Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school will benefit any student who wants to learn and grow during their college years. It is more beneficial for students who appreciate the one on one contact with professors and who enjoy a small classroom atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is extremely affordable and makes each individual feel the drive to succeed. They changed my total outlook on college and what I need to do to better my education. The people that work here truly welcome every student with open arms. I feel like this school would not know how to turn down ANY student with a desire to learn.

    Will enjoy being here

    It may not be the first college of my choice, but the people that work here went above and beyond during my visit to make me feel welcome and supported. I really did enjoy the visit and I hope to enjoy the college just as much, if not more.

    Will learn a lot

    When I visited BCTC to see their campus and find out more about what their professors had to offer me, I quickly realized how much more attention I will receive from the staff here when it comes to my school work. The classes are smaller and the professors are beyond helpful. I am very excited about starting here because I feel more comfortable approaching the faculty.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is slightly larger than you would think, so take a tour and see how you like it. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgeable when I took the tour

    Bang for the buck

    BCTC is less expensive than a larger school here in Kentucky, but so many of the classes are the same.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have taken classes at 3 different BCTC campuses, and have liked every one of them.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are much smaller than a large university, making things much more hands on and personal. You can learn a lot at this school and the professors are very helpful.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened or unsafe in any way at this campus. A student can also choose to be alerted by email or text in the event of an emergency situation at the school, this includes notifying students of any dangerous situation (individual) at the school or dangerous weather conditions. From my experience I feel that this campus is quite safe.

    Bang for the buck

    A college education is going to be a major expense (for most of us anyway) regardless of where you attend. But I've found that a Community College is the best way to start out for cash-strapped individuals. At a Community College an Associates Degree can be earned (or other certificate/vocational training) at a much lower cost than at a typical 4 year university. Then a student can choose to transfer to a university after 2 years (saving on the cost of tuition the first two years at least). Overall I would say this community college is a good bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    BCTC has a number of programs that students can choose to be enrolled in, too many to list really. Being conveniently located in Lexington, KY the campus is very close to downtown with a number of galleries, shops and restaurants to visit. If you like horses or basketball Lexington offers the best of both- pristine horse farms and UK basketball.

    Academic Rigor

    The subjects that I have taken thus far at BCTC have been challenging as expected. Yet BCTC offers tutoring for students that are in need of help, and the instructors are willing to answer questions and explain the information thoroughly. They seem genuinely interested in making sure the information is clearly understood.

    Tips for prospective students

    The #1 tip I could give any prospective student is: Go To Class! Obviously the students that attend class regularly are the ones with the highest scores and make the most out of their time at school.

    In three sentences

    Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC) is a nice community college. This is my first year studying at BCTC, and I have found that the advisers and instructors are helpful and friendly as well as knowledgeable.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had an issue, or felt like I would be in any danger on campus. UK campus police are constantly patroling as well as city and county police officers.

    Greek Life

    I dont believe there are greeks at KCTCS.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although the campus is small, there are tons of activities to get involved in. I have heard the student government at the Bluegrass campus are amazing at what they do.

    Great for these types of students

    I am a full time worker, along with mother who takes full time courses. The online classes offered are perfect for me. I'd say online courses are great for anyone with a crazy schedule who can't commit to being in class at a certain everyday.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bluegrass campus is right next to UK, in the heart of Lexington. Definately big blue nation! Kentucky Basketball games are an undescribable experience. You HAVE to attend one, but I'd say once you go you'll be a fan for life! BBN!!

    Bang for the buck

    125 per credit hour compared to 325 per hour at the major University~! I believe that speaks for itself!

    What to do for fun

    I would recommend getting involved with a group on campus, since this is a small setting type school. It will keep you involved with other students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe in my home campus, which offers 'home style' cooking for just a few dollars. Very good!

    Dorm Life

    I am a distance learning student, so all of my classes are online. I don't know what dorm like at the community college is like, although I know that the Bluegrass campus is right next to the University of Kentucky, so you can mix and mingle with the UK students.

    Academic Rigor

    Class demands vary. I've had a great amount of work from some courses, and others seem to be very simple and light on homework. It just depends on your professor, which is pretty consistant with other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online courses, always pay attention to the campus that offers the course, because that will be the bookstore that you have to get the books for that class from. I learned the hard way that not all book stores carry all KCTCS books. You have to go to that specific bookstore that the class originates from.

    In three sentences

    A great place to do 'distance learning' like I do. There are tons of online class options because you can technically take any distance class from any KCTCS Campus that is offered.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    whenever i had a problem with safety at bctc, the security office was compassionate and helpful. they're seriously awesome. hopefully no one else will need them, but when it's necessary...

    Great for these types of students

    if you're seriously strapped for cash and would like an education, bctc's for you. i couldn't get enough aid to cover books at uk, and now i can actually afford to replace clothes that desperately needed to be thrown out.

    Bang for the buck

    wow! the price of bctc is phenomenal for the education they give. the buildings are a little outdated and everything looks old, but nothing is in really bad condition. there is also no professional sports team, field maintenance, or anything like that. this is how the costs are so low. it's half the cost of uk with about the same education. it's also notable that after one goes to bctc for two years, they can carry over that cost to uk for the next two years.

    What to do for fun

    if there are no clubs that interest you, there's really not much to do around bctc. i'm a big city type of person, though. many smaller-town people absolutely love what to do in lexington.

    Food and Dining

    bluegrass cafe, the only cafeteria at bctc, isn't too bad. the cooked vegetables aren't that great, but everything else is actually fairly tasty, even for picky people. the cafe accepts cash, credit cards, and uk meal plans. the other option for food is the multitude of vending machines around campus, which to my knowledge is cash only. unfortunately, with both options, it's quite expensive to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    if a bctc student wants to stay in a dorm, it is done through uk's dorms. while the dorms are close by, they are also overpriced. with the mandatory meal plan, it costs a bctc student $800+/month. that's more than the cost of tuition. if it can be helped, live in an apartment or at home instead.

    Academic Rigor

    contrary to popular belief of students of surrounding post-secondary schools, bctc's courses are comparable to uk in difficulty and rigor. with the smaller class sizes, however, if one needs additional help from their professor, it can be granted thanks to the smaller class sizes. i have learned previously difficult concepts in subjects i was never good at thanks to bctc. (i'm an engineering student. the humanities were never nice to me.)

    Tips for prospective students

    bctc makes the process of admission (among other important processes, like registering for classes) easy. however, as a transfer student, my credits didn't transfer correctly. they had also messed up other information, such as my ssn. make sure they have everything right, and speak up when you find a mistake. also, if you need to contact the financial aid office before classes start, good luck. it's a long line at the physical location, and if you want to call, get ready to be on hold for at least an hour.

    In three sentences

    bluegrass community and technical college is a great place to start getting a bachelor's degree or simply get an associate degree. while it may seem like a school only for those who are poor or intellectually unable to go to uk, it actually has superior value for the price and one cannot just not learn anything and pass. i very much enjoy the flexibility and cost of the school, as someone who is intelligent and needs a bit of help in the money department.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no doubt I feel safe on campus. Even during the nighttime when I have later classes, I know that there is plenty of lighting, and the building is very secure and safe. The students are all friendly and if there were to be an emergency, I know I could get help right away.

    Greek Life

    At BCTC, there are not many Greek groups. There is only one group that I know of so far and it is the Phi Theta Kappa, which is more of an honor society recognizing academic acheivements of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs available at BCTC really do help to get students involved with interacting with one another and the community. Inter-murals contain most of the student involvement, and the Student Government does its best to constantly make the students feel welcome in the meetings, while also providing opportunities to get involved in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    BCTC is perfect for really any student. There are free tutoring services for students who need help in various classes, and the professors are more than willing to help a struggling student. Even if you don't know what you want to do with your life, obtaining an associates degree will definitely help out because you are exposed to so many classes that the professors are so eager to teach about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At BCTC, there are a large array of flowers and plants. In the spring, red and yellow tulips fill the green grass all over campus. I love walking around outside when the weather is nice because the campus is so breathtakingly beautiful thanks to the groundskeepers and the people who keep up with the gardens. Even though the campus is smack dab in between a huge stadium and the University of Kentucky, we still manage to create our own beautiful little place full of flowers.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the main reasons why I chose BCTC has to be because of how inexpensive it was to go to school full time while only paying $135 per credit hour. While students at four year universities are paying in ups of $10,000 a year for tuition, I am only paying around $3,000.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different groups and activities to get involved in on campus; ranging from the Student Government, to the Students for Peace & Earth Justice group. Intermurals are also a huge way to have fun with other students that attend BCTC.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is available on campus definitely suits my needs. There are a multitude of different items that I can purchase at a pretty good price. I use my meal swipes and FLEX dollars which is a huge plus. I can never go hungry when I'm on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. I am not fond of the community bathrooms, but I am constantly around people and there is always something to do. Many community colleges don't have the luxury of providing dorms but I'm very glad that I chose to live on campus and in the dorms that are provided by the neighboring University of Kentucky.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes that I am enrolled in. Choosing classes that better suit your interests helps tremendously and BCTC offers so many classes that it is easy for me to fulfill my academic degree while enjoying what I am learning. I also advise anyone to take the first semester or even the first two semesters slow and only take 12-15 credit hours so you aren't overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend visiting the professors during office hours or directly after class. I am not one to ask questions during class, so I like to go to the professor and get any issues cleared up before continuing on.

    In three sentences

    The college is beyond my expectations. The small class sizes benefit me and the one-on-one contact with the professors help me perform to the best of my abilities. I would recommend BCTC to anyone living in the Lexington area pursuing a two-year degree.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria has limited food. However, BCTC is right downtown near multiple restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms available for BCTC

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too hard, but they do require effort.

    In three sentences

    This school is diverse many areas ranging from age to desired majors. It is also affordable and convenient, especially for those with full lives. I enjoy the comforting atmosphere BCTC provides.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lot is very close to the school building, they also have alerts they send to every student about what's happening on campus-you have an option to get it sent directly to your cell phone! Everything from bad weather to classes being cancelled or changed, to safety issues on campus. They keep every student and faculty in the loop with their surroundings.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not missed out on at BCTC. There are academic-based greek clubs directly tied with BCTC. You can also join a fraternity or sorority from UK as well, BCTC is right across the road from UK so it's not a very far walk!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of different clubs and activities to get involved in at BCTC

    Great for these types of students

    Lots of abroad options, great for students who are undecided, great for students paying their own way through college. BCTC is also very closely linked with UK, it is very cost efficient to get undergrad classes out of the way then transfer to UK.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very satisfying college experience. No regrets in my choice of schools! It's 1/3 the cost of a traditional 4 year university, yet, education does not suffer whatsoever.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown lexington is always fun to visit, lots of little shops and restaurants to entertain. Summer time is the best time for downtown lexington, they have thursday night live where local bands play as well as keenland during the spring and fall months....and who could forget the UK basketball and football games?!

    Food and Dining

    When you live in the dorms at UK, you are required to purchase a meal plan. They have a huge cafeteria in the middle of the dorms, the food is pretty good and the atmosphere is surprisingly un-intimidating- especially good for freshman.

    Dorm Life

    BCTC doesn't have dorms, I personally lived in the UK dorms my freshman year-I would recommend it for the experience, but not much more than that. It's definitely not for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    At BCTC, they don't just teach you the minimum to pass, they go beyond and use real-life scenarios that will help you become successful on the job-as well as in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, the teachers are passionate about what they do, they are there to help you better yourself. Don't procrastinate, give yourself the proper time to get things done. If you don't know what you want to do right away, it's OK, there are counselors and advisors that can help you realize your talents and passions.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes, it enables students to get a more personal education. In being a current student, I have personally experienced how much the teachers actually care about their students' education. Every employee that I have come in contact with-whether they be educators, administrators, even those in the financial aid department-have been extremely intuitive and friendly; making it all the easier to reach my goals both inside and outside the classroom.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have never had so much trouble trying to get enrolled into a school and start with classes. I have been trying for over a month almost two, just to get situated. When I call no answers or if I get answered I am tossed around the office like no one wants to do any work. If I leave a number to get called back it never happens. I have found 1 nice person on the phone and he had no power to help me other than send emails to people to try. When I do get emails from people in the school they are no help and take well over a day to reply. Do not go to the school unless you have too. Not worth the stress and aggravation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go here.

    In three sentences

    Worst operating school I have ever been in contact with. I think monkeys with pencils could run a school better.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working professionals, single mothers, incoming freshman unsure about whether college is right for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value, online courses are only $100 more per course, compared to UK or EKU's $500 additional per course.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural Sports.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafe on lower level of the oswald building at the Cooper Drive location.

    Dorm Life

    Non Existent. Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Same professors that teach at UK, just much more smaller classes and personal attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain atleast a 3.5 GPA for 1 full academic year and you will be awarded an academic scholarship to either UK or EKU upon acceptance. This will allow you to attend either one of those universities for the same price it cost you to attend BCTC.

    In three sentences

    BCTC is an excellent source for incoming freshman students as well as those looking to learn while working in a profession as a first choice in their initial steps to obtaining a degree. The classes are small and personal, the tuition very affordable, and their network of scholarship opportunities to sister colleges of University of Kentucky and Eastern Kentucky University make this community college a no brainer place to start your degree.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Again any type.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type. But there are a lot of returning students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Home of the UK wildcats!!

    What to do for fun

    Lexington is an amazing city with many offerings for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Anyplace you would like to eat at is nearby

    Dorm Life

    Unsure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the records at the college.

    In three sentences

    So far I have had a very good experience with the professors at the college. The campus locations are also very accessible. They also offer a wide range of degrees.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I LOVE COMMONS!

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and you'll get the results you want!

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you give!

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the environment at BCTC! It's always a good feeling knowing I'm free to ask questions when I need any help and I can always go talk to someone that will be able to give me a quick and easy answer. I'm glad I get to be apart of this school!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adults returning to school. students looking to raise their gpa before going on to university

    What to do for fun

    nothing fun at this school

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to get your core classes in, but be on top of what your degree requires, the advisers are not all the most helpful.

    In three sentences

    BCTCS is a great starter college. This is also a good school for adults returning to continue or begin their college education. A wonderful place to begin a degree.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of great places around campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Never took up residency in any dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions. Do not take on more responsibility than you can handle on your own.

    In three sentences

    BCTC is a great place. On a scale of 0-10 I would give them an overall 9.5. There are a few glitches to be worked out.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems pretty safe, have not seen anything that needs reporting yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am eager to join clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have not been here long enough to find anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Use the student support services and everything that Bluegrass Community and Technical College has to offer!!

    What to do for fun

    Go to Rupp Arena, local parks, fine dining restaurants and ball games.

    Food and Dining

    New to the campus and have not tried the food or dining but areas are clean and well kept!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms, so I do not have anything to say about it.

    Academic Rigor

    To stay an A student you must do your homework and study hard!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many questions about help in all areas and you will receive great answers.

    In three sentences

    A new beginning for continuation of education for me. Nice and inviting staff here. I am looking forward to the opportunities here.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVERY TYPE OF STUDENT WOULD LOVE IT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    diverse!

    What to do for fun

    many shopping centers around and you are able to go and eat in between classes .

    Dorm Life

    only few campuses have the dorm option but the ones that have the option, have amazing dorms, is not a five star hotel quality but, gives you that home feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    think about what yo really want in education .

    In three sentences

    bluegrass technical college is a wonderful place to start school again, is a low price education, easy going environment. over 10 different campuses.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with your advisors.

    In three sentences

    I find B.C.T.C. to be a great school to be integrated back after taking a break from school. The classes are decent and the rooms are easy to find. Overall I like the atmosphere of the school.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Most affordable around here. Worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    multiple clubs

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria at my school.

    Dorm Life

    Off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not over the top.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Busy students with jobs and/or families

    Food and Dining

    Few options, due to a 3-building campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigorous, if that's what you're looking for. You can easily distinguish which professors will challenge you and choose their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the website and catalog carefully. 24/7 support thru 800 number.

    In three sentences

    You will get out of this school, exactly what you put into it. Friendly staff are helpful and down-to-earth.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BCTC has a lot of things you can do for fun including sports and extra-curriculum activities. Also they have games that you can attend and more. BCTC has programs to meet everyone's satisfactory.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard that the food on every campus is good. BCTC has a variety of all sorts of food and even vending. I really can't wait to begin schooling and to try the food.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not very sure about the dorm life at BCTC because I plan to stay off campus. But i'm very sure if the dorms are anything like the schooling it is very good.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise BCTC is a very good school with a high graduation rate. It is also a school that is willing to help you so that you meet your goals in life. BCTC also offers tutoring and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school to higher your education BCTC is a very good school. The advisors will help you with anything you are concerned with so that your goals are meet. They also have many locations to fit your accessibility.

    In three sentences

    BCTC is a very nice school. They have a great academic field and they help you with anything you need. Also they make sure that all your goals are meet to your standards.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out their clubs and check your email for events!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't jump into a major because you very well may change your mind even more than once. Stay focused and don't get discouraged. Never give up!

    In three sentences

    An excellent opportunity for people of all ages looking to begin a college career. This is definitely a great place to begin!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fire alarms, fire extinguishers, safe laboratory practices and good security.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta cappa

    Great for these types of students

    Great for starting off college especially since the tuition is affordable with available financial aid and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Attend career fairs. Take some art class which is out of your field of study.

    Food and Dining

    great meals, though a little pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    free turtoring available and open labs

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay goal focused, your teachers are there to help you not scare you.

    In three sentences

    Admissions are easy and straight forward. Teachers entertain questions and are very helpful. It provides a diversified study environment.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrolled by the very protective UK security team, BCTC is as safe as being at home!

    Great for these types of students

    Adults going back to school, single mothers, full time employees, and military personnel will really thrive here.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition rates are very low. Financial aid will also work with you on paying any balances not covered by financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There is so many things to do for fun, especially since the campus is only a few blocks away from downtown and right across the street from the UK campus.

    Food and Dining

    A bit pricey, the food is always good and you get a good sized portion. The cafe is near the library so you won't ever go hungry while studying.

    Dorm Life

    Staying in the UK dorms, you really get a good feel for the college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are long, the professors are tough, but that is what it takes to get an education.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get your FASFA done as early as possible (financial aid takes a while)

    In three sentences

    This school is perfect for single mothers like myself, with small class sizes and reasonable tuition rates. This school also offers the full college life by affiliating with the University of Kentucky, offering many extracurricular activities. The admissions office makes the admission process a breeze.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional students and traditional students looking to minimize student loan debt.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing value. The cost per semester is only about half of the cost of tuition at other local schools.

    What to do for fun

    Lexington is home to many colleges and universities and BCTC students have access all the great aspects of Lexington culture. Food, bars, bourbon, college basketball, and horse-racing abound. There is also a thriving arts scene, great locally-owned businesses, and many concerts to attend in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    Programs are available with the University of Kentucky for dorm living. Most BCTC students live off-campus and commute.

    Dorm Life

    Programs are available with the University of Kentucky for dorm living. Most BCTC students live off-campus and commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Curriculum is well-developed and compares to 4 year colleges and universities in the area. However, hard work generally equates with good grades as the classes are not inaccessibly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of their excellent costs for general education courses and then utilize their transfer services to continue on for your 4 year degree.

    In three sentences

    BCTC provides an excellent education provided by community leaders at an outstanding financial value.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play on the computer at my friend's house, or hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I get what I can, I am in the process of finding a job but it is hard so i go to the dollar store and buy tuna, spaghetti oh's. Something cheap but that will last.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There will always be challenges in academics, but it's my job to push past that to become a better person financially and educational wise. I am trying to make something of myself and do what I love, I love biology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard and don't give up, every college is about the same, you have nice teachers and also mean teachers but they aren't you so just don't give up.

    In three sentences

    I like the school, they work with you, the teachers are nice. The schools are built up nice and clean the staff is very friendly. Whenever I have an issue I can always call and get help right away.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of the BCTC and University of Kentucky campus is very good they have 24 hour campus security while emergency pillars going through campus for students in any trouble. In fact, University of Kentucky is one of the safes college campuses.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are events going on every week that help students relax while as teach some times and help students reach out to their peers to start new relationships. In fact, during K week the BCTC transferring students are allowed to join the events making them able to relate with other students at University of Kentucky and BCTC. If students don't want to go certain events they can go out and do other things like going to the gym, playing basketball, join sport clubs, and join new community clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Meal plan is very good all the food is made fresh, while as the servers are make the food for customers with a smile.

    Dorm Life

    Bluegrass Community Technique College's dorms are provided by the University of Kentucky. The dorms are great, well maintained, and very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of BCTC is good making the students have a great quality of education, while as making difficulties for students causing them have to work for their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students that are going to attend BCTC they should have all their finical aid in order and well as have their hosing in order too, because a student doesn't want to live 15-20 miles away from campus without a car. In fact, with finical aid the student have to get their books for class and make sure you have the classes that help you learn the best. If you learn better with online classes or in class labs choose that class and make sure that the teacher use a grading scale so you can see what areas you need help in.

    In three sentences

    The Bluegrass Community Technique College (BCTC) is a great college for future transferring students because they make a good learning environment, by the class sizes and hands on help. Through BCTC has improved me to become a better student and chase my goals in college and lead me into my career. In fact, BCTC develops students in the sense of urgency make the student rather complete a task early than on time or right before.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good. The head of security is always walking around campus and he is incredibly friendly. Always saying hello and being a generally polite person! He goes out of his way to put a smile on your face. The other security officers are always walking around, there has not been a day in the semester that I haven't seen a security officer. The University of Kentucky's police also monitor the Cooper campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are numerous! There is an honor society, student government, drama club, computer club, nursing club, and so many others! There's a number of things to get involved in on campus, you just have to jump in and find where you will fit.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students having to work through college, part time or full time, as well as parents and students with any other obligations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The outside sitting areas on campus are so nice! You can always find a place to sit whether it be in the sun or shade.

    What to do for fun

    The student government is always active and always have events going on! This includes ice cream socials, bake sales, and activities put on by other degree programs. There are intramural sports offered in basketball, soccer, etc.!

    Food and Dining

    The Bluegrass Cafe is pretty good! The food is always warm or cold, depending on what item you buy. There are tons of vending machines and machines with different options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are offered for the BCTC Cooper campus at the University of Kentucky. From what I've heard, the dorms are pretty nice but I've never been in them.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your personal major, but the academics are a very high quality. BCTC has challenged me into thinking in a different way, however the academics are still manageable for students with busy schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join in on the fun! Don't hold yourself back from all of the activities provided by student government.

    In three sentences

    BCTC is a great school for anyone on a budget that is still looking to get a quality education. The professors are fantastic, are flexible and willing to work with you on your personal schedule. It's a fantastic environment and I've met so many different people.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it to save money starting out here if you plan to transfer to a bigger university such as UK or EKU.

    What to do for fun

    There is all kinds of shopping and food close to campus. There are also a ton of parks and chances for recreational activities. There is always an event of some type going on somewhere, regardless of the weather.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off in the easy classes or you won't be prepared for your intended major courses.

    In three sentences

    Great value for the money. College credits transfer to the bigger universities without a problem. Great flexibility with scheduling classes so that you can still work and go to school!

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    BCTC is a great opportunity for students who are returning to school after obtaining a GED, and for students returning to pursue another degree. It creates a great fresh start academically, and pushes students to achieve. BCTC also contains an honors program for students interested in pushing and furthering themselves academically.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get the experience of a University of Kentucky (or other four year university) student for half the price or less, with the same quality education. BCTC also creates a much more affordable way to come out of a four year university or further education through it's attentive transfer programs.

    What to do for fun

    Being located in a city, students of BCTC enjoy the benefits of various tourist attractions, bars, movie theaters, indoor and outdoor shopping facilities, a seasonal outdoor and indoor ice rink and miniature golf courses, a roller skating rink and laser tag facility, etc.

    Food and Dining

    BCTC's most commonly attended campus, Cooper Campus, is located right in the midst of downtown Lexington, making it in the middle of prime restaurants from fast food to fine dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for BCTC students are located in the University of Kentucky dorm housing, however there are a limited number of dorms allotted for BCTC students.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Bluegrass Community and Technical College are fast paced and taught by professors who are knowledgeable in their field. Stay caught up and don't skip classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously, just because it is a community college doesn't mean it lacks the course quality of a four year university. Work hard, and get to know your professors. Get involved in activities, it may surprise you.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes at Bluegrass Community and Technical College have helped me create a closer relationship with my professors and a better understanding of classes. I have made a lot of great friends and appreciate the small campus sizes. The only thing I would change would be to add a degree course for an associates degree in my major, American Sign Language Interpreting.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball and listen to music

    Food and Dining

    The food happens to be okay but not the best, the good thing is that you can get when ever you want but the cafeteria is pretty small so you have to wait outside in the hallway if its full. Also, the dining area isn't much of a dining area because its just out in the open and with little space to eat.

    Dorm Life

    When it comes to dorm life i can't really tell much from a person experience but what i can tell is the fact that you get to move away from and be able to live by yourself and with roommates of course. You can have the feeling of freedom and being to things on your terms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is well for the size of the college, the fact that the class rooms are between 15-30 students its makes it easier for a student to ask questions and really grasp everything that the professor is saying. After that, their tutors are good they have a well spread out hours to make it convenient for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for upcoming students will be that, be ready to experience a new atmosphere of diverse people and teachers. Also, have fun but never to forget the importance of studying and doing your work. After that, you will have the opportunity to meet new people and you might just meet your love of your life. :)

    In three sentences

    The college is well college to attend, i like the staff they are friendly and very outspoken. When needed you can go to someone and receive advice not just a staff member but a has a friend and be able to reach to them. The classes are comfortable, also the size of the class room isn't huge to the extreme where the teacher cant ear you but on the contrary its the perfect size for you to be able to interact with and the class mates.

  • 06/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am not involved in any activities at the college.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at this college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are clearly geared toward a wide range of abilities because of the wide range of students they accept. Therefore, if you are a higher achiever you may find some of the classes a bit underwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    If online classes are important to you, be aware that you actually cannot get all of your credit requirements online. You will have to take classes on campus for about a third of your credits.

    In three sentences

    Bluegrass Community and Technical College is a great option for students that are unsure of their intended major, adult students, students who work full time, or students that need to consider the financial impact of a college education heavily. There are many online classes and the campuses are friendly and easy to navigate. There is also a lot of support for those of us who are just starting out and are not sure how to navigate all of the steps involved with beginning the college journey.