Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Zane State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    zane state has work shops that help you with all kinda of differnt things. for example how to juggle financial aid money.

    Dorm Life

    they do not have dorms but there are apartments all around the campus that are pretty decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn to manage time and efficiency. college is different than high school. you have to manage school, work, and your life.

    In three sentences

    this is my first quarter in college. i'm doing great so far and i don't mind zane state for pursuing an associates degree, although they are very unorganized. i plan to transfer to ouz next quarter to pursue a career in psychology.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have lots to do , also we are not far form a major city.

    Food and Dining

    We have our own cafe also there are places close to eat.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    We have small class sizes. The teachers get to know you're name. Easy to make friends.

    In three sentences

    A+ Nice easy going environment.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does an amazing job to keep the campus a safe learnig environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am secretary for Student Senate I am vice president of Phi Theta Kappa I am a member of TRiO I am a member of campus Ministries I am a tutor through The Learning Center

    Bang for the buck

    Zane State is truthful about their statement Start here go anywhere logo. Most classes transfer without hassle and once a degree is given it is credible for other universities and companies.

    What to do for fun

    At Zane State College I am very active in the campus life. I am a member of TRiO, Campus Ministry club, I am the Secretary for Student Senate, and I am the Vice President of Phi Theta Kappa. Staying busy is what I do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at Roberta's Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Organization is key to being successful. Don't wait till the last minute to do assigments and don't be affraid to ask for help. At Zane State College they do the best they can to help anyway they can.

    In three sentences

    Zane State College placed ninth in the Nation for Student Success. I believe that says enough.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security will walk you to your car in the evenings after class

    Bang for the buck

    The Price is great and the education even better

    In three sentences

    Zane State is a small school and this allows for smaller class rooms so that the instructors are able to take more time with each student. Everyone at Zane State is very helpful.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security 24 hours a day

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs such as the health club and the education club most are triggered toward whatever degree you are seeking but all are open

    Great for these types of students

    Zane State is great for older students who have jobs or children by offering on line classes and flexible scheduling.

    What to do for fun

    There are various campus groups that are available as well as on campus events throughout the semesters.

    Food and Dining

    Campus has a wonderful deli / dinner and has great lunch deals as well as subway right next door.

    Dorm Life

    Zane State dose not have dorms. The community surrounding it has a lot of short term rentals to accommodate college students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic requirements is 2.0

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your fafsa before you even sure where you want to go. it will save a lot of headaches.

    In three sentences

    I feel Zane State is a promising college and the advisors are helpful.After completing my culinary degree it was easy to get stated on my bushiness degree, just register and that's all.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and is not in a dangerous neighborhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. There is something here for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for those students who do not know what they plan on majoring in. They can bet their basics out of the way. Also the school is wonderful for those who are afraid of immediately going to a big school and want to slowly work their way up to a large school.

    What to do for fun

    The college is only about fifteen minutes away from the Zanesville mall. There are plenty of fun places to hang out at, and you can get to all of the in under twenty minutes.

    Food and Dining

    They have a wonderful cafe'. Roberta's is a cafe' that was started by a student who graduated from the culinary program here at Zane State. Her prices are not high and yet you still get wonderful food.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though the college is small, they still drill in the standards as hard as any large school. They make sure you understand what you are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend students come here to start college, because it makes the ransition to a larger school not seem as scary. I've only been attending for a few months and I am ready to go to a larger college thanks to this school.

    In three sentences

    Zane State is a wonderful place to start your college journey. The teachers are able to have a one on one relationship with their students due to the small class sizes. The campus has a wonderful, comforting feel about it.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside there.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in post-secondary and a senior in high school, it is challenging in certain areas.

    In three sentences

    Zane State has a very laid-back atmosphere. The teachers respect you and treat you as adults. If you do the work, you can suceed.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    VFW in Heath Ohio

    What to do for fun

    spend time outdoors

    Food and Dining

    Needs to have more of a variety

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on that. I commute

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your college major. But if you try then you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to current students. Ask questions during a school tour Dont be afraid to get involved in school activities

    In three sentences

    The professors are easy to approach. The student success center goes out of their way to help students to understand all the pressures associated with going to college. The advisors are always willing to answer questions

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is Very Helpful

    Food and Dining

    Roberta's Cafe Located Inside The Campus Center Has Amazing Food for Amazing Prices!

    Dorm Life

    There are Apartments Right Next to Campus that Are Very Nice!

    Tips for prospective students

    File FAFSA on TIME!!

    In three sentences

    I Love the School. Their Instructors Really Care. I Love the Programs Offered.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good they are always available by phone, riding around campus and helping students,

    Bang for the buck

    Good school high priced books decent tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Play with my kids.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great school.

    In three sentences

    Zane State has great graduation rates. They have excellent teachers. Tutors that are willing to work with anyone who needs any help.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I haven't had a chance to do much there on the campus because i am not officially going until August.

    What to do for fun

    Horseback riding

    Food and Dining

    Haven't had a chance to eat there yet.

    Dorm Life

    Not staying in the Dorms. I live near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the Admissions office before deciding which profession you would like to get into. make sure there is a need for that profession.

    In three sentences

    The Admissions office ladies are very nice and very informative, the campus has a very nice calming feel to the atmosphere which is very important to me.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security there for your protection.

    Great for these types of students

    Living at home, commuting, and just not wanting to do dorm life.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of groups and activities to choose from and are lots of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining option is good. The food is always good and different everyday.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, there is off campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Zane State is known for its academic and the programs are great to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to college to learn not play around.

    In three sentences

    Zane State College is an all rounded college. I would describe it as friendly, secure and awesome. I love it.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small town place where everyone knows everyone and the years I been there its been absolute safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many you can choose from so no worries there!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is awesome for its small size and classroom settings! You get the undivided attention from your instructor and its very easy to make friends that will gladly help you along on your journey! This school will help you from the time you start and will help you be successful in graduating!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities going on around the college that you can attend to or host!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending any college set up some goals for yourself to achieve. Work on being organized and focused. Never be scared to search and ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Zane state is the best community college around because of its small size classes help you get individual attention from your instructor. They are very helpful in helping you be successful. The small school is very easy to navigate around.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a visible presence on campus and clear instructions in the student handbook on what to do in certain situations.

    Greek Life

    I do not know about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are motivated to learn, to excel, and get involved in the community. Especially good for older students (non-traditional). I am 55, and while I do not feel as though I fit in, I do not feel like an outcast either.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no sports team or mascot.

    Bang for the buck

    The costs of attending are lower than other colleges and universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities seasonally on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is available at Roberta's Cafe. It has reasonable prices and good food. The large dining room is right across the hall from the cafe. Subway is very close.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I live in an apartment 10 minutes from campus with my husband.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure how to rate this. I am sure it meets or exceeds the national standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that this college is not in a huge city. That is, you may have to adapt to it if you come from a large city, but overall, it is a great place! Take the time to get to know other students and instructors. Smile and say hello to people you meet on the way!

    In three sentences

    Zane State seems to be a nice community college. It does not offer language courses, which would really help make a graduate more valuable to an employer. Perhaps that skill would not be needed around our area, but if a graduate moves to a larger city, that skill would be a big plus.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is amazing. They walk you to your car at night, and are a big help!

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, many clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very diverse to all types of people. Everyone is very open and friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the school is very affordable, and give you options to save money. They offer used books in the bookstore, host a book buy back after every semester, and have luncheons that have very affordable food.

    What to do for fun

    The college is full of extracurricular clubs and activities. Almost everyday there is an event, and they send emails to everyone to let them join. You do not have to be a member of any club or society first, and anyone can come to an outing before joining a club.

    Food and Dining

    There is food and a lot of nearby fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at this school, but there are apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very goal oriented, and ensures that you learn what you need to learn to be successful in your career. Zane State College prepares you for your career and goes the extra mile to make you the employee that employers are fighting for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be not to be shy, ask questions, and give it your all.

    In three sentences

    Zane State College is a very friendly, and helpful school. Everyone that works there is committed to helping you learn and assists you in being the best student you can be. They provide free tutoring, and teachers take the time to help you and walk you through the assignments.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs on campus as well as a large area that can be used for recreational activities. There is also a free gym on campus that I have yet to take advantage of, but have heard that it is very good.

    Food and Dining

    I have never tried the food on campus, aside from what I've made in class, however my roommate has and has said that it can sometimes be overpriced or very small portions.

    Dorm Life

    This campus has no dorms, there are I think three apartment options within close proximity to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'll be honest, I'm not sure what this is, so I can't really give a rating or anything. Since I have to however I'll go right in the middle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention when signing up for classes, any with a C next to them are held at the Cambridge campus, not the main one.

    In three sentences

    From what I have experienced so far at this institution I would say that it is right on par with its academics. The computer lab needs some serious work done to it however, the computers are some of the slowest I've ever had to use. I don't believe there are any sports related activities on campus, so I found that to be a positive.