Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Youngstown State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For 1st year students you should definitely check out the Center for Student Progress. The people in there are real cool and they have peer mentors that help you and teach you different things about campus and college life.

    Am enjoying being here

    At 1st I thought I would be going home every weekend but with the friends I met in my dorm its a blast. It is a very nice campus with lounge areas where you can chill and talk with others or quiet study areas to get some work done

    Am learning a lot

    Of course. The teachers are very helpful and will lend a hand whenever you need it.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Prospective music majors... This school is awesome for music. There are phenomenal teachers here and you will get a great education. I haven't started yet but I know some of the teachers and plenty of people who have graduated from YSU and loved it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the Undergraduate Bulletin... EVERYTHING is in there.

    Bang for the buck

    There are tons of scholarships available at YSU, and so many student organizations and great teachers.

  • 08/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Youngstown State University is great for a number of different students. I am a part of their Education program and it is a very well organized program and the professors in it are very helpful and love what they are doing which makes class quite enjoyable. I recommend it for Education majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun. Get involved. You will get the most of your college experience by getting involved with clubs, organizations and even a job on campus. Take time from school to relax and enjoy yourself. Not only will you have fun but it will help you with school by controlling your stress. Don't be afraid to ask questions, either in class or outside of class. That's what professors are here for.

    Bang for the buck

    The programs here at YSU are very well put together. You can get the same education here as you can at a higher end college for a lot cheaper. Not only is it worth the money, but YSU also offers many different scholarships and awards plenty of financial aid to help you out. Their financial aid offices are a great help and will assist you with any problems you may have when it comes to paying for college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is not very big but it's not very small either. Campus is very beautiful and it makes you feel at home. YSU has many different types of clubs and organizations for everyone out there and I do mean everyone. It's a great way to meet new people and have fun while you are here.

    Am learning a lot

    YSU offers many opportunities inside and outside of class for learning. Outside of class, YSU offers tutors for every subject which are very helpful and most professors hold office hours or have them by appointment which I highly recommend every student attends. The professors are here to help and they will do anything to assist you with any problems you may have.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am heading in under Law Enforcement. I see that YSU offers a number of majors and I am looking forward to meeting so many new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Youngstown State is a good value for a 4+ college. It is a medium size campus with all the activities as a larger campus.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am looking forward to meeting new people and actually getting involved with the campus activities.

    Will learn a lot

    Just by speaking with some of staff at YSU, there is a set plan for my education. I cant wait to see what this new experience will bring.

  • 11/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    YSU has outstanding programs in engineering, nursing, and social sciences. People are here to work towards a better future, and they don't mind taking time to help you get to your better future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an effort to make friends and meet people in your perspective fields. This is useful at any college, but here at YSU people are of a different breed. Everyone wants to help everyone else, it is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Located in Youngstown, Ohio, YSU offers a renowned college experience for a fraction of the price of other Ohio schools such as Ohio State University or the University of Toledo.

    Am enjoying being here

    YSU has some of the greatest academic programs in Ohio. Couple that with an intimate learning setting and you get a high quality college experience here. Professors here are very personable and willing to go out of their way to help in any way possible.

    Am learning a lot

    Youngstown State University offers an array of certified majors and minors that will continuously challenge you from freshman year through graduate school. YSU's Anthropology program is very proactive in keeping students informed with updated field information and using the latest forms of teaching technology.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    YSU is great for high school graduates who want to live on campus to have the full college experience. There are dorms on and off campus. Also, YSU is smaller than most state schools so it is a smaller but not to small of an environment to adjust to. YSU is also great for commuting students which is what I do. Furthermore YSU is a great place for nontraditional students as well. So if you are a student thinking about returning to college now and you are juggling kids, work and school you will do fine at YSU because their are many nontraditional students. I have two kids, bills, work and school but at YSU I have been able to keep a 3.8/4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I have for prospective students enrolling into any college would be to not wait to get involved on campus. Go to the Center for Student Progress and see your Peer Mentor. It is a proven fact that those students who do get involved on campus are more likely to stay in college and complete their degree. I you need help in a class just ask, seek tutoring (which is FREE) or talk to the professor to see if they have a graduate assistant who could help you. Also, go to the professors office hours because the professor does not know you need help unless you go talk to them. Find an organization or club to join to get involved on campus and in the community. YSU has about any organization you could think of so no excuses for not getting involved. Lastly, if you have the opportunity to get a campus job then please do it. Being an employee on campus lets me network so much and doors started to open for me that I never knew existed.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, you do get your 'bang for your buck' at YSU. I believe YSU has cheaper credit hours than some other colleges. Also, I feel what I am paying for is well worth it. I am a junior now and so far I feel all of my classes have been very academically and personally rewarding.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Youngstown State University so much that I decided to get a campus job. I am a peer mentor at the Center for Student Progress and I mentor incoming college freshmen to help them adjust to college life. I am also involved in a few different organizations and play on the intramural volleyball team. The students, professors, and staff at YSU are all very excepting and the campus has so much to offer.

    Am learning a lot

    At Youngstown State University I have learned so much and I am continuing to grow with knowledge. The professors want you to challenge yourself not only in the classroom but also outside the classroom. I have not had a professor yet that I have not learned valuable information from and in giving me the opportunity to do my own research outside the classroom I have learned the most. I feel like a detective sometimes uncovering new leads or reaching dead ends where I have to link information to find a new leads. Coming into any college environment I think everyone needs to be aware of the learning that needs to take place outside of the classroom which I believe what I have been taught most.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who want to get a taste of the outside world but who still want to fly back to their nest if need be since YSU is a wide known commuter school. This is a great place to be yourself, meet new people, and do your own thing while still getting a great education for your future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell any student thinking about going to Youngstown State University that it is truly the college for them if they like being free, receiving a good solid education, and willing to work for their degree.

    Bang for the buck

    From my two previous reviews involving the learning abilities and enjoyment level, I definitely feel that Youngstown State University is a bang for the buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    Since my first day at Youngstown State University I have had so many doors open before my eyes involving new opportunities to learn and make my college experience amazing. I feel that I can truly enjoy myself at this particular college because I can stay as long as I want to study and spend time with friends, but then I can also leave when I want to come home and spend time with family. I enjoy being able to have more freedom and become involved with whatever I would like on campus. Youngstown State University gives me that exact opportunity.

    Am learning a lot

    I have attended Youngstown State University for 3 semesters and have already found myself being engaged in detailed conversations concerning my Nursing major. Being able to speak at a more intellectual level has shown how much I have learned from YSU in such a small amount of time. My professors have been very intriguing and very helpful in trying to instill their knowledge in their students. This has also helped with my learning process.

  • 06/02/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I got accepted there for month and I am really exicted to get to Youngstown State University!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are about 15,000 students here, so there is a decent size student body but the campus is nice because it's not very big and very easy to adjust to. Everyone around campus is very friendly. Everyone is very inviting and it's great for anyone looking for a public school that really makes you feel welcome. I am an exercise science pre physical therapy major and I really enjoy the program that I am in. I have also heard nothing but good from my friends who are music majors as well as education majors. There are some very competitive programs here such as nursing and dental hygiene just to name a couple.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Center for Student Progress. They walk you through everything step by step, especially for your first year. There is free tutoring offered also if you need it.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All Performing Art students and pretty much any other interested students. It's a great school!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is one of the best schools to go to. All the professors are willing to help and they won't make you feel afraid to ask.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an experience like no other. You will honestly enjoy every second on campus!

    Am enjoying being here

    it's a great environment and I get to spend my days doing something I love!

    Am learning a lot

    I am constantly learning something new everyday! It's incredible!

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting a place to call home, outside of your family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, you get to schedule early and get your dorm early too.

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap, plus free tutors, and alot of free extras like the rec center.

    Will enjoy being here

    It seems very friendly and welcoming!

    Will learn a lot

    Scheduled my classes for fall already. Seems to be a good fit.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good price for the quality of education that is received.

    Will enjoy being here

    All the students and staff are super friendly. I have friends that attended the early college program and the absolutely loved it.

    Will learn a lot

    all the professors are helpful in every way possible. you literally learn new thing everyday you're on campus!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students roam this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to each class and prepare for future lectures. College is a time to network and learn about the people around you. That being said, study with other classmates or tutor if you grasp the subject matter well. Not only does that increase your retention, it looks very good on your curriculum vitae or resume. Also, take advantage of your professor's contact information, especially their office hours. Utilizing these tools show your teacher that major effort is being used on your part to succeed in their class.

    Bang for the buck

    YSU is reasonable priced in comparison to other surrounding universities. I know many people who wanted to go away for college, and due to increasing costs, had to move back and attend YSU.

    Am enjoying being here

    Now that I am working on my master's, I am able to be more involved in my laboratory work to produce my thesis. At this point in time, the classes I take aid my hard work in the laboratory.

    Am learning a lot

    My courses are specific to me and have increased my understanding of my major.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of different ethnicities, But over all a great school. I always learn a lot.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard! Use your resources such as the Math Assistance Center, and the writing center in the MAAG library. The CSP is also very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors we're all very helpful. Take use of office hours professors are always willing to help during those times.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 64

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I just got accepted to the BS/MD program at Youngstown and I am super excited. All of the professors seem to be incredibly nice and genuinely concerned about how well their students are doing in their courses. Everyone that I met was really nice and fun and I cannot wait to be apart of the campus.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    eat at subway, visit with friends

    Food and Dining

    subway

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be tough, but not too bad, just keep your head on top of your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    study and attend your classes

    In three sentences

    it is an absolutely great center for higher education. i love the new business school. the business school is accredited and very impressive.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    excellent variety in places to get food on or around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    just well paced enough to keep you on track for graduation with overloading your brain to the point it screams oh me, oh my, i'm going to melt now!

    In three sentences

    a well laid out campus with decent parking and very knowledgeable professors. many are easy to approach and decent food.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    there are fraternities and sororities, but i'm not involved in one so i really don't know much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a good selection of different clubs and activities on campus. i've only participated in one club and i've enjoyed, but i wouldn't know what the rest of them are like and if they're active and/or enjoyable.

    Great for these types of students

    great for all types of students, really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i think it's a fairly normal tradition for colleges, but there's a large rock near the center of campus that gets painted often by various groups on campus. there may be more, but that's the only one that comes to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    you're getting a good education for a fairly inexpensive price. it's up to you to work hard and get the most out of it.

    What to do for fun

    the lemon grove and cedar's (local bars) will have nights where bands will come and play and that can be fun. also, the covelli centre is close by and will have various events that happen there. if you can't find anything nearby that seems fun, cleveland's only an hour and a half away. chances are you'll be able to find something to do with your free time.

    Food and Dining

    there are a number of different options on and around campus for food. some are better than others. it's a pretty average selection.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus, so i don't know. i've never heard anyone complain about dorm life though.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on what classes you take, what teacher you get, and your own level of intelligence.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's not as bad as it's reputation may make it seem.

    In three sentences

    you'll get out of it what you put into it. if you work hard you'll do good. if you don't, you won't.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great, no matter what you will see tow or three cops just driving or walking around.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty popular here.

    What to do for fun

    I love going to the rec because you can get on the machines or play basketball. Their is nothing really within walking distance of campus but, the mall is close and their are many clubs around campus. My friends and I like having movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pretty good on campus, you pretty much get sick fo the food but, I feel like that is anywhere because you are eating the same thing over and over again if you live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, living on campus has let me meet so many more people than living at home. Also I have a life time friend because of my room mate. Also housing at YSU puts on a lot of activities so their are a lot of random things to do within the dorms. We have had movie nights, pizza parties, baking parties. Also housing has put on fashion shows, virgin alcohol parties. Their is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a huge step in your life so take it seriously. You can have fun but still do good in school. Everyone has their limits and after your first semester you will see them. Meet lots of people your first couple of weeks. Be your self and be open to change and to new things. Go out and do things you have always wanted to do. I would also recommend talking to your roommate before school so that you already know a little about each other already.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State is a great size school and has great classes. The classroom sizes are different every class but, are manageable. The amount of activities you can be involved in is huge at YSU, especially if you stay on campus.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones who dont have the money to go away to school.

    What to do for fun

    Go have coffee with your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come early in order to get good parking.

    In three sentences

    Easy school to go to if you live around the area and you don't have the money to go away to school.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get their education and get on with their lives.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable, but the room and board is pricy.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large rec center, and many places to go around town.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options on campus to eat, and plenty off campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    The individual rooms are very nice and new.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes seem a little on the easy side, but many of the upper dvision courses are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is going to be the right place for you. It is in the middle of a city, so be prepared for traffic and people when you visit.

    In three sentences

    At this university, you don't feel like a number in every class. There are many options and majors for just about anyone. The residence halls are very new and clean.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not in Greek Life, but we have a very active Greek Life in which people not active in the organizations can semi participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    A variety for everyone... everything from 'Harry Potter Club' to 'Service Club' to 'Cheese Club' :)

    Bang for the buck

    I think your 'Bang for the buck' is better now, but based on my experience at the time it was So-So

    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus and attend outside events. There are sponsored semester concerts at discounted prices. There is a great Rec Center with lots of free activities to participate in. You mostly have to create your own fun with friends at YSU, but it is worth it and if you really try you will never forget your time spent at YSU.

    Food and Dining

    There are many on and off campus options, but not the most healthy options and you may grow tired of these options.

    Dorm Life

    Some may complain about the small or outdated rooms, but I loved them and choose to stay on campus rather than move off campus. Plus I was an RA and that was a blast in of itself!

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs have a higher rigor than others, but there are plenty of rigorous programs for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus if you are not from the area- at least your first year. Get involved in campus. Connect with your professors. Study abroad.

    In three sentences

    A good medium sized school. You get to know lots of people, but yet you aren't overwhelmed by too many people on campus. Continuing to gain recognition and make new renovations.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Youngstown State has their own police station. They have their opwn police cars. The campus police are everywhere and are heavily involved in ensuring that students are safe. Our police officers are here to protect the students and they do their job well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big at Youngstown State. There is an annual Greek Sing competition every year and there are a ton of other Greek life activities throughout the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs from environmental clubs, to the gay-straight alliance, to chemistry clubs, to theatre clubs, etc. If there isn't a club for someone, then that person can make one. There is guaranteed to be at least one or two other people interested in that activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can do well here. Youngstown State is an ethnically diverse college, as well as an educationally diverse college. People from all ages come to YSU and receive an excellent education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock on campus. The story behind it is this: There was some construction happening on campus when the workers discovered this huge boulder. Rather than get rid of it, the university decided to keep it. And now, the rock is painted at least two or three times a week, promoting student activities on campus or organizations. Just this year alone, one student proposed to his girlfriend by painting on the rock.

    Bang for the buck

    The education offered at YSU is so affordable! You get the exact same education (if not a better one) offered by larger, more prestigious colleges for more than half the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do on campus. Greek life, clubs, organizations. You name it, our campus probably has it. We have the Watson & Tressel training site and an amazing rec center, too.

    Food and Dining

    We have Arby's, Dunkin Donuts, five or six cafes, University Pizza, Jimmy John's, and more. There are so many places to go on campus to get great food at great prices. And Pete's Points (the meal plan at YSU) is taken at most locations.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm because I live off-campus, but plenty of my friends on campus say that living in the dorms is amazing and so much fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education requirements are typically your less difficult classes, but don't expect to pass if you don't show up or never turn anything in. Your professors want you to pass, but you have to help yourself, too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus, whether it be in an organization or through getting an on campus job. Be open to meeting new people and do activities. Study hard and go see your professors if you're struggling. Also, go to class because the teachers here are pretty amazing.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown is a diverse campus with an exceptional amount of oppotunities to meet new people and explore different cultures. The campus is beautiful and there are over two thousand trees on campus, offering shade and a feeling of comfort. The teachers here really want their students to succeed and will help in any way they can, including offering one on one time and going above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that their students pass.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good education, good price.

    What to do for fun

    Rock climbing, full-service gym, lounges.

    Food and Dining

    Tons of restarunts to choose from, like Dunkin Donuts, Arbys and Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not dorm there, but I'm sure it's wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but not unmanagable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a college that has somewhat high standards, without the high price tag.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University has fairly affordable tuition costs that make it less stressful as I climb closer to graduating. Also, the teachers are very helpful and available when I need them. Lastly, the campus is very clean and gives me and other students a relaxing environment to study in.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always campus security running around protecting it's students

    Clubs and Activities

    large variety of different clubs

    Great for these types of students

    all kinds. there's a major for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    if you study you will pass just fine. its worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    there is all kinds of local events. like bands playing and comedy shows. also there is a fair amount of clubs to join there.

    Food and Dining

    great food.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but i hear its good.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard. and always do your homework. it isn't like high school, you have to motivate yourself.

    In three sentences

    its a good environment with nice faculty. I enjoy my classes and like that it is local. it has a good variety of elective classes too.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have emergency phones everywhere, and you can request a escort to walk you to and from class that has a walkie to talk directly to YSU police.

    Greek Life

    Not my thing

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities to choose from on campus. Too many sometimes.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who think they don't have the money for a good college education.

    Bang for the buck

    YSU is one of the cheapest schools around and you still can get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends at the bar or go to look at some art at the Butler.

    Food and Dining

    The food is kind of expensive but they try to give us a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I cannot say what dorm life is like.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO YOUR ADVISER!!! I cannot stress that enough there are so many students who think they are ready to graduate and missed some classes because they did not see an adviser. Also, actually go to class, I know it is tempting not to go because you are an adult now and don't actually have to go, but trust me you do.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University has a bad reputation, however I have had a good experience here. YSU has some amazing teachers and advisers that believe in their students, even if they are having a difficult time. Without my advisers I probably would have been overwhelmed by college, because it was so different from what I expected, YSU is the place to go if you want the administrations support.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards walking around campus and willing to escort you to your car at night if need be.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Bang for the buck

    YSU is a state university with an affordable tuition rate.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities to get involved in, including intramurals, the greek life, and academic societies.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options to dining. In addition for the multiple on campus eateries, other popular restaurants are just a walk across the street.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've heard, dorm life is an experience at YSU. I know that the campus apartments are beautiful, but also pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of people look down on YSU because of its location, but this school really does challenge you and makes you work hard for your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus and try not to get too caught up in your studies. They are the most important, but so is being social. If you feel like you are going to need help in a class, arrange a tutoring session as soon as possible; if the class turns out to be easy, you can always cancel the tutoring.

    In three sentences

    YSU is a very beautiful campus despite what some people may say. The classes are challenging, but help is always around the corner when you need it. It is a very wise decision, financially to attend this school because it is a great value.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing. YSU is pretty boring other than the REC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a goal with your advisor and stick to it.

    In three sentences

    It is a good university but not the university for me. i say this because while attending YSU I found it to be too expensive. Also, I feel that YSU dont really want you to gradate but to be there and just waste your money.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though they are raising their tuition costs, they are still one of the cheapest schools in the area, but they don't skimp on resources. Nice campus, great and helpful staff.

    What to do for fun

    Rock climbing, full gym, tons of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Good well known restaurants around, as well as some cute little mom-n-pop shops.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm there, but from the looks outside, they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Not terribly hard, as long as you try. Have to talk to your professor and make the best out of the free tutoring. Talk with other students because they may be able to explain stuff better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study BEFORE your test, homework is one of your best friends, and campus is the best place to get all school work done.

    In three sentences

    Small, clean campus is easy to navigate through as well as nice to relax or study in. Surrounding area is somewhat high crime, so it's a bit scary at night walking to your car. Professors are great and classes are challenging.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As any where else these days, anything can happen and it is always best to stay in areas you know and at night it is most wise to walk with a friend on the main campus routs.

    Greek Life

    I haven't been a part of the greek life at YSU, but we do provide it!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless things to do in our vast majority of clubs and activities and if you do not see something you are interested in, our school is more than happy to let you start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    YSU is great for all types of average students. From confident to shy and from medical student to musical student we all get along in this downtown city setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think you might have to ask the frat guys and gals about that one!

    Bang for the buck

    Plain and simple, you get what you pay for. What we lack in equipment, we gain in amazing teachers that go leaps and bound to make sure we do well. Only recently have a had a problem with our money situation and how our University president is handling it, but don't worry! We area school of fire-crackers and we as the students will always fight to keep things fair.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities that are always being posted around the campus, and even on the side walks with chalk. It's quite funny when there is a major even going on and every footstep you take is on a chalk colored side walk. There are clubs for book lovers, gamers, anime fans, poetry, music, science, math, food lovers, and more! Finding the time to do the activities is the real challenge.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places in and around campus that are great places to dine at. There is a lot of variety and decent pricing. Most of these places are in walking distance, which is great when you only have 10 minutes between each class. Most services are very fast and I have never had a problem with any of my servers.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on this campus, so I can not make a fair judgement on the dorm room situations here, but I did live in a dorm at the Art Institute and learned two things; hide your extra tolit paper, and buy yourself a mini fridge with a lock.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, these classes are hard. Do not slack off and wait until the last mintue to study. Instead study bits over a few weeks, it really will make for a better outcome. Yes, the general education classes they make you take are very boring and hard to do if you are not interested in them and even though you want to push them all out of the way at once, don't do it. Spread them out with your core classes, it will make you life a ton easier when you get up into your senior year and you have a gen. ed. as a breather from your intense core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know for financial aid rights and do not let them push you over. if you are confused about your financial situation, keep making them explain it until you are of a clear mind. Please, for the sake of your own bank account, save up money early for books and other supplies and start applying for scholarships NOW. Although your classes are very important (along with your part time job) be sure to leave a little time for some fun on campus activities....even if it is only once in a while. Oh, and the best days ever of college: student appreciation day, where they give you free food! Good luck future students! Study hard, work hard and it will eventually pay off!

    In three sentences

    I am attending a school in a not-so-safe area but the Fine and Performing arts Building is the best place to be! The professors in the Graphic Design program are the best around, better than the ones I had at the Art Institute. Even though we have crazy tuition raises and hidden fees, it is still one of the cheapest schools around!

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem, but there have been a few reports of minor happenings.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea, but you better have a lot of money. They are expensive to get into. Also, they are not very welcoming to Non-traditional students.

    Clubs and Activities

    ESPO is good for Gerontology students, The Anthropology groups is awesome, though I am not a member.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock. They have this huge boulder that people paint on. Someone even asked someone to marry them by painting the rock!

    Bang for the buck

    Good as long as you can get done with all your classes in time.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said before, there are many special interests groups that have to do with your major or not. The welcome week festivities in the fall are awesome.

    Food and Dining

    Depends on what you like. There are a lot of different choices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know, I live off campus. But some students I have talked to like them.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes you are taking. Even the lower level classes make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an adviser. Make sure you take the classes you need in the order needed. Take classes when they are offered. Go to your professor or adviser if you need help.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community. Advisers are knowledgeable and helpful. There is a lot of interest groups to be in if you want to be part of something other than classes.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel like I'm in danger while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural activities are great to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a rock near Kilkawly Center that is always painted by the different fraternities and sororities.

    What to do for fun

    The rec center is an awesome resource for students to take advantage of. There are also many intramural activities to take part in that are fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple places on campus to eat from Jimmy John's to Inner Circle Pizza. There are other fast food restaurants on campus so there will be a large variety.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms so I don't actually know how the dorms are. But I've heard multiple good things about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Since YSU is the only university I've attended I don't have anything to compare it to. So far I haven't found any classes to rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up on all of your school work. Being organized is essential to succeeding in college. Also get involved on campus so your able to enjoy college experience.

    In three sentences

    YSU provides a great value for your money. You receive a very good education for a relatively low cost in comparison to other universities. I'm extremely satisfied with my experience at YSU so far.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always monitoring the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a map on your person for the first couple of weeks. Map out where the closest parking is to where your classes are. Don't make your book bag too heavy because you will most likely be carrying it with you all day.

    In three sentences

    It has a great staff. The peer mentor program is a great way to help the freshman feel more connected to the campus. The campus itself is very nice.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are music events preformed by students every week for free on campus, plays several times a semester, and football and basketball games to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Youngstown is known for Italian and Greek food that is worth the trip every time.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is usually not too hard but do not let that fool you, each level has more expectations and homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour before you say no to YSU, the engineering program as well as any major in the business school are well respected.

    In three sentences

    YSU has a high caliber business college and also offers an MBA program that incorporates local businesses into the curriculum. Group projects abound in the MBA program, which can be difficult for the accounting students.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are nationally ranked #5 in safest campuses. You can also receive YSU Alerts to your cell phone and email so you know what is going on, on campus. YSU police will also assist you at anytime, but we also have emergency buttons if you do not want to walk alone. Campus is always lit at night for those who take night classes.

    Greek Life

    Greek houses are always throwing parties on the weekend with different fun themes. You can meet new people and have a great time. They also throw events that allows students the opportunity to volunteer and make a difference.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer pretty much any club and activities you can think of and if they don't it is very simple to create your own. Students are able to use the new facilities for intramural sports and very nice rooms to meet in.

    Bang for the buck

    This school a great priced, especially for out-of-state. As long as you choose the right major you get tons of internship opportunities and pretty much guaranteed a job after graduation, obviously depending on the student.

    What to do for fun

    Different organizations are always having events. You receive emails and there are always posters up ahead of time. Karaoke, Open Mic, Fashion Shows, Talent Shows. Anytime you want to set up an event it is easy to do so.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of places to eat on and off campus. Food is reasonably priced and you get a lot of it. Jimmy Johns, Coyacan (Similar to Chipotle), Subway, Wendys, Dennys, and much much more. As well as dining commons where you can eat buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    Large rooms and opportunities to get to know each other with different activities the RA's will set up. Flexible to room changes.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always willing to work with you. the 19 to 1 student to professor ratio is excellent because the teachers know your name, not you as a number. Also, getting to use the RateMyProfessor site is so helpful when it comes to choosing different classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join any clubs you can. Build that resume early on so you can create greater goals for yourself. Lastly make sure you stay on track, ask questions and never stop pushing yourself.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great atmosphere and a beautiful campus. They are always involving students in different activities. Student to professor ratio is excellent in helping you learn.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, if you don't feel comfortable walking at night there is and escort service

    Greek Life

    There is a lot of greek life compared to where I was before but I chose not to be in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and lots of clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campus is spaced out

    What to do for fun

    there is a ton to do around the area

    Food and Dining

    I use petes points

    Dorm Life

    I live in courtyard apartments

    In three sentences

    Great! But bad town

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There are tons of emergency phones available as well as campus security. We have our own police force (Youngstown State University Police) as well as the cities police force.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is available to students at YSU. It isn't a big thing at YSU however.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a ton of clubs on campus. There are so many to choose from including academic organizations, Greek life, and special interest groups. It is easy to start a new club if you can't find one you like!

    Great for these types of students

    YSU is great for students who are hard working and want to be a part of a growing university. Students looking for great programs in all fields are encouraged to check out YSU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock at the center of campus which organizations paint. Sometimes you see Pete the Penguin roaming across campus as well. I am not familiar with anything else that would be considered unusual at YSU though.

    Bang for the buck

    YSU is easily the most affordable university around with the most options for students. Our department of health professions is great as well as our school of business (Williamson College of Business Administration) and the school of engineering, all at a low cost!

    What to do for fun

    You can do a lot here. We have a lot of extracurricular activities from Greek Life to student organizations. Campus is only an hour away from Pittsburgh and Cleveland.

    Food and Dining

    We have tons of food options. Most of the local fast food stores as well as typical restaurants will accept your dining points for YSU. YSU also features Denny's, Wendy's, and many other options right on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but from what I have seen dorm life is awesome. You can choose a traditional dorm or you can get a college sponsored apartment. There are tons of options for everyone!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at YSU. Every major has its own requirements and curriculum. Some majors even require a certain prerequisite program be completed before being admitted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume a big school is a bad school. It is affordable, flexible, and there are tons of opportunities here. YSU offers a ton of majors and minors and even an ICP (individualized curriculum program) for those who can't find a major to fit what they want to do with their career!

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University is a great college for anyone wanting to get a great college education. There are plenty of majors to choose from here and the faculty are top notch. The campus is beautiful and the academics really stand out.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not good for 2012.

    Great for these types of students

    Off-campus is the way to go for off campus students

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Lemon Grove. Go downtown or to the mall

    Food and Dining

    Horrible

    Dorm Life

    My dorm experience was good. However, the size, style and overall appearance of the dorms were horrendous. If it ween't for a scholarship paying for my dorm room i would leave.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would take out a housing grant. I would seek help as soon as you need it.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Youngstown state university has campus phones and its own police. Its pretty safe around the campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not in to Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not many activities I part take because I am more invert myself. If only they had backgammon club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Panting the campus rock.

    Bang for the buck

    I that every college or university has people but that's best thing about it getting to know people.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has movies, video games and other activities for students to enjoy on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Young state university has several fast place on and near campus and down town is where local restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be tough if you do not study.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel you are not ready for a class or college in general go to community college instead. Take advantage of the library class to learn how to do research. Be sure to ask your adviser for advice if needed.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown state university has excellent library for research. The tutoring services are friendly and helpful. Its easy to get around campus.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were a few incidents on campus involving theft. These happened in the parking garages, leading me to wonder whether I should carry some method of self defense.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great variety of clubs and activities. If you don't find a club that you like, you can even start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Those seeking a degree in Engineering or Mathematics would enjoy their experience. I would not suggest the Biology department, for it seems that it is a joke (at least for the introductory course).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every fall they have a bubble party on the north side of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a really inexpensive college to attend for any local students. They have a great library and pool tables in the main building. Whether you need a way to spend your free time or study for a difficult class, they have something to do.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities and groups that you can join such as a humans v. zombies game.

    Food and Dining

    The food court may not be the best, but with great options nearby such as subway, taco bell, and jimmy johns one cannot complain about their options.

    Dorm Life

    From what I saw, the dorms are nice. There are lots of opportunities to meet with your fellow dorm mates including an ice cream social.

    Academic Rigor

    In the honors department and math department the expectations are very high and the coursework rigorous. However, some of the other departments appear to be lacking. Many people who do not thoroughly learn the material in the English department appear to slip by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time outside of class to actually do the work. While some classes may seem like they are classes that you can blow off, they will surprise you.

    In three sentences

    A lot of outdated facilities, but it seems that they are fixing them up. Great engineering department, although some professors have very thick accents. Convenient food establishments for lunch breaks.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police force and there are emergency poles all over campus with call buttons in case you may need help or assistance. Students with disabilities are able to be escorted from their vehicles and across campus to their classes. Most places on campus are entirely public and stay relatively busy throughout the week. The campus newspaper The Jambar features a police blotter where anything suspicious or illegal near or on campus is featured for all to be aware of. There is never a moment on campus where I feel unsafe or threatened. YSU is a very safe place.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anybody who would like to further their education in a smart way: receiving an amazing and fulfilling education all while saving money! Also wonderful for the natural leader, as getting involved is all too easy on this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a wonderful school and being a transfer student, I have experience other than this institution. The students and professors are super helpful, as are the campus staff. The professors love to teach and are excited to help students learn. Do not let the reputation of Youngstown sway you from this university: it is entirely separated from the city, while downtown is just a few blocks away! There is always something happening and new people to meet.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many organizations to get involved in on campus- volunteer opportunities, academic opportunities, Greek life, intramurals, and various clubs, such as clubs pertaining to certain races or interests. There is something for everybody and leadership is always encouraged! Also, downtown, which is about ten minutes away on foot, has much to offer! There are countless restaurants, bars, and clubs. This area is also known as the business area of Youngstown, so there are office buildings and opportunities for jobs and internships right down the road! There are many museums near campus, such as the Butler Art Museum, the Arms Museum, and the Medical Museum. Downtown also features Oh Wow! Science center (for kids, but fun for any age!) and a music house where symphonies and other classical artists are featured. This is a great area to be!

    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter student, and so I do not eat at Christman's (the dining hall). Instead, I frequent the food court in Kilcawley Center. Most of the time I go to Dunkin' Donuts, Wendy's, or Simply To-Go, where you can buy Starbucks coffee, a variety of baked goods, made-to-order PB&J and bagels, and other snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but I have friends who do. Dorms are offered as double rooms or suite-style. There are various types of suites, depending on the amount of people being housed. The suites really make the dorms feel like home. In the suite situation, all members in the suite share a bathroom with multiple toilets and multiple showers, as opposed to the entire floor sharing a large bathroom. Dorms are relatively nice and remain clean and orderly throughout the hustle-bustle of the semesters (of course depending on your roommates, as well). Laundry is free and is offered to all students who live in the dorm. There are also campus apartments and campus housing through Greek life and rentals.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect you to work your hardest and put your effort into the classes. Not many professors take attendance, but it is usually smart to be present in class. SI sessions are offered for many of the sciences, and tutors are available in all subjects; if this isn't enough, professors are always willing to help a student grasp a tricky subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come into the college experience looking to party and slack off on your work. Professors expect you to act as an adult and treat you like one- do not take this for granted. Higher education costs so much, even at YSU, where tuition for roughly $8,000 a year is a bargain.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University is a great opportunity for anyone looking to further their education! The campus is beautiful, while many of the buildings are in very close proximity. It feels like home!

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join sports teams students create for fun, join community service programs, and other options.

    Food and Dining

    There are good places to eat on campus along with a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to YSU, I currently live at home in Niles, Oh. I do not live in the dorms but I have friends who do and I feel that they are well suited for students living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    YSU has good academic programs, although I feel they make you take some unnecessary classes that are not even related to your major. It is a waste of time and money for students to take classes they don't really even need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to explore your options and opportunities on your own if you are in Education.

    In three sentences

    So far through the past few years, my educational experience at YSU is not the most pleasant. The Education Department is very unorganized and provides students with little help and assistance. I looked to them to help me find scholarships for my education and they didn't give me much information, which is why I am searching for other options on finding scholarships to help me pay my education.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 64

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University has a comfortable environment. It's been easy scheduling classes each semester. And you can find teachers who have been all over the world.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and is patrolled by police routinely. Overall I have never felt in danger while on campus and Youngstown State.

    Great for these types of students

    YSU is great fro self driven students who do not let extracurricular activities get in the way of their own education.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay at YSU the education you will receive for your undergraduate degree is great. Undergraduate degrees are quickly becoming like high school diplomas so if you can graduate undergrad with minimal debt and good grades that is what you want to do.

    What to do for fun

    Because campus is a commuter campus there is not much to do besides university sporting events. Youngstown is however located between Pittsburgh and Cleveland which offer great shopping, concerts and a bigger city experience.

    Food and Dining

    The YSU campus can be lacking in food and dining but a few nice places to eat are Inner Circle Pizza and Collections which is located in the Butler Art Museum. Collections is a nice environment and also offers live music a few days a week. The menu consists of specialty soups, sandwiches and a design your own mac and cheese menu.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have seen them and they are of good quality. The campus also offers housing at the courtyard apartments which are only 5 years old and very nice. Overall the grounds and housing of the campus is well kept and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is of good quality for most of the departments at YSU. Some are lacking for example the physics department. But many others like the communications, exercise science, chemistry and engineering are top notch and provide you with good quality instruction with appropriate rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be proactive about your education. Since YSU is a commuter university it is easy to become distracted from your studies. So always take advantage of campus time and resources.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State is a great University for undergraduate students. It is affordable and the quality of education is superior to the price. YSU is a great University to begin your college journey.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on campus and in the city of Youngstown

    Food and Dining

    5 out of 5

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I would give it 4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and get all the help you need

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. The professors are helpful and the students will help you if you ask

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its cool that we have our own police force, and it makes you feel very safe!

    Greek Life

    I'm not a member of the Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the varsity softball team and I love it!

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who are serious about their academic performance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My friends and I love to go to Menchies. Its not actually on campus, but it is a great treat at the end of finals week!

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think the school is worth the price. Its really not all that expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I am a member of the softball team, so for fun I play softball.

    Food and Dining

    It is okay depending on where you go and what day you go. It is also much better in the Fall and Spring than in the Summer.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know because I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the upper-level course work is very challenging and it will really prepare you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a nice school to go to and the class work is tough. However, make sure you know what you need to do because most of the advisors aren't very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Its a difficult school as far as course work goes. However, that is good because it will better prepare me for the future. I have had some trouble with my advisor though.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be careful, receive e-mail updates often about safety issues on and near campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not on campus, enrolled in a partnership program.

    Food and Dining

    Not on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Examine all choices of schools within your program of study.

    In three sentences

    Financial aid department knowledgeable. Works well with students who are duel enrolled. Disappointed that duel enrolled students could not participate in federal work study jobs.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quiet lounge on the second floor of Kilcawley is the best place to take naps during breaks.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to do. On breaks there are usually people playing frisbee and soccer among other activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are some great locations on campus. Pennyguins serves the best chicken Alfredo and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but I have been to the dorms to visit friends. They are very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are more difficult than others but as long as you attend class they are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time while you are there but still work hard. Hard work pays off. Attend class and you will do well.

    In three sentences

    There are highly esteemed programs for a large selection of fields. The professors are kind and helpful with the work. The campus is easy to navigate and the buildings are very nice.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and groups availiable on campus. The best thing to do is to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different resturants and cafes all over campus that you can eat from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and it is a really good area to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic rigor. you will learn a lot on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing for future students that are going to attend a university is to get an advisor. An advisor is your best friend they help with any information or questions that you have. It is also a good idea to get your curriculum sheet from the major that you have selected and check off all the classes that you have taken so that you wont get behind. Lastly study every day or else you will get behind.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University is a very educational and safe campus. I have learned so much from the years that i have been enrolled. The teachers staff and faculty are very helpful.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus life has alot to offer

    Food and Dining

    All kind of great food available

    Academic Rigor

    If you stay on task you will get through

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State is A great school it meets the need of the nontraditional student very well. I find that I can get the classes I need and the help to make it through with the professors. I have had a great experances with the school

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police - I have never felt unsafe at YSU, even though I know of some instances that happened at night when no one else was around. Tip: don't walk around campus by yourself late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not gotten too involved because of my family but know there are many. I don't think I can adequately rate this category.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional commuters as well as students fresh out of high school. Great diversity of people.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wonderful gym that can be used by students, many sports opportunities, concerts, lectures, and many groups to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    I can't really judge it too much because I don't eat out much. I am not fond of fast food, either.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though most classes are adequately challenging, the professors I have met are mindful of the diversity of students at YSU, including the fact that many students have to work to support themselves or even have families they need to take care of as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is so versatile. There are many opportunities for new students to get plugged into a group that meets your interest. YSU is a good option for commuting students as well as for students that would like to live on campus.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Youngstown State University for four years now, since I can only take two classes per semester. My experience at YSU has been excellent. Even though I am a non-traditional student, I feel welcome here and enjoy meeting students from all walks of life as well as the academic challenges I face in each class.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    54 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is number one at YSU. Students can request campus security to escort them to their cars or to class if they feel it is needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various sororities and fraternities are on campus. Additionally, there are other clubs to join, depending on one's major and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that live locally to the university really benefit from having a university near to their home. They do not have to live on campus.Their family support is readily available as they go through school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have been out of school for quite some time and I really do not remember anything unusual. The sororities and fraternities are very active on campus and they do have their own traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at YSU is less expensive than at the more well known schools. Why pay thousands more for the same degree when you can do just as well at YSU and pay much less.

    What to do for fun

    YSU has an excellent sports program. Football is alive and well at YSU as well as the other sports. There are social activities on campus as well as local pubs and clubs in the area where students can enjoy live music.

    Food and Dining

    There is a few restaurants on campus as well as a pub for students to meet and socialize. The pub and other restaurants on campus are always busy and popular.

    Dorm Life

    While not ever having lived in the dorms during my undergrad work there, my friends say that they enjoyed the experience of living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are excellent and challenge students to perform to the best of their ability. There is tutoring available for students that need assistance if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to get acquainted with the counseling office and work with someone there to guide them in their course choices throughout their degree program. Additionally, YSU offers career placement through their career center. The career center also assists students needing to find work while they are in school.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University is an excellent university for students living in the Youngstown area. It offers a wide array of degree programs and concentration areas. The campus community at YSU is lively and supportive of each other as well as its alumni.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and have a set of reasonable goals set that you wish to accomplish by the end of your first year.

    In three sentences

    Youngstown State University is an amazing university filled with a vast variety of opportunities. It is diverse, entertaining and a great place to receive an exceptional education and college experience.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are more than enough things on or around the campus pass the time. The REC center is a great place to go to meet new people and get a great workout in, not to mention the myriad of options of things to do while in there.

    Food and Dining

    The food has been better than average each time I've eaten at YSU.

    Dorm Life

    Assuming the dorm life is good, although I don't and won't know since I'll be commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is similar to that of other schools, never more than what can be accomplished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do before you get to college. Take the time to shadow people in fields of your expected major.

    In three sentences

    The school has made some major improvements in the past three years. Academically speaking, the professors do a terrific job in explaining course material. Athletics and campus life also provided students with wonderful opportunities in meeting people and gaining connections.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a vast amount of resources for entertaining yourself. Downtown is three blocks away with a barrage of restaurants, bars, and theaters to keep you occupied for the evening.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices right now aren't very good but they are polling students for their opinions of what to bring to the university for the fall semester.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but my friend was a RA and absolutely loved every minute of it.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect from students the same amount of work it takes them to make the syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    YSU is not your 13th year of high school. Study. It's located in northeastern Ohio, so you may want to dress for the weather.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college with a big college atmosphere. Faculty is always there to help when you need it. Everyone is friendly.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the surrounding areas are bad, I have never felt unsafe while on campus. Im there almost every night studying and haven't had to worry.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of fast food. Very limited healthy options and no vegetarian/vegan to speak of. Le sigh.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here are highly underrated. They do a great job and are very passionate about their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont mess up your first year like I did! Study hard and build your GPA right out of the gate! Dont be intimidated by the professors, even if they put on a front. Sure, some are just jerks, but don't forget that YOU are paying those jerks! You get out what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Definitely a commuter college. There are a lot of extracurricular activities; they're just not obvious/well-advertised. Overall, YSU offers a great college experience for what you pay.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe and the campus police are everywhere

    Greek Life

    many organizations on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Frats, athletics

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated, laptop kids..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    haha give me more time!

    Bang for the buck

    Was actually cheaper then me going to college in Pennsylvania 70 miles away!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, parties

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria had nice options and the restaurants in the area take my mealcard

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is great. The wireless, printers and ability to use my card at stores off campus is great

    Academic Rigor

    i am challenged so far

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus is nice, close enough to Pittsburgh if you want to get away and do something different

    In three sentences

    They are very helpful supporting the students with guidance and counseling. The tutor structure meets my needs as well.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There actually is a large amount of things to do on campus. You could go to the gym, hang out at one of the eateries I listed, go to the bookstore, or maybe just walk around and get the feeling for the school. And there's always an upcoming event to keep things interesting. There's even a pool table on campus. :)

    Food and Dining

    There's actually a lot of places to eat on Campus. There's a Wendy's, Dunkin' Donuts, Starbucks, Denny's, and many other places to eat on campus. Although I haven't eaten there yet, the variety is quite impressive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually live on campus so this would be an assumption, but I imagine it would be kinda fun. You would certainly save money on gas, but it's all an assumption.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it's my first semester, it's been pretty rigorous. If you don't take this college (or any college) seriously; it can eat you alive. As mentioned in my tips section, study and take advantage of all the resources, both on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students thinking about YSU I recommend talking to as many people as you can. Graduates and current students can tell you about the student life, visiting the campus as well will give you a feel for the college. Also, and this is obvious, but save your money as much as you can. To get great grades you'll need to buy books for the classes you take, and there's tuition, and your average school supplies and other misc. things to buy. (Like gas for example.) A finale tip I can give is - take college seriously. Study, show up to class, and do the work. Use all the resources to maintain the grades and understand your classes.

    In three sentences

    If I can describe YSU in three sentences; I would say that it is pretty overwhelming at first. Once you get your first day out of the way though, it can be pretty fun.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 61 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a lot of robberies

    Greek Life

    sororities are not allowed to have houses

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club, but there has been gun fights

    Great for these types of students

    people who can teach themselves

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    its very cheap, but definitely not a good education

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    the food is good for the first week, then everything goes down from there

    Tips for prospective students

    do not go here.

    In three sentences

    its really hit or miss. There is a only a handful of good teachers and the tutors that are there rarely help. The dorm room are very loud and they aren't very nice. I would definitely not recommend going to this school if you want a great education.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not many choices and after a few weeks, you can get sick of eating there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but I have visited Cafaro. It is beautiful, and it seems secure.

    Academic Rigor

    YSU has great programs, especially STEM.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, if possible on a day and time people are actually there. Campus is dead by 4 PM.

    In three sentences

    YSU is great for certain people, but not me. The student life is kind of a drag here. Great education, programs, and professors if you can utilize them right!

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always wandering around and you can opt into receiving text alerts if something should happen on or even near campus, including severe weather. There is an escort service that will walk you to your car if for any reason you feel unsafe, and the campus police are very easy to talk to. I feel incredibly safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't live in a sorority so I don't know much about Greek life, but a couple girls I know are part of the same sorority and they absolutely love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm currently a member of the Italian Club and the Youngstown State Environmental and Animal Rights Coalition, and both groups are very fun, full of incredibly sweet people, and very understanding when it comes to your schedule. I couldn't go to a single Italian Club meeting last semester because of class and work, but the president was nice enough to email me the minutes after every meeting and help me keep up with everything that was going on. And in exchange, I donated a ton of cookies to the bake sale they did!

    Great for these types of students

    If you didn't do so well in high school, YSU will do everything in its power to help you. There are academic coordinators to help you stay on track, and numerous resources on campus to help you with your academics. The Reading and Study Skills Center, Math Assistance Center, Writing Center, and Center for Student Progress are all here to help. And that's just the tip of the iceberg!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's really not that uncommon to see our mascot Petey the Penguin meandering around campus. And every year there's a foam party, where the campus is filled with foam! There's also an event every semester around finals week where you can pay to smash plates and other dishes to relieve stress.

    Bang for the buck

    I was originally a student at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh, where I paid $32,000 a year for a sub-par education, cranky and unhelpful professors, and absolutely no supplemental assistance. Now I'm at YSU, paying less than half that price per year, and getting more out of my education than I ever could have imagined.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do?! The university is always hosting fun events, and the dorms do regular programs for their students. There are hundreds of clubs to choose from, and I hear Greek life is great! The YSUnity Drag Show was my favorite event so far.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be a bit expensive, and as a vegan I have to say my options are limited, but all the staff are lovely and very accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms at YSU but most of my friends and coworkers do and I've heard nothing but positive things from them.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors aren't afraid to challenge you but they're also always there to help. Some of my professors are my best friends now.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Center for Student Progress if you ever need help with anything! Visit your peer mentor, they will open so many doors for you. And get to know your professors, especially ones that teach classes you need for your major!

    In three sentences

    I am amazed that such an inexpensive university can offer so much for students of all shapes and sizes. Despite its large size, YSU has a very small-town community feel, and everyone is incredibly friendly and smart. I can't imagine myself anywhere else now that I'm here.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police available, and seen always. I feel safe, even the times I have walked home in the evening.

    Greek Life

    Fabulous food, and activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many and there is something for everyone regardless of where you come from, even foreigners.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who are sports oriented, to those who are laid back, and enjoy the simplicity.

    What to do for fun

    There are live performances, musicals, games and etc. You can attend some for free, or at discounted prices for family, and friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of eating places that are in, and near the campus, from fast food to casual dining, take your pick.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Stay positive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of all the free stuff they offer, attend class, and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    A medium size campus, with a very nice library, loads of free seminars, training sessions to learn by. There are also nice restaurants near the campus, and the staff and students are really nice, and helpful