Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brookdale Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/26/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Not a good experience at all! The professors were good but the system has too many cracks and I just so happened to fall in one of them. I completed my requirements for graduation. They said I was finished and that I would have my degree in 3 months by mail. Two months later I received a letter stating that I did not graduate. After further investigation I was told "it was an accident and their fault". Meanwhile my entire next degree was dependent on the completion of the degree from Brookdale. This has set me back and their lack of communication has caused such stress on me that I have not even been able to sleep. This is a pretty large mess up and no one seems to have any urgency in this matter. My time at Brookdale was fine but due to this so called "crack" I am forced to contact an attorney to have things rectified. After spending tons of money on tuition and numerous hours in study this is not how the end of this glorious journey should be.

  • 03/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am happy to say I have never felt unsafe on campus. I regularly see campus police available and there are several emergency alert systems in place if needed. Even walking to my car at night after a late class, I never feel worried about being in danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities on campus, from academic honor societies to just for fun clubs, comedy shows at lunch time, informative guest speakers, clubs for students seeking similar degrees (Psych club, Radiology club, etc.). On Tuesdays and Thursdays, we have College Hour where there are no classes from 11:30 to 1:00 so students can more easily participate in the many clubs and activities offered, encouraging active campus involvement.

    Great for these types of students

    High-school students looking to get a head start, first-time college freshman, transfer students, non-traditional students, students planning to pursue a bachelor's while keeping costs down

    Bang for the buck

    Brookdale is a great school (one of the best in the country I hear!) and it's not expensive at all as far as colleges go. Whether you want to take a few classes for yourself, obtain an associate's degree, or transfer to a four-year university Brookdale offers great opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs and academic groups on campus, and the Student Life Center hosts all kinds of fun events on a regular basis including comedy shows, movie nights, guest speakers, and games to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options for food available on campus and many areas to eat. The food in the cafeteria is quite delicious, though a bit expensive. Definitely not the kind of place that serves mystery meat! The campus library also allows food which is great for study sessions between classes- just be sure to be respectful to the library and other students by cleaning up after yourself and being quiet!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm arrangements available, all students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken thus far have been great- the professors are engaging and care about their students. I do question if certain professors let us off easy in some cases.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend doing your research on degree requirements and keeping track of your progress online. While some guidance counselors seem to be very knowledgeable and helpful, there are others who can misguide you and cause you to end up taking classes not required for your degree.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale Community College has helped me gain the courage to pursue higher education as a returning adult student. They have given me the opportunity to prove to myself and others that I can succeed and provided me with an array of resources to help achieve my goals.

  • 12/30/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. There are periodic drills, and the campus police is seen frequently on the main campus. Students are required to have their Brookdale One Card ID's on them at all times to identify themselves. It's up to students to be vigilant and, as they say, if you see something, say something. The lighting is good in the parking lots, and there are easy-to-identify emergency phones available.

    Greek Life

    None as Brookdale is a two-year college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for a wide range of tastes. See the college's website for details and the Center for Student Life and Activities. I especially like the Gateway to Japan Club and the rotating art exhibits at the Center for Visual Arts at the main campus in Lincroft.

    Great for these types of students

    Brookdale is best for families that want a very good education at an affordable price. It's also good for students who are not yet ready to enroll in a four year college or university and would prefer to transfer after completing two years at Brookdale.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main campus in Lincroft is the hub of Brookdale and is constantly expanding. The Jersey Blues sports teams are getting a lot of acclaim at the state and national levels. Each year the Harlem Globetrotters perform at Brookdale's Collins Arena, and Brookdale hosts an excellent guitar show.

    Bang for the buck

    For residents of Monmouth County, NJ, Brookdale is an excellent value. It is far more affordable than the tuition at a NJ public college or university. It makes good sense to transfer your two years of Brookdale credits to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs that appeal to a wide variety of interests. They are shown on the Brookdale website and in the Center for Student Life. I personally recommend the Gateway to Japan club and the rotating art exhibits at the Center for Visual Arts.

    Food and Dining

    Dining options include: 1) Dining hall at the Warner Student Life Center which serves pizza, sandwiches, burgers, salads and breakfast items for dine-in or take-out. The food is good quality. 2) The cafe at Larrison Hall, which serves coffee and snack items. 3) The convenience store at the Warner Student Life Center which has a coffee bar and a wide variety of pre-packaged snacks. 4) Vending machines at most of the academic buildings. You can use your Brookdale One Card, which is also a Discover debit card, to purchase your food, and that includes some of the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    None, since Brookdale is a two year college. Be sure to plan your commute around the high-volume commuting times, especially during the first few days of the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending upon your major, Brookdale courses can be very challenging. You will spend less time in the classroom than in high school, and more time outside of the classroom reviewing material and preparing for the next class. You should expect to spend 2-3 hours outside of class for every hour that you spend in the classroom. Since you will have a lot of free time outside of class, it's very important to plan and schedule your time to make sure that you are meeting your academic obligations.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make of it, so you will need to work on prioritizing your work and scheduling your time to stay on track. Help is available if you need it, but you need to proactively ask for it. Don't wait to study for exams; test preparation will be easier if you continue to review the material throughout the semester. Consider taking the First Year Experience class in your first semester to make your transition to college easier. Join a club so that you can meet and network with other students.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale is the #1 two year college in the state of NJ. It's a terrific value for students who either don't want to accumulate a lot of college debt or are not yet ready to attend a four-year college or university. Brookdale offers many majors, degree programs and professional certificate programs, and they make it as easy as possible to transfer your credits to a four-year college or university.

  • 05/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety and welfare of the students are the top priority of this community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs are a little disorganized, but nonetheless they are very welcoming and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    Any potential student who is planning to transition from high school to a four-year university. Not only would you start feeling comfortable with college life, you will also be able to transfer credits earned in Brookdale to any university in Monmouth County.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great investment of time, money, and experience.

    Food and Dining

    Very well cooked.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors have lots of empathy and are willing to help you progress in your degree and the councilors are very helpful.

  • 12/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club and go to the school events, there is so much there for you to do you will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    It's crazy expensive and there are lots of local places that are cheaper and better tasting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait till the first class to buy textbooks. Not every professor uses them and it will save you so much money. If you need help just ask and some one will be there to give you hand every time.

    In three sentences

    In my personal experience Brookdale is a great school with so many opportunities. There is an abundance of help and all you have to do is ask. At this school you are more than just a number and you feel like the school and it's faculty really do care.

  • 11/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Throughout the campus, Brookdale has supplied emergency telephone poles that have a bright light and police contact for all students. The poles benefit students walking around campus at night with the bright blue lights but don't limit those students attending during the day. Police cars are commonly seen around campus and policemen patrol the inside of the lecture halls. Safety is guaranteed and taken as a serious precaution to ensure students feel comfortable on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year around the fall, Brookdale puts on a haunted theater which involves the students working behind the scenes to provide a halloween themed event. The theater offers students to participate in the artistic production and acting of the show. The theater is open to the public and to all other Brookdale students. Also, the campus holds a campus clean up each year involving the environmental club and other participants from campus. The clean up raises awareness for environmental preservation and a better campus life for its students.

    What to do for fun

    There is never a dull moment on campus at Brookdale Community College. There are frequent events and community service projects that occur. The opportunities to become involved are endless. Whether you be interested in drama productions, environmental clean ups or chemistry experiments, Brookdale offers extensive clubs and events that connect the students and the community. The on site gymnasium offers students a free membership to work out year round. Often times events are advertised around campus, promoting students to attend and the chance to meet new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Brookdale offers a cafeteria to its students which offers cuisine from various cultures. There is also a campus convince store that contains a sandwich station and a Starbucks cafe. Meal portions are generous and prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Brookdale Community College doesn't offer dormitory living since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    At Brookdale, you are faced with challenges that promote your personal and academic growth. Through heated class discussions, lectures and demonstrations, college classes offer extensive material necessary for your field of study, providing the student with the finest knowledge. Support is always offered and readily available by professors and learning assistants. Brookdale encourages each student to do their best and to push themselves beyond their limit to experience the fulfillment of success.

    Tips for prospective students

    While attending Brookdale, you will receive genuine attention on behalf of the staff that focuses on your progress, accomplishments and goals. The college offers numerous clubs and activities that will suit any student's interests. Counselors offer the guidance that many students seek and offer abundant availability. Brookdale promotes success and will help you achieve it by any means necessary. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure that each student has a memorable and profitable experience at this Community College.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale Community College promotes personal growth, community and academic achievement. It offers an intimate environment throughout the campus, clubs and classrooms which focuses on the student's prosperity. Upon graduating Brookdale, you will leave with confidence and determination to succeed throughout life.

  • 09/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm going here

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency contact phones everywhere, you can get emergency alerts on your phone, etc. The campus, in general, is extremely safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education, for a relatively minute amount of a couple thousand per semester. Rather pay a few thousand than 10, while getting the same quality education, and be close to home? It's really a steal.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs. I cannot stress this enough, Brookdale has many, MANY clubs in which you can join, that are fairly active and very accepting. Also, multiple school offered events, such as Laugh-at-Lunch stand up, visiting writers series, are fun to attend.

    Food and Dining

    One thing I wasn't a big fan of however, is the food, and in particular its pricing, which may or may not be come to be expected. If you can, and this will seriously sound elementary, but try bringing your own lunches if you can. There are plenty of places to actually eat, the cafeteria area in the student life center is fairly nice. Try to avoid paying too much for their food though, as most if it is fairly pricey. For example, a small basket of chicken fingers for $5. It's not as much food for your money as you would think it is.

    Dorm Life

    Again, there are no dorms. Dorm life shouldn't be the first thing you think of in selecting a college anyway though, so this is no big deal. Especially for people like me who live fairly close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Speaking of the rigor of the classes, very few classes will feel impossible, yet there are many classes which will give a fair challenge, depending on the major. Chemistry, which was my first major, for example, is quite challenging in some classes, but many of the professors are willing to help, as with every department. Brookdale's grading systems, also, are based department by department, some by percentile averages of tests and such, some by cumulative point values based on scores achieved on each assignment, etc. The consensus, again, is the same though..work hard, actually do work, and you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think there is only one way to put it...you get what you put in. It will not be impossible to do well, there are people who do achieve 4.0 GPAs, even, quite a few. But, as you always should, work hard and you will benefit greatly. Just be sure you don't get dud professors, because while there are very few, there will be a few teachers that you may not enjoy. The school will usually give student opinion reports in class on non-tenured professors, so it is nice of Brookdale to do that. Again though, try using Ratemyprofessors when registering for classes, and register as early as you can. Common sense stuff, but that's really the most important thing to remember at Brookdale, just be on top of things. The school is extremely fair in its rigor.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale is quality education, at an affordable price. It isn't the greatest college or university of all time, and the social life of living on campus is obviously non-existent, as it is a county college. However, if you live in Monmouth county or anywhere close, and you just want to get a good education and start for very little cost, you just cannot go wrong with Brookdale.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You're receiving the equivalent of a two year education at a four year school for much less money. Generally speaking, I took 4 classes (full time) and my bill was always under $2000. I've met many great friends, established lifelong relationships with professors, and learned a great deal along the way.

    What to do for fun

    Usually you live at home when you go to Brookdale, so you can do just about anything. Many of the people who go to Brookdale are people you probably went to high school with, so you can hang out with them. There's a lot of shopping in Monmouth County, clubs not too far away, and places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food here has really improved. Recently, Brookdale got taken over by another company and the food has both become tastier and healthier. It's doubtful that you'll struggle with the freshman 15 unless you're constantly opting for the cheeseburgers and chicken finger combo. The lunchroom now has a salad bar and sandwich station, equipped with a variety of wraps to choose from. They even have soup. There are yogurt parfaits and fruit for a quick snack, or you can opt for chips or a pretzel. Last semester, they also added a Starbucks on campus, located inside the convience store. After the lunchroom closes, you can have a sandwich made inside the convience store. Inside Larrison Hall, there is also a small store with a coffe machine and pretzel warmer. There are small sandwiches warming inside a machine, and plenty of junkfood and drinks to choose from. If Starbucks doesn't meet your fancy, there is a Dunkin Donuts around the corner by Phalanx Rd. There is also a deli, Perkins, and yogurt shop before Dunkin Donuts. If you're looking for more food, if you exit out the side of the school with the traffic circles, there is a Mcdonald's, Ralphs Water Ice, and a few pizza shops.

    Dorm Life

    It's community college so there are no dorms. While you may feel that you're missing out on this experience, think about how much money you are saving. Sometimes not dorming can also be a smart choice; there are less distractions and more time to recognize your potential, get your work done, and come to terms with what you want to do with your life. If you're too wrapped up with drama in your residence hall or the latest party, then it can become easy to lose sight of what's truly important.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is what you make it. Certain classes are harder than others, as they are everywhere. You get back what you put in so make the most of your time and put your best foot forward. You have to put the effort in, even if you don't think those around you are. Remember that you're attending this school for you. You're the person you have to impress the most. If you devote your time and energy into working hard in your classes, then you will develop lifelong habits that will assist you when you either further your schooling, or embark on a journey for your career. I've had some really difficult classes while here and I've had some that were almost painfully easy. Either way, don't take advantage, get serious, and reap the rewards in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please, make sure that you put in the effort. I have met too many people, while attending this school, who were of the mindset that Brookdale was just a community college. Don't let the deflated reputation of community college go to your head. Community college is good for many things, and Brookdale can be beneficial to different people in different ways. For some, it is a great fresh start. Here, the professors and your classmates won't care about what your GPA was in high school, and it won't matter that you may have been afflicted with a bad case of senioritis. Now is your chance to start anew, so take it. Personally speaking, I was an average student and did get accepted to another school prior to choosing Brookdale. For me, I knew that money was an issue and that I could still earn the same quality education as my peers. I also was not entirely sure what field I wanted to go into, or what to expect of college classes. Brookdale helped me make my start and realize what I wanted to do with my life. Because of Brookdale, I actually came to love school and flourish in it. So, please, before you come to this school, understand your reasoning for coming here and make sure that you get the start you deserve.

    In three sentences

    This school is an excellent opportunity for those who want a fresh start, want to get serious about school, are unsure of what they want to do, or just want to save money. The professors are all very caring, effective, and understanding; if you put the work in and do your best, then you will come out with rewarding, lifelong relationships with them. This school is what you make it and,if taken seriously, can help you to recognize your potential.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, safety phones are everywhere

    Greek Life

    basic

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports

    Great for these types of students

    Strong minded individuals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    good sport teams

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the Buck!

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport team or club

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but a little overpriced

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very good professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and stay focused

    In three sentences

    Great awesome place

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Brookdale is definitely a good choice when it comes to spending. There is no reason to go to a university and earn the same credits while paying ten times the money.

    Food and Dining

    Students should try to never eat the cafeteria food. The food is not only bland, but it's also very expensive and not worth the money at all. Try eating at home or out at the various places off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Brookdale's curriculum can sometimes be quite difficult if not prepared for it. There are a few easy A classes, but overall, it takes hard work and studying to earn the sought-after A.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students, be prepared to work hard for your grades. Come in expecting something different from each class. There is no set formula for how a class may run, so sit back for the first few sessions to get a feel for how to handle it.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale Community College provides an excellent jump-start for students looking to cut their tuition costs by earning General Education credits. Brookdale is also a great option for students unsure of their career path and/or which university to attend. The Lincroft campus is in a convenient location only a few minutes from downtown Red Bank which is perfect for grabbing lunch and doing a little shopping in between classes.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brookdale has its own police department and is the safest community college in New Jersey.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brookdale has a very vibrant and active community of student clubs and organizations. It also has fun activities throughout the semester such as music and dance performances, anti-stress weeks (massages, soothing music, therapy dogs, and snacks), barbecues, movie viewings, comedians, and interesting talks. All are free and often include free lunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't trust the counseling department. You will get conflicting advice from different counselors, and counselors are unfamiliar with course content and graduation requirements. Instead, ask someone in the department of your major (Engineering, Math, etc.) to help you choose your classes and for general advice. They will be happy to help you and will give you straight answers.

    In three sentences

    Anyone who is willing to learn can have success here. Brookdale has a beautiful main campus as well as branch campuses for convenience. Admission is simple and easy.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Groundhogs.

    Greek Life

    It's all Greek to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs that allows students to hit each other with.

    Great for these types of students

    Bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have live animal (or whatever they can find) sacrifices.

    Bang for the buck

    Uncle Buck, righ?

    What to do for fun

    Fun is not allowed there.

    Food and Dining

    Too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    If you like sleeping on the streets, it works.

    Academic Rigor

    Like Zeus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be rich. Bring your own food. They buy new carpets all of the time, so do not worry about spilling anything.

    In three sentences

    Some girls are beautiful. Some boys are ugly. The food is expensive.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are real police officers everywhere around campus, this is especially helpful during the mornings for traffic control, as well as students leaving night classes. It is always nice to know someone is looking out even when we aren't.

    Clubs and Activities

    Getting involved at Brookdale is a lot easier than most believe. There is a club for everyone, and within those clubs, there are plenty of opportunities for resume building as well as friendship building. If there is not a club of your liking available, you have the option to start one! Which does have it's own process, but if you put your mind to it your club could be very successful!

    Great for these types of students

    Brookdale is great for the type of student who feels comfortable being independent. Waking yourself up, getting dressed, and driving/riding/etc. to campus every morning while also being responsible for homework, other projects, and even holding a job can be a lot to handle. There are plenty of people who indeed enjoy not being lazy and having a full schedule. The location of Brookdale and the fact that you can not reside here, teaches you more then you realize.

    Bang for the buck

    The dining area has punch cards available to students who purchase salads, sandwiches, etc. often. After a certain amount of punches, I believe is 8 or 10, the next one is free. The only downside is, you are spending quite a lot before you get the free meal.

    What to do for fun

    Brookdale has many sports, clubs, and other activities around campus to make this college experience just like any other! As far as greek life, there is one Honor Society PTK, which is for both male and female. Many students look for the typical sorority or fraternity, however an academically driven Chapter is something that motivates students to do well, and looks even better on resum�©s. The Student Life Board is constantly coordinating events to keep campus life exciting. Early on this semester there was a tye-dye your own tee area set up in the Student Life Center, which gave students something to do between classes, and also makes the SLC a great place to socialize. Other events organized by the SLB include guest speakers, donating to causes, and signing petitions to spread awareness.

    Food and Dining

    Brookdale is constantly finding new ways to keep their food and drink supply up to par with what college students these days crave. There is now a Starbucks branch on campus, which helps students save time in the morning, and also refuel with a recognizable and highly craved taste. Also, there are constant renovations to the Larrison Hall Cafe, filled with new, healthier options such as organic potato chips and flavored waters. The cafeteria in the Student Life Center is now equipped with a customizable salad bar! You are never left without a spot to sit at Brookdale, outdoor and indoor seating which always has just the right amount of room at any time of day.

    Dorm Life

    On campus residing is not available here. There has been talk of forming residence halls. However, most of the perks of Brookdale come from the fact that students can live at home where they are comfortable, as well as maintaining a job, something that is hard to do when in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors do as much as they can to develop a positive vibe in the lecture/lab, while being as professional and hard on you as possible. Students make the common mistake of taking the pressure from a professor as a negative. The pressure is only pure proof that Brookdale deserves all the accreditation they receive, and also proof that your time in class means something, and is being built with a strong foundation. Professors do what they do to help you, not to discourage you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fellow potential students of Brookdale Community College, Do not think of attending Brookdale as a bad choice. In fact,let it simply be, a different way of approaching the college experience. Do not feel pressured to choose a major just yet, being able to get general education courses out of the way and work towards an associates degree is fantastic way to keep yourself on task even though you may have just graduated high school. For those who are just beginning school again, whether it be from a break, or any other reason, this is your time. This is your blank slate to make of it anything you would like. I advise you to work hard, compile a list of goals, and reach them. Resulting in a very successful future.

    In three sentences

    For a student right out of high school, or even still in high school who isn't sure what path they want to take just yet, Brookdale is without a doubt, a great place to start. While being able to still reside at your own home, a local, highly accredited community college is something students in Monmouth County should be very grateful for. Professors who introduce themselves as being previous, or also currently experienced in other local Universities, you know from the start your education is legitimate.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem and the few things I have heard are people leaving things unattended and them getting stolen which they unfortunately bring in themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way to many clubs to even list. There's definitely one for everyone, it ranges from cooking clubs to asian culture and everything in between. And on the off chance you can't find one you can always start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    I honestly think Brookdale is good for everyone. If you're fresh out of high school you can get a start here and if your looking to change careers Brookdale is an inexpensive way to get onto that road.

    Bang for the buck

    There are tons of people constantly around to help you out if you're having trouble and majority of the professors really do care and want to help you pass so use all the resources that you get.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and other activities to do. You're going to meet new people and you will find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food has gotten better, but with that it's gotten more expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Brookdale since it's a community college but there are activities and clubs always going on and if you're there in between classes there more likely than not something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not extremely demanding depending on your classes but don't just think they're all going to be easy you will have to study at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a place to go just because you didn't apply yourself in high school. Don' t go there if you just intend to play around and try and breeze by. You choose what to make of it and if you apply yourself you can really make it work.

    In three sentences

    It's a good start for those that are unsure about what they want to pursue. Broad spectrum of classes to get a general feel of college. Don't think it's just going to be like high school.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Not very complicated so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your own homework and research on course requirements and talk to a counselor at your expected four year college about what will transfer and what is best to take. Don't expect to rely on the website or counselors at Brookdale for to much information.

    In three sentences

    While I find most of my classes easy and accessible, I find the student counseling lacking. I was enrolled as a business admin major instead of my requested accounting major. Most importantly I was given a small block of my course requirements then steered away from taking to many credits at once.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not ready to be on your own fully, financially affordable

    In three sentences

    Brookdale Community College is a good college to start out at. Especially, when you don't want to stay on campus. You get the one-on-one help you need as a student because it's so small.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brookdale was rated number one in campus safety last year.

    Greek Life

    Brookdale has 2 different greek organizations. Phi Theta Kappa has a chapter called Alpha Pi Theta and its GPA requirement is a 3.7 to be admitted.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brookdale has around 60 or 70 clubs and organizations which hundreds of students are involved in. Brookdale is one of the few community colleges in the country that attend the national Association of Campus Activites programming conferences.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who are transfer seeking, goal oriented, focused students who would like to make friends around campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Brookdale has great bang for the buck. They recently decreased their tuition schedules by about 3%. They are also environmentally friendly and the staff are all invested in your success at Brookdale. If I were a senior thinking about applying to colleges again, I would only apply to Brookdale this time, because I know how very helpful this program is. Especially if you join its Honors program which has a variety of articulation agreements which will help when it is time to transfer. It is also great for students who do not want to dorm on campus yet, because it gives you time to mature a little more to the point to which you are ready to dorm on campus.

    What to do for fun

    You can do a variety of things like participate in student government, clubs, organizations or laugh/live at lunch in which you can watch comedians or musicians present their skits or music.

    Food and Dining

    Dining services is great. There are many times that I made friends just by sitting in one of the seats. The people are very friendly and next year we will have outside vendors providing food for us at a cheaper costs which will help both students and the college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, however Brookdale does help you mature into a student who will gain from dorming if you decide to transfer.

    Academic Rigor

    Brookdale's academic difficulty is high with extra curricular activities and work, however, joining the honors program at Brookdale was the best decision that I have ever made. It helped me make friends as well as connect my studies to the world around us.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the honors program if you are going to transfer to other colleges. It looks great on your transcript and it also helps you transfer to places like Rutgers New Brunswick, Monmouth University, Georgian Court. Get involved in its clubs. There are over 50 clubs you can join!

    In three sentences

    Brookdale and the Honors program are the best decisions I have ever made. The honors program has helped me make friends as well as pushed me to connect my studies to the evolving world around us. The staff are all invested in your success and will help you succeed.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brookdale is located only a few miles from Red Bank, so if you have some down time and can not find something to do on campus (which is tough there is always something going on) head into Red Bank for a bite to eat or some shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, as far as college food goes. The dining hall, as well as all the cafes are excellet!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is excellent and challenging. Students really learn in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid! Get Involved! Brookdale has a lot of exciting events on campus try something new at least once a semester!

    In three sentences

    Brookdale has a wide array of majors, classes, and clubs. The faculty is amazing, many members still work in the fields they teach!. I rate this school 10 out of 10!

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is located conveniently in the student life center at the Lincroft campus and the food provided is fairly priced and cooked fresh daily. They also provide things like coffee, fast food, microwavable snacks etc. in the convenience store perfect for in between classes. Vending machines are everywhere and the coffee machines make my mornings.

    Dorm Life

    This school unfortunately does not come with the dorm life experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes and the professor, coursework varies. Some classes I've attended were more rigorous in which we received more papers and exams as well as online homework through the Brookdale Angel database. Other classes were a breeze. However, don't expect to pass if you don't do the assigned work or show up.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend any student going to this school but even though it is a community college and kids might get the idea that they can slack off, you were warned. The school work is not a joke, and be prepared to do what you would do in any university. Study and attending classes is key.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale is the perfect community college to go into after high school. The acceptance rates are fair, you get to save money while acquiring all the credits you would need to take anyway and not to mention theres more than 3 locations. My experience at Brookdale was great, from the staff and the classes it was an overall positive experience and I would recommend it.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where your classes are the day before so you are not late the first day and feel overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Brookdale !! It's a big campus but not too big. The professors and staff are extremely helpful.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like living with your family, if you do not want to pay student loans after graduating and if you are not a party animal then this place is perfect for you.

    Bang for the buck

    What you get is even more than some colleges. It is really cheap and you still get the same education.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much activities to do for fun but you could attend basketball games, go to some of the seminars, use the gym after school. However don't forget this is not a 4 year expensive school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that bad but there is only one place where you can eat. Unlike some colleges you will not find KFC or Starbucks within the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make your schedule so that there is not huge gaps in between classes. Go to the labs and extra help that they offer because it is a great alternative to your teacher.

    In three sentences

    It's a great community college. You will get a great education and save a lot of money in the meantime. Also you will be with your family if you are not ready to move out.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brookdale has a very safe campus. There is hardly ever an incident. And when there is an incident, usually it is only a scare. Brookdale has its own police who are real cops. Though I wouldn't recommend walking around alone at night, I do feel safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you have ever thought about immersing yourself fully into a club, Brookdale is the place to go. The students cycle out every year, so clubs are always in need of new leadership. It is a great place to grow in your leadership abilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Be sure to check out the Holocaust Center on campus before you finish your time at Brookdale. It is the most extensive Holocaust Center in the state! They have wonderful programs there. Also make a stop in at Monmouth Museum. It is free to students and a great way to spend an afternoon.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to community college really pays out in the long run. General education classes are usually lecture halls at 4-year schools, at Brookdale you get smaller classes and a cheaper deal. Also, a word to the wise-- don't buy any books from the bookstore that you can get online.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Play a sport! Do something that will help you meet people. If you just go to class and go home, you will not truly experience college life or get the most out of your time at Brookdale.

    Food and Dining

    Typical college food. I don't recommend it.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all of the classes challenge students, but if you are willing to learn, you will. If you are a student who likes to be challenged, join the honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    College life at Brookdale is what you make it. Get involved with extra-curricular activities and try to stay on campus!

    In three sentences

    Brookdale Community College is a great place for motivated students. If you do not know what you want to major in or do for a living, it is a wise choice to start your higher education at Brookdale. The staff are very knowledgeable and willing to help any student who is willing to learn.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brookdale has their own police. They are real, and they don't mess around. I've never seen or heard anything that made me feel unsafe, but Brookdale does have a text option you can sign up for to receive emergency texts just in case something does happen.

    Greek Life

    Brookdale doesn't have Fraternities or Sororities but they do have an Honor Society called the Alpha Pi Theta, a chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa. You do a lot of volunteer work, plan future events, go to said future events, make friends and learn valuable leadership skills.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brookdale ALWAYS has something going on. If I wasn't rushing from Art Club to the Phi Theta Kappa meeting, I was volunteering at the soup kitchen, catching a play on campus or signing up for a trip to NYC.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who are trying to save money and transfer to universities, and students who are still trying to find themselves. Your counselor will work with your needs and help you decide in what direction to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something I found unusual was the amount of gazebos around campus. I then realized they were built for smokers so that non smokers could enjoy a smoke free campus. Also, a cool little part of the campus is a paved trail that goes from the heart of Student Life to the last parking lot, where coincidentally, parking is usually best.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely got out of it what I put into it. You have to want it. Plus, the instructors like it when you show you're interested. This college was worth every penny, but stop by financial aid first to see if you're eligible for aid! Sometimes they can help!

    What to do for fun

    There are always events you can check out posted at the Student Life Center. If you're in between classes and looking for time to kill, I love going to the Library and either grabbing a movie and watching it in a designated movie room or reading a magazine. Sometimes I browse the two art galleries on campus, one in the CVA building and the other located just outside of it. If you're looking to escape the campus, downtown Red Bank is literally right down the road. Downtown is home of Jay and Silent Bob's Secret Stash, and other cool stores!

    Food and Dining

    The food really isn't bad. When I'm not getting free food at various club meetings, I usually go for the salads and sandwiches in the cafeteria at Student Life. The small cafe in the English building has pre made sandwiches, and a lot of drink choices. The art building has a snack machine in the basement.

    Dorm Life

    Because Brookdale is a community college with most students commuting from the surrounding areas, Brookdale does not offer on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't say that Brookdale was over demanding, but it is easy to fall behind if you don't keep on top of your workload. Know yourself and what you can handle. Honors classes are harder than regular classes, so don't overload them. Designate homework times for each of your classes, and get fellow student's numbers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because Brookdale is a Community College and most of the students commute, finding a carpool buddy can make finding a parking spot easier and more fun! Don't be afraid to ask your professors for help. A lot of them have office hours designated to help you, and if they can't, Brookdale offers labs (ie: the Math Lab) in which you can sit down with tutors and get help with homework. Register early, get your syllabus and order your books online from used textbook sites. You can save a ton of money, but order early so you get them in time.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale is a clean, refreshing college bustling with friendly, diverse people. There are always events going on ranging from cafeteria stand up comedy, to concerts in the event center (Jason Mraz anyone?) and great opportunities to see guest speakers (Terrance Howard and Maya Angelou). I have experienced so much from Brookdale because they truly make an effort for students to broaden their horizons.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student center has tons of activities

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful. The only school in central jersey that offers a degree in culinary. Free gym access to students.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    People may not think that a community college has any Greek Life, but you're wrong. There is a good amount that you can choose from and they all have different purposes and meanings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on at Brookdale and you are encouraged to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not have a major, are not ready to leave home yet, or cannot afford a 4 year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anti-stress week is something that people look forward to at the end of every semester. During finials the school offers free massages, lunch, snacks, and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    Instead of paying at least $20,000 at a four year school, I am getting all my classes done and doing so well for about $3,500 (because I am out of county). All the general education classes are the same no matter where you go, so why pay the extra money? I am doing amazing academically and love that I am saving so much money.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, Greek Life, staff.

    Food and Dining

    Better than high school but not as good as most universities.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are amazing. I have never been the best student, but now I am! Hard work pays off and there is no better feeling than seeing your amazing GPA at the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    When people thing of community college, they think of it just as another year of high school. They're all wrong. Even though you're still living at home, it is college and you are going to need to work hard to do well. Brookdale is a great choice and I am so happy here.

    In three sentences

    I really love it here at Brookdale. Every teacher that I have had is AMAZING and nothing but helpful. They really want to see their students do well and succeed, and it is great having their motivation.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SLC, the Student Life Center, is the place of hang out with the cafeteria, hang out rooms, arcade room, and the school store. Unfortunately, there isn't much else to do at other Brookdale centers.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty bad. Not to mention the prices. $8 for chicken fingers? Yeah... no. Sometimes they have comedians or singers come into the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms that I'm aware of, it's a Community College, after all.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers know their stuff. However, expect a few teachers to not know anything that's going on, sadly. Most classes are fairly easy with earning the B's and A's, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of teachers are nice and understanding, just expect a rough time with a lot of absences. Brookdale's fairly strict when it comes to that subject.

    In three sentences

    A big, beautiful campus with friendly, down-to-Earth students. Faculty are also pretty nice. Also convenient with other campuses throughout Monmouth county.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't know what there major is yet or where they plan on going.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would come to Brookdale before going to a 4-year college.

    In three sentences

    Great school to start out at. Teachers here are very well educated. Brookdale has a organized staff.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brookdale police seem to be pretty good at their jobs and are always around.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not ready to go to a huge four year school or students who need to live at home.

    Bang for the buck

    They charge out of county residences almost 1,000 extra per semester.

    What to do for fun

    There is not too much to do in the area, perhaps some insight as to why its not a four year school with dorms.

    Food and Dining

    There are many vending machines that have some healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to research your professors before signing up for their class. Do not treat community college as a joke.

    In three sentences

    One of the better community colleges in N.J. It feels like you get an amazing teacher or a terrible one. The Brookdale campus is a good learning environment.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never experienced nor seen a situation in which some one's safety was compromised at Brookdale. Police are on staff at all times, and are constantly cruising around campus to make sure all is in order. The school also utilizes the blue light safety system, which enables students to call the campus police for help if need be.

    Bang for the buck

    A whole year's tuition (including various student fees) at Brookdale is a third of the cost of many 4-year private universities tuition without considering other expenses. Brookdale has plenty of academic, athletic, artistic, and just plain entertaining resources for a fraction of the cost of many reputable institutions. These include, but are not limited to: a state of the art fitness center, a game room equipped with video games and pool tables, a theatre, an art gallery, a museum, a spacious library packed with computers, reference books, and private rooms for group studying or movie watching, a computer lab, and student help centers for the core curricula areas.

    What to do for fun

    Brookdale always has events going on, whether it be sporting matches, club meetings, or live comedy shows in the students center.

    Food and Dining

    Brookdale has multiple vending machines (which are regularly restocked) in each building, ensuring anyone can grab a bite to eat on the go. They also have two cafes, and a cafeteria, for students who prefer a sit-down meal.

    Dorm Life

    Since Brookdale is a commuter school, there aren't any dorms affiliated with the 2-year institution. However, with multiple branches throughout Monmouth County, chances are there is a Brookdale campus close to home for residents of this area.

    Academic Rigor

    I was surprised at how challenging some of my classes were at Brookdale. People often take community colleges fro granted when it comes to academics, but this school gets students to work hard and better understand material and concepts they may have been taught in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a reliable form of transportation as this is a commuter school. Also, take your work seriously and spend some time reviewing course material, it will help you come exam time.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale is an exemplary community college that provides opportunities for higher education at an affordable rate. The school is a great transitional option for students who are done with high school but do not feel entirely ready for college life. Professors truly care about the students and put in the effort to help them wholly understand the material taught in each lesson.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just go! The hardest part is the first day, after that is becomes a breeze.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good start to college. Smaller classes and more hands on teachers. I would recommend to anyone who wants to continue onto a 4 year college or to explore what career field they would like to pursue.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always cops on campus walking around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your councilor make sure they have you under the right MAJOR! Each councilor you see will tell you something different. Make sure you ALWAYS go to Ratemyprofessor.com if the professor isn't on there do NOT take them!

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brookdale has a great theater program with some excellent performances.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much that I deem worth eating on Brookdale's campus, especially if you're trying to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    I do the work and make the effort to do well in all of my classes and have had no trouble maintaining good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Double check anything you hear from a Brookdale academic advisor and stick with njtransfer.org if you plan on transferring to another NJ college.

    In three sentences

    Brookdale Community college has a good variety of associate degree options. It's a great affordable way to earn college credits. The staff is usually helpful and most professors are great.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is police on campus, and I feel very safe when I'm there.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think going to a community college first is best, especially if you plan on transferring. They are very helpful with students that plan to transfer, since most of the student body plans to do so. College can be so expensive nowadays, and although 50,000 for your general education classes may not seem like a lot at 17 years old, you'll be realizing how much that is when you're paying the loan at 25 years old. I've been to other schools and I can say with confidence that Brookdale Community College is definitely worth the out-of-county tuition.

    Food and Dining

    I believe there is a cafeteria, but I don't know where it is located.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life but there are clubs and activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are most definitely challenging, but not extremely difficult. The workload is normal and with the right amount of attention and dedication, it should not be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because it is a community college, everyone is a commuter. Therefore, parking is limited for the later classes. Also, be on top of everything regarding your school. Check email, open letters, and call if you have a question. I can't tell you how many times I've called just to ask about a letter I received because I did not understand what was being said. Now that you're an adult, it's important to take control of your future by being aware of what's going on with your education.

    In three sentences

    I've had a wonderful time at Brookdale Community College so far. Every time I have a question (and trust me, there are many), it's been answered very respectfully and I've been satisfied with the answer and assistance. The counselors and teachers are also incredibly helpful and make for a wonderful learning experience.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its a good way to start college and save money for future transfer. it is very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    i have never gone to the cafe in brookdale, vending machines were my choices.

    Dorm Life

    you dont dorm here. everyone commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    you have to do well in your classes to continue to attend this college and to collect any financial aid. if you fail classes, you can be put on academic probation and potentially expelled.

    In three sentences

    brookdale was a great college to start off at and to allow myself to continue working and saving money to transfer. its great for students who want to commute and stay close to home while saving money.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a frequent police presence and emergency phones located throughout campus. It can be a bit scary at night though due to many of the streetlights on the outer areas of the campus not working.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities, but does offer membership to the national honors society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a wide variety of clubs that cover all your normal interest groups. Of note are the radio club, creative writing club, and computer science club.

    Great for these types of students

    Monmouth county residents that are looking to get a certificate or AAS, or students looking to get there general eds done before transferring to a 4 year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a long walkway that leads through a forest connecting parking lot 1 to the area by the Student Life Center. It is very nice to walk through in the spring. Also, the campus has a real problem with groundhogs. They don't bother anyone though, so they are more funny than they are a nuisance.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Monmouth county resident, you can't get cheaper than this. However out of county students are charged double the rate, and that can add up quick. Food is reasonably priced. Most things in the bookstore are outrageously priced, but that is any school bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    Comedians make frequent stops at the campus, as well as visiting writers and other public speakers. The campus also has an online radio station that plays a good selection of music.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a pretty good selection of food. It offers your typical grilled foods such as hot dogs and hamburgers as well as subs and salads. This would be two stars if it weren't for the paninis.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are more concerned with students understanding the material rather then putting them through a gauntlet. Most classes are thorough but not intimidating. Some teacher are a little too generous with grade curves on exams, but overall they expect you to get the work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus can be very confusing, so take a look around campus before your first day. The MAC and MAN buildings are especially confusing. The parking lots closest to the academic buildings fill up quickly, so get there early. The guidance counselors are not particularly helpful, so get an idea of what you want to do and how before attending any guidance appointments.

    In three sentences

    A good all around school that has a very busy campus. There are events happening year round and most are very interesting. Its connection to the communiversity allows for a variety of transfer opportunities.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere you turn there is a campus police. A very safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing! All of the clubs are required to do a couple of events or activities per semester in hopes to gain more members and give out free stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious with their studies and yet want to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a statue of a horse in the back of the Cafeteria, which symbolizes that Brookdale Community College used to be a farm before it was a college.

    Bang for the buck

    For in County Students Brookdale offers a lot of fun activities and events for the students

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities and events happening in the Student Life Center along with various ideas from the clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Kind of pricy but they have a new meal plan which saves you some money.

    Dorm Life

    NO dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Easy teachers who actually TEACH.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like any college, even though Brookdale has a lot to offer keep up with your work!

    In three sentences

    A fun, exciting and clean atmosphere where students can study as well as have fun. The professors are entertaining and helpful. Here you have a name and not just a number.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police do not mess around. they are always on patrol and especially when you need them. there is emergency poles with buttons on them to page them. i do feel very safe when i am there.

    Greek Life

    there is none, but should be.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is literally a club for everything. whether it is your major or not, everyone is welcome to join.

    Bang for the buck

    you do get a lot for your money because of the resources provided, such as, extra help tutors, the math labs, teacher student relations, etc.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and get involved, there is college hour that everyone participates in, in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    i have only had the food once, and that is the only time i will. i was not happy with it and it was too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    for a community college, the classes are just as hard as any other college if not harder. they are taken very seriously, with no shortcuts. most say it is a continuation of high school, but for me, i believe i've gotten the skills i needed to move on in my academic career.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking to graduate in two years or less, be prepared to take at least 5 classes a semster and keep up on your grades by following your progress towards your degree. also, you need to manage your time wisely, by using the resources provided for you. i would advise to use them because they are there for a reason and part of my success is due to them.

    In three sentences

    brookdale is a good place for those who are unsure of what they want thus far, ones who have had experience and looking to get back into it, and for those who need more condensed classes with extraordinary extra help they provide.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    several on-campus clubs and events offered for fun and money!

    Food and Dining

    great cafeteria facility on the main campus, made to order meals, dunkin donuts coffee. very reasonable costs as well.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i have learned so much in four weeks than i learned in two years in my previously attended university.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be reluctant against the community college stereotype. when i graduated high school, i based my opinion on what people had said about the school. i regret my decision on not starting here. also, do not take your education lightly, professors are tough and they have created the best preperation for a transition to a four year school.

    In three sentences

    brookdale is a great place to begin an advanced education. i am very proud to call this the stepping stone to my career path.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are telephone polls all over the campus specifically linked to the campus police station. cop cars are always visible and in range.

    Clubs and Activities

    brookdale offers an incredible range for clubs and activities. even if one activity does not exists, the student has the power to create their own.

    Great for these types of students

    those financially unstable, any age-group, etc. there are no prejudices here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    brookdale offers even more flexibility to its students by providing online courses and different locations. for example, there is a freehold brookdale campus which is closer to me and i can still take a few classes in that location.

    Bang for the buck

    it is wiser to invest in brookdale; it offers equivalent academic standards to those of actual universities.

    What to do for fun

    rock clim, reading, and writing.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria and student life cafe offer various meal options in accordance to the time of day (breakfast, lunch, and dinner).

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available. a rumor exists that there will be dorms within a few years.

    Academic Rigor

    the school is equipped with many different facilities that cater to a student's needs. there are laboratories with students, volunteers, and professors willing to invest their time and knowledge in assisting current students. there is no charge and a

    Tips for prospective students

    if you can, go to a 4 year university. but there is nothing shameful in going to a community college (brookdale) that is ranked as one of the best community colleges.

    In three sentences

    brookdale community college offers various educational opportunities for students less financially capable than others. however, the guidance office can be very unstable when it comes to integrity. on the other hand, most staff members and professors exceed normal expectations by applying actual useful information into the class.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    brookdale has its own police, emergency stations placed throughout campus, overall i feel very safe while on campus.

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    a solid amount of clubs and activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    brookdale community college is a great starting point for those who are unsure about their major, and for those who need a school that will not leave them in a massive amount of debt. brookdale has a lot to offer and encourages students to take advantage of all of its resources. make sure you get involved on campus, it will make your experience ten times better! brookdale community college is a bargan for the cost, and provides students with a great education.

    What to do for fun

    student life board, outdoors club, theater club, internships, look for events online, hang out in the student life center, etc.

    Food and Dining

    pleasantly surprised about the food on campus. brookdale has a varied assortment of food on campus. only food i would stay away from is the pizza. the wraps and entrees are quite good.

    Dorm Life

    brookdale does not have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    brookdale is what you put into it. brookdale has honors courses that are readily available and also basic classes to help students get started on the college path. my experience so far has not been so easy! a lot of my classes required a lot of study time and the tests were challenging, it depends on the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved! brookdale has many clubs and organizations on campus that many students do not even know about! use resources brookdale has to offer, take advantage of the tutors on campus, do not just go to class and go home; getting involved is what makes it fun!

    In three sentences

    brookdale is close to home, very affordable, and great for students who have not decided on a major. the professors at brookdale are absolutely the friendliest, most understanding, and helpful professors. brookdale community college is a great starting point and has a lot to offer.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    brookdale offers different activities each week on the main campus. from promoting great health to educating about cultures.

    Tips for prospective students

    take the time to study.

    In three sentences

    brookdale is a great school that has alot to offer. flexible classes and helpful teachers

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is safe. there has never been any major mishaps.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs include anime club, asian club, creative writing club, music club, among others.

    Great for these types of students

    brookdale is a great place if you have many interests and are unsure about career plans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is no smoking allowed, which is troublesome for some students if you want to smoke, you have to do it in your car.

    Bang for the buck

    if you want value, go to brookdale. most, if not all your classes will transfer if you go to another school in new jersey.

    What to do for fun

    there's really not much fun to be had, unless you are involved in a club.

    Food and Dining

    they offer standard fried chicken sandwiches and burgers, with different homestyle options each day. four times throughout the semester, they offer exhibition cooking, where professional chefs come in and cook up some pretty good meals. there is also a school convenience store where they offer an excellent array of ramen. they also offer the best vanilla chai latte i ever tasted in my life.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life does not exist, since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    the quality of classes are wonderful, though i've had some professors who were duds. they take attendance very seriously here and encourage class participation. even if it's just a lecture, the professors will notice you are gone. show up for class!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in clubs and activities.. don't treat brookdale as a joke just because it is a community college. if you do well at brookdale and transfer to another school in new jersey, you can get a good scholarship.

    In three sentences

    brookdale has really buckled down on attendance and grading policies in the past couple years, resulting in high standards. though it is a community college, there is definitely a connected spirit among the students, and you have opportunities to participate in clubs and study abroad. brookdale offers great education at a great price, with a huge choice of classes.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like free dinner, laundry and a roof over your head this is the perfect school for you. You get to live in the comforts of your own home while still feeling like you're away at your own campus during the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember this: work hard, sleep healthily and eat regularly. You'll be set.

    Am enjoying being here

    I can't complain.

    Am learning a lot

    You get what you put into it.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brookdale is a good fit for all students, but especially for three types of students. Those who have to work during the day, those who are looking for ways to save money, and those who are simply looking to a nearby place to go to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I say one should take advantages of all the opportunities Brookdale has to offer. If one wants to join a club, there are many to choose from, with most meeting on Tuesdays or on Thursdays. If you are struggling with your papers, visit the writing lab and you will get lots of help.

    Bang for the buck

    Brookdale has low tuition rates, but offers lots of services for those need it. For example, Brookdale offers lots of walk in tutors for each subject, especially at the main Lincroft campus. Brookdale also has several branch campuses serving different areas of Monmouth County for convenience. In fact, many students take most of their classes at the branch campuses, which also offer tutor help to struggling students. In addition, Brookdale offers lots of classes on nights and weekends for those who have tight schedules.

    Am enjoying being here

    Brookdale has lots of things ones can do here. For example, Brookdale has what's called a Laugh at Lunch program. This is a series of events in which every so often, an entertainer is invited to perform a live stand up comedy show. During this time, Brookdale students are invited to kick back and enjoy lots of original and funny jokes. I once went to one of those shows, and I really enjoyed myself and laughed a lot that day.

    Am learning a lot

    Since I began attending Brookdale, I have had a variety of diverse learning experiences. One of my favorite courses was environmental science with lab, where I learned how one can do lots of things to help the environment on both the local and global levels, such as reducing waste, purchasing Eco friendly products, etc. Another course that I really enjoyed was World Civilization. In that course, I learned that many different cultures often borrow ideas from each other and build on them. For example, paper money was invented in ancient China, and the calendar system we use today has roots in ancient Rome.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The campus is pretty nice and I like that they have some study abroad programs especially at a community college.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that want to stay close to home and that don't want to or can't afford to spend $20,000+ a year for a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes on your priority registration date... You'll get all the classes you want before most people have the chance to register. Also, check out your professors on Rate My Professor.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely the best bang for your buck. I went to a four year college before Brookdale and it was a huge mistake. It was over $25,000 for the year. Brookdale is incredibly priced and you get amazing teachers that you probably wouldn't expect to find at a community college.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's close to home and much easier than being in a dorm room, possibly stuck with a roommate that you don't get along with. Everyone is nice and you'll always see your friends around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is the best community college you could probably go to. All the teachers are extremely dedicated and I haven't had one that wasn't willing to help you when you needed help.

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who want to be close to home or who are not sure what to do and what their major should be then this is the school for you.Also, this is a great start!Going to a community college first is the smartest choice because you save tons of money and you can get all your credits...graduate with an associates degree then transfer.Transfer students are more likely to get into the school of their choice than if you are just graduating high school wanting to go to this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the school seriously..it is what you make of it.Just because you arent going away to school doesnt mean that you are dumb and you are a reject and cant make a living for yourself.Community colleges are so great and this school teaches a lot!

    Bang for the buck

    I haven't paid a cent..even for books.Financial aid has granted me all this award money and I also get a fat check of the money left over that I dont use ;)

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here because I get to be close to home and I have a lot of fun at the college.there are a lot of things you can do to get involved and everyone is very nice and respectful.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much here at Brookdale!For the first time in my life I have recieved all straight A's because the teachers teach very well and the classes are easy.Thats what I love about college!You can pick your own classes.Their are many majors offered at Brookdale also.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brookdale is great for students who don't want to leave home yet, who are intimidated by overly expensive universities, night-time students, returning students, or students like me who hadn't yet decided on a university or major but still want to get required courses out of the way (and inexpensively).

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your financial aid possibilities. Buy your books on Amazon.com or somewhere similar (the bookstore's pricey). Reach out to your professors. No, it's not an Ivy League, but you'll get a great education here if you're open to it.

    Bang for the buck

    A 12 credit semester will cost you about $2,000-$2,500, not including books and materials. If you're under the NJ Stars program, however, tuition is obviously covered. Brookdale is very giving with it's financial aid, though, and you may even find yourself essentially getting paid to attend college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college has multiple convenient campuses, the main one being in Lincroft. It's minutes away from the Garden State Parkway, Route 35, and towns such as Red Bank and Eatontown. There's always some organization hosting an event on campus, whether it's Laugh at Lunch or the Visiting Writer's Series. The library, bookstore, cafeteria, and convenience store on campus also help supply needed materials, as well as pass the time between classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are truly committed to their professions and their passions for their fields show. Every professor I've had has been easily accessible through emails or in-office hours and is dedicated to making sure that his or her students aptly understands the materials.

  • 08/04/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with lower incomes or no scholarships. Students in the STAR program or students that didn't get great marks in high school but want to turn that around in college. Good Luck!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into college and figure out what you want to do. Find something you enjoy studying and use the resources that you're paying for. You can make yourself a much more valuable person in the process.

    Bang for the buck

    If there were 6 stars for this, it would earn that mark. This is my recommended way to save money on your college voyage.

    Did enjoy being here

    Cool teachers even cooler friends, not dorm life though.

    Did learn a lot

    You get what you put in. Almost every teacher is willing to take you to the next level if you're ambitious enough.