Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wiregrass Georgia Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    WGTC is way cheaper than most universities. At VSU it cost me at least $2,000 to $4,000 per semester to go full time. Whereas at wiregrass the price is not even $1,000.

    What to do for fun

    They host all types of events and send you emails in your student email account to keep you updated.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very good and nothing like cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very passable. They arent necessarily easy but you can get at least a B in most courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the teachers before you sign up for a class. Try to find out their teaching methods.

    In three sentences

    WGTC is a great college to start off your career. If you want to attend for something like nursing they have all types of certificates you can earn on the way. The teachers are great and most of them will make sure they do what they can to help you pass.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    only one place to get food and its very limited.

    Dorm Life

    they don't offer dorms.

    In three sentences

    wiregrass is a great school for those who wish to earn a technical degree. they offer a wide variety of degrees/diplomas. the learning environment is excellent.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    no dining

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I take almost all my classes on-line and at times it can be tough, but on the other hand I am about to do my school work as it fits in to my schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students, is to not rush into a program, take your time and know what you really are interested in before pinning yourself down to a major.

    In three sentences

    Wiregrass technical College is a amazing college for a single mother, full-time student, and part-time worker like myself. I am able to attend college online at my pace, with flexibility and ease. I would recommend it for all non-traditional students.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wiregrass provides their own campus police. Staff of either 2 or three officers with guns and one Federal work study student. Don't for one day think you can get away with taking your parking decal off and parking in a visitor space. The campus police does run tag numbers and keep an eye on how long cars have been parked in those spaces. Same applies for students in Faculty/Staff/ and reserved parking.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life council and Collegiate fellowship

    Great for these types of students

    Low income students or not. Students who plan on pursuing higher education in the medical field or industry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to speak of.

    Bang for the buck

    Wiregrass offers classes at reasonable prices. If prospective student is a Georgia resident then depending on other criteria such as High school or G.E.D. recipient and G.P.A they may be eligible for the Hope scholarship or grant which pays for about 80% of tuition. Depending on income or parental reliance the student may also qualify for federal pell grant. Most students at Wiregrass are able to attend without ever having to pay for any educational related things out of pocket (excluding background checks, vaccinations, drug screens. program dependant)

    What to do for fun

    Wiregrass has two major organizations for students; the student life council, and the Collegiate fellowship (christians meeting every tuesday, free lunch provided with guest speakers). About once a semester the student life council will host a one day event with free food, gifts, carnival games, tents with local businesses, teeth cleaning (dental assisting), glucose and cholesterol testing (clinical lab technology), showcase of students welds, car bodies, air conditioners (industrial programs).

    Food and Dining

    Wiregrass offers the Upper Crust which is open during day and night classes. To the students at Wiregrass it is more commonly known as The Crusty Pizza. The menu items, excluding the pizza, are great. The prices at this cafeteria are somewhat high.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided.

    Academic Rigor

    The school strives to be as good or even better than other true universities in the state so that there is no question as to whether a student's credit at Wiregrass will be able to transfer to four year colleges. A downside to some of the courses is that they are adding more and more online course, but the structure of this online courses at times do not seem to provide adequate teaching time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient with the financial aid office, there are only four women working in the office. If a student is planning to attend with Department of Veteran's affairs funding, expect some delays as only one women in the financial aid office works with the veteran's funding programs. Do ,however, keep pushing these women to process your paperwork, they tend to fall behind because of the large volume of students, and sometimes have been known to forget to process a student. If a prospective student plans on transferring for pre-med later do not take classes in categorized as ALHS. These do not tend to transfer to four year colleges, they are really only diploma level courses.

    In three sentences

    Wiregrass is a great college, with many different options for career paths. Most people attend this school if they are either unsure of what to major in, trying to complete core classes before attending a four year college, or looking for a direct career path usually in the health care field. Unfortunately, there are not enough core classes to take for those planning to transfer to a four year school

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually 3-4 officers within 2 minutes reach

    Greek Life

    No greek houses.

    Great for these types of students

    IT students, nursing academy, and dentists.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap tuition, but the classes are spot on, and the material is challenging

    What to do for fun

    Nothing to do on campus, better off seeing a movie, or working, or just staying at home

    Food and Dining

    Only has a small cafe' type area, that have a few small entree's a day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all of your classes, and try to do them on campus, not from home. Be sure to have your books before classes start.

    In three sentences

    Wiregrass has small class sizes. Wiregrass is close to home. Wiregrass is cheap in tuition.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the working adult or maybe you want to start at a smaller school instead of a huge university. It is also a great school for single parents.

    What to do for fun

    They do have clubs but I don't know anything about them. I work two jobs so I don't have time for much else.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten anything there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The tests and assignments are enough to make you think but not so much you feel stressed and pressured. It's a wonderful balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend finding someone that has taken the class before and find out what information on the teacher. If I had done that I would have picked a different teacher for one of my classes. I learn hands on so reading from a power point does nothing for me. I also recommend buying your books online. It is so much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    They have a very flexible schedule for those that have to work full time. They also seem to have a wide variety of computers for those that may not have one at home to use. The teachers could stand to be a little more interactive with their teaching.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    social

    In three sentences

    great atmosphere. teachers are very helpful. you will love it

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus patrol is awesome and look after everyone and everything here.

    Great for these types of students

    Starting college late in life, going back to finish your degree.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this college and it is so worth the amount of money, once you get your financial aid, your pretty much covered but there are the occasional things that you have to pay out of pocket for, but they are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    All sorts of programs and school functions to join in.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing little lunch spot here.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here, it is a vocational tech school, but it's such a great place to continue or just starting out on your education future.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Academic programs and teachers and professors so dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, take entrance exams, and get all your finacial aid in order.

    In three sentences

    Wiregrass Georgia Technical college is the best college for anyone wanting to continue their education. All age ranges, moms, dads, grandparents, are all at this college, it is so empowering to see all these generations, wanting to expand their knowledge. I have had the best experience here so far and can not wait to continue my learning with them.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Hands on great school.Friendly staff with a good learning environment.Teachers very educated.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus they have an officer at all times

    Bang for the buck

    I would not want to go to another school at all. I like the school in every way. I am enjoying going to Wiregrass and I hope that the next person gets just as much enjoyment out of going to the school as i am.

    What to do for fun

    you can do what ever you like because it is an open campus you can go as you please.

    Food and Dining

    they have a little sitting area where you can eat at but they do have vending machinces

    Dorm Life

    you do not have to live on campus. it is a off campus living

    Academic Rigor

    they have many to choice from

    Tips for prospective students

    It will be best if you could buy the books used they work just as good as the new one and alot cheaper.

    In three sentences

    Wiregrass Ga Tech College is a very good school. The teachers are nice and they will help you as much as they can. The woman at the service desks are kind and helpful.