Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I attend WITC in Rice Lake and there are many things to do including shopping, dining, and recreation.

    Dorm Life

    Campus housing is very close and very reasonably priced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your FAFSA as soon as possible. Have a general idea of what you are going to school for. Know the requirements. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    WITC is a fantastic school for both recent high school graduates and adults returning to school to advance their current skills or pursue a new degree. WITC has four campuses in NW Wisconsin that offer day, evening and online courses. WITC offers many different programs in several fields of study that will prepare you for your new career.

  • 11/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a flexible schedule, those who may be non-traditional, as well as those who want the technical aspect so that they can get straight into their career field will find their fit at WITC!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip class!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early!

    In three sentences

    Excellent campus layout and education. Tuition fees are reasonable. Good career outcomes.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are very few clubs and activities. The senate and student union are about all that is offered.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for non-traditional student. Online and evening classes are offered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    Full time tuition is under $3000.00. You do get a great education for so much less than other schools.

    What to do for fun

    The student center has events such as comedians. However, they are normally between the hours of noon and 2. It is very difficult for non traditional students to attend any activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small grill. Cafeteria dining is not available.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available. This is a state funded technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged. Keep up with time management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of administration. Don't wait for them to complete a task. Follow up consistently.

    In three sentences

    While the teachers are wonderful, it is very difficult to complete administrative tasks such as financial aid or dropping a course. Different administrators have different interpretations of the policies and rules. I stay because of the actual teaching staff.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think that this school does a wonderful job of keeping the campus safe, especially after the awesome new addition that they added onto the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is generally a club for every program at the school and they give students the chance to get to know each other better.

    Great for these types of students

    I think this is good for all sorts of students especially those who like to be able to get to know their teachers and have a better chance of getting help with their educational problems.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have fall and spring fling where students can get $1 meals with your choice of a chicken breast, hamburger and hot dog which comes with beans, chips, a cookie, and lemonade!

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a good education for the money that I am paying for it.

    What to do for fun

    On Tuesday and Thursday they have activity hours and they book speakers and magicians and comedians and all of those fun things.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a good place to get a meal and they have friendly service and a nice indoor and outdoor seating area.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that all of the teachers are very qualified at what they do and several of them have experience in the program that they are teaching in.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely suggest that you get your books from the bookstore. There tends to be software that comes with the textbooks that is required in some cases. It may be more expensive but it is better than having to buy the expensive software separately.

    In three sentences

    I currently go to the New Richmond Campus and I really love the school so far. It is a nice, friendly atmosphere where students actually get to know their teachers. I have learned a lot from the short time I have attended there.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to offer and get yourself involved

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in Rice Lake that are close to campus. Going to the movies, going out to eat, playing in the park. There is also a 'open to the public' part near the lake in Rice Lake. Beautiful!

    Food and Dining

    Accessable restaraunts nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    Further your education here, whether your just getting out of high school or are interested in going back to school!

    In three sentences

    WITC Rice Lake is a great school to futher my education after high school. I am enjoying the easy transit, challenge, and communication skills I have overcome. I plan to finish my degree here at WITC Rice Lake.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For as long as I've been there( 6 months), the campus itself seems fairly safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAB club, BPA and many more that I don't know the names of.

    Great for these types of students

    It's better for people who are older per say, and want to go back to school later on and life and get a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper than a four- year college, but there are many hidden fees. The book system is also quite expensive- you have to buy all of your own books. It gets pricey after awhile.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations that you can get involved with. The campus also has giveaways and reward point systems that you can also participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms, but I've heard they are horrible. Full of drugs, drinking and other uncalled for things.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very well educated, they seem to know what they are teaching and they do apply it to their everyday lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are well organized and prepared because it's very easy to slack off and not want to do anything.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are awesome and extremely helpful. The campus is also very well maintained. The only thing I don't like is that I have to buy my own books for my classes.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no campus security. They do not allow weapons on the property though.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a lot of extracurricular activities to get involved in. There are several clubs. There are no sports though.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for returning students, parents returning to school, or graduates going for a two year degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school doesn't have any traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not too expensive. They help with job placement after graduation. The school makes sure you leave their institution ready to enter the workforce.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria has great food, as far as school food goes. It isn't too expensive either. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also have a pretty wide variety of food.

    Academic Rigor

    The college's classes are not hard at all. Students should have no problem making good grades, as long as they study, and attend all their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need access to a printer and a computer. Attend your classes and be on time. If you show the instructors that you are trying your best and really making an effort, they will make sure you succeed.

    In three sentences

    They are a great school. They have a very helpful and knowledgeable staff. The school is not too expensive.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Recently this campus has remodelled it's building and it seems to be a very secure building. There are cameras all over the facility to also insure security for everyone.

    Greek Life

    I haven't gotten involved with Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any clubs or activities and haven't had the opportunity to get involved yet, but I am in a small group at my church.

    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for students getting back into school that have procrastinated for years after high school and are ready to start up again from fresh.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't been on campus long enough to know what is all going on.

    Bang for the buck

    I work full-time and take care of my son full-time, but I would love to pursue my career in nursing. I would also love to be able to afford to cut back to part-time at work to better my chances of doing great in school. This school is great for people that can't afford expensive student loans. They are the most reasonable prices around the area.

    What to do for fun

    I have a three year old son, so I try to have as much fun with him as possible. We go to the park, swim at the local gym and ultimately keep up with his busy body.

    Food and Dining

    If referring to the food and dining around the campus, the New Richmond WITC doesn't have much for choices around the area. I haven't had a chance to eat at the cafeteria yet.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms available, because they are a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor isn't very strict, but they do care about their students and want them to do the best they can. In the accuplacer testing they have different levels to be able to get to for certain programs available at the school. If someone doesn't get a high enough score that means they will get some help to do the best they can in the career they would like to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to save money and have a good college experience than WITC would be a great college for you. They have very helpful faculty and resources available to you at all times.

    In three sentences

    I graduated in 2008 from WITC Rice Lake, for Barber Cosmetology. I had a great experience the two years I was there and would recommend it to anyone. I am excited to be at the New Richmond campus to farther my nursing career, because WITC is a very helpful college.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus with an updated lock down program for the safety of the students. Do to recent events safety is a concern everywhere. Although campus has never had an incident of any kind, they are fully prepared and practice procedure regularly in the event something should happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for just about every program and there's some activity going on several times a week, from guest speakers to financial awareness seminars.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for smaller classes with hands on experiences. Don't be prepared for long lectures, but expect to dive right in and learn as you experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each winter during Snow Daze, students compete in the polar plunge, jumping into freezing water in the middle of winter for a $100 prize.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is certainly cheaper than most other school, but the instructors are just as qualified. The campus has a bookstore and there is almost always used books to rent or buy, much cheaper than I have found anywhere online.

    What to do for fun

    The campus activity board always has events going on. From magic acts in the commons, murder mystery dinners, cook out and there's even a polar plunge during snow daze, there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great, it's always clean and easily accessible with plenty of room for everyone to sit down. There is a very relaxed environment.

    Dorm Life

    There is always so much going on and the dorms are very close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are very challenging and make you think. Most programs are two year programs and cover a lot of material i that time. It's intense, but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to apply early as classes fill up fast. Take the tour, sit in on a class and do some job shadowing before deciding on a program. Lastly, don't stress if you are struggling or want to change programs, the counselors are wonderful at helping everyone succeed.

    In three sentences

    Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College has a variety of programs with wonderful instructors and small class sizes to allow for personal attention. Both face to face and online classes are structured so that they are easy to navigate and understand. The programs are designed to help nearly everyone succeed and they have many options for those who need that extra help.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities and clubs to be involved in, if you are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The program is academically challenging and the instructors teach in a way that makes me retain the material. Staff knows that many of the students have to balance school with work and family and they help you to keep that in mind when planning your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are plenty of resources available on campus, don't be afraid to tap into them. They are there for your benefit!

    In three sentences

    WITC is a fantastic school for anyone wanting a career change or a student coming right out of high school. I wish I would have gone here right out of high school and skipped the four-year university debt! Staff, tech support & instructors are wonderful!