Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Yakima Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/15/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    all the people their seem very friendly and outgoing

    Will learn a lot

    i spent the past two summers at the YVCC and the teachers seem like they really know what they are talking about and easy to understand.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    you can do it! work hard

    Will learn a lot

    It looks like a really great school with a good vet tech program!

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who look forward for a good community college experience!

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for financial help as soon as possible, if you need a job the school can help you find one fast.

    Will enjoy being here

    Will visiting the students and staff were really friendly and motivative

    Will learn a lot

    I haven't attended but the counselors said that it will make you prepare for the future

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    depends on what time of the day that your classes are.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    great if you are still undecided about what you want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    if you live at home this is a good value.

    What to do for fun

    there is a park there, the mall is about 5 mins from that campus and they have different kinds of clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    their food is greasy and they don't have that much variety. they have a little kitchen that student can buy lunch and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, i make to commute everyday but i have heard that they are descent.

    Academic Rigor

    its pretty flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you keep in contact with you advisers to keep on track of your degree.

    In three sentences

    good place to go if your undecided about what you want to go to school for. it is a smaller campus, and the classes are pretty reasonable.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    too many older people. don't like the weather. i want a college environment.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I didn't have time for fun, I work full-time and attend school as a full-time student.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a pretty decent variety at a good price. The dining staff is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the courses you are taking, and the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you talk to your advisor on a regular basis. Take charge of your own school experience by checking your degree audit to make sure you are on the right path.

    In three sentences

    Yakima Valley Community College has a nice, hometown feel. Small class size makes it easy to get the help you need. There are a lot of resources available such as a well staffed math lab and English center, as well as free tutoring available.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a large security force that patrols the campus regularly. Off campus is a little less safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and various activities throughout the school year.

    Great for these types of students

    Determined, transfer, technical training.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is available and even without it you get an excellent education at an excellent price.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs on campus and there's plenty to do in Yakima.

    Food and Dining

    there's a cafeteria, I've never eaten at it. I hear mixed reviews about it.

    Dorm Life

    I know it exists, but not many of us use it.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes are tough, but excellent. There is an excellent variety of classes offered and you can pick easy ones if you want to, unless your going into the sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best, teachers will love you for it! They are here to help you, not to make you miserable, take advantage of the opportunities you get.

    In three sentences

    YVCC is an excellent college to get started at. There are a lot of teachers who are genuinely interested in your progress and want to help you attain your goals. There are also many opportunities for support.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    good college to start your year studying.

    In three sentences

    its a good college. close where i live so i dont have to espend too much money on gas. teachers are great they are easy to understand them.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Yakima has mountains, water and Sun 300 days a year. Get.out and visit the wineries, area food vendors and farmers markets. It has a lot to offer u just have to look.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid.is hard to maneuver. Get there early and ask a lot of.questions.

    In three sentences

    Yvcc is not a hard school if u think outside the box and work hard. We have some of the best programs I'm Washington.state. I appreciate their willingness to.offer classes to non traditional students.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always available, use their services when needed (lock your keys in the car?) Keep your car locked and valuables out of site.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, Christian Bible study, and MEChA.

    Bang for the buck

    Rent or buy books online they are cheaper online than at bookstore or borrow and trade with friends. Also check out library if copy on hand. Get all texts before classes start so you don't get behind on homework. Join a club or two...

    What to do for fun

    Movies, Bowling, Meadowbrook arcade center (mini golf, batting, cages, bumper cars etc)...

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria closes too early 2:30 ish so plan dinner off campus..

    Academic Rigor

    You are not in high school anymore, be organized and turn in all assignments on time. If you are going to be absent or have trouble with an assignments ask the instructor early before assignment is due.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find an advisor or counselor knowledgeable in your choice of study. Get Math and Lab classes out of the way from the beginning. The subject you hate the most will come back to haunt you in the end. So get it out of the way as soon as possible. Check out Tutoring in the tutoring center or online tutoring. Know your available resources at the Library and order books for research papers early. Never give up if you don't find the answer you need ask someone else.

    In three sentences

    YVCC has excellent resources and educational services available to all students whom want to be successful. Which include the following labs: Math, English and Writing, Biology(Tutoring Center), Study Lab (Media Center). Not to mention the Library and quiet area.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is usually something that the ASB staff puts together for the students to do outside of class time. For example, there has been times where they have discounted tickets for sale to the Seattle Seahawks game.

    Food and Dining

    There is a section of the school where they serve food and varieties of it. I would usually go there for lunch and the pricing wasn't bad and neither was the food.

    Dorm Life

    Well there isn't dorm life but you definitely get the college feel.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always room for success it is just the matter of putting in the time and using the resources available to yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the prerequisite courses out of the way and manage time efficiently for better success.

    In three sentences

    It has been helpful to me having a community college here in my home town. I like how the biology classes that I have taken are usually one on one with the instructor. I feel that are many useful resources.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security, I would not walk at night alone though.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many the school has a great website with all of the information.

    Great for these types of students

    Love outdoors, and all four seasons.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap compared to most University's.

    What to do for fun

    Yakima has four seasons so anything from snowboarding to swimming

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Classess were challenging in a good way!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselor from day one and make sure you stay on track with your degee plan. Only take classes that you need to take!

    In three sentences

    Great city to attend college, people are friendly. Staff is helpful. Counselors are so nice and attentive.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were always campus security, in groups of two or more, walking around or on their bikes from the earliest class periods till every single building closed. i never felt unsafe even when i had night classes.

    Greek Life

    Since YVCC is only a Junior college they didn't have a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    YVCC has a lot of academic clubs. Like brothers and sisters unites, chem club, psych club, Spanish club and lots more. Plus like i previously mentioned the entire school was very involved in all the athletic programs that were offered there.

    Great for these types of students

    I think YVCC is great for athletes, all the sports teams were really close and supported each other through everything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think we have any unusual traditions about our school. One thing that i think is really cool is that the campus is open in certain areas almost all the time. The gym was open even on weekends and so was our lab room. Our music/arts building was open till late at night to anyone so they could come play the piano or paint whenever they would like even if they aren't in a music or art class. To me that was really cool how they were always promoting our desires.

    Bang for the buck

    YVCC is a very well priced college. Books are a little expensive but thats kind of how most schools are. After registering for a University i feel like i definitely got a great education for how much i paid, which now seemed like nothing! My professors were very well educated, my chemistry teacher actually graduated from Harvard with her Doctorate degree which is kind of amazing! I also played basketball at YVCC and i had some of the greatest experiences through that. if you can go to college and play a sport i would recommend it! College sports are hard but in the end makes you such a better person.

    What to do for fun

    The school its self sets up a couple things a semester for students to get together and have fun. We do a dance every semester, and a food social where the school buys us all pizza n we play silly little, plus a student vs staff game for whatever sport was going on that semester. Our spring social is the most fun since they bring out a rock wall, a DJ, pizza and henna tattoos. This school really tries to get you connected not only to the staff but to each other and build life long friendships.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food was actually a lot better than i thought it was. Our hub (cafeteria) opened early so I was always able to grab a good breakfast after morning practice and before class for a good price. It was nice to see that they had simple things that we could just grab and go and for students on a budget but still try and eat healthy. We also had a coffee shop which saved a lot of us on cold early winter days. Plus the people who worked there got to know most people really fast which was nice to be recognized.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms my freshman year and it was a decision I am very glad i made. I went to yakima without knowing a single person but my basketball coach and it was a little scary. But once i got moved in and spent my first night in the student rec room I met so many people and some really great friends that Yakima soon felt like home. It also helped a lot to have a support group so close to me when my teammate died, it was like i had a second family to lean on and it helped so much.

    Academic Rigor

    With college doing your homework a little bit every night is super important!! Unlike in high school college professors wont slow down if you get confused so you have to be the one to keep yourself on track and remembering everything you've learned from day one. Plus take advantage of the extra tools your teachers give you. One of my professors recorded her lectures and at first I never watched them but at the end of the semester I tried it and it helped me so much, you catch a lot more the second time you hear something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most students try to do it all by yourself but asking your advisor for guidance helps so much. Knowing the classes you need to take and creating a balanced class schedule can be overwhelming but when i used my ad visor everything became easier. Also, even if you are enrolled in a big class still try to communicate with your professor as much as possible. All professors want something different and its best to find out exactly what each one wants right off the back before its to late to recover.

    In three sentences

    YVCC is a great transition school for students to get used to being in college. They have amazing professors and since class sizes are like that in high school they learn your name and really help you reach your goals for that class. One of the greatest things about YVCC was their free student help centers, you were able to get a tutor that worked around your schedule for no cost at all and it helps tremendously not only with class but also with connecting to other students.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The school has several clubs. For example the Nursing club. The honor student clubs, christian bible club, Transfer club and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    A few teachers also have research projects students can help with. For example I help a professor with a chimpanzee project which has allowed me to learn more about chimps.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are all types of different activities to do. Such as becoming a student leader.

    Food and Dining

    Their a cafeteria in the hub that open early morning until about 2pm. The sell breakfast and lunch. The school also has espressos located in different buildings in the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I live with my parents, but I am still responsible for helping buy groceries for what I will eat. I also can't be out real late during the week. I bellieve the dorms are a very nice place to live in though.

    Academic Rigor

    College is not easy, you must be willing to put in a lot of time to doing homework and study. Must follow all the syllabus rules. Most importantly be in class everyday on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of using all possible resources offered at the college. Study everyday must learn time management.

    In three sentences

    Yakima Valley is a great school. I receive all the help possible from all the sources available such as the writing center and tutoring center. I am glad I chose to go here I couldn't have asked for such amazing professors.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers at this college are much better than others. I believe that is everywhere though. I do believe that I have learned a lot at this college that will help me achieve my academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are expecting to receive financial aid make sure everything is turned in on time. If you have questions ask and stay on top of things.

    In three sentences

    Overall it is a good school to start your education at. Getting financial aid can be a really hard process. However, that is minor compared to the education you receive.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i most likely wont be eating for there because there are lots of fast foods around and also my moms house is short by.

    Dorm Life

    This will not be necessary for my living options.

    Academic Rigor

    i havent experienced this yet

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice would be to find scholarships early. Also you should check into the classes that you want or might want to take. Another thing would be to talk to your advisor to set things straight.

    In three sentences

    Yakima valley community college is a great way to explore your career. They have classes all though the day to fit your schedule, and also have online classes. If you need help with any classes they have studies and help in any subject.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club your interested in

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria and they have a variety but they have two coffee shops with tons of snacks

    Dorm Life

    Im not sure I dont live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier then others. I really feel like its dependent on the person

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Ask questions if you need help and make sure you develop rapport with your teachers

    In three sentences

    The teachers and counselors are very knowledgeable. I like the set up of the campus. And everyone is there to help you succeed

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is overall safe and everyone here comes to better themselves and treats everyone with kindness. You don't have to worry about being monitored if you have any weapons because these is a gun free school zone and its safe to be a student here.

    Greek Life

    there isn't any Greek life here sorry

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't clubs here at YVCC in grandview because they are all in the main campus in Yakima. I am in the trio program which helps me with books and informs me of colleges. We also take trip to go visit schools and trio helps me with filling out scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    YVCC is great for students that are scared to go right into a University or just want to be close to home. It is also cheaper for students who cant afford living in a dorm right away. It also prepares the student into whats to come if they further their career into a 4year or more school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well right when you walk in there are a few tables if you want to study but can get noisy at times with students passing by. There is an espresso shop that used to be open but now its closed sorry. But mainly people just study and really nothing fun to do. The cost is also cheaper to go here for my associates and still live with my parents before moving into a university.

    Bang for the buck

    YVCC has made me a better person and is going to help me get my degree in sociology one day. I will be graduating with my associates degree in June 2013 and will be transferring to WSU for my maters in sociology. I am the first in my generation to graduate from high school and even go onto college for a better life. I hope i make my family proud and show my sisters and brother that it is possible to have a better life.

    What to do for fun

    You can join the school committee and run for specific things. Help do fundraisers or organize days to have chilly for students yummy. But overall nothing really in the grandview campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines here at the Grandview campus but no dining areas sorry.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here at Grandview campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Every instructor has different grading critiques but just make sure to always follow and so what the instructor is asking for. Read everything carefully and study days before a test. Don't procrastinate and enjoy college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to tutoring if you need help and don't be afraid to ask for help. Engage with people and make life long connections. Study hard and pay attention in class.

    In three sentences

    YVCC is a wonderful school that gets students to interact with instructors one on one. There are many resources to help students that are struggling in different subjects. Its a friendly atmosphere and not to big or too small, just right!

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of campus police walking around and keeping an eye on things

    Clubs and Activities

    Math, science, etc

    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs

    Food and Dining

    Food is very average - not bad, but not great.

    Dorm Life

    don't live in a dorm. Most people do not live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early to secure a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    It has some great teachers. Book store often does not have the required texts in at the begining of the quarter. Parking is a hassle.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety and security guards make sure everyone on campus is safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    I am having a great experience at YVCC.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is always fun because their is always new people to talk to and socialize with. The clubs and organizations are also really fun to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The HUB is great and is very to access from anywhere on the campus. Great food and amazign espresso stand.

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in a dorm, but have heard great things.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tough, but teachers are willing to help if you try hard. Teachers have office hours where they are free for their students to come and ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with your advisors and use the resources provided by the school.

    In three sentences

    YVCC is very small, but it is great for students just beginning college. Great teachers and small class sizes. An amazing campus with great resources.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Great for these types of students

    Working. Single parents. Lower-income.

    Bang for the buck

    Saving thousands while getting the same education I would receive at university.

    What to do for fun

    Yakima has many activities to suit college lifestyle and it isn't too far away from major cities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community colleges take themselves even more seriously than universities so I suggest you do the same.

    In three sentences

    Small classes allow for easier and more relaxed learning. The instructors are excellent. Wide variety of classes and career pathways.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Hub is great.

    In three sentences

    I had a great experience at Yakima. The teachers are very caring. And the business staff get straight to business.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun at YVCC, you can join some of the many clubs that they offer. There are also multiple arcades for people to go hang out at in Yakima. Most people like to float the Yakima River when it gets pretty hot outside. Camping, playing sports, skateboarding, and biking are a couple of fun things that you can do in Yakima.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria at YVCC is great. They have a ton of different foods to select from that can fit any kind of diet. There are also multiple restaurants surrounding the YVCC campus, such as taco bell and Mcdonalds. They have a large amount of space for people to hang out and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I haven't stayed in the dorms but from what I have heard the dorm life is alright. There is a huge lounge with activities for the students staying in the dorms, and I have heard that its a pretty cool place to hang out. However, I have also heard that the dorm rooms are super small so most students complain about their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that certain instructors are very strict on their course work and what they expect from their students, but it isn't something to worry about if you are a hard worker. The academics you will learn at YVCC are going to be challenging, but not too harsh. All instructors expect work to be turned in on time, and late work is not tolerated. If you study hard, and give a hundred percent effort you will succeed at YVCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to other students to always be in class on time or earlier. Some instructors are very strict about starting as soon as possible, so it is in the students best interest to be in class a little earlier. It is very important to study the material during each quarter for every class because it will help improve your grades. Also, I would suggest to students to get involved with a club offered at YVCC in order to be involved with other students to make the college life a lot more interesting.

    In three sentences

    I can honestly say that YVCC is a very motivating school with good intentions for their students. The school environment is extraordinary, and YVCC focuses on the students best interests. The instructors at YVCC are very knowledgeable and flexible, which makes things easier on the students.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. I never felt uncomfortable during night class as the campus is well lit. Security is always on call.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of choices of food for fair prices in the HUB.

    Academic Rigor

    Fair amount of work. Not an over abundance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your assigned work, its your grade. Do not be late. Get to know your instructors, you may make new friends.

    In three sentences

    YVCC has a lot to offer a two year student, with instructors that are passionate and enjoy sharing what they have to offer students. The campus is updated beautifully and clean. Every time I walk onto campus my head perks up and I look forward to what YVCC has in store for me.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safely monitored by security guards that help patrol the campus and keep order. They also help escort you to an locations of your feel threatened or uneasy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chemistry Club Business Club Dental Hygiene Club MESA Club Pre-Med Club Veterans Club etc.. and many more

    Great for these types of students

    The library is a great place for studying sessions and tutoring classes are available as well. Speaking frequently with your adviser also helps significantly because they will help your keep you on track and give you with the academic plans you have established.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not experienced any unusual traditions yet because I am currently enrolling. But I am excited to see those usual traditions one day on the future.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is definitely a good investment because they provide financial help for any person that applies as well as scholarships options and other sources of help for tuition and books.

    What to do for fun

    There is certainly a diverse amount of programs that you can join on campus. From Christians groups to Athletic organizations. There is something for anyone to feel more involved and dedicated to the school with extracurricular programs.

    Food and Dining

    Yakima Valley has a cafe available 5 days a week for any students. They provide various options for anyone's diet or food preferences.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is tranquil and available for students that are interested in dorms in the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of academic rigor that the campus offers helps you develop essential abilities for any work force or study that you are pursuing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help! If you have some questions that you would like to be answered, do not hesitate to ask for help. The welcoming staff at the campus are there to help you and guide you towards the right path for a successful future.

    In three sentences

    The Yakima Valley campus is a very relaxing and welcoming campus. They have an exceptional team of professors willing to dedicate 110% of there time and effort towards the success of each and every student. Yakima Valley truly shows interest in helping any student with a campus prepared to provide help for anyone at any time.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love spending time with my family

    Food and Dining

    Moderate

    Academic Rigor

    Okay

    Tips for prospective students

    First meet with a counselor

    In three sentences

    This college offers noth days and evening classes. Its affordable, and some classes are easy to understand others can be challenges.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of events held for students at the college-- talks, musical performances, etc. There are also posters put up around the school for people looking for events around Yakima. You can also join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe and cafeteria food are pretty basic and some things are reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    No cmment

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of classes that you can just skate by as well as classes that are surprisingly difficult. Use Rate Your Professor and take time to choose your classes. Know what you're looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only person that's going to look out for you is you. Use Rate Your Professor!

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus. Most people are extremely helpful (but that goes for pretty much anything).

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always security guards walking around campus, even when the late classes are still going at 9pm like mine do

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are lots and lots of clubs, but since i work i havent gotten involved yet.

    Bang for the buck

    your getting a great education for a fraction of the cost of going to a four year.

    What to do for fun

    well we have good sport teams and there games are fun to go to. and there are clubs that you can join. I know for sure their is a volleyball club.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent... cant really complain

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms, but what i have heard is they are a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    yes every professor is different, but all the professors i have met at YVCC are very flexible with testing if you are going to be gone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let anyone tell you that a community college isn't as exceptionable as a four year. No matter where you decide to go for a higher education never give up, and always remember why you are getting a higher education.

    In three sentences

    YVCC is a very fun and growing school from my perspective. The classes are not too big, and the instructors are willing to work with you. The instructors I have had so far have treated me like an equal, not like I was a nuisance, and I'm loving it!

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres not alot to do for fun around here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in psychology, take professor Shaw or Mount. They are the most knowledgeable professors in psychology and the classes are great,

    In three sentences

    In the months that I have attened Yakima, this community college overall is okay. I wouldnt say it is the best school i have been to because there are flaws in the system just like every other school. The registration and financial aid process is a pain in the butt.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that if you're a full-time student you don't try to have a full-time job because it's hard.

    In three sentences

    Yakima Valley Community College is great place to start. If you need help the help is there you just have to ask. Don't procrastinate.

  • 04/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun at Yakima is you could get involved in sports. Or activities that go on at campus. Right now there's a game called Humans vs. Zombies on campus which is really fun. Off campus you could go bowling, play bingo, go to the mall or even go on a hike. You can find all sorts of things to do if you put your mind to it.

    Food and Dining

    The people who work in the Hub are super nice. I like talking to all of them. They make me want to come back and get food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms weren't really for me. I didn't like how small the rooms were. I just felt like i was in a prison cell. The good thing about them was they were right on campus and I could walk to school everyday which was nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I really liked having small classes because it helped me get help when I needed it. Just some of the teachers weren't fun to have but that's how it's going to be at any school. By having small classes the professor actually knows who you are which I like rather them just know you as just another student.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you sign up for classes make sure you pick actual classes you want otherwise you will be put in ones you might not want to. Also, know your registration date ahead so you know what classes you want right away. Otherwise you will get wait-listed.

    In three sentences

    I really like this campus because it's close together which makes it easy to walk from class to class. It's easier to connect with the professors since it's a smaller school. I would recommend to go here to anymore.