Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Augusta Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Augusta Technical College is great for students looking to get finish with school and start there career at a fast pace.

    Food and Dining

    There is a area with drink and snack machines. There is restaurants near by also.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The majors here are for Fast learners. At this school you go through the courses faster then at any other school, the teachers teach it well. I love it, Its fast pace learning and the teachers make it easy. They encourage you to go further, to succeed, and be successful in your career and in your life.

    In three sentences

    Augusta Technical College is a great school. The Staff is so friendly and the teachers are great. Augusta tech in my opinion is a 4 star school.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always be willing to learn more!

    In three sentences

    Augusta Tech as wonderful teachers, who are always willing to help. It is a very clean school. The opportunities at Augusta Tech are endless

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta kappa

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is cheaper that most area colleges

    What to do for fun

    They have a few events for students scattered throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    only vending machines

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you show up and do the work, most professors will help you and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always double-check everything about your college experience. People make mistakes; people are also human and sometimes incompetent. Protect yourself by double-checking everything. Ask questions and always be in the know. Don't take no for an answer: ask someone else! Your life and future is in your hands!

    In three sentences

    Good school to learn from. Financial aid is a little lacking: no student loans! Most credits are transferable.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are sheriffs and deputies all throughout campus and they have little call stations set up throughout the parking lot that will ring straight to the campus police. So safety is definitely not an issue in this school.

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't want to spend much for quality education and you don't care much about joining sororities and fraternities (the campus lifestyle), then this would be the perfect school for you. If you do want to experience the true college lifestyle than go to one of the four year colleges, preferably Georgia Regents University.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Augusta if you come from a big city like me. They only have one mall, 3 movie theaters (only 2 of them show new movies), and no them parks. They do have museums though if you're into that sort of thing.

    Food and Dining

    They closed the snack bar so if you get hungry, the only option is to go buy you something to eat off campus or at the snack machines. There is a few places near the school that you could get a bite to eat from though.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms, no one lives on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I placed in were right on point for my academic level. The only problem is that I like to be taught and some of the teachers do more talking than teaching. Other than that, it's great.

    Tips for prospective students

    They do not offer loans anymore so if you planned on using Financial Aid, the only thing being accepted is the Pell Grant and the HOPE. Everything else has to be out of pocket. I would say make sure whatever class you take, you make sure you read the textbook everyday because that's mostly the only way you will truly learn.

    In three sentences

    Augusta Tech is a good school. They have great teachers and they cost less than most of the other schools. It's not a bad investment.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    IF YOU WANT BANG FOR YOUR BUCK......GO TO A DIFFERENT COLLEGE!! This place is a joke!!

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many things to do for fun at this college except for field day. Not many alumni and such participate often

    Food and Dining

    It's as good as to be expected. I mean it cafeteria food. Small area, consists of maybe 5 small square tables and a little line to order food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for this college

    Academic Rigor

    Very strict when it comes to getting into a program. There are MANY MANY students trying to get into the same program as another, so there isn't any room for error. You only get one shot at taking a class and doing well unless you plan on spending many years just to get a 2yr degree

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the time and money it's not a bad school to get a few classes and move on. It is very hard to get into competitive programs that would offer financial security in the long run. The school has way to many applicants for a program and only select a FEW once a year. Like I said before if you have the time and money to invest in the school fine, but do not plan on getting an education in a hurry from this technical school.

    In three sentences

    This college doesn't even get an A for effort. The administrative staff (admissions, financial-aid, etc.) are very hard to work with. Most instructors are the same way, there are a few diamonds in the rough but not many!

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will find Augusta Technical College a friendly and multi-cultural place.

    What to do for fun

    Augusta offers a wide variety of things to do and places to see. There are lots of different clubs offering a wide selection of music and interests.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but plenty of housing is available.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not easy but are not extremely difficult. Even the on-line courses have instructors you can seek help from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on-line and review the catalogue for the many courses and tuition for each one.

    In three sentences

    It is a Technical College offering a wide variety of Associate Degrees, Diploma programs and continuing adult continuing education courses. They offer help for employment and financial aid. The instructors are helpful and have the student's welfare at heart.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is 100%. they have onsite police that are from time the school open to time the school closes.

    Greek Life

    i don't to much about The greek life to much.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activities that students can attend like the golf for people who like to play golf, and mathmatechics club that they can attend.

    Great for these types of students

    There is alot clubs and activites that Augusta tech do. Do to have the students something they can do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none for my understanding that i know of at this time.

    Bang for the buck

    They have clothing stores and grocery store here that will fit into your school buget. We have krogers and we have goodwill, cititrends, its fashion metro,roses, ross, TJ Maxx and other sores here that we fit into your buget.

    What to do for fun

    There is movies and the green jackets games that you can attend here. Alot of students get together and go out to eat at the ,mall and movies to the games they be having here.

    Food and Dining

    We have caferterias and lunch areas were you can buy for and have sitting areas to study.

    Dorm Life

    They don't really have dorms but they do have some kind of assisting with Ramblewood apartments that will help you with room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic there are great there are a few and more to come for what i here. You can be offer something great and exciting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips that i will Propective students is to look more in to Augusta Tech and find out more there school and programs that will fit you.

    In three sentences

    I rate Augusta Technical college to be one the top technical schools in the Augusta, GA area. The attends of students that attend there is very high and its a great and awesome school.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not particpate in student activities

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    5stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard.

    In three sentences

    I think Augusta Technical Collge is an excellant college. The teachers are very helpful and friendly. I like it because it has small classes

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias located on the campus, one is in the 1300 building where students receive financial aid and also where they will sign up for college for the first time.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Health science programs are the leading programs here at Augusta Technical College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study wisely and if you cannot afford a book, Lending library will assist you with receiving a book, and also maintain a GPA of 3.0 or higher to remain on Hope and also there is a place in the technology building for students to be tutored that is lacking in sciences and maths! :)

    In three sentences

    Augusta Technical College is a great school, The teachers at this particular college expects excellence for the students and also the teachrs teach each student not only the material that is in the book, but real life material and teach us at times based on their experience.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay.

    In three sentences

    The learning atmosphere is great with small classes and the teachers really help to understand the information. The office staff is extremely obnoxious and not helpful at all. Overall the school would be better if the took more care to hire a respectful administrative staff.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always present.

    Greek Life

    There is a sorority, but I chose not to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large field day every year. Other than that I don't know of anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have to work while attending school because class schedules are flexible. I am a single mom so that is important as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None of which I am aware.

    Bang for the buck

    The great thing about a technical college education is that you graduate ready to join the work force. I have not graduated yet, but due to clinical rotations that the school set up for me, I already have job offers. I am ready to enter the work force! Augusta Tech is also very affordable. You can get your degree without finding yourself thousands upon thousand of dollars in debt.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus, but I live close by so there is usually no need for me to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Augusta Tech is a wonderful school. They teach you what you need to know to be successful in your chosen field. Everything I have learned I have able to apply directly to my job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Get your transcripts together, apply for acceptance and then apply for financial aid. You will be so glad that you did. I have really enjoyed my college experience.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Augusta Technical College has been wonderful. The teachers and staff are all helpful and caring. I am so glad that I decided to attend a technical college over the standard four year colleges.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of guards.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria, but many local eateries in the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are right on for their classes.

    In three sentences

    Augusta Tech has increased their standards for students, and I appreciate this. We can now transfer more credits which means taking more core classes at a lesser cost. I also like the smaller campus.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrols in the area.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    People who do not want much excitement small town life is the best for students who go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are the Augusta Tech Games that are held in the spring each year.

    Bang for the buck

    The fair comes once a year.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Augusta is about the most fun you can get around here.

    Food and Dining

    There are fast food restaurants near each campus.

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are usually kept small which makes for an easier learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions in class, and always allow yourself to study and prepare for tests and exams.

    In three sentences

    Augusta Tech has many different programs to choose from; all of the advisors and teachers are very helpful, and you can truly tell that everyone on staff truly loves what they do. The classes are small which makes for a great learning environment. Also, there are four different campuses that makes it much easier for people who live far away from the main campus.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Augusta Technical College, we are everyday people from high school grads to moms and dads just trying to earn that trade or degree to have a better change at better our current situation.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very simple but very important in everyday life that so many of us lack and become unable to deal with the real world so to say. It teaches everything from how to conduct your self in the workplace to how to use computers and computer software to keep up with the competitive job market.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students I would say to be proactive and not wait on the process to take place and take any steps necessary to make the process smooth for you.

    In three sentences

    Augusta Technical College is a great start to obtaining a degree or trade in a short period of time. It has taught me a lot of self discipline. My experience at Augusta Technical College is so far very self rewarding.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a officer on duty.

    Greek Life

    honor society

    Clubs and Activities

    honor society

    Great for these types of students

    Students who: learn better in smaller classes work have children want an education but not sure where to start older

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy the school. One thing I wish were different is when and where certain classes are offered. There are multiple campuses and that's great, but when I sign up to attend a certain campus I expect to be able to have all the classes I need available to me at that campus. some people aren't able to commute and that's the reason for choosing a campus close to home. It would be nice if you didn't have to sit out a semester because your school doesn't offer the class you need. In some cases the class you need may not be offered at your campus at all. This is a great inconvenience. The book store at your campus should carry or be able to get every book you need. Even is you take a class on line. You shouldn't have to drive to another campus just to buy a book.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun going on from concerts, feild day, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small snack area with snack and soda machines. If you want to eat you better stop at one of the restaurants on the way to school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Take all core classes 1st!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with you advisor!!

    In three sentences

    Great instructors and staff small class size multiple campuses

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, we have many blue lit emergency polls that are very very plentiful. One of my classmates picked up my keys on campus and I had to leave my vehicle over the weekend. No one bothered it. I mostly attend in the evening, its busy in and out of classes and its well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to take mostly online classes. They offer most of the classes online. Most classes are available for every shift of the day.

    What to do for fun

    I love to walk at the park, shop at the mall, and read books.

    Food and Dining

    There is a snack bar that have french fries and other items for sale as well as vending areas. My favorite is french fries and Fanta orange soda (Fattening, I KNOW!)

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm on campus. I am not sure if they have any.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic portion is not hard, unless you dont study. If you do the daily/weekly assignments, you will pass all the courses. Always ask questions that you dont know the answer too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check banner web! This is where you will find your status of financial aid to registration and campus messages and much more. Stay on top of all your paperwork and make sure that everything in the system is always correct.

    In three sentences

    I love Augusta Technical College, it is a warm and friendly environment. I have met many staff members who really show that they care about your education as much as you do. The registration process is easy and getting better by the semester.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    start your application process early

    In three sentences

    good teachers, poor help with admissions, not enough financial help avvailable

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    state patrol and police officers are readily available.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that work during the day or night, with or without kids, or with open schedules that can go to school night and/or day.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do on the Thomson campus, but they will have various programs to do things.

    Food and Dining

    Only the main campus in Augusta, GA has a cafeteria. They will grill out sometime.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure financial aid is done before time Visit the campus of your choice and recieve a free tour Do all your research on ANY school you choose

    In three sentences

    Augusta Technical College is a very good school. If you want a certificate, diploma, or associates degree in any program it offers, this will be a school of choice. You must live near the main three campuses.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top notch.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafetiria that offers pizza, coffee, etc. Also several vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would very much advise to consider Augusta Technical College. You can get an excellent education without all the politics of a huge university.

    In three sentences

    The professors here at Augusta Tech are wonderful, intuitive and compassionate. This school offers a top notch education. I would recommend Augusta Technical College to anyone.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have these emergency boxes all around campus plus security rides around all day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the little sitting areas around campus. There is artwork and lots of other figures to look at while sitting quietly.

    Bang for the buck

    Very Affordable

    What to do for fun

    Honestly nothing, but you can laugh and talk with your peers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and cheap. Plus you don't have to leave campus there are two different locations.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there isn't any on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    It's great I think it all equals out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Out of 1-10 I wold rate ATC at 8. It's a great college with teachers willing to guide you along the way. I am proud to be taking classes toward getting my degree here.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I usually bring my lunch

    Dorm Life

    I would stay at home if its close enough

    Academic Rigor

    Easier than other schools due to its hands on classes

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a lot easier to handle than your average college

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of my campus seems to be great. I always see a lot of police vehicles out and around the school.

    Great for these types of students

    People who wish to further their education and make their lives a bit better.

    What to do for fun

    Different activities are posted all throughout the school; just look at the fliers and you'll find something!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are good, except for the math. I believe I was placed in a class that was far too easy for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for stuff as early as you can; it makes things much easier on yourself.

    In three sentences

    I love my classes and professors. Only drawback would be the financial aid requirements (because I'm under 24, it's based off of parent's income, etc. I do not live with either parent and do not think my eligibility should be based off of them. I am in need of aid and am unable to provide my mother's information, therefore am unable to receive the help I am in desperate need of...

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is taken very seriously at Augusta Tech! They've even agreed to add new street lights to the campus for students enrolled in night classes (they may have already done this, I'm not certain since I go during the day). There is generally at least one Richmond county deputy there at all times. On top of this, they patrol regularly as well.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, Augusta Tech is an excellent choice for the financially responsible student. The education received for the price is (in my opinion) unparalleled.

    Food and Dining

    The food served at the student lounge is very good, and priced fairly. The only qualm I have about student dining is that they don't adequately post the hours of operation. Also, the cafeteria is closed randomly without notice.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in student housing so sadly I am unhelpful in this respect.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the courses you take and the teacher in question. The most important thing is going to class everyday. If you attend class responsibly, pay attention, and take notes it really isn't a difficult school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only bad thing I have to say about Augusta Tech is this: Administratively, the institution leaves much to be desired. However, this is to be expected at most any college, so don't be discouraged! Once you get through the craziness that is admissions and get things sorted out at financial aid because they lost your paperwork (and they will), things fall into place. The instructors really are great and make all the hassle worth it!

    In three sentences

    The instructors at Augusta Tech go above and beyond what is expected from a college professor. Though it is a community college, many core classes are transferable to major colleges across the country. The bookstore prices are reasonable, the library is small but efficient, and student safety is taken very seriously on campus.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want hands on training.

    What to do for fun

    Once a year, all of the Augusta Tech. colleges get together for a fields day.

    Food and Dining

    The quality and taste of the food is good. The menu and the variety of the food needs to expand more. The Cafeteria could be bigger.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is tough and takes a lot of studying. The instructors do a good job making sure you understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    The work is not easy and the campus is not big. The hands on training helps you a lot. It is more affordable than most colleges.

    In three sentences

    Augusta Tech. is a great school that offer many good programs that our economy needs. It gives good hands on training which allows you to actually learn. The instructors take extra time to make sure you understand and doing well.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    augusta tech games, which is just like a field day where the different programs battle it out to win different games.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is only open at certain times and ive personally never tried the food mainly because i never stay on campus long enough to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor is based on the student's efforts really. i wouldn't say it's hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to submit your financial aid info early because they do take time to process.

    In three sentences

    augusta tech is an affordable college. yes, it's sorta old and classrooms are really outdated, but for the money well worth it. professors are informative and supportive.

  • 08/08/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what school you are planning on attending or is already attending, do the best you can and make the best of it.