Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Wofford College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wofford is an excellent school for those who enjoy the small town setting. If you're the type of student who likes to stand out, Wofford gives you the opportunity to do so by being made up of such a small student body. If you would like to develop a relationship with your professors and thereby learn more, then Wofford should be one of your top choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that Wofford is not a joke and it's not an easy ride. Yes, college is supposed to be fun and the best years of your life, and while Wofford is no exception to that rule, you are going to need to work the hardest you have ever worked when you get here but I can promise you that it is going to be worth it. Just be prepared to dedicate yourselves to school if you think you would like to attend Wofford.

    Bang for the buck

    Wofford is the second most expensive school in the state of South Carolina and it is worth every single penny. Although I am having to apply for hundreds of scholarships and financial aid, Wofford is worth the struggle because the professors I have met and the friends I have made have taught me so much that I would not trade anything for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wofford is a very small school and the advantage of that is that everyone develops a relationship with each other sooner or later before the four years are up. Everyone at Wofford is serious about school and serious about learning so, no matter our differences, we at least all have that in common. I have made several close friends here who I have been keeping in touch with throughout this long summer!

    Am learning a lot

    Wofford is a tough school. In order to be a successful student there, you have got to mean business. There's no fooling around or second chances. By attending Wofford, I am challenging myself more than I ever have before and it is definitely already paying off because I have never learned more in one year before.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science majors, those interested in fraternities and sororities, interested in attending a small school, and those looking for a challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Wofford you will not be disappointed!

    Bang for the buck

    Ok so our tuition and room and board may be a bit steeper than most schools, but it is well worth it. Professors are required to have office hours to help student with their work and often host study sessions before tests and exams. We have a beautiful campus with accommodations nicer than many schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is often a good bit to do on campus. The school often throws band parties, hosts fine musicians and well known speakers, there is always the parties at the Frat houses on the weekends, and there are plenty of home sporting events throughout the year. On top of all of that there is always something going on in Spartanburg; whether it is a festival or a concert. Greenville, SC is only about a 30 minute drive and there are endless opportunities to have fun there. Lastly, here at Wofford the students are extremely friendly, which makes making new friends fairly easy.

    Am learning a lot

    The coursework here is intense but should not be feared. The professors are amazing and offer a great deal of extra help if needed. I have learned so much in just a semester here at Wofford. If you are seeking to be challenged academically Wofford is the right place for you.

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wofford is great almost any type of personality. Students who excel here study hard and put a lot of work into what they are doing but can also find time to get involved around campus and enjoy time with friends. Wofford is great for students who are able to balance these things. I wasn't used to being so busy and juggling these aspects at first but the great thing about Wofford is that you can join what you want, when you want, and all professors understand that Wofford students are actively involved and help you manage these things when the semester gets busy. The community and fellowship between students created at Wofford by the dorm life and student life gives students the opportunity to seek help from all directions whether it be the friends on your hall, in your sorority and fraternity, in your classes, professors, coaches, campus safety officers or the dean of students. Everyone at Wofford is there to make sure the student succeeds.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip for prospective students is to do your research on the colleges your looking at. Go visit the campus and get a real feel for how the campus operates and how the students are. I knew as soon as I stepped on Wofford's campus that it was going to be a beautiful place that had a college campus feeling without feeling too small. Challenge yourself to work hard to achieve what you want.

    Bang for the buck

    One slight downside to Wofford is that it is on the expensive side. Wofford does pride itself on the amount of students who have some kind of scholarship, but you definitely have to work for it. Sometimes I feel like what we pay could be put to better use in some areas like renovating some of the dorms and mostly maintenance issues. However I do feel like I my family is making a great investment into my education. Wofford is known for being the Ivy league of the south and I personally would agree with this. The difficulty of the courses are not unmanageable because the professors are very helpful and want to work with students which makes the money more worth it. Wofford also pays for good entertainment throughout the year and great technology around campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'll admit, I had a hard time adjusting to Wofford at first because it was much different than I was used to. A new environment, not knowing anyone, and schoolwork on top of that. However, I am Wofford's biggest supporter now. I have nothing but love for the school now and can't imagine myself anywhere else. I think my favorite part is the fact that I am surrounded constantly by intelligent people my age that also know how to relax and goof around. Wofford provides the environment to study in quiet places or study with friends where talking is acceptable. There are so many activities happening on Wofford's campus that its impossible to bored. The student body is very involved and which gave me the opportunity to meet people I normally would not have met otherwise. There is definitely a place for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    Attending a liberal arts college offers you the luxury of knowledge from different fields of study. I feel like I have learned a lot more about different subjects much more than I would have at another college. At Wofford its not uncommon to find a student who is majoring in Biology and religion or finance and sociology. I love that about Wofford and I feel like it makes us unique. We are challenged to multiple fields and connecting them. The small student size allows the professors from different fields to work together whether its in a learning community or creating an interim form their unique interests. Its not everyday that science professors and religion professors teach a class together.

  • 06/15/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wofford seems to be a great school for those individuals who are serious about their education, and like the idea of a small but diverse campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Wofford is really expensive I do believe the price is worth it. Wofford also has exceptional scholarships to cover most of those expenses.

    Will enjoy being here

    I visited Wofford this past March. At first the idea of a College the size of my high school turned me off. Once we got there I immediately feel in love with it's beautiful campus and amazing food. I hope I get accepted and can't wait to attend fall of 2012.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes at Wofford aren't easy, but you'll learn a lot in the end

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a challenge and a great education. Every program here is strong, whether you're interested in languages, teaching, mathematics, pre-med, or any area of science. As long as you're here to learn, you'll fit right in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit as soon as you get the chance. I was going to go to Princeton until I visited Wofford, and I fell in love with the tree-lined campus and the people. I hope you do, too!

    Bang for the buck

    Although Wofford is an expensive school, scholarships are definitely available. The financial aid office staff are so friendly and will work to set you up with work studies on campus, and have plenty of helpful information on the scholarships and grants available. The tuition is high because you get such a high-quality education here, with professors that love teaching and are eager to help you at any time. I know a professor who took my friend to their son's soccer game in order to tutor them! They go above and beyond the norm, and it's definitely worth the expense. The food in Burwell is pretty great, too.

    Am enjoying being here

    Outside the classroom, the people are always kind to one another, whether they know you or not. I'm a tour guide here, and whenever I'm walking around campus or through the dorms with a group, every current student we pass says hello and tells the perspectives that they hope they decide to come here. Everyone loves this school. There's also plenty of things to do every weekend, such as concerts, the international festivals, movie showings on campus, and the ever-popular parties at fraternity row. You would think schools like USC and Clemson have something to do every weekend, but all my friends there are bored and end up going home. I've only gone home once, and that's because there's always something to do here.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to Wofford as a former IB student expecting a bit of a challenge in some areas. I'm learning more here than I ever have, though, and each day is a joy, so I always look forward to going to class. The professors are passionate about their classes, and that transfers to us students, even in subjects we hate. I'm also learning things I never would have considered before, such as the Chinese language. The program for it is one of the best in the country.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wofford has a perfectly safe campus. Everyone is very friendly and looks out for each other.

    Greek Life

    More than half of Wofford's student population participates in Greek life. Because Wofford is a small school, Greek life does not involve stereotypes such as hazing. Greek life at Wofford consists of quite a bit of volunteer work. However, there are plenty of fun activities like parties, formals, and beach trips. Many Greek events welcome non-Greeks as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wofford has many clubs and activities for students to become involved in. It's a small school, so some of the clubs are also very small. Nonetheless, clubs are a great way to meet students with interests similar to yours. It is also easy to create your own club because the staff are so committed to helping students get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Wofford is great for high achievers who want to go to a serious school but may not be able to afford the more well-known schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wofford has many cute traditions, including Terrio racing, where different clubs and organizations each get a golf cart and decorate it however they desire. The clubs then have a race around campus in their golf carts.

    Bang for the buck

    Wofford is very expensive at about $45,000 per year. However, the school gives out enormous scholarships. There are specific dates in the fall where students can visit campus to be interviewed for these scholarships, and if you can't visit you can do a Skype interview. I did my interview over Skype and still ended up with a scholarship of $30,000 per year.

    What to do for fun

    Wofford has committees specifically created to provide events for students to attend. There are parties on Greek Row that all students are allowed to go to. Wofford is within an hour of beautiful lakes and mountains. Spartanburg has a cute downtown, and Greenville (about 40 minutes away) has great shopping and dining opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Like most cafeteria food, Wofford's can surely become boring after awhile. However, there are plenty of options on-campus, including a Chick-fil-A and a market located in the Village.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms at Wofford are adequate for students. Wofford is especially known for the Village, its senior housing. The Village is apartment-style housing specifically for seniors (and costs no more than freshman, sophomore, or junior housing). You can find more information on Wofford's website.

    Academic Rigor

    Wofford is certainly not going to be as challenging as Harvard Law School, but its professors are certainly committed to teaching students and pushing them to achieve all they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking into Wofford, you should opt to attend the Night and Day program, which will give you a chance to stay in a dorm, eat in a cafeteria on campus, and meet your future classmates. Go to Wofford's website, where you'll have access to any information you may need, including blogs written by students throughout their years at Wofford.

    In three sentences

    Wofford has a beautiful campus covered in greenery. It has an incredibly friendly environment due to its small student population. All the staff members are truly helpful to anyone needing assistance.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety does a wonderful job of keeping students safe!

    Greek Life

    greek life is very present here! fraternities & sororities alike have a bond with each other and the name of an organization does not separate one individual from another by any means.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and activities on campus! there is always something fun going on!

    What to do for fun

    students hang out with friends, go to the mall, go bowling, or play intramural sports for fun!

    Food and Dining

    burwell & zach's are great! burwell always has many options and zach's has great sandwhiches, soups, and chick-fil-a. also, the cafe in phasev is amazing too!! we even have wofford house open late nights on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great! they are much larger than dorms at other schools. the sophomore dorms are newly renovated and seniors live in the village which is gorgeous apartment style housing.

    Academic Rigor

    wofford academics are excellent. each class is challenging in a different way and students take studying very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you visit the college you want to attend! once you visit wofford you will sense the true feeling of community that is wofford college.

    In three sentences

    wofford is an amazing college with a plethora of opportunities! academics are excellent and students have close relationships with their professors. wofford offers something for every type of individual from greek life to service freternities, campus union to esol, chinese to german, and much more!

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the dining facilities are really nice but the food at the main dining hall is less than amazing. i, however, may be biased. i have eaten there almost everyday for the past three years :/

    Dorm Life

    the dorms on campus are amazing, better than most apartments a college student would be able to afford.

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging academic curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't come to wofford expecting it to be easy. its one of the most rigorous academic universities in the south. be expected to work hard.

    In three sentences

    wofford is extremely expensive but all the professors are amazing and really know what they're talking about. going to wofford is really hard work, the professors expect a lot from their students and it's a small community (not the big university experience).

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always present on campus and very active in protecting the campus. I've seen them in action and think that they are all awesome.

    Greek Life

    We have 6 fraternities and 4 sororities to choose from, but you do not have to be a member of one to be involved with them. I am not in a sorority, but I have friends from all of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    A small school with all the offerings of a large school.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be involved on their campus and have an influence on the student body, people who like a small atmosphere and people who love to be challenged.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a statue that was put up in honor of Light, a student who passed away in a car accident in front of our library. On his birthday, a $20 bill is placed in his hand for a student to find and in turn the student is to put back a $1 bill. You have to give back to earn anything in life.

    Bang for the buck

    Wofford offers so much one-on-one care and great professors that it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Everything. There is the usual going to frat houses on Friday and Saturday nights and going downtown to eat and shop with friends. Wofford however offers many fun things to do on campus. Some recent offers include a trip to Six Flags for $15, a B.O.B. concert for $20 and a Hunger Games Assassination Game on campus among students.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall food is decent, not the best, but decent. They have days when they are just amazing and others when I find it hard to find food I would want to eat. There is always an event of campus, however that offers free food for coming out to their event.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms go up in quality year by year, but you will come to love even the freshmen dorms. All students are guaranteed housing all four years. The senior housing, which was expanded this year is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be deceived by it's small size; Wofford is a very rigorous school. Expect to be challenged in the classroom, but to also have professors that are willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what school you come to decide on, make sure the school reflects your interests. I wanted a small school where the students were very involved and that is type of school that Wofford College is.

    In three sentences

    I love Wofford with all my heart. This school cares truely about it's students and is always willing to work with you in every situation that may come up. The small community is a good fit for me.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never any issues on the campus. And the campus police are always ready to assist even if it is just walking you back to your dorm.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are really interested in learning and studying abroad. You must be dedicated.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money Wofford College is an amazing choice. It combines the best of academics and social life without overwhelming students. There is also many options for study abroad and internships.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are many clubs and sporting activities to attend as well as parties.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, not as many options for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are not the best, than again what college dorms are? However, the housing for sophomores, juniors, and seniors is gorgeous.

    Academic Rigor

    Wofford college is challenging and provides a strong academic environment for growing and learning. You will never be bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Wofford and get your FAFSA in as soon as possible. Than apply for as many scholarships as you can. Do not wait until last minute to decide where you want to attend college because you will run out of options.

    In three sentences

    Wofford College is a beautiful school filled with wonderful teachers, faculty and staff. The college has a wonderful atmosphere and location. And awesome campus life.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Wofford has fantastic academic options. The professors care about their students and work hard in order to ensure the success of their students. However, they do not do the work for you. The students are expected to take responsibility for their learning. There are also many resources available for students who may be struggling or need some extra help. There are also many opportunities for academic activities out side of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students would be to take advantage of every opportunity that Wofford has to offer. Try a lot of things and find your niche.

    In three sentences

    Wofford College has great study abroad opportunities. It is not just a place to earn a degree but somewhere that helps you grow into the person you were meant to be. The school is full of great people and great staff that allows you to truly find yourself in all aspects of life not just academics.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a statue on campus of a young man who didn't get to graduate from Wofford because he passed away during his sophomore year. Occasionally you will walk past the statue and there will be a dollar bill of any monetary value possible in his hand. If you see it your suppose to take it and replace with another bill value.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive but worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food many choices

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The five stars speak for themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and to study. Embrace the challenge.

    In three sentences

    Wofford College is not just a place its a way of life steeped with almost 200 years of tradition. The college produces leaders in their fields. To me is second chance at life.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The best.

    What to do for fun

    Go swing dancing. Eat out. Hike. Close to Greenville and Asheville.

    Food and Dining

    Great diversity and choices. Also has a chickfila on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Decent dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough, but not so tough that you do not enjoy learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. Participate in Night and Day (spend the night).

    In three sentences

    Small class size. Great Greek Life. Best study abroad program.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Preppy, don't want a party school, but want a drinking school. Okay with doing nothing on a saturday night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Boys Bid Dayâ?¦until they cancelled it.

    Bang for the buck

    Increasing tuition with decreasing value. Wofford tries to steal more money from you with parking tickets, Alcohol violations, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus, the row when it is nice out, parties at the apartments and row are shut down a lot. Campus safety has become too strict and students are frustrated.

    Food and Dining

    One word, Horrible. Not many options, the larger majority dining staff is rude and will try to close dining early. Not many options. I tend to eat the same thing every day.

    Dorm Life

    Life would be better here if we had sorority/fraternity houses. Freshman dorms leave a lot to be desired. Improves sophomore year and the village is very nice for senior year. Housing can be difficult to get on a specific hall though, and where you live often determines your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Bio majors are hard, but other than that if you put in the effort you will do well. Professors are understanding and helpful. Students love to complain about how hard Wofford is, but it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early or you will not be considered for anything. Be a part of Greek life. Wofford is a big dating campus so life here is a lot more enjoyable and better if you are matched up with someone for date parties, etc.

    In three sentences

    Wofford has become extremely strict with students; the college makes it hard to get involved because only the same 100 people are selected for all organizations and they assure to keep others out of control; administration does not listen to students. Transfer rates are high, even for second year students because the college is changing and not in favor of what the students want.