Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Yuba College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security is great and the students don't cause any problems, very friendly. not a lot of worries for any students or staffs.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends, read books for some in the library, play sports, take elective classes with interests.

    Food and Dining

    great food, lots of varieties, fair prices for students and cafeteria environment is clean.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    not eligible for financial aid. get supplies, books, anything you need quick and early or you'll be behind on classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    i give my full approval on going to yuba college. the only tip from me is to apply for everything early and register for classes early for the ones you need.

    In three sentences

    yuba college is a great school. they have many good career choices to choose from and classes to take. the school has a great environment all around.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to have fun and enjoy college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the faculty staff members office hours. Have lots of fun, it's a small college so everyone knows everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for what your money is worth, this is not the right school.

    Did enjoy being here

    My friends went here, but otherwise it lacked a challenge as far as the academics go. I did enjoy the small classrooms and how everyone is friendly.

    Did learn a lot

    I learnt a lot from the faculty that taught here, mainly on the politics on how the school is run.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who live in the local area and ease of transportation. You meet students who are in the same goal of saving money starting out with community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students are that they will save much more money by going to a nearby community college in their first two years. They should try their best to decide a major and don't spend too much time using money for classes they won't need.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of the college is an average cost of a any community colleges. Let's do hope that it doesn't increase any larger.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am somewhat content with where I am. I am familiar with the settings of the college and it is easy to find my way around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    For my first semester at Yuba College, I have learned a lot in most of my classes and not so much in the other. It really depends on the teachers that you've chosen. Most of the teachers are professional and easy to converse with, while other teachers are confused about what they're teaching on that particular day, therefore providing students with misinformation and little assignments that result in a questionable grade.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yuba is great for students who have part-time jobs, are unsure about his/her major, and are not ready to leave home yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Try to get your books online before going to the on-campus book store. 2) Study your notes every night. 3) Buy a semester Parking Pass; it's much cheaper then buying a daily one.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish it provided bang for the buck. I have heard of other community colleges that are cheaper and have more challenging classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    I neither enjoy this college nor dislike it. It doesn't promote many emotions in me.

    Am learning a lot

    The Biology 1 class I took taught me a lot! As did my Math 21 (Trig) class. However, my English class was lacking.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms, it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    check all your options in all the programs.

    In three sentences

    great campus. many student services. compassionate faculty.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is very effective, quick, and helpful.

    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a hill with picnic tables, it is a perfect spot to have lunch, study or do you homework, wait for the bus, hang out with friends, or take a quick nap between classes.

    What to do for fun

    There rare performances put on by the student in the performing and public speaking classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is great, but the on campus restaurant run but the culinary program is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    If you push yourself to do well, you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you take advantage of the resources and teacher aid when you need it, it really does help.

    In three sentences

    Yuba College is a good school to help you on your way to the next step in your education. Because the school is fairly small, the teachers are able to be more individual and provide help. There are plenty of resources on campus to help you succeed.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are busy giving parking tickets rather than watching out for the people smoking weed in the back.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is ugly and there isn't enough services for the students.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of interesting and weird people to talk to.

    Food and Dining

    Best part of the school, they have good burritos.

    Dorm Life

    I'm pretty sure this place has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers don't teach, they just talk about themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for every school you can go to before you go here. This school should be your last resort.

    In three sentences

    Yuba College is a rather small campus. The student services here are terrible. Financial aid offices always mess up your information and it's impossible to find parking.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends or participate in clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and great prices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and councelors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get your supplies before hand.

    In three sentences

    A welcoming enviroment. Small campass. Good student to teacher ratios.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    3 stars

    What to do for fun

    Not much

    Academic Rigor

    . Check rate your professor.com, many of the professors are rated and it gives you a good idea of what is expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to transfer to a 4 year college, be sure check every class to see if the classes are transferable, don't take Yuba College's word for it. Get advice from the 4 year college you intend to transfer too.

    In three sentences

    Decent college to get basics done. Online classes are good.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Apply for the BOG fee waiver! If you qualify, it will help you greatly. That way you don't have to pay for units.

    Food and Dining

    I've only ever tried a grilled cheese sandwich from the cafeteria. It was pretty good. There's also a Starbucks and a nice restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think you actually would live on campus here...

    Academic Rigor

    There are some great challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let yourself fall behind because it will be really difficult to catch up. Always pay attention in class.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice campus that provides places for students to study. The curriculum can be challenging depending on which classes you take. The professors are dedicated and you'll learn a lot if you try hard.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved!!!!

    Food and Dining

    Culinary students prepare meals..Decent food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Many availeable classes

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor to be sure you are headed in the direction you want to be. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    I love the professors. Enjoy attending so much that i barely miss a class. Grateful that they are here.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus is okay, off campus...hmmm, not so much.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want the above, go to a University...they have far more than this college does.

    Great for these types of students

    Really, its good for all types, it's a community college, not a university and the setting and environment reflects that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable fees, average for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Hike, run, bike, local parks, if you are military there are a ton of local outings. Not really a bar or club scene.

    Food and Dining

    Ok, not great, not terrible.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms that I know of, you will want to live off campus anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    It is up to you, it is your education not theirs. The majority of the professors are there to help. They do offer a wide range of degrees so pick and go after it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your instructors, it will take you far! If you are military, go the the education office on base, they are incredibly helpful!

    In three sentences

    They are not very technologically advanced; however, they really go the extra mile to facilitate learning and education for the military. They could offer a wider range of class times but for their size I think they try their best to be flexible.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dance classes with best teacher where you learn and dance.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. There RN program produces best RNs.

    In three sentences

    i had the best teachers and supporting staff. It is the best college i attended so far. They have iTV interation classes that works best and I can listen and watch the leacture as many times I want.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food at Yuba college is not bad at all and they serve coffee that is just as good as starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms on campus anymore. Living in Yuba City or Marysville is very nice. There are a lot of stores in both cities including a shopping mall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get all your necessary paperwork together for financial aid before you head in to meet with an adviser. It's a long drive out to the campus and staying somewhere in Yuba City or Marysville will be your best bet if attending classes rather than online.

    In three sentences

    Yuba College is a great little campus in a rural area. It's an older campus but it has everything you need. I'm more than satisfied with Yuba College.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to events held in school. The school use to pay for Cross Culture events where they invite a guest to come speak about important issues. There are also plays performances too.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is okay, not outrageously good nor bad. The food in the restaurants is better than the cafe and good waiters (only had one incident where we have to wait a long time for water because they either didn't see us or ignored). The price is around five to eight bucks, but if your lucky to go during their buffet lunch then it is three to four bucks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think they even have any dorms, since it is a community college and most students that go there lives here. I can't give it a bad or low score so I'm just giving it a average score.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professors, your strengths and weakness. Some professors just lecture and gives out tests while others make you do lots of projects or writings. I find that some professors don't push the students enough while other professors push you to try your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, take care of your financial aid issues as soon and early as possible. You definitely don't want to wait in the long line in the afternoon. Second, enroll in Extended Opportunity Program and Services(EOP&S). The counselors, specialists, and peers are very helpful and informative. Also, you get priority registration! And lastly, join clubs because it will help you get involve with school activities and meet new friends.

    In three sentences

    A good community college with potential to grow and improve. Offers clubs and programs to help students get involve in school.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Um you can walk over to the cupcake place next door, or hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good, but too expensive. They also have a restaurant but I've never eaten there. Looks nice though.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed in the dorms, but from the outside they look run down and gross.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes I've taken so far were very good and in depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be sure to meet with an admissions counselor, it really helps.

    In three sentences

    Yuba is a great school with many learning opportunities. The teachers are nice. All of the staff are very helpful and nice.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend a small school. My Math 52 class had only like 40 students to begin with, so the professor was able to really help students who needed it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and student activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria closes at 1:30 which sucks. But the restaurant which is run by the cullinary arts department is good and usually reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, I have been completely satisfied.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what questions you need answered when heading into the counselor's office and don't be intimidated by any of the staff.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. The teachers I have worked with have all been very helpful. It's a small school with a nice campus.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has emergency stations around the campus where the campus police will come to pick you up if you are scared at night or simply lost you car keys. Also there is a police car patrolling the car parking lot all the time.

    Greek Life

    I have not joined any fraternity and since the campus is on the small scale there is not much movement that i have seen.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yuba College has a lot of clubs with different purposes and clubs that help bring all kinds of ethnicities. Most of these clubs help the student motivate themselves to improve public skills and self improvement.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for athletic students, arts students, non-major students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have attended this college for a year and a half and haven't seen any strange traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    this college has a lot of classes from which to choose from at many times throughout the day allowing you to get all of your GE classes out the way before you transfer to a higher level institution.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of sports available and many hours as well as a variety of art classes such as guitar, piano, painting. Also there are events that students do and perform in the theater.

    Food and Dining

    some foods can get a bit pricey but overall there is a wide range of foods, from burgers, pizza, salads, strips, breakfasts, etc.

    Dorm Life

    very convenient for students of low income and have children, also the dorms are right next to classes so very easy.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are not too hard if students do the minimum and just do the readings or small homework they have to complete. Once your up to the high level classes and you procrastinate then it can bite.

    Tips for prospective students

    one of the biggest tip to any prospective students, is to get to know your professor from the start so as the semester goes on you know what reactions to expect and how to get them to notice you.

    In three sentences

    This college is simple just what a student needs coming out of high school and still is not sure what career to pursue. The staff is okay, depending on the subject and how tired they get as the semester drags. lots of classes available and expanding so this community college is sure to be a good choice for anyone wanting to get their GE done or parents looking for fun classes.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    has its own 24-hour police department chief and all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join MESA

    Great for these types of students

    hard working students no slackers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    check out the reading and writing center

    Bang for the buck

    take all the lower division classes here and save yourself a ton of money.

    What to do for fun

    Join the wonderful athletics programs they recently renovated the sports complex.

    Food and Dining

    Flavors is an awesome restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    adequate looking.

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging but rewarding just the life story that stays with you throughout your life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework a soon as possible and stay on top of the reading in order to better understand the material that will be in lecture. This is critical especially in the math, chemistry, physics and engineering classes these are the most challenging even more than state or U.C.'s

    In three sentences

    challenging but rewarding, this school is pact with caring professors that are there for you when you need them, also there is also the college success were you get free tutoring.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a school with many outlets and resources

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus so I am unsure of the cafeteria quality

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging but you can definitely gain a lot of experience from this knowledge

    In three sentences

    This school is very helpful and military friendly. The staff is very helpful and very knowledgable

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I live close to the college but when I don't have time to have lunch at home I always go to their cafeteria which always has something great to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Yuba College is just a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with one of their amazing counselors so they can help keep you on track and reach your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing community college. Not only are the classes great but all the instructors i've had so far. I'm glad I made the decision to attend Yuba College.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    animal lovers, hard workers, and cool kids!

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive- but you will learn a lot and be well rounded... better than doing an online college where you never step outside your own little world.

    Academic Rigor

    TOUGH program- but well worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to spend a lot of time and money... books for the first semester run about $600- then there is the drug testing and background screening that runs $130 and paying for E-value is $75ish... this is in addition to tuition and college fees!

    In three sentences

    The veterinary technician program is amazing. The professors are passionate and caring and the entire experience is amazing.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus police and there are always on the campus, even at night.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there is not much fun stuff to do at College, expect hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I have good food, from junk to health food. I like the food that is served at this college

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, and there is no dorms at Yuba College

    Tips for prospective students

    Well, this college is like any other community college. The key to success is working hard; don't take too many classes. In order pass your classes with good grades, one must have balance between hard and easy classes, and always do you work on time, and of course, study hard for every single class.

    In three sentences

    This college is a community college, and it is perfect for students, who are still undecided about their major. This college may be a small community college, but the education offered at Yuba College are the close to University standards, and the classes here are challenging but also very awarding. This college is perfect for those students, like me, who are coming from low income families.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    student age ranges from high school senior to actual senior citizens.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable if you qualify for financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or a sport!

    Food and Dining

    they have lots of restaurants and fast food places walking distance from the school.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living unfortunately

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get to know your teacher on a friendship basis, that will help you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Yuba college has a friendly student environment. Teachers here never shy away if you have a question or two. They have a wide range of classes to choose from.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lights, security, escort to car if you need it.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for Military Students!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Rural community. If you like outdoors life is good. If you prefer the city life..you have a 40 minute drive to Sacramento.

    Food and Dining

    Flavors is an all cash restaurant hosted by the culinary arts program. Prime Rib Thursday for $7 was awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You get out what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and join a club. Utilize the resourses like the Student Success Center for free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    I have encountered excellent instructors in the Science Division. There are many opportunities available for students to excel. Some congestion in the higher level science classes.