Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bevill State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/09/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional or low-income students. I am both and it has been a wonderful gift to be able to attend school for free and not feel like the oldest person in the room.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking to save money, go here! Don't rush on to a 4-year university because you think it looks good. It really doesn't matter in the long run. Save money and do a two-year. I'll be finished with my associates degree soon but plan to stay at Bevill to finish my pre-requisite academics for my major before transferring to a university. It saves a whole lotta dough to take the same classes that will transfer with you anyway. And, saving money now means you'll have less money to pay back in the future when you start making $$$.

    What to do for fun

    Sumiton is only a short 30 minute drive out to Birmingham. There is fun to be had there but if you'd rather stay in town then I would suggest hitting the park or finding some like-minded friends to have some laughs with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not amazing; it's definitely cafeteria style. BUT, it tastes good, the coffee is hot, and we aren't competing against Gordon Ramsey.

    Dorm Life

    I can't personally attest to "dorm life". I'm not positive there are dorm options for the Sumiton Campus. I think most people who attend here have family that live near by or are old enough to own their own home :) I give it 5 stars solely for that reason.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics varies between faculty. Some are harder than others, speak faster than others, or have less time to spend one-on-one. My overall experience has been challenging and exciting. I am the type of student who is forthright with questions and really wants to understand the answers. My teachers abide to this and seem to enjoy teaching to people who are, I suppose, louder? There have been times when I've been so confused I feel tears start to well up and clench my fists in frustration but shortly after that a breakthrough of understanding happens. So, read as much as you can and take the time after school to study and you'll get the grades you want. The academics are challenging but not so much that you'll want to fall asleep in pool of your own tears and give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! Everyone is nervous going back to school; especially those of us who are not "traditional" students. Reach out to your peers and teachers and exhaust every resource provided to you from the school. IT HELPS. After not having taken a math class in 9 years (Yes, I said 9!) I found solace in the student support services office that directed me to their rag tag group of tutors. The staff at Bevill is extremely helpful with questions, especially when it comes to financial aid, and I've had a lot. So don't feel intimidated by reaching out for help because everyone that I have talked to here has been more than willing to take the time help me figure out the answers!

    In three sentences

    If you want a be immersed in a learning environment that feels personal and attentive then look no further. Bevill State, although small, has the capacity within its staff to make you feel like you can do big things with your education. They nurture the beginning stages of your learning that will make you want to stay curious for semesters to come.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I hear the food is good.. although I've never eaten there before.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are VERY strict.. but can be lenient if you go talk to them and ask for help

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to: 1) Try to get your books AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!! Because homework will be waiting on you after the second day of class. 2) Read before class and take good notes 3) Get help when you need it!

    In three sentences

    Bevill State Community College is a GREAT school. Whether you're attending just to take general studies, nursing, welding or whatever the case may be, it is an amazing place to start college.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several security officers available on campus. They are always there if you should ever need them. Just give one of them a call.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities available at Bevill. The students of Bevill are active members in the community. Students help support cancer research, as well as, Safe Place.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for at Bevill. They will go out of there way to make sure you are getting the education you are paying for.

    Food and Dining

    Bevill of Hamilton has an on site restaurant and is within minutes of more than 10 name brand restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not difficult. You will get what you put into the classes, meaning if you work hard, stay focused and determined, you will learn and prosper with no problem at all. The academics are designed for the undergraduate students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about the small stuff. There is always someone willing to help you with anything you could need. Find that person, whether it be your advisor or simply a more experienced student. Never leave any question unanswered.

    In three sentences

    I attend Bevill State in Hamilton, Alabama after dropping out of college almost ten years ago. Attending Bevill in Hamilton was one of the best decisions I made. Everyone made my transition back into college as easy as possible, and everyone continues to be as helpful as possible all the time.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's plenty of clubs and social events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    BSCC has a very friendly and outgoing staff there to assistance anyone who needs their help. They have various school activites. I enjoy it here.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have different groups for you to join and these groups do all kinds of things like take trips and stuff. Like the group I am in we are planning on taking a trip to Indiana this summer.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really eaten at the school much but there are a lot of food choices close by the school and they give discounts to college students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but cozy to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers it's hard to understand their teaching styles but you get use to it.

    In three sentences

    My first year at Bevill State has been quite interesting. The staff are so kind and they care enough to help you on your grades. I would say that Bevill has tried to make the freshmen feel welcomed and it worked, I enjoy going.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bevill State has various clubs that you can join and the campus is very user friendly.

    Food and Dining

    Bevill State Community College Fayette Campus has a quaint cafeteria that cooks home-cooked meals!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be demanding at times, but Bevill is focused on producing successful professional!!

    Tips for prospective students

    To be successful you have to work hard and stay focused!

    In three sentences

    Bevill State Community College is an awesome organization! They keep their students challenged and provide positive feedback. All of their instructors are student focused!!

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I rate bevill at about an 8. the reason is that they should offer my classes. Besides that I really enjoy going to bevill.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in activities and clubs that are offered.

    Food and Dining

    Small town area allows for many food and dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic learning is at a quality level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus clubs and activities to make new friends fast.

    In three sentences

    Small classes make learning easier. The teachers are more personally connected to the students. Learning in this atmosphere is easy.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stick in there, it'll be worth it.

    In three sentences

    Very enjoyable experience with the staff and teachers.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use the student services available.

    In three sentences

    This is a school that truly cares about their students. They offer many student services and aid for all students. Teachers are approachable and helpful in all ways.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have officers at your disposal, this is one of the safest campus's around.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone!

    Food and Dining

    There is not food or dining here on campus. But there are some restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm here. There is off-campus housing that is right next door from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors really care for their students, this is more like a family than a school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage anyone to come here. This is one of the best schools I have attended.

    In three sentences

    The instructors here are very concerned about their students education. They will go above and beyond for their students, they have a 'failure is not an option' attitude. I love this school.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    they have a variety of clubs you can get in.

    Great for these types of students

    single parents, people who work

    Bang for the buck

    really good school to go to if you want to not spend so much money for the first 2 years of school.

    What to do for fun

    we just started a campus ministry on the campus i attend. i think it is a great way to get like-minded people together.

    Food and Dining

    no food places on my campus

    Dorm Life

    they do have dorms, but not on the campus i attend.

    Academic Rigor

    this is great. the teachers give you a sense that you actually are important and capable of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    some tips for prospective students are to be prepared to enter college, be willing to attend classes that you schedule for yourself, and be willing to work hard to complete college.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy going to bevill state. i don't like that there is many choices for times and classes at the campus i attend. overall, the instructors i have are really good.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are just starting college.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a great way to transition from high school to college life. However, make sure that you talk to your advisor regularly. Unlike high school, instead of contacting you, you have to contact them.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Community Colleges, like Bevill State are great to start off a college education. Starting with a smaller school means you would be able to recieve more individual help from instructors.