Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Yavapai College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students, the school has a wide variety of classes and it will transfer to many different Colleges or universities for the student to further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that if you are intorested in this school than go for it, do your best and you will do great. This school is set up so that if the student works at it they will achieve and pass the courses that the student is in. The biggest thing in this school is don't get behind and do all of your home work, this will keep you on the times and the home work is a very large portion of the students grade.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of tuition the school is great, this school is cheap but it's teachers still teach great and the student resources are very good.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes I enjoy this school, it is in a nice interesting town, and the weather is nice and mild most of the time. The campus is very nice and maintained and this school offers a variety of classes to get a student started on their new life as a student and looking for a job.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has a very student oriented program, they have great teachers and excellent tutors that are willing to help each student to better there learning experience. The teachers do exactly what they say that are going to do in the classes and they are competent and teach very well in there field of teaching.

  • 10/13/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I understand that it's a great school to start your future.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hear that it is very nice in Prescott, that not a lot of people are there, and that I will love it!

    Will learn a lot

    I believe that I will learn much more than I expect and I'm excited for that.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Most classes/ teachers overall are very easy. A B should be pretty easy for even a slacker to pull off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early, especially for medical type classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap, love it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am not from Arizona and people seem ruder here than where I am from.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Prescott already enjoys a very low status of crime, and at the campus it is no different. I have personally felt very comfortable walking even at night to a performance at the hall or special event. We enjoy the security of a very well staffed police, sheriff, and highway patrol to the point you actually see people walking around in the evening unlike you may find in the large cities.

    Great for these types of students

    YCC is got a very good relaxed and clean feel to it. With it offering just about any class one could think of, all types of students feel right at home with its' clean, professional, small town feel, with the highest of standards of excellence of education, everyone feels at home here. Arizona has many things to go and see if you want to travel for an hour or two, sites including the Grand Canyon can be a great way to recreate.

    Bang for the buck

    Prescott enjoys clean air, many community events, and all the 4 seasons. It is the Christmas capitol of the state, and locals enjoy the annual event of the lighting of the Courthouse where the Christmas story is told and Christmas songs enjoyed. People here have the small town feel with advantages of small city as well. There is so much history that one can walk and view buildings, read different posted readings in many places down town. Most things in Prescott can be within walking distance or biking if one is in heart of Prescott. Makes it the perfect college town for sure.

    What to do for fun

    I encourage the seeker to research activities through the college, parks and recreation, and browse other links about activities in Prescott as well. Many free events or very low cost.There are hiking and biking groups, plays, many performances at the town square, weather permitting that are free and biking or walking distance. No matter, there is more than enough to fill up one's schedule for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Yes, the food is excellent and very affordable. I encourage anyone to eat there. In fact once when I was at lunch there I saw offer for a scholarship sitting on the table. I applied and was approved within days!

    Dorm Life

    This was not a need for me however, I do know someone personally that is in a dorm at present and is so pleased as he is able to be right there on the campus allowing him to come and go to class, library, cafeteria and whatever else he needs. He has excelled in his studies as a result.

    Academic Rigor

    I have personally experienced the high standards that the staff have required and demonstrated here. When I was in an EDU class and a MATH class, I was challenged and astounded at the delivery in the classroom of the content, knowledge and the expectations that they put on us. Anyone attending here will be more than qualified in their profession and more than ready for the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend anyone looking to attend Yavapai College, to view the campus and meet some of the different people here. Look at all course selections of those you would be likely to take to see if they are offered where and when it would work for you. Keep in mind classes can have several options, whether in the classroom, online, at a different campus nearby, or a little of all. If you are considering transferring to a university, be sure to know what classes are required so you can plan your classes at YCC accordingly. After all this is established, I highly recommend getting registered for classes asap, as they fill up fast and many are full a month before start date.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College offers a very good array of selection of class choices for just about any field of interest. When the college had its' renovation, it made it so easy to access one building and room for registration, advising, cashier, and financial aid where one stop does it all. My experiences with staff and teachers has all been so positive. The warm and professional manner make it so inviting to go here.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The performance hall offers a lot of fun things to do all year around. Prescott is a small town but there is a movie theater and hockey arena in the tri city area that also offer entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    You just have to make sure you do not procrastinate. That is the key to success at any college. Make sure you know your priorities. Also don't be afraid to approach your professors. At this college your not just another name on the roster they want you to succeed too.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing community college. They care about you as a student and as a person. This really makes the goal of graduating and moving onto a university a possibility and a smooth transition.

  • 10/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm personally going to Yavapai because I'm not positive what I want to do career wise. Yavapai has a wonderful nursing program and I hear nothing but good things about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get overwhelmed and don't just blow things off. Just because a class is easy don't slack off, I've learned that things I've learned in my easy classes I use often in the harder ones.

    Bang for the buck

    Yavapai is a great value. I spend less here than I would at other community colleges in the valley.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm in my second year at Yavapai, I've visited other community colleges in the Valley and I've found that the staff at Yavapai seem much more welcoming and they see to it that your needs are are met above and beyond. The students are great too-- I like how diverse my classes are we have people from ages 16 to 70, it shows us that we can always be learning no matter what our age. I also enjoy our YC sports.

    Am learning a lot

    At Yavapai I like my instructors. Not only are they helpful and are full of knowledge, they never hesitate to offer help when we're struggling with something. I find that a lot of our instructors are retired and have taught at some Universities and they take an extra step at furthering their students knowledge in certain subjects.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yavapai is a great place for students that want a cost effective relaxed environment. Yavapai is also a great school for students going into nursing. Yavapais trade school programs are some of the best out there. They offer great programs in filming, mechanics, gun smiting, mining and housing design.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yavapai is a great community college that is a great cost effective place to start right out of high school. I would recommend learning how to use a computer fairly well because yavapai uses computers for about every class they offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Yavapai has a great Bang for its buck. with a credit hour only being $158 there is no reason you can't go to college

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are great. The small classes means that your voice actually gets herd and you get to know your teachers on a personal level. as far as out side of the classrooms it can get a little dull because Yavapai doesn't offer many extra curricular activity's

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that I learned a lot at Yavapai the first semester I have attended. i feel that the online classes that they offer take away from the best part about Yavapai which is the one on one interaction you get with your teachers so I wouldn't recommend online classes hear.

  • 11/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for an older crowd, the student life is very diverse in ages and ethnicities. Be sure to use the services the school offers: free tutoring, a great library, a student's learning center..etc.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great community college, really getting your education done at a cheaper and more fair level. Online or in the class you're getting your money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only do you get a good education the weather and scenery is great. The town is not too big (even with 2 Walmarts). The weather is really diverse, you get the heat, the cool days, the cold winters (even snows). Its really pretty and the dorms aren't half bad.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers' focus is really set on the students. They will do what they can to teach so long as you are willing to participate. You have to try in these classes and it really makes you learn.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, some classes fill up fast

    Am enjoying being here

    A great campus and smaller classes means more personal contact with both other students and instructors

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The kinds of students that will succeed by attending Yavapai College are those who are responsible for their own success; those who have a lot of self-motivation and don't rely on anyone else to go to school for them. The student should attend Yavapai College if they are financially struggling. They should attend if they haven't taken college courses in a while and need a refreshment or if they can't find general education courses in other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that will help you reach your fundamental goals in education or a beginner's look into the world of higher education, this place is for you. It's important to be very self-directed in your learning and to always seek out more in your areas of study. The only way to get what you want is by reaching out and yanking the bull by its horns. This life is yours to create. College will support you if you grab the reins of your own dreams.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is affordable, though it definitely helps to be a resident of the state. If you are a resident, the tuition is about $3,000.00 cheaper. One thing I'm not impressed with is the lack of scholarship and financial aid that the school provides. I really wish that they were receiving more money for education, so that the students could as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending this school because it's pretty affordable and they provide the prerequisites that I need to get into higher levels of academic areas of study.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes provide me with all of the material I need to be competent in each subject of study. They are straight forward and clear with the content and delivery of information. The curriculum is also comprehensive and easy to understand how to follow through and succeed.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun is going to the sporting competitions or the plays they put on each year. I personally enjoy the art shows. They often have free food days too.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has very good food and most of it is made right there, the lunches are very low priced and affordable. Healthy meals are available and purchased regularly.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the Dorms, but It is very helpful I here from others to be able to live at the campus and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Your education here is fast paced and you need to be alert, education is extremely exciting!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never miss class if you do not have to! Always take notes for reminders you will need them, the information you get will be plenty.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great place to learn, the teachers are very interested in their students and their learning experience, I have had the assistant dean ask me if I wanted some information on universities after I get my associates degree, all the staff is like that I have had a great experience here!

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing too crazy, as it is a smaller town where the school is located, but there are places to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    although like anything the food can get tired when repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    first year it wasn't the best, but the newer dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors don't treat your education like the stereotype one finds when dealing with a community college. it's just as good.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to look into the honors college program, as it provides great scholarship for those who qualify.

    In three sentences

    yavapai is a great place to start your education without having to pay the university tuition. quality teachers and education and small classroom sizes.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus police and they monitor the campus regularly. also you can find the emergency blue light poles and campus police can be there quickly when you press the red button.

    Clubs and Activities

    i joined the multicultural club and have volunteered with great organizations and gone on some very interesting trips.

    Great for these types of students

    all. the campus has people of all ages.

    Bang for the buck

    yavapai college is good to get your general ed out of the way and its cheaper than going to a 4 year right after college.

    What to do for fun

    i love to hike. there are many trails around campus. i love to attend activities on campus because they are fun and you can meet a ton of new people.

    Food and Dining

    they offer a great selection of food in the cafeteria and the mini coffee stop in the library has great coffee and pastries.

    Dorm Life

    i have not lived on campus but my friends have. they are clean and the dorms also have some great housing activities.

    Academic Rigor

    yavapai college classes are very thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs and do not be afraid to talk to new people. also make sure you take advantage of all the resources yavapai offers.

    In three sentences

    yavapai college has many resources for its students and the instructors are very easy to work with. the campus is small but it has a great atmosphere.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hiking check out downtown, and enjoy the history.

    Tips for prospective students

    parking can be an issue sometimes, so try and get to school early.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are amazing at yavapai college. it is such a wonderful school. people are always willing to help you if you need it.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Campus Police on the two major campus locations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many choices for clubs and activities available for all types of interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type or age student, with any kind of background or history!

    Bang for the buck

    Yavapai College has kept their rates as low as possible for as long as possible. I am quite certain they would beat the national average for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Each branch of Yavapai College has many clubs and student activity options at each campus level. There are also concerts and each area where Yavapai College is located, have local activities and opportunities based on the area they are located in.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus in Prescott has a lot of dining opportunities. The other branches of campuses only have snack bar option, which is ok, but not anything special.

    Dorm Life

    I am unfamiliar with dorm life, as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a plethora of options for courses available, at all levels needed for academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study the catalog for the excellent amount of options for classes. Sign up for the Yavapai College Student Portal, and practice looking through all of the items offered there to help a student with anything they might need.

    In three sentences

    This college has grown immensely to accommodate the needs of small communities that are also growing. Yavapai College now offers a wonderful amount of courses and degree/certificate programs, to allow local residents to choose a career or start their college education for transfer to a major university. The cost to attend is excellent compared to national average!

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The entire town has many things to do near it, you just have to go to them :).

    Food and Dining

    The food is very delicious and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Highly do not recommend renting a dorm, its about $4000 a semester for freshman. There are better apartments located nearby for cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and work load is generally easy to manage so long as you don't overwork yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you turn in all documents required for scholarships as soon as they are available to you from the school!

    In three sentences

    Very low tuition rates. Nice and well trained teachers. Organized student help office.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I bring my lunch or go home to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I can't attest to dorm life.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College has a friendly campus that is filled with students of all ages and lifestyles. There are satellite campuses offsite in nearby communities as well as online classes available. The academic and financial counselors are eager to help the students be successful.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a variety of clubs on campus for anyone to choose from as well as sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good on campus and if you don't want to eat on campus there are alot of great places in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I was very surprised that this college had dorms and they are in decent condition.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes you can take. It depends on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous. Everyone, including the students, are there to help and are willing to help.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and the students are very friendly. I came from the east coast and have found the state and college to be very welcoming. I can not wait to start the fall semester.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're very conscientious, good crew.

    Greek Life

    You're speaking it now...

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear there's a lot of options, I just haven't had much opportunity to dedicate any time to join one or participate much myself.

    Great for these types of students

    Can't think of anybody who wouldn't be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    From the hilltop on the east side of the campus, you can see the domiciliary buildings at the VA hospital that were an original part of Fort Whipple when Arizona was still a territory. The stone pillars with gates in front of the Performance Hall are the original entry to Fort Whipple.

    Bang for the buck

    I've heard that the tuition is one of the most affordable in the state.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, kayaking, photography, fishing, pool-shooting, shows at the Courthouse Plaza, Elks, and Fine Arts building on Marina St., horseback riding, golf, tennis, swim park, bowling alley, camping, 4-wheeling, there's probably more...I work at the Performance Hall (stage crew and lobby concessions), there are shows throughout the year plus movie nights, so come on in and ask for me!

    Food and Dining

    Haven't heard anybody complain...the Starbuck's coffee is good--

    Dorm Life

    Er, heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    In high school I was always pretty much a straight-A student whether I studied or not; with a few decades of life experience under my belt I've been able to almost keep that record intact (yes, just almost, sigh), but I find I'm much more diligent about the details now and that has been paying off big-time. You can't skate these classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to deadlines. Focus on the assignment at hand. Give yourself adequate study time without distractions. Follow instructions. Participate in class discussions. Do your best plus an extra effort. Ask for help if you're a little confused; don't be afraid to speak up. Absorb knowledge and wisdom will follow. Enjoy the process.

    In three sentences

    Having graduated high 36 years ago, I was somewhat apprehensive about fitting in or feeling like I was involved in the learning process with a peer group that would think I was some kind of antique...I needn't have worried. I'm really enjoying the experience and am mixing it up between online courses (lots of student-to-student interaction in many of these via Discussion Board) and what I call butt-in-seat classes--both avenues of learning have merit.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I've never had to pay anything out of pocket for Yavapai until this semester. Apply for financial aid and you will pretty much go to school for FREE!

    What to do for fun

    Prescott is a boring town. It's a retirement town, so there's not a whole lot for the ever growing youth to do. If you look hard enough, you'll find things to do. There's a movie theater, you can go walk around famous down town Prescott, maybe discover a cool coffee shop or something. Yavapai also has fun events every once in a while for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very conveniently located. Yavapai has a cafeteria up the hill and a coffee shop type thing down the hill in the library. I think things are a little over priced but the food and selection is decent.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, Yavapai is, for the most part, very easy. I was expecting college to be more difficult, but a lot of it I would say is even easier than some of the classes I took in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take on too many classes. Research your instructor before registering for the class, some instructors here are not meant to teach! (Ratemyprofessor.com is a popular site used here.) Have fun!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Easy going instructors. Wide variety of class times and days.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Yavapai holds many events for people to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and there is many options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know I commute to campus on the days I have class.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm your self with classes.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing environment and I love the small class sizes.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is secure, we have our own police that patrol all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent!!

    Academic Rigor

    This is a college that cares about their students education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in school!

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College is a very great school. They make learning very fun. They have the classes I need to get on another career path.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yavapai has a Campus police and even Campus police telephones booths all over the campus...very safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    They host A LOT of activities...sports, movie-nights, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Yavapai is great for all types of students. They have a variety of degrees and certificate and even have an NAU program that allows you to stay an additional 2 or so years while doing working on you degree or certificate for whichever major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have very nice garden area.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to tuition costs a in-state universities, this school has a pretty decent tuition fee.

    What to do for fun

    In some of the dorms...there is a Wii.

    Food and Dining

    They have a food program...it's a bit pricey depending on your preference.

    Dorm Life

    They have separate dorms for college years...even one for those over 21. They are really nice dorms. Mostly, if not all are co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    Yavapai is like any other college/university. They take their academic success seriously. The teachers are extremely helpful and good at what they do. They take their job seriously and won't hesitate to drop a student, granted not before talking to them (depending on the guidelines of the class).

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Go on a tour of the college-- For a community college, they have a very large campus, so a tour of the campus should be helpful in navigating the campus. 2. Seek an Academic Advisor-- This is to just talk about your plans and goals while there on the campus. Basically, it's similar to your high school counselor. 3. Take Placement Tests 4. Read the Syllabuses of ALL of your classes THOROUGHLY and MORE THAN ONCE -- VERY IMPORTANT! In the syllabus is all the information needed about your classes, I would recommend printing out the syllabus and placing it in a folder or a three-ring binder for later reference.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for those that want to stay in-state, but don't want to have to pay the university tuition prices. Wide variety of majors to choose from, nice environment.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a great deal of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms, the cafeteria has a great deal of variety.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard and have determination you can achieve anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard

    In three sentences

    Awesome, it is giving me the opportunity to pursue my college goals. The staff is very helpful, the campus is beautiful and I really have connected with my teachers. I feel like they are very interested in helping me learn and achieve my goals.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have NEVER had a problem with safety on campus! To start off the people of Yavapai and the town of Prescott in general are very friendly, and there are emergency stations all over campus in case you do need to call security. The campus is well lit at night and after a class I have that gets out around 9pm, I never feel insecure walking back to the dorms.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge there is no greek life on campus, and i prefer it that way.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities at yavapai, even through there is no greek life are abundant and its easy to find something to do, especially with other students.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, outgoing students are encounted everywhere at Yavapai, my first year at school I constantly was asking for directions and pointers and students were not bothered in any way to stop what they were doing and help me!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The starbucks by the campus is where A LOT of students hang out, and the downtown area or whiskey row always has soemthing going on, its amazing during holidays and the 4th of July is a HUGE tourist attraction.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd give this 10 stars if I could, Yavapai is SO affordable. I worked over the summers and paid for my school and books out of pocket both years I've been here!

    What to do for fun

    The town surrounding Yavapai has a small town feel but there is always something going on dowtown, about a 10 minute walk from the campus. There is also a starbucks and plenty of eating areas less than 10 minutes from the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE the food, the meal plans are ridiculously enough food and the quality and diversity is great! There is even a coffee starbucks cafe in the library.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not the greatest but its not the worst, I was onlh in the dorms for a short time, but prefer living off campus. There are PLENTY of apartments and housing close to the campus and are affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are great! I have never had a problem with a teacher or their grading, I have plenty of teachers i would greatly reccomend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any students wishing to go to Yavapai I would reccomend you come with an open mind, you dont need much else to do well at the college. It's plenty easy to make friends, get along with teachers, and do well in classes.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai is a great community college to goto to save money and get in the groove of college life. The community around Yavapai is welcoming and easy to get around, even without a car. I am doing all my general education work here and I would highly reccomend others go there to save a substantial amount of money their forst two years.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with my kids

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dinning hall is eatable

    Dorm Life

    couldn't tell you

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and instructors are amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to academic advising every semester stay focused and on track!

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College has many clubs, programs, and classes to choose from. One of the things I appreciate the most in the online classes. Academic advising definitely has your interest and needs at heart.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety seems to be good. I haven't heard of anyone getting cars broken into or have anything stolen. Anything lost is usually pretty easy to locate.

    Greek Life

    Greek, eh? I don't know of any sororities or fraternities, but I'm not interested in that crowd to begin with. Someone would have to look into it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs, if a person has a specific interest, chances are there is a club or a few people that would like to start one up. A calendar that is emailed to all students keeps one up on events and can be quite fun. I know that the Nutcracker ballet was just at the performing hall. There are Cowboy Poet gathering and shows and all sorts of college events going on most of the time.

    Great for these types of students

    There is usually a place for all types of students. If they need help or have certain interests or whatever.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Learning Center is a great place to study or get help. It's usually quiet and resourceful, with attentive tutors for most subjects available.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are pretty good, depending a lot on teachers. Specialty books for Yavapai make it really hard to find cheap books online. That is my biggest problem. I would be getting books a lot cheaper if they weren't wasting the money on making their own books that are required.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a big reader. So getting coffee and some veggies to munch on while sitting in the library is nice. There are usually lots of events going on. And emails let you know of anything of interest that is going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is really good and pretty convenient when you are hunkering down for a long day of classes and work. There is a great variety.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms. I have always lived off campus. I don't know a lot about the dorms. I haven't heard of too many complaints from people that lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Be sure to pay attention to syllabi. Also be prepared to do a lot more work than high school. It's a whole new world that you need to actually prepare for. Studying and homework is your new life, expect it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read up on what teachers you are checking out. Pretty often you will get feedback that is pretty accurate and will give you an idea if this class would fit you.

    In three sentences

    I have been going here for a while and have found some really great teachers that I have enjoyed and have made my college experience worthwhile. I have no major complaints about the school. It's close to home, convenient, and not nearly as expensive as a university will be.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning Adult Students

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college so yes there is a good value in attending

    What to do for fun

    Prescott/the Verde Valley has easy Access to a lot of outdoor activities and the mall is 5 minutes from the Prescott Campus...there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    It's a cafeteria but way above your high school

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms but had friends that did everything was very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are pretty intense but it's all in how you manage you time

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask your teacher for help, the only stupid question is one that you never ask.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at Yavapai college are very helpful and focused on the students. I have had teachers that I thought would be hard to work with and they were some of the most enjoyable classes. They keep a high standard of work but are willing to work with their students

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa. This group seems to always have something going on! Along with this honor society, I know that there are many other clubs and groups on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are an Arizona resident, Yavapai College is absolutely affordable. The only reason I give them four stars instead of five is that their out-of-state tuition is pretty outrageous (I am not sure how it compares with other colleges in this area)

    What to do for fun

    Prescott is a great place to live! It is surely growing, however it still has the feel of a small quaint town. There are some great places to eat and there is ALWAYS something going on in downtown Prescott.

    Food and Dining

    I have only visited the school cafeteria on a few occasions, but it was always a good experience. There seems to be a great selection of things to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my husband and children at our home in Prescott Valley so I do not have any input on the dorm life at Yavapai College.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had both classes that are very easy and classes that are very difficult. Most every class that I have taken requires quit a bit of work, however I have always been able to receive that help I need from my instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that any incoming student register early. The classes tend to fill up early. Also, if you are able, speak with an adviser so that you can learn about all of the great degree and certificate programs they offer.

    In three sentences

    Up to this point I have had a WONDERFUL experience at Yavapai College! The instructors and staff are wonderful to work with, and I always feel that my voice is heard. I love attending Yavapai so much that I convinced my step daughter to move to Prescott with my husband and I so that she can also reap the benefits of this wonderful school.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Yavapai College's main campus is in Prescott, where there are many opportunities for hiking, camping and exploring the historic towns located in Northern Arizona. Decent shopping and night life.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus, so I don't know much about their cafeteria, but there are many restaurants in the Prescott area. These vary from drine-thru's to fine dining, with the $$ fluctuating accordingly.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken the bulk of my Yavapai classes online. The professors have always been great, but when much of the class is built on Discussion Board responses to prompts and responses back to peers about THEIR opinions, the class absolutely depends on the group of students in the class. In a classroom the teacher can often add to discussion to bring the level of responses up to college level. Unfortunately, this ability is not available with online classes. Take classes in a classroom as long as you can!

    Tips for prospective students

    I received a GREAT tip from a Yavapai counselor. Take your special interest classes first. Sometimes these classes are offered every other semester. If you get all of them out of the way, you won't be waiting for that last class to be able to graduate and move on. Also, you get a feel about the field you believe you are interested in from the very beginning.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College is a great place to start your education. It offers online classes that fits my schedule. I will be able to complete my AA with minimum expense.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a priority at Yavapai with emergency beacons located all over campus and the campus police station located just across from the main building.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The beautiful surroundings of Yavapai College make it easy to find a great place to sit and study, read or just think. Overall, two of my personal favorites are the hill outside of the Rider Diner where students can often be found sitting and playing guitars or talking. Another great place on campus is the sculpture garden behind the performance hall. While not a popular hangout place, the quiet haven of the sculpture garden is full of beautiful works of art, including fountains and benches, surrounded by trees and flowers, where you can take a walk or hang out.

    What to do for fun

    The local culture and beauty of Prescott makes it a great place to live and as a student you can drive, bike or take a short walk to the town square to eat, shop or just sit in the beautiful weather. The lakes and beautiful mountain trails also make Prescott a fantastic destination for outdoor activities. A great little city, resembling Main Street, USA, Prescott, Arizona and Yavapai College are fantastic places for students to explore and enjoy with festivals and public events constantly taking place in the town square and around the city. There are always activities taking place in the dorms as well, along with a variety performances to enjoy in the performance hall.

    Food and Dining

    Food services at Yavapai are great, with fresh food prepared every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A fresh soup and salad bar is always available along with the grill, where the friendly staff can make you anything from pancakes to double cheeseburgers. The Rider Diner also consists of fresh entrees which vary daily and with each meal, along with a sandwich station and hot pizza. Meal plans at Yavapai ensure students are well fed, providing them with one entree, three sides, a dessert and any size drink for each meal. There are also a variety of prepackaged snacks and drinks available for purchase in the Rider Diner, as well as Starbucks Coffee being brewed in the library cafe, Common Grounds.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Yavapai College are older buildings, however the rooms themselves are extremely well kept and great for college students. There are a total of three dorm halls, two of which are made up of two person rooms, the third hall being made up of four person suites. All of the dorm rooms include a private bathroom with Cable, A/C and WiFI. The Yavapai dormitories also include common areas in the lobby for recreation and studying and are located a short walk from the educational buildings. The RA staff at Yavapai College is extremely friendly and does a great job at organizing multiple weekly events for residents to ensure a sense of community within the buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Yavapai College has a great staff of educators to help support you throughout your education. From the free tutoring and help services in the Learning Center to your everyday class instructors, there is always someone at Yavapai to help you stay on track and make sure that you do your absolute best.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into Yavapai College as a potential school, the best thing you could do is arrange to meet with a counselor to discuss your specific major, and take a visit to explore the campus and surrounding city. This will help ensure that you like Prescott and Yavapai College while helping you become educated on the programs Yavapai can offer for your interests and major.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College in Prescott, Arizona is a fantastic community college complete with dormitories and affiliated with multiple universities to ensure that you get the most out of your education. Filled with friendly and amazing people, Prescott has so much to offer prospective students of all personalities and interests in a beautiful setting. Yavapai College has a fantastic culture that helps to support students of all interests and ages, complete with a life-long learning program for older students that makes the campus diverse and lively.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Yavapai College Prescott campus has much to offer their students. It is centrally located close to shopping, dining, entertainment and also offers much entertainment on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not use the dining facilities.

    Dorm Life

    I have not used the dorms at Yavapai College.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program at Yavapai College is one that requires dedication. Although it is intense it is also rewarding when completed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student interested in attending Yavapai College should start by calling their admissions counselors. They are very knowledgeable and will assist you.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College has an excellent Nursing program. The staff has been helpful in many different ways, from admissions to teaching staff. I would recommend this school to any Nursing student looking for a start to a successful career.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, Veterans, Nurses, Doctors looking for a starting point, Artists and people interested in the entertainment district.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located on what used to be Fort Whipple and still is next to a retired military base.

    Bang for the buck

    This college offers high quality classes for a low tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are plays, movies, and art shows offered on campus. Sports can be played and attended during most of the year. There are a medium selection of clubs to join and extracurricular classes that offer credit can be registered for.

    Food and Dining

    Food is offered every day and provides healthy options as well as standard American food fare. Many options are provided for condiments and drinks. Service is friendly and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    Could use improvements, but overall the atmosphere is one of community and many events occur to provide students with things to do on campus. It is not bad for a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff at Yavapai encourage learning and provide programs to encourage better study habits and ways of handling a tough course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to find a good starting point, Yavapai College provides the foundations to a great college career as well as provides many degrees to start professional careers. There is a great cultural aspect to the campus and I encourage prospective art and nursing students as well as veterans to begin here.

    In three sentences

    Has a clean, environmentally conscience campus. Provides students access to opportunities to pay for school and ways to improve learning. Professors are capable and the staff work hard to provide a excellent learning environment.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lots are well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    I am an older returning to school student, I feel very comfortable there and the instructors are great.

    Bang for the buck

    This school gave me the best bang for buck compared to a lot of other colleges. That was one of the reasons I came here.

    What to do for fun

    Work out or take a swim in the pool.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is affordable and quite tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but the facilities look great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, always meet with your academic advisor at least once a semester. They have tips on the upcoming classes.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great variety of programs. They are well known for their Allied Health Programs and Gunsmithing Program. The advisors have been most helpful in assisting me reach my goal.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Those cops are on every campus everytime I am going to class

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CTEC campus has a gunsmithing class so ppl have guns on this campus and it is not a problem

    Bang for the buck

    Flying is expensive but I have not found another school in the U.S. that offers this education.

    What to do for fun

    Go hiking kayaking shooting camping or anything outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Only been in the food area once and it had what I wanted.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as tough as I thought it would be but challenging enough to keep the stress coming and staying on top of my studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place for veterans because there are a lot of them attending. Any high school senior would do well to come here and save money before transferring.

    In three sentences

    The staff is the most helpful group I have ever encountered anywhere! The website is kind of ghetto as far as applying to become a student and for financial aid. Every teacher I have knows what they are talking about.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The NAEYC club is the best!

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Bang for the buck

    The staff are always there for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are volleyball games. There is also a performance hall where all kinds of concerts and other shows take place.

    Food and Dining

    Yavapai College takes pride in providing delicious healthy food for their students.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it's great but I don't know personally.

    Academic Rigor

    There can be a lot of course work but if you stay on top it it should be overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive. Take advantage of the services that are available to you. Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College is an excellent college. I'd give it 12 out of ten starts!

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not a lot, because it's a very small town. However, many students hang out downtown, and there's a movie theatre right out in Prescott Valley/

    Food and Dining

    Prescott is a great community. Sue Ann's is wonderuful for breakfast, there's dozens of good lunch and dinner places- especially Kendall's, downtown.

    Dorm Life

    As I stay with my parents- I'm not even sure they have dorms- I'll rate it high.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some new things learned, but a lot of it is also remedial stuff that we've been learning since we were young.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ms. Willard is one of the best teachers, as far as English is concerned. Don't expect riveting classes all around, but you're assured to learn something knew.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are friendly, and so is the administration staff. It's located in Prescott, which is a beautiful city with a friendly population. There's a lot of diversity in degrees and the kind of students attending the college.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have campus police available at all times on the campus. The campus generally feels safe for the most part. Emergency telephones conveniently located.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent tuition rates for in-state students. Cost of living is low in Arizona if you are planning to relocate. Very cost effective compared to other colleges/universities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Plenty of areas to dine in the area with a great variety of food restaurants, bars, and pubs.

    Dorm Life

    They have dorms available for a community college, which is unique and original.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is competitive to other colleges. Some programs seem to require more than other state community colleges.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Recent high school grads

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Awesome sculpture and art garden

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it, almost everything transfers

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor rec classes and the auditorium has great events

    Food and Dining

    I like the grill and cafeteria, but it lacks healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a few years of community college before heading off to university.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai college has great low tuition rates and a very flexible class schedule. Instructors are competent and care about helping their students pass. I especially enjoy their electives and outdoor recreation courses!

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The sports games were always an exciting event to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Food was always good and freshly made never minded going into the cafeteria for breakfast or lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged but not overwhelmed with any of my classes witch was an awesome feeling from someone with a teacher for a mother.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared the professors are willing to do more than their part in teaching but they all expect your hardest work from you! Don't let the campus or anyone on it intimidate you the staff and fellow students are so very welcoming you always are willing to lend a helping hand.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here actually care about the students. The faculty and staff are very concerned about the students educational and occupational careers. Lastly, the campus is well maintained and kept very open and welcoming which makes students able to enjoy their experience.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of athletics not a lot clubs or programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students Those looking for a practical education for a profession It also has basic classes for things such as Yoga, Martial Arts, and learning how to use certain computer programs.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very hard to beat 70-78 dollars per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    The school has plenty of successful athletic junior college programs. The school also host plenty of events including plays, concerts, comedians, festivals, etc

    Academic Rigor

    Not very difficult, but very good for what a two year schools purpose is.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be proactive in your education. You must be the change you wish to see in the world.

    In three sentences

    Great school with a helpful staff, and selection of courses as well as transfer options.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but the students say it's good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your instructors. They are usually very understanding. Always seek help when you need it. There is always someone to help.

    In three sentences

    I think Yavapai College has an excellent Nursing Program. I think that this school does very well equipping themselves with great teachers. I look forward to the next 2 years.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watching the great athletic programs. The 2013 soccer team is doing very well in their program and reached the final four. There are also great shows in the performance hall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great in the cafeteria and there is a wide variety of different types of food. The food is also at a great price, and students that use their student card get a discount. There is also a cafe that brews Starbucks coffee, and is very convenient for students that have no time to go to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I currently don't live in the dorms. From other current students, they have enough room for their clothes, their own bathrooms, desk space. Each rooms is a suite of two rooms that fit two roommates, and one bathroom per suite.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors can differ on how much work they give out and how long due dates are. From my personal experience the work load isn't as much a student that is taking 15 credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware of the parking lot, plan accordingly before class. Be sure to sign up for classes the day of registration.

    In three sentences

    In a nice town of Prescott, a nice community school that is a nice environment for students that like smaller schools.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is relatively small with a great campus police presence. Easy access to emergency call lights.

    What to do for fun

    Student activities, mountain biking, hiking, fishing, entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Great choices, prices are high for those who do not have a prepaid meal plan.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot expected out of the students academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to study 2-3 hours for each credit hour.

    In three sentences

    Yavapai College gets a high rating. There are wonderful educators who care about educational progression in their students. There are great extra curricular programs for students to be involved in.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is there and there is a number that you can call for them to help you out to your car at night.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I pay good money to go to school here. It is when I go to ASU is where I am wishing it was as inexpensive as Yavapai.

    What to do for fun

    They host basketball games, softball/baseball games, and soccer games. Other than that you have to go off campus and there is something going on downtown on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a variety with great food. Very inexpensive and helpful when you don't have much time in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but they are available. They are just remodeling which was much needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and courses are fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    When talking to the advisory, you may want to check out a few of them. Some seem to know more than the others. It was really challenging to apply when under 18 years of age. The teachers are very educated and know what they are talking about.

    In three sentences

    This college is really enjoyable; a great community college. If I could get a four year degree here, I would definitely stay. Great teachers, great courses, and great certifications offered.