Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

York Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    York Technical College is great for students who do not wish to attend a four your college, for those who wish to continue to work, and for those married and/or with children. A degree or certificate can be earned in two years or less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be to study daily, organize your time, and plan ahead.

    Bang for the buck

    York Technical College has been affordable for me but a little extra help financially would be great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed my classes and the faculty since attending.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Nursing program and have learned a great deal.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    York Tech is great for anyone. The flexible scheduling is great for parents or people with full-time jobs. The payment plan and other financial aid help makes it easier to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to register for classes early because they get full fast. Also, to meet all requirements well before the deadlines just to make sure you are prepared for the worst. York Tech is a great school to go to. I feel like I am accomplishing something by going there.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is affordable and there are many different ways to pay. They now have a tuition payment plan that splits up the cost. Even though I still struggle sometimes to pay for school, it's a reasonable price for the education I get there.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very nice to be at, it's clean and I feel safe. The teachers are all willing to help in any way they can.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are great! The teachers are very knowledgeable about the topic and encouraging.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent campus safety.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for students who do not know what they want to pursue or for older students coming back to recieve a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great place to recieve an afforable education!

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at York Technical College, but the cafeteria always smells good. I have bought coffee from the starbucks machine at the book store, and it was good!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at YTC.

    Academic Rigor

    The studies are not hard, but I guess that depends on your major and focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    York Tech is not a hard school if you put work into it. Make sure you understand what your teachers and looking for a don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I worked full time and still managed good grades at York Technical College and I was enrolled as a full time studennt.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students, parents, busy schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Chose classes as early as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good price. If you can not afford at the moment they offer payment plans that really help out.

    Am enjoying being here

    I attend school at night so it is not populated at all. For the most part I like it.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers in my major really know what they are teaching you. They have had experience in the field so you aren't learning out of the book. It is their real stories.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is pretty good. and campus security does a great job at making sure everything is going the way it should around campus.

    What to do for fun

    every now and then there are certain activities that go on around campus. these activities are either posted online or around campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good depending on what you get, and is very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    there isn't any dorms on this campus. your required to have your own transportation to school.

    Academic Rigor

    the difficulty or challenges of academics aren't that bad to where you cant handle it. as long as you set aside the time to your studies or go the extra mile to be successful, there shouldn't be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    for any students that plan on going here or considering it i would say that you need to be very committed to checking your emails on d2l. very important is left there and that is also where your grades are submitted.

    In three sentences

    york technical college is a great school for academics. the professors are great and always willing to help their students. the schools campus is also great and well kept.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety officers are an abundant.

    Clubs and Activities

    computer clubs, book clubs, school spirt clubs, ect.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who would like to obtain more than one certification or degree. great for all paces of students. flexible in everything.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is affordable and resonable when it comes to demands.

    What to do for fun

    computers! socail networking, and nice cafeteria for downtime.

    Food and Dining

    del taco!

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is not intimidating, but it works with your efforts and time. its a real good school.

    In three sentences

    york tech is a great school for first and second chances. the school provides great help and motivation. the teachers here are wonderful and down-to-earth.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No comment

    Clubs and Activities

    Pass

    Great for these types of students

    Do not waste your time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Avoid Josianne Campbell. English!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is extremely high you recieve more at Central Piedmont Community College.

    What to do for fun

    The only activity I have found that was pleasent is when class was over, the joy of walking away.

    Food and Dining

    Skip

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or living quarters available.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not recommend this technical school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid York Technical College. It is a money pit.

    In three sentences

    Avoid Josianne Campbell English, she is very subjective. I would not have signed up for it if I would have been warned. Assigments are unclear and her communciaton is behond poor. Worst experiance of my life.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    york technical college is great for students that are trying to get a two-year degree, or are looking for a cheap way to get their general education classes out of the way before transferring to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    as most all other technical colleges are, york technical college is a great and cheap option to get a college degree or begin a college education. the financial aid office is very friendly and clearly directs students on how to meet their individual needs to pay for college.

    Food and Dining

    york technical college is a community, two year school and does not provide food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    york technical college is a community, two year school and does not provide housing.

    Academic Rigor

    as with any college or university, the academic rigor will vary class to class and professor to professor. however, i have found that most of my teachers have challenged much of my work and critiqued it in a way to make it better.

    Tips for prospective students

    i always suggest using the website www.ratemyprofessor.com to find professors that will suit oneself. i have used this website for both online and on-campus classes. i also suggest if at all possible, and if the student is self-determined, to take some classes online. this allows people to move at their own pace and work when is convenient with personal schedules.

    In three sentences

    york technical college is a cheap and great option to receive a two-year degree or begin a college education. the teachers are commonly knowledgeable and challenging to allow students to reach their full potential. the college accepts and allows students from all backgrounds to take a step in the right direction to better their lives.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are every where. they really beafed up on security.

    Bang for the buck

    One gets a good educational base from york tech. The teachers know there stuff and are willing to take the time to help the students.

    What to do for fun

    lounge around in between classes. There is a nice newly built patio. Socialize with the girls.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not to hard. You have to apply yourself, and if you dont understand something, you have to dig and figure it out yourself. the resources are their, you just have to know how to use them.

    In three sentences

    they are a well rounded school, with decent teachers it took them a couple semester to get the math teachers worked out, but they have a great Head of the math dept, science dept. and Physics dept, they are great teachers. They also have a good tutoring program, for students in need of help. Finally, Their tuition is affordable.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have heard of lock downs at many other school. Our only issue here is parking at certain times of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since I do not live on campus and have a part time job I have not researched the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to work with your hands and create things this is a great school.

    Bang for the buck

    Using Amazon to purchase books saves me about half the cost of on campus bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    I like to watch movies and do gaming.

    Food and Dining

    Since no campus residential there is only a cafeteria and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Well, so far all my classes have been hands on so I have the ability to raise my grades by repeated effort. This summer I will knock out my academic requirements so that remains to be seen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to commit to a schedule. If you can not stay focused it will take so much longer as specific courses are not offered all the time. At least in the welding area I have found this to be true.

    In three sentences

    This has been a great school for me since I am interested in a technical field. The school is small and the staff is friendly. My instructors in the welding class are like older brothers who I can ask personal questions not just school related.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They don't accept a lot of transfer credits, and require you to take too many unnecessary classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The Word 2010 Theory tests are rediculous and should be reconsidered.

    In three sentences

    York Technical College has able intructors and nice class rooms. The financial aid department needs some training. The head of the school needs to be more aware of non-traditional student's needs.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfers students, students who want to prolong their education, students trying to achieve an associates or just a certificate

    What to do for fun

    The mall is near by the school, also there are local schools like the high schools and Winthrop University that have sport functions that are fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Mall near by along with different other places to eat including Taco Bell, McDonald's, Subway, Moe's and etc

    Academic Rigor

    depends on major

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you do enroll early, because classes will become full soon, and it also makes it easier on yourself, counselors, and the admissions office if you do so. Also any questions you need to ask, ask them. They'll answer anything that you need to be answered.

    In three sentences

    Being a community college, the school is a great way to get the feel of how college life is without the overcrowding or too overwhelming feeling. They even provide you with the same classes you would get from a private university/college so that when you finish getting your associate's you can easily transfer to another school, because you finished the required courses. They also have good counselors and admission officers that help you with any questions or concerns that you may have, no matter, how big or small.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far it has been good.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know about this.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is pretty good for full time students.

    What to do for fun

    I am not interested in having fun at school, Im only interested in learning and making the best grades I can.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about the food yet.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I really can't say much about this because i am just starting.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing i would say is write questions down to ask because they want give you any extra information. Second thing is make sure you keep a copy of everything they make you sign or any kind of information.

    In three sentences

    So far everyone been nice but they don't give you very much information and they never return phone calls. I have been a little disappointed with the schools all around organization.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vendng machines that rarely ever work...oh there is a Del Taco there but are never opened in the evening.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Be warned, that if you take a online class you will have to go to campus to take the tests and if any presentations that need to be made.

    In three sentences

    Do not expect actual online classes when taking online classes. Good luck with financial aid, they do what they want with your money.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a great option for getting your basics out of the way and then transferring

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on every corner you turn to. There are no worries especially at night time.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school to go to if your looking to get out in 2 years or less. they have wonderful programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Mrs. Lisa Bishop has been there for me through this whole fall semester with all of my questions and concerns. I couldn't ask for a better advisor to go to when I feel panicked about something.

    What to do for fun

    The school has clubs and meetings that you can join for your major and just for fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is very good, i rate that an 8.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate the school a 10.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff is very helpful with anything that you need. No hesitation has ever came up when i needed help with my classes or financial aid.

    In three sentences

    York tech is one of the best college's i have attended. The staff there is so helpful with all of my questions and concerns. I rate my school a 10 with customer service.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. There are always security officers patrolling the campus and directing traffic. Police officers are also on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many options when it comes to clubs on campus. If a club is not offered that you would like to be a part of, they are always more than happy to have someone start a new one!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work and need a more flexible class schedule should look into York Tech. Also, any student who is looking into nursing or becoming a dental hygienist. These two programs I have heard nothing but amazing comments on.

    Bang for the buck

    York Tech is great for those who are looking to not spend a fortune on the courses you need to take. It has been my biggest draw to this school because I can easily afford it and am not going to end up with any student loans from attending. They also offer scholarships, which helps to lessen the cost of tuition and can help buy books.

    What to do for fun

    Rock Hill offers a great deal of entertainment. There are bars for those who are of age to go there. There are many great restaurants, bowling alley, movie theatre. Charlotte, NC is also not too far of a drive. This is a great, clean, fun, and young city. There are many options when it comes to Charlotte. There are always great festivals going on around spring and summer and a lot of live music.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall on campus that offers a variety of options. Everything is pretty good. There are also many restaurants close to campus that are affordable and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus, but the surrounding area of Rock Hill offers many great and affordable apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging and thought-provoking, but your professors are very understanding of everything life can throw at you. Ask many questions when you do not understand and your professor can help to answer them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have all of your paperwork together before going to the campus to register. Keep in contact with your advisor at all times! Map out a plan with your advisor of all the courses you will need to take to graduate and communicate periodically with your advisor that you are on track.

    In three sentences

    Professors at this college are willing to go beyond the call of duty in order to ensure that their students understand the material presented in the classroom. The campus offers many meeting locations and activities to get involved in for student fellowship. There are many options available for those who need to learn more about how to study effectively and the staff is patient and offers excellent advice.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will not find better classes for less money anywhere around!

    What to do for fun

    There are several student organizations on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to go for general education courses whether or not you plan to transfer elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    I had previously dealt with financial aid officials at Winthrop University who made it seem impossible to continue my education, but the financial aid office a York Technical College did everything they could to make sure I could return to school. They never stopped working with me, no matter how annoying my emails and phone calls were. On top of that, every professor I currently have is absolutely fantastic.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are always patrolling the parking lot and as well as around campus making sure things are going smoothly.

    Greek Life

    Beta Gamma Chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta (English Honors Society) Lambda Nu Honor Society (Radiologic Technology Club) Phi Beta Lambda (Future Business Leaders of America) Phi Theta Kappa (National Honor Society)

    Clubs and Activities

    Criminal Justice Clubs Christian Fellowships Student Nurses Association

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who are interested in fixing cars, becoming a medical assistant, dental assistants and CPA accountants.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though York Technical College is a small technical school; it definitely was worth it. The campus was close enough to where I lived that it didn't really matter to me that there wasn't any dorms or a dining room. The classrooms were small and easier to ask for help when I needed it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley/billiards hall right down the road from the campus. It was a great place to hang out with friends and bowl. They do $1 bowling nights for students with a college ID.

    Food and Dining

    There was a dining room when I attended York Technical College, but they stopped using it. There was a Del Taco employee and a manager, who came a couple time a week and served tacos, burritos, and nachos. The bookstore had food that you could buy but it was definitely over priced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this time

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at York Technical College are very flexible. They are willing to do what ever it takes to help students learn and understand what is being taught. Many of my professors in the past have assigned study partners or invited the whole class to participate in a study group.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a career that is dealing with health care or auto mechanics this school would be perfect.

    In three sentences

    York Technical College is a beautiful campus. They have great teachers who are there for you 100%. Tuition is low in cost, so it definitely was a concern to me when it came time to find a college.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at York Technical College is great. There is always a person from campus security somewhere in the parking lots and there are emergency calling stations in every parking lot which is a big red pole with an emergency button where you can call for help when there is an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Because their are no on campus dorms I feel as though this is an area that York Technical College could possibly work on in the future to make students learn to become more social and meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students in low income families, students who would rather commute to college, and students who would like to go to a small college right out of high school then transfer to a bigger college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are really no unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    At York Technical College you get an awesome education by teachers who are actually passionate about what they teach for an amazing price which is a lot cheaper than four year schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall, a movie theatre, and many places to shop within one mile of York Technical College.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of restaurants all around York Technical College. It does not matter what direction you leave Your Technical College you are guaranteed to be right in the middle of a ton of restaurants including Panera, Chickfila, McDonald's, Taco Bell, KFC and many more.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at York Technical College but a lot of students live in apartments close by or don't mind the drive from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at York Technial College expect you to want to learn the material and to study the material outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions in class when you don't understand part of the material. Learn your teacher's office hours so that you will be able to go if you need extra help with the material.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at York Technical College are their best attribute. They are great at making the material easily understandable. The campus is very nice and well kept.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent in that they can be seen patrolling the campus at all times ensuring that students,staff and their vehicles in the parking lot are safe. The campus also consists of safety stations in specific locations which can alert anyone on campus of where you are located and provides immediate assistance. Overall the officers do a great job in making you feel safe and protected.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has a great program known as the promise program which provides academic tutoring, personal counselling and advice to students who are planning on transferring to four year institutions. It also has a computer, paralegal and business club for students who are preparing for a career in these majors.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for students who work, parents with children and students who are still in high school because it provides flexible times for their busy day to day schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location on campus would be a room located in our admissions building designated for students who are veterans. This room provides their own personal assistance throughout their academic life at the college.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable and cost effective and one is able to take as much classes for this reason. Majority of the courses are also transferable to most local and out of state colleges which makes it even more cost effective.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a detailed list of fun activities and workshops each month for students to have fun. For e.g, wobble Wednesdays is a fun activity that takes place each Wednesday where students are able to dance and sing along to current and old pop songs. Workshops are also very interactive and resourceful as well as the material being taught can also aid in one's personal life.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is small and as such does not have many food and dining facilities. On the other hand, vending machines and a small cafeteria make up for a lack of a huge dining facility.

    Dorm Life

    It is a non commute campus

    Academic Rigor

    The college's academic rigor is not as intense as most colleges or universities. If anything it prepares you for what to expect at 4 year Universities. However you are able to learn about a wide range of topics at an easy relaxed pace. However for more practical subjects such as mathematics there might be limited time to learn a wide range of topics and as such the learning process may become a bit intense at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the admissions office for any type of clarification or information needed rather than relying on outside sources. Ensure that you research each type of financial aid you are able to benefit from. Ensure that you are prepared to provide any documents that the school might need from previously attended schools if any.

    In three sentences

    York Technical College is very accommodating in terms of the cost, programs offered and it's efficient staff. It is very inexpensive to take courses here compared to other colleges which are very costly.They also offer a wide variety of programs and courses which does not limit anyone and their efficient staff provides the best guidance and advice for students.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of local places

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines, one on campus dinning room

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, Community College

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent school spirit

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into admissions office, one stop shopping they can help you apply, counseling and financial aide.

    In three sentences

    Excellent programs offered, wide variety of classes and schedules. Real world experienced instructors. 2-year programs

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    cafe is a good place to hang out and study. Very clean.I haven't eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are good size and can be challenging but if they weren't they you wouldn't getting what you paid for. Stay on top of your class work. Talk to your teachers when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would suggest would be always keep in touch with your financial aid advisory to make sure everything is in order. Utilize the student center when needed. They are always there to help.

    In three sentences

    I would rate York Technical college as a 5 on a scale of 1-5, 5 being the best. I have been attending YTC for a couple of years and really like the easy accessible campus, the convenience of its location and the broad academic choices. The staff, also are very helpful when needed.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college cost a lot less than a traditional university. It cost a quarter of the price than an university and saves a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do on campus. The student activities center has a list of activities that is held on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and prepared hot and ready to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since it is a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask for because everyone is there to help you.

    In three sentences

    York Technical College is a great place to start for college. This college is helpful to everyone in need. This college was a great pick for me because they were so helpful.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    York Tech is a very safe environment. There is campus security readily available at all time. Campus security also patrols the campus on a regular basis.

    Greek Life

    York Technical college does not have a greek chapter. They typically have clubs and organizations on campus but we do not have sororities or fraternities. As a tech school we focus more on student success in the classroom and less about the typical college scene like greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at York Tech that students can be apart of. There are also many organizations that the clubs volunteer with as part of community service around the Rock Hill area.

    Great for these types of students

    York Tech is great for students who do better in smaller classes. Student's who strive to perform with as little distraction as possible will excel greatly here. Also if you are looking for a program to finish in a short amount of time, York Tech will provide you with the skills you need to be successful

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The newest building is the Science and Technology building. It is a more modern setting and has become a nice location on campus to study in the lobby. The courtyard is also a nice place to sit and relax after a long day of classes.

    Bang for the buck

    York Tech has provided stellar faculty. The professors are always willing to stay after class and answer questions. They are super easy to get a hold of and typically resound back immediately. They truly focus more on student success rather than just fulfilling their daily classroom agenda.

    What to do for fun

    Due to it's smaller campus size most student will go to eat together in surrounding areas near campus. However, they have a dance party every wednesday in the student center. Students may also join some of the clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    York Technical College has provided a student center with food and drink on campus. It's always packed in the student center and the bookstore also offers food and drink for students. The dining hall is always open with friendly services to students.

    Dorm Life

    York Tech does not offer dorm rooms but there are many opportunities for housing due to its close proximity to Winthrop's University Village. Due to York Tech being a smaller technical college most students still reside with their parents or have their own residence. Therefore, the dorm life at York Tech is pretty non existent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is entirely up to the student's motivation. My professors have always set proficient deadlines for school work and were willing to adjust according to the classes needs. The smaller class sizes give a more intimate setting and allow for effective discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that prospective students are aware of the out of state tuition requirements and are proactive about finding scholarships. Also prospective students should not be shy about meeting department heads and their potential professors before hand. It makes such a difference in your college experience when you get to know your instructors.

    In three sentences

    York Technical College is 10 out of 10. This college was the perfect match for me as far as preparing me for my field of study. The staff and faculty are tremendous at helping you plan for your future effectively.