Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Worcester Polytechnic Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in math, science, and engineering who like hands on learning and group work. Those who want a small school with a great sense of identity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus!! Talk to some students and ask lots of questions.

    Bang for the buck

    A WPI degree makes it easier to get a job upon graduation. The projects teach you to solve real problems so you can make an impact on your field and do well right out of college. The campus is beautiful and the school offers everything you could need - academics, athletics, atmosphere, and experiences to help you succeed.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a lot to do - many clubs and activities. Sports and Greek life is also popular. Everyone knows how to get their work done but still have fun. There's a lot to do in Worcester and it's easy to get to Boston for the day. The Woo Bus allows students to travel to other area colleges and shopping centers.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are fast paced and can be difficult but there are many resources to help you. Professors are generally willing to help, as are other students. The Math and Science Help Center (MASH) is extremely useful for early math and science classes. An emphasis on projects and hands on learning also makes learning easier.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are ambitious and driven do well here. We are a fast-paced engineering school so you have to want to succeed to do well here, but you will not be on your own if you struggle. Professors and other students want to see everyone succeed so there will be plenty of people to help you along the way. However, the desire to learn and create better products for a better world is a pretty common theme at WPI.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only advice is that you master time management skills, which regardless of where you attend, its a good skill to have. As long as you plan out your time well, you should have time to do everything you could possibly want to on campus. Also, take as many math and science classes as you can in high school. Even if you retake the material once you arrive here at WPI, having seen the material before really helps out in classes.

    Bang for the buck

    WPI definitely gives you a bang for the buck. Although it is relatively expensive, there are plenty of on campus jobs available to help you through. In addition to this, what you are paying for is truly exceptional. The accessability of professors, TA (teaching assistants) and PLAs (peer learning assistants) is amazing. They not only go above and beyond the minimum requirement for office hours, but they will often meet you outside of their office, to answer questions you might have, or perhaps even just to talk about potential future jobs. WPI is also part of the Worcester Consortium, which is a collection of the 13 colleges in Worcester. By this connection, WPI students can take classes at any of the other schools in the consortium, completely free of charge and the credits are transferrable to WPI. WPI also hold three job fairs a year. One in the fall, one in the spring and another for the life sciences majors. These career fairs are for WPI students ONLY, and the waitlist for companies trying to get a spot in the career fair is just as competitive as the students trying to get jobs. Another great thing about WPI is that the lab equipment in all the labs is completely gutted out and redone every 3-4 years so that students are constantly using only the most up to date equipment. This is a huge selling point too when applying for jobs because students to not need to be trained in the new equipment because it's what they have been using already at WPI. Post graduation, WPI have above a 90% placement rate into either the work force or competitive graduate programs. This is a very high number to look at. It has to do with the way students are bred for success at WPI, and the dedication the career development center puts into helping it's students acheive their goals.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on campus. Everyone here is extremely friendly and teamwork is not only highly encouraged by the faculty, but utilized among the student population. There are a ridiculous amount of clubs on campus, everything from academic societies, to community service organizations, to the ultimate frisbee team, to the scuba diving club. Therefore, there is something for everyone, and if the club you want doesn't yet exist on campus (which is unlikely) it only takes seven people to start a club and you can start it when you arrive. There are also movies offered (FOR FREE ... with free popcorn) on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights in Fuller Labs. These are movies that have just left theaters but are not currently on DVD. We also have our own bowling alley.

    Am learning a lot

    Coming in as a freshmen, engineering or technology major, you will be required to take the calculus series (calculus 1-4) which covers everything from differentiation and integration, to series and partial derivatives/integrals. You will also take chemistry 1-4, and then either physics 1-2, or begin taking your humanities requirements which will be anything you want from history to English, a language, or music/drama/art. Coming in as a biology or life sciences major typically take a slightly different track as not as much math is required for these subjects so usually a modified version of calculus will be taken. The first courses in engineering are introductory courses offered in freshman year. They basically touch upon all of the different methods and topics that will be taught in upper level classes without going into too much detail. Many students find these to be extremely helpful come sophomore year to have already been introduced to the material, or in other cases, if deciding between majors to take the introductory course to solidify their decisions.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very visible, especially on patrol at night. There are emergency call poles with lights around all over campus. You can also call campus police to get a ride home if you are out late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally could not find a single club on campus that interested me, but I think students can also create their own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    WPI is great for hardworking students who want to become engineers and make a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun, but you'll most likely find people with all the latest video games! You can also go to frat parties if you're into that.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food at WPI is very good. There are also several others places to eat: Campus Center Food Court, Goat's Head Restaurant, Dunkin Donuts, Quiznos, Coyote Jack's. There is also a nearby frozen yogurt shop called Wooberry and the local supermarket Price Choppers.

    Dorm Life

    I personally hate living in a dorm at WPI. The first one I lived in, Daniels Hall, was extremely noisy past 2:00 AM every night and I barely got any sleep. Studying in my room was also impossible.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is heavy, but you should utilize extra help sessions and study groups. The professors and TA's are always willing to assist students outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must love math and be prepared to work very hard. Never procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    WPI is a very diverse technical school. The students work very hard and there are several ways to find extra help if you need it. The campus is very small so you won't get lost!

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in Math, Science, and Engineering. Enjoy working in a group and actively working instead of learning by theory. Who wants to live in a small school with people who are like them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and take the tour. Ask your guide to take you into classrooms if they can. This will help you make your decision in terms of location and environment. If you want to know what the classes are like, attend the overnight sessions WPI offers to prospective students. You'll get to shadow a student and see all the classes they're taking.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't have personal experience of what happens after graduation, but my older friends tell me that the experience they had at WPI greatly helped them land a job over most of their high school friends. Their resume was beefed up thanks to IQP (Interactive Qualifying Project) and MQP (Major Qualifying Project), both of with you need in order to graduate. The IQP and MQP are projects you usually do in your junior and senior year respectively where you team up with other students to try and solve local or world problems. Both projects can be taken abroad.

    Am enjoying being here

    WPI is a small campus, yes, but in your four years, you won't learn who everyone is and you won't be able to recognize everyone by sight. Not only that, the clubs here are diverse and always have enough members to be active and since there's so many of them, you'll have an easy time to find one you like. If you don't, just start one. At WPI, you're not required to go anywhere on your free time, you can eat whenever you like as long as you make sure where you're eating at is still open. The people here are entertaining even if we are nerds. There will always be conversation about sophisticated topics like the string theory, but there are also everyday conversations because, honestly, who can keep up the act of sophistication? Here, we have fun and in your first year, you'll make friends with the people on your floor and in classrooms easily.

    Am learning a lot

    In WPI, the teachers focus on making sure the students understand what they're teaching. But students have to meet halfway and want to learn. Take classes that interests you and/or are required for your major and you'll learn so much more. WPI has outside help sessions such as MASH (Math and Science Help) where students who have aced the class you are taking help you in your homework, studies, and whatever questions you have as long it's within their ability to answer. One thing that's unique to WPI is that their grading system is A, B, C, or NR. With this system, you don't have to worry about your score and it encourages you to learn without that grade breathing over your back. The other thing that's unique to WPI is the 7-week terms. You learn in a fast paced environment that's very similar to the corporate world and if you hate the class, don't worry, it's only 7 weeks.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are very quick to respond. they patrol the campus at night to ensure no harm comes to students, however, they are not overbearing in the least. very friendly and helpful. call boxes are easily visible and accessible. worst case - duck into a campus building. they're locked to non-students past 5pm. snap is available for rides in a 1 mile radius of campus. police can escort you across campus at night. never a reason to be alone.

    Greek Life

    wpi tries to hold its greek life to a higher standing than the typical stereotypes. if it's your thing, i would definitely say to join. emphasis is on community service and well-rounding of character, and fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a club for everyone! from the science fiction club, to habitat for humanity, student alumni society, student government association, etc etc, you're guaranteed to find somewhere you fit in - and probably multiple somewheres at that!

    Great for these types of students

    geeks! (just kidding! or am i?) no really, the school is great for a lot of people. while it is affectionately referred to as a geek school, anyone interested in technology, engineering, math, and and science is perfect here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the goat's head trophy - gompei the goat is the mascot. years ago, the head of a goat was casted in bronze. the trophy is now a solid bronze replica (of course!), but a schoolwide, year-long competition between different student groups goes on to gain the goat's head every year. truly a coveted prize, and its always awesome to have your picture with it!

    Bang for the buck

    as a private engineering university, wpi is fairly expensive. however, you are going to gain a great degree, and even better understanding, experience, and practice. wpi loves to get jobs for its students!

    What to do for fun

    join organizations and student groups! really! some of the most fun i've had was working with my organizations. and you'll meet upperclassmen as well as freshman who are interested in the same things are you. life long friendships can be made this way. :)

    Food and Dining

    if you live on campus, you basically must purchase a dining plan your freshman year. there is a dining hall, a food court in the campus center, a restaurant in founder's hall, and a cafe in the library. the meal plan is really what you make of it.

    Dorm Life

    freshman residence hall living is never perfect. housing ranges from singles to quads. however, if you make the most of it, and become friends with your floor, it can be pretty awesome. it's a great way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    courses range from stimulating to quite difficult. completion of the courses, however, guarantees a thorough understanding of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay strong in your math and sciences (that's big here!). wpi likes (and is trying to produce) well-rounded students, despite its recognition for being a geek school. they like extracurriculars and athletics. we take pride in our athletes too!

    In three sentences

    if an engineering degree is what you desire, wpi is the place to go. excellent academics and highly accredited programs. an emphasis on projects and hands-on learning provides real-life experience and preparation.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for science and math based students. There is no point to go to the school if you want to major in the Humanities and Arts since this is a Tech based school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do not slack off when you first get here. Try not to become lazy with work. I was lazy in high school about work but when i got to WPI I couldn't be lazy anymore or else I would receive bad grades. Do all the work that the professor gives you and you should be perfectly fine.

    Bang for the buck

    The school may seem expensive because of the little financial aid that it can give away sometimes but WPI graduates are rated as having one of the highest salaries in the work force compared to all other colleges. So this investment into WPI will definitely pay off in the end

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school so much. They have so much to offer students from a range of assorted groups to join such as the Greek Life which I had joined. There is no hazing here at all and the Fraternities are so awesome and so much fun.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here it is incredible. This place is amazing.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    seeing how i am currently a freshman, i've yet to find out what kind of opportunities being a wpi graduate will open for me once i enter the real world. however, as most students would agree, the tuition here is relatively expensive, even after my sizable merit scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, sports teams and look into greek life. as a matter of fact, a very large percentage of students are in fraternities and sororities. having said that, it is definitely acceptable and not in any way detrimental to one's social life to not to go greek.

    Food and Dining

    food leaves much to be desired. although it is certainly edible, most of it gets old over time, and all of my friends and i are definitely looking forward to being able to make our own meals next year.

    Dorm Life

    as far as i know, as a first year student, you're required to live in the dorms. personally, i believe wpi dorms are no worse or no better than dorms at any average college, although it'd be nice to have a kitchenette and more conveniently-located laundry facilities. also, since wpi expanded so quickly over the past decades, there is not much on campus housing available for sophomores and up. in my experience, most people tend to go off campus after their first year.

    Academic Rigor

    i come from an academically rigorous, private high school, and so far in my time here, i have not had any major difficulties in keeping up with the workload. most of the problems arise from poor time management; even though the terms are short and the learning pace is pretty fast, it is far from impossible to get good grades and still have some time to yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    give wpi a chance. it is not for everyone, but i believe you'll know if it is right for you once you look into what it can offer. research, visit, and compare wpi to your other options and decide for yourself what it is you want from your college.

    In three sentences

    so far, my experience at wpi has been nothing but positive. i love the term system and appreciate the fact that i can focus on three subjects at a time, which definitely makes me feel less scattered than some of my high school friends at other colleges. i definitely love the people here; i find most of my fellow students to be intelligent, driven, yet pretty laid-back, too. although there's a fair number of stereotypical tech students here, many manage to stay on top of their work and still have fun on weekends.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Incredibly safe. There's never a reason to feel like you have to put yourself in an unsafe situation. There is a student run service that will drive you somewhere you need to go (even off campus) and you can always ask for someone to walk you to where you need to go as well. Have the Campus police number on your phone just in case.

    Greek Life

    Mostly community service and networking based. Students should expect to work hard and spend a lot of time volunteering and fundraising for their fraternity or sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Loads of awesome clubs and activities. Outing Clubs, Gay Straight Alliance, Pep Band, Women in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Crimson Key...just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students who are not afraid to ask questions if they don't understand will do well at WPI. Students have to be willing to spend time on their studies outside of class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bartlett tree is great for climbing. We have a huge LARPing (Live Action Role Play) community. All the freshmen get awkward looking beanies as they are taken into the school. WPI students have their own language of acronyms and slang, but people pick it up quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the students at WPI will have a job or go to grad school after getting their undergraduate degree. Many of the students will make around 50,000 or more at their first job as entry-level. That's not bad. While WPI is more expensive, it's a pretty solid bet for your future.

    What to do for fun

    Shrewsbury st is nearby and along it are some of the most popular restaurants in worcester. For cheap, delicious food, go to T-Sams. The campus holds many fun events, but if you want to leave campus, the palladium holds concerts through out the year. There is an ice skating rink not too far away either. There is also a free bus for college students that will take people to the local mall and movie theatre for fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It's definitely better than other colleges I've visited as far as food goes, but there are only a few places to eat on campus. There are lots of great places to eat just off campus and there is a grocery a very short walk from campus. You definitely won't go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are lofted for freshmen. On campus housing isn't guaranteed for all students, but all students who want to live on campus almost always find a place to live. The dorms are put together based on peoples schedules and Residential Services tries to make it so that not only roommates, but an entire floor will get along.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes you take in your freshman year are mostly review, but after that the classes become significantly harder. Expect to spend a lot of time writing up lab reports and if although there are no official prerequisites, you might find yourself lost if you didn't do well in your recommended or suggested courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs. It's probably the best way to make friends that have things in common with you. Also ask your parents for a gift card to dunkin donuts or the Bean Counter. Unless you have your own coffee maker, you probably need some cash to spend just on coffee.

    In three sentences

    WPI is a great school. The professors love what they do and it shows. The classes are really enjoyable.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Worcester city is not a good place to wander alone, it's true. Daytime campus is safe, however, and as long as you're not alone (and it's easy not to be alone, with programs like SNAP) while walking at night, you're just fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally, I'm in the Pep Band (we march half-time shows as well as play pep music), and it's absolutely wonderful--the entire group is full of energy! I am also a part of Engineers Without Borders, a club that is currently working to bring clean water to a small community in Guatemala.

    Great for these types of students

    Type A personalities do quite well here. Anyone who enjoys doing real work and doesn't mind writing as well as the math and science aspects will thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the Seal! If you do, you won't graduate in four years...

    Bang for the buck

    Unless you've got good scholarships, the tuition is definitely crazy. If you know that this school has what you want, though, it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events! Movies (good, newly released movies!) on Sundays, always some club meeting or another that you can go to. As long as you make an effort to get involved, you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    DAKA (Morgan Common's) food gets a little old after a while, but there are always other options, and the terms last only 7 weeks.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms, with a good variety of choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman classes start out fairly unexcitingly; they accelerate quickly, however, so don't get too comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the AP Calc BC test while you're in high school. Try to schedule early. Don't be afraid to ask students for scheduling help--try to get in contact with upperclassmen in your major *before* you schedule.

    In three sentences

    WPI is a wonderful school, especially for engineering students. It has a project-based curriculum that has students creating solutions for actual problems (and implementing them) from their freshman years. It has a beautiful campus and a wonderful community.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe on campus. They have van services to drive you where ever you need, even if you aren't on campus. Campus police. Call boxes. And student walk-along services so you are never alone!

    Greek Life

    To my understanding, a big part of campus but not in a sterotypical way. Very involved in service.

    Clubs and Activities

    Seems like they have a lot clubs and if for some reason one of the 200+ clubs don't interest you, make your own! Movie nights on Sundays. Division III sports teams but also club sports. Good work out facilites!

    Great for these types of students

    Geeky, involved, smart, small community, inventive, passionate, wanting to make lots of money/opportunity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a seal by the quad. They say that if you step on it you won't graduate on time. Scary! I need to keep an eye on that. They also have a bridge you cross on your first day. Then, on your graduation day you walk back across the bridge the opposite direction.

    Bang for the buck

    I am accepted and received some scholarship money. The cost is still overwhelming though. It is the only thing that I don't like about this school. Then again you also have to consider that it is a private engineering school and that they are 4th in the nation for average starting salary out of undergraduate. It may pay it self back if you work hard.

    What to do for fun

    WPI has the zip cars. You can check them out for the day or for a few hours. Personally I like this because I love the city of Boston and think it would be so fun to drive the 45 to spend a weekend there. Also, even though I visited in February there were still students out on the quad playing frisbee. Seems like a fun community.

    Food and Dining

    I ate on campus in the food court in the student center. Although I love pasta as it is, the food seemed pretty good. A lot of people have mentioned that it can get boring, yet that's how most cafeteria's are. While visiting I noticed that there were other places and also that there is a quite a few restaurants right off campus that you can go to.

    Dorm Life

    From what I saw on my tour the dorms were pretty nice. They were generally a bit bigger than the majority of rooms I have seen while visiting other schools. They also have questions for you on your housing application so you are paired up with other people in your room and on your floor that are like you. They were a bit outdated though. The only concern to me would be the bathrooms since they are for a bit bigger of a community, but to my understanding they are well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course I haven't started here yet but to my understanding it is fairly rigorous, especially after freshman year. I think it is interesting that they do the four, 7 week quarters. Quick paced but will get a better understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your math and science in high school. You are required to take at least pre-calc to apply here. Also, do something that sets yourself apart. This is pretty clear due to the fact that they let you submit a Flex Path project instead of your test scores. They want you to make a change and to be different. My biggest suggestion, visit campus! Make sure it is right for you. We visited campus but were late and missed the tour. One of the tour guides who did my interview took her OWN, UNPAID time and showed me around campus in her pink slippers. So personal and neat to be able to get a real one on one perspective. Don't be afraid to ask questions and to be yourself.

    In three sentences

    A tight-knit community for geeks and nerds alike. Expensive but worth the money based on rankings. I am very excited to attend because of the campus and also the academics.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything! There seems like there's so much to do at WPI. For instance, Boston is fairly close by, and that's a huge area for activity.

    Food and Dining

    I wasn't able to eat at WPI, so I can't rate their food or dining experience, unfortunately.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life seems to be alright. I have a couple friends going there that say they have had no problems with their room mates or the housing directors.

    Academic Rigor

    No idea how academically challenging it is first hand, but I know that WPI has a reputation for requiring academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely ask about dorms and things, and try to get there when the cafeteria is open. When I went for a tour, it wasn't, and I wasn't able to see what the food was like, which was something I had hoped to do.

    In three sentences

    Worcester looks absolutely amazing. I was very impressed by everything I saw and could definitely see myself going here in the future.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    wpi has many fun things to do; there are clubs and sports. there is a ballroom dancing team and i believe that there is a pool. there are laboratories, too!

    Food and Dining

    yummy! certain foods are changed each day. meals rotate but they have pizza, pasta, cookies, sandwiches and other platters. it is in a buffet style and you can have as much as you want. i had the honor of having lunch in the campus dining area, and the food was great and the dining area was very comfortable. loved it!

    Academic Rigor

    i sat into a class and that was fun! i feel as though everyone will be challenged but will enjoy it. the class room that i was in had a favorable set up. the rows were in tiers like a stadium which allows people to not get blocked by those sitting in front.

    Tips for prospective students

    make yourself stand out; grades might be important but you want to have other activities with you. when you write your essay, write about something impressive and, as i said, stand out.

    In three sentences

    wpi has a wonderful campus with teachers who are there for the students, and not just because they passionate about what they teach. the college is amazing!

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police Right on Campus and always available.

    Greek Life

    Pretty Big at WPI. Lots of frats, not as many sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students who like math/science/engineering

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are pretty expensive but definetely worth it because you will graduate with a degree that will allow you to get a good job.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Greek Life

    Food and Dining

    Morgan Dining hall had a good amount of options but quality of food not very good. Dunkin Donuts and Quiznos in cafe area is nice, also outtakes is good quality food as well.

    Dorm Life

    The particular dorm I was in, Stoddard was not very nice. The showers/bathroom set-up was horrific and always moldy/musty. The dorm echoed and you could pretty much hear everyone down the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty difficult. I would suggest trying to go to as much extra help as possible along with the tutoring centers available.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like 7week terms and can focus and learn a large amount of material in a little time, this school is for you.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe that the campus police does an excellent job of ensuring the safety of the campus itself. That being said, reports are often received of incidents that occur on some of the streets adjacent to campus. In general, as long as you follow common sense and don't travel alone at night off campus, there is nothing to worry about.

    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of clubs at WPI is staggering, and there are several options for any given student, no matter the interests. If a club isn't for you, the events scheduled constantly by the different societies and committees can keep anyone busy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, there is a Freshman vs. Sophomore tug-of-war which culminates in the chase for the golden goat statue which always ends quite hilariously. As for locations, students will quickly learn that much of their time will be spent on the quad, which lies between the dining hall and some of the residence halls and the auditorium. On the quad is the Centennial Seal, which some think is cursed, and that anyone who steps on it will not graduate WPI in 4 years. Also, there is the fountain in the middle of campus, which many students congregate around, especially in the fall and spring.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that WPI is a very good quality for its price. It may be expensive, but at WPI a student can make the most of their college education both in learning and as a fun experience.

    What to do for fun

    WPI has an extremely wide variety of clubs and societies, ranging from Science fiction clubs, LARPing clubs, Game Development, Fencing, and more. Also, almost every weekend, a movie (typically shortly after they come out on dvd) is shown on a big screen in one of the lecture halls. These movies are not shown on a digital projector, but on an actual film reel. In addition, the social community committee, known as Soccom, arranges special activities throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food at WPI's cafeteria is interesting to say the least, and I believe that it is better quality than most other college cafeterias. That being said, many people often wish to have some variety in their eating, and there are a wide variety of different places around campus that students can go to get something different to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at WPI are very nice, and quickly develop small communities. The RA's are very good at helping members of their dorms to become closer friends. The dorms are (for the most part) clean and nice to live in, although individual rooms can always vary from the norm.

    Academic Rigor

    WPI has an extremely demanding curriculum, but it is also very rewarding. Students have a wide variety of resources to help them keep up with the fast paced courses, the greatest of which being the professors, who are always willing to offer personal help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate; this is the most important thing to remember at WPI. WPI's courses are split into 4 7 week terms, meaning that midterms occur 3 weeks after starting a course and finals are only another 3 weeks later. If you fall behind, it will be difficult to catch back up.

    In three sentences

    WPI is an excellent school to attend. The course loads may be imposing at first, but you will come to appreciate them later on. The campus is beautiful, set inside a big city, but walking around campus still feels relaxing and conducive to learning and fun.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police have an emergency phone number and they will help you out in any situation, from being locked out of your room to coming to your rescue if that were necessary. Police cars patrol the area at night, and there are emergency stations with blue lights situated all over campus that will contact the police at the push of a button. Security Night Assistance Patrol (SNAP) are vans that drive around campus where students can call to be picked up and driven to another destination until early morning; preventing accidents, drunk driving, or anyone from walking around by themselves at night.

    Greek Life

    Many of the students at WPI go Greek, it is a large part of the campus community and usually students will see sororities and fraternities holding events in order to raise money for their philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    An enormous variety of clubs for everyone ranging from Student Government to Greek Life to the Gaming Club to the Knitting Club, there are over 200 clubs on campusand more are forming every year. ! If you don't find one you like, you can apply to make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a close-knit small/medium school who want access to big city amenities close by and a tech-based education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman-sophomore rivalry events, Legends of the Golden Goat, Quadfest, and the Goat's Head.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are in-depth and fast-paced; where students take 12 classes per year (three classes per quarter) and there are a plethora of travel-abroad options for juniors and seniors. WPI offers many learning opportunities, inside and outside of the classroom.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the Worcester Art Museum, explore Bancroft Towers, walk down the street to get frozen yogurt at Wooberry, travel through Worcester visiting the other colleges nearby on the Woo Bus, and stroll down Shrewsbury Street to see all of the shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There are different dining options at WPI, main dining hall is adequate with a really good salad bar, to-go options and a wide variety of foods including gluten-free and vegetarian alternatives. The Goat's Head restaurant, the Campus Center, Dunkin' Donuts, Quiznos, and the Boynton are other options for food consumption around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Resident Advisors have programs that bring the dorms closer together and there are many opportunities during New Student Orientation to bond with your floormates. Very easy to get to know people, most floors are quite friendly and outgoing!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but conquerable if time and effort are put into them. Many options for aid if you look for it, tutors can be booked, teachers have office hours, and Math And Science Help (MASH) offers a more intimate learning environment with smaller groups and an upperclassman going over the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge WPI based on the fact that it is a technical school; the kids here are extremely smart and determined but also incredibly fun and involved in a wide variety of activities, not solely academics!

    In three sentences

    A small, tightly knit, friendly school packed full of a wide variety of clubs and activities for everyone to feel like they are at home. Classes can be larger for broad beginner classes, but teachers are very encouraging and helpful outside of the classroom. There are many resources that you can reach out to for scholarly success such as Tutors and Math And Science Help (MASH).

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything and anything, from climbing the huge tree in front of Alden, or sneaking into the classes at 12 a.m. writing nonsense on the chalkboards. If you are a fan of white boards, you will be extraordinarily pleased with the amount that are available to the students to write on.

    Food and Dining

    DAKA is pretty good. Remember, you are in control of what you eat. So if you decide to eat only fast food for two months, be prepared for the consequences.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm's are tiny, but it does give you the opportunity to make friends. So be prepared to be patient with your fellow roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is definitely not easy. For those of you looking for easy A's good luck. Everyone here has to complete a series of mandatory calculus classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management! Visit the school, and make sure you keep your mind open to new ideas. Have fun, college searching can be stressful so when you visit WPI, be interested in learning about the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to meet a lot of highly dedicated and hardworking students. Everyone here practically embodies the engineer stereotype, so if you are this type of person, you will feel at home. Tons of cool projects to work on and get involved in.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They all have their own reputations, it just depends on what type of person you are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal or you won't graduate in 4 years. Also other fun little fraternity and sorority superstitions and traditions.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and activities. From athletics to academics, and ROTC to fraternities and sororities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. Typical cafeteria food that gets boring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very friendly and there's always someone to talk to. Most are pretty smart and are willing to help out with any issue, whether it be family or school.

    Academic Rigor

    Very fast pace, but very simple if student is a fast learner.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police are awesome!

    Greek Life

    The traditions there are completely different from the stereotypical greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any sport you can think of, we got it.

    Great for these types of students

    Cool and somewhat nerdy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of your college life you walk other The Bridge and at the end you walk over it in the opposite direction. Everybody love Gompei the goat. We have a chill out spot called The Wedge, its the area that connects 2 of the dorms that's shaped like a wedge.

    Bang for the buck

    On-campus living could be more cost effective but it's worth its while.

    What to do for fun

    There are always interesting events taking place on campus. There are tons of extra-curricular activities. You just can't be bored on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options on campus to choose from and the food is of good quality,

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The rooms are comfortable and the environment is nice. The persons in charge are very understanding and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the class, if not all, are accelerated. We learn at least 3 entire courses in 7 weeks. But there are lots of resources on campus to help you get through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you housing, classes and everything sorted out early. Pay close attention to your checklist and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    The environment is great. The classes are good, if you are having a hard time there are lots of options around campus to get help from. The social environment is great.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WPI is great for students who want to get a project-based eduation while also working in groups. Also, WPI is for students who want to have limitless opportunities available to them because of the great services offered to them by the staff at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on around campus. There are numerous clubs that make it easy to fill up your free time, and WPI is constantly holding events in order to provide entertainment for everyone at all times.

    Food and Dining

    They are building a new freshmen dining hall. When talking to other students, all the students will say that the food is amazingly good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very well kept for college dorms. They provide adequate space even when there are four people to a room. WPI takes the time to hand-pick roommates based on a survey in order to make possible future friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Worcester Polytechnic Insitute is known for its great education, especially in the field of engineering. They have many connections with business around the world in order to provide the best education possible. They have the motto of Theory and Practice in order to encourage project-based learning, which is vital to the eduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply to a reach school with the chance yo might not get in, because who knows, you just might. I applied last minute because I was unsure and now I will be attending in the fall.

    In three sentences

    Worcester Polytechnic Institute is a campus within a city. It is enclosed enough to be a college while having many other colleges in the area to add appeal. Any student would be lucky to attend this college.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    there are options for a 5 year masters plan which will save money.

    Food and Dining

    Just updated daka which was great from the start. The Goatshead Restaurant offers other options for dining.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you live. As a freshman I reccommend a dorm on the Quad.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of class hours. Work depends on the classes you take. classes are generally fast-paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and talk to students

    In three sentences

    WPI is a great school which has a lot to offer. The school is up to date and the sports facilities are great. Greek life is a pretty important part of the school.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has it's own campus police center and is safe enough for people to walk around the campus and feel safe and at home.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for anyone, people who like sports, chess, go, anime, and martial arts are just some of the many.

    What to do for fun

    There's a large variety of clubs on campus, the Society Committee and Residence Hall Committee keeps the campus full of events, there's also music venues and theaters not far from campus that you can go to.

    Food and Dining

    While it isn't gourmet, the meals given through the meal plan are far better than your old high school's meals and there are options to eat at a restaurant just off campus for some plans.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderful, there aren't many horrors like you hear about the showers and the bathrooms and the rooms are nice and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The school operates on 7 week terms, you'll be able to take 3 classes as a full time student and complete them in half a semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Do your work. Go to class.

    In three sentences

    I am a current student here at WPI in my freshman year and the campus is wonderful, the student population is generally welcoming and the classes rigorous and engaging; definitely my top pick for a school.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. As for anywhere you just have to be aware of your surroundings

    What to do for fun

    Soccom hosts a lot of activities (movies, fun day, relaxation, give aways)

    Food and Dining

    A lot of variety but sometimes it gets a bit tiring

    Dorm Life

    RA's do a good job in planning activities for student s to do

    Academic Rigor

    Emphasis placed on doing well but also knowing how it applies to real world problems

    Tips for prospective students

    Brace yourself for a 7 week course. It goes by pretty quickly

    In three sentences

    The students, professors and faculty are friendly The is project based which helps and prepares you for the real world Students get to go away to do projects in the junior and senior year

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    WPI offers many vans to transport students from campus to anywhere within a mile radius. There is no need to be walking around Worcester late at night. Let SNAP ( the transportation service) take you there!

    Greek Life

    Although I am not a part of Greek life, I have heard that WPI has a great Greek Life. There is no hazing whatsoever. Greek life at WPI is what Greek life is supposed to be; a support group that brings students together.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds! We're all a bunch of nerds who enjoy being in each other's company and having fun. We have all types of nerds including math, science, Pokemon, and computer nerds. And that's not all! We have a variety of nerds that have one thing in common; we are passionate about school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal! Its a tradition at WPI to avoid stepping on the cursed seal. No one wants to risk not graduating on time.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do on campus. Whether it be free comedies, movies, or other miscellaneous events, WPI does a great job in combining academics with a great, fun experience

    Tips for prospective students

    WPI makes students take part in two major projects by the time students graduate. If this sounds like the kind of experience you'll like, apply!

    In three sentences

    Worcester Polytechnic Institute is a wonderful school that greatly focuses on hands on learning as well as learning from books. Campus life is great and exciting making attending WPI both fun and challenging. The faculty is also very helpful and they will do their best to help a student out whenever they need it.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a vehicle that you can call that will pick you up and take you anywhere within a mile radius of the campus. Warnings sent out by campus police regarding anything relating to safety.

    Greek Life

    Very involved in the school and surrounding communities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Help you meet upperclassmen and other freshmen with similar interests!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, self driven students. Those good at math and science who plan on pursuing a career in those fields.

    Bang for the buck

    Prepares you for real world challenges and the work force.

    What to do for fun

    Meet great people throughout your first semester through school sponsored events! Fraternities and sororities are a great way to get involved as well as joining any club!

    Food and Dining

    Carb-based cuisine in the main dining facility. The buffet style is almost too tempting for the Freshmen 15.

    Dorm Life

    Great community, dirty bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast-paced learning makes WPI unique, difficult, and intriguing to employers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop time management skills and be familiar with your best study habits!

    In three sentences

    A fast-paced curriculum teaches students how to learn under pressure. This is a great transition to the working world. It's small enough that you see familiar faces but big enough that you meet new people everyday!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many different clubs, sports and fraternities/sororities to keep you busy if you like to be involved in organized activities. Being located in Worcester there are always many things to do and it is an exciting place to live.

    Food and Dining

    Many freshman frequent Morgan Commons for all their meals due to its proximity. They serve many different types of foods and accommodate to any dietary needs. The food is usually pretty decent but some can get bored with it easily so they will go to Goat's Head or Outtakes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at WPI is very nice and has helped me make many friendships. The rooms are decently sized and very clean. Bathrooms are large enough that I rarely have to wait to shower and they are cleaned twice a day.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman I can say that my classes so far have been manageable. I haven't seen a large difference in the amount of effort I put into my high school work versus college work. As I get further into my field I expect that the classes will get harder but by that time I will have the skills needed to succeed. It is really nice that you only have 3 classes per term because you can really focus on those classes and they are classes that you actually want to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest mistake I made was listening to all the stereotypes about this school. People said it was a big nerd school and that I wouldn't be happy if I went there. But they couldn't be more wrong. Yes this is a school where people value academics, but it is filled with many different types of people. Visiting campus is the best thing to do to get a feel for the school. If you do decide to atttend here know that you will find your place on campus in no time.

    In three sentences

    I am so glad that I choose to go to WPI for my secondary education. I have only attended for 1 semester and I could not be happier. It offers rigorous academics, interesting activities and friendships that I hope last a lifetime.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Am considering Greek life. Can be very time consuming but can make a lot of contacts.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart but fun loving students. Lots of activities going on.

    Bang for the buck

    WPI has been named high on the list for Bang for the buck. They have one of the highest paid grads in the country.

    What to do for fun

    Worcester Palladium has some great concerts and DCO is not far from the college and lots of other colleges are close to visit.

    Food and Dining

    Eh. Not too bad but I'm a picky eater!

    Dorm Life

    I met a lot of great friends in my dorm and also in other dorms during freshmen orientation.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but I still managed to achieve A's and B's and Dean's List.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rule out this school thinking it is a tech school. It is far from it and the opportunities here are endless.

    In three sentences

    As a new freshmen at WPI, I have met some exceptionally talented and exciting people, both professors and students. I am happy I made my choice coming here, it is a wonderful campus. The Greek life is fun and my academic studies are challenging and great!

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    blue light emergency phones always in sight and campus police roam the campus constantly.

    Clubs and Activities

    A club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, Break the mold types will fit in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you step on the seal in the Quad, you are cursed not to graduate in four years. The secret organization of the sculls has been tapping new members, the elite of the school, for over thirty years.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely an education worth the expense.

    What to do for fun

    There are Frat parties every weekend and many clubs to join on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Chart-wells, the dining service, will undoubtedly give you a nasty case of dakareah (google it)... But, there are some good restaurants just down the street from campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is a great dorm community facilitated by amazing RAs but the cost can be a bit pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    The seven week terms are intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    The curriculum is not easy. And it is very cold in the winter.

    In three sentences

    WPI is project oriented and engages out of the box thinking in all students. Professors truly care about expanding their student's minds and always are available to answer any questions. Everyone here loves to learn.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a superstition that if you step on the school seal in the middle of the Quad as a student at WPI, you will not graduate.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the student cafeteria was excellent. I am allergic to both gluten and dairy and was gladly surprised that I could eat several of the entrees that tasted delicious! They also had a special area for those with allergies that was stocked with allergen-free substitutes for foods such as bread and milk.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seemed small with 3 students living in the same tiny room.

    Academic Rigor

    WPI is very project based so every year there is a major project.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Worcester is not a safe place to live. Campus police does a good job of keeping students aware of that, but I can say that I don't feel 100% safe there, especially after dark.

    Greek Life

    So many frats and a good number of sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Type A personalities, nerds, and those with mild obsessive compulsive tendencies. You have to stay organized to excel here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is believed that if you step on the seal on the quad, you won't graduate in 4 years.

    Bang for the buck

    You will not regret getting your education here. You will feel well-prepared for the next step in your life, whether that is graduate school or a career.

    What to do for fun

    Hardly anything. Be prepared for work, not fun. Worcester is not a safe place to live, never mind play.

    Food and Dining

    The dining plan is outrageously priced, and it tastes ok. Once you swipe in you can eat as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    In your first year the resident advisors are great with regards to fostering a community in the residence halls. Everyone is very close and it's a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Be aware of the four 7-week terms. They go incredibly quickly, and you are expected to learn large volumes of material in short periods of time. The fast paced learning environment helps you to get really involved in the material, but you cannot let yourself get behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a faculty advisor that you feel comfortable with as soon as possible, this will really help you succeed at this school.

    In three sentences

    WPI is a great, small, learning community. It is not a competitive atmosphere at truly fosters cooperative learning. The faculty genuinely cares about helping students succeed in all aspects of their education.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there's a wide selection of clubs and activities as well as a very nice on campus gym which is open to all students. Off campus, there is the Worcester Art Museum and a great selection of restaurants and shopping areas. Plus, Worcester is less than an hour from Boston, which triples the amount of cool things to do.

    Food and Dining

    During the overnight we had dinner that night and breakfast the next morning. The food was typical dorm food, but there was a wide selection of it. There were also vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options and everything was designed to keep allergens out of foods they're not supposed to be in. Nothing there was particularly healthy, but there was a pretty decent salad bar at dinner and fruit selection in the morning.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I stayed in during the overnight was nice for a dorm, clean and in working order. There was one shared bathroom for the floor and in this particular three floor dorm the 1st and 3rd floors were boys' dorms and the 2nd was girls'. I don't find that problematic, but I know some prospective students (or their parents) might. There seemed to be a strong sense of community between the students.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, I've never taken a course at WPI, but from what I've heard from friends who are students learning to self-schedule is a must. I've also been advised to take easier courses for your first term and to repeat the last mathematics course you took in high school (for me that would be taking Calc II again).

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student I think visiting the campus really helped me confirm WPI as my top choice. I was able to do an overnight program for prospective students, which allowed me to better experience life on campus. If you get the chance to participate in this program do it. It's so much more helpful than just seeing the campus for an hour on a tour.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and in a better part of Worcester than some of the other college campuses in the city. The unique term schedule, from what I've heard from current students, makes the academically rigorous courses easier to manage. The campus life is vibrant, but the students are academically focused at the core.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are safe on campus... But just make sure you travel in groups of 2 or more if its past 10 at night !

    Greek Life

    Our college has one of the best Greek Life in the Nation... We have all kinds of different frats and sororities. You will know which one to join when you get here.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs here.. Just chose wisely, as they WILL make you do work !

    Great for these types of students

    Nerdy... Weird... Party hoppers... Basketball players.... Internationals !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    hmm, DO NOT STEP ON THE SCHOOL'S SEAL or you will NOT graduate in time !!!!

    Bang for the buck

    One you graduate you will earn a LOT !...

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life ! or Hit up Clark university if you want to party. Although if you are into sports there are a lot of intramural clubs that you can join on campus. And also there is theater if anyone is interested in that

    Food and Dining

    Ok guys, the food sucks... I hate daka (our dining hall)

    Dorm Life

    Depends on which dorm you live in. Try to get the ones closest to the Dining Hall !

    Academic Rigor

    Oh its hard !.. but not impossible. You have to be able to know how to manage time !

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get above a 1600 on your SAT and you will be fine. Although do as many AP courses as you can !

    In three sentences

    Its a combination of everything. You will find nerdy CS majors to football jocks and guys like me that are in the middle. If you can't handle too much workload then I suggest not coming here.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school mascot is a goat and all freshmen try to get at least one picture with the goat within the year.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join, places to eat, and buildings to visit. The Art museum and a beautiful park is right next to the campus. There are often events or festivals going on as well.

    Food and Dining

    There used to be complains about the monotony of the food, so the administration took care of that with a more diverse food schedule, new meals, and a hot plate station.

    Dorm Life

    There are often three people in a room. Their dorm room floors are divided by gender. (Everybody wants to dorm in Riley Hall. the ceilings are high and the rooms seem bigger)

    Academic Rigor

    This is a school were students come to learn. Going there with other intentions may not be a good idea.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go onto the campus and talk to the people. Get a feel on if you can see yourself there. Ask many questions to people on campus.

    In three sentences

    The people are nice and ready to learn. The campus is beautiful. Administration wants you to succeed and gives generous financial aid.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is great. The sororities are really fun and involved. There are so many fraternities that there is a place for every kind of guy. They throw parties every weekend and some of the themes are really fun. Greek week is a blast, too. Anyone that is looking for a social life should rush, even if its just to make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal. Don't call the cafeteria anything other than DAKA.

    What to do for fun

    Join Greek life. They throw plenty of parties around campus. Wooberry has great froyo. There are movies showing every week. Basketball games and other sports are fun to watch with friends. Lots of great delivery options for food.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has pretty good food and there is always a different option for dinner. There is pasta and pizza every night along with a salad bar, grill, sandwich station, etc. Large selection of drinks available too.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of the dorms are triples so they are big rooms. Some times it can be a tight fit but most of the rooms are pretty spacious, especially when triples only have two people living in them which happens pretty often. Everyone becomes great friends with the people on their floor and there is a common room on every floor. The all girls floors usually are pretty quiet and clean so if you want to study in a dorm, find a friend that lives on one.

    Academic Rigor

    Meet with professors the second you think you do not understand something. The curriculum moves extremely quickly and before you know it, you are falling behind. There is no time to fix a bad score on an exam so every grade counts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you dedicate time and effort to each class. Make sure that get involved in fun activities. Don't skip classes because each class covers new material every day and there are no reviews. Definitely look into Greek life as it is a huge presence on campus and a lot of fun!

    In three sentences

    I can not say enough good things about this school. Sure, it is a challenging curriculum but if you put in the work, there is nothing stopping you from exceeding. It is a fabulous community of students who are truly dedicated to learning.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Worcester can be a bit of a sketchy city, but the campus police do a really good job of keeping WPI safe. It's still a little freaky walking alone at night, but I totally trust that I'll make it back to my dorm safe. Also, there are tons of those blue light emergency things floating around, so if anything were to ever happen, you'll be set.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you step on the seal in the center of the quad, it means you won't graduate on time. In order to counteract this bad ju-ju, you have to sprint to the Gompeii statute across the quad and kiss it.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on, whether it's a football game, Greek Life event, SocComm barbecue or a pick-up game of ultimate frisbee. Sometimes you have to go out of your way to find the fun stuff to do, but it's well worth the effort.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is really good, especially for college food. There are always a lot of options and the chocolate chip cookies are absolutely addicting. Sometimes, though, the options can be a little lame, but 4 out of 5 times, you'll have something really good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part, everyone is really nice and welcoming. If you leave your door open, people will just stop by to talk or hang out. You get to know your floormates pretty well, however, a lot of people don't like to mingle and you're like Wait he lives here?? There's also not that much to do in the dorms, but often times people will have impromptu movie nights or Rock Band tournaments. It's a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty tough and there is always a ton of homework, but as long as you stay on top of your assignments and the materials you should be fine. Also, if you're struggling with something, there are tons of resources available to help you out, whether it's the tutoring center or that really smart dude down the hall, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, come visit the campus. I had no interest in WPI, then I went on a tour and I thought, I really like this place. The school has this great welcoming and energetic vibe that you can't get from looking it up online. Also, don't give up the school based on how expensive it is. I got a decent amount of financial aid, so the price tag isn't all that bad.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is welcoming, the campus is awesome, and there is always something to do. I don't regret my choice at all. WPI feels like home.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I loved the campus. It was not too big and in city, but still had an actual campus unlike some of the other schools in Boston I've looked at. I also liked that I don't have to decide right off what my major will be.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for the institute is a bit much, but it is worth it in the end because you are pretty much guaranteed a job straight out of college as soon as you get a degree.

    What to do for fun

    Ice skating, roller skating, trampolines, exercise, hang out with friends, rock climbing, yoga, zumba, dance and eating! Or just join a club on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and do a boat load of work. Don't be afraid to ask for help. The professors here are always willing to help because they understand how difficult the material can be and how heavy the work load is, especially for new students who are making the transition to the new school. Make sure you do the work. If you don't understand what's going on at least attempt to do the work and you can always ask a professor with whatever you're stuck on. Most importantly give you're all. Unlike high school, college is not a competition to see who can reach the highest level of the academic status, instead it's an individual challenge for each student that will determine the outcome of their future in the long run.

    In three sentences

    The campus and the people at WPI are beautiful. The work load and the material taught in the institute is a real challenge. There are many resources and opportunities available to make the most out your college experience.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is very prevalent on campus along with blue lights that allow campus police to locate you if their is a problem. Two blue lights can be seen at any point on campus at all times. Even walking back from academic buildings at night is not an issue even for female students.

    Greek Life

    Two-thirds of our campus is involved in greek life. You can be nonaffiliated and still participate in greek events. Many of the events on campus are held by greek life. Greek life can be as interesting and fun as you want it to be. It is a way to network and make connections that will last a lifetime.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions include the freshmen verses sophomores rivalry for the Goat's Head, Rope Pull, Eskimo Relay Race, Suitcase Semi-formal, Jeopardy, Trivia, among others.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends, working out in the gym, climbing the bouldering wall, watching movies, attending a social committee event, hiking, participating in a Residential Hall Council event, joining an intramural sport, signing up for a new club... honestly, the possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    Let's face it. Dining in any college will be different from what you are used to at home. I will not lie. Food is edible, but you will find this at practically any college. You will never be left starving on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely amazing! Not even joking, I have become friends with half of my class through living in a dorm. Dorms are especially important for making connections with students who will be supportive of you and what you will accomplish.

    Academic Rigor

    Worcester Polytechnic Institute is an academically challenging school. More than half of the students attending graduated in the top 5 percent of their graduating class from high school. The professors expect students to put a tremendous amount of time into their studies. Quite frankly, students are at college to learn and apply the tools needed to succeed in the future endeavors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most important tip when searching for a college: be open to all possibilities because you never know where you will end up.

    In three sentences

    By submitting my deposit to WPI, I had no idea that I was making the best decision of my life! Honestly, I cannot see myself anywhere else for college. WPI has more to offer students: one-on-one interactions with professors to hand-on projects within the first year!

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Superb. I never though Worcester could feel so safe.

    Greek Life

    The best thing, in my opinion about WPI. The parties are excellent, and is a great social atmosphere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent. The highlight of my day.

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who like video games and electronics. I guess you could say nerds. It's to be expected though, this is a technical school after all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a seal in the middle of campus. There is a jinx that if you step on it you will not graduate in four years.

    Bang for the buck

    If you study hard, you will get a job. If you get mediocre grades, you still have a decent shot at employment because WPI is on you resume. But this school is expensive and the financial aid given out is almost nonexistent to students who didn't get a 4.0 GPA and reinvent the wheel.

    What to do for fun

    Join a Fraternity or a Sorority. Play on a sports team or a club unless you enjoy being quirky. This school is about eighty percent: kids who enjoy electronics and in some a cases a quiet night compare to the other twenty percent: kids who went to college for not only an education, but an experience.

    Food and Dining

    Daka, the nickname for our schools cafeteria, is alright. Very consistent but does get bland. At the campus center there is a good amount of choices but does get pricy. Get the VIP meal plan. It's worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are accommodating. Not the cleanest but enough space to get work done and create a decent social atmosphere for your friends to hang out in.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a hard school. You will study your butt off if you want to do well. A conscious effort will only get you a 2.5 GPA. If natural ability carried you through high school like it did for me, you will need to step it up in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and eventually you will meet your friends for life. College can and should be the time of your life, or at least the tart of it. Study hard and don't get caught being belligerently intoxicated in your dorms hallway.

    In three sentences

    This is a world class school, but with this being said it comes at a world class price with an expected world class wealth of knowledge. You're making an excellent choice in this school and it can and will set you up for the life. There are many resources like tutoring and office hours that can ensure your success here.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great Food!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how to manage your time.

    In three sentences

    WPI has a very beautiful campus. The teachers are very helpful and care about the students. The courses are not easy but there are plenty of places where one can receive help.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a blue light system and shuttle system to keep you safe.

    Greek Life

    One of the best Greek to Non-Greek campus relationships.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 200 clubs and activities!!!

    Great for these types of students

    It really is a melting pot of student's at WPI, from the jock who likes Pokemon to the to the nerd who is on the crew team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You walk on the earl bridge when you get here with your entering class. When you graduate, you walk in the opposite direction symbolizing the completion of your undergraduate career.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has a great reputation, the average starting salary is around 60,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    Study!!!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the main dinning center is usually good, you are able to eat at an on campus restaurant twice a week with your residential meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are alright, but they could be better.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem to be extremely hard. Some of the classes, you will need to rely on a scale. The lowest math class offered is calc 1.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out what majors you would be interested in if you wanted to attend. Also think about if you would be interested in doing you Interactive Qualifying Project abroad (more than 50% do).

    In three sentences

    Be prepared to do a lot of work. The classes are harder here than at another school for some reason. Their are always people willing to help you.