Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brazosport College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/19/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is several different clubs or student associations to choice from if you wish to join one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are these fountains you can sit at if enjoy just being outside. If you prefer the inside, past the coffee shop there is a ton of seating and some padded benches against the walls, which are perfect for naps.

    Bang for the buck

    There is free math and writing tutoring. Also for certain science courses you have a supplemental instructor, they do like group tutoring sessions free of charge.

    What to do for fun

    There is intramural sports. There is also pool and a game room.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small coffee/snack shop near the library.

    Dorm Life

    The college itself does not have room and board but there is housing nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Be willing to put time and effort into studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Everyone is very helpful and kind. Also, if you are having trouble in a class go to the free tutoring, ask the professor questions.

    In three sentences

    It has a really positive and engaging atmosphere. It contains a faculty that is always willing to help. They address any questions or concerns readily.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security runs routine security drills to ensure they are up to date and practiced on what they need to do in the event of a real emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs for every walk of life. They have a freaking zombie club. Come on man, Zombies!!!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Swamp. Get involved with one or more of a dozen different organizations, or play on the intramural team. If none of that sounds good go work out on your own in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Tommy is pretty good. Constantly changing up the menu. Breakfast is AMAZING!!!

    Dorm Life

    NO Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I consider myself pretty intelligent and I manage my time well. This school is challenging both those skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early and have a plan for what you want to do even if its just getting my basic taken care of.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic atmosphere. The teachers care about your success and do everything they can to make sure you do succeed. There are so many ways of receiving help from your peers as well

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working, or parents.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, or go somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the classes you're taking, and make sure they are the ones you need to transfer.

    In three sentences

    The school is easy and has lots of online opportunities.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guards are always on duty inside and outside. We have safety call stations with lights. Officers are on duty all the time and are super friendly. It's a reassuring feeling to know you're protected even from walking to your car after night classes.

    Greek Life

    Psi Psi chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors programs, music, arts, theater groups.

    Great for these types of students

    All ages and all backgrounds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would most definitely recommend Brazosport College to any age student who shares an interest in learning and any desire to obtain the skills needed for a career goal.

    Bang for the buck

    Economically speaking, who could turn down basics needed for any degree offered at in district costs with virtually no housing or food costs.

    What to do for fun

    Being that we're the Gators, we have a Gator Lounge located toward the front of the building. Inside there are 3 pool tables, 2 ping pong tables, computers, 2 large flat screens with connected gaming consoles, and a shuffle board. There's always events going on as well such as movie night in the registration hall.

    Food and Dining

    I've been attending as a dual credit student while in high school, which is a worth while idea economically and super beneficial, and Brazosport College has taken on some major changes since I first started. The college has expanded from its main cafeteria serving multiple option lunches and it's book store finds, to a Burger Cafe in the Saddler Building and a Java Hut next to the library for a quick coffee and sandwhich. Food hasn't been better and there is no need to ever leave campus.

    Dorm Life

    With its prime location, students commute from all towns in the Brazoria County and I have personally had classes with some students who drove in from Rosharon, TX. People come after classes from high school and after work from DOW Chemical and BASF. Housing isn't an issue at Brazosport College.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet helpful in any way possible. From hotlines and help desks, to writing centers and career development helpers always available, Brazosport College has so much to offer to help improve lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay optimistic as friends may be leaving off to major universities right out of high school or keep in mind that Brazosport accommodates all times in one's life and is accepting of anyone returning even years later. Use the wonderful new renovated resources and be proud of the fast growing institution.

    In three sentences

    As a student at Brazosport College, I feel as if I'm prioritized by the staff, directors, and professors. The technology and resources are all up to date and beneficial to the student. The college itself was designed to keep the commuting student in mind who carry lives outside of just being a student at Brazosport.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brazosport college has many of sports you can play for fun, such as flag football or fencing. There is always a jazz concert to attend. The weight room is too of he line and is free with tuition.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria that is available I students there is amazing. The food is great and it doesn't break your pocket book.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply now to achieve anything you want, even from a community college. The classes will reach you so much even though it is very budget able.

    In three sentences

    Brazosport college is a great college to go to. The academics will deliver a state of the art education for a fraction of the cost of a university. It is also ranked too ten community colleges in Texas.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure and safe.

    Great for these types of students

    All ages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have found.

    Bang for the buck

    The only part that disappoints me is there out-of-district costs. I do not live far from the school, but I have to pay more for being out-of-district. They should include all of Brazoria County.

    What to do for fun

    They seem to have many events going on. You also are 30 minutes away from the biggest city - Houston.

    Food and Dining

    Good food at a great price.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live there.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenged as hard as you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the How to survive college class. It is very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Brazosport College is a great college for students of all ages. They are geared to helping people from all walks of life. I enjoy attending and love learning.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police and security are always on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is many intramurals sports to join. Many clubs from Zombie club to Student Government Association.

    Food and Dining

    They have two cafeterias. One is located behind the bookstore and the other is in the Sadler building and they both serve good meals.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is a local college, people assume the courses will not be as difficult as a four year university. The classes are hard depending on the teacher but studying and tutors will be there along the way to help anyone who needs and wants it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes to your time. If you know you do not want to wake up at 7 to be in class and 8, do not take it. They have many courses at many times, so your schedule can be flexible.

    In three sentences

    Brazosport College is a good starting point to go to college. They have courses for everyone from high school to adults returning to school to pursue their education. The professors and counselors want everyone to be their absolute best and succeed.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very visible throughout campus and there is also a local police officer on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are inexpensive compared to Universities.

    What to do for fun

    The Swamp has Ping Pong tables, pool tables and a game system.

    Food and Dining

    There is the Commons dining by the book store, Java Hut by the library, and the Courtyard Grill by the Sadler complex.

    Tips for prospective students

    They offer a class called Learning Frame Works. I recommend you take this class your first semester, it will help and prepare you for college life.

    In three sentences

    My instructors are all very professional, approachable, answer all my questions and even give advice if you ask them for it. They always reply when I email them and access to a computer is no problem. I have had a very positive experience so far my first year at BC.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security that makes sure everyone stays safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Book club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great college for outgoing yet small town individuals.

    Bang for the buck

    There is great bang for the buck at Brazosport College.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a volleyball team.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe that's located near the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    There are living spaces located only a few minutes away from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Brazosport is very dedicated to student academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an affordable college then Brazosport is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Brazosport is a wonderful college to attend. All staff members there are very helpful. They will make sure all your questions are answered.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While I have attended Brazosport, I have not come across any problems with my safety. They have a police officer who is on campus almost all the time and the continually have security going around the campus in trucks and walking around the halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brazosport has so many clubs and activities. There are options from musical clubs to a zombie fan club. There is a club for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Brazosport College is very very reasonably priced. It has one of the lowest tuition fees out of all the colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Brazosport College has The Swamp, which is an area for the college students to hang out, play games, and get to know each other. The college also has a lot of different clubs you can join, a planetarium, museum, and a place for plays and concerts, which take place very frequently.

    Food and Dining

    The food that I have tasted has been good; and, I have heard students go on and on about how good their hamburgers and salads are.

    Dorm Life

    Brazosport College does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors that I have had were very good. They were always on time and ended on time. They were also always available to help with any problems I had.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to not be shy. The professors are eager to help you in any way they can, but you have to be confident enough to ask.

    In three sentences

    Brazosport College has a very good atmosphere. The professors are very qualified and do an amazing job teaching; and, they are always available anytime you need help. The college also has a lot of resources to help in your schooling: tutoring, computer labs, counselors, etc.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full time security and police presents.

    Great for these types of students

    Want to get first 2 years in before transferring to major university.

    Bang for the buck

    They are less expensive than most of the major colleges. Have some very nice facilities for nursing program and technical studies.

    What to do for fun

    Offer a recreation room with some games tables for shooting pool.

    Food and Dining

    Have several cafes on campus. Very good sandwich and salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Do not offer.

    Academic Rigor

    In class studies are easier than online in most cases. Not too tough if one does their class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early classes fill quickly. Get financial aid paperwork in early. They offer good online classes.

    In three sentences

    Good overall small school. Offer most core courses need for associates degree. Have numerous technical course.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play pool Surf the Net Play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't even try cheating Dedicate your time to studying, it's worth it Never cram your homework

    In three sentences

    One of the greatest Colleges in the county Wonderful Staff Very well educated teachers/counselors

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras in the parking lots and it is not uncommon to see the officers friendly faces roaming the halls just to keep an eye on us.

    Greek Life

    Phi-Theta-Kappa is held in high esteem on campus. Right along with Honors Society, since most of the members are in both.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently a member of Brazosport College Student Government Association and having been involved in many of their events I believe I can say that the clubs and activities sector of Brazosport College is thriving.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a good place to get done with their basics and transfer as quickly and easily as possible do well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The previously noted Student Pavilion is a new addition to the main campus, and construction is on-going around other parts of the main campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Decently priced tuition and top-notch educators that are happy to be working with students is all you can ask of a college, and Brazosport College delivers.

    What to do for fun

    The Swamp is the hang-out provided by the college for all of us Brazosport Gators! Great place to go play some pool, ping-pong, use a computer, or just chill with friends between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias, one on the main campus and one in the health sciences building. Both are fairly priced and both are fairly cooked. Not a first date restaurant, but better than ramen noodles every day.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fast paced and challenging, but the teachers are great and obviously love their jobs. The teachers will help as much as they can but expect you to be willing to learn and work for your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brazosport College has many student services that can help with adjusting to college life. Places that I found most helpful were the Student Pavilion, with mentors and the Learning Center with tutors. These people are very knowledgeable and here to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Admissions is an all day affair at this college, but well worth the wait. They simplify the process step by step so that even a child could apply on their own. This is very helpful for first time college students learning to do things alone.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel secure on campus. the security guards watch over the cars and the campus very well.

    Clubs and Activities

    volley ball student council etc.

    Great for these types of students

    high school graduates 1st and 2nd year undergrad

    Bang for the buck

    defiantly worth going here after high school to figure out what you want to do with your degree plan while earning you core credit. ruffly $1000 in tuition for 14 hrs.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of student activities to do at bc. the swamp is a good place to hang out and don't be afraid to ask the people that work there about current student activities and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    the food there is good for being a small little cafe style.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    it is and is not challenging academically it really depends on the professors you chose that make the difference.

    Tips for prospective students

    research your potential professors before registering for a class. during registration you can expect to wait a good 2-3 hrs for a councilor, the best one i know is sarah garska. rent text books if you can the book store is way over priced but there are some books that you just can't rent.

    In three sentences

    there are many fantastic teachers at brazosport college as well as very bad teachers. the staff is very helpful and friendly.