Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Young Harris College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is best for student that are independent and don't need to be entertained 24/7

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip i could give to a student attending Young Harris is to be very dedicated to your studies. It is an easy school to gt into, but the academics are not easy.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Young Harris is a bit on the pricey side it is well worth the money. You receive a quality education and experience at Young Harris.

    Am enjoying being here

    The beautifle mountian air is the best place to continue your education. there is many different outdoor activities with in you reach. But if the out doors is not your thing there is malls and shopping just down the road. the dorms are some of the biggest i have seen. the food is great and available throughout the entire day.

    Am learning a lot

    Young Harris is a top of the notch learning school. With small class sizes professors are ablet to get to know the students on individual basis and help them with their needs. They have excellent tutoring programs and the best academic services.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music majors, theater, musical theater, religious studies, fine arts, humanities, mathematics, science, social and behavioral science, child education, and anything like pre-law, pre-nursing, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that focuses on humanities, fine arts, and anything on the lines of that, this is the perfect place to go. It's a lovely, comfortable small campus, and everyone will practically know you. It's such a friendly environment, and such a beautiful school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey since it's a small, private liberal arts college. Although, YHC gives out some great scholarships, and financial help to those who need it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful, with mountains surrounding it. Also, all the buildings are lovely, and look well. The weather is enjoyable, and there are tons of beautiful flowers and plants all around. It seems there is quite a bit of activities to get involved with as well.

    Will learn a lot

    There is a very wide range of courses offered at YHC, and teachers are so involved in helping each individual student. It is a comfortable learning environment.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police station is located right between all the dorms and are very quick to respond. They are very nice and are willing to do pretty much anything which includes going on a jog with you if its late and you want company and protection even though nothing much bad ever happens around there.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is very active. I do not participate but they are constantly seen around campus doing many things.

    Clubs and Activities

    From beginning of the year parties the school hosts to spring festivals there's plenty to do. There's a rock wall and huge gym with weights. A inside basketball court and an outside one with a inside volleyball court huge TVs in dorm lobbies for watching movies with friends and tons more.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors people and either very social or unsocial people. Tons of on campus Social activities but there is no requirements to go so you can stay and chill in your dorm or go climb the rock wall while everyone is at the activity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Plenty of mountain tops students hike to fairly often with amazing views.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private college the tuition is fairly high but they give almost all students a ten to thirteen thousand dollar scholarship which is real easy to keep.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do from exploring the mountains to snowboarding in winter. There are plenty of lake areas for swimming and tons of campus activities all year round.

    Food and Dining

    Great options in the dining hall and with the electronic card system they have going in to get food is super quick with no hassle.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms for two people to live in at once. They are very meticulous about rooming you with someone that matches you and you will be happy rooming with.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes in the biology program are extremely challenging. I have heard previous reviews compare them to the difficulty of Ivy league colleges meaning the students are definitely taught what they need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a great relaxing atmosphere then Young Harris is great. The biology program is really challenging and will keep you learning.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris has the most helpful staff and teachers, which was not what i heard college was going to be like. Being located in the mountains it has an extremely beautiful campus all year round that I miss even over the summers at home. Great biology program that gives a hands on experience with great classes.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    sometimes i think it is TOO safe... I feel like I am suffocating because the campus is so small and if you happen to drink or smoke weed then you are always extremely paranoid because it is such a small town surrounding campus as well that cops are always at bay

    Greek Life

    it is growing, i am not personally a fan of any of the frat or sorority life, but there are some if you wanted to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    cupid falls, people used to go there to have sex and smoke weed, but no so much any more because the cops have become aware of this (we have a police station ON campus.. fantastic right?) The only good thing about having our own police station is that students dont get arrested for underaged drinking, but rather fined. It does get sketchy at night when you have a back pack on or anything on weekends, they can randomly stop and search you. if you smell like alcohol they will fine you.

    Bang for the buck

    the academics are really great, you wont get this small class size anywhere else. The school is obscenely expensive though, with tuition constantly going up.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there is nothing whatsoever to do around here if you do not make friends fast. People are extremely friendly and make you feel comfortable when you come here, but it took me a little while to actually find some friends I had things in common with. There are usually people having cabin parties starting around thursday-saturday but sometimes you have to drive far, and no one wants to be the DD because what fun is a party if you can't have a few drinks.. the campus is dry and pretty strict about drinking, people still do it obviously but you have to be careful when attending on-campus get togethers or you will receive an alcohol violation and be fined.

    Food and Dining

    the food is tolerable, and sometimes they even have really good food. Sometimes it is almost impossible to find anything healthy to eat aside from a salad from the salad bar (which gets very old because it's the same romaine lettuce and toppings and dressing every day).

    Dorm Life

    One of the main reasons I decided to come to this school were the dorms. They have some really great options for living, from apartment style village to suite style enotah but the cheapest dorms I must say are kind of disgusting (appleby and rollins, but rollins isnt as bad)

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a second semester freshman so I have not yet gotten to experience the full academic array currently available at YHC, since I am still taking so many required classes. All of my classes were enjoyable for the most part, most of my professors were very helpful, so long as you put the effort into your classes. The biology dept. here is quite strong (my major) although it is a liberal arts school, biology is the number one chosen major. classes are very small so you get complete, uninhibited individual attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    a lot of students on campus are very religiously involved, I happen to be the exact opposite. This was one of the most intimidating things for me and almost caused me not to attend the school. Although there are many religious activities and events taking place constantly on campus, none of them are required, and there were actually quite a few students I met who were just like me.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris College is a very unique college experience. I had been out of highschool (having earned my GED in Feb. 2011) for about two years when I decided to move from south Fl to YHC. It is a very small and friendly school that helped ease me into the college experience.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a great college that offers many scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are major cities close by, but the college offers many clubs that you can join. Young Harris plans a lot of different on-campus activities and you can also attend the many sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the same food is served over and over, but offers a great variety.

    Dorm Life

    They offer a variety of dorms: all female/male; coed; apartments. You can pick one that you are comfortable with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challenging. They offer many study sessions to help and offer free tutoring to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college where you know everyone on campus. The have just moved to Division II in sports and have recently added a basketball program. The professors are helpful and they plan many on-campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains. You get personal attention from professors. The college is close to major cities.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who don't mind being in a small town.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to do at Young Harris to keep you occupied, such as sports, coffee houses, performances, and many more. Also, on the weekends Atlanta is just a 1 hour and 30 minute-2 hour drive.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Young Harris is alright, but it could be improved.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The residence halls all have distinct characteristics that make them enjoyable to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The school work is very difficult, but that's understandable seeing that it is college. But, the hard work pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off. The work at Young Harris is going to become tough at times, but you have to be strong and get through it if you want that degree. There's not much to do off campus, but at times that is a good thing.

    In three sentences

    I rate Young Harris as being a 7/10. It is a beautiful campus in the heart of the mountains with a great faculty and staff.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Young Harris is a campus that provides a great feeling of safety and security.

    Greek Life

    There is only one national fraternity on campus. There is also local fraternities and sororities at Young Harris. The school Greek life system could, and needs to be improved.

    Great for these types of students

    Young Harris is great for students who love a small school setting. Walking around Young Harris one can know anyone by face and it makes the school a very warm, friendly place. It is also great for outdoor enthusiasts due to the mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    Young Harris offers a lot, but due to it being a private school it is quite expensive. The dorm facilities are beautiful as well as the campus. It would be nice to have better food with as much many as is spent.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is located in a small mountain town there is not much city life. Many students love to go hiking on the trails around campus. Also the school has built a new gym and is constantly adding new NCAA sports as it grows.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Young Harris could be improved. The school brought in new food management my freshman year. The food however still leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Young Harris are constantly improving. The school has opened new dorm facilities each year I have been attending and keeps them up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Young Harris can compete with those at any other college. The classes can be difficult but manageable. The smaller classes allows for much better communication with professors which greatly helps the learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that any prospective students should take the opportunities they get to meet other students. With such a small campus having a good group of friends is very important.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris is a great college. I really enjoy the small and secluded setting the schools provides in such a beautiful setting. The school provides a great education and experience.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    English majors and outdoorsy types.

    Bang for the buck

    A little expensive (how stressed am I about loans??!), but well worth it!

    Will enjoy being here

    Amazing views. Great area. You will LOVE this place!

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the outdoors, love small towns, love music and theater, want to feel safe, and want to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just sit around in your dorm room!! Get involved on campus and you'll make a lot of great friends and memories. Enjoy the mountains and all the lakes. Go hiking and swimming and exploring!! Learn about the college's history too because that's pretty interesting! Don't be afraid to talk to new people and branch out. But most importantly you should become best friends with the people in the PB building which includes financial aid, advising, registrar, and other offices. Good luck at Young Harris!! PEAVE LOVE DOVE

    Bang for the buck

    Young Harris is a private school so it is expensive, however, the only person who can make sure you get your money's worth is you. You can either make your time at this school completely worth it or you can waste it. If you come with the right attitude and positivity then this school is worth it.

    Did enjoy being here

    I can absolutely say with 100% certainty that I loved being at Young Harris. I lived on campus with my cross country team mates and other friends. I enjoyed the Greek life and the spiritual life at the college. I spent time on the beautiful campus with wonderful people making beautiful memories that I will always cherish and hold dear to my heart.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned as much inside of the classroom as I did outside of the classroom. Certain professors and certain classes will teach you more than others however, the desire to learn must come from within.

  • 09/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a challenge---- Students who are ok with being bored pretty often---- Students who like to party on the weekend

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a hard time paying attention in class then this is the place to be. The teachers have a lot of one on one attention with students and are great with making things easy to understand.

    Bang for the buck

    It's over $30'000 a year. Granted there are a lot of scholarship opportunities, but still expensive. I think the money is worth it though.

    Am enjoying being here

    Almost everyone goes home for the weekend which kinda sucks, it can be boring. Unless you party. If you party then it's great!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is very challenging! It will kick your butt!!!

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is high, but many scholarships are offered by the school and to me, it is worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The students seem to plan a lot of activities, but it is in a very small town, with not much otherwise to do. Atlanta is only a short distance away, though.

    Will learn a lot

    The small class sizes allow a one-on-one interaction between the student and professor.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are not sure about what college is like

    What to do for fun

    Other than watching tevevision and hanging out with friends on campus there really is not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    No the best and not enough variety.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are good but the classes are really small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure it is the right decision

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police officers are very helpful and keep the campus as safe as possible. Our safety is a top priority.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who generally went to smaller high schools would appreciate Young Harris a lot more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mountains and waterfalls can take your breath away. There are several hiking rails in the area for out door type people.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, the surrounding areas are a bit dry at times. There is a lovely little beach up the road and various activities like movies and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its ups and downs. It can be monotonous at times but you get used to it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really great. There is adequate space for someone of any taste and different building types so you can find a fit just for you.

    Academic Rigor

    I was honestly expecting it to be a lot harder than it was but with enough effort and consistent help from teachers, it is very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise any prospective student to make sure they have the financial capability. Although it is a nice school is it quite expensive.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris College is a nice, quiet place to begin a transition into adulthood. It is a cozy place in the mountains with a spectacular view. Everyone on the campus is very polite and you feel right at home.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The police are very involved in all aspects of the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great campus for outdoors people.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on outside on the lawn in front of the dorms. There are many places near campus to go hiking, fishing, or swimming at the lake near by. There are many sites to go camping near the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The dining room is small and does not fit everyone during their busy hours for the growing campus they have.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and every night is like a sleepover with your friends. If there are every any problems with the dorms they get fixed in a reasonable time. There is plenty of room and closet space.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not the easiest but the teachers will work with you and will always meet with you to work things out. There are tutors available and other ways to help you succeed in every class.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beauty being surrounded by mountains. The teachers and students are wonderful. It's a small campus and everyone is involved in all aspects of the school.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cupids Falls is romantic.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes just a little bit.

    What to do for fun

    Create your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes not that great.

    Dorm Life

    Live in Enotah or Village, they are awesome places to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some class that are very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and Stay focus. Have a little fun.

    In three sentences

    Its is a friendly school. I love the teachers. there is a beautiful campus in the mountains.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Police station is in one of the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is amazing. The school is not supportive of hazing. You will make many friends in Greek Life and they are amazing people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Young Harris is great for the outdoorsy type. It is great for any type of person unless you hate being on a campus that is so small.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before finals, we go the night before finals start and walk the wall at the front of campus. It is a tradition. There is a waterfall near the campus called Cupids.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money, it is just really expensive to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of outdoor activities to do around the campus. You can go to hike at many different areas around Young Harris. If you are an outdoor lover you will find many opportunities up here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It is cafeteria food after all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms depend on where you stay. The nicest dorms are Hillgrove, Enotah, and the Village. Make sure you clean like every week because rooms get dirty pretty fast.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging. You will not get a break from work because you are constantly writing a paper, doing a project, or etc. The teachers are pretty great and have a deep knowledge of their field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend Young Harris College, bring lots of different weather clothing. The weather is very changy because of the valley. Sometimes it will be freezing and sometimes it is very sunny and warm. Make sure you prepare for the classes over the summer as well.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris College is an amazing college with a beautiful campus. The classes are very challenging but they are worth it in the end. I recommend this college to everyone because you will fall in love with the school.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is amazing on campus. All of the Greek organizations on campus are locals, so they have stronger bonds than Nationals do.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have an extensive greek community which i am a part of, not to mention numerous other organizations on and off campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester before finals, all the students walk the wall in front of campus for good luck. Most of the buildings on campus are haunted. I kno this from personal experience.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for fun since we are secluded in the mountains, but this aspect gives us a chance to create stronger bonds with the fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Academics come first.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris is an excellent school for both the academic and social aspect of a students college career.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a Resident Assistant, I can see campus safety first hand. Like many campuses, ours has our own police building, where the officers who protect our campus and community are strong and very helpful with everything. This campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Both National and Young Harris Christian based.

    Clubs and Activities

    From CAB - An organization whose primary goal is to create fun for students to IRC - A religious council that talks about any kind of religion under the sun. Young Harris has made a presadent to create clubs and activities for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students are our most famous and appealed students. While we also have an abundance of Science and Mathematics enthusiasts who make up our campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. At midnight before finals, all students walk the wall that is parallel to the highway leading to the college. If the student makes it across and back then by legend they will ace their finals. 2. This may not be a tradition, but the flowers here are legendary.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately, Young Harris College is pricy, it is still a private University, with United Methodist blood running through its veins. Optimistically, our financial aid department may be small, but after spending many volunteered hours with students, they have made it doable to afford Young Harris.

    What to do for fun

    Just on campus, there is every club and organization you can think of. From Student Government to National Fraternities and Sororities. Outside there are endless mountain trails, shopping, exploring, and wonderful restaurants that surround this majestic community.

    Food and Dining

    The dining facility is labeled as an antique, but just like the academics, Young Harris College is already approved a new student and civic center that will have top star dining.

    Dorm Life

    Sitting in my dorm at this moment, I would have to say, living here is just as nice or even better than at home. The view of the mountains and campus is nice too.

    Academic Rigor

    Every program available at this campus is constantly looking at new and exciting ways to expand and serve the students who attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just browsing our website is not enough, it may give you a dowsing, but really coming and enjoying the awesome and exciting feeling is much more savvy.

    In three sentences

    In a scale of 1 to 10. Young Harris College is honestly an 11! Being apart of this campus is like no other!

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police is always on top of making sure everyone is save! They are there if you need them and are super friendly!

    Greek Life

    We have one national fraternity and one national sorority. There are also multiple local organizations to choose from. You can never go wrong with going greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities set up by our Campus Activities Board and Student Government Association! We have events like Fall Fest, Spring Fest, live concerts, monthly coffee houses, laser tag, casino night, dances, entertainers including comedians, hypnotists and magicians, intramural activities, pool and poker tournaments and many more! We have academic, sports, and cultural clubs anyone is free to check out and join!

    Great for these types of students

    YHC is great for any type of student. It is expecially great for outdoor enthusiasts! We even have student come in from so many countries! There is always a different language or accent being spoken around campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester before graduation, you have the chance to walk the wall! It is a YHC tradition where you walk along the wall located at the front of campus where you try to not fall off. If you do, you may fail your final exams!!

    Bang for the buck

    If you ask the right person, you can learn about Young Harris' ghostly stories...

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun! If you love outdoors, you will love Young Harris! There is something always going on at the lawn from frisbee to slack-lining! Go hike any of the hundreds of trails or go eat at the many restraunts!

    Food and Dining

    The food can vary at times. The dining staff is very friendly and can even remember you by name! The food is most times great but if you get tired of the same old, there are many places to eat off campus!

    Dorm Life

    The resident halls all have there own perks. We have villages were you can be sharing an apartment-like room with five friends or in our Appelby hall with one. There's fun things to do outside your dorms as well like when the Room Advisors set up fun events for the halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes in my opinion are the perfect size. The professors allow you to have extra help if needed by just asking them! They are there because they love teaching and love helping. There are numerous places to study from outdoor to inside where its peace and quite.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to spend all your time inside your rooms! The campus is such a beautiful place and there is so much to do! Go explore the mountains and even kayak down a river! My tip is to simply enjoy coming here.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris College has the most gorgeous campus located in the north Georgia mountains. Students are more than friendly and the student body is basically a family. The professors here love what they do and are here to help you!

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on campus and the school is in such a small town that it is very safe

    Greek Life

    Yep, we got it!

    Clubs and Activities

    Even tho we are small we have all the sports teams, minus football. We have great clubs and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    I came from a small private high school so this college is perfect for me due to size. Was able to meet friends easy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located in the mountains of N Georgia. Hiawassee is not far and has a great lake.

    Bang for the buck

    Since its a private school, it is a bit expensive but worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Lots to do, hiking, fishing, awesome lake for in the summer. There is also a ton of things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    If you get in good with the cafeteria people you will never be hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are sweet

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but the professors are always willing to help. Also the Academic Success Center is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit, you will fall in love with it. You are not just another student at YHC, you are a person with a name and all the staff work hard to learn it. You will feel at home here.

    In three sentences

    I love Young Harris because of the professors, the students and the support that I receive. Also the campus is awesome located in the N Georgia Mountains.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is always on the prowl for any unwanted Mountain Lion! Some students feel so safe there that they set their running schedules at night to run through the cool (and harmless) breeze! The small-town location also makes for a low crime rate all around, which gives you peace of mind.

    Greek Life

    I haven't participated in Greek life on campus, but I have heard that the many sororities and fraternities are something not to be missed out on. And not to mention, the dances they put on to raise funds are awesome! And some fraternities even sell Chik-Fil-A biscuits every Friday morning!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a vast array of clubs activities on campus! From Fellowship of Christian Athletes to the Choir Club, there is a club and activity for anybody!

    Great for these types of students

    Young Harris is great for students who are self-motivated and seeking academic adventure. The curriculum is challenging, but it's definitely do-able as long as you keep your focus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We all know that finals week can be tough. But there is an interesting event that offsets the stress a bit. Before finals start, a select faculty team prepare pancakes for the YHC dining hall and serve breakfast to all of the students! It's amusing to see the teachers in that light, and it's all in all a great time! You hardly even remember you have finals, until it's time to take it!

    Bang for the buck

    Having a Young Harris College degree is rewarding in more ways than one. The cost of tuition and room/board are very feasible considering what you get out of it, which is hands-on experience and a close-knit faculty team that is bound and determined to get you that college degree and hopefully that dream job!

    What to do for fun

    You will never be bored. The range of campus activities keeps your head spinning! There are chapel services, small music recitals, musicals, plays, and loads of fraternity and sorority dances! It seems like every night you'll have something to do! And if you are looking to just relax on the green grass during a warm day, feel free to rent hammocks from the recreational gym and hang out in one of the many gazebos placed all across campus, or cozy up on a swing and read a book from the campus library!

    Food and Dining

    Tired of school cafeteria food? Have no fear! YHC's dining hall is an eating experience beyond measure. I love eating here. They have a great selection of foods every single day, ranging from taco pizza to sushi in the international section, to fried chicken and potatoes. They also carry vegetarian choices as well, an added bonus!

    Dorm Life

    If you are planning to be a resident here at YHC, attempt to stay at Enotah at all costs! While it's the highest tier you can get, it's definitely worth the extra moolah. The layout is really nice, the rooms are cozy yet spacious, and in the upstairs area there are sound-proof rooms complete with practice keyboard pianos for the music majors! Enotah is the talk of the campus when it comes to resident life.

    Academic Rigor

    Young Harris is the perfect college for those seeking an academic challenge. The curriculum is enough to keep you on your toes! However, it isn't impossible to succeed with flying colors as long as you apply yourself!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like the Young Harris motto says: dare to explore! Don't be afraid to try new things such as taking new classes or even asking a professor a difficult question. Their aim is to help you and they absolutely eat it up when you ask them questions and seek information. Dare to explore YHC!

    In three sentences

    This beautiful college is nestled in the North Georgia Mountains, and it is even more beautiful than you could imagine! As well as a great campus, the faculty is what really draws you into the helpful and welcoming atmosphere. The professors truly want you to succeed and the student body is just as encouraging!

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police is always on point. There when you need them!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Young Harris has a mold of its own. A lot of our greeks are local chapters and we have recently added two nationals, Zeta Phi Beta and Kappa Sigma.

    Clubs and Activities

    Young Harris is always creating new clubs and there is ALWAYS something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Young Harris is great for students who want to feel at home. YHC is literally a home away from home for me. The people are always so nice and they will do anything to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition at Young Harris I enjoy is the cram jam breakfast at late night. Faculty and Staff cook a huge breakfast for the students during the last week of classes due to finals and they have various give-away prizes for students.

    Bang for the buck

    Young Harris is always adding new buildings every year. We are in the process of building a beautiful new student center.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, we have kickbacks and go hiking. During athletic seasons, we go to the various games (ie lacrosse, basketball, baseball, softball, cross country, competitive cheerleading, soccer).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria could improve. When you live in The Village, like I do, you have the option of having a 10 meals/week plan because you have a built in stove and oven.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is absolutely wonderful. Young Harris has various tier housing assignments. I live in The Village, which is just like apartment styled dorms. They have EVERYTHING. Not to mention the balcony and the beautiful view of the mountains every morning, which is quite refreshing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Young Harris is not an easy school, but you have teachers there who are willing to help you every step of the way. We have various tutoring programs and the Academic Success Center is there just to help students learn and receive guidance when they have a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a loud and crazy school, YHC is not for you. The campus is right in a valley in the middle of the North GA mountains. We are a Methodist-based college.

    In three sentences

    Young Harris College is truly a one-of-a-kind private institution. I made a very good decision when I decided to attend Young Harris. Nearly 90% of the student body receives some form of financial assistance by the school and the student-faculty ratio is like 12-1.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    One of the best things about YHC!

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of the semester everyone Walks The Wall in front of campus for good luck! its a great tradition ! Make sure you do it.

    What to do for fun

    YHC is a place where you have to make your own fun. Get involved, join a club, go hiking. You cant wait for things to happen, you have to make them happpen.

    Food and Dining

    ARA will and always sucks. There is nothing you can do about it besides suck it up and eat it anyway.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are actually not too bad. Yes Center is old, but the dorms are what you make them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are what you make them. If you try hard and take hard classes than it will be hard, if not than it will be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get INVOLVED! do not be afraid to put yourself out there!

    In three sentences

    YHC is a place you will always feel welcomed. Great Teachers who always want you to succeed and great other students who always are helpful

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cupid Waterfall

    What to do for fun

    There is a small waterfall behind the gymnasium called Cupid Waterfall. You can also hit the gym and run around in the track or in the treadmills. You can tutor other people who are in need. Grab a bite in the many restaurants that are around the school.

    Food and Dining

    I am sorry to admit that the food in the dining hall is not the best, there are times when there is yet this is very uncommon.

    Dorm Life

    It is great having someone who shares the same ideals and is there when you need that person. By your sophomore, as you are more comfortable with the school and have had the opportunity of meeting other people, you have the chance of choosing some of your friends to live with you.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging and thus require a significant amount of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take challenging and out-of-the-box courses. Attend the events that the school holds.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful mountains. Great professors. Challenging courses.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The county police is right on campus, so there is no need to worry. They are literally in the middle of the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshmen that attend are shuttled up to Brasstown Bald, the tallest peak in Georgia. We have a picnic and just hangout for a bit the hike all the way back to the Young Harris campus. Then for your senior year, you hike up to the top of the peak, signaling that you have graduated and leaving the campus.

    What to do for fun

    The is always hiking! We are in the mountains! Plus there is The lake so there is kayaking and fishing!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Young Harris is great! The dinning hall always has plenty of options to chose from. The cafe in the recreation building is also very good. They have healthy choices and Starbucks coffee!!

    Dorm Life

    The Towers dorm is a must for freshmen. It helps you adjust to college life. The building is design to get students to interact with everyone else there.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are not difficult, if you study. Studying is the key to college. Here, I believe that the professors actually care about their students. They try and make all of the material understandable for everyone.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always has police officers driving around the campus. The officers are friendly and will respond quickly if you need them. The police department is located on campus so the campus stays pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in the Greek life but their are plenty of them to join on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are plenty of clubs to join that fit the different interest students have. Theirs a wide variety of activities that you can join in on.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for the students that are the outdoorsy type and for the people who like the small town life.

    Bang for the buck

    This college can be expensive but it is worth the money. Professors will help you as much as they can and they want you to succeed. The biology program keeps you busy and is difficult. But with the small class sized and the professors willingness to help you when you need it makes up for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Their are plenty of places to go hiking close by because of the college being up in the mountains. The school hosts many events for the students to get together and hang out. Their is not much around the campus to do bot if you meet other people with the same interest you could find something to go do. Their are plenty of parties most of them happen off campus and require you to drive.

    Food and Dining

    Their are plenty of options you could chose from. Some days it is hard to find something health to eat other than the salad bar. But overall the food is decent and is available all day during the week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, they have plenty of room. I have had no issues with the dorms, if something was broke or not working someone would come out as soon as they could to fix it.

    Academic Rigor

    I had a tough first semester, some classes can be hard. The professors helped me when i needed it, they all want to see their students succeed. As long as you dedicate time to your studies it will become easier. Their are plenty of tutoring opportunities to help you out. This school is easy to get in but hard to stay in if you are not dedicating time to the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is easy to get into but the classes can be quite difficult. If you dedicate some time to your studies you will succeed.