out and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Winston-Salem State University cafeteria is tolerable. It may not be seasoned to your likely but will satisfy your hunger. They also have a small diner called the Ram Shack that sells grilled burgers and chicken sandwiches. Subway is another huge attraction that's a part of the Ram Shack that many students love to eat if the cafeteria isn't meeting the individuals hunger needs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms at Winston-Salem State University are well kept by the cleaning staff. Freshman usually stay in traditional dorms. Traditional dorms usually are buildings that are non-coed. Those on the same floor share the bathroom and showers. The rooms are usually small. Two beds and desks. The coed dorms are more pleasurable that the traditional dorms. Coed dorms room are similar to suite. They have a kitchen and living room and the bedroom is alot bigger. Only you and the roommate share the bathroom. During exams, visitation is not allowed. Those who break the rules will get fined.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Winston-Salem State University is a successful school. They offer over thirty majors that are designed to help students to reach their goals in a managable way. College classes are alot different from highschool classes. You are considered adults and professors expect you to act like it. You are responsible for attending class on time, receive any information that you missed. If an emergency occurs, you are responsible for contacting your instructor. Remember, you are control of your grade. Your work ethic and attendance is reflected through your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    College life is the time between leaving your parents house and stepping into the real world. This is the time you will mature and learn new concepts about life. Time managing, controlling your finances, and social skills are a few examples of important factors that must be accomplished successfully. Most importantly, do not lose the main focus of why you are attending college.

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State University is an awesome campus that has a historically, beautiful environment. Students are influenced to strive for the best while enjoying the college life. Overall, it is a small campus that has huge outcomes.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sporting Events!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in any and everything you can. There are lots of opportunities out there all you have to do is take advantage of them!

    In three sentences

    I love my HBCU! It has everything that I need to become successful. The campus size is not to big, but not to small its perfect for me.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Find out about what clubs and activities are available on campus, you want to be active as you can be. Being very active looks good on transits and applications.

    Food and Dining

    Remember the food is nothing like your mother's cooking. Some days it's good, then other days not so good, but that's something that one will get use to. If the food isn't good on that certain day students order take out or ask their friends to take them somewhere.

    Dorm Life

    When you are a freshmen dorm life is really not all that great. It will take some time to get use to. Make sure you are able to get along with your roommate, and make sure they are clean. Also you share a bathroom with a whole bunch of other people, so keep in mind that everybody is not clean. After you live the freshmen dorm life, the dorm life will get better.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are having difficulty in one of your classes go get help from your professor or go and get a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1: Get to know some upper classmen, so they will be able to tell you were things are, and what they school is like if you didn't already know. 2: Work hard Play later 3:Have a good relationship with your professor 4: Study everyday

    In three sentences

    I would give Winston Salem State University a 8/10. Winston Salem State is one of the best HBCU'S to go to, Simply because we have an amazing academic program, and you will meet some very cool and nice people to build long lasting friendships with.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police officers that I honestly feel like do not do a good job at all patrolling campus and do not always keep us aware of what is going on. Honestly, the best thing you can do is watch your own back and carry some pepper spray at all times.

    Greek Life

    We have Greek lettered organizations such as Divine 9- Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Zeta Phi Beta, Sigma Gamma Rho and all the fraternities(Alphas, Ques, Sigmas, Kappas, Iotas). We also have non divine 9 greek letter organizations such as Alpha Phi Omega(community service), Alpha Nu Omega(Christian organization), Chi Eta Phi(nursing sorority) Tau Beta Sigma and Kappa Kappa Psi(band organizations).

    Clubs and Activities

    Raging Rams Pep Squad, Campus Life Marketing COmmittee, major organizations such as Student Nurses Association and biology Club, psychology club, Student Government Association, Campus Activities Board, Black Men for Change, Black Women for Change, National Council for Negro Women, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

    Great for these types of students

    ????

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Homecoming Week we have lighting of school sign. It is a tradition for everyone to attend Homecoming activities.

    Bang for the buck

    ????

    What to do for fun

    There are always campus activities that occur. We have forums, balls, and step shows along with talent shows and select activities for Homecoming and Ram Week. Of course a lot of college students enjoy going to movies, parties, and clubs. there are many students that attend church and go to bible study and other church functions. Also, creativity plays a part in how much fun you have. You can think of fun things to do with friends(play cards, have slumber parties, go see a live jazz band and out to eat downtown). BE YoU!!!!

    Food and Dining

    I will not LIE, sometimes the food in the dining hall is horrible. What I can say is my school has greatly improved over the years when it comes to dining hall food. We now have a better variety of food. The best advice I can offer when it comes to campus food is not to indulge in unhealthy eating habits and choices because more than likely you will gain weight. We have a salad and sandwich bar. Many days there is a smoothie line, turkey and other deli meat wraps available along with plenty of vegetables and fruit as well. Some people will choose to still eat unhealthy and eat burgers, fries, and pizza all the time. That is not wise at all. Also, we have a Ram Shack and a C Store on campus where you can get food. I would recommend making wise decisions when it comes to spending money on your Ram Card because late nights when you are hungry you will appreciate having money to spend.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has it's ups and downs. There are many opportunities to meet lifelong friends when staying in campus dorms and creating memories. It's important while staying in a dorm to form rules and expectations with roommates and suitemates. This can eliminate problems if all individuals have an agreement. It is not wise to go to dorm parties where alcohol is served because this can land you in trouble. Also, most of the time dorm parties are never allowed anyway because of noise violations. There are rules and regulations that must be followed when staying on campus so if you have a problem with that, move off campus. The dorms look decent especially compared to other schools

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing student, I understand academic rigor alot. Academically, I have learned the importance of asking questions immediately when I do not understand concepts. I have also learned the importance of studying and I have learned study techniques that work for me. There is a lot of sacrifice and commitment when it comes to being a student in college. You have to set high academic standards and strive to reach them. Mastering critical thinking skills is important in life but particularly in many college courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    All prospective students should know that social activities are fun but the whole purpose of going to college is to receive your education. You are not in college to party and strictly participate in extracurricular activities. Always be aware of your surroundings. Hang around the right people. Take advantage of networking opportunities. INTERN INTERN INTERN. Learn how to be a well rounded individual. Find time to exercise and also eat healthy so you don't gain a lot of weight. Stay true to yourself no matter what!!!

    In three sentences

    WSSU is a great HBCU overall that promotes academic excellence along with personal and professional growth. It is a great school for African Americans to get quality education and learn about our culture and history in depth. Despite the negativity, WSSU is a great school.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WSSU provides very good security for its students. They do their part and they ask us a students to do our part. There is safety in numbers and knowing the rules of campus life is very important to safety and security.

    Greek Life

    My father pledged Omega Psi Phi and I plan to pledge a sorority. Every year for homecoming I enjoy watching the greek students fellowship and step on the plots.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am new to the university so I am still looking into clubs and activities. I plan to get involved and place my mark on the campus. I am thinking about joining the Honors Club Program right now that's my focus.

    Great for these types of students

    WSSU is great for all students. Even thought it is an HBCU, it is a very diverse campus and has so much tradition and warmth in addition to great academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshman have a ceremony that officially declares them in the RAM family. An archway was built in 1930 or so that all freshman students walk under and this is their right of passage to say... Welcome!

    Bang for the buck

    WSSU has competively price college tuition. My parents and I will not be deep in debt for a good education. Thanks WSSU for keeping tuition affordable.

    What to do for fun

    So far, I have had a social ball. WSSU has made it easy to meet new people, professors and get acclimated to the city easy. I love the variety of activities from pool parties to campus cookouts!

    Food and Dining

    I do miss home cooked meals. I enjoy being able to go to the cafe at a time that best fits my schedule. I like having the option to choose more than one entree. Since I am a picky eater that definitely is a plus!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting. I never had to share a room, but teamed up with a great roommate makes dorm life great! I also like the set up of having an RA and a Legacy Leader. That made living on campus easy.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is Marketing and I plan to continue my educational track by attending UNC-CH after graduation. Marketing will enable me to use my creative business skills to sell, market and build business.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students that there is nothing that you can't obtain with hard work. I plan to continue to work hard toward my degree and not to be afraid to ask questions. Be open-minded and you will success in all that you plan to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    WSSU is a great institute of higher learning. Not only am I a student, both of my parents graduated from WSSU. I am very a proud to be attending and look forward to pursuing a degree in Marketing so I can Depart to Serve.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus activities such as concerts, plays, and parties. Sporting events. Don't forget about nearby church services and organizations and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I rate the food three stars.

    Dorm Life

    I would rate the dorm life three stars.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate WSSU academic an four. My school offers a quality education with instructors who have a passion for teaching. I am fortune to receive this affordable education with the top of the line professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember college is preparing you for the real world. Life can sometimes be a struggle and college is no exception. Do not allow barriers to keep you from achieving your goals use them as stepping stones.

    In three sentences

    Attending Winston-Salem State University has been a rewarding experience for the most part. The staff and students are like one big happy family. I am proud to say I am a ram.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great hands down nothing bad happens on campus because we have campus security and campus police patroling 24/7.

    Greek Life

    not too sure about greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too sure about the clubs and things like that.

    Great for these types of students

    prospective students who is really into the chemistry and field than clinical labratory is a great subject to take up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well everything on this campus is in tact nothing unusual really goes on here .

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not really sure about bang for the buck I'm still getting settled in so maybe I'll be able to express a little more about that subject.

    What to do for fun

    Their are local night clubs, gym jams, dances, activities, football games, etc..

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay it can be better and the dining is not so good, but it can pass I'm quite sure students doesnt like eating the same things everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good of course it has its ups and downs but on the flip side everythings together we have great RA'Shat makes sure everything stays in order at all times. And everyone gets along for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    This university provides several academic opportunities that may fit any and everyone theirs so many to choose from so I wouldnt let the opportunity pass you by.

    Tips for prospective students

    I quite a few tips for prospective student I would say get involved and go to ramdition, stay focused, stay on top of your game, and continue to have a positive attitude.

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State University is a great university that creates opportunity and it caters to our educational needs and show us that college is a great place to be.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are real police on campus and emergency poles to help protect our campus.

    Greek Life

    We have a very active greek life with the whole divine nine except for the deltas and more.

    Bang for the buck

    I love my college I am a freshman and I have enjoyed my first month in college its really different from high school.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events and organizations to join on campus.

    Food and Dining

    cafe its good some days not so great other days.

    Dorm Life

    Its different but definitely possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out all your paper work and turn everything in on time. Make sure you keep a personal copy of everything you turn in.

    In three sentences

    Great University with a lot of diversity. Interesting and wide variety of majors and different classes. Very family centered with a lot of free resources on campus.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I would say is that the campus is so far from everything else as far as the city life.

    In three sentences

    Winston Salem has a pretty, nice campus. There are different activities and things to do on campus.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many options to choose from when it comes to food here on campus. The cafeteria offers a wide variety of choices to students that can fit into any one's diet. For the most part the food in the cafeteria is pretty good with my personal favorite being fried chicken Wednesday! There is also a mini market on campus that sells a wide variety of a college students needs from washing powders to a carton a milk. You name it they got it! Well say you do not want to go in the cafeteria to eat there is also fast food restaurants such as subway on campus to fulfill the taste buds of students.

    Dorm Life

    Well of course the newer resident halls are much more better than the older dorms but many of the freshmen are assigned to live in the freshmen dorms which are pretty old but lately there has been many construction projects taken part on campus and one includes a new freshmen dorm. Living in the freshmen dorms is not all bad. The resident hall advisers are very helpful and are always planning wonderful activities for their residents to attend such as socials and even work out classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Winston Salem State University is overall a great school with many professors who only want to see their students succeed and take much pride in offering the best knowledge and teachings they can. The professors do challenge the students with the assignments but should be practiced more often to better prepare the students for the real world difficulties of the career path.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip I could offer would be keep record of all your documents and emails from the college because you never know when you may need them to validate a point or problem. Also the financial aid office and staff are usually always busy especially at the beginning and end of semesters so be prepared to wait. Coming into college be very open to meeting new people because you will be surprised at all the different people here on campus who you can enhance your life socially as well as academically. Do not get into the habit of always hanging out with the same group of people because after a while it will get boring and you will wish you have other outlets to associate yourself with!

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is always somewhere on campus and they come pretty darn fast if called, it takes eight minutes to walk just about everywhere on campus, so it takes them no more then four minutes to get anywhere on campus. They are also actual Winston Salem Police (WSPD) so they can also arrest and handle situations like an officer will. Most of them are nice enough to help with all types of situations like car issues or something of that nature.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have different clubs to join, whether major based or interest based they have them. They also have organizations you can join that you have to be excepted into. The activities are what you yourself make of them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to study the library is a great place to be on the second or third floor. If you drive get a parking pass, because you will get ticketed if you park on campus sooner or later. If you do not stay on campus it will be other places you can park but you will have to walk a distance before you are actually on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hangout spots in the cafe, administrative main area, or if warm in front of library. Late registration is not at the main administrative office in the fall, because there are so many students during that semester they usually have people come to the Anderson center.

    Bang for the buck

    Get the most use possible out of your books, if you are going to spend all that money on them then use them. Also if you get a meal card use it do not be afraid to get out and go to the cafe or cafeteria. You pay for activities in tuition so go to the athletics and things happening on campus, also look around and get to know your campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on, on campus. Also there are organizations to join to have fun. On the weekends there are town clubs or downtown cite seeing that the ram buses will take you to. If you sit in the room not doing anything or not meeting people then you will be bored, unless you are more comfortable that way. Get out and enjoy your college life!

    Food and Dining

    I do eat on campus though and the cafe food is great. I am unsure of the actual cafeteria food but it must be good, because the line is always very long. The food smells so good on campus that you would even feel like you have to eat there everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure of dorm life because I do not live on campus. What I hear though there are certain dorm halls that you do not want to be in, but I say your experience is what you make of it. I have only been in one dorm and I only went in to use the computer and was accompanied by a friend that stayed in the dorm. I was told there was curfew, but then I was told there was not curfew. I assume as long as you have your ram card and you are suppose to be there they should let you in.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the teachers teach you to the best of their ability within the time given, but if you do not study and do work outside of class then you will not learn. Also there are computers everywhere on campus for students to use in order to research, do homework, or just browse. The grading is fair and on a ten point scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and do not be scared to have fun, but still study. Also be very cautious of financial aid, turn your documents in early and make copies and keep up with your paper work. Try to register for classes early so you can get classes that fit your schedule and also get classes at times that you will be most alert, because you do not want to fall asleep in class it is very disrespectful to the teacher and they get offended.

    In three sentences

    I think WSSU is a good university to attend. The students have school spirit and attend the on campus events. The motto at WSSU is enter to learn and depart to serve and here at WSSU if you are serious about your education that is what will happen.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They monitor the campus at night and early mornings by stopping each car that tries to come through the campus. If something happens on campus, they are sure to email us and let us know what happened. They also send us safety tips each month.

    Clubs and Activities

    The cheerleading program here is great! It teaches you hard work, determination and discipline. Every single bit is worth it. I would encourage anybody to try out that has a good work ethic.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things to do here for fun. The school has intramural sports, zumba, a workout room, a game room movie night, plays and so forth. Sometimes the school will take the students out to places. For example, a few weeks ago, we had the opportunity to go to a trampoline park. Sometimes only a certain amount of students can go, so you have to sign up early. As far as the trampoline park, only 250 students were allowed to go.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. We have fried chicken Wednesday and fried fish Friday. The fish and beans are great. We also have a RamShack here where they sell fast food and SubWay, so sometimes you can eat other food besides the stereotypical college food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. It is not that great when you are a freshman but you get used to it. After your freshman year, living in the dorms get better because you are staying in a nicer room with more space. Be careful though, because when I moved to the dorms here, my face broke out in acne because of the water. Make sure you pay close attention to your body and how it changes when you move here.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is extremely different from high school, so make sure you get to know your professor well and stay on top of your grades. All of my professors I have had here are very nice, but strict, which is good. It challenges me.

    In three sentences

    WSSU is a great school to get involved! The class sizes are fairly small, so sometimes you get to know your professor well. Also, there are many new buildings getting built on campus (the Student Activities Center for example) so you are sure to enjoy yourself.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always in your sight and we have a very low crime rate.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want the smaller campus life atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable tuition and everything is accessible by bus line if you don't have a car

    What to do for fun

    Hey, this is Winston Salem! Always something to do and somewhere to go!

    Food and Dining

    Building new Student Union with various new eating choices including Popeyes! Wonderful cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Building new and better dorms and in process of building coed dorm as we speak.

    Academic Rigor

    Motto is: Enter to learn and depart to serve! Nothing but the best here and average GPA of students is above 3.0!

    Tips for prospective students

    WSSU is a small UNC based college but in the heart of Winston Salem, North Carolina, also home to Wake Forest Demon Deacs. Many things to do on campus and off. Smaller student to teacher ratio, provides excellent learning atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    WSSU is home of the 2012 Rams football Division II National Championship runner-up title!. The college is growing tremendously, and provides many students with opportunities for advanced degrees at very a reasonable tuition. In the heart of Winston Salem, and close to everything

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a major priority at WSSU.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the education received is excellent for the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Winston-Salem is a fun place to hang out on the weekends. There are many art-type activities that go on throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have a campus meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rigorous but worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a lower amount of credit hours your first semester. This will help you become acclimated to your new lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    I thoroughly enjoy the Computer Science program at WSSU. The teachers are very helpful and keep learning fun. I also enjoy the layout of the school's campus.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very serious when it comes to safety. They are always around when you need them or if you need them they are always one call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    WSSU offers a lot of great clubs, although it would be good to have more club offerings on campus.

    What to do for fun

    WSSU offers a lot of different activities. We have gyms, game rooms. bowling nights, etc...

    Food and Dining

    I love eating in the dining hall. The food is great and provides variety. Also it is convenient to grab something on campus before class.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was good, but it was just not for me.

    Academic Rigor

    You are to keep up with your own academic standings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please don't judge the school by what you hear, everyone has a different experience. Winston Salem State may not be as big as other D1 schools but the opportunities are the same and we are a family at WSSU.

    In three sentences

    Winston Salem State University is a very unique school. The campus is small which makes it really easy when it comes to finding classes, the dining hall, library and more. Every faculty on the campus is willing to help you in any way possible.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    We have some of the best majors which is built in the foundation of great professors and teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay accurate for deadlines stay informed make copies of any document you submit build a relationship with your advisor

    In three sentences

    The school mission says it all enter to learn depart to serve and that's exactly what they help you accomplish.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus feels completely safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life boasts 8 of 9 Divine 9 organizations but a slew of CIGO organizations as well. As a small campus we are often more unified than larger campuses. We also have many Greek members who are in key positions within the school that host programs beneficial to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Winston-Salem has many great activities. Greensboro is near by which features some of the best nighttime activities. But downtown Winston hosts a number of great events that are college friendly.

    Food and Dining

    Our Café is a hit and miss. We have great night and then some times you just wonder.....

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm, Rams Commons. But each dorm offers an unforgettable atmosphere for memories that will be cherished long after graduation.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically WSSU has its ups and downs. You have laid back professors and then real tough nuts. The trick is that the tough professors are the ones that care the most and enhance your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make copies of all your financial aid paperwork beforehand! Pack snacks for rainy days when the trek to the café is not an option. Make sure you know what you believe in or you'll fall for anything.

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State is a vibrant and welcoming community, Red Love. The experience provided at an HBCU is unlike any other college experience. Ram Pride is seen on and off campus because we are a part of the community.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    One word: spades. Spades is a bigggg way to pass time. If you do not know how to play spades you should consider learning, but it is not that bad if you do not know how to play. Also, get involved on campus. Join a club, go to sporting events, attend skate/ bowling nights, go listen to speakers. Do not just sit around in your room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It is not the best and it is not the worst. Some food they have is god (spaghetti, fries fried chicken, burgers, fish, etc). Don't eat too much food or you will gain the freshman 15, but there is a lot of fiber in the food, too.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what dorm you are in, the rooms can be nice. The freshman dorms are typical dorm style rooms. Make sure you get to know the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes your freshman year are not that challenging, but keep in mind that they will get harder. Also, do your best and stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't base whether you want to go to a school on just the social life. Visit the campus. Make sure you see the size of the campus, see a few classrooms and even the places around the school.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice place and the education is good. You have to make your own fun sometimes, which isn't that bad. Get to know different people around campus because it makes your experience better.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun the campus has game rooms and different organizations that you could be apart of to complete the feeling of being apart of the ram family. There are plenty of local restaurants and f you are over 21 bar scenes are pretty cool too.

    Food and Dining

    The café is pretty acceptable, especially on Wednesdays. There is a wide variety of choices whether youre vegan or a daily meat eater your choices are there, but only until 7 30.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is essential to the ultimate college experience. You have your all girls dorm, your all males dorm, and of course the upperclassmen and athletic dorms. Its all about discipline, you will be away from mommy and daddy, no more curfews unless you play sports, and youre basically allowed to do whatever. Its pretty cool unless you wish to not go the roommate route.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you work for. It is college you will actually have to study this time around it is not like high school where you might be able to cram overnight. There is a lot if information that will be given to you, a good amount of work and all you have to do is be persistent and you will survive until graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, it college, its a time when you find out who you REALLY are, the type of people you REALLY like to hang around, and the type of STUDENT you are capable of being. At WSSU its all about going hard or going home, which means if you are here for all play and no work, you will not succeed. They demand, encourage and produce the best of the best. If you come in undecided I guarantee you will leave a decided leader.

    In three sentences

    WSSU is an excellent HBCU of choice. WSSU is a relatively small campus, you will not get lost. WSSU creates and encourages great leaders.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since its easy to make friends, in my free time I might go to a friends room to have fun or they might come to my room. Just to chill and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    Food!!!! Oh my gosh it is delicious! I love the food here. They feed the students well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. As a freshman it is definitely not the best but it gets better as you move up!

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers at this school. Their main focus is the students. They will do anything in their power to help you through a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip is keep up with everything the school gives you (important papers) and everything you give the school. Be prepared for the stresses of financial aid. I think that goes for any college as well!

    In three sentences

    WSSU is an excellent school to attend. I love the school because the students are very nice and its not hard to approach people. It's like its a big family.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an online student.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student

    Academic Rigor

    As stated previously, WSSU is focused on detail. The instructors are looking for the flaws, not the content. It is important to focus on the minute, because they will.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will need to be computer literate, organized and structured. Be persistent;organization and communication are limited at WSSU.

    In three sentences

    I am in the online RN to BSN proram. They are more interested in technicality of the writing than the content. Get a good APA program

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has gotten better since I've been here but it could always stand to continue to advance.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great with the exception of one sorority from the Divine 9 being off the yard (Delta Sigma Theta). They always do events and connect with the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs and organizations and they always have something going on on campus (even though we may not always know what events are going on).

    Great for these types of students

    Well WSSU is a HBCU so it is definitely good for African American students, but we are very diverse so it's good for everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have traditional cheers we do at games and having probates (the crossing of people into fraternities and sororities) is a tradition for HBCUs. Homecoming is the best time of year because you get to see a lot of alumni come on campus and the school spirit is high!

    Bang for the buck

    Once you go here you will definitely have a sense of Ram Pride and you won't hesitate to show it off. You won't always like being here but the friends you meet will be your friends for a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do on campus. We do have gym jams but those are only twice (maybe) fall semester and once spring semester. There's other event thy may happen bit a lot of times the students don't know about it until the last minute.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is sub-par. Sometimes the food looks like it's not edible. The food places in the food court are good but the prices are way too high even though we have meal plans with money for the food court and school convenient store.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. There is a lot of maintenance that needs to be done to every dorm especially the traditional dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is both sufficient and insufficient. There are some teachers who don't care if a student passes or fails and vice versa. There are also some teachers who expect way too much and act as if they are the only teacher students have and want students to make their class their priority, which is also unfair to the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to make sure they have multiple copies of the papers try send in/turn in, or to make sure they have proof of anything they've turned in online. Another would be to stay on top of the people who work in the offices because they will quickly blow you off or forget about you. Be consistent with your school work and build a professional relationship with their professors and advisors. Most of all, you should enjoy your undergraduate years as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    WSSU students don't really have any school spirit like they used to or like other schools. Some of the staff/faculty don't really care about the students, and they seem nonchalant about everything. The school needs a make-over faculty/staff wise because they honestly make students not want to continue here.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of organizations, greek life and modeling troupe type activities to get involved in as well as sports. They are all very open to new members and easy to join. Partying isn't too big on this campus, but if that's your thing, there are plenty of places to party in and around Winston.

    Food and Dining

    The food options here are great. The cafe isn't bad at all, towards the end of the semester they get lazy but its been decent so far especially breakfast. We also have a Popeyes on campus and that's a plus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms as a whole I rate about a 4/5 but the freshman dorms get a 3.5/5. They're kinda old but they are renovating as I type and they just opened up a brand new residence hall for freshman. I live in the new dorm and I LOVE IT. The upperclassmen dorms are GREAT. I can't wait till next fall.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor isn't bad at all. You just have to make sure that you make time for the work that they assign and dedicate yourself to do it. The professors are always available and easy to reach and they want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do everything early like filling out papers and submitting things to the school, and stay on top of them about everything. WSSU is a great school but they can be very slow about unorganized so you have to always make sure you are one step ahead.

    In three sentences

    This school is a very small school, but we are all one big family. If you are looking for a school with great credentials, friendly people and a place to focus, WSSU is the place for you. I absolutely love it here.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    focus on schoolwork if having sex use protection dont be naive when it comes to the athletes and fraternity/sororities

    In three sentences

    This school is a very laid back campus. There is a lot to do in the surrounding areas. Never ride the bus alone!

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty things to do for fun. You just have to put yourself out there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, I just wish that there were more options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty decent. Everything is so clean.(during the weekdays that is)

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is amazing, you can trust the professors here.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to study and do not party so hard. Winston-Salem State University is a great college take advantage of all the opportunities given to you.

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State University is a beautiful campus. The students and faculty are all great people. The professors are willing to help you with obtaining your degree here.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We always have campus police on duty. After certain hours you must show Id to get on Campus.

    Greek Life

    There is opportunites for students to participate in Greek Life activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the Campus Radio Club, Student in Actiosn Club. There are many choice to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    WSSU is great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoy hanging out in the lobby area of my dorm. We all meet there in the evenings and on the weekends. The first week of freshman week was call Ramidition. This was so much fun and being able to bond with other freshman was great.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out with my friends, play video games, attend campus activities and exercise.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is good. WSSU offer a food court and campus dining. The food is always good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in one of the new dorms on campus, all new furniture, carpet and most up to date appliances. I LOVE IT! Home away from Home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic are rigorous, however there is the student center that offers tutoring for studets. WSSU also has a writing center that will assist you with writing issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a college to attend make sure you visit the school several time, talk to current students, meet faculty and staff. Make sure you are making your decision based on your needs and not anyone else.

    In three sentences

    Since being at Winston Salem State University I have been impressed. The envirnoment is outstanding. The faculty and staff is excellent always willing to help. The school always have activities planned for students to attend.

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Deltas are kicked off the yard. Greeks are typical, nothing special

    Great for these types of students

    Sociable, trendy, outgoing personalities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fried chicken Wednesday in the cafe. Complete chaos!

    Bang for the buck

    Get more ram cash then meal swipes. Besides the nursing program, I am not really sure about how competitive any of the other offered programs are.

    What to do for fun

    The student recreational center recently opened. Good place to meet new people, eat, and socialize. Wake Forrest is less that 10 minutes up the road so alot of students attend their (barn) parties.

    Food and Dining

    Usual. Sometimes runs out of utensils, plates, and/or cups (dishwasher machine may shut down) and forced to use plastic.

    Dorm Life

    stay away from Atkins, Moore, or Brown, Try Wilson at your own risk.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused, proper time management, and study...you'll be fine, unless your in the nursing program. Heard it's really challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to stay on top of your records because some faculty will not properly assist you. Make sure you come with financial obligations handled because financial aid can hinder you. Make sure you stay close to your peer leader to assist you in direction

    In three sentences

    I transferred to WSSU, and for it to be an University I would say it lacks some necessary skills such as organization. You WILL have difficulty dealing with financial aid, and proper gen ed. advising. The school atmosphere is not very welcoming and seems to be mostly judgmental.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WSSU does everything it can to protect students on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is everything on campus. You'll know them when you see them

    What to do for fun

    Various activities and events including intramural sports and socials.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is improving but still not the best. I recommend on your meal plan that you select more money. Restaurants include subway, Popeyes, and a burger studio.

    Dorm Life

    No matter what college you go to there will be pros and cons. The major con for WSSU is visitation, but the activities and other events are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are willing to help as much as you need, but you have to show them you want help.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Studying is necessary, do not slack or it will be hard to bring your grade back up 2) Stay away from distractions and learn how to manage your time quickly 3) Get involved in organizations and volunteer activities. Looks good on your resume and a great way to improve networking skills

    In three sentences

    Overall a great school to attend. Students and faculty are all friendly and helpful. It is a small campus for students looking for smaller classes and a closer bond with their graduating class.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pit.. its located right beside the gym (the basketball courts). DJR ... the new student center. The Yard/Clock Tower .. Really popular during the fall and spring.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something happening on campus during the day, it just depends on how involved you are. We have a game room and indoor and outdoor basketball courts that are always packed. There's also always something happening on the yard or the clock tower.

    Food and Dining

    When it comes to the food, you have to remember that it's not a home-cooked meal... its cafe food.. The food is decent, personally I believe that the best meal is breakfast. The most popular dining day is Wednesday.. also known as Fried Chicken Wednesdays. we also have Fish Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    I had the opportunity to stay in two dorms as a freshman. I loved both of them. As a freshman, make sure you are aware of the visitation policies and other rules that abide by the dorms... they're different !! The rooms are decent. The all female dorms are much smaller than the co-ed dorm rooms. I never really had an insect problem in the dorms I stayed in which was a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Your academic rigor is pretty much up to the teacher. Make sure you pay attention to how many individuals are taking that class, sometime that can help pick out which teachers are Favorited over others. Something I learned when it comes to sciences and maths, and sometimes for any course, if you cannot pronounce the name it might be hard to understand the teacher in the class. Don't be afraid to ask questions and visit you teacher during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most freshman,unless in the honors program or have been granted by the school, are not allowed to have a car, but luckily, the mall and other places are not that far from the school so most students take the bus. SU students are really friendly for the most part so sometimes you might be able to catch a ride from upperclassmen if you need anything.

    In three sentences

    I am a rising Sophomore at Winston-Salem and I absolutely love it! If I could rate the school out of 10 I would give it a 7.5

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun. Such as shop, movies, eating places, sports, clubs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food at WSSU is delicious. There is a variety of choices, flavors and styles. The cafeteria is nice, clean, and presentable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a nice size, they're also clean and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Winston Salem State University offers great academic studies with friendly and respectful professors.

    In three sentences

    I would give this school an 8/10. It is a very beautiful campus, filled with friendly and kind people who loves to have fun. The more you are involved and interact with the community, the better, more opportunities and experiences you will receive.

  • 07/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are ready and alert at anytime. They are constantly on patrol and are very nice.

    Greek Life

    This campus has all D9 greek organizations and a few CIGO organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus offers various clubs such as band, cheerleading, modeling troupes, clubs for specific majors, SGA, RHA, and much more. The school also provides students with trips to go deep sea fishing, ice-skating, skiing, and much more throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking forward to a memorable undergrad experience, come here! Winston-Salem State University offers smaller class sizes and a friendly , beautiful campus for you to explore.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is a great experience! There will be tons of vendors on campus, step-shows, fashion shows, celebrities, the band will perform , etc. Its literally a week you can't miss ! In the past there has been fireworks and block parties on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The schools Financial Aid office is very efficient and will work with you to afford school. Work-study is available year-round for students. Everything in the student book store is made available for students, so get your books!

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a new student union, complete with an indoor basketball court, an indoor track, a huge weight lifting room, cardio room, private work out rooms, and private dance rooms. The Student Union offers Zumba classes, dance classes, group exercise classes, and much more. There are also three other basket ball courts on campus and lounges in every dorm.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has great hours for students, and a variety of healthy choices. The campus also has a coffee shop in Elva Jones Computer Science Building , a bagel shop in Hill Hall, Popeyes, Subway, a Pizza place, a Burger Joint, and three small stores ALL located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting ! The relationships you gain from staying on campus is worth while! The school has a policy in place stating that a student must stay on campus freshmen and sophomore year. Also, 'Rams Commons' is one of the best dorms because you get your very own room, but this dorm is only for honor, band , and choir students.

    Academic Rigor

    This university is very challenging,but in a good way ! The school has a strict add/drop policy and attendance in courses are mandatory for a passing grade. The school is a part of the UNC system and is on the plus/minus system (i.e. A+,A,A-,B+,B,B-,C+,C,C-,D+,D,D-,F)

    Tips for prospective students

    Come tour the campus, you will fall in love. Make a trip to financial aid and make sure you get the help you need. Make sure you STUDY, the campus does have a lot to offer including a three story library located in the center of the campus open from 8:30 to 1 am on most nights. Also,get involved on campus with an organization it will help you with job references and graduate school!

    In three sentences

    Winston-Salem State University is a beautiful,elegant campus! The staff here go the extra mile for you, and it is easy to get the help you need to graduate. The campus also has various activities throughout the year and tons of student organizations worth joining.

  • 10/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are alot of reports as far as assaults but they are always taken care of.

    What to do for fun

    They have many different functions and also buses to take you off campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options other then the cafe. The cafe can get very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on what dorm your in. Remember your sharing with 1000 or more people in a building so things do break.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and the professors are nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is really where you want to be. Stay on top of everything, especially financial aid. Do your research.