Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Wittenberg University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because it is a small campus, people who like neighborhood and family -like environments should apply. It's perfect for people who are unsure of what they want to do because of the Liberal Arts program. This gives students a chance to explore all areas before declaring a major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply online because it's free! Apply early because you have a better chance to get in, you do not have to send them your ACT score if you're not confident about it, and do as much community as you can because they love it!

    Bang for the buck

    They give away so much money! It's such a waste not to apply because of money because so many people are willing to pay you to go to school!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the environment because the people are so friendly. The president of our university invited all of the new students and their parents into his home on campus. This is a place that I consider home and I was truly upset that I had to leave for break! I am completely happy here and everyone is always willing to help you.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning things that I have never heard of at this school. The professors are friendly and always willing to help you.

  • 08/14/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy being active and getting involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors and get to know as many people as you can. The good thing about going to a small school like Wittenberg is that you have a chance to become close to a variety of people. Most people get involved in sororities or fraturnities or are active on sports teams.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the tuition is very expensive financial aid is available.

    Did enjoy being here

    There are many activities on campus at all times. It is easy to get involved.

    Did learn a lot

    Professors are willing to help students and always available to anwser questions.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A student who values the overall experience of life. Students who are well-rounded, like a good balance in life, someone who is considering being a student athlete, students who want to be ready for grad school or the professional world and those who want to graduate in four years!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! See and experience campus, contact the admissions office with any questions you have. They can give you contacts of professors in your area, send you financial information or help with anything else you might need.

    Bang for the buck

    Wittenberg is worth every penny, and don't let the price scare you. There are a ton of scholarships here to fit each student. There are also so many opportunities I wouldn't have gotten anywhere else. There is the math workshop, the writing center, the oral communications center, the foreign language learning center, career services, the list goes on. Also, the connections you make to those already in the professional world is priceless. I have met so many people I would've never imagined I would meet. They help you learn what employers are looking for, tips and advice on grad school, and anything else. We also have great study abroad programs, service trips, internship programs, and this list goes on too. The opportunities are endless!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school. After a short period of time I was already referring to it as home. The atmosphere is unparalleled, everyone is open and friendly. There is always someone there for whatever you need whenever you need it, whether it is homework help, study tips, sports, intramural, or social events. The people here really make it unique, it is hard to explain, but the Witt light really does exist and you just need to experience it.

    Am learning a lot

    I have already learned more than I ever thought I would. It is very interesting to see how everything connects and somehow your classes apply to others you are taking. The professors are great and really get to know you and your goals. They treat you a a unique student and your own person instead of just a face in the crowd.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is seriously something for everyone at Wittenberg. It is an amazing college. Definitely come visit!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of every opportunity that's available at Witt. There are so many ways to have fun and do well in school. Witt also has a Writing Center that can help you with any essay you have to write which is a major help. Witt has an Oral Communications center that helps you with presentations and speeches. There 24 hour computer labs and study rooms available. Make sure you ask for help if you need it because almost everyone at Witt is willing to help and there are so many different avenues to get that help.

    Bang for the buck

    Wittenberg is not an inexpensive college to attend, but they are very generous with financial aid. Tuition was one of my concerns at first, but I realized that if I wanted to go here bad enough I could make it happen and it did. There are so so many scholarships available for every major and minor. Don't be scared by the numbers after the dollar sign.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm not going to lie, it's not easy to start college a thousand miles from home like I did, but I do not regret my decision. Wittenberg is a great place to go to school. The environment is great and everyone I've met so far has been friendly and caring. Even the professors take an interest in you so you don't feel like you're just another student in the sea of college kids.

    Am learning a lot

    There is so much to learn at Witt. I am amazed at how much I've learned in just one semester here. There are classes for just about anything you want to learn. I had no idea that there were so many options and different subjects to study in one place.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is good, they have escort systems and they are always very quick for the most part if there is an emergency or issue.

    Greek Life

    there is greek life, but there is no black greek life. we are trying now to reopen chapters, but it's a process.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am a part of cbs (concerned black students), lyrical content, which is a spoken word poetry group, i play intramural's which are games and sports for students who aren't student athletes, and they are a lot of fun. besides from that, they have other things like plays, gsa, anime, science groups, and soooo much more. there is a lot to do, so get involved, you will have a lot more fun.

    Great for these types of students

    people who aren't big party people, interested in more books than going out, kids from small cities, like small classes, or looking for something different like me :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the hallow is a nice place to sit outside when you want to study or just relax. there are some haunted places on campus, but i don't pay too much mind to that...lol

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very expensive, but if you want a good education and the number doesn't bother you then go for it! i suggest signing up for as many scholarships as possible and finding out what scholarships are offered at the school.

    What to do for fun

    expand your horizons and get involved around campus. take trips off campus (mall, movies, other schools ect.) and go home sometimes. you will learn to appreciate the school more. and once in a blue moon it's some fun parties.

    Food and Dining

    its ok. but what college cafeteria food isn't? save your gold post money because it will go fast. go off campus sometimes for food. and founders and post 95 has some other food for you to choose from as well.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms vary, but with all dorms comes with rules and regulations so know them well. but the ra's are nice (for the most part). i suggest staying in tower or firestine as a freshman. you will really enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are amazing and are here to help you and get to where you need to be. the class sizes also help enforce this need to get to know your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to ask about greek life and if you are interested, black greek life. also ask the current players and random students about the sport teams and what to do for fun, come on a day that isn't scheduled so you can really see it for yourself, and if you are not a fan of small schools and cities, this not the place for you.

    In three sentences

    its a great school for educational purposes and learning, but when it comes to the social life and life in springfield, it is not really good at all. and this coming from someone from a big city. but you make the best of it, in the end i believe wholeheartedly that it will be worth it. :)

  • 11/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student who love to be involved and make an impact in the community this is the school for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to yours professors they may seem intimidating but they are generally nice and always willing to help with any need you may have.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many qualified professors here at Witt. even tho it is pricey financial aid will be willing to work with you if you have any problems. Most students are able to graduate within the four years.

    Am enjoying being here

    Witt has a very comfortable environment everyone here is very friendly kind and are willing to help you in any way shape or form. It is very easy to develop a second family here and refer to it as home I know i am.

    Am learning a lot

    The learning experience here at Witt is extraordinary. There is many things that students learn here everyday.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. there is a police station and several points on campus have emergency alarms to alert the police if something ever was to happen.

    Greek Life

    greek life on campus is very good. there are five fraternities and five sororities. they all participate in philanthropies and contribute to campus in positive ways.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities on campus. if there isn't one that you want, you can get it started!

    Great for these types of students

    wittenberg is great for anyone! there are so many different types of people on campus that there is a place for everyone here.

    Bang for the buck

    wittenberg is amazing, and anyone that is able to afford the cost should definitely come here. wittenberg also does an excellent job giving scholarships to help with the cost.

    What to do for fun

    there's always something for everyone to do here on campus. when the weathers warm there's a frisbee golf course. in the student center, there's a games room where there are two wii's, an xbox with the kinect, an extra flat screen tv, pool table, air hockey, and more.

    Food and Dining

    the food could definitely be better, but it's not bad. there's always something to eat, and students have three different choices of places to eat, so you can always change it up. there's also a lot of restaurants close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice, and it's great living near other students. students will easily find friends here to make the college experience all the better!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, but the professors are great and help anyone that's willing to put in effort. if you try in class, it's definitely hard to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should definitely come to take a tour of wittenberg before they decide to come here because then they will be sure that they love it here. i couldn't imagine going anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    wittenberg university has provided a great college experience. the campus is beautiful, and the people here are amazing and friendly. anyone would be lucky to come here.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wittenberg University's on campus organizations such as the Union Board, Outdoors Club, Intramural sports, and some community service groups plan an incredible amount of campus events each weekend for students who wish to be involved every single day of the week. There are over 140 clubs and organizations for students to be involved with, and students also have the option to start a club of their own!

    Food and Dining

    The central dining room, located in the student center provides a range of food choices that are prepared fresh daily. The CDR also provides options for those with food restrictions.

    Dorm Life

    A range of dorms are located on campus that fit a variety of needs. These dorms are all easily accessible from all locations on campus and are very well cleaned and maintained. Each dormitory also has resident advisers to maintain safety and security as well as wireless internet.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are designed to actively challenge each student and accelerate their progress to the level they need to be to obtain a job after graduation or continue into another higher education program. Each student is given an enormous amount of personal attention from each professor along with the advantage of study groups and mentoring for most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should participate in campus tours, overnight visits, and campus events. All events are open to prospective students and they can visit campus any day of the week to be given a glance at what college life feels like on campus.

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg University provides the big college education, in a small, private setting. Classes, professors and students are friendly and personable, while the campus is easy to navigate and accessible to all students. Attendance at Wittenberg University provides a unique experience in education coupled with community service that prepares students for their chosen career.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, especially for college food. There is a wide variety of food that you can get from three different locations on campus which is very helpful, depending on where you need to be.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. The locations of the dorms are great, whether you are looking to live close to the academic buildings or the student center. The dorms are kept in good condition and the people in them are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. The professors are so friendly and always have their doors open for you to get help. There are many academic services to help you with your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wittenberg is a great school if you are looking for a small one. The class sizes are great, you get to know your professors much better than if you were in a class with 200 people. The people are so friendly and all the faculty are very helpful if you need anything.

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg is such a great place to go to school. I feel right at home and the people here are so friendly. I love how the faculty does everything they can to help you, in and outside of the classroom.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police constantly patrol the school not 24/7 but they ensure that all the policies are being followed

    Greek Life

    about 45% of the campus is Greek which can be intimidating at first but once you find your group of friends sick with them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of clubs to get involved in for example I am Pre-Med but a Dance major and I am involved in the East Asian studies club. Next year I will be running for treasurer of the American international association

    Great for these types of students

    people who are unsure of what they want to do or has an idea but want to explore

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    people run across the hollow naked. not a very good tradition. The seal in front of Myers Hall everyone walks around it because if someone steps on it they believe that you will fail and not graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    it is worth the small class sizes and great professors that you get who can help you one on one to find what you want. For example next Fall I am taking a Bioethics course and I went to the professor and I talked to him for about 10 minutes about his class and why I was taking it.

    What to do for fun

    there are alot of clubs to get involved in. there are lots of events that are put together by the college as well.

    Food and Dining

    cdr is terrible. it is typical college food. Post is good but expensive and you run out of Witt gold quickly

    Dorm Life

    it depends on what dorm you get. there are only 5 to choose from but once you find your dorm you stick with it. until you can get an apartment your junior year.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are intensive especially in the sciences and language department. You spend a great deal of time outside of those classes on events and practicing the language outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you ask questions about everything. if you want a large school this is not the place for you. if you want to change your major constantly until you find what you want then this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Small, academically challenging, diverse interests

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our own police force keeps us safe!

    Greek Life

    give it a try.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, social and dedicated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the seal! you cannot step on the seal until graduation day, you must walk around it.. be wary!

    Bang for the buck

    expensive but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    get involved with greek life! or intramurals! there are also a ton of clubs and volunteer opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    CDR is better than most college food options. not many other places to eat besides CDR and Post

    Dorm Life

    The dorms all have their own personality.. if you get the one that fits you best youll love it no matter what. Some are old, smelly and hot but i wouldn't switch no matter what.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO OUT AND MEET NEW PEOPLE! meet as many people as you can, not just other freshmen, or kids with the same interests.

    In three sentences

    I love Wittenberg. I definitely found the school that was right for me. It is small, but has endless things to do and get involved in.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No one is allowed to step on the school's seal until their graduation day. The tradition goes , if you step on the seal before that the rest of your years at Witt will be a bad experience and you wont do well academically.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something fun to do! The game room is the best place to have fun with your friends!There is also lots on clubs and activities on campus, and lets not forget SPORTS.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall is a great place to eat. The food is in buffet style so you can always chose from something delicious as well as healthy. If you don't want to eat in the dining hall Founders is always a great place to eat, it's like a mini restaurant on campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really cool, you get to meet a lot of new people that soon become your best-friends. Each and every dorm has something unique about it so you'll never have to worry about living int boring dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics here are great, every course that is being taught is interesting and the professors do a great job of teaching them.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you stay focus and learn to balance your study time and your party time everything will work out fine. Party hard but STUDY HARDER, it will pay off TRUST ME.

    In three sentences

    Witt is the best University ever! The professors are awesome and they are always willing to work with you, no matter your situation. Besides the great education, Witt has a lot to offer, my favorite is the beautiful scenery!

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the residents of Springfield are one of a kind, the campus is very safe. The campus police do a great job of keeping order, and they are all very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs to name.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, friendly, and genuine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Wittenberg seal is located right in the middle of campus, and it is said that if you step on it, you will fail your next exam, then a class, then you will fail out of school.

    Bang for the buck

    Witt is quite expensive. It is a great place but it adds up.

    What to do for fun

    There is a frisbee golf course around the entire campus. You can go swimming or play basketball. There is a game room as well as a pub and coffee shop all in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The CDR (where everyone eats) is not the best. There are always lots of options, but it isn't the healthiest. The food usually tastes fine, but you'll most definitely feel it later.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. The RA's seem lenient, and the dorms are well kept. Everyone is very social and you are sure to make many friends. I love living in the dorms, they are a good experience.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not an easy school to attend. The academics are very time consuming and difficult. BUT if you stay on track throughout the semester it is very manageable. The professors want you to learn as much as possible in the little time they have, and they are always willing to help out as needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would most definitely go on a visit if you are looking at attending Wittenberg. You will be able to see the campus and see the people. It will most definitely help in your decision.

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg is absolutely wonderful. I can not imagine myself going anywhere else. I love the campus, the students, the professors, and the faculty.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you ever need a ride from somewhere on campus, especially late at night whether you're drunk or just flat out scared you can call the escort service and they'll come pick you up, no questions asked and no consequences. Emergency phones in front of every dorm including the feats and sororities, all you do is push a button and it can still hear you from up to 20 feet away!

    Greek Life

    So fun, not like what everyone says. All of the frats and sororities are really nice. And of course beta has the best parties and dance floor.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 120 different clubs to join or you can just create your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The kissing bridge, Don't step on the seal in the hollow. And of course streaking the hollow if you do step on the seal, or just for fun.

    What to do for fun

    Streak the hollow, hang out in founders pizza bar and grill, or post 95 coffee shop. Or just walk around, there's also the lounge in the basement of the student center dopplegangers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you feel comfortable wherever you choose to live and go over your course list the first day you arrive so you're not taking unnecessary courses.

    In three sentences

    One of the best liberal arts colleges you could attend. Challenging classes that really make you have to think and consider things. It's really easy to connect with your professors and fellow students, everyone is always willing to help with anything you need.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is organized. The capacity of this university is not enormous, so it is easy to get settled. Professors offer good extra help.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    it's great because it doesn't dominate the school, and everyone can enjoy pieces of it.

    What to do for fun

    run track, hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    hmmm

    Dorm Life

    great

    Academic Rigor

    it's a lot of work

    Tips for prospective students

    think about what you want in a school

    In three sentences

    great school,

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I personal can't wait to find out all the fun things I can do on campus and in the music department as a music major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, even if you've already been accepted. You need to get a feel of the town and campus it's great, it looks so beautiful, and it has a great sense of community .

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Is great for opportunities and experiences. Allows you to get hands on experience in fields that you are looking at.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing ever happens on campus. My high school is worse than Wittenberg.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who enjoys learning and wants to have an active role in their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Streaking through the hollow!

    Food and Dining

    They have so many choices it's incredible. The other day I was there for a scholarship thing and they had fettuccine Alfredo with broccoli for lunch!

    Dorm Life

    They have a survey you complete your freshman year that helps match you to a roomate.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a very intense program and the professors are willing to help you every step of the way. It is a wonderful school, especially for science majors.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing! They are dedicated and willing to help you even if you are not a current student. Everyone is very welcoming and the campus is beautiful!

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join greek life, clubs, intramural sports or sled in the hollow!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very accommodating for special diets and will address anyone who has a concern and try to fix it.

    Dorm Life

    There is a variety of living spaces. Each dorm has its own character.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors have high expectations and are always available to help you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! Wittenberg students love to meet the prospective students and help in any way!

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg has always been a warm and welcoming school. There are great academic opportunities and extracurriculars. Our small campus creates a close-knit community.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few non students do wander around on campus but we have a great security staff. We have an escort system where you call and they drive you to where you need to get to, no matter how late. We also have random security checks in dorms and surrounding areas, as well as emergency phones all around campus.

    Greek Life

    Right now we have 5 sororities and 6 frats. I think our Greek life is great and brings people together, even those outside of your own chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have an incredible variety of clubs, especially given our small size as a school.

    Great for these types of students

    Literally everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wittenberg is a very quirky school. We have a lot of cats that roam around campus, mostly around places of residents. Wittenberg is also notorious for the various secret societies present on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Wittenberg is a pretty pricey university, much to my parent's dismay. I've gotten a few scholarships and grants but I definitely have loans I'm going to have to pay off. However, I honestly could not have asked for a better college experience. I'm about to go into my senior year and am dreading the thought of leaving this place and the people here. The experiences I've had here are absolutely priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, Wittenberg is very social so there's always things going on around campus. There's almost always an activity going on through student involvement or other organizations but if you're of age, McMurray's bar is popular for students to hang out at. There are a good amount of parties, especially on weekends. Off campus, there's a few malls around and movie theaters (one with $4 Tuesdays!) and also just exploring Springfield.

    Food and Dining

    We have a main dining hall and then Post 95 which is like a mini food court. The dining hall takes swipes from your meal plan (one swipe per meal) and with a meal plan you get a given amount of Witt Gold which is what you purchase food at Post with. You can also add any amount of money to your Witt Gold account online. The CDR (the main dining hall) is pretty good. There's always cereal, bagels, salad bar, pizza, and hamburgers along with the four other hot meal lines. There's a deli and a vegetarian option, which I know a lot of people appreciate. There's always dessert too. The only downfall of the CDR is that it closes early so as an athlete getting out of practice all the hot food was always put away by the time I got there at 7:30-8 pm. Post food is amazing. Every line of it. We also have a to-go station at the Science center which is nice so you don't have to walk all the way across campus for lunch if you're in a time crunch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Most dorms are very social and are a great place for underclassmen to meet and get to know each other. We have six dorms on campus, all of them co-ed except for one all girls dorm. The dorms are average as far as quality/size of room, etc. New Dorm is really nice but its an extra $500 a semester to live there and it's more strict. Myers is our honors dorm it's usually kept pretty quiet. The other dorms are more lax, but everyone I know has had great experiences in their respective dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Wittenberg definitely challenges students academically, but that's why we're all going to college. We have a very broad liberal arts foundation so our gen-eds cover everything from religion classes to sciences with labs. I honestly feel like this is a good way for students to get a feel for other departments, especially if they're not sure what to major in. Our requirements allow us to get a feel for all departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to get involved in as many organizations on campus as possible. Student life is what it's all about. Witt is a super social campus and it's awesome to see friendly, familiar faces on your walk to and from classes. I'm also biased, but I definitely recommend varsity athletics and greek life as well. There's a place for everyone here!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Wittenberg and I cannot express how happy I am that I decided to go here. Everyone from the professors to students to the cats wandering around the campus are so warm and welcoming. There's a good mix of diversity amongst students and faculty and everyone takes care of each other.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full police force opposed to just security and free escort service.

    What to do for fun

    Many food options off campus, built by historic Springfield, Ohio, many sports teams to join, and great intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    Some good options but quality is not the greatest.

    Dorm Life

    Great cleaning service that operates quietly in the mornings. Always activities going on, good computer labs and great residential advisors.

    Academic Rigor

    Great, understanding and available professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and take full advantage of the things that Wittenberg offers. The writing center, math workshops, and accessible professors are key to success so don't be shy and use them.

    In three sentences

    A great place to develop as a student and person. Wittenberg offers many things to do on campus as well as academic options. Wittenberg is also very diverse allowing people of different walks of life to bond as one.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a strange tradition of running completely nude through the Hollow and tapping the security window at least once while you're there.

    What to do for fun

    There's so many things to do for fun on campus. There are clubs that host events such as: comedians, poets, hypnotists, illusionists, etc. There's a game room and many parties on campus for religious and non-religious students. Also the University hosts movie nights at the theaters for free once and a while with free transportation.

    Food and Dining

    There are only 3 options for eating on campus and the cafeteria becomes redundant after a while. The best option is Post 95 but it costs real money, luckily each student get $100 in Witt Gold to pay for it but once that is gone you'll have to pay for it yourself. The other option is Simply-To-Go which is food for students to get in between classes if you cant go to the cafeteria which is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Be careful how you choose your dorm hall because some are geared more toward athletic and outgoing students and some are more for quiet students. Regardless, all dorm halls regularly host events in their lounges for students.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a very strict honor code that each student is expected to sign and uphold. They are serious about academic honesty and expect the best of every student. If a student violates the honor code there is a hearing on their punishment. There are always students studying in the library and around campus at all times of the day. There's also a writing center and a math workshop to help students with their assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to walk around and find where your classes are ahead of time so your first day can go well. Also try to join at least one club or organization that interest you because it can be fun and help you make friends. Make sure to use your Witt Gold wisely and try to make it last for most of the semester. Always do the reading assignments before class because it will be important for discussion.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good private University if you have or receive enough money to attend all 4 years. The classes are small and makes the learning experience more special. There's always something to do and many clubs and organizations to get involved in.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    City and Campus police regularly patrol the campus making sure students are safe and while partying is allowed on the campus housing, there is not often many complaints about noise in the surrounding area.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is full of sports to participate in, as well as intramural sports as well. There are also clubs that are brought about by the students and faculty members like Astronomy Club, Herpetology, and many different things.

    Food and Dining

    Very great good service if you have the funds for a meal swap plan and if not the cafe is still very enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    Personally I do not know, but the students that do live on campus seem to enjoy it alot. There is also opportunities for campus housing that are not dorm's but apartments and those are vary spacious and can be covered under financial aid.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a tough school and not all classes are created equal. If you are a science major the courses are very tough, but whether that is just the rigor of the professors process in teaching or the material is questionable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend as an adult student (for half off tuition) or with a high GPA to get that as well. This is an expensive school, but the smaller class sizes and personal attention from professors makes it extremely worth it. Stay involved on campus to give yourself a deeper connection to the campus.

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg University was my first choice school and only choice. This school, while private is not heavily religious in any way and while you might be able to find cheaper schooling I doubt you'll find more entertaining professors that care about your education. I can't imagine having gone anywhere else.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no reason for anyone to feel unsafe on the Wittenberg campus- we have an all night escort system if you don't feel safe walking anywhere at night, along with a very present campus security team.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big thing here, but not the stereotypical types that you think about. All of the greek houses make a point to be very respectful and give back to the community- though don't get me wrong, they have some fun too!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is over 100 clubs on campus that you could be involved in- trust me you wont just find one!

    Great for these types of students

    If your a little unique and a leadership type figure than Witt is perfect for you! Tiger up!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well I shouldn't be telling you about this, but there are a lot of of the books traditions around campus... oh and a few secret societies... but you will have to find out about them when you get here!

    Bang for the buck

    Its not a cheap school to attend, but you feel that money working when you live in a dorm that feels like a 5 star hotel (with a bit more community) and your classrooms and teachers are shiny and well endowed!

    What to do for fun

    The student activities office is always making sure there is plenty to do on the weekends, from community service projects to a Halloween party in the middle of campus. The on-campus bar is open every weekend, and on Wednesdays if your old enough to drink, along with movie nights, trivia nights, and random game nights all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is the main dining hall, which serves pretty good food for a campus cafeteria, and varies the selection each day. Also there is a cafe named Post 95 that serves really yummy burgers, pasta, wraps, or salads for the price of some WittGold. There is a decent amount of food choices available in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    There are seven different dorms around campus with their own individual personalities. Each are homey in their own way. Public bathrooms, although not the best, are actually easy to get used to, since they are kept very clean in every dorm. Freshmen must live with a roommate their first year, then can either live in a single, double, triple, or quad their other years. Juniors and Seniors can live in on campus housing, or in their respective sorority or frat houses.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs offered are well organized, and the professors are wonderful also. Class sizes are small and intimate. Also, it is extremely easy to get in touch with your teachers. Many classes are challenging, which is to be expected, but it is always easy to find extra help if you need it. The school is experiencing some financial difficulties at the moment, and the French department is taking some hits- which ironic since it is one of the most interesting and (in my opinion) the best program there. Also there is no longer enough teachers to support a European history major, so don't plan to attend if that is something essential to you. Otherwise, the university comes highly recommended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourselves. Wittenberg is a community interested in unique and openly friendly individuals. Show that you have a love for community service and leadership and they will welcome you with open arms.

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg University is it's own little world, closed off on it inside of Springfield, Ohio. It always has many interesting activities for students to be involved in, and has a great sense of community, with some of the nicest people in the United States. Don't get me wrong, there are lots of things in the city of Springfield, outside campus, that students can do as well.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We currently have five sororities (Alpha Delta Pi, Delta Gamma, Gamma Phi Beta, Kappa Delta, and Sigma Kappa) and six fraternities (Beta Theta Pi, Delta Tau Delta, Delta Sigma Phi, Lamda Chi Alpha, Phi Gamma Delta, and Phi Kappa Psi).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will find many of these out during your first few days on campus :)

    What to do for fun

    An email is sent out every Friday with the Weekend Run-Down. It gives you a detailed list of what's happening on campus that weekend. There are sporting events, movie nights, Build-A-Tiger (like Build-A-Bear, except with Witt's mascot), game nights, or whatever you and your friends decide to do for fun!

    Food and Dining

    It's college. No dining hall is going to be perfect. Our CDR has good days and bad days, but there's always a salad bar, pizza, or a sandwich line if you don't see any main courses you like. We also have Simply To Go in the science center where you can get a snack or a meal (sandwich/salad, chips/side, drink, and a cookie) if you don't have time to eat between classes. Finally, we have Post 95 and Founders where you can use WittGold to get burgers, wraps, flatbreads, pasta, appetizers, and full-sized pizzas.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others as far as cleanliness and noise levels go, but all dorms have friendly communities and great RA (resident adviser) and CA (community adviser) staff.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect you to do your work, attend classes, and ask for extra help when you need it. Coursework is challenging, but it is all possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions! If your tour guide or admissions counselor doesn't know the answer, they'll find someone who does!

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg is a great place to pursue your dreams. The professors are very accessible, accommodating, and friendly. The community is very friendly and polite.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe walking on campus. There are police escorts that are available at all times, and the police and security are always doing their rounds on campus.

    Greek Life

    Go Greek!!! The greek life is very involved on campus and are very active with their philanthropies. They do great things, and it is a ton of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus has sooo many student organizations. If there is not something that interests you, not only will I be incredibly surprised, but you can always create your own! It is sometimes a problem for Witt students to be too involved. Proceed with caution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Wittenberg is expensive, but there hasn't been a day that I have doubted my decision. The money is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus! If you are not comfortable with the party scene, have no fear; the various student organizations on campus always provide awesome things to do. We have had comedians, hypnotists, movie nights, tailgates, anything you can think of it has probably happened at Wittenberg.

    Food and Dining

    Wittenberg has 3 dining options, the CDR, Post 95, and the Science Center. I am probably not the best person to write a food review because I could be happy eating a rock. But, I think that it is decent food and there is no reason to be eating Ramen Noodles everyday! Some people complain, but it is cafeteria food; it is never going to be perfect. PS. The CDR is a great hangout spot if you enjoy people watching and hanging out with friends. It is also the place to be on visit days. Prospect students = Great food.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life! I am currently living in Woodlawn Hall, the only all girls residence hall on campus. I do not like to associate with the drama that girls tend to produce, so getting this assignment was not the best moment for me coming in as a freshman. But, on move in day, when I finally met my random roommate, whom is now my best friend, and got my room situated, I couldn't be happier. I have loved living here all year and it is always a blast living with my friends. My RAs are awesome. I was terrified of them at first, but I soon realized that they were pretty cool and nothing to be afraid of. They are always there to help you. My word of advice, become friends with the RAs. When they are your friends they will not yell at you to be quiet during quiet hours! :)

    Academic Rigor

    In highschool, teachers are always telling you that college is much harder. It is, but to an extent. Being a liberal arts school, we are required to take classes outside of our major in order to extend our thinking and learning abilities. Although scheduling the gen. eds seem like a hassle when all you really want to do is complete major requirements, they are interesting and sometimes you find yourself changing your major because you enjoy them more. Wittenberg has already given me so many opportunities, and even though it is hard work, it is all worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, come visit campus on a nice, warm day. One of my favorite things about Wittenberg is what I like to call a Wittenberg Day. Wittenberg Days are the nice, warm, sunny days when the campus comes to life. Everyone is outside playing music, talking, doing homework, playing games, and just having fun together as a community. Even after a long day of class and exams, Wittenberg Days never fail to remind me why I am here and why it is my home. Also, be sure to tour the entire campus and go inside buildings to talk to professors. I was the kid on college visits that would always let my mom do all of the talking, let her ask all of the questions, and was really not all that interested in college stuff yet. Don't be that kid. Participate on tours, ask questions, and most of all, soak in everything you can. Everyone on Wittenberg's campus is overwhelmingly friendly at first, but I promise, it is genuine. They want to do anything and everything they can to make your college decision the right one, so let them.

    In three sentences

    I LOVE WITTENBERG! Witt is most definitely my home away from home, and coming here has been the best decision of my life. The professors genuinely care about you and your education and are willing to do anything they can to prepare you for the future.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs, hangout at the CDR, and go on walks.

    Food and Dining

    Wittenberg offers a variety of pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in general is not that pleasant, but it is decent at Wittenberg.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to work hard and study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never forfeit your sleep for parties.

    In three sentences

    Wittenberg is an excellent university because the faculty and staff are friendly, caring, enthusiastic, and motivated. All the professors bring something unique to Wittenberg.