Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Yale University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    94 out of 106 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If I had to guess, I would say bright, highly-motivated students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting in is likely the hard part! Take the most challenging courses your high school offers and do well in them. Make sure to get involved and stay involved in clubs of your interest.

    Bang for the buck

    As of the recent Ivy League financial aid initiative, Yale has likely never been so affordable!

    Will enjoy being here

    The residential college system ensures that you get the feeling of a close-knit community of students within the larger institution. Students seem really happy to be there.

    Will learn a lot

    With so much history around you combined with an Ivy League atmosphere, how can you not learn a lot?!

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    93 out of 94 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous types seem to enjoy it the most. It certainly is best to have an open mind and just dive in when you're free to try anything: research as an undergrad with amazingly talented professors, learn any foreign language, travel anywhere in the world, develop relationships with people wildly different from what you're used to, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bother joining every organization that your school/community offers. Try to find a few things that you really like to do by junior year and really hone in on them. Everybody I've met here did lots of really cool stuff in high school, but they limited themselves to only a few activities that they were passionate about.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is great! Yale will always help you and your family find ways to keep school affordable. After all, it is in their best interest to keep you here.

    Am enjoying being here

    How could I not enjoy hanging out with charismatic nerdy kids, learning about anything I am interested in from world-class professors, being a part of any of the dizzying array of activities, and of course, living in a castle?

    Am learning a lot

    It is hard to limit yourself to only 4 or 5 courses with all that Yale has to offer. It isn't unheard of for very ambitious students to pile on 6 or even 7 at a time! Many classes will push you hard to master the material, but there are always a handful of courses that are more laid back. That is, you get as much out of them as you're willing to put in.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 out of 39 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The arts scene is great here, so anyone who really likes the arts will enjoy Yale. Frankly, every scene you can think of is pretty vibrant here, and everyone will find their place. If people are looking for professional advancement and training though, they'd be far better off looking for a less liberal-artsy school. Even other Ivies tend to be more career-oriented than Yale is.

    Tips for prospective students

    There aren't really tricks for getting in. Express yourself clearly (in interviews and in essays), check over your work, make sure things are in on time. Do study for those silly standardized tests. But most importantly, be authentic, be passionate, and you'll be fine regardless of if you get in.

    Bang for the buck

    It's hard for me to say, since I haven't had to test the monetary value of a Yale diploma out in the real world, and debate does tend to be heated about the value of a private school vs. public school education. Yale does give exceptionally generous financial aid to most people, so that's not usually an issue for them. The opportunities here are basically unparalleled -- so if you can stretch a dollar here a very long way, if only you take the time and effort to do so.

    Am enjoying being here

    In every way I'm enjoying being here. The support system for freshmen is pretty great; they take care of you and make sure you're eased in, there is always something going on around campus, and there is such a vast variety of people that basically anyone can find a niche.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are pretty incredible, but you learn only as much as you want to learn. No one here is watching to see if you do the reading and pay attention in class -- but that's true of all colleges. There are distributional requirements, which ensure that you learn in a variety of different areas, but they're in no way very difficult to fill. Frankly you'll be overwhelmed by the number of courses you'd like to take. You also learn a lot -- maybe more -- from the people around you, their sheer talent, curiosity, and eagerness to share. It's really a lovely place to be educated.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 out of 33 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the feeling of community. If you enjoy personal relationships with the faculty affiliated with your college or who head your seminars. There are plenty of heavy partygoers, but for the most part, I would say if you want to go out every night, here wouldn't be conducive not only because there would be limited options but because of the work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a big variety of clothes since many of the social events include costume parties, such as 80's themed or mathlete themed dances. Get into the routine of cleaning a little bit every day since you won't usually have the time to stop what you're doing and do a full run through of the room.

    Bang for the buck

    I have found it slightly hard to find an on campus job, but actually, I seem to be spending less money on average here than I did during my time in high school. Be prepared for the expensive books, but you have time to order on Amazon or other cheaper websites. With the dining halls being so close and available, it almost seems improbable to go out to eat, but if you want, there is everything you can want out there in New Haven.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although sometimes the weekends can be slightly dull if you don't look into what's going on ahead of time, there is usually something taking place. The frat scene isn't big, but if you want that, you can find it, as well as plenty of dorm parties and Toads is open every Wednesday and Saturday if you want to dance. No party school by any stretch, but definitely a fun place.

    Am learning a lot

    There is such a expansive variety of classes that it seems to be the best of an all-encompassing education I think you can get almost anywhere. Of course there are less than motivating lectures or seminars, but if you find those classes that click, you will be very happy. With the 2 week shopping period, you have a chance to try out a lot more classes and have higher chances of finding the ones good for you.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 out of 27 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So New Haven isn't exactly the safest city. But we have tons of security--ID swipes are required practically everywhere and there's always a blue emergency phone nearby. Yale Police are on every corner, especially at night, and you can always call for a safe ride home.

    Greek Life

    There are enough frats/sororities here to be present but not to overwhelm. I know people in them, but I also know tons who are more than happy without Greek life. It's a good mix.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can imagine, Yale has it.

    Great for these types of students

    Super motivated, independent, driven, but also ready to let go and have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have screw, which is basically when everyone sets you up with a blind date for a dance. Then there are residential college gatherings, such as the running of the bulls for trumbull students, or the freshman olympics. We have tons of school spirit. Oh, and the Harvard-Yale football game of course.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay, so it's pricey. But it's also great for financial aid. I pay less here than I would going to an in-state school, and the education...well it's basically priceless.

    What to do for fun

    There's East Rock for the avid hikers/joggers, a movie place nearby and of course Broadway street for shopping. Plus, New York City is just a train ride away (only $28 round trip!!!) so that's great for a fun day trip in the city with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Although it's nothing like home cooking, the staff here really makes an effort. We have a large variety of food, and it's easy for vegetarians and vegans to find yummy stuff. Desserts here are incredible as well....

    Dorm Life

    I love the residential college system. It creates the sense that you are attending a smaller school with all the benefits of a larger research university. And I made instant friends with my randomly assigned suitemates.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely a tough school, but there's also a huge support system here. Tons of advisers, your college dean and freshmen counselors are all totally available to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come and see the school before you decide here. I would suggest contacting the admissions office to see if they can find someone you could stay with for a night (everyone loves hosting potential students!). I fell in love with Yale when I first came; it's how you know you'll be happy here. Also, come to Bulldog Days if you get in! It's tons of fun to meet future Yalies.

    In three sentences

    Yale offers everything that I wanted in a school. It has a beautiful campus, wonderful faculty and incredible residential college system. The students here are super motivated and driven, but the atmosphere isn't competitive so even though you are pushing yourself really hard, you don't feel intimidated by what everyone else is doing--everyone is brilliant at something, be it academics, an extracurricular or in the personality and social life.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's a city; don't go out alone in sketchy places at night. that said, there hasn't been a murder yet this year or last year. the yale police are there to help you; they won't get you in trouble for little things like drinking or parties. yale doesn't have that many rules; we have a lot of freedom.

    Greek Life

    not significant, but there if you want it

    Clubs and Activities

    anything you can imagine...even a bookbinding club! polo, pistol team, agriculture (yale has a full sustainable farm)...look it up: there are so many clubs

    Great for these types of students

    intellectually curious cooperative not cut-throat fun and easy going ambitious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    too many to count! yale was founded in 1701; it has so many cool traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    yale is my home and the best place on earth. it is also extremely expensive, but the name has already opened so many doors for me, and i'm only a freshman.

    What to do for fun

    toads and mory's (an exclusive private eating club) are classics. there are parties all the time, even on thursdays, and the club district in new haven is about a two minute walk away from old campus.

    Food and Dining

    one day, i had lobster bisque and calamari. at our christmas dinner, there were ice sculptures and lobster. even day to day dining is delicious with vegan and vegetarian options, at least 3 different non-vegetarian main course options, a salad bar, 3 or 4 different dessert options, two different soup options, a bar and grill, coffee, juices, yogurt, milk, sodas, fresh fruit and vegetables, delicious oatmeal, buttermilk pancakes, waffles, and cereals in each of 16 dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    old campus is amazing for freshman. you live in suites often with in-suite bathrooms. my suite has four people: two singles and a double. it has two fireplaces and wood-paneled walls. sophomore year, you get to live in a residential college. it's like houses in harry potter. without even leaving this castle-like structure to go outside, you can reach the dining hall, a theater, a gym, art and pottery studios, sound-proof private musical practice rooms, even a printing press. each one also has a beautiful courtyard.

    Academic Rigor

    although it's not hard to get good grades, yale's classes are rigorous and stimulating. yale is there to help you succeed, not weed you out. everyone has such diverse and unique talents; you will never lack stimulating conversation.

    Tips for prospective students

    intellectual curiosity and personability is key. yale wants to create a diverse, cooperative, tight-knit community, so convey your personality well. it's not all about academics.

    In three sentences

    yale is the best place on earth. i felt at home within a few weeks and have yet to meet one boring or unlikeable person. the residential college system is probably the highlight of the community.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walked around with a friend of mine on Bulldog days to a good half mile completely off campus at 2 in the morning, absolutely nothing shady going on, nobody following us, not even the slightest feeling of danger. People who still say New Haven is a bad neighborhood need to go back and see how it is now.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are secret societies which Yale is known for. It doesn't affect your life if you're not in one, don't feel like you're not good enough.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless extracurricular activities you can pursue at Yale. Anything from fencing and polo to sailing and Motorsport racing. If you can't find a club with the activity you like, you can start one, and Yale will give you all the money and resources you need to make it happen.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. I'm not talking pizzas and burgers; I'm talking about borderline gourmet food. Organic options for every meal, you can eat as much as you want in one sitting, doesn't get any better than this.

    Dorm Life

    Residential colleges are beautiful. You can feel the knowledge and creativity as well as world renowned heritage just oozing out of the crevices. Dorms are adamantly big, you have a common room, the bathroom isn't too small for the floor and has big windows that can be opened if it gets too smelly.

    Academic Rigor

    It is Yale after all. Everyone here got here because they were academic and extracurricular superstars where they came from. However the competition is not with your peers, but rather with yourself. You strive to one-up yourself rather than that guy who scored higher than you in Chemistry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore your options; don't be afraid to try new things, even if you aren't going to commit to them. Yale has an atmosphere of academic and extracurricular rigor and passion without the feeling of having to be a try-hard. If you get into Harvard too, don't let the name or fame be the tipping factor.

    In three sentences

    Yale is Harvard WITHOUT the snobbery, competition, and constant atmosphere of I need to do better than everyone else. The opportunities and resources are virtually unlimited and frankly quite overwhelming. The most important asset of Yale is the people, the students and the professors, who are exactly the type of people you would want to learn with and learn from.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New Haven may not be the safest city in the country, but the campus is not dangerous at all. The Yale Police Department and Yale Security are both constantly visible around campus. Students can even call security to be escorted from door to door. That being said, one has to be street smart while around New Haven--don't go out along past the boundaries of campus at one in the morning. Students do occasionally get held up, but that happens mostly to the graduate students who live off campus.

    Greek Life

    The great thing about Yale is that you don't have to join a frat or a sorority in order to have a good time. I've seen other schools that require the students to join a frat in order to go into frat parties. This is hardly ever the case at Yale. Greek life isn't too big, and the administration is constantly trying to restrict Greek influence on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't be surprised if you attend a party and everyone ends up naked. Yale loves naked parties. And naked runs at the start of finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    Yale may be expensive, but their financial aid department is amazing--as are the departments of all the Ivy Leagues. Luckily, I pay not tuition thanks to the generous financial aid and a few outside scholarships that pay for work study and summer contributions.

    What to do for fun

    No matter what, there is always something for everyone. Yale is known for its acapella, improv, and comedy groups. If you're not the type to join these, you can always attend their concerts. Most are free, if not under $5. There are also on-campus parties pretty much every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is not bad, but the availability of late-night food is less than satisfactory. Dining halls close at 7:30, and this tends to be a problem for students who are up late. The only other options around campus (Gourmet Heaven and Durfee's) are ridiculously expensive. However, Downtown New Haven has some great restaurants. If money is not a factor, these are definitely great options.

    Dorm Life

    Every university should have a suite configuration and a residential college system. This is one of the reasons why I chose Yale. First, the suites allow you to become closer to more than just one or two roommates. In addition, the residential college system makes it feel like you are part of a smaller college. Each college has a master and a dean, and they really do know you by name, and you will see them almost every day at the dining halls or giving out candy in the college library during finals week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yale really does look at more than just academics. They are really interested in students' extracurricular activities. They make it incredibly easy for students to start their own clubs. I really believe that I was admitted because of my dedication to high school extracurriculars.

    In three sentences

    Yale is an environment for brilliant minds. You can expect to find plenty of competition in an environment like this, but you will also be surprised by the amount of peer support that you will find here.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, unique, and motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus if possible - it's beautiful and you'll learn a lot. Plus, you'll get to eat Pepe's pizza!

    Bang for the buck

    As for the buck, big endowment = big aid. No need to speak of the bang.

    Will enjoy being here

    Their housing system is unique and one of my personal favorites. They just sound like so much fun to live in, and a sense of family, community, and coziness is important to me.

    Will learn a lot

    In the words of the Yale admissions video (That's Why I Chose Yale): I came to Yale cause I wanted to learn, and I wanted to learn from the best. I was tired of memorizing figures and facts just to pass another test. Seeing as how Yale students generally are considered some of the brightest of the bunch, Yale is doing a fantastic job, especially with their focus on undergraduates.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    yale is located in an urban area, so you naturally have to be more careful. you must have your school id everywhere to get into buildings--especially at night. and if it's late you shouldn't be walking alone. i've never once felt unsafe here.

    Greek Life

    we have it!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are too many clubs to count! you can sing, dance, put on a comedy show, play a sport, volunteer locally or internationally, or start your own organization! one of the hardest decisions is which extracurricular activities you will get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    you must be driven. there are so many unique people here from completely different backgrounds. the only thing any student should have is the drive to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are 12 residential colleges (if you don't know what i'm talking about you should look it up!). the college i live in and our rival college have this crazy tradition where at midnight the first night before exams start, my college walks into their courtyard screaming, chanting, blowing horns--anything to wake them up or annoy them. the other college is prepared with tons of water. they run out with water guns, dump water on our heads from the windows above, and use hoses to try to chase us out. i did this my first semester and it was so much fun! very cold, but entirely worth it to watch the other college get really frustrated when we just would stop screaming and leave!

    Bang for the buck

    yale gives scholarships based on financial need only. there are no scholarships because of your impressive resume, etc. it's purely based on what your family and you can or cannot afford, which is amazing because yale is so generous with it's money. yale is an amazing place to live and study, plus it's affordable for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on. if you like concerts, plays, comedy shows, etc, we sure have plenty. but if you like to go dancing, we have that here too, plus there are fun parties in the suites. and there are a ton of restaurants in new haven!

    Food and Dining

    the food could be better, but couldn't any colleges dining hall improve? there are a lot of options for everyone, vegetarians and vegans included. and there are over 12 dining halls you can go to for all your meals so you don't have to eat at the same place every day.

    Dorm Life

    yale has amazing housing options. everyone lives in a suite, where you share a common room with four to ten people. it creates a sense of community and the minute you move in you have something in common with a rather large group of people! and where i live, there are connecting doors between every suite so you don't have to just hang out with your roommates!

    Academic Rigor

    you have to work hard, but the work load is by no means unmanageable. many people here don't talk about their grades, specific classes or how much work they have to do, academics are just a part of the experience and when you are with others everyone is talking about more fun things!

    Tips for prospective students

    visit. apply. fall in love.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like most cities, New Haven has crime too. There is a strong police and campus police presence and I feel safe all the time. Many locked gates and levels of security.

    Greek Life

    Available if you want it, but plenty of fun and interaction in each of the houses as well. It is easy to float socially between them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for seemingly everything. The hardest part is limiting yourself to 4-5 ;) and still be a dedicated full time student.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart but outgoing and communicative. Yes, college is full of classes and labs, but a big part of the ongoing value will be the relationships that you foster and build in your four years. Yale is great in so many disciplines that there really is something for most anyone to pursue with quality and rigor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Too many to list with our long history. We all have our favorite spots to hang out or study. The tunnels between houses are always an adventure.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a GREAT education with awesome average starting salaries and endless opportunities. 60% of students received an average of $41,350 (they would rate this at 5 stars). 40% of us get zero aid (less stars). The website aid calculator will give you a good guide, but assume you will get less. These are important family discussions. Do it up front BEFORE you apply as my family did. It is an investment in my future and we are all on board. Very happy here, no regrets.

    What to do for fun

    Too many clubs to mention. The house system (think Hogwarts) is fun and creates a smaller feel to the school. Plenty of activities on campus and beyond. New York City or Boston are reasonable speedy train rides away, with NYC only about 80 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food, freshman 15 here I come. Seriously, a variety of choices at multiple dining halls. Even late night snacks. I have never left hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The roommate sorting hat works well and I really enjoy my suite mates. We have enough in common to bond, yet enough differences to always add variety to each other's lives. We are from all over the country so it is great to see the world from the different vantage points.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes. The variety of class offerings is amazing. Too many great choices each semester with a limited amount of time to take them all. Multiple levels of advisors, so there is always someone to answer your questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Volunteer, be active, have an opinion. Be ready to speak up, share your ideas, challenge others, find a new understanding. Take the hard classes in high school. Push yourself. Practice the discipline and work ethic of school that is necessary to be successful here. Fill your summers with educational pursuits and volunteerism. Read for the joy of discovery and to understand the world around you. We will have to fix the problems of the world in a few short years so start your preparations now!

    In three sentences

    Yale is great place. The history, the students, the faculty are all terrific. There are multiple levels of student support, and we are very much a family. The sorting hat for roommates works great, and the list of outside speakers coming to campus could fill every night with a new and different experience. It enhances the overall experience of what you get from your studies and time at Yale.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, ambitious, unique, curious

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you've achieved perfect grades and SAT scores, do something interesting that you enjoy. Passion makes students stand out.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get in here, you're probably sacrificing a full ride somewhere else. I personally decided that it's worth the $50,000+, but it was a tough decision.

    Will enjoy being here

    Students balance academics with every club and activity under the sun.

    Will learn a lot

    Top-notch profs and the best students in the world... it might rub off.

  • 11/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students, successful, ambitious, motivated, leaders, and determined students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, keep up the good grades, do community service and volunteer a lot. Do the best you can on your SAT.

    Bang for the buck

    if i get accepted and graduate from Yale, i expect a great bang in the career department with all the knowledge i will learn from Yale.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is so beautiful and they have an engineering program. i didn't know that. i hear its very hard to get in. Based on the virtual tour Yale looks like it has a lot to offer.

    Will learn a lot

    After i complete my undergraduate degree with a major in engineering, i want to go to law school. Yale has all of the things that I'm looking for. i will learn a lot, how could i not.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yale being an Ivy League school, you'll get invaluable contacts into any and every field imaginable, lining you up with some of the most lucrative positions in each. The bang your buck can make is something like the sound of the Tsar Bomb, which was heard 'round the world twice over.

    Food and Dining

    You're in New England.

    Dorm Life

    Yale attracts more than one pompous student, and like every Ivy school, Yale naturally caters to the pompous. But for the rest, dorm life is friendly and accompanied by a splendid atmosphere. The experiences you'll have are wide and varied, from the prim and proper to the comically illicit. Finally, you'll come here alone and leave with some relationships whose ties time will never sever.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter her skill in art, the teacher can only go so far with her student. She could make his education into the most tempting baked good -- ambrosia dusted in chocolate and plated on the finest silver platter -- but it would still be his choice to eat it. (A caveat: this isn't to simplify the art of teaching into a cooking show.) It was once said by Aristotle that we cannot learn without pain. If Yale is for you fatiguing; is Yale is rigorous and terrifying; if Yale is the bane of your very existence and the pain in your very [ash]; then here, you are learning. The faculty may make attaining an education easy or they may make it very hard; but if you will it, they will make it happen.

    In three sentences

    Among the Ivies, Yale University likely champions the liberal arts, offering scores of rigorous classes and generally being acutely perceptive to the depth of philosophy in the field, though perhaps in an immature way. (But I figure maturing the mind is the duty of an education.) If you mean to attend an Ivy that will prepare you for a career, it's best you look elsewhere: but if you're looking for an Ivy to prepare you for life, look no further.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiking, biking, intramurals, drama, a capella

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Emphasize your non-academic extracurricular activities - the admissions office likes to see that you're successful in more than just academics 2) Find a passion and stick to it 3) Be active in your school community! It helps in accruing recommendations.

    In three sentences

    At Yale you'll find students who are intellectually curious and ambitious. It's a challenging school and you'll find yourself learning just as much outside of your classes as inside. It's an enriching, fast-paced, exciting environment and there's no place quite like it!

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    You will find all sorts of great clubs and activities at Yale: the Yale Debate Team, Yale Quiz Bowl, MEChA de Yale, the Yale Model UN Team, the Spizzwinks a capella group, club sports, political parties, the Yale Robotics Association, Red Hot Poker Comedy Troupe, the Purple Crayon Improv group, and many, many more. If you're a sports enthusiast, you will love the school's intramural sports competitions. Each residential college battles for the Tyng Cup, the most prestigious undergraduate sports trophy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring, Yale's secret societies tap the most prominent students on campus. These societies gather up their members for rituals and parties. Among the most well-known secret societies are Skull and Bones, Aurelian, Scroll and Key, and Wolf's Head.

    What to do for fun

    If you are the dancing type, Toad's Place is Yale's hallmark place to go. For lovers of art and culture, Yale has multiple theatrical, musical, and comedic events every weekend, from concerts to dramas. New Haven also harbors a movie theater nearby, as well as many museums, bars, coffee shops, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Yale dining is top-notch. Each residential college dining hall hosts special food events every year, bringing in some of the country's best chefs. Italian, Mexican, Korean, Indian, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese cuisine dominate Yale's food scene.

    Dorm Life

    No other school matches Yale in terms of dorm life. As an undergraduate, you are randomly assigned to one of Yale's 12 residential colleges. Like the houses in Harry Potter's Hogwarts, each residential college provides its students college-specific events and traditions. The residential colleges are complete with their own dining halls, common rooms, theaters, studios, libraries, machinery shops, computer labs, and even snack bars.

    Academic Rigor

    Yale is by far one of the most academically demanding institutions in the world. You will be pushed harder than you have ever be pushed before, and you will learn more than you have ever thought possible. But unlike other Ivy League schools, Yale has a healthy academic climate that will not burn you out. Yale's liberal arts curriculum will nurture your mind. You will get taught by some of the world's leading scholars, like historian John Gaddis, psychologist Paul Bloom, economist Stephen Roach, and law scholar Akhil Amar.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you visit Yale for Bulldog Days, make sure to attend as many art and theater shows as you can; these will give you a taste of Yale's great arts culture. Find a niche in one or several of Yale's student groups, whether in the Yale Political Union, the Yale Glee Club, the Whiffenpoofs, the Yale Aerospace Association, or the Yale Symphony Orchestra.

    In three sentences

    Yale is simply a remarkable, multicultural university. You will find everything here: beautiful arts, cutting-edge research, immense libraries, fantastic professors, and wonderful traditions. It is certainly better than Harvard.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue telephones stationed EVERYWHERE to call police if you feel unsafe at all. If you are walking around and feel unsafe you can call an escort and a yale security officer will meet you to walk with you to your next destination. or you can call a shuttle between 6 pm and 6 am to drive you anywhere if you are afraid of walking.

    Greek Life

    there are so many frats and sororities to cater to any and everyone. And if you don't wanna pledge but you still wanna party no worries! i'm not in a sorority and i go to every frat party with no feelings of not belonging.

    Clubs and Activities

    like i said: something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE. but if you are an LGBT student and you come from a family or region where homosexuality is condemned (cough texas cough) this school is for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a naked run at the end of the year before finals for people to let loose and be relieved of stress!

    Bang for the buck

    The opportunities, networking, and experiences you will get here are definitely worth the tuition. (especially if you are receiving financial aid)

    What to do for fun

    there is literally something for everyone! i mean that. There is a club that runs around old campus on brooms like in harry potter. If there is something you wanna do and there isn't a club for it, you can easily start one. My friends and I started a club for people who love Beyonce and we get FUNDING for it lol.

    Food and Dining

    There are soooo many options for dining halls! The food and ambience is great! No need to worry about running out of dollars or anything like that. You get three meals a day so no need to budget. This only becomes problematic when its 11 pm and you want food but its not breakfast lunch or dinner time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely gorgeous thanks to that good ole gothic architecture! But beware: this university is older than this country and so there are lots of cracks and corners for mice to get into during the winter. But maintenance is really good about getting an exterminator and plugging in those holes if you call them!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is harder to get into than it is to maintain. Don't get me wrong it is hard at times but thats mostly a challenge of time management. There is infinite support so you'll never feel lost or alone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering applying here, I suggest that you focus on your personal essays. Everyone applying here is amazing academically and does a million and one activities. Your personal essay is your area to say hey! this is me and i'm perfect for your school! It's what takes your scores, statistics and resume and makes it into a real person. Think of it as your closing argument.

    In three sentences

    Yale University is the best thing that has happened to me. In the most non cliche way possible, I have learned more during my first year and a half here than I could have ever imagined. Thanks to the political, economic, and ethnic diversity, I have been places, met people, and learned things I never could have imagined.

  • 10/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Looks like Yale's engineering program are very small with a high studnet to faculty ratio of 1:1 or 2:1

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    If you are interested in Greek Life there are opportunities to get involved, but if not, these organizations do no run the school in any way.

    Great for these types of students

    Unique backgrounds

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All of Yale is historical. Also secret societies are a big deal as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but great finical aid and one of a kind experience.

    What to do for fun

    New Haven offers great dining, shopping, movies and is a close distance from malls and New York so there is plenty to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study up, but everyone here is successful, so don't depend only on your brain.

    In three sentences

    The people and experiences are amazing. Yale offers a great college experience without sacrificing academic rigor. I would be happy nowhere else.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New Haven is a rough city, but the Yale Police keep us safe. If you act smartly, you will be fine. There haven't been any major incidents related to any Yale students in the past few years.

    Greek Life

    Not an integral part of campus, but definitely still a presence.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Well-rounded, passionate, kind, and those who have integrity and want to work hard and go far

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Yale Symphony Orchestra concert in Woolsey Hall on Halloween! And spontaneous a cappella shows. And secret societies!

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely expensive, but financial aid is generous, and you're getting a truly top-rate education with abundant opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Go to on-campus or local shows, explore the city, hang out in a cafe, dance at Toad's

    Food and Dining

    You can't do better. Very healthy options, delicious, and organic!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a bit isolating in the suite/entryway system, but you find other places to hang out with your friends

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough, but not cut-throat

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself in the application process. Do what you love and let that shine through. Don't do things for college.

    In three sentences

    Yale is a first-rate education. Classes are always exceptionally engaging and interesting, and the quality of students you meet, in terms of integrity and passion, is the best you'll ever find. There's definitely a party scene, but also a rich culture of arts, and plenty to do if partying isn't your thing.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of Yale's primary concerns. Even in the below freezing weather the security guards are still roaming campus, making sure everyone is safe and secure. They go above and beyond to make us feel comfortable.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't a huge part of the Yale experience. I definitely exists but you won't feel like you're missing out on anything if you don't get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something here for everyone! I was blown away by the sheer number and diversity of clubs and activities here. Here's a tip: if you're into it, there's a good chance that at least a dozen other people on campus are too and they are probably already having regular meetings on Thursdays or something. Even if there isn't already a group for it you won't have any trouble forming your own club. The process is simple and easy and Yale will give you money to get started!

    Great for these types of students

    Yale is great for the nerds among us, the creatively gifted, and for the athletically inclined! When I say that this school really is great for all types of people I truly mean it. Anyone with an insatiable appetite for knowledge would feel right at home here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions is the big, Old Campus-wide snowball fight during the first snowfall of the school year. All of the freshmen pour out of their dorm rooms onto Old Campus at midnight and engage in a free-for-all snowball fight.

    Bang for the buck

    Yale is ridiculously generous with financial aid. If you get in then Yale will make sure that it is affordable for you.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do on campus. During a typical weekend there are bound to be plenty of activities to choose from, from plays to symphonic concerts, to a cappella concerts, to poetry slams, to sporting events, you name it. You will never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is fantastic! A lot of people say that the food in college is terrible and end up missing those home-cooked meals. This is not the case at Yale! The dining halls here serve amazing food, night after night. If you're just into burgers and fries then those are always available if you'd life. But the dining halls are notorious for their culinary variety and are always serving up something new delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are great. Most freshmen live on Old Campus, which has some of the most beautiful architecture Yale has to offer. The dorms are surprisingly spacious and cozy for freshmen housing. Starting sophomore year everyone moves out of Old Campus and into their respective residential colleges. These rooms are even bigger and nicer!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is tough. You study a lot and spend a lot of time in libraries, but it is all so very rewarding. At the end of the day you actually feel like you've learned and accomplished something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, just be you. Yale isn't looking for the smartest, most perfect, go-getters out there. Yale really just strives to find the most interestingly gifted and unique individuals that would make the campus a great place to be.

    In three sentences

    Yale's got stunningly beautiful architecture, boasts one of the largest and most extensive libraries in the country, and is home to some of the most interesting and cutting-edge research in the world, but the greatest thing about this university is the people. The students, professors, administrators, and faculty here are some of the most engaging, down-to-earth, and passionate people that I have ever met. Everyone here is so incredibly spirited and talented.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Much safer than people make it out to be. I only give it a four star ranking because New Haven does have some unsafe areas. That said, the campus itself is incredibly safe. Yale's safety measures are very thorough and I, as a female, have never felt unsafe walking around alone at night.

    What to do for fun

    SO MUCH. There are always arts, athletics, academic, etc events going on, so there's never a shortage of options. Yale's social life is also very lively. New Haven has lots of road races, clubs, restaurants, museums, etc to visit as well. New York is also just a 2 hour train ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Yale makes a consistent effort to offer vegetarian, vegan, kosher, gluten-free, etc options for those with diet restrictions. Yale is also very environmentally conscious and tries to incorporate as much local food as possible into the menus. In addition, because there is a great deal of diversity within the student body, the variety of dishes is quite good. There is a lot of international food. Also, the dining halls are gorgeous, and there are tons of them. You will never be bored with Yale's dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are unreal. Everything, from the beauty of the facilities to the cleanliness is top-of-the-line.

    Academic Rigor

    It takes a lot of work to go here, but it's definitely manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you haven't applied yet, look for your spark. Yale isn't looking for perfect students, they're looking for students who will bring something new and exciting to enrich the student body. If you're planning on coming here, be prepared to manage your time. There's so much to do here all the time, and it's easy to get sidetracked by all the amazing opportunities. That said, don't freak out if you fall a little behind. Stay on top of things as much as you can, but if you can't all the time, use the breaks throughout the semester to get caught up. Also, use your resources. There are so many ways to get help, whether it be medical, emotional, academic, or financial. It's okay to admit you can't do everything on your own. No one can.

    In three sentences

    Yale is diverse, energetic, and classically beautiful. Amazement is an inevitable constant. Everyone here challenges each other to find those things that set them apart and truly make them who they are.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is acceptable compared to other colleges, but the amount of vegetarian options can cater more to the healthier choices than not.

    Dorm Life

    The residential colleges are a fantastic system, but it can become a bit straining with the difference in accommodations on Old Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging classes, but they are worth it. The intelligence is palpable, but the community is obvious and there is always support if you do not understand a topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself in the application process. It can be hard when hearing about all the people at these schools, but admissions officers are more impressed by sincerity rather than bragging.

    In three sentences

    Yale is a fantastic school with amazing people. The saying that the people make the school is no truer than here, and everyone can find a community to which they belong. An open environment and amazing academics makes Yale one of the best schools in the world.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since New Haven is a fairly large city we have a lot of security and our own personal police force to keep us safe. Safety will not be an issue.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Yale definitely isn't as large as in other schools but it is definitely there if you want it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list

    Great for these types of students

    Any and everybody

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Toads...need I say more (you'll understand when you decide to attend Yale)

    Bang for the buck

    The beauty of Yale is that they will pay for whatever you can't afford. So with that in mind, yes you most definitely get the bang for your buck. Some get the bank without even spending a buck.

    What to do for fun

    I could literally write a book for this section. Yale has a lot to do for fun. If you're into partying we have parties, if not we have a never ending list of different clubs, organizations, and events which all involve free food (no greater pleasure) and tons of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food was amazing when I first attended this school but as expected I got tired of the food and began to miss the food from home (which I used to be tired of lol).

    Dorm Life

    It's a dorm...nothing more and nothing less.

    Academic Rigor

    AS explain before, the academic setting is pretty rigorous, depending on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please be yourself in the application. Yale is not only looking for student that have high GPAs and test scores. They know people are so much more than that and that is what Yale wants to see. In other words, show something interesting about you that you can offer.

    In three sentences

    Yale is an amazing university with a very diverse student body. Everyone who attends is brilliant, which is both beautiful an a little intimidating. As a whole, Yale is an academically rigorous university, with students who know how to relax and have fun (unlike that other ivy league in Cambridge lol).

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 84 people found this review useful. 5 people found it offensive. 19 people found this inaccurate. 25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    dedicated

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your mind on the price

    Will enjoy being here

    as a student

    Will learn a lot

    about hteir medical field

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Depends on your financial aid...

  • 06/20/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Yale has some of the most delicious food in the country

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and so are the people living in them!

    Academic Rigor

    Yale's education is top-notch!

    In three sentences

    Everything about Yale is amazing: the campus, the students, the professors. I love it!

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 23 people found this review useful. 5 people found this inaccurate. 28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Good luck getting in.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New Haven is a pretty dangerous area, but if you're careful, there's nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    Greek life for females (as in sororities) is very limited; there are some frats for men, but even then, Greek life doesn't seem nearly as widespread here as it is at many other colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who enjoy partying/dancing/drinking etc

    What to do for fun

    New Haven is very boring, and honestly, there is not much to do for fun.

    Dorm Life

    The residential college system makes it hard to meet students from other colleges and forces you to see and live with the same 100 people all four years.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of underaged drinking occurs at Yale, and whether you are comfortable with that or not really affects your social/academic life, so keep that in mind.

    In three sentences

    Yale University has amazing professors. All students are exceptionally hardworking, yet the atmosphere is surprisingly not horribly competitive. Academics are very stressful still, however, and standards are high.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am intrigued by the prospects of this school. While I know it is not the urban atmosphere I am looking for I am still anxious to explore the surrounding areas. The campus is absolutely lovely.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am very excited to visit the campus. It has been one of my choice schools for a while now and to actually be there in person will be overwhelming (in a good way).

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've heard that there isn't alot of crime on campus, and that it is well-protected, but since Yale is in the downtown of a city, there is crime.

    Greek Life

    I haven't heard alot about the Fraternities or sororities, except that they're not very prominent.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've heard there is a club for absolutely everything on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, and willing to make sacrifices for the greater good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tunnels. I've heard rave reviews about the tunnels connecting the houses.

    Bang for the buck

    The average out-of-college salary is around 50K going up to to 100K+ 5 years later... that's pretty good by any standard, though it balances out with the loans.

    What to do for fun

    It's in the downtown of a Historic and beautiful city, so there's inherently alot going on, and it's only a short way from the business of NYC.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about the on-campus food, but I've heard there's a bunch of great restaurants in New Haven itself.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it's like Hogwarts, with the students separated into housing groups based on field. It's supposedly quite successful.

    Academic Rigor

    It's one of the best schools in the world, internationally acclaimed, and an Ivy League. It's going to be hard, but it's 100% worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have a 5 point list: 1. ACT score of 32-35. 2. Look for internships. 3. VOLUNTEER. 4. Find out if you're in a special interest group. 5. Have a backup plan.

    In three sentences

    A few years ago I decided to go into law, and when I started researching law schools, the only school I knew about was Harvard, but when I found out about Yale, I was sold from that moment on.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who can see the big picture and are willing to work hard to impact and create change in their surroundings.

    Food and Dining

    While on the Campus Visit, my classmates and I were able to enjoy the wonderful food at Yale. They have a wide variety of options to choose from including vegetarian. On a whole their food is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Although you are required to work really hard. There is also a strong system around you to help you achieve your academic goals.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at Yale University gives you the drive to learn all you can. Although I am not a student at Yale, I immediately felt the sense of community and determined spirit to benefit the world. Overall, Yale University inspires you create change for the better.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not as big as at many state schools, but still a part of campus social life/party scene.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking but not antisocial

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For Halloween, the Yale Symphony Orchestra makes a video and plays the score live. This concert is one of the big events of the year. Also, every spring there is a concert called Spring Fling - Macklemore is coming this year.

    What to do for fun

    Hike to east rock (local park), walk around downtown, go to Toads PLace (a dance club).

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and cooked right in front of you by chefs. You can eat at one of the 12 dining halls on campus - each one is unique.

    Dorm Life

    This is one of the best parts of Yale. You live in a castle (quite literally) with your closest friends. And, unlike most other colleges, Yale has no RAs, so you can party in your dorm room without being disturbed.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn a lot in classes and the workload is fairly manageable if you can organize your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself in your essays - the admissions people can see through phony apps. Writing a genuine and powerful essay will really make your application shine. Also, interview if you have a chance.

    In three sentences

    Yale is a wonderful school that is both academically enriching and socially vibrant. Professors are very accessible and classes are great - but the majority of learning will occur outside of the classroom, with friends, tutors and teaching assistants. Extracurriculars are a big part of social life at Yale, and there's always something to do on the weekends.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades. Work hard. Be well-rounded. Don't commit any crimes.

    In three sentences

    Yale is a great school. It's hard to get into. The residential colleges are good.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Plenty of near by options for healthy minded individuals.

    Dorm Life

    The students study hard, but also know how to party.

    Academic Rigor

    I have never seen more academicly determined students in my life. They will motivate you to work harder.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yale is a pretty safe place. It's is a city, so naturally there is crime. However, the actual campus is a very safe place to be. Just be careful of traveling along outside of campus at night. Travel in groups!

    Greek Life

    There are definitely sororities and frats, but they're not as big as they are on other campuses. I'm not in a sorority, but I have friends who are and they love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yesyesyesyes! There are so many extra-curriculars to do. It's hard to only choose a few, but it's simply impossible to do them all. Check out their website for information on all the campus organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, love extra-curriculars, appreciate the arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Getting a Wenzel! (A sub with cheese, buffalo chicken, and lettuce) it's a highly delicious Yale tradition. There's more, but I can't think of any right now.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm lucky because I'm on financial aid, so I'm only paying about 5,000 a year to go to this amazing place. If your family makes below 60,000, you get to come for free! So don't let money be an issue. However, it is pricey for upper-middle class, and it's definitely an issue for some people. However, everyone here loves it, and I can't imagine that they would want to be anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Go to parties, go to concerts, see various plays/shows, watch movies, etc. Yale is a very artsy place, so there are always shows (musicals, concerts, comedy shows) going on. Most of this is Friday night/Saturday night. Don't expect there to be much going on during the weekdays, because people are usually doing work.

    Food and Dining

    Yale has great food most of the time! There are always vegetarian options, and the fruits and vegetables are organic. Sometimes the food can be a little iffy, but there's always a sandwich bar and cereal if you're not quite feeling the entree.

    Dorm Life

    Yale is great because of it's system of residential colleges--Yale is divided into 12 colleges, and you'll live with the people in your college throughout all four years. It's a great system because you get that small college feel at a big university. The only bad drawback with the dorms is that they are old, and don't have air-conditioning. (You're also not allowed to bring your own) And in the winter when it gets really cold, some rooms don't heat up quite enough. However, it's not a big deal. Most of the time the dorms are fine.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really know what people at other schools are doing, but Yale professors will expect a lot out of you. Don't expect to just breeze your way through everything. You will possibly get the first C in your life, and you'll have to be okay with it. So yes, rigorous, but not terrible either. If you're motivated, and you did well in high school, you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP and advanced classes, do well in the them, try to get at least a 2000 on the SAT's, and DO WHAT YOU LOVE. Besides good grades and some extracurriculars/leadership, Yale really looks for students who are passionate about and have excelled in a certain field. My passion was art. For some it was music, and for some it was math competitions. In short, it's good to have some extra-curriculars and leadership, but in order to stand out, you need to have something that you're really passionate about and that you've excelled in. By excelled I mean things like teaching an art class or entering art competitons (if you're an artist) or if you're really interested in politics, maybe working on a local campiagn. Just find something that you can really delve into. This is what will separate you from people who only have a perfect SAT and GPA to go on.

    In three sentences

    The best college in the world. The campus is beautiful, the people are great, and there is always something going on. Extra-curriculars are just as if not more important than classwork, and we wouldn't have it any other way.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Our tour guide was awesome, and Yale's library is crazy. There are so many resources and awesome people there!

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining did seem really delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The residential housing seems very nice! When I visited the campus, my tour guide described the dorm life as living in different houses, like the ones in Harry Potter (none of them were named after animals and mythological creatures though). You get to room with people who may have a major different than yours and/or similar to your own major, too. This is because roommates with different majors are randomly drawn together so that the learning environment can still take place in the social dynamics of the campus as people with different majors learn from each other.

    Academic Rigor

    It takes a lot to get into the school. Make sure you have great grades, SAT scores, extracurricular activities, and community service hours to help you out in your application.

    In three sentences

    I went to go see the campus this past summer, and it looked really swell and serene. There is a lot of history there and the campus has seemed to grow and become very popular amongst those who intend to visit and apply to Yale. It is difficult to get into the school as a regular decision applicant, but it is worth the try though, in the end.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though New Haven is more dangerous than most cities, campus security does a great job. I have never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Present, but not pervasive or necessary for having a good time.

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate, thoughtful, fearless

    Bang for the buck

    Generous financial aid

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, Toad's, attend events hosted by various clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pursue your passions. Think critically, think big, and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Yale offers almost unparalleled access to resources, with a massive library, brilliant and helpful professors, and grants for research or internships (both domestic and abroad). Yale community is intimate, especially with the residential college system. I'm always impressed by the diversity of the student body and the genius of peers.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chill with other friends Go to parties (they're pretty sick)

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely study hard in high school. You won't regret it once you get in.

    In three sentences

    Awesome. Wonderful. Just plain awesome.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on SATs

    In three sentences

    The campus is really urban yet very nice. The food is great! I really liked the atmosphere!

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very rigorous but any student that enjoys learning should be able to handle the work load.

    In three sentences

    Yale University is in my top 5 college list. The university is in excellent academic standing that any students would gladly be apart of. The school is also extremely affordable when financial aid is taken into account.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Incredibly beautiful campus, integrated with New Haven community. Academics seem to be interdisciplinary, lots of opportunity.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The residential colleges are a unique way of making dorm life fun. In a way, it reminds me of houses at Hogwarts in Harry Potter.

    In three sentences

    Yale is an amazing school, with amazing academic standards. However, the reason I want to go here is the community and family atmosphere available. Because of the residential colleges and many group activities, I'm sure anyone would be able to find a wonderful support group here.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am sure Yale is great. However, is it worth the private college tuition of over 50k a year? I wrestle with the dilemma.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work long and hard on your essays. Once they notice that you are academically capable, they use the personal parts of the application to distinguish you from your peers.

    In three sentences

    One of the most beautiful campuses that I have had the pleasure of touring. The students are warm and inviting while still being helpful and assertive. The academics are top notch and the facilities are above and beyond their competition.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't seen the dining halls yet but I will on my next go around.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot better than most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    It's an extremely rigorous school from what I've seen. Not for lightweight studiers

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the campus tours as well as the seminars and websites.

    In three sentences

    I really didn't want to go to this school at first because I wanted to leave Connecticut. Luckily my mom made me go on a campus tour and I completely fell in love with it. I will definitely apply!

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Yale seems like a great school, but are they really are great as they are said to be? Also, is this school actually worth the 50k per year?