Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Adirondack Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/16/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the usual alcohol and drug use in the residence hall. a few stolen items. the ocassional fight. public safety always has an eye out and doesn't hesitate to call the local police if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    not many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    those who need some time after high school to adjust to college.

    Bang for the buck

    one of the lowest tuitions in the state.

    What to do for fun

    there are some clubs and sports on campus but most recreation is off campus. there is a six flags in the same town.

    Food and Dining

    not great, but edible.

    Dorm Life

    the residence hall is nice but the residents themselves can sometimes leave something to be desired.

    Academic Rigor

    if you do the required reading you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    read the syllabus. do the required reading. participate in class discussion.

    In three sentences

    small suburban campus with a variety of programs. nice residential hall, okay food. academics is what you make of it.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they arnt helpful at all

    Clubs and Activities

    alot

    What to do for fun

    nothing much

    Food and Dining

    it was good

    Dorm Life

    it sucks i personally do not recommend living there, no fun activities, RA's and RD's are unfair and mean

    Tips for prospective students

    focus on school and not the drama or boys

    In three sentences

    personally i like the college but i do not like the students they let attend there they do not respect people from here.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Easy-going, relaxed students

    Bang for the buck

    Community college tuition for the complete college experience

    What to do for fun

    Hike, shop at the outlets, go to the beach

    Food and Dining

    New food restaurants!

    Dorm Life

    Amazing new facility!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers really focus on your needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in the dorms because it gives you the college experience for a very little price!

    In three sentences

    Suny Adirondack is located in a great, quite area near the Adirondacks. New dorms have been built that are state of the art and very modern. I love the caring staff and education that they have to offer.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, there are security guards on duty all day, and the teachers are also great in making students feel comfortable and safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Adirondack Community College is great for students who are just graduating high school and have no idea what they want to do, or for students that know what they want to do but would like to save some money. It is also a great school for older aged adults who wish to go back to school, they offer night classes that will work around a full time job schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Adirondack Community College is worth every cent.

    What to do for fun

    There are a good amount of clubs to join, as well as sports teams or participating in the drama department of the school. A majority of the classes are fun too, such as the PE Adventure Course classes.

    Food and Dining

    I always brought my own lunches, but the Einstein Brothers Cafe had excellent bagels and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    At the time I attended ACC the dorms were being built.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of ACC is progressive and suitable for a community college. The classes and teachers challenge it's students and promote the success of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the offered tutors and Math/English/Science labs with teachers and and students that are there to help you succeed in your classes. Don't take for granted what this school has to offer because in the long run its all worth your while.

    In three sentences

    Adirondack Community College is a very reliable and great school to attend. Its staff is well respected and are experts in the areas that their classes cover. There are plenty of opportunities to receive help in any area of study, and the student body is a very welcoming group of people.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security / safety phone every where

    Clubs and Activities

    to many clubs to list

    Great for these types of students

    preparing for bigger colleges and get in and get out students

    Bang for the buck

    SAVE $$$$ so worth it come to SUNY ADK college

    What to do for fun

    Every thing is close to all every thing and conveniently on the bus line.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has amazing coffee.

    Dorm Life

    BRAND NEW DORMS: 8/2013

    Academic Rigor

    some hard classes / some very easy classes very nice balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    advisement is key, always be thinking and planning ahead for the next semester.

    In three sentences

    I have had some great experiences. I have had some of them best professors in all my college experience here at this school. The school is growing everyday, it is destiny for great things.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling the parking lots and the campus grounds, their are those emergency blue lights all over the place as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know personally about the clubs and activities because I do not participate in them due to my work schedule

    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't necessarily ready to leave home Students who are trying to save money Students who were not able to complete their degree originially

    Bang for the buck

    The education you receive here is definitely worth the money you spend, it really is a low cost college experience, especially compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    The student center is always holding some sort of National Day like National PBJ day or International Waffle Day it's really fun because everything is free! They also offer different trips to different locations such as NYC or Montreal. There are new activities listed every week in This Week at SUNY Adirondack

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten at the cafeteria once there but I have had several breakfasts and lunches at Einstein Brothers located in Scoville Hall, they serve some great food!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately for me, there is no dorm life currently at SUNY ACC but there will be one in time for the Fall 2013 students arrive!

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't necessarily call it extremely hard, but depending on the courses you take it can be difficult to handle everything at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think of it as the 13th grade it is college. Don't wait till the last minute to start a report, the professors know. When you're in need of help with homework or a subject, the resource centers are an awesome place to go.

    In three sentences

    Going into SUNY ACC, I figured it would be just like high school, but I couldn't have been more wrong. I have enjoyed SUNY ACC a lot more than I ever thought I would, yes, there are some teachers that aren't the best, but most will do anything to help you. I definitely believe that SUNY ACC is a great school and a smart decision on my part to stay.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for serious students

    What to do for fun

    We have a wide variety of student activities available. Including reduced prices within the community that are beneficial for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your school work and get to know the teachers. It is beneficial. Also, study study study.

    In three sentences

    ACC has great teachers, weird students, and horrible office workers. It is cheap and a great education. There is a lot to do on campus.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency towers that you can hit a button on and someone will come to you in less than 90 seconds if you're hurt of in danger, but the campus is in a very safe community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone likes to hang out in the library. The 1st floor is very social and relaxed, the second floor is silent. I mean it. There is no talking allowed whatsoever which is great for studying. Theres a cafe right outside of the library too which has lots of coffee, juices, bagels, wraps.. everything you need to keep going.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is roughly 2,000 dollars per semester, which is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and a fitness center on campus, along with lots of local malls, stores, and nearby resaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, don't give up. Every class you take will help you in your future.

    In three sentences

    I love SUNY Adirondack. It makes me feel safe, the classrooms are small, the professors are great and it's a great learning environment.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're safe within this campus. Security patrols constantly and this is a small, close knit college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of clubs and the option to form a new club is available.

    Bang for the buck

    Not an expensive college but you do get more than you expect from classes and professors.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of sports to participate in, a big library and computer lab as well. Plus the campus is located in Queensbury NY, where there are plenty of activities in itself.

    Food and Dining

    Food service is wonderful. ACC has gone and updated their Scoville Cafe and Dining area. The food is always hot and fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a new concept to ACC as the dorms will be opening this spring. I imagine they'll be quite pleasant.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here are willing to help you succeed by any means. Their office hours are nearly all week and usually most are available by phone or email. These classes provide challenges as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for small classes about 20 students per class normally, this is a great start. This college isn't expensive and you can get your required freshman experiences for a lower tuition price.

    In three sentences

    ACC is a great college to begin your career with. Small one on one classes ensure in your ability to succeed.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the first week of school there are so many activites and free food!

    Bang for the buck

    you can do your core classes for a fraction of the price here.

    What to do for fun

    Campus games and events, and you are right in the middle of queensbury where there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan for chill time after a gym class before your next class.

    In three sentences

    Acc is a small campus. You can be a name not a number. Everyone is willing to help you in anyway.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMELY SAFE CAMPUS...I do not believe there has been a single incident at the college as long as it has been here. SUNY Adirondack (formerly Adirondack Community College) just celebrated its 50th anniversary!

    Greek Life

    NO fraternities or sororities here at Adirondack, per SUNY guidelines/rules.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and organizations. One of the clubs, New Horizons Adult Support Group I co-founded twenty years ago. Others include an environmental club, gay/bisexual/transgender club.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Adirondack is great for those that enjoy a smaller, community minded college. Most of the professors are approachable and will go out of their way to assist you. You will not get lost on campus, but there is ample room to spread out. If you like the country feel, SUNY Adirondack is for you! There is a plethora of things to do in the ADIRONDACK mountains...ski, swim, ride or bet on horses, ice-fish or stream-fish, climb a mountain, take a hike, or ride your bike!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any currently.

    Bang for the buck

    ABSOLUTELY BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK...in so far as the tuition whether in or out of state, cost-of-living, low crime, no gangs. Minimal drug activity in this area, though it does exist. Parents would be pleased to know that their child is in a nice area, with plenty to do yet the town and surrounding communities are very safe. A 1 BR apartment off campus is anywhere from $500.-750. per month, plus utilities.

    What to do for fun

    SUNY Adirondack sits at the foothills of the beautiful Adirondack Mountains. A six-million acre forest preserve, the Adirondacks (ADKS) offer many outdoor activities from boating to skiing, hiking to biking, snowmobiling and even a polar-bear swim on January 1st---as well as many other outdoor activities. This area is a four season destination for many outdoor enthusiasts. Lake George is minutes away and offers many attractions including Fort William Henry, where the movie, Last of the Mohicans was based on.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that is open for breakfast and lunch (under the bookstore and student activities board) as well as a a cafe style-smaller food service operation that serves dinner, coffee, lunch and snacks in The Scoville/Library building. The prices are reasonable and the food is quite good. Both the cafe and cafeteria offer healthy and not-so-healthy foods. The choice is yours!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are coming! The dorms are coming! As of August, 2012, SUNY is opening its' first dormitory building. As a matter-of-fact, it is being built right now.

    Academic Rigor

    In a nutshell, if you want to succeed, do your work and attend your classes. The professors are quite good. Don't expect to get a passing grade if you like to sleep in, are late or just do the minimum. The professors generally give you three misses for a 3 credit class. They will tell you Adirondack has a no-cut policy. If you need to miss, let your professors know why. If you need extra help, there are several tutors and labs available free of charge in many areas of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take traditional classes, not on-line, unless you are VERY GOOD with TIME MANAGEMENT. I did not take on-line classes, although my time management is quite good. I learn better in a classroom setting and thankfully was able to register for and take the traditional lecture-type classes that I needed and wanted.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Adirondack, formerly Adirondack Community College, is a wonderful community college that recently added a branch campus for another SUNY institution, SUNY Plattsburgh. There are several other opportunities available at the Queensbury, NY location that offer advanced study from other four-year institutions that SUNY Adirondack and Plattsburgh offer at the campus. I am in a position that few others posess; I graduated Adirondack Community College nearly 20 years prior to returning for my second area of study. I am delighted to say not much has changed as far as the intimate setting, dedicated professors and commitment to academic excellence that this school strives to achieve. I was so happy with my return to this school, I decided to stay for an additional 3 semesters. There is virtually no crime in this community, the campus is clean and well-appointed and it offers many areas of study from which most students can transfer to a four-year college, one of which is Plattsburgh. The professors and staff at SUNY Adirondack are helpful and very knowledgeable...I will miss SUNY Adirondack!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call stations all over campus Many staff members are trained in what to do during a medical emergency Wet floor signs are used

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to stay close to home Adult students Those who aren't prepared to go to school full time

    Bang for the buck

    I got a scholarship through the school and went for two years nearly free of charge (now if only the next two years could go as smoothly).

    What to do for fun

    Humans vs. Zombies Dinner and movie nights I have even seen the occasional lightsaber fight on the grass.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat much of the school's food, to be honest; it all seemed a little fatty and over priced to me.

    Academic Rigor

    This obviously depends on the classes you are taking, but I found them challenging without being so difficult that I was discouraged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't believe everything you've heard about community college. Get there early for good parking.

    In three sentences

    For a community college, the Professors are very knowledgeable, and they have a genuine interest in teaching. The campus is not too big, and not too small, so it's easy to get around while still offering pleasant scenery. In the winter time, it can get really cold up on the hill from the wind.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports. Hangout in food area. Gymnasium.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask around about your professors. Two different teachers might teach the same class but with entirely different requirements.

    In three sentences

    Very good education. Teachers are committed to teaching each student specifically. Nice facilities.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for continuing education, adult learners, the financially disadvantaged, or those uncertain about what they really want to major in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is simple cafeteria food and is somewhat expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are more challenging than others, depending upon the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused.

    In three sentences

    The education is great for the overall cost. Most professors are knowlegeable and excellent at what they do.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt unsafe walking around campus.

    Greek Life

    no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    culinary arts club, green community, healthy living, gay-straight alliance, game club

    Great for these types of students

    students who are still working in order to pay for college and living expenses and first time students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the small student to faculty member ratio makes the classroom a very comfortable casual atmosphere. some faculty members will even bring treats for their students and simultaneously implement a lesson related to it. this makes learning sometimes monotonous material really fun and interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    affordability is one of the biggest pros to this school. easy payment plans and low costs keep students enrolling year after year.

    What to do for fun

    suny adirondack provides multiple activities for their students for great prices. trips from any where to montreal to trendy museums in the big apple are offered throughout the semester at very affordable prices.

    Food and Dining

    the food provided in the dining hall comes in a great variety, with handmade dishes prepared right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    there are currently no dormitories offered by suny adirondack, but there are construction plans in the near future.

    Academic Rigor

    although it's a community college do not be fooled by the stereotypical easy course load. success involves in-depth studies both on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the small student to faculty member ratio and get to know your professors!

    In three sentences

    this college is a small, yet very dense campus. there is plenty of space to study and do homework with endless availability of great resources, including the brilliant faculty members. this college is highly recommended for first time college students!

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is great. There is always campus police driving around and they are easy to get a hold of.

    Greek Life

    Only being a freshman in college, I don't really know much about the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs on campus are great. There are clubs for everyone and are easy to get into.

    Great for these types of students

    Adirondack Community College is great for all students. There is something for everyone and even things for students that don't know exactly what they want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has an obstacle course on campus that is fun and entertaining.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the college is underestimated because its a community college it is a great school and relatively cheap.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do on campus. There is also ways to get discounted tickets for local activites, like movies, shows, and sporting event.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dinning hall and the cafe are great, and not that expensive. If your not in the mood for that, just up the road there in a string of resturants and fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Adirondack Community College are all great and will get you in the right direction to whatever you want to do with life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always check boards and calenders for fun things to do. Also you can get discounted tickets to local movies, shows, or sporting games.

    In three sentences

    I really am enjoying this college. There are very good courses there and the professors are all nice and extremely helpful. I also like that there is always something fun to do in between classes in the student center.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your homework.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't get a better education for less than ACC.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very chill and much better than highschool.

    Am learning a lot

    I would recommend taking all your classes on the main campus if you want it to be worth your time.

  • 03/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want to spend a lot of money on a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class on time!

    Am learning a lot

    This college is has a great variety of classes, clubs, and activities. Yes, it is small, but you get a lot out of it. The professors are very professional and the campus is small enough to an extent where you could find your classes very easy. I recommend attending this school if you still want to live at home

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    When the time came for me to decide where I was going to attend college I was absolutely terrified. I had no idea where I wanted to go or even if I wanted to go. As a student, I was very quiet and shy. When it came to the classroom I would hardly ever ask a question or share an opinion with the class. The thought of having to talk with a professor made me nauseous. I did not think I could do any of that or that I would even be successful in college. Does this sound like you? If you answered yes to any of these aspects, then Adirondack Community College is the place for you. The faculty members help to take students just like me and bring them out of their shells. They have a way of making the intimidated feel mighty. The set up of the classrooms creates an environment that welcomes learning and encourages students to participate, which for me was the biggest problem. On the other hand, if you are one of those ambitious students that does not really fear anything, Adirondack Community College could be the place for you as well. They offer many clubs, extracurricular activities, and chances to let your voice be heard. At Adirondack Community College you are more than just a number. You are a person and your success is greatly driven by the faculty and staff you meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you application in early. Although this is a community college there are many individuals who take advantage of the great opportunities this college has to offer. Once your application has been accepted you will meet with an academic advisor to create your schedule and plan your future at the college. The sooner you get this step of the process done, the sooner you will have the relief of knowing you are all set. Classes fill up on a rather quick basis which is why you will want to get your schedule done early. Take a tour of the campus. It is good to know what buildings you will have classes in, where the library is, and where you can get lunch or just a quick snack. Watch for announcements on the bulletin boards and TV screens that will remind you of important deadlines and opportunities to further your education. Talk with current students and ask them about their experiences. Every person has a story to tell and someone is just waiting to share theirs with you.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of times, high school seniors do not want to consider a two year school with the idea that they would eventually have to start the process all over again when it comes time to transfer to a four year school. Adirondack Community College is a two year school that offers so many opportunities to help with this concern and any others you may have a long the way. Two year schools such as this are a perfect gateway into the world of four year schools. Tuition is less expensive at these schools and since their are no dorms you will be saving money by not paying room or board. You can create your schedule to work around a job, a family, or anything else you may be dealing with. Adirondack Community College greats you with a beautiful campus and a faculty and staff ready and willing to help. Its an environment where people know your name, know who you are, and know exactly what that extra push you need to be successful is.

    Am enjoying being here

    Over the past two years I have jumped at every opportunity this college has presented me. I have gotten involved in many clubs and extracurricular activities that not only bring me great pleasure but will also look great on a resume in the future. The students that make up Adirondack Community College all bring something a little different to the table. It is possible for you to have a class with your best friend from high school and the mother of three kids that lives in your neighborhood. Due to the diversity of it's students, this college creates a great opportunity to begin your college career. Whether you are using it as a starting point to a four year school or an entry in the job market ACC has many opportunities for you. The professors I have taken classes with have all been great. I have never met a group of people more willing to work with me and see that I succeed in my life. There are many activities on campus sponsored by the College Activity Board that offer great opportunities to meet other students as well as to get involved. I came to ACC as a quiet, shy, girl who did not know my place in this world. I am leaving a strong, confident, and successful well rounded student.

    Am learning a lot

    Adirondack Community College has taught me a lot about what the world of college academics is like as well as what life is really all about. The curriculum is geared toward individual needs and desires with the opportunity to select from a variety of majors and certifications. The classes are structured so that you can learn from them and you end the semesters feeling like it was well worth your time. For me they fly by. Professors are available on a regular as well as personally needed basis and are always willing to help you with any concerns you may be having.

  • 11/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who work full time jobs or have their own families to take care of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure to get all the work done and put time into your classes and you'll do great.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is the way to go if you want to save money your first 2 years of school and move on to a higher education. credits transfer easily with most any institutions because the school is a highly regarded community college.

    Am enjoying being here

    i love the freedom of being able to still go to school and be able to work full time and have a personal life all while getting a degree in the field I'm interested in

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here give you just enough work, yet still realize you have other things (such as work) going on in your lives. The professors really try to help you and aren't afraid to spend extra time going over things or give you additional help outside of class

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Communication and Media Arts majors, which encompasses people who are interested in Photography and Graphic Design.

    Tips for prospective students

    Graphic Design majors- when looking for a school, base your decision mostly off of student work. If it is terrible- cross it off your list. You wont learn anything in a school where none of the previous students are learning anything. This is what led me to ACC, because the student work was good, compared to the other local schools which were abysmal. Visit the campus and judge for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the school well surpassed it's expense. I think anyone considering going into graphic design or photography, whether you just want to get your AAS or transfer elsewhere, should consider going to Adirondack Community College. I have friends who've majored in similar majors at other local community colleges, and the quality doesn't compare. I've even heard people complain who've transferred to state schools that the quality doesn't compare to ACC. It's also the only community college around that has a dark room. Although, I'm not sure how long it is going to last because I know they are planning to switch to digital. I can't really speak much of any other major as I only went for Communication & Media Arts. I'm sure the quality spreads throughout the campus though, as my boyfriend was happy with his business courses.

    Did enjoy being here

    The only thing I did not enjoy about being a student was transportation, which is something that certainly affects everyone differently. Otherwise, it was a clean campus, the majority of the teachers are good, and because of the size of the media arts major, you are bound to make friends with everyone else in the major.

    Did learn a lot

    As a more advanced student majoring in Communications and Media Arts, I was pleasantly surprised and excited to learn as much as I did during my two years of being a student at Adirondack Community College. It's very clear that Paigo, a teacher and also the head of the department, knew what he was talking about, and he made sure that everyone from all levels of experience learned a great deal from his classes. (Which shows in the student work) The other teachers in the major were great as well, albeit he was my teacher in most my Media Arts classes. Despite the fact that the Media Arts classes were great and I learned a lot from them, the required liberal arts courses were sub-par. For the most part, any classes that ended with a 101 are bleek introductory classes that are designed so practically no one can fail. My boyfriend was a business major, and although I can't really speak of his personal experiences, he did enjoy his classes and felt that the teachers were very knowledgeable. He also can confirm that the 101 courses are pathetic.