Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brevard College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/10/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great, we are small so nothing is more than a 5 minute walk, but we have safety poles with telephones, and the campus security number is posted everywhere. I've never felt unsafe here.

    Greek Life

    Brevard does not have sororities. There are some parties that happen off campus, but mostly sports players or people connected to sports players are invited.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here, pretty much anything you could think of there's a club for, but if there is any club we don't have you can make one by going throw Gina relatively simple process. Some examples of clubs are FCA, Rock climbing, outdoor club, green club, kayaking club, pride club, these are the few I can think of at the moment, but there is a club fair the first month of fall semester!

    Great for these types of students

    Brevard is great for students who don't want to get lost in the crowd, or feel like they don't matter. Brevard has tons to offer for the adventurer, or outdoor inthusiest, and even the Instagram chasers who want those perfect pictures (we have the prettiest sunsets). We also have a fantastic music program, art program, and the exercise science major is very popular here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During final week every year the teachers have a midnight study break, where they all make pancakes for all the students. We also have Fall Festival where they bring in exotic animals (Lammas, snakes, foxes), food, and games and prizes. At the beginning of each fall semester they have Move A Mountain day, which is a day of volunteering for the whole college, they split you into groups so you can go help the community!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive to go here, but a lot of students get scholarships, and they have work study options. You won't get the small town feel and personal relationship any where else like you do here. I once missed class for a whole week, and was terrified id fail a midterm in math, showed up and my teacher taught me the entire weeks lesson privately, and answered all my questions.

    What to do for fun

    As I mentioned we are right next to Pisgah National Forest, there are tons of hikes, waterfalls, trails, and scenic views to occupy your time. We also have a fantastic CAB (campus activities board) that has something planned for campus students almost every night, if you're willing to put yourself out there and go. Once a month we have free movie night, bowling nights, and guest speakers for seminars.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not gonna lie here, the food is the worst thing about Brevard, but that's college honestly. Being so small we only have 1 cafe, and it serves 3 meals a day, closes from 2-5, and then at 7 until morning. We have Coltrane which is an after hour eating grill open from 9-11, it's better food but gets old really quick; but we have tons of restaurants that are cheap enough for even college students to afford.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here exceeded my expectations, of course it depends where you live. Green, Beam, and east Jones are decent sized rooms but do not have air conditioning. West Jones and Villages are large rooms with air conditioning, but more expensive. We are also building a new dorm right now though that will be very modern, and should be completed by 2017.

    Academic Rigor

    Due to the small class sizes and private school aspect of Brevard College, the academic stamdards are higher: 1 hr 15min classes, twice a week, and studios/labs. Teachers expect you to try your hardest, the difference between here and Highschool though, is that they expect it because they actually believe you can do it. They are also very willing to help you get there, your professors will know your name, and chances are is you will have them more than once in your 4 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for students who feel that a huge university is overwhelming. With a small population, and small classrooms (20 or less) you grow a personal relationship with your professors. We are also located 5 minuets away from Pisgah National Forest, so the nature lovers are never bored.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    10 for campus safety

    Clubs and Activities

    10 for the clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Communication Listening Ask question if you do not understand

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When visiting the campus did not see anything unusual. The location of Brevard College is outstanding,

    Bang for the buck

    10 bang for the buck

    What to do for fun

    I adore cookout, watching action movies, and playing with my PlayStation.

    Food and Dining

    10 for the food and drink

    Dorm Life

    10 for the dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is pushing yourself beyond what is easy. Sometimes pushing myselves beyond every individual limits in order to get better at something. Academic Rigor I think it's worth explaining this clearly and often to some students. Sports, reading, math, anger management, dieting -- to make progress in anything there has to be an element of rigor. Sometimes pursuing these elements can make things difficult, but I have to strive at elements to be somebody. The Acedemic Rigor which I would give a 10.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen Obey Respect others Be Trustworthy Communication among peers and staff

    In three sentences

    Brevard is a amazing school. The academic staff explain everything to the parents letting them know the the outstanding of the school. I would give Brevard College a 10.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on downtown (which is right beside the school), and you can always go to Pisgah Forest if that's your thing. You can always find people to kick a soccer ball or play frisbee with you outside, too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to call them if you have any questions, they love to answer questions. Also, don't be afraid to email the professors and ask them about the expectations for the classes. And as always, visit the campus before you come, it's beautiful!

    In three sentences

    Brevard College is a great liberal arts school that focuses on experiential education. One of the best things about it is the small class size. It's also close to Pisgah Forest, so there's always something to do!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Need to add more social and diverse clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming weekend needs improvement.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive for out of state students. There are scholarship opportunities but you need to inquire.

    What to do for fun

    There needs to be more positive student and social activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Needs improvement.

    Dorm Life

    Normal. Housing staff is good if you need to make changes.

    Academic Rigor

    Class size is small which is very good. However, if you need tutoring or help you need to take the initiative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and understand that the college is very small. It is in a close knit community.

    In three sentences

    Brevard College is a very small college. So far I've enjoyed attending but I feel that the college should create a more diverse atmosphere and include social activities and programs that will draw students of different ethnicity's and backgrounds. Freshman students should have more positive mentors to help them with the transition and keep them informed of different scholarship opportunities and tutoring help.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities you name it, the club is here.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hard worker and willing to study the school is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The white squirrell is the most unusual animal I have ever seen.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth the money and more.

    What to do for fun

    We play basketball, socialize and stay involved with campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    I like the food, but I miss my mother's home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Great.

    Academic Rigor

    A little rough, but managable. Tutors are aways available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best put education first. Studing is the key to Brevard success. Dont be ashamed to ask for helpl

    In three sentences

    Brevard College is an excellent school. I have learned so much about myself and many others. The education aspect of the school is intimate and personal.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The community surrounding Brevard is filled with different things to do, there is always a group going hiking, running, swimming, rock climbing, fishing, kayaking, and just walking through the downtown shops.

    Food and Dining

    The 3 Dining areas avalible on campus offer many different types of cultural and lifestyle food choices to compensate for every possible diet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little bland in color,l but fit the needs of the student body perfectly.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic challenges are not only in the classroom, but you are given the oppertunity to learn even walking down a sidewalk.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should buy an Umbrella.

    In three sentences

    Brevard College has an amazing connection to the enviroment unlike any I've ever seen before. The professors really want to get to know each individual student in order to help him or her grow as much as he or she possibly could. The student body is extremely friendly , and I look forward to making lifelong friends!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are rarely ever any incidents of crime. I feel completely safe walking through campus at night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports which require endurance are phenomenal with some of the best coaches in the world. The cross country and track team have Jack Daniels. The cycling team is recent national champions. There are intramurals throughout the year. There are also many opportunities to go on volunteer trips within Brevard.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are in to service for others or in to outdoor activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are white squirrels which hang out on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is fairly expensive, but if you like the Asheville area and being in the mountains it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do for fun is to go to Pisgah to go trail running, hiking, swimming, sightseeing, or rock climbing. The creek running through campus is a common place to relax on sunny days.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright. There is a salad and fruit bar all day long. It is not a cafeteria for an athlete who has a hard time eating meat already.

    Dorm Life

    There is only one drinking dorm on campus; the rest are dry. If you do not enjoy parties, this is not a problem. Friends are constantly hanging out in each others rooms. There are lounge areas where many students hang out in the evenings.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are what you make them. If you study hard and do your homework, classes can be easily managed. If you choose not to study or do your work, classes are quite a bit more difficult. Professors are always willing to give you extra help and to answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come to the school just because you were recruited for athletics. Check out the school first. It is not a good place for everyone, especially those who are looking for nightlife and a big town.

    In three sentences

    Brevard is a quaint college in a quaint town. There are small classrooms, with teachers who see you as an individual and classmates who not only know your name but know YOU. It is great for the nature-loving hippie.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A love for a family town. You love to be outside, its absolutely beautiful and amazing!

    Will enjoy being here

    The teachers know you and everything you are apart of; sports clubs, and arts. Its a small school but every one there is a family.

    Will learn a lot

    Here at Brevard you will be able to pick any major and learn everything you need to know. Its a one on one teaching process.